Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0020
Davis, Glenn

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Folder 20-1



Las Vegas

0001    Aerial view, Railroad pass towards Las Vegas
0002    Western Air Express, Jimmy James pilot.
0003    Train in Las Vegas station is Virginia & Truckee locomotive promoting C.B. Demille's motion picture , "Union Pacific" 1938


Institutions

04    United States Post Office and Court House.

05    Clark County Court House

06    Las Vegas Hospital



Fremont street -night scenes

07    Main & Fremont (Overland Hotel, Sal Sagev)

08    Mid black between 1st and 2nd on Fremont (White Spot, Oasis, Frontier, Boulder Club) 1938

08a    Boulder Club, night scene (neg. only)

09    Second and Fremont (Hotel Apache, Boulder Club, Kiva Casino) 1938



Gambling

10    Wheel of fortune

11    Scene in the Boulder Club

12    A bunch of the boys ere whoopin' it up in the Boulder Club

13    Scene in the Apache Casino

14    (Roulette)- possibly Helldorado

15    (Roulette)

16    (Roulette)

17    Boulder Club (poker table)

18    El Rancho Vegas exterior

19    A little crap (craps table), probably Helldorado related





Helldorado 0020

20    Parade , circa 1930 (Wards Cash Store in Background)

21    Prospector in    parade (printed in reverse)

22    Mr. And Mrs. Draper

23    Mr. And Mrs. Draper in costume (Mrs. Draper seated)

24    Mr. Harrison as the Banker

25    Mr. Harrison as the Banker

26    Jack Rose as the Gaucho

27    Jack Rose as the Gaucho

28    Jack Rose as Teddy Roosevelt

29    Gunslinger

30    Woman in pioneer costume

31    Nevada Indian squaw and papoose

32    Jean Goodshell, Queen of Helldorado, with Death Valley Scotty

33    Parade at night (Desert Love Buggy in front of Vegas Sweet Shop, White Spot.)

34    Parade at night-horse-drawn wagons, stores, and Western Union

35    Desert Love Buggy with unidentified woman rider and Dutch Gorman



Folder 20-2

Boulder Dam-Colorado River

36    Signing of contract between U.S. Gov.'t and Six Companies for construction of Boulder Dam, including Henry J. Kaiser, Walker J. Young, C.P. "Pop" Squires; (dup in Eglington Collection, 71)

37    View of RR spur and Fortification Mountain

38    First spike to be driven for the spur to Boulder Dam;

39    Group of gentlemen at dam site, including Frank Crowe, Supt. Of construction for "Six Companies"

40    Representatives of the Colorado River Commission, including Walker Young and C.P. "Pop" Squires.

41    Colorado River above Black Canyon before construction of dam.

42    Beginning of a 5000-hole blast

43    River level view of blasting

44    High Scaling operations

45    High Scaling operations

46    Looking up Black Canyon at site of Boulder Dam Construction

47    Looking down Black Canyon at site of Boulder Dam construction

48    Sundown in the Black Canyon at site of Boulder Dam construction

49    Sundown in Black Canyon at site of Boulder Dam construction (different view)

50    Boulder Dam site form Nigger Head, tunnel construction

51    Looking up Black Canyon at the site of Boulder Dam Construction (diversion tunnels)

52    "

53    "

54    "

55    Diversion tunnel no.2 on Nevada side , putting in tunnel

56    "

57    No.1 and 2 diversion tunnels

58    Diversion tunnel, no.3 on Arizona side

59    Diversion tunnel no.4 , sidewall concreting

60    "

61    Penstock tunnel

62    Penstock tunnel piping

63    Form construction work

64    Form construction work, intake towers under construction

65    Form contractions from downstream side

66    Show UP streamliner brought to dam site with special train via 6 Companies

67    Same as above

68    Construction from downstream side

69    "

70    Construction from downstream side

71    "

72    Construction from downstream side

73    Pouring concrete

74    Concrete bucket on flat car



Folder 20-3

75    Low mix Concrete plant (on river)

76    Low mix Concrete plant (on river0

77    High level concrete plant

78    Start of construction of an intake tower

79    Nearing completion. Powerhouse construction.

80    The dam from lookout Point on the Nevada side

81    The dam from lookout Point on the Nevada side

82    The dam from lookout Point on the Nevada side

83    Construction from the downstream side

84    Construction from the downstream side

85    Fortification Mountain in Background (canyon wall outlet valves flooded)

86    View from the downstream side (canyon wall outlet valves flooded)

87    View from the downstream side (canyon wall outlet valves flooded)

88    View from the downstream side (canyon wall outlet valves flooded)

89    View from the downstream side (canyon wall outlet valves flooded)

90    View from the downstream side (canyon wall outlet valves flooded)

91    View from the downstream side (canyon wall outlet valves flooded)

92    View from the downstream side (canyon wall outlet valves flooded)

93    View from the downstream side (canyon wall outlet valves flooded)

94    View from the downstream side (canyon wall outlet valves flooded)

95    View from the downstream side (canyon wall outlet valves flooded)

96    View from the downstream side (canyon wall outlet valves flooded)photo taken at night

97    Lowering what appears to be a gondola car onto power house tracks. Not a boxcar.

98    Valve outlet on the Arizona side.

99    Valve outlets in operation on the Arizona side

100    Water flowing from 12 valve outlets, each 16 feet in diameter

101    Looking downstream showing the 12 outlets

102    Valve outlets in operation on the Arizona side

103    Valve outlets in operation on the Arizona side

104    Valve outlets in operation on the Arizona side

105    Nevada side of the dam. Tracks are ones used by freight cars lowered to power generation area. This is how generating equipment was brought to the Power house.

106    View from upstream side.

107    View from upstream side

108    Intake towers on upstream side of the dam



Folder 20-4

109    View from upstream side

110    View from upstream side

111    View from upstream side

112    View from upstream side

113    View from upstream side

114    View from upstream side

115    View from upstream side

116    View from upstream side

117    View from upstream side

118    Crest of Boulder Dam from the Arizona side

119    Crest of Boulder Dam from the Arizona side

120    Crest from the Nevada upstream side

121    Crest from the Nevada upstream side

122    Crest from the Nevada upstream side

123    Crest from the Nevada upstream side

124    Crest from the Nevada upstream side

125    Crest from the Nevada upstream side

126    Crest from the Nevada upstream side

127    Crest from the Nevada upstream side

128    Spillway on the Arizona side

129    Powerhouse on the Arizona side

130    President Roosevelt and party inspection the dam at the dedication ceremonies , Sept. 1935

131    President Roosevelt and party inspection the dam at the dedication ceremonies , Sept. 1935

132    President at dedication, Sept. 1935

133    President at dedication, Sept. 1935

134    President at dedication, Sept. 1935

135    President at dedication, Sept. 1935

136    President Roosevelt, his aide Harold Ickes, and Key Pittman at the dedication ceremonies, Sept. 1935

137    Harold Ickes, Secretary of the Interior, at the dedication ceremonies, Sept. 1935

138    Part of the crowd at the Boulder Junction ceremonies Las Vegas, Nevada.

139    Air view on the Colorado River in Black Canyon where Boulder Dam is now located.

140    Lake Mead after construction of the dam.

141    Looking up Lake Mead from the dam site to Fortification Mountain.

142    Temple Rock above Boulder Canyon on Lake Mead.

143    Emery Falls, on Lake Mead

144    Emery Falls, on Lake Mead

145    Lake Mead on lower end of the Grand Canyon.

146    Lake Mead on lower end of the Grand Canyon.

147    Lake Mead on lower end of the Grand Canyon.

148    Lake Mead on lower end of the Grand Canyon.

149    Lake Mead on lower end of the Grand Canyon.

150    Lake Mead on lower end of the Grand Canyon.

151    Lake Mead.



Folder 20-5

Beatty

152    Beatty, Nevada



Cathedral Gorge

153    Cathedral Gorge

154    Cathedral Gorge



Dasjouka Mountain

155    Dasjouka Mountain (Frenchman Mountain?)

    

Hiko

156    The McArthur Ranch near Hiko

157    The McArthur Ranch near Hiko

158    The McArthur Ranch near Hiko

159    The McArthur Ranch near Hiko

160    The McArthur Ranch near Hiko

161    The McArthur Ranch near Hiko

162    The McArthur Ranch near Hiko



Las Vegas Range

163    Las Vegas Mountain (Las Vegas Range)

164    Las Vegas Mountain (Las Vegas Range)



Lost City



165    Lost City Nevada

166    Lost City Nevada



Mount Charleston

167    Mount Charleston

168    Snow Scenes near Mt. Charleston

169    Snow Scenes near Mt. Charleston

170    The Charleston Mountains

171    Kyle Canyon

172    Charleston Park, Kyle Canyon-skiing , Robert "Bob" Griffith, owner of Charleston Park.

173    Kyle Canyon

174    At Kyle Canyon ski slopes

175    Ski run at Kyle Canyon

176    The Charleston Mountains

177    Kyle Canyon



Pahrump

178    Pahrump store



Rhyolite

179    The Ghost Casino

180    The Ghost Casino



Searchlight

181    Rex Bell, Clara Bow residence near Searchlight, Nevada. (Walking Box Ranch?)



Folder 20-6



Silver City

182    Silver City



Spring Mountain Ranch

183    Wilson Ranch near Las Vegas, Nevada

184    Wilson Ranch near Las Vegas, Nevada



Valley of Fire

185    Valley of Fire



Virginia City

186    Virginia City



Walker Lake

187    Walker Lake



Washoe Valley

188    The Bowers Mansion, doors with silver knobs



California

189    Hotel Nipton

190    Treherne Store, Nipton, California, 4-26-41, Harry Treherne, center.



Unidentified Location

191    Crystal Palace Bar

192    Crystal Palace Bar



Desert Flora and Fauna

193    Spanish dagger

194    Joshua Tree

195    Spanish dagger

196    Meals at all hours (baby burro and mother)

197    Joshua trees

198    Joshua trees

199    Joshua trees

200    Prickly pear

201    Spanish dagger

202    Burros

203    Desert tortoise



Desert Characters, Prospectors

204    Desert Vagabond

205    Desert Vagabond

206    Nighttime

207    "Maybe" (prospectors with their pack animals)

208    A desert rat

209    Desert wayfarers




Miscellaneous

210    Rodeo

211    A Death Dodger at Las Vegas



Folder 20-7



People

212    Edgar Rice Burroughs and bride at Las Vegas Court House

213    Bert Chesley, prospector

214    Bert Chesley, prospector

215    Bert Chesley, prospector

216    Bert Chesley, prospector

217    Bert Chesley, prospector

218    Bert Chesley, prospector

219    Bert Chesley, prospector

220    Bert Chesley, prospector

221    Bert Chesley, prospector

222    Irvin Cobb at the Boulder Club

223    Irvin Cobb at the Boulder Club

224    Harry Harrison of Jackson Hole, Wyoming

225    Harry Harrison of Jackson Hole, Wyoming and the owner of the Cinnabar Club in Las Vegas, Bert Testolin

226    Lone Wolf, a Blackfoot Indian from Browning , Montana

227    Lone Wolf, a Blackfoot Indian from Browning , Montana

228    The Navajo, as portrayed by Stanley Mitchell

229    The Navajo, as portrayed by Stanley Mitchell

230    The Navajo , as portrayed by Stanley Mitchell

231    The Iroquois, as portrayed by Stanley Mitchell

232    The Iroquois, as portrayed by Stanley Mitchell

233    The Iroquois, as portrayed by Stanley Mitchell

234    The Sioux, as portrayed by Stanley Mitchell

235    The Sioux, as portrayed by Stanley Mitchell

236    The Sioux, as portrayed by Stanley Mitchell

237    The Sioux, as portrayed by Stanley Mitchell

238    Charleston park Area with Mt. Charleston in the background, Stanley Mitchell as Sioux.

239    A Mexican, as portrayed by Stanley Mitchell

240    A Mexican, as portrayed by Stanley Mitchell

241    A Mexican, as portrayed by Stanley Mitchell

242    A Mexican, as portrayed by Stanley Mitchell

243    A Mexican, as portrayed by Stanley Mitchell

244    A Mexican, as portrayed by Stanley Mitchell

245    Potato Creek Johnny of Deadwood, South Dakota

246    Potato Creek Johnny of Deadwood, South Dakota

247    Jack Williams, a desert character

248    Death Valley Scotty and Frank Crowe, Supt. Of Construction for Six Companies on the Boulder Dam project.

249    Death Valley Scotty, Mr. & Mrs. (Walter) Bracken, Mr. Johnson and Gene Ward at Las Vegas.

250    Death Valley Scotty and "Cunnel" Russell, in the Apache Hotel Cocktail Room

251    Lone Wolf of Browning, Montana; Capt. Joyce of Tucson, Arizona; and "Cunnel" Russell in the Cocktail Room of The Apache Hotel, Las Vegas.

252    Paiute Indian squaw and papoose

253    Cowboy with horse

254    Taos, New Mexico

255    Man With Automobile

256    Maggie and her goats

257    "

258    Man with automobile in snowy area (Glenn Davis?)

259    Photographer with camera (Glenn Davis?)

260    "

261    "Cappy", National Vice Commander, American Legion Convention

262    Unidentified gentleman

263    Unidentified gentleman with horse

264    Unidentified riders