You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0375
Elizabeth Casper Photograph Collection

Biography

Ms. Elizabeth Casper (nee Sromalla) was born in Las Vegas, Nevada in 1946. Ms. Casper was the oldest of four children. Her father worked at a Post Office in Las Vegas for 27 years. Her mother ran a small nursery in her home for small children. Her two brothers and sister all graduated from Las Vegas High School. Ms. Casper's father was stationed at Nellis Air force Base when he first arrived to Las Vegas. Ms. Casper attended the North Ninth Street School, Fifth Street Grammar School, John C. Fremont Junior High School, Roy Martin Junior High School, and Las Vegas High School. She would later attend Carson-Newman College in Jefferson City, TN where she earned a BA in Art Education - Kindergarten through 12th Grade. She went on to become a school art teacher at various Las Vegas schools including J. Harold Brinley Junior High, Garside Junior High School, Valley High School, and the Kit Carson Sixth Grade Center.            


Source

Gift of Elizabeth Casper, 1978.


Collection Scope and Content Summary

These photographs were collected from Ms. Elizabeth Casper during an oral history interview on March 5, 1978. This collection contains eleven 4.5 inches x 3.5 inches, black and white photographs of Elizabeth Casper's family, the Helldorado Parade, hotels, homes, a nursery school, and a church in Las Vegas, Nevada in 1947. The collection also contains 26 color slides of various casinos and buildings on Las Vegas Blvd. The slides are undated. Lastly, there is a CD-R disk with copies of the 26 color slides.



Inventory

Unnumbered photographs and slides in 1 folder

26 color slides of various casinos, hotels, and other buildings on Las Vegas Blvd. They include the Sahara, Algiers, Thunderbird, La Cancha, Moulin Rouge, churches, Dunes, Hotel Fremont, Riviera, El Rancho Vegas, Desert Inn, Sands, Golden Nugget, Last Frontier Village, Royal Nevada, Hacienda, New Frontier, Tropicana, and a church.

CD-R includes scans of the 26 slides above.

Black and white photographs with brief descriptions on reverse, circa 1947-1978:

1: Alfred A. Sromalla and daughter Elizabeth, 1947. House on 16th Street.

2: Center -- Mrs. Alfred A. Sromalla, child in arms is daughter Elizabeth. Backyard of house on 16th Street. Frenchman's Mountain in background.

3: Helladorado Parade, undated.

4: Helldorado Parade, 6th and Fremont, undated.

5: Ronzone's clothing store entry in Helldorado, undated.

6: First Church building in Las Vegas, undated.

7: Kelso-Turner house on 11th Street, undated.

8: Landmark sign of Hotel Last Frontier (New Frontier is now on the same property), undated.

9: Nursery School on Kelso-Turner Project. 9th and 10th Streets, undated.

10: Top of Thunderbird Hotel, undated.

11: Gospel Tabernacle, undated. The second church building of Las Vegas located on 3rd Street (across from the Post Office), undated.



Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections