Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0131
Dorothy, Dorothy

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Folder 131-1



Nevada
Las Vegas

0001    "The Start---Pioneering LV Tonopah-Reno Stage"
0002    "A few years later-same stage line"
0003    First radio repair shop on No. 4th St. 1946, now torn down"
0004    Souvenir photo from the Las Frontier Hotel, Mar. 5, 1947, Dale and Dorothy Dorothy
0005    Cut colossal"; MINT CASINO; no i.d.
0006    Frazier Hall, see photo for Identification
0007    Frazier Hall, see photo for Identification

0008    Maude Frazier
0009    Maude Frazier
0010    Maude Frazier (neg)
0011    L-R : 1. ? 2. ? 3. Maude Frazier 4. ?
0012    L-R : 1. Pearl Brown. 2. Mom Squires 3. Maude Frazier 4. Mrs. Cahlan (neg)
0013    8X10 of 0012
0014    8X10 of same women in 0012
0015    "Dorothy Dorothy addressing the Dot Young ClubHyde Park."
0016    Similar view and activity of 0015
0017    "Dot Young at the club meeting"
0018    (The Dot Young Club?) 8X10
0019    (Helldorado Parade?); postcard
0020    "Dorothy Dorothy, Helldorado"



Glendale

0021    "Dwelling of Ansel S. Wysong, one of Clark County's last hermits."



Henderson

0022    Device used to destroy dogs, 1962



Hoover Dam

0023    Aerial view of Hoover Dam and vicinity
0024    "Boulder Dam"; aerial view
0025    Hoover Dam construction
0026    "From Nevada rocks"; (Hoover Dam)
0027    "Top of transformer, city of Los Angeles switch"



0131    DOROTHY DOROTHY COLLECTION



Hoover Dam (cont.)

0028    Visitors in line for Dam tour
0029    "Guided tour through Dam and Power Plant, Adults25cents plus 5cent tax30cents.
0030    Downstream side, Hoover Dam
0031    Hoover Dam, downstream side releasing water from penstock



Folder 131-2



0032    Hoover Dam tour, outside
0033    Boats upstream from the Dam; "Cruise Craft"
0034    Ribbon cutting to Hoover Dam (Snacketeria?)
0035    Breaking ground for Hoover Dam. (Snacketeria?)
0035a    Ceremonies for opening of Hoover Dam Snacketeria
0036    "Snacketeria" Close-up view
0037    "Snacketeria"
0038    Hoover Dam group photo of 12 people; see photo for identification
0039    "Fortification Mountain"
0040    "Fortification infra-red shot, 4 miles from Dam"
0041    "Pink pots at foot of Fortification mountain"; no i.d. on people
0042    "Four miles upstream Boulder Canyon"

NOTE: 0023, 0025-0042 by Bureau of Reclamation, Boulder City, Nevada



Johnnie

0043    "Johnnie Mine" aerial view of head frame
0044    Johnnie; panorama view
0045    (Head frame) of Johnnie Mine
0046    Johnnie Mine (head frame, front view)
0047    Abandoned bldgs., head frame, and decayed bldgs.
0048    Mine shaft, Johnnie Mine
0049    Rope-pulley machinery, Johnnie Mine
0050    "Matt Kusick, Johnnie Mine Town"
0051    "Dorothy Dorothy and her friend Matt Kusic, Johnnietown"
0052    "Old timer, Matt Kusick at ruins"
0053    (Johnnie, NV)
0054    "Original General Store at Johnnie"
0055    (Johnnie, NV?)
0056    (Johnnie, NV?) (bldg. Structures)
0057    (Johnnie, NV?)
0058    Johnnie, NV
0059    Johnnie, NV



0131    DOROTHY DOROTHY COLLECTION



Johnnie (NV) (cont.)

0060    Johnnie, NV
0061    Johnnie, NV
0062    (Johnnie, NV?); no I.D. on man w/anvil



Folder 131-3



Lake Mead

0063    "Lake Mead Lodge;" aerial view
0064    "Lake Mead Trailer Park"; aerial view
0065    "Electric grill, 25 c meter; Lake Mead Trailer Park"
0066    "Lake Mead Trailer Park"
0067    "Sea Craft short run, Boulder Beach to Dam"
0068    "Tourist Cruise"
0069    Women on Lake, no I.D.; (See "Help Us Write History)
0070    "Speed boat regatta, 1947"
0071    "Doc's (Dorothy ) Lady Girl charter speed boat"
0072    "1947 Beal" (water skier)
0073    "Wishing Well" (tourist cruise)
0074    "1948, Harlan Diller at Boat Dock now"
0075    "Bobby Miller, (youth on water skis) M.P.(S)? Ranger at Las Vegas Wash
0076    "Laki on lake since 1941 Breeze (R?) atoon Mexico"
0077    "Martha Vickers, A.C. Lyles, honeymoon; PA agent Pine & Thomas
0078    "CB Farmer Ted Swift, Robb Glendale Service Station, Glendale"; (seaplane landing two men)
0079    Fishing ream; see photo for I.D. of six men

NOTE: Photos 00063-0076 and 0078-00079 by Bureau of Reclamation, Boulder City Nevada



Mt. Charleston

0080    Bell helicopter en route to Mt. Charleston, where Dale installed a television antenna for Pahrump
0081    Helicopter en route to Mt. Charleston, no I.D.
0082    Helicopter en route to Mt. Charleston, no I.D.
0083    Dale and Dorothy (by helicopter)
0084    (Myrtle Dorothy?) and Dale Dorothy
0085    "T.V. parasitic reflector (antenna) installed on peak of Mt. Charleston
0086    Charleston Peak, elevation 11, 901', state marker
0087    Aerial view of Mt. Charleston
0088    "Six week old antelope in Mt. Charleston area"



0131    DOROTHY DOROTHY COLLECTION



Overton

0089    Man carrying four fish; street scene; (photo by Bureau of Reclamation, Boulder City.



Pahrump

See folders 131-4, 131-5, 131-6



Reno

0090    Official opening of the new Super Scenic Highway to the Sky to the Reno Ski Bowl; (photo by the Nevada State Highway Department)



St. Thomas

0091    Aerial view of ST. Thomas, Nevada; (photo by Bureau of Reclamation, Boulder City, Nevada)



Stateline

0092    Aerial view of Stateline, Nevada; (photo by Nevada State Highway Department)



Warner Springs

0093    "Road Opening (Trona Road) Las Vegas to Spring Mountain, Warner Springs"



Folder 131-4



Pahrump

0094    Pahrump schoolhouse
0095    Pahrump schoolhouse
0096    "Pahrump school children; Red Blanchard Day"
0097    "Pahrump store (in late 1950s)"
0098    "Kiln in canyon east of Pahrump"
0099    (Frank Buol); stall used for oxen hauling charcoal from Wheeler Canyon kilns; see 131 98
0100    "100+ year old (Pahrump Indian) grandma"
0101    Pahrump Indian Family (see inscription)
0102    "Dora Brown" (Pahrump Indian)



0131    DOROTHY DOROTHY COLLECTION



Pahrump Road Construction

0103    Beginning of Pahrump Road construction
0104    "Curley Boy (dog) and Dale Dorothy"
0105    Early Pahrump road construction
0106    Blacktop stretch in front of Dorothy residence
0107    Wells Cargo truck
0108    Pahrump road under construction
0109    Road machinery and the Dorothy's car



Pahrump Road Opening Celebration

0110    Pahrump road opening celebration, 1954
0111    Pahrump road opening celebration, 1954
0112    "Pahrump road opening (ribbon) Sept. 1954"
0113    Band playing at the Pahrump road opening ceremonies
0114    "Mock wedding at Pahrump road opening" (See "Help Us Write History" Las Vegas Review Journal, on reverse of photo) (neg)
0115    "Pahrump Road opening (celebration) Sept. 24, 1954"
0116    Marriage of the Pahrump Valley (color picture) no I.D.
0117    "Cotton Pickin' Bar in Pahrump, 1954. Opened the day of the Road opening."



Misc. Pahrump

0118    PAHRUMP VALLEY: "Dixieland of Nevada" (postcard)(banner on flatbed truck)
0119    Aerial view of Pahrump
0120    "A Pahrump well"
0121    "A Pahrump well"
0122    (Pahrump spring?) (pan-picture)
0123    (Pahrump panorama scene)



Folder 131-5



Pahrump (Lazy 88 Ranch)

0124    Dorothy's home w/plane and car
0125    Dorothy's home w/plane and car
0126    Dale Dorothy starting Dorothy's plane
0127    "The 99's landing on the private 'airport' at the Lazy 88 Ranch"
0128    8X10 of 131 127, duplicate
0129    "The 99's private airport"
0130    8X10 of 131 129, duplicate



0131    DOROTHY DOROTHY COLLECTION



Pahrump (Lazy 88 Ranch)

0131    "15' white washed rocks spell PAHRUMP, a 99's project"
0132    "15' white washed rocks spell PAHRUMP, a 99's project"
0133    W7CTK. Dale Dorothy broadcasts
0134    Pop Buol w/Cadillac bearing license plate W7CTK
0135    Hattie Mae Pavlo and Frank (Pop) Buol. July 1955" Cadillac in 131 134)
0136    "Dale's home antenna for his amateur ham short wave"
0137    Pop Buol at Dorothy's home; house siding bears W7CTK
0138    Dale Dorothy and W7CTK station equipment
0139    "Hamming it up, Dec. 3 (Dale Dorothy)'
0140    Dale Dorothy showing unidentified mother how to talk to her son stationed in the South Pacific
0141    "The Dale Dorothy 'Ham' outfit, 1950. The only communication out of Pahrump at that time"
0142    "Atom bomb (blast view) from the Lazy 88 Ranch"
0143    "Yucca Flats test taken from Lazy 88 Ranch, Pahrump"
0144    "Yucca Flats test taken from Lazy 88 Ranch, Pahrump"
0145    Yucca Flats test (distant view from the Lazy 88 Ranch, Pahrump"
0146    "White speck at right of photo from atomic test blast"
0147    Dorothy home during a Pahrump flood
0148    Dorothy home during a Pahrump flood; "beds are tall hospital beds"
0149    "Our dream house, Ethel-Leslie McCullough, Lazy 88"
0150    "Dorothy Dorothy and Ethel McCullough at the Lazy 88"



Folder 131-6



Pahrump (Lazy 88 Cotton Fields)

151    Lazy 88 cotton fields, L-R Stan Irvin, Dale Dorothy
152    Examining the cotton crop
153    "Cotton planters of Pahrump, Dale, Bert, and Ethel"
154    "Cipher hoses in irrigating ditchescotton in June and July"
155    8X10 irrigated cotton fields
156    Cotton field (Lazy 88, Pahrump)
157    Cotton Field (Lazy 88, Pahrump)
158    "3 bales to acre and no fertilizer"
159    "Dale Dorothy installing 1953 improvements to his 1952 Rust Picker" (see typed inscription w/I sleeve)
160    Cotton picker at work; no I.D. to operator



0131    DOROTHY DOROTHY COLLECTION



Pahrump (Lazy 88 Ranch)

161    Cotton picker at work w/baler in background; no I.D. to operator; 8X10
162    Maintaining the cotton picker
163    Picker dumping onto bin for baler w/ Dorothy Dorothy and dogs in background
164    "Soapy (Weimaraner) and Little Widdles w/Dorothy"
165    "A picker is equivalent to 90 men! Baling bin was shown in "Popular Mechanics"
166    "Hay baler used to haul cotton to the Arvin, Calif. Gin before the gin was built in Pahrump"
167    "Picker dumping cotton into stationary improvised bin, now part of the hay baler"
168    "Another angle of baler"
169    Cotton baler w/Dale Dorothy and ? ( no identification)
170    Dale Dorothy on cotton baler
171    Cotton picker and baler w/Dorothy Dorothy and operator
172    Lifting bales of cotton
173    "Loading cotton from the hay baler at the Lazy 88 Ranchhaul to gin at Arvin, Calif"
174    Bales of cotton being loaded onto a flatbed truck
175    "1955 crop. 40,000 pounds to the truckload."
176    "Baled cotton en route to Arvin Gin."
177    Trucks hauling bales of compressed cotton
178    "Dale dumping cotton for the kids"
179    Site of Nevada Ginning Co.
180    Pahrump Cotton Gin
181    Pahrump Cotton Gin



Folder 131-7



Military

182    Dorothy Dorothy, DAV officer, and a disabled veteran in wheelchair
183    "General Hubbard. (former) Nellis A.F.B. commander"
184    "General Hubbard (right); "I accept"
185    Dorothy Dorothy w/six officers. Industrial College of the Armed Forces
186    (Industrial College of the Armed Forces); Dorothy Dorothy w/seven officers
187    Dorothy Dorothy w/Officer Christensen and man whose lapel reads "Natl. Security Seminar"
188    Dorothy Dorothy w/U.S.A.F. officer and Naval Officer Parmelee

NOTE: Photos 185-188 by Las Vegas News Bureau

0130    DOROTHY DOROTHY COLLECTION



American Legion Auxillary (Las Vegas, Oct. 8, 9, 10, 11---1962

189    American Legion Auxillary; L-R: 1. National Commander
190    "Top officials" 8X10 of 131 189, 2 dups.
191    American Legion Auxiliary; six unidentified and Dorothy Dorothy
192    National Headquarters, American Legion Auxillary; L-R: 1. Senator Cannon 2. ?
193    American Legion Auxiliary (awards); no i.d.
194    American Legion Auxiliary (Carol
195    American Legion Auxiliary trophy presentation: L-R: Dorothy Dorothy 2.?
196    (American Legion Auxiliary?) L-R: 1. Laura Winall, Review Journal; 2. ?; 3. ?

NOTE: Photos 0189-190, 194-196 by National Convention News, American Legion Auxiliary, Las Vegas, Nevada



(Local) United Nations

197    "Dorothy Dorothy appointed state chairman of the U.S. Committee to the U.N. by Gov. Paul Laxalt."
198    Dorothy Dorothy and Eva Adams w/1961 U.N. Day proclamation at the Thunderbird.
199    Dorothy Dorothy and Oran Gragson
200    L-R: Dorothy Werner, local U.N. pres, and Dr. West
201    United Nations, local; see photo for i.d.
202    Dorothy Werner, Bonnie Gragson, Dorothy Dorothy
203    Oran Gragson presents S.F. key to Dorothy Dorothy



Sun Society

204    "Installation of Officers"
205    Sun Society members



Folder 131-8



Lyndon B. Johnson/John F. Kennedy Campaign

206    8X10 autographed pic reads: "To Dorothy Dorothy Every good wish. Lyndon Johnson"
207    8X10 of Lyndon Johnson
208    8X10 of Lyndon Johnson, autographed
209    8X10 Hubert H. Humphrey



0131    DOROTHY DOROTHY COLLECTION



Lyndon B. Johnson/John F. Kennedy Campaign (cont.)

210    Lyndon Johnson surrounded by supporters, inc. Walter Baring, Grant Sawyer, Howard Cannon (neg)
211    Lyndon Johnson, Alan Bible, and 4 unidentified.
212    (Lyndon Johnson affair); see photo for I.D.
213    "Prize Texas Steer", LBJ brand
214    Kennedy-Johnson (Las Vegas) headquarters
215    Kennedy-Johnson campaign; L-R: 1. Alan Bible; 2. ?; 3. ?
216    (Campaign); L-R: 1. Walter Baring; 2. ?; 3. Alan Bible; 4.?
217    (Kennedy-Johnson campaign); Grant Sawyer and five unidentified.
218    Campaign; L-R: 1. Walter Baring, 2. Alan Bible; 3. ? , 4.?
219    Kennedy-Johnson (campaign) ; Alan Bible and three unidentified
220    "Kennedy for President"; no i.d. (See "Help us Write History", Las Vegas Review Journal, on reverse of photo.) (neg)
221    John F. Kennedy (in the White House?); copy of photo
222    "Vice President"
223    (Three Ladies for Kennedy-Johnson); no I.D.
224    "The Johnson Committee"; no I.D.



Democratic Meeting (Dorothy Dorothy)

225    Dorothy Dorothy w/copies of the "Democratic Digest"
226    Dorothy Dorothy and Allen T. Howe, pres. Of National Young Democratic Clubs
227    "Campaigning in Pahrump"
228    "Pahrump Demo Members": L-R: 1. Nadine Garlin; 2. Dorothy Dorothy; 3. Alma Moore
229    "A Democratic meeting held on the Dorothy Ranch patio in Pahrump, August 1950"
230    Demo. Meeting on Dorothy Ranch patio; including John Bonner, Daisy Burns, and Walter Baring
231    8X10 of (Democratic meeting at Dorothy Dorothy residence, Pahrump, Aug. 1950?)
232    "Women's Democratic Club of Clark County, Nevada."



Folder 131-9



Miscellaneous events and people

233    "Governor's Ball"; see photo for I.D.
234    Governor's Ball w/Chet Christensen and Gov. Sawyer
235    " " ; no I.D. 8X10



0131    DOROTHY DOROTHY COLLECTION



Miscellaneous events and people (cont.)

236    The Sawyers preparation for Gov.'s Ball
237    Governor's Ball w/Grant Sawyer and ?:8X10
238    Governor's Ball w/Mr. and Mrs. Sawyer; 8X10
239    "Plan UF" see photo for I.D.
240    "March (of Dimes)"
241    "The Late Jack Conlan in Senator Cannon's office"
242    "National Committee on 'Operation Support' mission for Jack Kennedy, 1962; White House" see photo for I.D.
243    "Luncheon honoring Mrs. Alan Bible"
244    ""Mrs. Grant Sawyer" see photo 131 243
245    "Jim. The Press Club, 'appointed ' , Las Vegas bartender from inception until he passed away."
246    "R. Julian Moore"
247    Mrs. C.B. Reynolds, Jack Paul, and me (Dorothy Dorothy);Sept. 1940
248    "Mrs. C.B. Reynolds, Sept. 1940"
249    Dorothy Dorothy and unidentified woman planning the 17th annual Powder Puff Derby, July 1963"
250    Similar to 0131 0249 Planning of Powder Puff Derby. 8X10



Folder 131-10



Miscellaneous events and people (cont)

251    "Reception Host and Hostess with Guests" see photo.
252    "Mrs. Ralph Armstrong membership chairman, Rosa de Lima Auxiliary"
253    "Mayors of North Las Vegas and Las Vegas, engineers"
254    "Holiday Visitor" see photo for I.D.
255    "National BPW day" see photo and reverse of I.D. and event
256    "Senator Alan Bible, Eva Adams, and Dick Ham" (neg)
257    Sonny Tufts; 8X10
258    "Shirley Earl (program coordinator) and Helen Scott Reed"
259    "the late Billie Wallace, at right"
260    Myrtle Dorothy, seated, at her birthday party. See photo 131 261
261    Myrtle Dorothy's birthday party. L to R: Myrtle Dorothy, ?, and Dorothy Dorothy.
262    Myrtle Dorothy's birthday party, March 20, 1954
263    "Happy Birthday Bonnie (Gragson); Thurs., Feb. 8, 1962"
264    Frances Hawkins
265    Rusty Horgan photograph
266    Rusty Horgan and dog at home.
267    "Dorothy, Dale, and dogs"



0131    DOROTHY DOROTHY COLLECTION



Miscellaneous events and people (cont.)

268    Dorothy Dorothy and "music boxes"
269    Dorothy Dorothy, horseman
270    Dog show. L-R: Evonne Chasdoudian and Dorothy D.
271    "1965 Silver State (dog) show"; see photo for I.D.



Folder 131-11



Non-Nevada



Scotty's Castle

272    "The famous Death Valley Scotty"
273    Governor Russell and Dorothy Dorothy at road opening.
274    Dorothy Dorothy and Gov. Russell speaking at road opening.
275    "Governor Charlie Russell: (delivers a speech for the opening of the Scotty's Castle road. 1950s)
276    "Governor Russell cutting the ribbon"
277    "Governor Russell cutting the ribbonthe road from Highway 95 to Scotty's Castle.
278    Dorothy Dorothy and dog at Scotty's Castle after the ribbon cutting opening the new road 95 to the Castle" See Edith Giles Barcus Collection also.



Unknown

279    "Nye County Commissioner O.H. Smith, Nye Co. chairman, made #1 priority 1946, Charles Geyer, Ed Slavin, Chas. Cavanaugh Henderson" (Sent Dorothy D. Copy to I.D.)



Arizona

280    "District I Meeting , Oct. 1, 1966, Parole Board talk at Soroptimists Club, Kingman, AZ, banquet speaker, Lenore Jordan, director."



California

281    "Golf at Idlewild, Ca; Dorothy Dorothy-mother---Beth"
282    "Social executives in meeting in Los Angeles, CA. 1936"
283    "1936. The Social Directors of the City and Resort Hotels of the West.." (see photo for I.D.)



0131    DOROTHY DOROTHY COLLECTION



California (cont.)

284    "Jul 6, 1940. As Social Executive in the Idlewild Inn in the San Jacinto Mtns. Above Palm Springs"
285    "Meeting of the International Social Executives for the West Coast.." (see photo for I.D.)
286    International Social Executives meeting in Houston, TX. Late 1940s or early 1950s.
287    Dorothy Dorothy riding in Palm Springs, Ca.
288    "Halloween, Cedar St. 1953; L to R: Ethel McCullough, Clara Cook, Virginia; Riverside , California.
289    "Ethel McCullough, Riverside."
290    "40 passenger Canyair-Lines, San Diego; Vern Willis, Dist. Sales Mgr. Western Airlines, no 1st .
291    "Dorothy Dorothy and passenger in her low wing Kinner airplane. 1937. S.F."
292    "Soloed (sic) on S.F. Port 1936 S.F. Golden Gate Bridge, Dorothy Varnum Dorothy, pilot
293    Dorothy (Varnum) Dorothy presenting on of her songs to Mayor Ralph of San Francisco"



Montana

294    "1953 Bannack, Montana, capital bldg. 1862 in background; Ethel McCullough watches Leslie reading plaque (sic)"



New York

295    "Taken last summer when we visited Watkins Glen, New York; Darlene Goetz"



Oregon

296    (Logging operation near Klamath Falls, Oregon)



Folder 131-12



Nevada

Incomplete i.d's and questionable events

297    "Breaking ground" location?-Present in pic are Howard Cannon, Grant Sawyer, Alan Bible, and four others.
298    Governor Sawyer (and three other men, possibly from the Nevada Highway Department)
299    Governor Sawyer and others
300    Dorothy Dorothy, Walter Baring, and four others
301    Similar to 131 300; photo for clarification



0131    DOROTHY DOROTHY COLLECTION



Nevada

Incomplete i.d's and questionable events (cont.)

302    "Daes installation"; no I.D.
303    L to R: Mrs. Sawyer and ?
304    "Thank you. Help for the blind." No I.D.
305    "Prominent guests"; Grant Sawyer and four others
306    "After dinner talk; Grant Sawyer and six others
307    "New Appointee"; Alan Bible, ?, Howard Cannon
308    "Air transport"; Howard Cannon and two others
309    Governor Sawyer and two unidentified men; "philanthropist attends"
310    (Meeting, no I.D.)
311    Governor Sawyer and ?
312    "Parker Chapter"; no I.D.
313    "All Smiles"; no I.D.
314    "Youth Leader..Gerry"
315    Jail cell; no I.D.
316    No I.D.; three people seated at dining table
317    Dorothy Dorothy and two others
318    No I.D.
319    Dorothy Dorothy and two others
320    Al Cahlan and unidentified lady at dining table (photos 316-320)
321    No I.D.
322    "New U.S. Mint"; Eva Adams and five others
323    "Familiar faces"; badges read, "Class of 1932", Eva Adams and ten others
324    Eleanor Taylor and ?
325    "Mrs. Ronzone' promoting"
326    (Award) presented to Gala L. Mercier for ? service as President of N.L.V. Chamber of Commerce 1960-61
327    "Old timer"; see photo for Dorothy Dorothy's inscription
328    "Live Rainbow Trout"



Folder 131-13



Scrapbook

329    L-R: 1. Howard Cannon 2. Walter Baring 3. Dorothy Dorothy 4. Alan Bible 5. Grant Sawyer , 329a L-R: Pearl Brown 2. Delphine "Mom" Squires 3. Maude Frazier 4. Mrs. Marian Cahlan.
330    L-R: 1. Walter Baring 2. Grant Sawyer 3. Lyndon Johnson 4. Alan Bible 5. Howard Cannon 6. ?
331    Dorothy Dorothy with JFK



0131    DOROTHY DOROTHY COLLECTION



Additions to the Collection

Atomic Testing

332    The rising mushroom cloud after the March 12 detonation of a nuclear device on a 300 foot tower of Yucca Flat of Nevada Test Site. (Joint Office of Test Information Photo) [March 12, 1955?]
333    The rising mushroom cloud after detonation of a nuclear device. (n.d. probably Nevada Test site) "AEC"
334    Atomic fireball, photographed from News fifteen and one-half miles from ground zero March 7, 1955, by an Army Signal Corps cameraman. (Photographer: Sgt. Robert Cogswell. Please credit U.S. Army Photo)



Pahrump, Nevada

335    "Bar-B-Que at the Little Red School house in Pahrump Nev. 1952"
336    "Looking south towards Shoshone, California. Trees seen in distance are on Pahrump Ranch, nine miles away." July 28, 1951
337    [Lazy 88 Cotton Ranch] "Mt. Charleston in background. Cotton Blooms are white, pink, rose, purple, lavender, and multicolor. Looks like a rose garden." [Dorothy and Dale Dorothy standing in the cotton blossoms.] ca. 1951
338    [Dale Dorothy (left) and Dorothy Dorothy (right), standing in the cotton fields on their Lazy 88 Ranch, Pahrump, Nevada. ca. 1951]
339    Dale and Dorothy Dorothy standing near bales of cotton on their ranch, Pahrump, Nevada
340    1949-The Dorothy ranch house, Pahrump, Nevada.
341    Dorothy and husband Dale Dorothy by their plane. (Probably Pahrump, Nevada, near their ranch.)
342    The watermelon feast after the road opening in Pahrump Sept. 24-1974 after the program and mock marriage.



Logging-Nevada

343    Logging in the Lake Tahoe , Nevada region.
344    "Glenbrook #1 engine gained fame hauling lumber from the sawmills at Lake Tahoe to the divide at Spooner Summit where it was flumed down and timber the mines at Virginia City."
345    The ax and saw were the only tools of the early woodsman.


0131    DOROTHY DOROTHY COLLECTION



Political Events

346    Dorothy Dorothy (right) standing next to John F. Kennedy.
347    Dorothy Dorothy and Lyndon Baines Johnson.
348    Ted Kennedy (right) campaigning for his brother John F. Kennedy (for president). (c.1959)
349    L-R: (?); (?);Dorothy Dorothy; John F. Kennedy; Von Englestead.
350    Dorothy Dorothy speaks at political rally for John F. Kennedy, Hacienda Hotel, Las Vegas. Seated at right is Nevada Senator Howard Cannon.
351    Nevada Governor Grant Sawyer.



Places-Nevada

352    Nevada state capitol building, Carson City, Nevada. (no date)
353    Nevada State Prison (no date)
354    New Women's state prison built on the grounds of the old state prison, Carson City, Nevada. (1964)
355    "Steam tractor-Jean, Nev. Only started twice & blew up."
356    [Country doctor in his horse-drawn wagon]
357    [Stagecoach with passengers]
358    Sunrise Hospital, Las Vegas, NV. (no date)
359    Masonic caravan at Hoover Dam, 4.23.32 (Oakes Photo)
360    U.S. Post Office, Las Vegas , Nevada
361    Stardust Hotel, at night. (Stardust marquee)
362    Court House, Las Vegas, Nevada. (Oakes Photo)
363    Sahara Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev. (no date)
364    Christ Church Episcopal. (taken shortly after completion-no date)
365    Bank of Nevada. (n.d)
366    High School---Las Vegas, Nev.



Dorothy Dorothy-1930s and 1940s

367    Dorothy Varnum (later known as Dorothy Dorothy) c. 1934
368    Dorothy Varnum (name she used as songwriter) c. 1934
369    Dorothy Varnum (right) showing songs that she co-wrote. Man not identified.
370    Dorothy Varnum. She co-wrote this song with Walter Smith. (c. 1934)
371    Dorothy Dorothy (c. 1930s)
372    Dorothy Dorothy (center), ca. 1940s. (Credit: W.A. Wood Photo)
373    Dorothy Dorothy. (1930s) (color tinted photo)
374    Dorothy Dorothy
375    Dorothy Dorothy (1934)
376    Dorothy Dorothy (right); other woman is probably her sister. (c. 1930s)



0131    DOROTHY DOROTHY COLLECTION



Dorothy Dorothy-1930s and 1940s (cont.)

377    Dorothy Dorothy (left); other woman is probably her sister.
378    Dorothy Dorothy (left); other woman is probably her sister.
379    Dorothy Dorothy and horse
380    Dorothy Dorothy (left) others not identified. (1940s)
381    Dorothy Dorothy at microphone. (c. 1940s)
382    Key Club opening---February 1941. L-R: Thelma Wertheimer, Ned Curley, Gwen Cobb, Norm Harstad, Dorothy Varnum (Dorothy).
383    Dorothy Dorothy (2nd from left); others not identified. (1940s)
384    "Ona Brown 'Between Benny Broadcasts' party Sunday Feb. 1941" L-R Ona Brown, Kent Weaver, "Pete" the bartender, a professional model, Jay Carlisle, Dorothy (Varnum) Dorothy).
385    Dorothy (Varnum) Dorothy (4th from left): Others not identified. (c.1941)



Dorothy Dorothy and Politicians

386    Dorothy Dorothy and Las Vegas Mayor Oran Gragson.
387    Dorothy Dorothy at the airport reception for Nevada Senator Alan Bible (rt) 1962
388    Gen. Boyd Hubbard, Nellis AFB; Nev. Senator Howard Cannon; Sam Boyd, George Fleigh. Memorial Service for Dag Hammarskjold at Nevada Southern University . 9-27-61
389    L-R: Howard Cannon, Walter Baring, Dorothy Dorothy, Alan Bible, and Grant Sawyer, near the pool at the Tropicana Hotel. (c. 1960s) (Credit: Mike Nagro)
390    L-R: California Governor Pat Brown; Betty Sawyer, (?); Governor Grant Sawyer; at inauguration. (Photo by Shutterbug, Inc.)
391    Grant Sawyer & Pat Brown-taken in Governor's mansion.
392    Senator John F. Kennedy, Gail, Betty, and (Gov.) Grant Sawyer.
393    Fisher, Howard, Dorothy Dorothy, Bill Morris, Dorothy Cannon.
394    L-R: Herb Jones, Ralph Denton, Virginia Catt, Walter Baring, Gladys Dula, Howard Cannon, Lyndon B. Johnson, Dorothy Dorothy.
395    Dorothy Dorothy and Governor Paul Laxalt. (7-12-67)
396    Dorothy Dorothy and Lt. Governor Rex Bell. United Nations Day in Las Vegas.
397    Probably Democratic Meeting luncheon, El Rancho Hotel. Maxine Dorothy (4th row back) and Dorothy Dorothy (6th from right, back row)



Miscellaneous

398    Y'smenette Luncheon (beginning of the YMCA). Clockwise, Dorothy Dorothy (left), Blanch Jenkins, Rae Rogers, Georgia Sanderson, Isabelle Mack, Helen Bray, Dorize Peterson, Bernice Riggs, Belle Kieler.



0131    DOROTHY DOROTHY COLLECTION



Miscellaneous (cont.)

399    "Car #13, the famed Bullion Car, which hauled millions in bullion out of the Carson Valley above Genoa V&T Station in Virginia City. It was called the "Julia Bullett" after the Comstock's most noted lady of the night.
400    Freiman's Clothing, Shoes, (for men, women and children). Location unknown. Group of people in front of store, some riding donkeys.
401    (Color Transparency) [Dale and Dorothy Dorothy in cotton field, Lazy 88 Ranch, Pahrump, Nev.]
402    (Color Transparency) [Cotton field-Lazy 88 Ranch, Pahrump, Nev.]
403    (Two color transparencies) Cotton plants (mature)
404    (Color Transparency) [Machine for picking (?) cotton; man driving it is Dale Dorothy]
405    (Color Transparency) [Dorothy Dorothy with cotton just picked from her fields]
406    (Color Transparency) [Men harvesting cotton; man on machine is probably Dale Dorothy]

NOTE: Numerous photographs (800+) and negatives (100+) were left in the Dorothy Dorothy Manuscript Collection. (Manuscript Collection #95-20, boxes 14-16)

Special Collections

Photo Ordering

Alphabetical Index

Subject I