You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0180
Peters, Timothy

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Postcards with Gambling Scenes

0001 A postcard illustrating the shooting of Wild Bill Hickok. The depiction is from an original oil painting by Ernest Reedstrom n.d.
0002 A postcard illustrating a gambling scene where someone is cheating. The caption reads, “When a pair of sixes beats aces: Surprised in the act of padding his hand with aces fed to him by the town roust-about, the crooked gambler looks into the muzzles of a pair of six guns”. The depiction is from an original oil painting by Ernest Reedstrom 1954.
0003 A postcard with dogs playing poker 1965.
0004 A postcard with dogs playing blackjack at the Dunes Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada n.d.
0005 A postcard illustrating a gambling scene. The caption reads, “Raising the Ante” 1914. Inscription on back.
0006 A postcard depicting an at home poker game with the title, “My Wife Won’t Let Me” printed in England 1911. Inscription on back.
0007 A postcard illustrating dogs playing poker 1987.
0008 A postcard illustrating a Western gambling room n.d.
0009 A postcard illustrating an outside gambling scene with cowboys n.d.
0010 A postcard illustrating a man and woman playing poker with the title, “How Would You Like To Hold My Hand?” n.d.
0011 A postcard illustrating three men playing poker with the title, “De viert’ Bur!” n.d.
0012 A postcard illustrating a dog and cat playing poker with the title, “Come and Join Us” 1913. Inscription on back.
0013 A postcard illustrating a man playing poker while holding a woman’s hand with the caption, “If I’d Have Held This Hand Ten Years Ago-I’d Have A------‘Full House’ Now!” n.d. Inscription on back.
0014 A postcard illustrating Michelangelo da Caravaggio playing poker with Der Falschspieler n.d.
0015 A postcard illustrating a gambling scene in with the caption, “’Playing Faro’ In the Early 80’s at Tombstone, Arizona” n.d.
0016 A postcard illustrating three men playing poker n.d.
0017 A postcard illustrating a table of men playing poker 1907. Inscription on back.
0018 A postcard illustrating men sitting on the floor playing poker with the title, “A Sunday School Class in the West”. The caption on back reads, “This is a jolly group old time Cowboy friends. Sunday is a time of visiting on the western ranches, and the ‘latch string’ is always out for the strangers. These fellows are not disturbers of the peace as might be inferred from the photograph” n.d.
0019 A postcard illustrating a table of skeletons playing poker with the title, “Dead Game Sports” 1906. Inscription on back.
0020 A postcard illustrating a man and a woman playing poker with the title, “I’ll be seeing you!” n.d.

0180 Timothy Peters Collection

Postcards with Gambling Scenes

0021 A postcard illustrating a room full of mice playing poker n.d.
0022 A postcard illustrating a group of cowboys playing poker outside with their guns drawn. The caption reads, “The Cowboys ‘Call’” 1908. Inscription on back.
0023 A postcard depicting a group of men playing poker n.d. Inscription on back.
0024 A postcard depicting several scenes from Nevada. The caption reads, “Greetings from Nevada” n.d.
0025 A postcard illustrating two women and a man playing poker, all with their guns drawn n.d. Inscription on back.
0026 A postcard illustrating a group of men playing poker with the title, “I Haven’t Got The Heart To Do It” 1919. Inscription on back.
0027 A postcard illustrating a group of men playing poker with the title, “Poker— Western Style” n.d.
0028 A cartoon postcard depicting a poker scene with the title, “They’ll Do It Every Time…by Hatlo” n.d.
0029 A postcard illustrating a man and woman playing poker with the title, “Two Good Hands To Hold”. Ca. 1910-1919. Inscription on back.
0030 A postcard illustrating a group of men playing poker with the caption, “A Game of Cards 1907 by A. A. Lesrel in the Collection of Haussner’s Restaurant, famous for fine food and fine art” n.d. A map with directions to Haussner’s Restaurant is on back.
0031 A postcard illustrating a poker scene. The caption reads, “This slick-looking youth came out West, And to win all our coin did his best; He held five kings, by Gum! We each held a gun—And the Coroner held an inquest” n.d.
0032 A postcard illustrating baby chickens playing poker with the title, “Easter Greeting” n.d.
0033 A postcard illustrating Michelangelo da Caravaggio playing poker with Der Falschspieler n.d.
0034 A postcard illustrating a man playing cards n.d.

Postcards with Advertisements

0035 A postcard illustrating a statue of the King of Clubs advertising Ezra Brooks Whiskey n.d.
0036 A postcard illustrating a statue of the Queen of Hearts advertising Ezra Brooks Whiskey n.d.
0037 A postcard illustrating a statue of the Jack of Diamonds advertising Ezra Brooks Whiskey n.d.
0038 A postcard illustrating a buggy being pulled by a horse. The postcard is advertising Binion’s Horseshoe Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada. The caption reads, “Delivering Western Hospitality Since 1951”.
0039 A postcard advertising station KGZ 4488 Poker Man Roger and Pinocchio Kathey n.d.
0180 Timothy Peters Collection

Postcards with Advertisements
0040 A postcard advertising Friendship Brand cigars 1909. Inscription on back.
0041 A postcard advertising Three Star Hennessy Cognac 1956. Inscription on back.
0042 A postcard advertising station KFR 6327 1977. Inscription on back.
0043 A postcard advertising Binion’s Horseshoe Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada n.d. The caption reads, “Binion’s Horseshoe: World Series of Poker World Championship”.
0044 A postcard advertising the MGM Grand in Las Vegas, Nevada 1993. The caption reads, “Betty Boop Queen of Hearts at the MGM Grand World’s Largest Hotel, Casino & Theme Park”.
0045 A postcard advertising Las Vegas, Nevada n.d.
0046 A postcard advertising Las Vegas, Nevada n.d. The front of the postcard has a gaming guide for Blackjack.
0047 A postcard advertising Binion’s Horseshoe Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas, Nevada n.d. The caption reads, “treat them right, show them a good time, and the rest will take care of itself”.

Postcards depicting poker hands or poker terms

0048 A postcard illustrating a man walking with two women. The caption reads, “One Pair”1907. Inscription on back.
0049 A postcard illustrating a fat king. The caption reads, “A King Full” 1905.
Inscription on back.
0050 A postcard illustrating a woman’s head with a hat full of cards. The caption reads, “Why, Lady Fortune, turn away? Come capture one more heart, I pray”1909. Inscription on back.
0051 A postcard illustrating a woman with cards. The caption reads, “I hold this hand. I want no more. Except the girl whom I adore” 1909.
0052 A postcard illustrating a woman with four cards. The caption reads, “Ace High” n.d.
0053 A postcard illustrating a cartoon with a King and Queen image on playing cards with three children. It is titled, “Triplets” June 1912. Inscription on back.
0054 A postcard illustrating a cartoon with playing cards titled, “ Opening a Jackpot” n.d.
0055 A postcard illustrating a cartoon with playing cards titled, “A Full House” n.d.
0056 A postcard illustrating a cartoon with playing cards titled, “Three of a Kind and a Pair of Jacks” n.d.
0057 A postcard illustrating five cards: the ten of spades, jack of spades, six of hearts, king of spades, and ace of spades. The caption reads, “Shakespeare on ‘Draw Poker’ The Queen Being Absent ‘tis a Needful Fitness that We Adjourn this Court” King Henry VIII 1908.



0180 Timothy Peters Collection

Postcards depicting poker hands or poker terms

0058 A postcard illustrating five cards: the eight of spades through the queen of spades. The caption reads, “That’s straight: You had better be Straight than Flush but remember that a Flush beats a Straight and that a Straight Flush usually wins” n.d.
0059 A postcard illustrating five cards: the seven of clubs, eight of hearts, ten of hearts,
king of diamonds, and king of clubs. The caption reads, “Did Shakespeare Play
Poker? Here stands a pair of honorable men---Much Ado About Nothing” 1910. Inscription on back.
0060 A postcard illustrating five cards: the ace of spades through the ten of spades. The caption reads, “I’ll play these: To hold this hand makes one feel fine but I’d rather hold your hand in mine. That’s straight” n.d.
0061 A postcard illustrating five cards (three queens and two fives) with the title, “May you have hands full of luck in the New Year” 1912. Inscription on back.
0062 A postcard illustrating five cards (three jacks and two aces) with the title, “Let me win your heart” 1909. Inscription on back.
0063 A postcard illustrating five cards (four aces and a deuce) with the title, “My Safety Raiser” n.d.
0064 A postcard illustrating two poker chips, the ace of spades, and four of diamonds. The title reads, “Chips That Pass in the Night” 1909. Inscription on back.
0065 A postcard illustrating five cards (the ace of clubs through the ten of clubs). The caption reads, “I’ll play these: To hold this hand makes one feel fine but I’d rather hold your hand in Mine. That’s straight” n.d.
0066 A postcard illustrating five cards (the ace of hearts through the ten of hearts). The title reads, “The Glad Hand” 1908. Inscription on back.
0067 A postcard illustrating five cards (the ace of spades through the ten of spades) and two people holding hands. The title reads, “Which hand would you prefer to hold?” 1908. Inscription on front and back.
0068 A postcard illustrating five cards (the ace of hearts through the ten of hearts) 1910. The caption reads, “I offer you without a blush, my heart and hand for I am flush. To my Valentine”. Inscription on back.
0069 A postcard illustrating five cards (the ace of hearts through the ten of hearts) 1909. The title reads, “Here is an opportunity”. Inscription on front and back.
0070 A postcard illustrating four cards (the deuce of spades, clubs, diamonds, and hearts) 1909. The caption reads, “Draw one. I love to sit up all night and hold the little ones”. Inscription on back.
0071 A postcard illustrating five cards (four aces and a ten) n.d. The caption reads, “Did Shakespeare Play Poker? Tis’ a consummation devoutly to be wished”
Hamlet.
0072 A postcard illustrating five cards (ace of hearts through the ten of hearts) n.d. The caption reads, “If you sink a submarine-would a safety raiser”.
0073 A postcard illustrating five cards (four eights and a queen) 1908. The caption reads, “Try this hand on your friends”. Inscription on back.
0180 Timothy Peters Collection

Postcards depicting poker hands or poker terms

0074 A postcard illustrating five cards (three fives and two kings) 1910. The caption reads, “A good hand to hold”. Inscription on back.
0075 A postcard illustrating five cards (four deuces and a jack) n.d. The caption reads, “Beat it”.
0076 A postcard illustrating five cards (three fours and two threes) n.d. The caption reads, “This usually wins the money”. Inscription on back.
0077 A postcard illustrating five cards (three of spades, jack of spades, three of diamonds, eight of hearts, and three of hearts) n.d. The caption reads, “The Gentlemen’s Card: You will make a pleasure trip soon, meet good hearts, with a kiss of lips and a fine time following 10 cards give a complete reading”.
0078 A postcard illustrating five cards (queen of hearts, four of hearts, queen of spades, four of diamonds, and two of clubs) n.d. The caption reads, “The Gentlemen’s Card: A blond and brunette lady are very fond of you, one of them will make you an offer shortly. 5 cards give a complete reading”.
0079 A postcard illustrating five cards (nine of hearts through the five of hearts) n.d. The caption reads, “The Gentlemen’s Card: Your wish about your lady love will be fulfilled, with good hearts, love and a marriage in a short time. 10 cards give a complete reading”.
0080 A postcard illustrating five cards (jack of diamonds, nine of diamonds, eight of spades, nine of hearts, and six of clubs) n.d. The caption reads, “The Gentlemen’s Card: You are thinking of making a change. It will make disagreeable feelings and some trouble, but end well for you. 10 cards give a complete reading”.
0081 A postcard illustrating five cards (ace of diamonds, six of spades, five of diamonds, jack of clubs, and five of hearts) n.d. The caption reads, “The Gentlemen’s Card: You will receive a letter from out of town containing money giving you the necessary means to marry the girl you love. 5 cards give a complete reading”.
0082 A postcard illustrating five cards (jack of hearts, seven of hearts, six of hearts, seven of clubs, and six of diamonds) n.d. The caption reads, “Gentlemen’s Card: There is a woman who is jealous of you and she is going to surprise you by making a personal call. 5 cards give a complete reading”.
0083 A postcard illustrating five cards (king of diamonds, king of spades, king of hearts, seven of diamonds, and ten of diamonds) n.d. The caption reads, “Gentlemen’s Card: You will go out in company with three men , spend a little money, but will have a very large time. 5 cards give a complete reading”.
0084 A postcard illustrating five cards (king of hearts, four of spades, ace of spades, queen of clubs, and four of clubs) n.d. The caption reads, “Gentlemen’s Card: You will be informed by a light complected man about the sickness and death of a dark complected lady friend. 5 cards give a complete reading”.



0180 Timothy Peters Collection

Postcards depicting poker hands or poker terms

0085 A postcard illustrating eight cards (ten of clubs, ten of spades, eight of diamonds, ace of diamonds, ace of hearts, ace of spades, nine of spades, and jack of spades) n.d. The caption reads, “Ladies Card: A journey you take will bring a change into your life. Keep silent about your plans and they will materialize faster. Remember that if you dig up a seed it will never grow; keep your ideas hidden likewise. 6 cards give a complete reading”.
0086 A postcard illustrating eight cards (ace of spades, king of diamonds, seven through ten of diamonds, eight of clubs, and jack of hearts) n.d. The caption reads, “Ladies Card: Ambitions that for years seemed impossible of realization are likely to be gratified. There is a tendency toward travel or change which will bring pleasure and profit both. The turn in the road you’ve been looking for is here. 6 cards for a complete reading”.
0087 A postcard illustrating the queen of hearts with a resort in Atlantic City, New
Jersey in the center of the card n.d.
0088 A postcard illustrating two men in tuxedos surrounding three women who are dancing 1905. The caption reads, “Three of a Kind”. Inscription on back and front.
0089 A postcard illustrating four women walking away with a man watching them 1905. The caption reads, “What beats this?”
0090 A postcard illustrating several playing cards surrounding money n.d.
0091 A postcard illustrating several playing cards surrounding money n.d.
0092 A postcard illustrating a man holding a donkey by its back legs with four cards above the donkey (ace of spades, ace of clubs, ace of diamonds, and seven of hearts) 1905. The caption reads, “I held a kicker”.
0093 A postcard illustrating a man trumpeting a horn with the deuce of hearts in front of him n.d. The caption reads, “What the deuce? Just to remind you and lest you forget, It seems quite a deuce-ed long time since we met”. Inscription on back.
0094 A postcard illustrating four scenes (a pail of wine, a woman, horse betting, and cards and dice) 1908. The caption reads, “The 4 Ways”. Inscription on back.
0095 A postcard illustrating a woman’s face surrounded by playing cards with hearts on them n.d. The caption reads, “To my Valentine, Queen of my heart”.
0096 A postcard illustrating an ace of hearts playing card with a man holding a woman next to a table with poker chips and playing cards in the center ca. 1910-1919. The caption reads, “Game of Poker: Kitty gets it all”. Inscription on back.
0097 A postcard illustrating a man painting three diamonds on a card n.d. The caption reads, “I have been raising the deuce”.
0098 A postcard illustrating a patriotic scene with the king of spades, a calendar from July 1992, and a second card with two American flags July 1992.
0099 A miscellaneous postcard with a mythical character on it n.d.



Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections