You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0022
Fenton, Virginia "Teddy"

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


0001    [Sundile Park , Cherry Lane Apts. In background, Boulder City]

0002    Boulder City Railroad Depot, March 1974.

0003    Roy Purcell-"Depot -Boulder City-move to S. Nevada Museum site." March 1974.

0004    Moving the UPRR Depot to Henderson.

0005    Moving the UPRR Depot, B.C. to S. Nevada Museum site, March 1974.

0006    [Moving the UPRR Depot, B.C to Henderson, March 1974]

0007    [Moving the UPRR Depot, B.C to Henderson, March 1974]

0008    Depot, Boulder City, getting ready for move, March 1974

0009    Moving the UPRR Depot, B.C. to S. Nevada Museum site, March 1974

0010    [Getting ready to move UPRR Depot from Boulder City to Henderson, March '74

0011    Moving Boulder City UPRR Depot to Henderson, 1974.

0012    Elbert Edwards honored

0013    Walker R. Young.

0014    Juanita White

0015    L to R: Maurine Wilson, Florence L. Jones Cahlan. 31'er dinner, Boulder City.    March 27, 1976.

0016    Jim Ladd on right, standing by a buck board.

0017    Redone Boulder City Hotel.

0018    Redone Boulder City Hotel.

0019    Redone Boulder City Hotel.

0020    Redone Boulder City Hotel.



HOOVER DAM

0021    Cliff dwellers, 6-Comp. Camp at Cape Horn. June 2, 1931

0022    Nevada Powerhouse at Hoover Dam

0023    Nevada Powerhouse at Hoover Dam

0024    Visitor's Gallery overlooking the penstock.

0025    Hoover Dam, Canyon wall outlet works in operation ca. 1950's.

0026    [Motor lorry belonging to construction companies that built Boulder Dam. Lorries were used to transport workers to and from the dam site. Ca 1930's]

0027    [A wagon of the overhead road transporting dam workmen at the change of shift. Ca. 1930's]

0028    Aerial view of Hoover Dam. [ca. 1950's]

0029    [Six Companies' scrip retrieved from a metal box which had been dumped into the Colorado River after the use of the scrip was discontinued. ]

0030    [Hoover Dam, ca. 1960's]

0031    Truck-mounted giant drilling rig used to cut the diversion tunnels in Black Canyon during construction of Boulder Dam. Ca. 1930's



0022    VIRGINIA FENTON COLLECTION



Hoover Dam (cont.)

0032    High scalers drilling on the Nevada wall of Black Canyon, April 1933.

0033    A Section of penstock pipe arrives at the mouth of an adit leading to the interior of one of the diversion tunnels.

0034    [Construction, Hoover Dam, ca 1930's]

0035    [Construction, Hoover Dam, ca 1930's]

0036    Construction, Hoover Dam, ca. 1930's]

0037    A gang of puddlers as an eight -cubic-yard bucket spews out 16 tons of concrete.

0038    [Hoover Power plant construction. Transporting a 30ft. diameter section of penstock]

0039    [Construction , Hoover Dam. Blasting operations in background.]

0040    Dumping a bucket of concrete. Ca 1930's

0041    [Hoover Power plant. A section of penstock pipe.]

0042    [Hoover Power plant. Turbine generator unit, ca 1936.]

0043    Hoover Dam

0044    [Construction of Hoover Dam, dumping a bucket of concrete, ca 1930's]

0045    [Construction of Hoover Dam, dumping a bucket of concrete, ca. 1930's]

0046    [Afternoon shot of Hoover Dam, showing intake towers.]

0047    Hoover Dam at night.



Additions to Collection

0048    Boulder City Ranger Jack Wailer and Daughter Dorothy. {Boulder City, Nevada-ca. 1933-34}

0049    Boulder City home of Jack Wailer. Ca 1938-39.

0050    Mr. and Mrs. Jack Weiler and daughter Dorothy. Ca 1920

0051    Boulder City Ranger Jack Weiler and daughter Dorothy

0052    Boulder City Ranger Jack Weiler

0053    Man injured on the Hoover Dam construction project. (ca.1932)

0054    Frank T. Crowe, Construction Superintendent for Six Companies on the Hoover Dam. (1930's)

0055    Murl Emery (1903-1981) Photo taken in 1970's.

0056    Boulder City teenagers renovating an abandoned Camp Williston barracks to serve as the Polka Dot Haven, the Boulder City teenager's club.(summer 1953)

0057    Boulder City teenagers renovating old building to make a club for teenagers. (Summer 1953)

0058    Teenagers renovating an abandoned Camp Williston barracks to serve as Polka Dot Haven-a club for Boulder City teenagers. (Summer 1953)

0059    Man helping to renovate an old barracks in Boulder City. It will serve as a club for teenagers.



0022    VIRGINIA FENTON COLLECTION



Miscellaneous (cont.)

0060    Mother and children in abandoned Camp Williston barracks in Boulder City. It was being renovated to serve as Polka Dot Haven-a club for teenagers. ( Summer 1953)

0061    Juanita White c. 1960's-1970's.

0062    Hal Erickson (center), Virginia "Teddy" Fenton (at right). [c.1970's]

0063    L-R: Dr. Thomas White, Dr. Donald Baepler, Dr. Juanita White, c. 1970's. they are holding a rare engraving which is stored in Special Collections, UNLV Library.

0064    Boulder City Chamber of Commerce :L-R: Maxwell Kelch, Elton Garrett, Lillian Collins, [Earl Bothers or John Manis], and Chet Tyree. Taken at Boulder City Airport, ca. 1947 or 1948

0065    W.A. Dexheimer, U.S. Bureau of Reclamation Commissioner. (11-16-64)

0066    W.A. Dexheimer, Commissioner of Bureau of Reclamation, shown in the Nevada Powerhouse at Hoover Dam.

0067    Virginia "Teddy" Fenton on the occasion of Hoover Dam's 50th anniversary (1985)

0068    Nevada wing of the powerhouse under construction, ca. 1933-34.

0069    Two women posing inside a section of the penstock piping at the Babcock & Wilcox steel fabrication plant. (ca. 1933-34)




Construction of Hoover Dam

0070    Canyon Wall and derrick at Hoover Dam. ( Jan.1934-photo by John McCreary)

0071    Passage through Hoover Dam. (Jan. 1934-photo by John McCreary)

0072    Hoover Dam-downstream face looking up.

0073    Hoover Dam-side wall. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0074    Construction of spillway at Hoover Dam. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0075    Cables on Hoover Dam. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0076    Hoover Dam-downstream of reefer. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0077    Babcock & Wilcox Co. Plant-the huge pipes were used in the construction of Hoover Dam. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0078    Hoover Dam: dam upstream and wall. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0079    Upstream face of Hoover Dam during construction. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0080    Hoover Dam under construction. (Credit John McCreary, 1-1-34)

0081    Construction photo of Hoover Dam. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0082    Construction photo of Hoover Dam-shows diversion tunnel entrances. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)



0022    VIRGINIA FENTON COLLECTION



Construction of Hoover Dam (cont.)

0083    Side wall of Hoover Dam under construction. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0084    Bureau of Reclamation Building -Boulder City, NV. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0085    Babcock & Wilcox Co. Plant-the huge pipes were used in the construction of Hoover Dam. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0086    Cable power station at Hoover Dam. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0087    Babcock &Wilcox Co. Plant ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0088    Upstream of canyon walls-Hoover Dam. Construction of Hoover Dam. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0089    Construction of Hoover Dam. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0090    Hoover Dam under construction, Construction of Hoover Dam. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0091    Bridge spanning the canyon during construction of Hoover Dam. Construction of Hoover Dam. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0092    Construction of Hoover Dam. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0093    Power poles at Hoover Dam. January 1934 (Photo John McCreary)

0094    View of Hills near Hoover Dam ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0095    Sections on Hoover Dam, ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0096    Hoover Dam from lookout-Jan. 1934. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0097    Hoover Dam, looking upstream. ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0098    Hoover Dam-construction inside a tunnel ( Jan. 1934-- photo by John McCreary)

0099    Hoover Dam from lookout-Jan. 134 (Photo John McCreary

0100    View of Hoover Dam during construction-Jan1934.



Miscellaneous

0101    Personnel of the Six Companies (Boulder City ) Hospital, 1933.

102     One of the medical personnel at Six Companies Hospital in Boulder City (1933)

103     Interior View of Six Companies Hospital (Boulder City), 1933. Shows hospital equipment.



Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections