Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0361
Mines and Mining Collection

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


0361 Mines & Mining Collection

Oversized
0001 Beatty, Nevada taken on May 30, 1905 by M.P.Spencer & Co.
0002 The Union Pacific building the railroad across the desert to connect the main line at Boulder Junction with Boulder City. C.    
        January 1930/1931
0003 An unidentified group of men and women sitting on a porch. n.d.
0004 Hauling supplies from Manville to Beatty, Nevada. C. Early 1900s.
0005 Hauling supplies from Manville to Beatty, Nevada. C. Early 1900s.
0006 Hauling supplies from Manville to Beatty, Nevada. C. Early 1900s.
0007 Hauling supplies from Manville to Beatty, Nevada. C. Early 1900s.
0008 Infant burial, showing duck pot, bowl, shell beads and pot within a pot. The Lost City. n.d.
0009 Remains found in the Lost City. n.d.
0010 Excavation of the Lost City. n.d.
0011 Pottery found at the Lost City. n.d.
0012 Native Americans at the Lost City. n.d.
0013 Native Americans at the Lost City. n.d.
0014 Cy E. Johnson on his horse Jay at Camp Thomas [Chickamauga.] Spanish American War soldier. June 27th, 1898. A letter is
        written around the photograph border listing the items in his pack and 110 in the shade.
0015 A portrait of Cy E. Johnson taken after the Spanish American War . 1898.
0016 A portrait of Cy E. Johnson taken in Goldfield, Nevada in 1906, after he returned from a prospecting trip in Death Valley.
0017 Cy E. Johnson with his burros after a prospecting trip in Death Valley. C. 1906, probably in Goldfield, Nevada.
0018 Panorama looking north from Montgomery mountain, taken May 1906. Rhyolite, Bonanza, Busch Peak, Rainbow Mountain, Steinway, and
        Elkhornare highlighted in the photograph.
0019 Reimers Lumber Mill located near Glenbrook, Nevada in Douglas County close to Lake Tahoe. n.d.
0020 Reimers Lumber Mill located near Glenbrook, Nevada in Douglas County close to Lake Tahoe. n.d.
0021 The interior of Pershing Quicksilver Works, Rochester Mining District, 20 miles north of Lovelock, Nevada. Taken during
        construction October 10, 1927.
0022 Town of Delamar, Nevada located in Lincoln County. Situated above the town is Delamar Mill. n.d.

Native Americans
0023 Photograph taken by John S. Davis entitled Indians of the Colorado Valley.
MO-A-PA-RI-A-TS, tribe found along the Moapa River in Southern Nevada. n.d.
0024 Photograph taken by Watkins Pacific Railroad. n.d. Alcove in Palisades, ten mile canyon.
0025 Photograph taken by John S. Davis entitled, Indians of the Colorado Valley. MO-A-PA-RI-ATS, tribe found along the Moapa River in
        Southern Nevada. n.d.

Stereoviews
0026 Stereoview of Goldfield, Nevada. C. 1903. Taken by Olaf P. Larson. The images are mining views taken at night.
0027 Stereoview of Goldfield, Nevada. C. 1903. Taken by Olaf P. Larson. The images are mining views taken at night.
0028 Stereoview of Tonopah, Nevada. C. 1903. Taken by Olaf P. Larson. The images are mining views taken at night.

Mining Towns
0029 Weepah, Nevada. n.d. A great rush is going in the Pioche mountains where gold has been found. Prospecting to show one of the
        greatest gold stakes in many years.
0030 Candalaria, Nevada. n.d. Electrical lines being installed near a mine/mill.
0031 Candalaria, Nevada. n.d. Electrical lines being installed near a mine/mill.
0032 Candalaria, Nevada. n.d. Electrical lines being installed near a mine/mill.
0033 Candalaria, Nevada. n.d. Electrical lines being installed near a mine/mill.
0034 Candalaria, Nevada. n.d. Electrical lines being installed near a mine/mill.
0035 Bluestone Mine. Steve 1916.
0036 3 men around 25 silver bullion bars worth $32,000. The Tonopah Extension Mg. Co., bi-monthly shipment. n.d.

People
0037 A Tonopah prospector and his burro. n.d.
0038 A group of people near a railroad car. n.d. The Colonel, mama, Bertie, Wickie, Bill.
0039 Two women and a child outside of an unidentified building. n.d.
0040 A.D. Myers outside of Goldfield, Nevada. n.d.
0041 An unknown woman on a dirt path. n.d.
0042 Two women posing out of a window in an unknown building. n.d.
0043 Two unidentified adults and a child in a mining camp. n.d.
0044 Two unidentified people in the background of a mining camp. n.d.

Newspaper photograph
0045 An unknown newspaper clipping of the Solid Gold Mill located in Round Mountain. n.d.

Picture Postcards
0046 A picture postcard of prospectors in Goldfield, Nevada. 1907. The address is written on the back with a brief letter written next
        to the photograph on the front.
0047 A picture postcard of the Yucca Palm on American Desert. Goldfield, Nevada 1906. The address is written on the back with a
        brief letter written next to the photograph on the front.
0048 A picture postcard of the Consolidated Mines Company, New Mill, Goldfield, Nevada 1908. An address is written on the back side.

Picture Postcards
0049 A picture postcard of Main Street in Goldfield, Nevada 1905.
0050 A picture postcard of a Birds-eye view of Goldfield, Nevada 1906. Notes are written along the photograph on the front and an
        address is written on the back.
0051 A picture postcard of a Squaw Race in Ely, Nevada 1909. An address is written on the back.
0052 A picture postcard of Ely, Nevada. n.d. [early 1900s?]
0053 A picture postcard of the City Hall in Ely, Nevada 1909. A letter is written on the back.
0054 A picture postcard of Robinson Canyon, Ely, Nevada. n.d.
0055 A picture postcard of Ely, Nevada on Railroad Day September 29, 1906. The postcard is addressed on the back with a brief letter
        written along the picture on the front.
0056 A picture postcard of Winnemucca, Nevada. n.d.
0057 A picture postcard of Winnemucca, Nevada. n.d.
0058 A picture postcard of Winnemucca, Nevada. n.d.
0059 A picture postcard of Virginia City, Nevada. n.d. A letter is written on the back stating that, there has been $700-000-000 gold
        and silver taken out of this camp.
0060 A picture postcard of Virginia City, Nevada. January 18, 1916
0061 A picture postcard of the Rhyolite Depot on the rim of Death Valley. n.d . The postcard folds out into an informational packet.
0062 A picture postcard of Lahontan, Nevada. n.d.
0063 A picture postcard of an aerial view of Tonopah, Nevada, 1932. A letter is written on the back.
0064 A picture postcard of A hold up U.S. mail coach en route to Bullfrog, Nevada. n.d.
0065 A picture postcard of Elko, Nevada, 1911. A letter is written on the back.
0066 A picture postcard of Mark Twains cabin in Aurora, Nevada. n.d. The caption reads, The Book Rouching It was written in this
        cabin.
0067 A picture postcard of an unidentified man and woman outside of a building that has a large sign, Reno, 1915. A brief letter is
        written on the back.
0068 A picture postcard of a woman on a trail path. n.d. Writing on the front and a brief letter on the back.
0069 A picture postcard of Mark Twains cabin, 1915. Aurora, Nevada.
0070 A picture postcard of an unidentified town. C. early 1900s.
0071 A picture postcard of a parade outside of the Mizpah Hotel. n.d.
0072 A picture postcard of a parade outside of the Mizpah Hotel. n.d.
0073 A picture postcard of a parade outside of the Mizpah Hotel. n.d.
0074 A picture postcard of a parade outside of the Mizpah Hotel. n.d.
0075 A picture postcard of a Native American woman carrying a baby in Nevada. n.d. There are notes written on the photograph.
0076 A picture postcard entitled, Nevada Indian Camp n.d.
0077 A picture postcard entitled, Piute Papoose in Reno, Nevada. A letter is written on back, October 5, 1911.
0078 A picture postcard entitled, Nevada Beauties, Piute Indians, Nevada. n.d.
0079 A picture postcard entitled, Smug as a Bug in a Rug a photograph of a baby Native American. n.d.
0080 A picture postcard entitled, Indian Papoose, Reno, Nevada. n.d.
0081 A picture postcard with photographs of Rhyolite, Nevada 1908, Eureka, Nevada 1908, and Rochester, Nevada n.d.
0082 A picture postcard with photographs of the first engine to run over the Sierras, Mark Twain 1865 in Aurora, Nevada, Mark Twains
        cabin in Aurora, Nevada, and the first house in Genoa, Nevada.
0083 A picture postcard with Death Valley Scotty, an old time bar, Weepah 1927, Frank Horton, The orphan of the desert, Tex Rickard,
        and a gambling scene.
0084 A picture postcard with scenes of it from Tonopah 1906.
0085 A picture postcard with photographs of the Badger Hole, Electric Gold Mines in Weepah, Nevada, a crowd looking at a rich strike,
        the town of Weepah, Nevada where a rich gold strike was found, Frank Horton, George Wingfield, and Traynor and Horton the boys
        who found the rich gold strike in Weepah.
0086 A picture postcard with photographs of a mule team with a wagon, Reno, Nevada 1870, vehicles hauling ore in 1927, and the
        Roulette Palace Gambling House in Reno, Nevada 1906.
0087 A picture postcards with photographs of Goldfield, Nevada, Gold Hill, Nevada, George Wingfield 1906, a 20 mule team, miners
        eating bacon for breakfast, and a gambling hall.
0088 A picture postcard of the reproduction of Lake Marian in 1868.
0089 A picture postcard of Tonopah, Nevada Ca. early 1900s.
0090 A picture postcard of a view of Ramsey Street in Goldfield, Nevada
Ca. early 1900s.
0091 A picture postcard of Montezuma Club House in Goldfield, Nevada
Ca. early 1900s.
0092 A picture postcard of the Combination Mine in Goldfield, Nevada
Ca. early 1900s.

People
0093 A baby picture of John Clifford Brissell in a christening robe. Ca. late 1800s/early 1900s.
0094 A group of fifteen men posing outside of a mining building. Uncle Al Maunder is written at the bottom. Ca. early 1900s.
        (OVERSIZE)
0095 A large group of men outside of a mining building. Grandpa Oates is written at the bottom. Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0096 A large group of men outside of a mining building. Grandpa Oates is written at the bottom. Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0097 A group of men outside of a mine. Grandpa Oates is written at the bottom.
Ca. early 1900s.
0098 A large group of men outside of a mining building. Grandpa Oates is written at the top. Ca. early 1900s.
0099 A photograph of a man. The caption reads, To my Sister Lizzie from __ March 5, 1899. John Coggsliall taken at San Francisco.
        (OVERSIZE)
0100 A dog with the caption, Wells Dog: Jack February 1897. (OVERSIZE)
0101 An old woman. The caption reads, Frances W. Baggmy mothers sister of Detroit, Michigan. Ca. late 1800s. (OVERSIZE)
0102 An older woman in a rocking chair. The caption reads, Mother1904. (OVERSIZE)
0103 An aerial photograph of Sheriff Logans funeral in Tonopah, Nevada April 12th, 1906. (OVERSIZE)
0104 Two children pictured in a carriage n.d. (OVERSIZE)
0105 An unidentified group of men standing in front of a store. Ca. early 1900s.
0106 A group of unidentified miners inside of a mine Ca. early 1900s.
0107 Three unidentified men, a woman, and a dog sitting outside of a tent.
Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)

Cities & Mines
0108 A panorama of The Antelope Quicksilver District in Nye County, at the south end of the Cactus Range, thirty miles southeast of
        Goldfield, Nevada Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0109 A 270 degree panorama view of The Antelope Quicksilver District in Nye County, at the south end of the Cactus Range, thirty miles
        southeast of Goldfield, Nevada June 1929. (OVERSIZE)
0110 A panorama view of a group of people at a funeral. The mine in the background is the Basque Mine located in the Tuscarora Mining
        District. The caption reads, burial services at the mine for A.M. Kushiwa. Asian culture believes the funeral should take
        place at the site of death whenever possible. I can only assume that he was a miner in some type of accident. April 23, 1933.
        (OVERSIZE)
0111 A panorama view of a series of buildings and a few vehicles in Gilbert, Nevada near the Monte Cristo Range close to Millers. Ca.
        early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0112 A panorama view of a the Sexton Mine located near Manhattan Gulch forty-five miles north of Tonopah. Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0113 A panorama view of railroad tracks being laid at the Reimers Lumber Mill located near Glenbrook, Nevada in Douglas County close to
        Lake Tahoe. Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0114 A panorama view of a building being constructed at Reimers Lumber Mill located near Glenbrook, Nevada in Douglas County close to
        Lake Tahoe. Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0115 A panorama view of a building being constructed at Reimers Lumber Mill located near Glenbrook, Nevada in Douglas County close to
        Lake Tahoe. Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0116 A panorama view of workers housing located below Reimers Lumber Mill located near Glenbrook, Nevada in Douglas County close to
        Lake Tahoe. Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0117 A group of miners at the Mexican Mine in Virginia City, Nevada. Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0118 The Silver Lead Smelter of the Trinity and Sacramento Silver Mining Company at Oreana, Nevada in Pershing county. Ca. late 1800s.
        (OVERSIZE)
0119 An aerial view of Pioche, Nevada. The Dexter Stables and a mine in the background are visible. Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0120 An aerial view of Pioche, Nevada. The Dexter Stables, J.J. Halpin Hardware, bathhouse, mercantile store, Marysville Hotel, and a
        mine in the background are some of the many buildings visible. Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0121 An aerial view of Pioche, Nevada. Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0122 A panorama of Rawhide, Nevada taken from Hooligan Hill on April 15, 1908. Identified on the image is: Crescent Peak, Silver King
        Hill, Las Chance Hill, Bluff Hill, Grutt Hill, Balloon Hill, and Murray Hill. (OVERSIZE)
0123 A couple of buildings belonging to the Gold Reef Mining Company in Tonopah, Nevada Ca. early 1900s.
0124 A man standing near mining equipment at the Gold Reef Mining Company in Tonopah, Nevada July 7, 1918.
0125 The Gold Reef Mining Company in Tonopah, Nevada July, 1918.
0126 A couple of buildings belonging to the Gold Reef Mining Company in Tonopah, Nevada Ca. early 1900s.
0127 A man standing near mining equipment at the Gold Reef Mining Company in Tonopah, Nevada July 7, 1918.
0128 A group of young men and a little girl in uniform on Decoration Day May 30th, 1911 in Tonopah, Nevada.
0129 A group of people lining the streets in Tonopah, Nevada on Decoration Day
May 30th, 1906.
0130 A couple of buildings belonging to the Gold Reef Mining Company in Tonopah, Nevada. The Tonopah Divide is identified in the back
        of the image. Ca. July 1918.
0131 A man standing in front of several buildings belonging to the Gold Reef Mining Company in Tonopah, Nevada. Ca. July 1918.
0132 Jim Butler standing in front of the original strike in Tonopah, Nevada
Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0133 A street scene in Tonopah, Nevada showing a 4th of July Celebration
Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0134 The funeral parade of sheriff Thomas Logan going down main street in Tonopah, Nevada April 1906. (OVERSIZE)
0135 Jim Butler sitting in a rocking chair Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0136 A panorama of Tonopah, Nevada 1906. (OVERSIZE)
0137 A panorama of Tonopah, Nevada September 1, 1915. (OVERSIZE)
0138 A postcard panorama of Goldfield, Nevada taken from the top of the First National Bank (a four story building) Ca. early 1900s.
        (OVERSIZE)
0139 A panorama map of Goldfield, Nevada. Thirty-six places are located on the map, mostly mines and shops. The image is from the
        Goldfield Ledge Mining Company Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0140 A panorama of the Goldfield Consolidated 100 Stamp Mill in Goldfield, Nevada September 28, 1909. (OVERSIZE)
0141 A panorama of the 12th annual session of the American Mining Congress at the Goldfield Hotel in Goldfield, Nevada October 1, 1909.
        (OVERSIZE)
0142 A panorama of Goldfield, Nevada October 1, 1909. (OVERSIZE)
0143 A panorama of the Mohawk Mine in Goldfield, Nevada 1906. Several mines, mills, and leases are identified. (OVERSIZE)
0144 A panorama of Goldfield, Nevada showing several mines Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0145 A large panorama of the city of Goldfield, Nevada. The caption reads, The Greatest Gold Camp in the World September 30, 1909.
        (OVERSIZE)
0146 A panorama of an unknown mining town, presumably in Nevada Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0147 A panorama of an unknown mining town, presumably in Nevada Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0148 A panorama of an unknown mining town, presumably in Nevada Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0149 A panorama of an unknown mining town, presumably in Nevada Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0150 A fire with a crowd surrounding it during the night in an unknown location, presumably in Nevada Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0151 An unknown mine, presumably in Nevada Ca. early 1900s. (OVERSIZE)
0152 Original miners in Rawhide, Nevada. Photograph by H.E. Johnson 1908.
0153    A postcard of a stage crossing in the desert going to Goldfield, Nevada July 3, 1906.
0154 A mine under construction Ca. early 1900s.
0155 A portrait of Leem and Johana Compton Ca. early 1900s. Photograph taken by Carl Schuman Photos.
0156 A postcard of a miner inside of a mine.    A handwritten inscription on the front reads, A cash big hit my friend, and the back
        reads, Walt in Baby Flo. Ca. early 1900s.
0157 A postcard of the Florence Mine in Goldfield, Nevada Ca. early 1900s.
0158 A postcard of the New Florence Mill in Goldfield, Nevada November 10, 1909.
0159 Construction of the Goldfield Consolidated Mining Company under construction in Goldfield, Nevada. The mining company was formed
        in 1907 and the mill was constructed late in the year and began processing ore in early 1908.The company was formed by George
        Nixon and George Wingfield. The mill continued running until 1918 when the company ceased operation. The Tonopah and Goldfield railroad engine converted into a crane to aid construction.    Ca. 1907-1908
0160 Construction of the Goldfield Consolidated Mining Company under construction in Goldfield, Nevada. The mining company was formed
        in 1907 and the mill was constructed late in the year and began processing ore in early 1908.The company was formed by George
        Nixon and George Wingfield. The mill continued running until 1918 when the company ceased operation. The Tonopah and Goldfield railroad engine converted into a crane to aid construction.    Ca. 1907-1908
0161 Construction of the Goldfield Consolidated Mining Company under construction in Goldfield, Nevada. The mining company was formed
        in 1907 and the mill was constructed late in the year and began processing ore in early 1908.The company was formed by George
        Nixon and George Wingfield. The mill continued running until 1918 when the company ceased operation. The Tonopah and Goldfield railroad engine converted into a crane to aid construction.    Ca. 1907-1908
0162 Construction of the Goldfield Consolidated Mining Company under construction in Goldfield, Nevada. The mining company was formed
        in 1907 and the mill was constructed late in the year and began processing ore in early 1908.The company was formed by George
        Nixon and George Wingfield. The mill continued running until 1918 when the company ceased operation. The Tonopah and Goldfield railroad engine converted into a crane to aid construction.    Ca. 1907-1908
0163 Construction of the Goldfield Consolidated Mining Company under construction in Goldfield, Nevada. The mining company was formed
        in 1907 and the mill was constructed late in the year and began processing ore in early 1908.The company was formed by George
        Nixon and George Wingfield. The mill continued running until 1918 when the company ceased operation. The Tonopah and Goldfield railroad engine converted into a crane to aid construction.    Ca. 1907-1908
0164 The Goldfield Consolidated Mining Company in Goldfield, Nevada Ca. 1908
0165 This photograph titled, First Store, Gold Reef was taken on October 11, 1908 by Tonopah, Nevada photographer E.W. Smith.
        Several men are standing outside of the building that has several signs advertising a restaurant, saloon and groceries.
0166 In the lower left, Belle Butler, the wife of Jim Butler posed near the entrance of a mine near Tonopah, Nevada. The photograph
        was taken at the site where Jim Butler first discovered gold. In the middle of the photograph Tasker Odddies wife, Daisy Randal
        Mackeigan, posed. Ca. 1901.
0167 Camp Butler in Tonopah, Nevada January 1901. The image shows several tent-buildings, wooden structures, freight teams, and a few
        inhabitants.
0168 The elementary schoolhouse in Tonopah, Nevada. Miss Clarice Bateman was the school teacher from 1907-1909. She is standing to
        the right. Ca. 1909.
0169 The elementary schoolhouse in Tonopah, Nevada. Miss Clarice Bateman was the school teacher from 1907-1909. She is sitting in the
        middle of the back row. Ca. 1907.
0170 The elementary schoolhouse in Tonopah, Nevada. Miss Clarice Bateman was the school teacher from 1907-1909. She is standing to
        the left. Ca. 1908.