Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0009
Wieking, Henry

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


0009
HENRY WIEKING COLLECTION

Old Fort Area
0001 The old fort in Las Vegas, Nevada during reconstruction. Left to right: Henry Wiekings mother, Mrs. G.G. Walters, and Henry
        Wieking October 1929.
0002 The old fort in Las Vegas, Nevada during reconstruction. Left to right: Henry Wiekings mother, Mrs. G.G. Walters, and Henry    
        Wieking October 1929.
0003 A postcard of a U.S. treating plant, part of the Boulder Dam project in Las Vegas, Nevada. This was the old fort after we had
        rebuilt it. Completed, probably, in the middle of the 1930. Larger picture shows addition which we built on to be used as a
        curing room for concrete samples Ca. early 1930s.
0004 An addition to the old fort in Las Vegas, Nevada. The addition on the right was probably added about the end of 1930 or early
        1931. It served primarily as a curing room. There were several inches of sand on the floor in which concrete cylinders were
        buried under different temperatures for periods of 28 days or so. My [Henry Wieking] ford is in the foreground. Mr. O.G.
        Patchscar in rear where he lived. Cement mixer in front which we used exclusively to mix all of our test batches
        Ca. early 1930s.
0005 The backside to one of the additions to the old fort in Las Vegas, Nevada. From left to right: Henry Wieking, ?, Henry Wiekings
         mother, and Mrs. Christie July 1932.
0006 Pictured from left to right: Henry Wieking, Mrs. G.G. Walters, and presumably Bob Feldman outside of the old fort in Las Vegas,
        Nevada Ca. October 1929.

Concrete and gravel testing-related activities
0007 A reclamation truck near Arden in Nevada Ca. early 1930s.
0008 A man shoveling gravel at the gravel pit in Nevada Ca. early 1930s.
0009 Mr. G.G. Walter standing outside of the reclamation truck in Nevada Ca. 1929.

Hoover Dam
0010 Looking thru the Hemenway Wash toward the Colorado River from the new highway for the Hoover Dam site Ca. 1929.
0011 The first tent camp set up by the Bureau of Reclamation in Boulder City before the city was built Ca. 1931.
0012 A latter system built up the sides of the canyon for workers to travel to their worksites during the construction of the Hoover
        Dam Ca. early 1930s.
0013 Henry Wieking standing in front of the Pacific Coast Borax wagons that were hauled by a 20 mule team into Las Vegas, Nevada from
        Death Valley, California Ca. 1929.
0014 A barn in the back of Englers camp in Nevada January 1930.
0015 An oil rig south of Las Vegas, Nevada Ca. 1929.

THE FOLLOWING PHOTOGRAPHS ARE HOUSED IN THE HENRY WEIKING PHOTO ALBUM

Miscellaneous photographs in Nevada
0016 Concrete mixing plant
0017 Englers Camp Nevada n.d.
0018 Snow at the Old Ranch in Las Vegas, Nevada 1929.
0019 A burro in the desert in Las Vegas, Nevada 1930.
0020 The six companies trucks lined up near the Hoover Dam 1932.
0021 Henry Wiekings dog at Old Town, Nevada 1932.
0022 Mt. Charleston Ca. early 1930s.
0023 Black Canyon and the Colorado River. There is a catwalk along the cliff on the right for Hoover Dam workers
                Ca. early 1930s.
0024 Several workers in a tunnel 187 feet under the Hoover Dam Ca. early 1930s.
0025 A view of the desert in Nevada Ca. early 1930s.
0026 A view of the desert near Arden, Nevada Ca. early 1930s.
0027 People in Murl Emerys boat being ferried across the Colorado River near Black Canyon Ca. early late 1920s/early 1930s.
0028 A photograph of Black Canyon and Colorado River with promotional writing on it for Murl Emery: the Original Boulder
                 Boatman Ca. early late 1920s/early 1930s.
0029 The Colorado River Ca. early late 1920s/early 1930s.
0030 People unloading from Schwarts ferry. Las Vegas Kingman ferry, Colorado River Ca. early late 1920s/early 1930s.
0031 Three women near Mount Charleston November 3, 1929.
0032 Two women near Mount Charleston November 3, 1929.
0033 A group of people posing next to a Yucca plant near Barstow, California November 1, 1929.
0034 Snow in Las Vegas, Nevada January 1930.
0035 Snow on a barn at Englers Camp in Nevada January 1930.
0036 Henry Wieking (middle) with his mother, Christine, and two unidentified people Ca. early 1930s.
0037 Christine (Henry Wiekings mother) and an unidentified women Ca. early 1930s.
0038 A snow scene in the desert in Las Vegas, Nevada January 1930.
0039 A view of the upper level of Black Canyon Ca. early 1930s.
0040 The Old Fort Caulville (now submerged) next to the Colorado River 1931.
0041 Old Fort Caulville, next to the Colorado River 1931.
0042 Carl at Fort Caulville next to the Colorado River, 1931.
0043 Sandstone formations at the Las Vegas Wash 1930.
0044 A windlass at Mount Charleston 1931.
0045 Carl at Fort Caulville next to the Colorado River, 1931.
0046 Mount Charleston 1931.
0047 Mount Charleston 1931.
0048 Carl by a cabin at Mount Charleston 1931.
0049 The laboratory crew at the Hoover Dam 1932.
0050 The first train in Railroad pass for the Hoover Dam Project Ca. early 1930s.
0051 Henry Wiekings garage in Boulder City, Nevada 1932.
0052 Burros in Boulder City, Nevada 1932.
0053 A desert scene near Arden, Nevada Ca. early 1930s.
0054 A tunnel with men working on it at the Hoover Dam during construction Ca. early 1930s.
0055 The face of the Coffer Dam at the Hoover Dam during construction
Ca. early 1930s.
0056 Carl and Christine (Henry Wiekings mother) on their way to Sweden.
Ca. early 1930s.
0057 A ladder going up Black Canyon at the Hoover Dam with workers stringing cable Ca. early 1930s.
0058 Mr. Walter working at the Hoover Dam construction site Ca. early 1930s.
0059 A burro train at the Hoover Dam site 1931.
0060 Observation Point Overlook at the Hoover Dam Site Ca. early 1930s.
0061 The gravel screening plant at the Hoover Dam site 1932.
0062 A concrete mixing plant at the Hoover Dam site Ca. early 1930s.
0063 A photograph of a poem, Mronin On the Desert
0064 The Colorado River. The catwalk across the Colorado River is pictured Ca. early 1930s.
0065 An automobile ferry on the Colorado River unloading 1932.
0066 The upper entrance to the diversion tunnel at the Hoover Dam 1932.
0067 High scalers at work on the Hoover Dam 1932.
0068 A high line cable at the Hoover Dam Ca. early 1930s.
0069 A photograph of a poem, Nevada.
0070 Construction at the Hoover Dam. On the left, the gate structure to the 4 diversion tunnels 165 ft. high. On the right
                the upper portal to #3 note: bulkhead in foreground will be blown out after the completion of the coffer dam allowing
                water to pass through Ca. early 1930s.
0071 The coffer dam at the Hoover Dam 1932.
0072 Inside of a diversion tunnel at the Hoover Dam. Looking down a completed tunnel. Just before the water was diverted.
Sunday November 13, 1932.
0073 A view showing a section of the sheet piling in the upper coffer dam at the Hoover Dam Ca. early 1930s.
0074 A truck driving through the diversion tunnel #4-a hold 50 feet in diameter surrounded by three feet of concrete at the
                Hoover Dam Ca. early 1930s.
0075 Henry Wieking posing next to a reclamation truck near the Hoover Dam Ca. early 1930s.
0076 A truck hauling a concrete bucket in the 50 foot diameter tunnel at the Hoover Dam Ca. early 1930s.
0077 A colored postcard of the Grand Canyon Bridge in Arizona.
0078 A catwalk across the Colorado River Ca. early 1930s.
0079 The Colorado River from an outlook point Ca. early 1930s.
0080 The Colorado River from an outlook point Ca. early 1930s.