You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0323
Duncan, Ruby

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Operation Life-Buildings and people

0001    Cove Hotel, original headquarters for Operation Life. (c. 1970s) The building to the right was also owned by Operation Life and became the West Las Vegas Library.
0002    Back of new Operation Life Building, 600 West Owens, Las Vegas, Nevada.(c. late 1980s)
0003    Aldine Weems, administrator of Operation Life. (c. 1970s)
0004    Aldine Weems. (May 1078)



HUD Regional Office, San Francisco-Grand work for Operation Life

0005    HUD Regional Office - San Francisco. Signing paperwork for the grant for Ruby Duncan Manor (housing for the elderly and the handicapped, funded under Sec. 202 of HUD.) c. 1980s. Ruby Duncan Manor was built in Las Vegas. Ruby Duncan (rt.), Executive Director; Renee Diamond (left), board member for Operation Life.
0006    L-R: Aldine Weems; Marty Makower (Nat'l Economic Development and Law Center, Berkeley; Renee Diamond; unidentified federal employee; Ruby Duncan, Exec. Director of Operation Life. HUD regional office, San Francisco, c. 1980s.
0007    L-R: Aldine Weems, Ruby Duncan, Tommy Ruggiero (board member, Operation Life). At HUD regional office, San Francisco, c. 1980s.
0008    L-R: Jack Anderson, attorney for Operation Life; Ruby Duncan, Executive Director. At HUD regional office, San Francisco, c. 1980s.
0009    L-R: Ruby Duncan and unidentified HUD official. HUD regional office, San Francisco. (c. 1980s)
0010    L-R: Renee Diamond and Ruby Duncan, c. 1980s. Working on the paperwork for a grant for Operation Life. In HUD regional office, San Francisco.
0011    L-R: Unidentified HUD official and Ruby Duncan. (c. 1980s) (HUD regional office, San Francisco, c. 1980s.)
0012    Ruby Duncan (center) with two unidentified HUD officials in the HUD regional office, San Francisco, c. 1980s.
0013    L-R: Mahlon Brown (Las Vegas attorney), Ruby Duncan, Jack Anderson (attorney for Operation Life), HUD regional office, San Francisco, c. 1980s.
0014    Ruby Duncan (seated, center), Jack Anderson (standing with rolled-up paper). HUD regional office - San Francisco - c. 1980s.
0015    L-R: Jack Anderson and Mahlon Brown (attorneys). HUD regional office, San Francisco, c. 1980s.
0016    L-R: Renee Diamond and Ruby Duncan. C. 1980s-HUD regional office, San Francisco.



0323    RUBY DUNCAN COLLECTION



HUD Regional Office, San Francisco-Grant work for Operation Life (cont.)

0017    Ruby Duncan (seated, center) with Operation Life staff members and HUD officials; at HUD regional office, San Francisco, c. 1980s.
0018    L-R: Renee Diamond, Jack Anderson, Ruby Duncan, Marty Makower, Marty, National Economic Development and Law Center, Berkeley,
California, Assisted Operation Life officials in grant writing. (c. 1980s)



Dinner Celebrating Operation Life's Grant

0019    Hugo's Cellar (restaurant in Four Queens Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev.), c. 1980s. A dinner was held to celebrate Operation Life's grant. L-R: Mahlon Brown, Aldine Weems, Jack Anderson, Ruby Duncan.
0020    Dinner at Hugo's Cellar, c. 1980s. (see photo #0323 0019). L-R: Mahlon Brown, Aldine Weems, Jack Anderson, Ruby Duncan, Diane Anderson (Jack's wife), Renee Diamond.
0021    L-R: Aldine Weems, Mahlon Brown. (c.1980s)



Operation Life - Christmas Party

0022    Christmas Party, c. 1980s. Operation Life held party annually and invited public officials and community members. Alversa Beals (in blue & white sweater).
0023    Aldine Weems (center) at Operation Life Christmas party, c.1980s.
0024    Ruby Duncan and unidentified man - Operation Life Christmas party-c.1980s.
0025    Barbara McNair and sons Carlton (right) and Terrence (front) at Operation Life Christmas party. (c.1980s)
0026    Barbara mcNair 9red, at left) at Operation Life's Christmas, party, c. 1980s.
0027    Tammy Bass (wearing black jacket) at Operation Life Christmas party. She was a HUD counselor who worked for Operation Life. (c.1980s)
0028    Guests at Operation Life's annual Christmas Party, c. 1980s. Renee Diamond at far right.
0029    L-R: foreground: Ruby Duncan, Dominic Daileda, Renee Diamond. Christmas Party put on by Operation Life, ca. 1980s.
0030    Renee Diamond (at food table) and Ruby Duncan (in white), Operation Life's annual Christmas party, c. 1980s.
0031    Aldine Weems sitting at Ruby Duncan's desk in the Operation Life office. It was the annual Christmas party. C. 1980s.



0323    RUBY DUNCAN COLLECTIONS



Operation Life - Christmas Party (cont.)

0032    Ruby Duncan (white dress, center) at the annual Operation Life Christmas party. (c.1980s)
0033    Renee Diamond (center) and Pat Van Betten at Operation Life's annual Christmas party. (c. 1980s)
0034    Ruby Duncan (left) talking with Renee Diamond and unidentified male guest at Christmas party in Operation Life office. (c.1980s)



Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections