You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0189
United States Park Service

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Nevada

0001 Map of Nevada from Collier's Atlas and Gazetteer, 1936. 12/2 (with neg.)

Las Vegas

0002 Navy planes at Las Vegas Nevada airport after flying. 8/35 (neg. only)

Boulder City

0003    Main entrance to Boulder City after rocks and refuse have been cleared.
1/36. (neg. only)

0004    Main entrance to Boulder City showing rocks and refuse to be cleared.
1/36. (negative only)

0005    Project 709, main entrance to Boulder City after rocks and refuse have been
Cleared up. 1/36. (neg. only)

0006    Main entrance to Boulder City showing rocks and refuse to be cleared. 1/36
(neg. only)

0007    Looking northward toward Boulder City. 10/35. (neg. only)

0008    Forma Six Companies Hospital being remodeled for an administration building
For B.D.R.A. Sept. 1937 (with neg.)

0009    General view of administration building at Boulder Dam Recreation Area. 3/31/38 (with neg.)

0010    Museum and Administration Building. 1/10/38. (with neg.)

0011    First floor plan museum. 2/38. (with neg.)

0012    Museum, basement floor plan. 2/11/38. (with neg.)

0013    Foot of stairway in basement museum room. Camera facing approximately east 1/10/38 (with neg.)

0014    Basement museum room, showing foot of stairway and basement door in southwest wall of room. 1/10/38 (with neg.)

0015    Basement museum room, looking north, showing north corner of room. 1/10/38 (with neg.)

0016    Center of basement museum room, looking southwest, showing space underneath Stairs which may be used for diorama installation. 1/10/38 (with neg.)

0017    East corner, basement museum room. 1/10/38 (with neg.)
0018    First floor museum room; looking north. Door at right leads to administrative Offices. Door at right to outside. 1/10/38 (with neg.)
0019    National Park Service headquarters. Boulder City. (with neg.)
0020    National Park Service Headquarters. Boulder City. (with neg.)
0021    Building, Camp Williston. (with neg.)
0022    Another building, Camp Williston. (with neg.)
0023    Another building, Camp Williston. (with neg.)
0024    Another building, Camp Williston. (with neg.)



0189    U.S. PARK SERVICE COLLECTION



Boulder City (cont.)

0025    Another building, Camp Williston. (with neg.)
0026    Building, Camp Williston (National Park Service Superintendent's office)(with neg.)
0027    Another building, Camp Williston. (with neg.)
0028    Another building, Camp Williston. (with neg.)
0029    Another building, Camp Williston. (with neg.)
0030    Another building, Camp Williston. (with neg.)
0031    Another building, Camp Williston. (with neg.)
0032    Another building, Camp Williston. (with neg.)
0033    New hangar of Grand Canyon, Boulder Dam Tours, Sept. 1937. (with neg.)
0034    View of ECW and NPS garage at Boulder City. 9/28/36 (neg. only)
0035    General view of ECW and NPS utility area at Boulder City, looking northerly. 9/21/36 (neg. only)
0036    Buildings used for CCC barracks and NPS offices at Boulder City. 9/21/36 (neg. only)
0037    Six Companies Hospital, which Mr. Burlew suggested might be used as an NPS Administration building. 9/29/36 (neg. only)
0038    Rear view of ECW and NPS truck and equipment sheds at Boulder City. 9/28/36 (neg. only)
0039    View of oil house in ECW and NPS utility area at Boulder City. 9/28/36 (neg. only)
0040    View of ECW and NPS warehouse at Boulder City. 9/28/36 (neg. only)
0041    Prow of boat received from Mare Island at Boulder Dam, showing bad cracks. 6/29/36 (neg. only)
0042    Project 112, laying foundation for garage, one of the first groups of facilitating Buildings. 1/36 (neg. only)
0043    Same as above, slightly different view.
0044    Seventeen Navy planes landed at the airport, B.D.R.A. Jan. 22, 1938. (with neg.)
0045    More distant view of U.S. Navy planes which landed at the National Park Service. Jan. 1938 (with neg.)
0046    Outhouse, front view. (with neg.)
0047    Same outhouse as #46, back view. (with neg.)
0048    Picnic ramada overlooking Lake Mead.
0048a    Boulder Beach Ranger Station. (neg. only)
0049    Boulder Beach campground. (with neg.)
0050    Boulder Beach campground, different view. (with neg.)
0051    Boulder Beach campground, different view. (with neg.)
0052    Caterpillar operation showing terrain. Boulder Dam, Valley of Fire. Nov. 1935. (neg. only)



0189    U.S. PARK SERVICE COLLECTION



Boulder City (cont.)

0053    Compressor and jack hammer crew starting deep cut on roadway above contour Boulder Lake, Boulder Dam, Valley of Fire State Park. Nov. 1935 (neg only)
0054    Blast on road above contour. Boulder Lake, Boulder Dam. Valley of Fire. Nov. 1935. (neg. only)
0055    Caterpillar and hydraulic scraper constructing road above contour, Boulder Lake. Nov. 1935. (neg. only)
0056    Caterpillar and bulldozer constructing road above contour. Boulder Lake. Nov. 1935. (neg. only)
0057    Completed bridge. August 1935. (neg. only)
0058    Bridge construction over irrigation ditch. August 1935. (neg. only)
0059    Jackhammer crew. August 1935. (neg. only)
0060    Lay concrete culvert, Boulder Dam. Rim of lake highway. August 1935. (neg. only)
0061    Gravel crews loading, while caterpillar backs up new material. August 1935. (neg. only)
0062    Concrete apron at dip. August 1935. (neg. only)
0063    Enrollee operator on caterpillar. August 1935. (neg. only)
0064    Type of headwall for culverts used on road above contour. Boulder Lake. Nov. 1935. (neg. only)
0065    Terrain through which road is being constructed above Boulder Lake, Nov. 1935. (neg. only)



Colorado River-Hoover Dam

0066    Director Robert Fechner (center) of the Civilian Conservation Corps; Assistant Director Wirth (right) of the National Park Service, and engineer Irving Harris of the Bureau of Reclamation on trip through Boulder Dam and powerhouse. (with neg.)
0067    Boulder Dam. 9/9/40 (with neg.)
0068    View of tremendous proportions of Boulder Lake (for details see print). 12/4/39. (with neg.)-(photo from book or magazine)
0069    View of Boulder Dam and Lake Mead. (Negative with Union Pacific Railroad). 12/7/39. (with neg.)
0070    View showing construction work on powerhouse (for more details see print). 12/7/39. Photo from a book or a magazine. (with neg.)
0071    panorama of Boulder Dam and lower part of Lake Mead, 12/4/39. (with neg.)
0072    Views of Boulder Dam. (details are written on the print). 12/4/39 (with neg.)
0073    View of Boulder Dam from the Arizona side (for details see print), 12/7/39. (with neg.)
0074    Dam and powerhouse construction from book: Boulder Dam of the Great Southwest by Ralph B. Simmons…1936. (1/4/40) (with neg.)



0189    U.S. PARK SERVICE COLLECTION



Colorado River-Hoover Dam (cont.)

0075    Upper face of Hoover Dam from the Arizona side looking across to Nevada. (Boulder Dam area), Jan. 1936. (with neg.)
0076    A motor boat turning at the upper face of the unfilled reservoir from the Arizona side. Boulder Dam Area, Jan. 1936.
0077    Lower face of the dam (Boulder) from Nevada, looking toward Arizona, Jan. 1936. (with neg.)
0078    Diagram of Boulder Dam in construction from book: Boulder Dam of the Great Southwest, by Ralph B. Simmons…1936. (1/4/40) (with neg.)
0079    Approach to Boulder Dam. (neg. only)
0080    Upstream face of the dam, taken from the air, looking towards the Arizona side. Note spillways and highway construction. 8/9/36 (neg. only)
0081    Upstream face of the dam taken from the air, looking towards the Nevada side. 8/9/36. (neg. only)
0082    Downstream face of the dam, taken from the air, looking towards the Arizona side. Note high tension switching gear in foreground, and spill system on Arizona side, 8/9/36. (neg. only)
0083    Looking down on dam from the air, almost directly above Arizona spillway, looking towards Nevada side, 8/9/36. (neg. only)
0084    Spillway tunnel on Arizona side, Boulder Dam, 6/29/36. (neg. only)
0085    Downstream face of Boulder Dam, taken from Nevada side, 6/29/36 (neg. only)
0086    Same
0087    Downstream face of Boulder Dam, taken from Nevada side, 6.29.36. (neg. only)
0088    Site of spillway in dike at Farmington Bay, 7/1/36. (neg. only)
0089    Forming steel for spillway in dike at Farmington Bay, 7/1/36. (neg. only)
0089a    Enrollees getting gravel for road construction and maintenance required to haul dike material to project, 7/14/36. (neg. only)
0089b    Stripping face of gravel pit and screening gravel for concrete for spillways on Farmington Bay Dikes. (neg. only)
0089c    Setting form work and reinforcing steel for spillway in dike on Farmington Bay. Levee project, 7/14/36. (neg. only)
0090    Looking northerly across spillway on dike at Farmington Bay, 7/1/36. (neg. only)
0091    Spillway on Arizona side of Boulder Dam, 6/29/36. (neg. only)
0092    Intake tower on Arizona side of Boulder Dam. Taken from launch on Lake Mead. 8/8/36. (neg. only)
0093    Intake tower on Arizona side of Boulder Dam. Taken from launch on Lake Mead. Another view of the same tower. 8/8/36. (neg. only)
0094    Intake tower on Arizona side of Boulder Dam. Taken from launch on Lake Mead. Another view of the same tower. Note airplane above tower, 8/8/36. (neg. only)
0095    Both intake tower on Arizona side of Boulder Dam, 8/8/36. (neg. only)
0096    Upstream face of Boulder Dam. Taken from launch, 8/8/36. (neg. only)



0189    U.S. PARK SERVICE COLLECTION



Colorado River-Hoover Dam (cont.)

0097    Upstream face of Boulder Dam, taken from launch. A little further from dam. 8/8/36. (neg. only)
0098    Upstream face of Boulder Dam. Black Canyon in foreground, 8/8/36. (neg. only)
0099    Boulder Dam from the air, looking at downstream side of the dam towards the Nevada side, from the Arizona side. 8/9/36. (neg. only)



Colorado River, Lake Mead

0100    Wildlife survey (Biological Survey, Dept. of Agriculture) marker forbidding shooting in this area. Located on road to beach. 9/29/36. (neg. only)
0101    Looking south toward Colorado River from flat mesa on north side. 10/35. (neg. on H.)
0102    Looking toward Bitter Wash and Boulder Wash, NE. 10/35 (neg. only)
0103    Looking toward Bitter Wash and Boulder Wash, NE…another view. 10/35 (neg. only)
0104    Boat Island on Boulder Lake. 10/35 (neg. only)
0105    View west of country around Boulder Lake near Boat Island. 10/35 (neg. only)
0106    Parking space overlooking Hemenway Wash. Boulder Lake area. 1/36 (neg. only)
0107    Looking up Hemenway Wash from Lake Mead. 10/35 (neg. only)
0108    Looking northwest across Hemenway Wash from highway in bottom of wash. 10/35 (neg. only)
0109    Looking northwest across Hemenway Wash from highway (another view). 10/35. (neg. only(
0110    Panorama north across Hemenway Wash from Observation Point. 10/35 (neg. only)
0111    Panorama, north across Hemenway Wash from Observation Point. 10/35 (neg. only)
0112    North from Nelson Road toward Muddy Mountains. 1/36 (neg. only)
0113    Observation Point. 10/35 (neg. only)
0114    Stone wall built by CCC enrollees at Observation Point. Boulder Dam Recreation Area. Memorial to Dr. Mead in right center. 12/11/36. (with neg.)
0115    Island built by CCC enrollees in parking area at Observation Point. Boulder Dam Recreation Area. 12/11/36 (with neg.)
0116    Panorama from Lookout Point south of Boulder City. 10/35 (neg. only)
0117    Same. (neg. only)
0118    Panorama from Lookout Point south of Boulder City. 10/35 (neg. only)
0119    Looking southwest from Lookout Point on edge of Colorado River Canyon. 10/35 (neg. only)



0189    U.S. PARK SERVICE COLLECTION



Colorado River, Lake Mead (cont.)

0120    View south on lake to one of interesting formations near Temple. 10/35 (neg. only)
0121    The Temple near Lake Mead. 5/11/38 (w/neg.)
0122    View east on Boulder Lake to the Temple. Another view. 10/35 (w/neg.)
0123    Boulder Dam area, the Temple Boulder Lake. 11/35 (w/neg.) Another view.
0124    The Temple, from Boulder Lake. 1/36 (neg. only)
0125    The Temple---on boat trips to Pierce's Ferry. 9/37 (w/neg.)
0126    Panorama looking west along Virgin Arm of Boulder Lake. 10/35 (neg. only)
0127    Same as above…another view.
0128    Panorama looking north up Virgin Arm of Boulder Lake. 10/35 (neg. only)
0129    Same as above.
0130    Looking east to Virgin Mountains. 10/35 (neg. only)
0131    Types of peculiar formations found along Virgin arm. 10/35 (neg. only)
0132    Types of formation along west shore along Virgin arm. 10/35 (neg. only)
0133    Looking north up Virgin Arm. 10/35 (neg. only)
0134    North up Virgin arm to head of Lake Mead. 10/35 (neg. only)
0135    Looking east to Virgin Mountains from boat on Virgin Arm. 10/35 (neg. only)
0136    Looking north up Virgin arm of Boulder Lake, at junction with main body. 10/35 (neg. only)
0137    Virgin arm of Boulder Lake. 1/36 (neg. only)
0138    Erosion on rocky ridge east of Virgin arm. 1/36 (neg. only)
0139    View of lake Mead from air. 8/9/36. (neg. only)
0140    Beach development from the air. Babcock and Wilcox Plant in foreground. 8/9/36 (neg. only)
0141    View of beach development taken from observation point near Babcock and Wilcox Plant at Boulder Dam. 6/29/36 (neg. only)
0142    Ultimate high water marker at Lake Mead. 6/29/36 (neg. only)
0143    Beach development on shore of Lake Mead. 6/29/36 (neg. only)
0144    Looking across lower launch. 8/8/36. (neg. only)
0145    Looking up Black Canyon from launch on Lake Mead, near Boulder Dam. 8/8/36. (neg. only)
0146    Project 402, showing logs, lumber, and debris at high water line, to be cleared and burned. 1/36 (neg. only)
0147    Project 402, showing how logs and refuse gathered at high water line. 1/36. (neg. only)
0148    Project 402, shore party of enrollees landing to gather logs and refuse on high water line. Boulder Lake, 1/36. (neg. only)
0149    Man and truck overlooking Lake Mead.
0150    Boulder Lake. 10/35. (neg. only)
0151    Boulder Lake. 10/35. (neg. only)
0152    Boulder Lake. 10/35. (neg. only)


0189    U.S. PARK SERVICE COLLECTION



Colorado River, Lake Mead (cont.)

0153    Boulder Lake. 10/35. (neg. only)
0154    Looking west showing Boulder Lake, west of Boulder Canyon, 10/35. (neg. only)
0155    View west on Boulder Lake showing type of country west of Boulder Canyon. 10/35 (neg. only)
0156    Boulder Canyon, looking west, 10/35. (neg. only)
0157    Looking east on Boulder Lake east of Boulder Canyon 10/35. (neg. only)
0158    Boulder Lake east of Boulder Canyon. 10/35 (neg. only)
0159    Looking east on Boulder Lake toward Boulder Canyon. 10/35. (Neg. Only)
0160    The launch Paiute in which survey of region was made. 10/35 (neg. only)
0161    Launch Paiute owned by Murl Emery Inc. Boulder Lake 10/35 (neg. only)
0162    On Boulder Lake, Mr. Edwards and Mr. Knight. 10/35. (neg. only)
0163    Looking east entering Boulder Canyon, 10/35. (neg. only)
0164    Boulder Canyon, looking east, 10/35. (neg. only)
0165    Boulder Canyon, looking east, 10/35. (neg. only)
0166    Boulder Canyon, looking east, 10/35. (neg. only)
0167    Outlet of Boulder Canyon into lower lake, taken from launch. View looking upstream. 8/8/36. (neg. only)
0168    Inlet to Boulder Cany9on from Lake Mead, looking upstream 8/8/36. (neg. only)
0169    Same as above. Further upstream. (neg. only)
0170    Looking up Boulder Canyon, from launch, about half way through canyon. 8/8/36. (neg. only)
0171    Another view up Boulder Canyon, further down stream. 8/8/36. (neg. only)
0172    View in Boulder Canyon, 8/8/36. (neg. only)
0173    Looking westerly from upper end of lake. View just before entering Boulder Canyon, 8/8/36. (neg. only)



Colorado River, Lake Mead, Boulder Canyon

0174    Boulder Canyon, looking downstream, 11/35 (with neg.)
0175    Boulder Canyon, looking upstream, 11/35 (e/neg.)
0176    Motor boats passing in Black Canyon, Boulder Dam area, 1/36 (w/neg.)
0177    Black Canyon, just above the dam, Fortification Hill in the distance and to the right Boulder Dam area. 1/36 (w/neg.)
0178    Sparse vegetation on the rocky cliffs above a narrow side canyon that soon will be filled. 1/36 (w/neg.)
0179    Wild burros have made numerous trails across the sparsely covered hills s they come for water; Boulder Dam area, 1/36. (with neg.)
0180    Upper Boulder reservoir, Boulder Dam area.1/36. (with neg.)
0181    Travertine curtain, Boulder Lake, 11/35, (w/neg.)
0182    Travertine curtain, Boulder Lake, 11/35, (w/neg.); Another scene.
0183    Rock formations, Boulder Lake, upper region. 11/35 (neg. only)



0189    U.S. PARK SERVICE COLLECTION



Colorado River, Lake Mead, Boulder Canyon (cont.)

0184    Eroded rock. Boulder Dam area, 1/36. (with neg.)
0185    Reflections on canyon wall, 1/36. (with neg.)
0186    Showing rugged walls of canyon of Colorado River, 10/35. (neg. only)
0187    At mouth of one side of canyon, 10/35 (neg. only)
0188    Looking up east into Grand Canyon, 10/35 (neg. only)
0189    Wind erosion, Boulder Dam area, 1/36 w/neg.)
0190    At head of one side of canyon showing rock formation. 10/35 (neg. only)
0191    Same as above. Another view (neg. only).
0192    A side canyon soon to be flooded. Boulder Dam. 1/36. (w/neg.)
0193    Same as above. Another view. 10/35 (neg. only).


Colorado River, Lake Mead, Recreation

0194    After wrecking and before burning in area to be submerged. 1/35 (neg. only)
0195    Cutting cottonwood trees in area to be submerged. 1/35 (neg. only)
0196    Brush and refuse to be cleaned up for bottom of Boulder Dam Lake. 1/35 (neg. only)
0197    Bottom of proposed Boulder Dam Lake before clean-up. 1/35 (neg. only)
0198    Boat dock, Lake Mead. (neg. only)
0199    Lake Mead boat party. (neg. only)
0200    Barge built during the 6th and 7th periods for use at Lake Mead. 9/20/36 (neg. only)
0201    Director and Mrs. Conrad L. Wirth in an informal pose on launch on Lake Mead. 8/8/36 (neg. only)
0202    Another informal view of Assistant Director and Mrs. Conrad L. Wirth. 8/8/36. (neg. only)
0203    Informal view of Assistant Director Conrad L. Wirth on launch in Boulder Canyon. Mrs. H.J. Cremer in left foreground. 8/8/36 (neg. Only)
0204    View of upper end of Boulder Canyon at intake from Lake Mead. Mrs. Bossemeyer, Mrs. Wirth and Mrs. Cremer in foreground. 8/8/36 (neg. only)
0205    Launch party on Boulder Dam trip. Left to right-Mrs. Bossemeyer, Mrs. Cremer, Mr. Wirth, Mr. Cremer. 8/8/36 (neg. only)
0206    Lake Mead. Capt. M.V. Hualapai (neg.only)
0207    Hemenway Wash, April 1937.
0208    Bathhouses built by CCC enrollees for use at Lake Mead. Built during 7th period. 9/20/36 (neg. only)
0209    Picnic pavilion built by CCC enrollees during 7th period for beach at Lake Mead. 9/20/36 (neg. only)
0210    Beach development at Lake Mead, showing picnic pavilions, bathhouses and the beach itself. (9/21/36) (neg. only)



0189    U.S. PARK SERVICE COLLECTION



Colorado River, Lake Mead, Recreation (cont.)

0211     Facilities for visitors at Hemenway Wash. Bathers on alps swimming float. Sept. 1937. (w/neg.)
0212     During October the Grand Canyon Airlines provided regular scenic air service off the surface of lake Mead, in the plane which was originally used by the noted explorer, the late Martin Johnson, on his big game photographing trips in South Africa. (with neg.)
0213    "The Cuba" seaplane of Richard Archbold, Research Assoc. American Museum of Natl. History, N.Y. on Lake Mead. June 18, 1937. First seaplane landing. Later purchased by Russian government. (with neg.)
0214    Forty five foot motor launch transferred from Coast Guard Service, Hawaii to B.O.R.A. (with neg.) 1/1938.
0215    The "Lake" racing sailboat just before launching on the waters of Lake Mead. This craft is owned by Messrs. James L. Breese, President of Oil Devices Co. and Jasper Morgan, boat designer. (with neg.)
0216    View of the "Lake", the trip eight-meter racing boat recently launched on Lake Mead by its owners, Messrs. Breese of Chicago and Santa Fe, New Mexico, and Jasper Morgan, boat designer. The owners are enthusiastic over possibilities of numbers of similar sailing craft being launched on Lake Mead in the future. Photo by Bureau of Rec. 1/38 (with neg.)
0217    View of National Park Service 45' cruiser recently transferred from the Coast Guard Service in Hawaii. After repairs and repainting, the craft was launched on lake Mead. Photo by Bureau of Reclamation-1/37.
0218    Buzz Holmstrum, filling station operator of Coquille, Oregon who arrived at Hemenway Wash boat landing on Thanksgiving Day after conquering 1100 miles of the Colorado River and Lake Mead alone in his row boat. November 1937. (w/neg.)
0219    Lake Mead-fishing (neg. only).
0220    Fishing-boating. June 1938 (with neg.). Another view as 0219.
0221    Boat docks, landing area. Lake Mead, 9/9/40.
0222    Boat races Lake Mead. 1950
0223    Boat races, Lake Mead. 1950 (w/neg.)
0224    Boat races, Lake Mead, 1950. (w/neg.)
0225    Boat races, lake Mead. 1950 (w/neg.)
0226    Same as above.
0227    Boat races, Lake Mead. 1950 (w/neg.)



0189    U.S. PARK SERVICE COLLECTION



Gregg's Ferry

0228    Trees jutting through Boulder Lake at Gregg's Ferry. 1/36 (neg. only)
0229    Observation Point above Gregg's Ferry looking north, another view. 10/35 (neg. only)
0230    Observation Point above Gregg's Ferry looking north. 10/35 (neg. only)
0231    Joshua forest, south of Gregg's Ferry, Boulder Lake area. 1/36 (neg. only)
0232    Looking north across Colorado River to Gregg's Ferry 10/35 (neg. only)



Overton, Nevada

0233    Building at Overton Beach (neg. only)
0234    Same as above.
0235    Building at Overton Beach (neg. only)
0236    Tavern at Overton Beach (neg. only)
0237    Building at Overton Beach (neg. only)
0238    Back of building at Overton Beach (neg. only)
0239    Work area with men at work at Overton Beach (neg. only)
0240    Dock at Overton Beach (neg. only)
0241    Cabins at Overton Beach (neg. only)
0242    Buena Vista campground (neg. only)
0243    Buena Vista campground, Valley of Fire State Park. Construction almost finished. Looking northward, Overton, NV 3/36. Harrington photo (neg. only)
0244    Ramada finished, Project #28E, Buena Vista Campground. Boulder Dam Park, SP-1, Overton, NV May 2, 1935 (neg. only)
0245    Double stone cabin finished project #28B, Buena Vista campground. Boulder Dam Park, SP-1, Overton, NV., May 2, 1935. (neg. only)
0246    Stone table finished project #28D. Buena Vista campgrounds. Boulder Dam Park SP-1. Overton, NV., May 2, 1935. (neg. only)
0247    Latrine, finished project #24. Buena Vista campground, Boulder Dam Park, SP-1, Overton, NV. May 2, 1936, (neg. only)
0248    Double stone grate finished project #28C. Buena Vista campground, Boulder Dam Park, SP-1 Overton, May 2, 1935. Harrington photo. (neg. only)
0249    Open fire pit, Buena Vista campground, Overton, 5/35. (neg. only)
0250    Part view of Buena Vista campground. Finished project, Boulder Dam Park, SP-1, Overton, Nevada, May 2, 1935 (neg. only)
0251    Enrollees constructing and developing public campgrounds at high camp site. State Park Project #1, Overton, NV 1934, (with neg.)



0189    U.S. PARK SERVICE COLLECTION



Overton, Lost City, Nevada

0252     Burial 72, Lost City. For use in reconstructing. Museum display. Photo by L. Schellbach, 1925. (neg. only)
0253     Same as above. Another view (neg. only)
0254     Same as above. Another view (neg. only)
0255     Same as above. Another view (neg. only)
0256     Same as above. Another view (neg. only)
0257     Same as above. Another view (neg. only)
0258     Same as above. Another view (neg. only)
0259     Same as above. Another view (neg. only)
0260     Same as above. Another view (neg. only)
0261     Same as above. Another view (neg. only)
0262     Same as above. Another view (neg. only)
0263     Same as above. Another view (neg. only)
0264     Same as above. Another view (neg. only)
0265     Dice game scene 1935. Drawing (with neg.).
0266     Officers, 974th Co. CCC-SP-1 Camp Overton, 3/34. (neg. only)
0267     Officers, CCC Co. 974. (Lost City Detail) Camp SP-1, Overton, NV 1934, left to right-Commander Waterhouse, Lt. Cowan, Lt. Wheeler, Capt. Harford, (neg. only)
0268    Baseball team without uniforms, CCC Co. 974 (Lost City Detail.) 1934, Harrington photo (neg. only)
0269    Project 53, burials, Lost City (double exposure) 2/35 (neg. only)
0270    Burials, Lost City 2/35 (neg. only)
0271    Project 53, burials. 2/35 (neg. only)
0272    Skeleton of Pueblo Indian in place. Archaeological project at Overton. 2/36 (neg. only)
0273    Large corrugated cooking pot as uncovered. Archaeological project near Overton. 2/36 (neg. only)
0274    Small pot as uncovered in Lost City area. Near Overton. 2/36 (neg. only)
0275    James M. Oakin at work, Lost City headquarters. (A CCC boy as archaeological cataloger). 2/34 Harrington photo (w/neg.)
0276    Archaeological headquarters of the ECW SP-1 Overton, NV. 1934 (with neg.)
0277    Archaeological headquarters building, SP project, 1934, Overton, side view (w/neg.)
0278    Small temporary structure. Museum room at the "Lost City" reconstructed houses, to be abandoned and inundated Overton. 1934 (w/neg.)
0279    Restored pueblo used in pageant. 1934 (w/neg.)
0280    Making adobe brick for museum. Boulder Dam Park. 12/34 (neg. only)\
0281    CCC boys making adobe bricks. 3/35 (neg. only)
0282    CCC boys making adobe bricks. 3/35 (neg. only)
0283    Mixing double mud for restoration of Pueblo Indian huts. 5/35 (neg. only)



0189    U.S. PARK SERVICE COLLECTION



Overton, Lost City, Nevada (cont.)

0284    CCC enrollees making adobe bricks, sun baking, State Park #1. (ECW) Overton, NV 1934 (w/neg.)
0285    Adobe brick building under construction by CCC boys. 12/34
0286    Breaking ground for museum site. 12/34 (neg. only)
0287    Adobe brick building under construction by CCC boys. 12/34 (neg. only)
0288    Constructing museum at the State Park project in Boulder Dam State Park. Overton, NV 1934 (w/neg.)
0289    New museum and custodian's building #1. Overton, NV 1/26/35 (w/neg.)
0290    New museum and custodian's residence in course of construction at Overton State Park #1, Overton, NV 1/26/35 (e/neg.)
0291    CCC boys building the museum. 2/35 (neg. only)
0292    Museum construction at Overton. 2/35 (neg. only)
0293    Museum construction at Overton. 2/35 (neg. only)
0294    CCC boys of Co. 573 building Boulder Dam Park Museum. Overton, NV. Looking east, February 8, 1935.
0295    Construction of museum at Overton. 2/35 (neg. only)
0296    CCC boys building park museum. February 8, 1935. Harrington photo (neg. only)
0297    View of west side of Boulder Dam Park Museum nearly completed. Overton, NV. March 1935. Harrington photo (neg. only)
0298    Museum (west side) project 28A. Boulder Dam Park SP-1 Overton, NV, May 2, 1935. (neg. only)
0299    View of east side of Boulder Dam Park Museum nearly completed. Overton, NV, March 1935. Harrington photo (neg. only)
0300    Museum (east side) Project 28A, Boulder Dam Park SP-1 Overton, NV. May 2, 1935.
0301    Grading parking area. Museum site. 5/35 (neg. only)
0302    Highway exposure of Nevada State Park Museum at Overton, 7/9/36 (neg. only)
0303    Entrance to Nevada State Park at Overton. 7/9/36 (neg. only)
0304    View of entrance to the Nevada State Museum at Overton, built by enrollees, 9/19/36. (neg. only)
0305    Completed ramada, stoves and tables, museum in background. 8/35 (neg. only)
0306    Picnic grounds at Overton, built by CCC enrollees during 1935, 9/19/36 (neg. only)
0307    CCC boys building adobe structure, Overton museum, 5/35 (neg. only)
0308    Restored rooms on original foundation of ancient pueblo. Overton Museum. 5/35 (neg. only)
0309    Building an adobe house with willow sides. Overton museum. 5/35 (neg. only)
0310    Building an adobe house museum site, Boulder Dam Park. 5/35 (neg. only)
0311    Early Indian dwellings at museum at Overton. Reproduced from study of other Early Indian structures. 7/9/36 (neg. only)
0312    Replica of early Indian dwellings built by CCC enrollees at Overton. 9/18/36 (neg. only)



0189    U.S. PARK SERVICE COLLECTION



Nevada-Roger's Springs

0313    Start ramada, Roger's Springs. 8/35 (neg. only)
0314    Bird's eye view of site for Roger's Springs at campground. 8/35 (neg. only)
0315    Showing water flow from Roger's Springs. 8/35 (neg. only)
0316    Ramada, Roger's Springs campground. 11/35 (neg. only)
0317    Camp stoves and fireplaces. Roger's Springs campground. 11/35 (neg. only)
0318    Waste disposal pits. Roger's Springs campground.
0319    Type of latrine constructed at Roger's Springs campground. 11/35 (neg. only)
0320    Roger's Springs and Virgin Valley from cave. 1/36
0321    N.W. toward Valley of Fire from below Roger's Springs. 1/36 (neg. only)
0322    Ramada at Roger's Springs. 1/36 (neg. only)



Nevada-Searchlight

0323    Aerial ferry at Searchlight. 10/35 (neg. only)
0324    Aerial ferry east of Searchlight, Nevada over the Colorado River. 1/36 (neg. only)



Nevada-Valley of Fire

0325    Signs on Los Angeles-Salt Lake Highway No. 91 at entrance to Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0326    Entrance to Valley of Fire Nevada. 2/34 (neg. only)
0327    Completed road approaching entrance to Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0328    Bird's eye view of completed road, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0329    Completed road through dug way, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0330    Long shot, Valley of Fire road. 3/34 (neg. only)
0331    Blasting for road through Valley of Fire. 2/34 (neg. only)
0332    Making roads, Desert Sand country, Valley of Fire. 12/34 (neg. only)
0333    Road, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0334    Blasting on road, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0335    View of advance camp-Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0336    Noon mess at advance camp, Valley of Fire. 2/34 (neg. only)
0337    Completed advance camp, 19 miles out of Valley of Fire. 2/34 (neg. only)
0338    Start of advance camp, Valley of Fire. 2/34 (neg. only)
0339    Road crew, advance camp, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0340    Some of caterpillar crew off duty at advance camp, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0341    Caterpillar and scrapers at advance road work near Highway 91. 2/34 (neg. only)
0342    Jackhammer crew. Valley of Fire. 2/34 (neg. only)
0343    Crew returning from work through Valley of Fire road. 2/34 (neg. only)



0189    U.S. PARK SERVICE COLLECTION



Nevada-Valley of Fire

0344    Caterpillar equipment for Valley of Fire, 19 mile haul each way. 2/34. (neg. only)
0345    Stone tourist cabins, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0346    Close view of Ramada, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0347    Ramada and cabins at public campground, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0348    Close view of cabins, public campground, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0349    View from pt. Of rocks above public campgrounds, Valley of Fire. 2/34 (neg. only)
0350    Campground site overlooking Valley of Fire before clean-up. 1/35 (neg. only)
0351    Men on rock. Tourists or officials of some sort. Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0352    Valley of Fire, man on horseback. 3/34 (neg. only)
0353    Men and women on trail. Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0354    Men and women on trail. Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0355    Men on trail, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0356    Women on trail, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0357    Men standing around, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0358    Petrified trees. Valley of Fire. 2/34 (neg. only)
0359    Foot trail through petrified trees area. 3/34 (neg. only)
0360    Grotesque figured rocks, Valley of Fire. 1/34 (neg. only)
0361    Along two mile horse and foot trail into Mouse's Tank, Valley of Fire. 1/34 (neg. only)
0362    Along two mile horse and foot trail into Mouse's Tank. 1/34 (neg. only)
0363    Brilliant red sandstone formation, Valley of Fire. 1/34 (neg. only)
0364    Desert scene, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0365    Balancing rock, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0366    Landscape, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0367    High view of road through Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0368    Landscape, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0369    Same as above.
0370    Landscape, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0371    Same as above.
0372    Landscape, Valley of Fire. 3/34 (neg. only)
0373    Canyon back of Atlatl, Valley of Fire State Park. April 1935, Harrington photo. (neg. only)
0374    Petroglyphs, Valley of Fire. 1/34 (neg. only)
0375    Petroglyphs, Valley of Fire. 1/34 (neg. only)
0376    Stone camping cabins for use of public at Valley of Fire. Public cabins for use of public at Valley of Fire. Public campgrounds development, 1934. Shellbach photo (with neg.)
0377    General view of public campgrounds in Valley of Fire, Boulder Dam State Park project (ECW) Overton, NV. 1934 (with neg.



0189    U.S. PARK SERVICE COLLECTION



Valley of Fire (cont.)

0378    Atlatl Rock, Overton, NV. Project report, 1934 Shellbach photo (with neg.)
0379    Picnic ramada at public campground, Valley of Fire. 1934 (with neg.)


Nevada-Lyons, Co. Ft. Churchill

0380    Laundry at Ft. Churchill. Clear, 10/6/36 (neg. only)
0381    Interior of hospital at Ft. Churchill. Clear, 10/6/36 (neg. only)
0382    View of Ft. Churchill-Left to right: Officer's quarters, commandant's office, quartermaster's office, subsistence stores building. 10/6/36 (neg. only)
0383    Hospital at Ft. Churchill, clear. 10/6/36 (neg. only)
0384    Subsistence warehouse at Ft. Churchill, clear. 10/6/36 (neg. only)



Arizona-Colorado River Landscapes

0385    Arizona landscape (with neg.)
0386    Looking northeast from point on south side of Colorado River. 10/35 (neg. only)
0387    Looking northeast from point on south side of Colorado River. 10/35 (neg. only)
0388    Boulder Lake area, Cerbat Mtns. 1/36 (neg. only)
0389    Looking south from slope of Fortification Hill, etc. 10/35 (neg. only)
0390    Showing side of Fortification Hill, showing possible route for road to summit. 10/36 (neg. only)
0391    Northeast along side of Fortification Hill, showing possible location of road to summit. 10/35 (neg. only)
0392    Arizona shore, westerly from Fortification Mountain. 8/8/36 (neg. only)
0393    panorama north from the top of Fortification Hill. 10/35 (neg. only)
0394    Same as above. (neg. only)
0395    View from top of Fortification Hill. 10/35 (neg. only)
0396    Same as above. (neg. only)
0397    Panorama north from the top of Fortification Hill. 10/35 (neg. only)
0398    Grand wash mesa and cliffs. 1/36 (neg. only)
0399    Mesa and canyon wash cliffs. 1/36 (neg. only)
0400    Across mesa of Grand Wash to Virgin Mtns. Boulder Lake area, 1/36 (neg. only)
0401    Looking west from point east of Pacoon Spring on Grand Wash. 10/35 (neg. only)
0402    Looking west from point east of Pacoon Spring on Grand Wash. 10/35 (neg. only)
0403    Looking south down Grand Wash toward Colorado River. 10/35 (neg. only)
0404    Same as above. (neg. only)
0405    Looking north and northeast toward St. George from Grand Wash. 10/35 (neg. only)
0406    Looking east toward Mt. Trumbull from south of Wolfe Hole, 10/35 (neg. only)



0189    U.S. PARK SERVICE COLLECTION



Arizona-Colorado River Landscapes

0407    Looking north toward Wolfe Hole. 10/35 (neg. only)
0408    Looking south toward Wolfe Hole, south of St. George, Utah. 10/35 (neg. only)
0409    Hualapai Wash. 1/36 (neg. only)
0410    Looking southeast up Hualapai Wash. 10/35 (neg. only)
0411    Looking upstream toward Iceberg Canyon. 10/35 (neg. only)
0412    Looking upstream toward Iceberg Canyon, Colorado River. 10/35 (neg. only)
0413    Looking east up Iceberg Canyon. 10/35 (neg. only)
0414    Iceberg Canyon from upstream (Boulder Dam area) 11/35 (with neg.)\
0415    Colorado River near Pierce's Ferry. 1/36
0416    Grand Wash cliffs from Pierce's Ferry. 1/36 (neg. only)
0417    Grand Wash cliffs from Pierce's Ferry. 1/36 (neg. only)
0418    Lower Grand Canyon from 5 miles above Pierce's Ferry. 1/36 (neg. only)
0419    Looking up the Colorado River at the lower entrance of the Grand Canyon from point further down than the three miles above Pierce's Ferry. 7/7/36 (eng. Only)
0420    Looking up the Colorado River at the lower entrance of the Grand Canyon from point about three miles above Pierce's Ferry, still further downstream. 7/7/36 (neg. only)
0421    Looking up the Colorado River at the lower entrance of the Grand Canyon, from point further than three miles above Pierce's Ferry. 7/7/36 (neg. only)
0422    Entering the lower Grand Canyon about two miles above Pierce's Ferry. 7/7/36 (neg. only)
0423    Location view of entrance to cave showing signs of human habitation. Cave about 4 miles above Pierce's Ferry. 7/7/36 (neg. only)
0424    View at entrance of above cave. 7/7/36 (neg. only)
0425    Project superintendent Banister and foremen Shank and Evans at entrance to cave. 7/7/36 (neg. only)
0426    Looking down the Grand Canyon (Colorado River) from the above cave. 7/7/36 (neg. only)
0427    Looking up the Colorado River at the lower entrance of the Grand Canyon, from point about three miles above Pierce's Ferry. 7/7/36 (neg. only)
0428    Looking up the Colorado River at the lower entrance of the Grand Canyon, from point further than three miles above Pierce's Ferry (neg. only)
0429    Colorado River cliffs from 5 miles above Pierce's Ferry. 1/36 (neg. only)
0430    Cross section of a lava flow jilting a former channel of the Colorado River in Lower Grand Canyon, approximately 19 miles east of Pierce's Ferry. Under our geological program, studies of this flow are being made before the rising of Lake Mead obliterated portions of it from view. Nov. 1937 (with neg.)
0431    View of lower Grand Canyon at Surprise Creek near the present head of Lake Mead abut 28 miles east of Pierce's Ferry. Nov. 1937 (with neg.)
0432    Emery Falls in lower Grand Canyon, just east of Pierce's Ferry. September 1937 (with neg.)



0189    U.S. PARK SERVICE COLLECTION



Arizona-Colorado River Landscapes (cont.)

0433    View up Colorado River in canyon east of Pierce's Ferry. 10/35 (neg. only)
0434    View east into Grand Canyon east of Pierce's Ferry. 10/35 (neg. only)
0435    Looking downstream towards first canyon below Pierce's Ferry. 10/35 (neg. only)
0436    Desert vegetation near Pierce's Ferry. 10/35 (with neg.)
0437    Joshua trees near Pierce's Ferry on the Arizona side. 1/36 (w/neg.)
0438    Arid broken country below Pierce's Ferry. Boulder Dam area, 1/36. (w/neg.)
0439    Panorama west from Pierce's Ferry road in Arizona. 10/35 (neg. only)
0440    Panorama west from Pierce's Ferry road in Arizona. 10/35 (neg. only)
0441    Boulder Lake from Kingman Wash near elevation 1229'. 1/36 (neg. only)
0442    Desert near Mesquite Dry Lake, Boulder Lake area. 1/36 (neg. only)
0443    Story in stone at Cove, Boulder Lake, east of Napoleon's Tomb. 1/36 (neg. only)
0444    Looking south to one of interesting formations near Napoleon's Tomb. 10/35 (neg. only)
0445    Napoleon's Tomb. 10/35 (neg. only)
0446    Wind-sculptured rock, Boulder Dam area. 1/36 (w/neg.)
0447    Toroweap Point, Boulder Lake. 11/35 (neg. only)
0448    Looking south toward Toroweap Valley. 10/35 (neg. only)
0449    Looking south down Toroweap Valley. 10/35 (neg. only)
0450    Looking south down Toroweap Valley. 10/35 (neg. only)



Arizona: Pierce's Ferry

0451    SP-4 Spike Camp at Pierce's Ferry. 7/7/36 (neg. only)
0452    SP-4 Spike Camp at Pierce's Ferry. 7/7/36 (neg. only)
0453    Road from Pierce's Ferry to Kingman highway. Note Pierce's Ferry Spike Camp at point where road starts down bluff. 8/9/36 (from air) (neg. only)
0454    Office and radio station at Pierce's Ferry airport. 8/9/36 (neg. only)
0455    Airplane at Pierce's Ferry airport, Mr. Bossemeyer (left) and Director Wirth in foreground. 8/9/36 (neg. only)
0456    View looking towards Grand Canyon across Pierce's Ferry airport. 8/9/36 (neg. only)
0457    Airplane in front of radio office at Pierce's Ferry Airport. 8/9/36 (neg. only)
0458    Pierce's Ferry, Grand Wash cliffs, right. 1/36 (neg. only)
0459    Looking north down Pierce's Ferry wash from 1229'. 10/35 (neg. only)
0460    Same as above. Another view (eng. Only)
0461    Looking south toward Pierce's Ferry. Another view. 10/35 (neg. only)
0462    Same as above. Another view. (neg. only)
0463    Looking east at Pierce's Ferry. 10/35 (neg. only)
0464    Looking east at Pierce's Ferry. 10/35 (neg. only)



0189    U.S. PARK SERVICE COLLECTION



Arizona: Pierce's Ferry (cont.)

0465    Panorama looking east at Pierce's Ferry. 10/35 (neg. only)
0466    Same as above. (neg. only)
0467    Colorado River at Pierce's Ferry, looking S.S. 10/35 (neg. only)
0468    Looking south towards Pierce's Ferry. Another view. 10/35 (neg. only)
0469    Colorado River at Pierce's Ferry. Looking S.W. 10/35 (neg. only)



Utah: Zion Canyon

0470    Waterfall at Zion Canyon. After unusually heavy rainstorm. 7/10/36 (neg. only)



Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections