You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0282
United States Department of Energy

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


0001    Map of Nevada showing Nevada Test Site.

0002    Map of Nevada Test Site. (updated 1982)

0003    Mercury, the Main Base Camp at NTS (Nevada Test Site). The camp provides overnight accommodations for more than 950 people. It is a
warehousing, communication, repair, fabrication and field administration center.

0004    The radioactive waste management site at Frenchman Flat (area 5) provides surface storage and trench disposal of contaminated
materials with low levels of radioactivity at the Nevada Test Site (NTS)

0005    Security guards check access badges at Gate 100, Nevada Test Site (NTS). The NTS is closed to the public, except for people on
official business.

0006    The IDECO 2500, used at the Nevada Test Site, is a 2000 horsepower diesel electric rig capable of drilling holes 72 to 140 inches in
diameter to depths of 4000 feet.

0007    Inside the Control Point at the Nevada Test Site the Test Controller (at table) prepares to conduct a nuclear test. Members of the
Test Controller's Advisory Panel (at table) are experts in nuclear weapons, meteorology, radiation, and nuclear medicine.

0008 Signal cables laid out at a test location on Yucca Flats, the principal underground nuclear weapons testing area at Nevada Test Site
(NTS).

0009    Final test preparations (at the Nevada Test Site) include running miles of cable down hole. A rack containing instrumentation to go down hole is assembled in the tower to the right. Subsidence craters from earlier underground tests dot landscape

0010    Line-of-sight pipes are fabricated inside tunnels at Rainier Mesa on DOE's Nevada Test Site.

0011    Big hole drilling equipment at the Nevada Test Site. This equipment that dwarfs normal oil field gear is capable of drilling holes
up to 120 inches in diameter and 6000 feet deep.

0012    A nuclear explosive and diagnostic canister for a test named "Handley" is lowered down hole at Pahute Mesa in the Northwestern
corner of the Nevada Test Site. Pahute Mesa is used for higher-yield tests because of its remoteness. The Handley test was conducted in
March, 1970.

0013    Another view of the IDECO 2500, a diesel electric rig used to drill holes at the Nevada Test Site.

0014    Sedan Crater was formed when a 100 KT explosive was fired at the Nevada Test Site on July 6, 1962. displacing 12 million tons of
earth. The crater is 320 feet deep and 1280 feet in diameter.

0015    Two views (frames #7 and #8) showing complete disintegration of a house as a result of an explosion at the Nevada Test Site.

0016    View of the north end of Yucca Flat at the Nevada Test Site. Saucer-shaped craters of varying sizes can be seen. These craters are a
result of the detonation of explosives during the testing at NTS.



0282    U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY COLLECTION



0017    Another view of Sedan Crater formed July 6, 1962, by a test in the Atomic Energy Commission's Plowshare Program to develop peaceful uses for Nuclear explosives. (see also photo #0014 in this collection)

0018    From Operation Teapot, the "Met" shot, a tower burst fired Apr. 15, 1955.

0019    The George Test of the Greenhouse Series, a weapons related test conducted from a tower on Enewetak on May 8, 1951.

0020    A mushroom cloud rises from the desert floor at the Nevada Test Site. The nuclear test, named DeBaca, was a balloon burst fired in
October 1958. (since July 1962, all NTS weapons tests have been underground.)

0021    The first nuclear test ever conducted. "Trinity", a 19 kiloton tower shot, was exploded July 16, 1945 in New Mexico.

0022    "Sedan" was part of the Plowshare Program at the Nevada Test Site. It was fired on July 6, 1962. Heavier particles began falling
back to earth as the main cloud continued to rise. The base surge of dust began to roll along the desert floor.

0023    The "Hood" Test, conducted at the NTS on July 5, 1956, was a 75-kiloton device exploded from a balloon.

0024    The "George" shot, part of Operation Greenhouse, was fired May 8, 1951 at Enewetak (Marshall Islands).

0025    An air-to-missile shot code-named "John" and fired on July 19, 1957 was part of the Plumbbob Series.

0026    "Diablo" was fired on July 15, 1957, at the Nevada Test Site from a 500 foot tower. It had a yield of 17 kilotons.

0027    The 11 megaton "Romeo" shot was part of Operation Castle. It was fired from a barge near Bikini Atoll on March 26, 1954.

0028    Operation Hardtack, "Umbrella" shot, June 8, 1958, Enewetak Atoll (Marshall Islands.)

0029    "Easy", party of Operation Buster, was a 31 kiloton weapons related device fired November 5, 1951 at the Nevada Test Site.

0030    "Ivy Mike" was fired on Enewetak (Marshall Islands) on October 31, 1952. It was an experimental thermonuclear device.

0031    The "Stokes' Test, conducted at the Nevada Test Site on August 7, 1957, was a 19 kiloton device exploded from a balloon.

0032    Operation Plumbbob "Owens" shot. Nuclear explosion 25, May 1957.

0033    The "Climax" shot, part of Operation Upshot/Knothole, was a 61 kiloton device fired Jun4, 1953 at the Nevada Test Site.

0034    "Priscilla" was a 37 kiloton balloon shot fired Jun24, 1957 at the NTS.

0035    Small herds of wild horses roam the higher elevations of the NTS.

0036    Another view of wild horses which roam the higher elevations of the Nevada Test Site. (NTS)

0037    Kit Foxes peer from a culvert at a construction site on Nevada Test Site.



0282    U.S. DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY COLLECTION



0038    Remains of a building on the Nevada Test Site. Campsites of nomadic Indians have been found near several natural springs on the NTS. A ranch headquarters and camp for horse hunters was located near Tippipah Springs. The site also was a relay post on the mail route from Salt Lake City to Los Angeles during the 1850s. The site is one of many protected archeological sites on the NTS.

0039    Winter on the Nevada Test site. Photo taken from the mesas in the northwest region.



Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections