Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0316
Union Plaza Collection

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Located on Main Street and at the end of Fremont, the Union Plaza Hotel was built on the former site of the Union Pacific Railroad Station. Sam Boyd opened the Union Plaza on August 7, 1971 and was the first to employ women dealers in downtown Las Vegas.

Folder 1

0001    Union Pacific Railroad Station on Main Street at the end of Fremont. Railroad yards at left in background. Union Plaza Hotel and Casino will be built on this site.
0002    Construction site for Union Plaza Hotel and Casino. Union Pacific Depot in Background. (Sept. 1, 1970)
0003    Early construction of Union Plaza Hotel and Casino, October 8, 1970.
0004    Future bus depot, October 8, 1970.
0005    Aerial view of construction site for Union Plaza Hotel and Casino (right). Future bus depot (left). (Oct. 8, 1970)
0006    Construction site for bus depot. Oct. 8, 1970.
0007    Construction site for Union Plaza Hotel and Casino, October 8, 1970.
0008    Construction site for Union Plaza Hotel and Casino (right), bus depot (left). Union Pacific Railroad Station in background. Oct. 8, 1970.
0009    Construction site for Union Plaza Hotel/Casino. The Mint, the Sal Sagev, hotel Fremont and 4 Queens Hotel in background. Oct. 8, 1970.
0010    Early construction of Union Plaza Hotel. The Gate Casino (left). Oct. 8, 1970
0011    Construction of Union Plaza Hotel/Casino. Cross streets are Main & Fremont. Union Pacific Railroad in background. Nov. 2, 1970.
0012    Construction of Union Plaza Hotel/Casino. The Sal Sagev Hotel, Golden Hotel and the Bank of Nevada in background. Nov. 2, 1970.
0013    Looking down Fremont: The Las Vegas Club Hotel/Casino, and 4 Queens Hotel on right. Construction of Union Plaza Hotel in front. Nov. 2, 1970.
0014    Construction of Union Plaza Hotel. Nov. 2, 1970.
0015    Construction of Union Plaza Hotel. Nov. 2, 1970.
0016    Construction of Union Plaza Hotel. The Mint, Golden Gate Casino, and 4 Queens Hotel in background. Nov. 2, 1970.
0017    Construction of Union Plaza Hotel. The Mint, Golden Gate Casino, and 4 Queens Hotel in background. Nov. 2, 1970.
0018    Site of future bus depot. Bank of Nevada, Golden Hotel and Sal Sagev Hotel in background. Nov. 2, 1970.
0019    Further construction of Union Plaza Hotel. Nov. 2, 1970.
0020    Men working on Union Plaza Hotel. Nov. 2, 1970.
0021    Union Plaza Hotel during construction. Union Pacific Railroad in background. Nov. 2, 1970.
0022    Unidentified building. Maybe temporary offices for Union Plaza workers. Nov. 2, 1970.
0023    Unidentified building. Maybe temporary offices for workers. (Nov. 2, 1970)



0316    UNION PLAZA COLLECTION

Folder 1


0024    Inside of unidentified building. Maybe temporary offices for workers. Nov. 2, 1970.
0025    Front view of Union Pacific Passenger Station. (Dec. 9, 1970)

Folder 2

0026    Rear view of Union Pacific Passenger Station (Dec. 9, 1970)
0027    Construction site for Union Plaza Hotel. (Dec. 9, 1970)
0028    Men working on Union Plaza Hotel. (Dec. 9, 1970)
0029    Men working on Union Plaza Hotel. (Dec. 9, 1970)
0030    Men working on Union Plaza Hotel. (Dec. 9, 1970)
0031    Construction for Union Plaza Hotel. (Dec. 9, 1970)
0032    Men working on Union Plaza Hotel. To the left is the Mint Hotel, The Sal Sagev Hotel and the Golden Gate Casino. In the background are the 4 Queens Hotel and Hotel Fremont. (Dec. 9, 1970)
0033    Men working on Union Plaza Hotel. (Dec. 9, 1970)
0034    Men working on Union Plaza Hotel. (Dec. 9, 1970)
0035    Main Street. Men working on bus depot. Union Pacific Railroad in background. Dec. 9, 1970.
0036    Main Street, Dec. 9, 1970. Bus station being built on the left. Union Plaza Hotel being built to the right of the bus depot.
0037    Construction of the Union Plaza Hotel/Casino. The Union Pacific Railroad and the Las Vegas Freeway are in background. Feb. 10, 1971.
0038    Location for Union Plaza Hotel. Union Pacific Railroad in background. Dec. 9, 1970.
0039    Union Plaza Hotel while in construction. (Dec. 9, 1970)
0040    Sign for union Plaza Hotel.
0041    Construction for the bus depot and Union Plaza parking garage. Jan. 12, 1971.
0042    Construction for the Union Plaza Hotel. Jan. 12, 1971.
0043    Men working on Union Plaza Hotel. Jan. 12, 1971.
0044    Construction for the Union Plaza Casino. Jan. 12, 1971.
0045    Men working on Union Plaza Hotel. Blount-Yoxen is the joint contractor. Jan. 12, 1971.
0046    Men working on Union Plaza Hotel. Blount-Yoxen is the joint contractor. Jan. 12, 1971.
0047    Union Plaza Hotel/Casino under construction.
0048    Me n working on Union Plaza Hotel/Casino. Jan. 12, 1971.
0049    Men working on casino and parking garage for Union Plaza Hotel/Casino. Feb. 10, 1971.
0050    Side view of construction for Union Plaza Hotel (back) and Casino. Feb. 10, 1971.



0316    UNION PLAZA COLLECTION



Folder 3

0051    Men working on Union Plaza Casino. Feb. 10, 1971.
0052    Men cementing level of Union Plaza Hotel. Feb. 10, 1971.
0053    Men working on Union Plaza Hotel parking garage. Feb. 10, 1971.
0054    Construction work for Union Plaza Hotel. Feb. 10, 1971.
0055    Workers cementing level of Union Plaza Hotel. Feb. 10, 1971.
0056    Men working on level of Union Plaza Hotel. Feb. 10, 1971.
0057    Construction work for the Union Plaza parking structure. In the background are The Mint Hotel, Hotel Fremont and 4 Queens Hotel. Feb. 10, 1971.
0058    Construction work for Union Plaza Hotel's parking garage. Feb. 10, 1971.
0059    Aerial of Union Plaza Hotel during construction. Union Pacific Railroad in background. Mar. 9, 1971.
0060    The Union Plaza Hotel during construction. Mar. 9, 1971
0061    Early construction of the Union Plaza Casino. The Union Pacific Railroad is in the background. Mar. 9, 1971.
0062    Early construction of Union Plaza parking garage and bus depot. The cross streets are Main Street at the end of Carson Ave. In the background is the Pacific Union Railroad. Mar. 9, 1971.
0063    Photo taken from round level up. Shows progress of construction for Union Plaza Hotel. Mar. 9, 1971.
0064    Close up of construction progress of Union Plaza Hotel. Mar. 9, 1971.
0065    Side view of construction work for Union Plaza Hotel. Mar. 9, 1971.
0066    Rear view of the Union Plaza Hotel during construction. Mar. 9, 1971.
0067    Men working on Union Plaza parking structure. Bank of Nevada in background. Mar. 9, 1971.
0068    Inside of the Union Plaza parking structure during construction. Mar. 9, 1971.
0069    Aerial photo of the construction progress on the Union Plaza Hotel/Casino. (n.d.)
0070    Aerial photo of the construction progress on the Union Plaza Hotel/Casino. Apr. 6, 1971.
0071    Men working on the Union Plaza parking structure. Apr. 6, 1971.
0072    Photo shows further construction progress on the Union Plaza Hotel. The Union Pacific railroad and freeway in the background. Apr. 6, 1971.
0073    Frontal view of Union Plaza Hotel during construction. Apr. 6, 1971.
0074    Rear view of Union Plaza during construction. Apr. 6, 1971.
0075    Rear view of Union Plaza parking structure during construction. Apr. 6, 1971.

Folder 4

0076    Union Plaza parking structure under construction. Apr. 6, 1971.
0077    Photo shows construction progress of Union Plaza Hotel. Apr. 6, 1971.
0078    Men working on Union Plaza Hotel parking garage. Apr. 6, 1971.
0079    Men working on Union Plaza parking garage. Apr. 6, 1971.



0316    UNION PLAZA COLLECTION



Folder 4 (cont'd)

0080    Men working unidentifiable structure of Union Plaza project. Apr. 6, 1971.
0081    Photo shows inside progress for the construction of the Union Plaza parking garage. Apr. 6, 1971.
0082    Inside construction of Union Plaza Hotel. Apr. 6, 1971.
0083    Interior construction of Union Plaza Hotel. Apr. 6, 1971.
0084    Photo shows inside work done on Union Plaza Hotel. Apr. 6, 1971.
0085    The inside of a Union Plaza Hotel room during construction of the Union Plaza Hotel. Apr. 6, 1971.
0086    Frontal view of the Union Plaza Hotel about a third of the way finished. May 4, 1971.
0087    Frontal view of the Union Plaza Hotel about a third of the way finished. May 4, 1971.
0088    Frontal view of the Union Plaza Hotel about a third of the way finished. May 4, 1971.
0089    Looking up Fremont Street, the Union Plaza Hotel under construction. The Golden Gate Casino on the left. Las Vegas Club on the right.
0090    Side view of the Union Plaza parking structure under construction. May 4, 1971.
0091    Side view of the Union Plaza Casino under construction about a third of the way finished. May 4, 1971.
0092    Rear view of Union Plaza Hotel/Casino under construction. May 4, 1971.
0093    Union Plaza parking structure under construction. May 4, 1971.
0094    Back view of the Union Plaza Hotel, about a third of the way finished. May 4, 1971.
0095    Back view of the construction for Union Plaza Hotel/Casino. May 4, 1971.
0096    A portion of the Union Plaza Hotel sign which will sit on top of the hotel when construction is completed. May 4, 1971.
0097    Side view of Union Plaza Hotel under construction. Photo taken from ground level shows height and dimensions of hotel. May 4, 1971.
0098    Union Plaza Hotel/Casino under construction. In front are the Golden Gate Casino and the Las Vegas Club. Union Pacific Railroad in background. June 3, 1971.
0099    Union Plaza parking structure almost completed. In background is the Union Pacific Railroad. June 3, 1971.

Folder 5

0100    Union Plaza Casino during final stages of construction.
0101    Union Plaza Hotel during final stages of construction. June 3, 1971.
0102    Side view of Union Plaza showing height of hotel. June 3, 1971.
0103    Side view of the Union Plaza Casino under construction. Union Plaza Casino is located on Main and Fremont. June 3, 1971.



0316    UNION PLAZA COLLECTION



Folder 5 (cont'd)

0104    Union Plaza parking structure and the bus depot under final stages of construction. June 3, 1971.
0105    Union Plaza Hotel/Casino under construction. June 3, 1971.
0106    Union Plaza Hotel during final stages of construction. June 3, 1971.
0107    Rear view of soon to be completed Union Plaza Hotel. June 3, 1971.
0108    Rear view of soon to be completed Union Plaza Hotel. June 3, 1971.
0109    Men working on Union Plaza Hotel. June 3, 1971.
0110    Front section of Union Plaza Hotel. June 3, 1971.
0111    Photo is taken from ground level looking up. Shows the elevator and the height of the hotel. June 3, 1971.
0112    Photo is taken from ground level looking up. Shows the elevator and the height of the hotel. June 3, 1971.
0113    Union Plaza Hotel almost completed. Photo shows the elevator and the height of the hotel. June 3, 1971.
0114    The Union Plaza about a third of the way finished. Union Pacific Railroad and the freeway are in the background. June 3, 1971.
0115    Union Plaza almost completed. Jul. 1, 1971.
0116    Parking structure of Union Plaza. Grand opening of Casino tonight at midnight. Jul. 1, 1971.
0117    Union Plaza Casino. Opening tonight at midnight. July 1, 1971.
0118    The Union Plaza Hotel. July 1, 1971. The Casino opened at midnight.
0119    Union Plaza bus depot and parking structure almost finished. July 1, 1971. The Union Plaza Casino opened at midnight.
0120    Side view of Union Plaza Hotel. July 1, 1971.
0121    Union Plaza Casino almost completed. July 1, 1971. The casino had a grand opening at midnight.
0122    The front of Union Plaza Hotel. Construction is almost finished. Jul. 1, 1971.
0123    Looking down Fremont St., construction of the Union Plaza is almost completed. The Las Vegas Club is on the right and the Golden Gate Casino on the left. Jul. 1, 1971.
0124    Aerial view of the completed Union Plaza. The Las Vegas Freeway and Union Pacific Railroad in the background. Aug. 3, 1971.
0125    Union Plaza parking structure and bus depot. In background is the Union Pacific Railroad. Aug. 3, 1971.



Folder 6

0126    The Union Plaza Casino. Sign reads "World's Largest Casino, showroom opening Aug. 10, sold out 'til Friday Aug. 13. Most acclaimed musical Fiddler on the Roof starring Bob Carroll. Lounge entertainment 6pm to 6am. Register for $50,000 giveaway."



0316    UNION PLAZA COLLECTION



Folder 6 (cont'd)

0127    Frontal view of the completed Union Plaza Hotel. Aug. 3, 1971.
0128    Side view of the Union Plaza Hotel. Parking lot may be for employees. Aug. 3, 1971.
0129    Frontal view of completed bus depot. Union Plaza Hotel in background. Aug. 3, 1971.
0130    The Union Plaza Hotel/Casino. Opened on Jul. 1, 1971 at midnight. Aug. 3, 1971.
0131    The Union Plaza Casino. Opened Jul. 1, 1971 at midnight. Located on Main Street at the end of Fremont. Aug. 3, 1971.
0132    Side view of Union Plaza parking and bus depot. Located on Main Street at the end of Carson Ave. Aug. 3, 1971.
0133    Union Plaza Hotel. Photo taken from ground level. View shows the height and dimensions of the hotel. Aug. 3, 1971.
0134    A parking lot for the Union Plaza Hotel. Probably an employee parking lot. Aug. 3, 1971.
0135    Frontal view of Union Plaza Hotel is located on Main Street at the end of Fremont
0136    Rear view of the Union Plaza Hotel. Aug. 3, 1971.
0137    Rear view of the Union Plaza parking structure. Aug. 3, 1971.
0138    The back of the Union Plaza parking structure. Aug. 3, 1971.