Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections & Archives
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts Record


Rissman, Homer
Coll #: MS-00452
Date: 1957-2001
Extent: 110.64 Cubic Feet (240 flat files, 48 boxes)
Location: A-06.09.6-7, AIS-02.03.5, B-MC 02:C-D, MS 07.05.6, MS 07.06.1-6, MS 07.07.1-2, SC MC 06:A-O, MS MC 07:O, MS MC 08:A. MS 09:C, MS MC 10:E, MS MC 12:A-J
Collection is comprised of the drawings and architectural renderings of noted Las Vegas architect Homer Rissman. Some of Rissman's most notable projects include the Flamingo Towers, Sands Expo The collection is comprised of architectural records (1947-2001) kept by American architect Homer Rissman and/or his architectural firm, Rissman and Rissman Associates Ltd, including 825 items from over 40 major projects and over 110 minor projects. Rissman's work focused on Las Vegas, Reno, and Lake Tahoe, Nevada, Southern California, and Arizona with early career design work focused on Chicago, Illinois. The materials feature hand-drawn architectural drawings, ranging from pencil and ink on tracing paper preliminary sketches to ink on Mylar (TM) construction documents, and a number of artist's renderings, used for presentations and promotional materials. The drawings also contain work from a number of consultants, engineers, and other architects who collaborated on the development of the various projects. The collection includes architectural drawings for: hotels, casinos, integrated casino resorts, office towers, multi-family residential developments, and custom single-family homes.
Link to Collection Guide