You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0240
Doughty, Nanelia S.

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


FAMILY PHOTOGRAPHS

0001    Mrs. Bertha M. Siegfried (of Davenport, Iowa), c.1908. Edmonds, WA
0002    Sallie Jane Leona Bradford (May Bradford's mother) - c.1909 - with granddaughter, Nanelia Siegfried (Doughty) - Edmonds, Washington
0003    Nancy Carter Ward (Nan Doughty's great-grandmother). ca. 1870's - 1880's.
0004    Lou-Vee Bradford (Siegfried), about 16 or 18 years old.
0005    Lou-Vee Bradford Siegfried and Thorwald Adolph Arthur Siegfried(Nan'sparents) at their home in Hawthorne, Nevada. (1904)
0006    The Siegfried home in Hawthorne, Nevada. (1904)
0007    Thorwald Siegfried. ca. early1990's.
0008    Nanelia Siegfried, Edmonds, Washington, c. 1908. (About one year old.)
0009    Nanelia Siegfried, Edmonds, Washington, c. 1908-1909.
0010    Nanelia Siegfried, Edmonds, Washington, c. 1909
0011    Siegfried home in Edmonds, Washington. (1908)
0012    L-R: Lou-Vee B. Siegfried, Sallie J.L. Bradford, and Nanelia Siegfried. c. 1909-1910
0012a    Nanelia Siegfried, Edmonds, Washington. c. 1908-1909.
0013    Nanelia Siegfried, Seattle, Washington. ca. 1912.
0013a    Nanelia, Victor & Victoria Siegfried, Seattle, Washington. c. 1911.
0014    Nanelia Siegfried (later Doughty). ca. 1912.
0015    Siegfried home - "Heart's Delight" - Edmonds, Washington. c. 1969.(interior view) (On Puget Sound.)
0016    Siegfried home (interior view) - "Heart's Delight" - Edmonds, Washington. ca. 1909
0017    Siegfried home (interior view) - Edmonds, Washington. c. 1909.
0018    Siegfried home (interior view) - "Heart's Delight" - Edmonds, Washington. c. 1909. Portion of basement showing laundry stove and storeroom.
0019    Interior view of "Heart's Delight" - Siegfried home, Edmonds, Washington, c. 1909.
0020    Interior view of Siegfried home ("Heart's Delight") - Edmonds, Washington, c. 1909.
0021    "Heart's Delight" - Siegfried home on Puget Sound, Washington. c. 1909.(interior view)
0022    Puget Sound, Washington, looking westward. c. 1909 (near site of Siegfried home.)
0023    Near Siegfried home, Edmonds, Washington. c. 1909.
0024    Siegfried house grounds, Edmonds, Washington. c. 1909.
0025    Siegfried home, Edmonds, Washington. c. 1909.
0026    Grounds near Siegfried home - Edmonds, Washington.
0027    Siegfried home - Edmonds, Washington. c. 1909.



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



FAMILY PHOTOGRAPHS (cont.)

0028    Siegfried home, Edmonds, Washington. c. 1909.
0029    Nanelia Siegfried, c. 1910-1911.
0030    Lou_Vee (Bradford) Siegfried and Nanelia. (5-8-10)
0031    Nanelia at Grandma Sallie J.L. Bradford's home in Palo Alto, CA. (ca. 1911-1912 527 Waverly St.)
0032    Home of Sallie J.L. Bradford, grandmother of Nanelia Siegfried. (Address: 527 Waverly St., Palo Alto, CA) ca. 1911-1912. Shows living room with Christmas tree.
0033    Nanelia and twins, Victor and Victoria Siegfried in Edmonds, Wash. C. 1912 (back)
0034    Nanelia Siegfried pushing twins (Victor and Victoria Siegfried) in stroller, c. 1910-1911. (Edmonds, Washington?)
0035    Family photo taken in Palo Alto, CA, ca. 1910-1911. L-R: back, Lou-Vee and Thorwald Siegfried. L-R, Front: Seymour Bradford holding of the twins (Victor or Victoria), unidentified man, Nanelia Siegfried, and Sallie J.L. Bradford holding other twin.
0036    Nanelia (center) and twins, Victor and Victoria. c. 1911.
0037    Nan, Victor and Victoria Siegfried - Seattle, WA. January 15, 1913.
0038    Nanelia Siegfried. (c. 1912-1913.)
0039    Nan Siegfried Doughty. [ca. 1911-1914]
0040    L-R: [Victor, Nan, and Victoria Siegfried.] Woman not identified. [c. 1912-1913]
0041    Nan S. Doughty, [c. 1914].
0042    Nanelia Siegfried. [c. 1914]
0043    Left frame: Nan Siegfried in center, other two girls unidentified. Right frame: Nanelia Siegfried. (Date of both photos: May17, 1914.)
0044    Left frame: Nan Siegfried is second from left. Right frame: Nan on left. (Date of both: June 21 1914) Location: Seattle, WA.
0045    Left frame: Lou-Vee B. Siegfried. Right frame: Sallie J.L. Bradford. Seattle, WA. August 14, 1914. (Date and location of both photos.)
0046    Lou-Vee B. and Thorwald Siegfried. (Nan's parents). [c. 1916]
0047    Thorwald Adolph Arthur Siegfried (t). June 4, 1916. (Nan's father)
0048    Seymour Kimball Bradford holding his grandchildren, Victor and Victoria Siegfried. Seattle, Washington. [ca. 1914].
0049    Siegfried children, left to right: Victoria (Barker) b. 1909; Victor, b. 1909,c. 1978; Nan (Doughty),b. 1907,c. 1987. [ca. 1914-1916]
0050    Nanelia Siegfried (Doughty), May 28, 1916.



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



FAMILY PHOTOGRAPHS (cont.)

0051    L-R: Victor, Victoria, and Nanelia Siegfried. April 2, 1916.
0052    Victoria and Victor Siegfried. [ca. 1917+]
0053    Victoria Siegfried, about 8 years old; Seattle, Washington. [c. 1917]
0054    Lou-Vee B. Siegfried with her children, left to right, Victoria, Nanelia, and Victor. [ca. 1917]
0055    Lou-Vee B. Siegfried and children, (left to right): Nan, Victor, and Victoria. (June, 1917)
0056    Left to right: Victoria, Lou-Vee B., Nan (front), and Victor Siegfried. [ca. 1917-1918]
0057    Lou-Vee (Bradford) Siegfried. [c. 1917-1918]
0058    The Siegfrieds, left to right: Victor, Victoria, Lou-Vee (Bradford), and Nanelia. [c. 1917-1918]
0059    Nanelia Siegfried (later Doughty).
0060    Nanelia Siegfried (as a young teenager).
0061    Lou-Vee (Bradford) Siegfried holding daughter Marylou (one month old); Seattle, Washington, Jan. 6, 1923.
0062    Lou-Vee B. Siegfried holding Marylou. Johannesburg, CA., 1923.
0063    Seymour K. Bradford, Nan's grandfather. (Johannesburg, CA, c. 1923)
0064    Nanelia Siegfried holding baby sister, Marylou. (Johannesburg, CA, 1923)
0065    Marylou Siegfried (Nan's sister) on the porch, first house. (Johannesburg, CA, 1923)
0066    Nanelia Siegfried (Doughty).
0067    Nanelia Siegfried holding baby sister, Marylou. [ca. 1923 - Johannesburg, CA]
0068    Nanelia holding Marylou, c. 1923, Johannesburg, CA.
0069    House in Johannesburg, California, where Nan lived. [c. 1923]
0070    The twin kids - "Pete" and "Repeat". The mother of the kids was kept to provide milk for Marylou Siegfried in Randburg, CA., 1923, while she was living with her grandfather, S.K. Bradford.
0071    Nanelia Siegfried with one of the pet goats - [Randburg, CA., c. 1923]
0072    L-R: Victoria Siegfried, Lou-Vee Bradford Siegfried, Nan Siegfried (Doughty), Victor Siegfried. c. 1927-1928.
0073    Nanelia Siegfried and Dad Lee, Oreana, Nevada. (1929)
0074    [Thorwald Adolph Arthur Siegfriedt (?) c. 1940's]
0075    Nan at her home in Seattle when she was married to "Doc". [ca. 1940's]
0076    Victoria Siegfried with Delia Pierson's little girl - Moscow, Idaho, 1936. (at Laird Park)
0077    John Adam Siegfried (Victor's son), born in 1940.
0078    Victor Siegfried's son - 1948.



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



FAMILY PHOTOGRAPHS (cont.)

0079    Nan. S. Doughty (1945.)
0080    Nan Doughty. (c. 1940's)
0081    Nanelia S. Doughty. [c. 1940's]
0082    Nan Doughty. [c. 1940's]
0083    Nanelia Siegfried Doughty, 1944.
0084    Nan Doughty. [c. 1940's]
0085    Nan Doughty. [c. 1940's]
0086    Miscellaneous negatives of Nan Doughty, c. 1940's. One is Nan with husband "Doc" (?) NEGATIVES ONLY
0087    Nan Doughty (1954)
0088    May Bradford Shockley (Nan's aunt). May, 1954, Wallingford, CT.
0089    Nan Doughty. (1955)
0090    Victoria (Siegfried) and husband Gordon Barker. [c. 1955]
0091    Marylou Williams (Nan's sister) and husband Norton with children. [c. 1957]
0092    Two negatives of Lou-Vee Bradford Siegfried's real estate office. (1955) NEGATIVES ONLY
0093    L-R: Mrs. Adam, Victor Siegfried, Nan Doughty, Bina Williams, Jim Siegfried, Marylou S. Williams, and John Siegfried. Wallingford, CT. [c. 1954]
0094    The Williams' children - L-R: Nancy, Bina, Jon, Brad. [c. 1950's]. (It was Bina's birthday.)
0095    Family reunion in Lou-Vee Bradford Siegfried's home in Palo Alto, CA. (1963). Clockwise, L-R: Emmy Shockley, Victor Siegfried, Lou-Vee B. Siegfried, Nan Doughty, Jim Siegfried, Vera Adam, May Bradford Shockley, John Siegfried, Victoria Barker, Bill Shockley, Jean Siegfried.
0096    L-R: John Siegfried, Lou-Vee Siegfried, Emmy Shockley, Vera Adam, May B. Shockley, William B. Shockley, Jim Siegfried, Jean Siegfried, Nan Doughty, Victoria Barker, Victor Siegfried. (1963)
0097    Gordon Barker, husband of Victoria Siegfried Barker. (1963)
0098    Nanelia S. Doughty, June, 1960.
0099    Nan Doughty (1960).
0100    May B. Shockley (left). January 1969, Menlo Park. Jean Siegfried at right.
0101    May B. Shockley. [c. 1969]
0102    Nan S. Doughty. [c. 1970's]
0103    Nan Doughty in Las Vegas. [c. 1970's]
0104    Nan Doughty in Las Vegas. [c. 1970's]
0105    Nan Doughty at her home, summer 1987. (486 McKellar Circle #1, Las Vegas.)
0106    Nan Doughty - summer 1981.



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



ADDITIONS TO FAMILY PHOTOS

0107    Seymour Kimball Bradford (Nan's grandfather). c. 1901.
0108    Lou-Vee Bradford Siegfried, October 1965. (Nan's mother)
0109    Seymour Kimball Bradford and his grand-daughter Nan Siegfried. (c. 1912-1913)
0110    Marylou Siegfried, (Nan's sister), at left.
0111    L-R: Nanelia Siegfried, Victoria, and Marylou. (Siegfried sisters) [ca. 1920's]
0112    Back, L-R: Nan Siegfried Doughty, unidentified person. Front, L-R: Victoria and Victor Siegfried. [c. 1917]
0113    Nanelia Siegfried Doughty, left. [c. 1917] Other person not identified.



NEVADA

AUSTIN

0114    Austin, Nevada. (1970) Shows souvenir shop.
0114a    Austin, Nevada. (1970)
0115    The old Austin Civic Center; Austin, Nevada. [photo taken 1970]
0115a    Austin Nevada. (1970)
0116    Kitty Bonner in front of International Café, Austin, NV. (Aug. 1971)
0116a    Main Street - Austin, Nevada. (1-1-70)



SEN. T.J. BELL'S RANCH

0117    Senator T.J. Bell's Ranch. (Nevada - c. 1907)
0118    Senator T.J. Bell's Ranch. (Nevada - c. 1907)
0119    Men working on T.J. Bell Ranch. (Nevada - c. 1907)
0120    Scene at T.J. Bell's Ranch. (Nevada - c. 1907)



BELMONT

0121    Belmont, Nevada. ("Doctor's House") - 1970.
0121a    Columbus Marsh: Argentine Co. Mill - June 1969. [Belmont, Nevada area]
0122    Belmont Courthouse - Belmont, Nevada. (June 1969)



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



NEVADA (cont.)

BELMONT (cont.)

0122a    [Ruins in Belmont, Nevada - 1969]
0123    Belmont, Nevada - residence of Mrs. Rose Walter. (June, 1969)
0123a    Columbus Marsh: Argentine Co. Mill - June 1969[Belmont, Nevada area]
0124    Scene in Belmont, Nevada. (June, 1969)
0124a    Ruins of Highbridge Mill, Monitor Valley, (near Belmont, Nevada) - June 196
0125    Belmont, Nevada. (June, 1969)



BULLFROG

0126    Remains (walls) of Senator Stewart's house/office in Bullfrog, Nevada. (Built in 1905 - photo taken Dec. 1971)



CANDELARIA - EARLY

0127    Candelaria, Nevada. (1890) Shows General Merchandise Store of Ben F. Edwards.
0128    Candelaria, Nevada. (1885) Shows Pickhandle Gulch: Mt. Diablo cul0de0sac.
0129    Candelaria Nevada. [c. late 1880's]
0130    Pickhandle Gulch, Candelaria, Nevada. (1889) (Shows Assay Office, Shockley House, etc.)



CANDELARIA - LATER

0131    Candelaria, Nevada - 1969. Main Street taken from near the cemetery. Princess Mill ruins on hill in center. Bank Building and Tarpey's store to left and right of the street. (photo taken by Nan Doughty)
0132    Candelaria dug-outs. June, 1967. (Photo by Jean-Marie Libotte)
0133    Originally Esmeralda Bank Building, then Ben Edwards' store, Candelaria, Nevada. Now in ruins - June, 1969.


0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



NEVADA (cont.)


CANDELARIA - LATER (cont.)

0134    Candelaria: cul-de-sac at Mt. Diablo Mine office and superintendent's house (house collapsed). Taken from top of tailings dump near ruins of hoisting works building. (June, 1967) - Photo by J-M Libotte.
0135    Sketch of dugout at Candelaria, Nevada. Sketch by Nan Doughty, 1969.
0136    Dugout in Candelaria, Nevada - 1969. (Nan Doughty made her sketch from this.)
0137    Ruins of F.M. Tarpey Store; Candelaria, Nevada. (June, 1969). (North side of Main Street)
0138    Candelaria cemetery. (September 1969)
0139    Writing on the safe at the Princess Mill, Candelaria, Nevada. (slide also)
0140    Pickhandle Gulch - Candelaria, Nevada. (1967) Road to left of Y reservoir. Road coming in from extreme lower right corner - from Candelaria. Center: foundations, (ruins), of boarding house.
0141    (Candelaria, Nevada, 1967) Stone building on south side of Main Street; was a bank at one time. (Note iron shutters and brick doorframes.)
0142    Candelaria, Nevada - 1977. Ruins of old bank building on south side of Main Street.
0143    Candelaria, Nevada - 1977. Ruins of old stone store on north side of road thru Candelaria townsite.
0144    Pickhandle Gulch (Mt. Diablo). June, 1967.
0145    Candelaria, Nevada dugouts - June 1967.
0146    Ruins of Mt. Diablo superintendent's house in Pickhandle Gulch. (Candelaria, NV, 1967) Note mouth of tunnel, behind fallen roof, where Wm. H. Shockley kept milk and butter cool; and stored books and papers in his absence.
0147    Mr. And Mrs. A. R. Wardle at Candelaria dugouts. (9-4-69)
0148    Candelaria, Nevada (1967). [Up at smelter (?) foundation ]
0149    "Y" at Pickhandle Gulch, Candelaria, NV. (June 1967) Photo taken from hill back of cul-de-sac [Shockley house].
0150    Ruins in Candelaria, Nevada. (1967)
0151    Sidewalk in front of Princess Mill superintendent's house. (Candelaria, NV, 1969)
0152    Ruins in Candelaria, Nevada. (1967)
0153    Remains of Princess Mill foundations. (Candelaria, Nevada - 1972)
0154    Candelaria, Nevada. (1967) Looking west: Main Street, stone building on each side. Foundations on hill in distance, old team road barely visible.
0155    Entrance to Pickhandle Gulch (Candelaria, Nevada - 1967) [mine dump]
0156    Pickhandle Gulch; Candelaria, Nevada (1967)
0157    Pickhandle Gulch: Mt. Diablo mining shaft (hoisting was burned) 9-4-69
0158    Northern Belle Hill and Candelaria (Nevada). 7-15-72.



0240     NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION


NEVADA (cont.)


CANDELARIA - LATER (cont.)

0159    Mt. Diablo Mine - burned hoisting works. (Candelaria, Nev., 9-4-69)
0160    Candelaria (Nevada) graveyard. June 1969.
0161    Stone cabin, Pickhandle Gulch. June 1969.
0162    Pickhandle Gulch. (1969)
0163    Reservoir site above Pickhandle Gulch; Candelaria, Nevada. (June 1969)
0164    Candelaria graveyard. June 1969
0165    Remains of the wooden tailings trough below the Princess Mill. (Candelaria) (Photo - 1967)
0166    Candelaria (7-15-72) - Ruins of tailings trench, Princess Mill.
0167    The northwest corner of the White mountain Water Company's reservoir at the summit of Pickhandle Gulch, 1969. (Pipeline system completed February 1882. The track of this pipeline is faintly visible in the middle distance.)
0168    A corner of the reservoir at head of Pickhandle Gulch (Candelaria) in 1969. Visible near bottom of photograph is the outflow basin and pipe.
0169    Panorama of Candelaria Valley, c. 1970, showing at left, entrance to Pickhandle Gulch. Northern Belle loading bins and tailings are to its right and Northern Belle hill in center upper. R. R. grade to Northern Belle can be seen diagonally up face of hill. At right, road connects with Main Street. Stone building and Tarpey stone store to south and north of Main Street. Ruins of Princess Mill foundations in center right.
0170    Ruins of Shockley House - Pickhandle Gulch. (Candelaria, Nevada) - 1969.
0171    Reische's store - Candelaria, Nevada - 1969.
0172    Candelaria, Nevada. (June 1969)
0173    Candelaria Partners: cyanide heap leach operation (Candelaria, Nevada, 1981)
0174    Candelaria Partners operations - cyanide heap leach extraction - to east of Candelaria cemetery and site - 1980. (Courtesy Candelaria Partners)
0175    Candelaria - 1980. The beginnings of the open pit at the top of Pickhandle Gulch, mining ore for the heap leach extraction plant. (Courtesy: Candelaria Partners)
0176    Candelaria Partners operation - cyanide heap leach extraction. (1981) (Courtesy: Candelaria Partners)
0177    Open pit - Candelaria Partners operation. (1981)
0178    Site of Candelaria Partners operations - heap leach extraction plant. Candelaria, Nevada. (1981)



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



NEVADA (cont.)


CANDELARIA (cont.) - THE FOLLOWING ARE SLIDES

0179    Candelaria panorama, #1 (1971)
0180    Candelaria panorama, #2 (1971)
0181    Candelaria panorama, #3 (1971)
0182    Candelaria panorama, #4 (1971)
0183    Candelaria panorama, #5 (1971)
0184    Candelaria panorama, #6 (1971)
0185    Ruins of old building (bank), in Candelaria. (1971)
0186    View of waterline from top of dump - Candelaria, Nevada. (1971)
0187    Ruins of Shockley house - Pickhandle Gulch, Candelaria. (1971)
0188    Gulch and dump from Shockley house. (1971)
0189    Ruins of Shockley house - Pickhandle Gulch. (1971)
0190    View from May's old house site. (1971)
0191    View from Princess Mine dump (?) - 1971.
0192    Pickhandle Gulch & ruins of Shockley house - 1971.
0193    View from Shockley house - Pickhandle Gulch - 1971



CARRARA

0194    Ruins at Carrara, Nevada. (Buildings associated with a Philippine cement company, abandoned 1936.)
0195    Ruins of cement plant - Arrista, NV. (SLIDE)



ELY VALLEY

0196    Ely Valley, Nevada. Line cabin below Dutch John Peak. (1970)
0197    Dutch John Peak and line cabin - Ely Valley, Nevada. (1970)



GOLDFIELD

0198    Columbia Mtn., 1974, (suburb of Goldfield, NV) (SLIDE)



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



NEVADA (cont.)


GOLDFIELD (cont.)

0199    Columbia Mtn., 1974, (suburb of Goldfield) (SLIDE) R 18:4
0200    Prospectors near Goldfield, Nevada. (1903)
0201    New Hippodrome Theatre, (built in six weeks), Goldfield, Nevada. [c. early 1900's]
0202    Gambling scene in Goldfield, Nevada. (faro bank) [c. early 1900's]
0202a    Gambling scene in Goldfield, Nevada. [c. early 1900's]
0203    Goldfield, Nevada. 1971 (SLIDE) R 18:5
0204    Goldfield historical marker (1971) (SLIDE) R 18:5
0205    Bottle House - Goldfield, Nevada. (1979 or 1980)



HAMILTON

0206    Hamilton, Nevada, 1970. (Looking east by north from center of town.)
0207    Mill ruins, east of Hamilton, Nevada. (1970)
0208    Mill ruins, east of Hamilton, Nevada. (1970)
0209    Mill ruins east of Hamilton, Nevada. (1970)



HAWTHORNE

0210    A storm on Mt. Grant, overlooking Walker Lake, Nevada. (near Hawthorne, Nevada - c. 1907-1908. Siegfrieds lived in Hawthorne for a time.)



LIDA

0211    Lida, Nevada - 1906. (Courtesy Nevada Historical Society)
0212    Lida, Nevada. (1979)
0213    Lida Valley showing haystack, ranch buildings. [ca. 1970's]
0214    Lida, Nevada. One of the only surviving wooden houses from early days. (Photo c. 1970's)



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



NEVADA (cont.)


KINGSTON

0215    Kingston Canyon, Nevada - mill ruins. (1970)
0216    Ruins of mill, Kingston Canyon, Nevada. (1970)
0217    Kingston, Nevada. (1973)
0218    Kingston, Nevada. (1973)
0219    Kingston, Nevada. (1973)
0220    Kingston, Nevada. (1973)



OPHIR

0221    Ophir, Nevada. (1974)



PIOCHE

0222    Pioche, Nevada (1970)
0223    Mountain View Hotel - Pioche, Nevada. (1970)



RAWHIDE

0224    Rawhide, Nevada, in its heyday. [c. early 1900's]
0225    Fire in Rawhide, Nevada, Sept. 4, 1908. (Note the building with three square windows, visible on previous photo, about to be engulfed.)
0226    Rawhide, Nevada rebuilding after fire of 1908. [c. 1908-1909]
0227    Miners with sacked ore at the Shaffer Lease, Grutt Hill, in Rawhide, Nevada. [c. early 1900's]



RHYOLITE

0228    Rhyolite, Nevada train station. (1974)
0229    Rhyolite, Nevada. (1974)



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



NEVADA (cont.)


RHYOLITE (cont.)

The following are SLIDES

0230    Rhyolite ruins - 1971.
0231    Ruins of Sen. Stewart's house - Rhyolite, NV.
0232    Ruins in Rhyolite, Nevada - 1971.
0233    Rhyolite, NV - Ruins. (1971)
0234    Ruins in Rhyolite, Nevada. (1980)
0235    Rhyolite, Nevada - 1971.
0236    Bessie Moffat at home - Rhyolite. ('71)


The following are PRINTS:

0237    Ruins in Rhyolite, Nevada. (1980)
0238    Rhyolite, Nevada - Lorena S. Meadows and Nan S. Doughty (1980).
0239    Bessie Moffat's house, Rhyolite, Nevada. (October, 1980)
0240    Bessie L. (Stevenson) Moffat - operator of Hyclass Beauty Shoppe, Boone, Iowa. [c. early 1900's]
0241    James R. Moffat ("in store clothes").
0242    James R. Moffat in Rhyolite, Nevada. (author of Memoirs of an Old-Timer: Rhyolite, NV, 1906-1907.)
0243    Bessie Moffat in her Rock Shop in Rhyolite, Nevada. (1972 - she was 91 years old.)
0244    Bessie Moffat at her Nevada Rock Shop, Rhyolite, Nevada. (1972)



TONOPAH

0245    Tonopah, Nevada. [ca. 1905]
0246    Tonopah, Nevada - John and Lottie Nay. (ca. late 1920's, early 1930's)
0247    Panorama of Tonopah, Nevada. (1969) (Mt. Brougher is tall mountain in the background. Monte Christo Mountains are in the distance at the right. ) (OVERSIZE)
247a    North of Tonopah - Victor headframe. (9-5-69)
0248    Mining equipment near Tonopah, Nevada. (1969)
0249    Scene in Tonopah, Nevada - 1969. (Corner of Main & Florence, looking northeast.)



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



NEVADA (cont.)


TONOPAH (cont.)

0250    Old stone building in Tonopah, Nevada. (1968) [May have been a bakery at one time.]
0251    Butler Theatre - Tonopah, Nevada. (June, 1969)
0252    Butler Theatre in Tonopah, Nevada, (9-4-69), as it is being demolished.
0253    Tonopah Liquor Company (built in 1905) - August 1985, date of photo.
0254    Jeanette Gustafson in front of Central Nevada Museum, Tonopah, Nevada. (Aug. 1985)
0255    Aug. 1985 - Liz Cochran of Central Nevada Museum receiving one of three maps donated by Nan Doughty.
0256    Central Nevada Museum - Aug. 1985. Liz Cochran receiving donation from Nan Doughty.



TRAIL CANYON

0257    Trail Canyon - Nevada. (1971) Boards in front of spring. (SLIDE, also)
0258    Spring in willows on left side of Trail Canyon (Nevada). Picture looking up Trail Canyon toward Boundary Peak. (1971) (SLIDE, also)
0259    Covering on spring in Trail Canyon that furnished water for Candelaria. (1971 photo) (SLIDE, also)


ADDITIONS TO TONOPAH (SLIDES - housed on R 18:6)

0260    Tonopah, Nevada. 1971
0261    Tonopah - old cemetery - 1971.
0262    Tonopah, NV - Brougher Peak.



VIRGINIA CITY & VICINITY

0263    Virginia city, Nevada. (1954)
0264    Old house in Virginia City, Nevada. (1954 photo)
0265    Virginia City, Nevada homes. (Photo taken 1954)



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



NEVADA (cont.)

VIRGINIA CITY & VICINITY (cont.)

0266    Old home in Virginia City, Nevada. (Photo - 1954)
0267    Virginia City. (1954)
0268    Virginia City, Nevada. (1954)
0269    Old Virginia City house. (1956)
0270    Carson River area. (1972)
0271    Two views of the Carson River.

The following are colored postcards:

0272    Territorial Enterprise Newspaper, Virginia City, Nevada. (Est. 1876) On the same premises is the Mark Twain Museum.
0273    Exterior of Piper's Opera House, Virginia City, Nevada.
0274    Fourth Ward School, Virginia City, Nevada. (Est. 1876)
0275    Knights of Pythias and Miners' Union; Virginia City, Nevada.
0276    Savage Mining Company Office - Virginia City, Nevada. (Built in the late 1860's after destruction of first building by fire.)
0277    Desk used by Mark Twain while editor of famed "Territorial Enterprise', 1863-1867
0278    Virginia City, Nevada. (Shows many of its original buildings.)
0279    Virginia City, NV - Knights of Pythias and the old Miners' Union in the great fire of October, 1875.)
0280    The Delta Saloon and Bucket of Blood Saloon - Virginia City, Nevada. Cedar Hill in the background.
0281    Virginia city Nevada. "C" Street looking south from Sazarac and old Washoe Club.

MISCELLANEOUS (Black and white postcards)

0282    Depot at Tonopah, Nevada. (1904)
0283    Present day view of the famous Ghost town, Belmont (Nye County), Nevada.
0284    Mizpah Mine - Tonopah, Nevada. (discovered in 1900)
0285    Midway Mine - Tonopah, Nevada.
0286    Ruins of Senator Stewart's old home - Rhyolite, Nevada.



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



ARIZONA

0287    Katherine's Landing, Lake Mohave. (Davis Dam) 6/72.
0288    Lake Mohave at Davis Dam. (9/72)
0289    Panorama of a Storm west of Kingman, Arizona, on the road to Davis Dam. (consists of nine sequential photos)



CALIFORNIA


DEATH VALLEY & VICINITY

0290    Borax wagon - Wagons of the famous 20-Mule Team Borax Trains stand quietly on public display at Death Valley's Furnace Creek Ranch. (postcard)
0291    The burro - "native son of Death Valley". (postcard)
0292    "Old Dinah" in front of the Furnace Creek Ranch in Death Valley National Monument. This steam tractor was developed to replace the 20-mule borax teams, but was itself replaced by a railroad. (postcard)
0293    The charcoal kilns of upper Wildrose Canyon. In the mid 1870's these kilns provided charcoal for George Hearst's Modoc mines, and may have been operated with the labor of Death Valley Indians. (postcard)
0294    Wildrose Station is an historic old stage stop in the Wildrose Canyon entrance to Death Valley National Monument. (postcard)
0295    Alabama Hills and the highway to Mt. Whitney. (California) (postcard)
0296    Darwin Falls in the Panamint Valley (California). This desert canyon stream provides water through a 3 mile pipe line to Panamint Springs Resort. (postcard)
0297    Aguerreberry Point, a 6,000 ft. lookout a few miles off the highway between Wildrose Canyon and Stove Pipe Wells, offers a panoramic view of Death Valley. (postcard)
0298    Badwater - in Death Valley - lowest area in the western hemisphere. (postcard)
0299    Aguerreberry Point - overlooking Death Valley. (postcard)
0300    Petroglyphs in the High Sierras of California. (postcard)
0301    The Wildrose Canyon entrance to Death Valley National Monument. (postcard)
0302    Panamint Valley - the mountains in the background are the Panamint Range. (postcard)
0303    Mrs. Bea Kirk chats with James Boyles prior to her entry as the only woman contestant in the burro-flapjack contest held in Death Valley by the 49ers.
0304    L-R: Bea Kirk, Ed Kirk (her husband), Mrs. John MacPherson, Walter Hilliard (back). Getting ready for the Death Valley 49ers encampment.
0305    Death Valley 49ers encampment.



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



CALIFORNIA (cont.)


DEATH VALLEY & VICINITY (cont.)

0306    Charcoal kilns in the upper Wildrose Canyon - Death Valley, California.
0307    Charcoal kilns - upper Wildrose Canyon, Death Valley, CA.
0308    Charcoal kilns in upper Wildrose Canyon - Death Valley.
0309    Stone Arrastra near Ballarat, 1954. (Near Stove Pipe Wells, California) (slide also)
0310    "Seldom Seen Slim's " shack - Ballarat, California. (1954)



JOHANNESBURG

0311    The Toggenburg twin kids - "Pete" and "Repeat" - with hams. Johannesburg, CA. (1923) (slide also)
0312    Nanny goat and one of the twin kids - Johannesburg, 1924.
0313    The Toggenburg twin kids, "Pete" and "Repeat". Johannesburg, CA. (1924)
0314    "The flapper's house", neighbor to the Teagle house - Johannesburg, CA. (1954)
0315    The Teagle house in 1946. (Johannesburg, California)
0316    Mrs. Howe's house - Johannesburg, CA. (1954)
0317    Marylou Williams (Nan's baby sister) in jumper, Teagle house, Johannesburg, CA. (1923)
0318    Teagle house, with the Overland alongside. (Johannesburg, CA - 1923)
0319    Red Mountain; (California - 1923) Johannesburg in middle.
0320    The old Teagle Store - Johannesburg. (1954) - made of adobe. (slide also)
0321    Side view of the old adobe Teagle Store - Johannesburg (1954).
0322    King Solomon Mine, Johannesburg, California. (postcard)



RANDSBURG

0323    Randsburg, CA - Butte Ave. in the 1930's. (postcard)
0324    Butte Avenue in the 1930's - randsburg, California. (postcard)
0325    Randsburg, California - 1930's. (postcard)
0326    Madeline Hall's store in Randsburg, CA. (1954) (slide also)
0327    Two views of Madeline Hall's store in Randsburg, California. (1974)
0328    5 Stamp Mill from Little Butte Mine, Randsburg, California. (slide also)
0329    Locomotive used to pull ore cars - Randsburg, California. (color slide also)



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



CALIFORNIA (cont.)


RANDSBURG (cont.)

0330    Stamp mill from Little Butte Mine, Randsburg, CA. (color slide ONLY)
0331    An original dwelling in Randsburg, California; still standing in 1954.
0332    Big Butte Mine, Randsburg, California. (postcard)
0333    Yellow Aster gold mine and Stamp Mill, Randsburg, California. (postcard)



MARYHILL

0334    Maryhill, California. (c. 1950's)
0335    Maryhill, California. (c. 1950's)
0336    Maryhill, California. (c. 1950's)



MONO LAKE

0337    Panorama of Mono Lake, California.



MISCELLANEOUS LOCATIONS (NEGATIVES ONLY)

0338    Pacific Grove Trip (w/Molly); Bolinas School of Life (7/7/7/8); Menlo School of Life (7/21/22); Palo Alto visit (8/4); San Francisco School of Life (8/5); Miscellaneous: Backyard, etc. (1934)



POINT LOBOS

0339    Point Lobos, California (October 1970)



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



CALIFORNIA (cont.)


SANTA CRUZ

0340    Santa Cruz, California - Benjamin Canthorn. (friend of Siegfrieds?). [c. early 1900's]
0341    Santa Cruz, California - Frances Canthorn. (friend of Siegfrieds ?: [c. early 1900's]
0342    Big Surg, California.
0343    Miscellaneous negatives: (1932) McConnell Picnic (1931-1932); Santa Cruz (Sept. 2-5). NEGATIVES ONLY



TRONA

0344    Trona, California. (c. 1930's)
0345    Trona, California - Ed Teagle. (1957)
0346    Trona, California. (1954) - historic buildings.
0347    Trona, California. (1954) - historic buildings.
0348    Trona, California. (two views) - 1954.



TULE LAKE (LAVA BEDS NATIONAL MONUMENT)

0349    Captain Jack's Stronghold - lava beds south of Tule Lake, California. (Lava Beds National Monument.)
0350    Modoc outpost at Captain Jack's Stronghold - Tule Lake, CA.
0351    Lava Beds & caves near Tule Lake, California - site of Captain Jack's Stronghold.
0352    Lava trenches in Captain Jack's Stronghold.
0353    Modoc stronghold - Lava trenches, redoubts, caves, etc. - Tule Lake, CA.
0354    Lava beds near Tule Lake, California.
0355    Modoc stronghold near Tule Lake, California: lava trenches, redoubts, etc.
0356    Lava beds near Tule Lake, California - site of cap. Jack's Stronghold.
0357    "Scarfaced Charlie" - Captain Jack's chief warrior and tactician in the Modoc War. (c. 1870'a)
0358    Frank Riddle's Modoc wife, Toby (alias Wi-ne-ma), a heroine of the Modoc War. [c. 1870's]
0359    Captain Jack (Modoc name was Kientpoos) - [c. 1870's]. He was leader of the Modocs in the Modoc Indian War in the lava beds.



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



CALIFORNIA (cont.)


TULE LAKE (LAVA BEDS NATIONAL MONUMENT) (cont.)

0360    Lt. William L. Wherwood, army officer killed during the Modoc War in the lava beds. [c. 1870's]
0361    Capt. Jack's Stronghold - Tule Lake, California.
0362    Lava beds - Tule Lake, CA. (slide, also)
0363    Captain Jack's Stronghold - Tule Lake, California.
0364    Exhibit describing the Modoc battles fought in Captain Jack's Stronghold.
0365    Captain Jack's Stronghold. (slide also)
0366    Lava trench in Capt. Jack's Stronghold.
0367    Captain Jack's Stronghold - Tule Lake, California.



YOSEMITE NATIONAL PARK (NEGATIVES ONLY)

0368    Assorted negatives of Yosemite Nat'l Park (January 1931) (Include people - unidentified - as well as scenery)



OREGON AND WASHINGTON

0369    Multnomah Falls, Oregon.
0370    Lost River "bridge" - Oregon. (Courtesy Klamath County Museum, Klamath Falls, Oregon.)
0371    Crater Lake, Oregon. (1971)
0372    Wolf Creek, Oregon. (1971)
0373    Van Brimmer Ranch, c. 1895. (Photo taken by Dr. Davis of Susanville; Courtesy Klamath County Museum, Klamath Falls, OR.
0374    (NEGS. ONLY) Negatives of trips to Oregon and Washington; includes: (1) Portland trip - 1940 (?); (2) Olympic trip & Elwha River. (Sept. '38); (3) Hood River, OR. July '38 and Jan. '39.
0375    "Goat farm" - Snoqualmie Pass road (Washington). c. 1918.
0376    Olympic Peninsula - Washington. (Oct. 1944)
0377    Olympic Peninsula - Washington. (Oct. 1944)
0378    Eagle Falls, (Index, Washington)
0379    Nan Doughty painting at Eagle Falls, Index, Washington. (c. 1946)
0380    Mount Index, Washington.



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



OREGON AND WASHINGTON (cont.)

0381    Mount Index, Washington. [c. 1920's]



LIBERTY, WASHINGTON

0382    Mine near Liberty, Washington, 1918. (One of men is Thorwald Siegfried, Nan's father.)
0383    Interior of the mill at the mine near Liberty, Washington. (1918)
0384    Mill and mine near Liberty, Washington - 1918. (People not identified). [Siegfrieds lived here for a time.]
0385    Building at mine near Liberty, Washington - 1918. [Might be a bunkhouse.]
0386    At mine near Liberty, Washington. (1918). [People are not identified, but one might be Thorwald Siegfried, Nan's father.]
0387    Mill and mine near Liberty, Washington - 1918. [Siegfrieds lived here for a time.]
0388    Wooden arastra. On road from Blemett Pass. Highway to Liberty, Washington, 1918.
0389    Bunkhouse (?) at mine near Liberty, Washington, 1918. (People not identified.)
0390    Buildings at mine near Liberty, Washington, 1918.
0391    Mill, mine near Liberty, Washington - 1918.
0392    Stamp mill, mine near Liberty, Washington, 1918.
0393    Liberty, Washington, 1918. Lou-Vee B. Siegfried on far side of car, Nan Siegfried inside car, Allan Armstrong (?) standing in front of car.
0394    Liberty, Washington, 1918. Siegfried twins, Victoria and Victor, are seated on side of table next to house. (Rest of group not identified.)
0395    At mine - Liberty, Washington, 1918. (Men not identified.)
0396    Liberty, Washington. (1918)
0397    Stamps mill at mine near Liberty, Washington. (1918)
0398    Liberty, Washington, 1918.
0399    Ore car and mouth of a tunnel at the mine near Liberty, WA. (1918)
0400    Thorwald Siegfried (Nan's father), center. Mine near Liberty, WA. (1918)
0401    Millhouse - mine near Liberty, WA. (1918)
0402    (NEGS. ONLY) Two negatives of scenes at mine near Liberty, Washington. (1918)
0403    On ferry "Indianapolis" approaching Deception Pass (Washington) - 1917.
0404    Deception Pass from ferry ("Indianapolis") en route to "San Wan" launching. (6-7-1917)
0405    Mt. St. Helens, Washington and Spirit Lake (?).
0406    (NEGS. ONLY) Miscellaneous negatives taken in Seattle - 1937.



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



OREGON AND WASHINGTON (cont.)

0407    (NEGS. ONLY) Miscellaneous negatives OF PEOPLE ON TRIPS TO index, Washington (1943). (People not identified.)
0408    (NEGS. ONLY) Miscellaneous negatives of Coulee, WA and Okanogan, WA. Oct. 1948. (People not identified.)
0409    (NEGS. ONLY) Columbia River and Mt. Ranier, Washington.
0410    Nan Doughty [in Seattle?]. August 1953. (Man not identified.)
0411    [Seattle, WA area.]
0412    [Seattle, WA - might be Siegfrieds early home or Nan's home] - August 1953.
0413    Olympic Peninsula, WA. [c. 1944]
0414    Olympic Peninsula, WA. [c. 1944]
0415    (NEGS. ONLY) Miscellaneous Negatives of Olympic, Washington area. October, 1944.
0416    Ivar's Salmon House, Seattle, WA. (1972) Nan Doughty and unidentified man.
0417    Ivar's Salmon House, Seattle, WA. (1972)
0418    Ivar's Salmon House - Seattle, WA. (1972)
0419    Ivar's Salmon House - interior. Seattle, WA. (1972)
0420    Granite Falls, WA. (1977)
0421    Granite Falls, WA. (1977)
0422    Seattle, WA. (Magnolia Bluff) - 1976.
0423    Lee Vining Ranger Station, WA. (1976)
0424    Minden, WA. (1976)

THE FOLLOWING ARE SLIDES

0425    Near Bend, Oregon.
0426    Near Lava Butte, OR. Lava flow & fall colors.
0427    Portland St. at the Civic Center.
0428    Mt. Hood, Oregon.
0429    North slope of Crater Lake, OR.
0430    Oregon - logging.
0431    Provincial Museum & totem pole; Victoria, B.C.
0432    Log rafts - Victoria, B.C.
0433    Parliament Bldg., Victoria, B.C.
0434    Olympic National Park, Washington.
0435    Ivar's Salmon House, Seattle, WA.
0436    Mt. Rainier and Paradise Meadows.
0437    Mr. Rainier near Nisqually.



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



OREGON AND WASHINGTON (cont.)


THE FOLLOWING ARE SLIDES

0438    Among the San Juan Islands, WA.
0439    Juan de Fuca Strait (Hurricane Ridge across).
0440    Strait of Juan de Fuca, WA.
0441    Village in the San Juan Islands.
0442    Beach Scene (Washington?).
0443    Pt. Of Arches from near Neah Bay (WA?)
0444    River Near Neah Bay.
0445    Ship near Port Angeles, WA.
0446    Second Beach, Washington
0447    Driftwood near Neah Bay or Second Beach.
0448    Near Second Beach, Washington.
0449    Bird & Seal Rock, 17 Mile Drive, WA.
0450    Near Spanish Bay - 17 Mile Drive
0451    Hurricane Ridge panhandlers.
0452    Baskets at Hoh Rain Forest (?)



MISCELLLANEOUS LOCATIONS (PRINTS)

0453    Mono Lake, California. (1977)
0454    Bridgeport [California?] - 1977.
0455    Abert Rim [California?] - panorama.
0456    Zion Canyon Utah. (1971)
0457    Zion Canyon Utah. (1971)
0458    Zion Canyon Utah. (1971)
0459    Zion Canyon Utah. [Virgin Anticlines?] - 1971 trip that Nan Doughty took.
0460    The Gray Ranch; Thompson Falls, Montana.

THE FOLLOWING ARE NEGATIVES ONLY.

0461    Misc. negatives taken at Gray Ranch, Thompson Falls, Montana.
0462    House Estes Park, Colorado (1947).
0463    Misc. Negatives taken on Texas trip - (1945). (People are not identified.)
0464    Negatives of interior of home (Nan's?) at 1529 Boylston, Seattle, Washington.



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



THE FOLLOWING ARE NEGATIVES ONLY. (Cont.)

0465    Miscellaneous negatives of Nan's Garland (TX?) trip. (1945)
0466    Negatives of Graham Gables (California) - June & July 1937. (People not identified)
0467    Miscellaneous negatives of Nan's trip to Colorado. (Dec. '38- Jan. '39)
0468    Miscellaneous negatives of Nan's trip to Willapa Harbor and Florence (Oregon?). Dates are Apr. - May, 1938. (Some are of Oregon coast.)

NEGATIVES ONLY

0469    Miscellaneous negatives - some are of Telegraph Hill (July 15, 1933- March 1, 1934). Others are of people - envelope indicated "Stella and "T.S." (probably Thorwald Siegfried) and "L.A."
0470    Misc. negatives of Loma Prieta (E.W. field) - 1933. (People not identified.)
0471    Trip to Yellowstone National Park - Old Faithful. (Summer - 1931) (People not identified.)

PRINTS

0472    Yellowstone National Park - Summer of 1931.
0473    Yellowstone National Park (Summer 1931.)
0474    Rider on horse - Yellowstone National Par, Summer 1931.
0475    (NEGS. ONLY) Miscellaneous negatives of Yellowstone National Park - Mammoth camp. (1931) (People not identified.)



WILLIAM HARRAH (MUSEUM, AUTO COLLECTION, ETC.)

0476    Bill Harrah. (1969)
0477    Buffalo Bill Cody Exhibit at Harrah's Museum, Reno, NV. (1975)
0478    Buffalo Bill Cody Exhibit - Harrah's Museum, Reno, Nevada.
0479    Harrah's Museum - Reno, Nevada.
0480    Harrah's Museum - Reno, Nevada.
0481    Harrah's Museum - Reno, Nevada.
0482    Early gambling machines - Harrah's Museum, Reno, Nevada.
0483    Mercedes-Benz (1929 model). One of the classics in Harrah's Automobile Collection - Reno, Nevada - 1969.
0484    1913 Mercer Raceabout one of the cars in Harrah's Automobile Collection, Reno, Nevada. (1969)



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



WILLIAM HARRAH (MUSEUM, AUTO COLLECTION, ETC.) (cont.)

0485    One of the classic cars in Harrah's Automobile Collection - Reno, Nevada.
0486    Harrah's Automobile Collection - Reno, Nevada. (1969)
0487    A Japanese poster advertising the "World Classic Car Festival" - thirty key cars in the Harrah's Automobile Collection which went to Japan in 1971 for a special event.
0488    "First World Classic Car Festival"- Harrah's exhibit - at the World Trade Center in Tokyo. (1971)
0489    Bugatti Coupe de Ville (1931) - from Harrah's Automobile Collection, the World's largest with over 1,400 cars.
0490    Bill Harrah poses with one of the cars from his famous automobile collection - a 1911 Maxwell.



"THOMAS FLYER" AND FAMOUS RACE

0491    Start of New York-to-Paris Race, Times Square, New York City, February 12, 1908. (The American Thomas Flyer is bringing up the rear.) (Courtesy Harrah's Auto. Collection)
0492    The Thomas Flyer chugs through Cheyenne, Wyoming, (followed by a Reo). (Winter, 1908) Photo courtesy Harrah's Auto. Collection.
0493    The Thomas Flyer reaches the Nevada mining camp of Cherry Creek, north of Ely. (March 18, 1908) Photo courtesy of Harrah's Auto Collection.
0494    The Thomas Flyer at Goldfield, Nevada, after rescue from breakdown near Stonecabin, March, 1908. George Schuster is driving. (Photo courtesy of Nevada Historical Society.)
0495    The Thomas Flyer in San Jose, California, (March1908), during the New York-to-Paris Race. (Photo courtesy of Harrah's Auto Collection.)
0496    Thomas Flyer greeted along Market Street, San Francisco, on March 24, 1908, 41 days and 8 hours after start of New York-to-Paris Race. George Schuster is driving, George Miller sits at his left, while Captain Hansen overlooks from the backseat. (Courtesy Harrah's Auto. Collection.)
0497    Loading the Thomas Flyer on the steamship "Santa Clara" for the sea voyage from Seattle to Valdez, Alaska. (Courtesy of Harrah's Auto. Collection.)
0498    William Harrah and George Schuster examining the Thomas Flyer in condition in which it arrived from the Long Island Automotive Museum. (March 1964) Schuster (left) drove the car around the world. (Courtesy Harrah's Auto Collection.)
0499    The restored Thomas Flyer after the restoration crew at Harrah's Automobile Collection put the car into the condition in which it arrived in Paris, July 1908. (June 1964). Photo: Courtesy Harrah's Auto Collection.



0240     NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



WILLIAM HARRAH (MUSEUM, AUTO COLLECTION, ETC.) (cont.)



"THOMAS FLYER" AND FAMOUS RACE

0500    In June, 1964, Thomas Flyer returns to Tonopah, Nevada, to exact location where car stopped overnight during 1908 race. William Harrah (left) and George Schuster. (Courtesy Harrah's Auto Collection.) At left of car, with beard, is "Malapai Mike", a Tonopah character. (Real name Peterson)



MISCELLANEOUS (NAN, FAMILY, ACITIVITIES, ETC.)

0501    Mining Display at the Boulevard Mall (c. late 1960's). Hal Erickson, UNLV Library (left) and Nan Doughty (right).
0502    Nan Doughty (center) and Hal Erickson, of UNLV Library, (at right) at Nan's mining display at the Boulevard Mall, Las Vegas, Nevada. (c. late 1960's)



CONTINUING EDUCATION TRIPS

0503    Dr. Bill Fiero, geologist and UNLV Continuing Education instructor. (1980)
0504    Valley of Fire, Nevada (from Mouse's Tank). Taken by Nan during a Continuing Education trip.
0505    Valley of Fire - from Mouse's Tank. (Continuing Education field trip - c. 1980's?)
0506    Continuing Education trip - Valley of Fire. (Nevada)
0507    Continuing Education to Eldorado Canyon and Nelson's Landing. (1976)
0508    Continuing Ed. trip to Eldorado Canyon and Nelson's Landing. (1976)
0509    Photo from Continuing Education trip to Eldorado Canyon. (1976)
0510    Virgin Anticline. (Continuing Education trip - 1978) [Zion Nat'l Park]
0511    Virgin Anticline. Continuing Education trip - 1978. [Zion Nat'l Park]



MISC. ACTIVITIES AND LOCATIONS

0512    Children playing at Divine Providence Variety Day Home, 1001 N. "C" St., Las Vegas, NV. (January 1973)
0513    Scenes of the children at Divine Providence Variety Day Home, 1001 N. "C" St., Las Vegas, NV. (January 1973)



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



MISC. ACTIVITIES AND LOCATIONS

THE FOLLOWING ARE SLIDES:

0514    Stone Arrastra, Gerlock CA.
0515    Wild burro.
0516    Spanish-Basque sheperd, Koehn Lake (dry lake), 1954.
0517    Randsburg from top of hill, old road, (1973).
0518    Panamint Range & Ballarat from foot of Slate Range Crossing.
0519    Top of 9-mile grade: "The People" congregation.
0520    Ballarat, at foot of Panamints.
0521    Charcoal kilns, upper Wildrose Canyon.
0522    China Lake, Sierra, from top of 9-mile grade. (1973)
0523    Inside one of the charcoal kilns: note air holes in wall.
0524    Panamints - mouth of Surprise Canyon.

(# 514-520 USED IN A PRE-LECTURE "EXPLORING THE MOJAVE DESERT" - FIERO, DOUGHTY, NILES - 1974.)



MISCELLANEOUS

0525    Dr. William B. Shockley receives Nobel Prize; Stockholm, Sweden. (1956) (SLIDE)
0526    Same. (SLIDE) - different poses
0527    Same. (SLIDE) - different poses
0528    Clara Bow, at not-quite-14. She had just won the National Fame and Fortune Contest, in New York, thus receiving a tryout in Hollywood.
0529    Display of samples from the Copenhagen Claim of the Mustang Extension Mining Co. of Manhattan. (Pres. - T.A.A. Siegfriedt, Nan's father.)
0530    Frontspiece from Sunset Magazine, August, 1905. Depicts the modern goldmining prospector and promoter in cartoon. (from a study at Bullfrog, Nevada.) Courtesy E.W. Darrah.
0531    From Sunset Magazine, August 1905. Photograph of top of the original Bullfrog Mine; Armagosa in the distance. (Courtesy E.W. Darrah)
0532    Photograph of map of Nevada/California. Shows Death Valley, Armagosa Valley, Bullfrog-Rhyolite area. (from Nevada Historical Society, Reno.)
0533    (Photo of) Map of Nevada - 1881.



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



MISCELLANEOUS (cont.)


FAMILY AND FRIENDS

0534    Nanelia Siegfried, c. 1907-1908.
0535    Nan S. Doughty - c. 1940's. (NEGATIVES ONLY -2)
0536    William F. Doughty ("Doc") - Nan's husband - c. 1940's.
0537    William "Doc" Doughty - Nan's husband. (1947)
0538    William F. ("Doc") Doughty, Nan's husband.
0539    Mr. And Mrs. Thorwald Siegfriedt (Lou-Vee Bradford), at a mining claim in Manhattan, Nevada. [ca. early 1900's]
0540    Jean Adam Siegfried, third from left; and [her husband, Victor Siegfried] at right. (1971)
0541    [Victor Siegfried] - 1971.
0542    Nan Doughty - 1974.
0543    Interior of Nan Doughty's digs - 1225 Taylor Avenue, Seattle, Washington. (NEGATIVES ONLY - 3)
0544    Photograph of painting of N.H. Wheeler farm in Otsego, New York, ca. 1830's. (N.H. Wheeler was natural father of May Wheeler Bradford Shockley.)
0545    May (Wheeler) Bradford's high school graduation picture. (Photograph of same) c. 1890's.
0546    Photograph of old framed photo of May Bradford Shockley holding her son William Bradford Shockley. (ca. 1910?)
0547    May Bradford Shockley, Menlo Park, CA. (July 1966)
0548    L-R: Marylou (Siegfried) Williams and May (Bradford) Shockley at I. Magnin's , Sept. 1972.
0549    House on Queen Anne Hill, Seattle, Washing, where Marylou Siegfried (Nan's sister) was born.
0550    Panorama of Hurricane ridge, WA. (1972)
0551    Several photos of Seattle, Washington area: (1) Mt. Rainier (2) Queen Anne Hill from the Space Needle and (3) Seattle. (1972)
0552    Taken at party at Celesta Lowe's home. (c. 1980's?) L-R: Nan Doughty, Caroline J. Hadley, Lorena Meadows (lady with back to camera not identified.)
0553    [A canyon somewhere in Nevada.]
0554    May Wheeler Bradford's collection of Chinese artifacts, pre-Boxer rebellion. (1899-1900)
0555    "Ma" - Nan Doughty's cat.
0556    Lollie Wardle - Tonopah, Nevada. (1971)
0557    A.R. Wardle - Tonopah, Nevada. (1971)
0558    L-R: Caroline Hadley and Nan Doughty at American Pen Women - writer's workshop - Showboat Hotel, Las Vegas, NV. (c. 1980's?)



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



MISCELLANEOUS (cont.)


FAMILY AND FRIENDS (cont.)

0559    Nan Doughty (left) at American Pen Women writer's workshop, Showboat Hotel, Las Vegas, NV. (c. 1980's?)
0560    Toiyabe Canyon in Nye County, Nevada.
0561    Kittie bonner in Toiyabe Canyon, Nevada. (1972)
0562    Nan Doughty at home - 486 McKellar Circle, Las Vegas - during snowstorm in 1974. (January)
0563    Snow scene - Nan's home, 486 McKellar Circle, Las Vegas - 1979.
0564    Nan's home - 486 McKellar Circle, Las Vegas.
0565    (SLIDE) Sunrise at 486 McKellar Circle, LV. ('74)
0566    (SLIDE) Sunrise at 486 McKellar Circle, LV, Oct. 1974
0567    Raku plate - 1972.
0567a    [Victoria Siegfried and her husband, Gordon Barker, c. 1950's?] (NEGATIVE ONLY)
0568    Remains of old buildings - Trona, CA. (1954)
0569    Remains of old church in Trona, California. (1954)
0570    Trona, California - 1954.
0571    Trona, California - 1954.
0572    Buildings (some remains) in Trona, California. (1954)
0573    Trona, California (1954) - stone remains.
0574    Francis Mohawk highgrade gold ore. $750,000 deposited by D. MacKenzie in the State Bank and Trust Co.'s vault, Goldfield, Nevada. [c. early 1900's]
0575    Interior Jno. S. Cook & Co. Bank, Goldfield, Nevada. [c. early 1900's]
0576    Raiding of a high-grader's cache, Goldfield, Nevada. [c. early 1900's]
0577    Goldfield's original dugout houses. (1903)
0578    Goldfield, Nevada. (c. early 1900's)
0579    Goldfield, Nevada. (c. early 1900's)
0580    (NEGS ONLY) [Marylou Williams, Nan's baby sister - Johannesburg, 1924] (several negatives)
0581    Nan's apartment at McKellar Circle, Las Vegas. (1979-April)
0582    (NEGS ONLY) Ida and the dog. (Jan. 1945)
0583    Old adobe store - Johannesburg, CA. (1954)
0584    Mr. A.R. Wardle. (1969?)
0585    Marylou Williams (Nan's sister) in Johannesburg, c. 1924.
0586    The neighbor's dog - c. 1924, Johannesburg. (Girl unidentified.)
0587    Jon Siegfried (Victor's son). [c. late 1950's]
0588    [Jim Siegfried?] (Might be his grandmother, Vera Adam, at right.) (c. 1950's)



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



MISCELLANEOUS (cont.)


FAMILY AND FRIENDS (cont.)

0589    Historic Highlights of Nevada - ten natural color prints in booklet form. (Includes buildings in Belmont, Delamar, Eureka, Goldfield, Hamilton, Rhyolite, Tuscarora, Unionville, Virginia City, and Washoe City.) (Publ. 1956)
0590    Barge of oil cans at Pier 40, Smith's Cove - Seattle, WA. (Queen Anne's Hill and park in background.)
0591    Probably interior of May Bradford Shockley's home in Memlo Park, CA. (1969) (NEGS ONLY)
0592    (NEGS ONLY) Miscellaneous negatives of people & places during several trips Nan took in 1942: (1) Sunrise Trip - Doc; (2) Paradise - Jean; (3) Index - with Phyllis. (Man in uniform might be Doc, Nan's husband.)



UNIDENTIFIED PEOPLE

0593    Unidentified child photographed from back. (Probably Nan Siegfried or one of her siblings.)
0594    Unidentified young woman.
0595    Two young children photographed with donkeys and dog - no identification. [Possible location - Johannesburg, CA.)
0596    Possibly Nan Doughty - 1919. (no definite identification)
0597    Unidentified girl - Westport, 1919.
0598    Unidentified man. [Possibly man who worked at the ranch of Sen. T.J. Bell - in Nevada, 1907.]
0599    Unidentified woman.
0600    Two girls - no identification.
0601    Unidentified woman standing on boat dock at a lake.
0602    Unidentified woman sightseer.
0603    Unidentified man.
0604    Two women standing on a porch. (No identification.)
0605    Lady posed in front of ruins. (no identification)
0606    Unidentified woman sightseeing.
0607    Negatives of men - no identification. [c. 1940's - some may be "Doc" Doughty.] (NEGS ONLY)
0608    Woman with little boy in a museum. (No identification.) (NEG ONLY)



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



MISCELLANEOUS (cont.)


UNIDENTIFIED PEOPLE (cont.)

0609    (NEGS ONLY) Miscellaneous negatives of people - no identification. (Some are probably Nan and one may be Nan and "Doc" together.)



UNIDENTIFIED LOCATIONS

0610    Location not identified. [Possibly the mill at Liberty, WA., c. 1918.]
0611    Old stone house
0612    Three-story white frame house - no identification. (Two views.)
0613    Panorama of a mine somewhere in Nevada. (not identified.)
0614    Unidentified location - shows tops of buildings in a city.
0615    Mine or mill - no identification. [Possibly Pioche, NV.]
0616    No identification - mine or mill. [Possibly Pioche, NV.]
0617    [Possibly Pioche, Nevada - no identification.] Ruins of old building.
0618    Ruins of old building - no identification. [Possibly Pioche, NV.]
0619    Unidentified barn somewhere in Nevada. (1976)
0620    Unidentified house. (1976)
0621    (NEGS ONLY) Negatives of an old house (no identification) and of the Cle Elum River. (1950)
0622    (NEGS ONLY) Negatives of various buildings and locations - no identification (8 negatives)
0623    Wooden buildings - no identification. [probably somewhere in Nevada.]
0624    Wooden building [somewhere in Nevada?]
0625    Unidentified wooden building.
0626    Wooden building - probably somewhere in Nevada - no identification.
0627    Old brick building - no identification. (Two views.) (1969)



MISCELLANEOUS

0628    "Blue Heron" - summer home at Fallen Leaf Lake. (1928)
0629    Yellowstone National Park - 1931. View of Gardiner Mountains from Mammoth Hospital back porch.
0630    "Stone House" in Tonopah, Nevada. (1969)



0240    NANELIA S. DOUGHTY COLLECTION



MISCELLANEOUS (cont.)

0631    May Bradford Shockley's apartment - 1277 Hoover St. # 3, Menlo Park, CA. (March 1973)
0632    Shanty in Carthage, Missouri, 1898. (Proof)
0633    Another view of the shanty in Carthage, MO, 1898. (See photo # 0632.) (proof)
0634    Seymour Kimball Bradford, Nan's grandfather (c. 1880's)
0635    Seymour Kimball Bradford, prospector, assayer, and deputy mineral surveyor, Kingston, New Mexico. (c. 1885-1886)
0636    Sallie Jane Leon Ward (Wheeler) Bradford, far left, and her Sunday School class in Kingston, New Mexico. (Photo by J.C. Burge, portrait and scenic artist, New Mexico)
0637    Ward-Bradford home in Kingston, New Mexico, ca. 1884. Nancy Martin Carter Ward in doorway. Her husband, John Ward, second from left; on his left, their daughter Sallie Jane Leona Ward (Wheeler) Bradford and (Cora) May (Wheeler) Bradford; with transit, Seymour Kimball Bradford, husband of Sallie. Others unknown. More information behind photo.
0638    The Bradford farmhouse, Jasper County, Missouri. (c. 1860's?) (L-R): Len; Jay; Cornelia Kimball Bradford and Joseph Bradford (mother and father); Joseph's brother John Bradford; (in front) is John Bradford who came from Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1801. (Cornelia and Joseph's son Seymour Kimball Bradford is not in the picture.)
0639    John Ward's store in Kingston, NM, c. 1886-1887. Cornelia K. Bradford, mother of Seymour, Len, and Jay; John Ward and his wife Nancy Martin Carter Ward, parents of Sallie; Jay Bradford; Sallie Jane Leona Ward (Wheeler) Bradford; (Cora) May (Wheeler) Bradford, later Shockley, adopted by Seymour; Seymour Kimball Bradford, holding (Nanelia) Lou-Vee Bradford, later Siegfried. (Photo by J.C. Burge)



Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections