Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0043
Union Pacific Railroad

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


NOTE: Use of these photographs for publication or display requires permission from:

Union Pacific System Donald D. Snoddy, Asst. Manager & Curator                
1416 Dodge Street                                    
Omaha, Nebraska 68179



Table of Contents:


Later Las Vegas

Rail Transportation

Construction of Hoover (Boulder) Dam

At the Colorado River, including Ragtown

Construction at or near river

Beginning of Boulder City, 1931

Plans, early construction, Boulder City

Boulder City, 1933, 1935, 1937

Boulder Dam Hotel, 1935

People

Early Las Vegas

Additions to collection (cont.)-(from time capsule)

Wilbur Clarks Desert Inn

Dunes Hotel

El Rancho Vegas Hotel & Casino

Flamingo Hotel

Fremont Hotel

Last Frontier Hotel

Moulin Rouge Hotel

Riviera Hotel

Royal Nevada Hotel

Sands Hotel

Silver Slipper Gambling Hall

Thunderbird Hotel

Lake Mead Lodge

Helldorado Days

Photo Album

    Main Line-Bridge at Pomona over San Antonio Wash

    Photo Album (cont.-storm damage, March 2, 1938)

    Main Line-Mira Loma Passing Track at Mira Loma Station

    Main Line-Mira Loma Underpass

    Glendale Branch---Bridge 2.88-Rock Junction

    San Pedro Branch

    Anaheim Branch

    Rialto Branch

    Main Line-Daggett to Crestline

    Main Line-Daggett to Baxter

    Main Track-Las Vegas to Caliente

    Main line-Las Vegas to Caliente

    Main Line-Carp to Crestline

    St. Thomas Branch

Return to Top


Later Las Vegas

0001    Old Fort remnant, 1929
0002    Fremont Street, Union Pacific Depot Park, ca. 1930
0003    Hospital , August, 1952
0004    Arizona Club
0005    Fremont Street, looking west, ca. 1930
0006    Fremont Street, looking east, 1933
0007    Main and Fremont, Hotel Nevada, ca. 1930
0008    Union Plaza Hotel and tracks looking south, September, 1973
_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Rail Transportation

0009    Unloading refrigerator car, Las Vegas, 1935
0010    "City of Las Vegas", LA 28-36-B, at Las Vegas, 1958
0011    Another view of former V&T locomotive on publicity tour for movie "Union Pacific", 1939
0012    SD-45's with coal drag heading to Con Edison Plant in California, taken from tower in Las Vegas, 1965-68 (?)
0013    GMC Autotrain on UP "City of Las Vegas" 12/18/56-9/15/57

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Construction of Hoover (Boulder) Dam

0014     Signing contract to construct dam, including Six Companies officials, Bureau of Reclamation officials, local people (see # 0020 0023 for identification).
0015    Similar view of above dated April 18, 1931; W.R. Armstrong, Walker Young, R.F. Walter, Dr. Mead signing contract, Louis Crampton
0016    Celebration either at Boulder Junction (south of Las Vegas) or at Boulder City.
0017    Inside coach, first train into Boulder City
0018    Says "First passenger train entering Boulder City" but going in wrong direction. Taken near 6 Companies yard no. of Boulder heading south.

_______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

At the Colorado River, including Ragtown

0019    Government tents, April 10, 1931
0020    Panorama, wash and river, April 18, 1931
0021    Office of U.S. Marshall, including Marshall Claude Williams
0022    Close-up of office and Marshall and family
0023    Deputy Marshall, including Marshall Claude Williams
0024    Scene at entrance to canyon, Murl Emery building
0025    Rattlesnakes draped over sign for Boulder Dam Pier
0026    Similar view
0027    Group in boat on river
0028    Panorama of desert, April 18, 1931
0029    View of tents from road, "Ragtown homes", March 13, 1931
0030    "Ragtown family", two women, children on porch of tent house
0031    Children only, same location
0032    Distributing food in Ragtown, August 13, 1931
0033    Close-up of woman of above photo at her tent house
0034    Distributing water, Same Jones, 75 years old, August 13, 1931
0035    Sam Jones outside his tent house
0036    "First grocery in Boulder City" including Mr. & Mrs. W.F. Shields , Harry Buchanan , chef, April 18, 1931
0037    Two men outside tent, G.H. De Loach, R.R. Heusel, August 13, 1931

Return to Top
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Construction at or near river

0038    Road building, April 10, 1931
0039    Road building, April 10, 1931
0040    Road building, April 10, 1931
0041-0050    work on canyon walls
0041    ladder on walls
0042    Close up April 10, 1931
0043    Similar view, April 10, 1931
0044    Men and equipment, river and Ragtown in distance, April 18, 1931
0045    Close up of two men looking over edge, April 18, 1931
0046    Close up of one man
0047    Man & drill
0048    Close up
0049    Man setting portable lights
0050    Similar view April 18, 1931
0051    Man and equipment
0052    Men and rods, April 18, 1931
0053    Similar view, April 18, 1931
0054    Close-up
0055    Man and tractor, April 18, 1931
0056    Two men and tractor, April 18, 1931
0057    Power shovel
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Beginning of Boulder City, 1931

0058-0065    Surveying activities
0058    Officials in the field : H.S. McDowell, C.A. Williams, R.C. Thaxton, Frank T. Crowe, John C. Page; March 13, 1931
0059    Similar view of above
0060    Similar view of above
0061    Similar view of above
0062    Similar view of above
0063    Similar view of above
0064    Surveyors, April 18, 1931
0065    Frank Crowe looking over plans on site of Boulder City
0066-0074 Photos of construction site
0066    Lewis camp midway between Boulder City and river, March 13, 1931
0067    Panorama, Boulder City, April 18, 1931
0068    Panorama, Boulder City, RR tracks in distance, April 18, 1931
0069    Panorama, Boulder City, RR tracks in distance, April 18, 1931
0070    Panorama, desert site of Boulder City, March 13, 1931
0071    Panorama, desert site of Boulder City, March 13, 1931
0072    Panorama, desert site of Boulder City, March 13, 1931
0073    Panorama, desert site of Boulder City, March 13, 1931
0074    Leveling hill adjacent to Boulder City for reservoir, March 13, 1931
0075    Gate into reservation, Boulder City, "gate where men are hired." August 13, 1931
0076    Similar view, August 13, 1931
0077    U.S. Marshall stopping all cars entering Boulder City


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Plans, early construction, Boulder City

0078    Layout of streets, taken from New Reclamation Era, Feb. 1931
0079    Boulder City General Plan
0080    Construction, reservoir tank to supply city, March 13, 1931
0081    Close up of above view
0082    Panorama , tents in foreground
0083    Railroad building, April 10, 1931
0084    Panorama of construction sites, April 10, 1931
0085    Panorama of wood frame buildings , April 18, 1931
0086    General view of buildings under construction, April 18, 1931
0087    Buildings under construction
0088    Close up of buildings
0089    Making streets, October 12, 1931
0090    Laying sewer pipes, October 12, 1931
0091    Building activity, October 12, 1931
0092    Building activity, October 12, 1931
0093    Recreation building, October 12, 1931
0094    Offices , Boulder City Company Stores and Post Offices, October 12, 1931
0095    Boulder City Police Department, October 12, 1931
0096    General store, Boulder City Co. October 12, 1931
0097    Government engineers homes under construction, October 12, 1931
0098    Government engineers homes under construction, October 12, 1931
0099    Residential street, October 12, 1931
0100    Residential street, October 12, 1931
0101    Back of residence
0102    Dormitory building east of Administration building, October 13, 1931
0103    Hospital under construction
0104    Similar view of above


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Boulder City, 1933, 1935, 1937

0105    Administration building from park, September 20, 1933
0106    Panorama of Boulder City from park, September 20, 1933
0107    Panorama of Boulder City from Administration building
0108    Panorama of Boulder City from Administration building
0109    Street scene of Boulder City Company Stores and Billiards Fountain Service, September 20, 1931
0110    Close up, Boulder City Company Stores and Union Pacific Stages vehicle, September 20, 1931
0111    Close up Billiard's Fountain service, September 20, 1933
0112    Street scene, Nevada Highway, Boulder City
0113    Dormitories
0114    View of residences looking toward reservoir, March 22, 1935
0115    Residences in area of Administration building, March 22, 1935
0116    Another view of above
0117    Aerial view, March 28, 1937
0118    Aerial view, March 28, 1937
0119    Union Pacific Stage at lookout above Colorado River, September 20, 1933


Return to Top

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Boulder Dam Hotel, 1935

0120    Exterior of hotel
0121    Similar view
0122    Interior, lobby
0123    Interior lobby
0124    Interior lobby

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

People

0125    Sims Ely at his desk, 1931
0126    Close up of above
0127    D.E. Shelley, UP agent
0128    Boulder City UP work cars at railroad construction site
0129    Eight men standing in front of Post Office: R.J. Coffey , P.J. Dent, Chas A. Dobbel, Dr. Mead, R.F. Walter, J.R. Finney, W.R. Armstrong, J.R. Alexander, 1931
0130    Close up of five of above
0131    Close up of six above
0132    Interior office, B.D. Siegfus, Al Cahlan, Walker Young, P.S. Webb, John C. Page, 1931
0133    Mrs. Edith Powell , first woman resident of Boulder City, standing outside tent house
0134    Close up above
0135    Children , Donna and Betty Brown, 1931


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Early Las Vegas

0136    Salt Lake RR Depot and Pacific Express Company office, 1905.
0137    First Tent.1904 (1905)
0138    Clayson and Griffith store , 1905
0139    Union Pacific Depot upon completion in 1906
0140    Hotel Las Vegas, 1905
0141    Las Vegas Ranch store, hotel and post office
0142    Fremont street , Las Vegas, Nevada
0143    Union Pacific Railroad Passenger Depot, Las Vegas, Nevada 1924
0144     Same as above
0145    Snow sheds in the Sierra Nevadas on Central Pacific

***

NOTE: Use of the following photographs for publication or display does not require permission from UPRR.



Additions to Collection (These photos taken from time capsule in cornerstone in UPRR Station, Las Vegas; placed there in 1940, retrieved when building was demolished ca. 1970)

0146    Junior Chamber of Commerce , Las Vegas. Weds. Feb. 28, 1940

0147    Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce Meeting, Feb. 27, 1940
0148    "Bright lights-gay nights in Las Vegas, Nevada. 1940" [Fremont Street]
0149    "No use rushing with space all sold out," says Helen Slattery, Chicago General Traffic, United Air Lines, as she climbs aboard the smooth 1904 model being carefully piloted by Dutch Goerman, Secretary of the Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce.
0150    Lions Club, Las Vegas, Nevada, 1940.
0151    Board of Clark County Commissioners, March, 1940. L. to R.: Roland H. Wiley, Esq. District Attorney ; Harold J. Stocker, Commissioner, George T. Hanson, Chairman; David Farnsworth, County Auditor and Recorder; E.F. Davison, Commissioner; and Lloyd S. Payne, County Clerk.
0152    Las Vegas Rotary Club-1940
0153    Las Vegas Rotary Xmas Party, 1940. [A.C. Grant, President is seated in car; Bryan L. Bunker, Secretary, is standing 2nd from the right , 1st row]
0154    Left to right: Bottom row-Mrs. A.L. Dixon, Miss L. Dixon, Mrs.C.M. Atherton, Mrs. G.R. Van Eaton, Mrs. Cooper, Mrs. M.L. Botts, Mrs. A.J. Schmidt, Mrs. H.S. Baldwin, Mrs. R.A. Gronberg, Mrs. P.H. Tingen, Mrs. J.D. Forbes. Center row: Mr. A.H. Dixon, Mr. T.C. Roberts, Mrs. R.A. Blonde, Mrs. O.M. Barnett; Top row-Mr. F.J. Jacomini, Mr. G.E. Casey, Mr. J.S. Letchworth, Mr. J.J. Logan, Mr. M.L. Botts, Mr. J.J. Logan, Mr. M.L. Botts, Mr. J.D. Forbes, Mr. H.S. Baldwin, Mr. G.R. Van Eaton, Mr. J.E. White, Mr. R.A. Blonde.
0155    William Martin Jeffers. [UPRR President, 1940]
0156    Union Pacific Old Timer's Club No. 23, Las Vegas, Nevada ca. 1940
0157    William H. Guild, General Manager, Union Pacific RR, Salt Lake City, south-central district. Ca. 1940
0158    H.L. Gogerty, Architect for UPRR Co. passenger Station in Las Vegas, Nev. Ca. 1940
0159    Walter R. Bracken, Special Reprehensive for the President of the UPRR Co. Las Vegas, Nevada. Ca.1940
0160    Las Vegas in 1910
0161    N.A. Williams, Vice President in charge of operations of UPRR, 1939. [photo ca. 1939-40]
0162    Russell Wells, May 15, 1922


Return to Top
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Additions to collection (cont.)-(from time capsule)

0163    Mayor Russell and family taken in 1909
0164    Louis C. Pico, Antonia Eva Pico, and Louis, Jr., Feb.7, 1938. "A satisfied water user"
0165    Mr. And Mrs. Wes Neeley [Mr. Neeley was general foreman of the Las Vegas Land and Water Co. in 1940] (Photo by G.L. Ullom, ca. 1940)
0166    Daughter of Wes Neeley, general foreman of the LV Land and Water Co. [ca. 1940]
0167    Children of Wes Neeley, general foreman of the LV Land and Water Co. 1940

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Wilbur Clarks Desert Inn


0168    Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn-c. 1950s.
0169    Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn-c. 1950s.
0170    Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn-c. 1950s.
0171    Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn-c. 1950s.
0172    Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn-c. 1950s.
0173    Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn-c. 1950s. guest room.
0174    Pool area- Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn-c. 1950s.
0175    Bathing beauties on lawn of Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn. (c.1950)
0176    Pool scene- Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn-c. 1950s.
0177    Pool at Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn-c. 1950s.
0178    Guest enjoying the golf course at Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn. 1950's
0179    Swimming pool- Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn. 1950's
0180    View of the Desert Inn pool from the cocktail lounge (c. !950's)
0181    Swimming pool and back view of Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn. 1950's
0182    Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn. 1950's
0183    Pool scene- Wilbur Clark's Desert Inn. 1950's


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Dunes Hotel

184    Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas (1950)
185    Swimming pool at the Dunes Hotel
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

El Rancho Vegas Hotel & Casino


186    El Rancho Vegas 1950's
187    El Rancho Vegas, Las Vegas Nev. (c. 1950)
188    El Rancho Vegas 1950's
189    El Rancho Vegas 1950's-pool
190    El Rancho Vegas (Las Vegas, Nev.)-c.1950's
191    El Rancho Vegas Hotel & Casino 1950's
192    El Rancho Vegas-c.1950's
193    El Rancho Vegas-Las Vegas, Nev.-c. 1950's


Return to Top
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Flamingo Hotel

194     Flamingo Hotel-Las Vegas. (c.1950s)
194a    Flamingo Hotel pool-c.1950s

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Fremont Hotel

195    Fremont Hotel-Las Vegas . (c.1950's)
196    Hotel Fremont in downtown Las Vegas (c.1950?)    
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Last Frontier Hotel

197    Last Frontier Hotel-Last Frontier Village. (c.1950's)
198    Last Frontier Hotel-Museum and saloon in the Last Frontier Village.
199    Last Frontier Hotel-Justice of the Peace's cabin in the Last Frontier Village.
200    Last Frontier Village at the Last Frontier Hotel, Las Vegas (c.1950's) Shown are the Gay Nineties Bar and the stagecoach used to pick up hotel guests.
201    Last Frontier Village-Fanny's Dress Shop. (c.1950's)
202    Frontier Museum and Saloon in the Last Frontier Village (c.1950's)
203    Last Frontier Village. (c.1950s)
204    Front porch of the Last Frontier Museum and Saloon. (c.1950s)
205    Last Frontier Village -. (c.1950s)
206    Last Frontier Village-(c.1950s) Tourists gazing at huge bell. (c.1950's)
207    Last Frontier Village- tourists on stagecoach
208    Last Frontier Village- tourists on stagecoach
209    Hotel Last Frontier-pool area. (c.1950s)
210    Last Frontier Hotel-pool scene (c.1950s) Florence Chadwick climbing out of pool.
211    New Frontier Hotel (after 1950)


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Moulin Rouge Hotel



212    Moulin Rouge Hotel-Las Vegas, Nev. (c1950s)




Return to Top
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Riviera Hotel

213    Riviera Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev. (c. 1950s)
214    Guest room in the Riviera Hotel, Las Vegas (c.1950s)
215    Pool scene-Riviera Hotel. (c.1950s)
216    Guest room in the Riviera Hotel, Las Vegas (c.1950s)
217    Pool at Riviera Hotel (c.1950's)
218    Riviera Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev. (c. 1950s)
219    Pool at Riviera Hotel (c.1950's)
220    Riviera Hotel swimming pool (seen from above). (c. 1950s)
221    Riviera Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada. (c.1950s)
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Royal Nevada Hotel

222    Royal Nevada Hotel , Las Vegas, NV. (c. 1950s)
223    Swimming pool at Royal Nevada Hotel, Las Vegas. (c.1950s)
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Sands Hotel

224    Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev. (c.1950s)
225    Sands Hotel-Las Vegas , Nevada (c.1950's)
226    Swimming pool-Sands Hotel, Las Vegas (c.1950's)
227    Showboat Hotel& Casino, Las Vegas . (c1950's)
228    Cocktail waitress serving cocktails poolside at the Showboat Hotel (c.1950s)
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Silver Slipper Gambling Hall


229    Silver Slipper Gambling Hall in Las Vegas (c.1950s)
Return to Top
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Thunderbird Hotel

230    Thunderbird Hotel, Las Vegas. (c.1950's)
231    Thunderbird Hotel, Las Vegas (c.1950's) Front entrance
232    Thunderbird Hotel, Las Vegas , Nevada (c.1950s) Another view of the front entrance.
233    Thunderbird Hotel-Las Vegas (1950's) Front en trance
234    Thunderbird Hotel, Las Vegas , Nevada (c.1950s) Another view of the front entrance.
235    Thunderbird Hotel- back view of the swimming pool. (c.1950's)
236    Front entrance of Thunderbird Hotel, Las Vegas (c.1950s)
237    Swimming pool and back of Thunderbird Hotel, Las Vegas, (c.1950)
238    Swimming pool-Thunderbird Hotel, Las Vegas. (c.1950s)
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Lake Mead Lodge


239    Lake Mead Lodge -exterior view. (c.1950s)
240    Exterior view of Lake Mead Lodge. (1940s -50s?)
241    View of Lake Mead Lodge exterior (1940s-1950)
242    Lake Mead Lodge-another view of the exterior. (1940s-1950)
243    Restaurant in Lake Mead Lodge-Lake Mead can be seen through the windows. (1940s-1950)
244    Shuffleboard at the Desert Lodge (1940s-1950)


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Helldorado Days


245    Horse in Fremont Hotel bar during Helldorado Days, Las Vegas, (1950) People not identified.
246    Helldorado Days parade, Las Vegas. Nev. (c. 1950) Sands Hotel float
247    Helldorado Days -Las Vegas , Nev. Horse in Fremont Hotel bar. (c.1950s) people not identified.
248    Helldorado Days parade, Las Vegas, Nev. Golden Nugget float (1950)
249    Helldorado Days parade Fremont Street, Las Vegas, Nev.
250    Helldorado Days parade Las Vegas. Nev. (c. 1950) Sahara Hotel float.
251    Helldorado Days parade Las Vegas. Nev. (c. 1950) Horse-drawn stagecoaches.


_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Photo Album

(Photographic record of storm damage to main line and branches of Union Pacific Railroad, Los Angeles Division, March 2, 1938)

Return to Top
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Main Line-Bridge at Pomona over San Antonio Wash

1.1     Milepost 35.0 Union Pacific forces restoring main tracks. First track in this view belongs to the So. Pacific RR. The channel running under these two main line tracks has been diverted to parallel Southern Pacific line on North side as shown in M2.

1.2     Existing bridge 33.84-East of Pomona. Flood waters have cut new channel immediately east of existing bridge. It was necessary to drive a six span pile trestle replacing embankment which also washed away. This view is looking westerly toward Pomona.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Photo Album (cont.-storm damage, March 2, 1938)

1.3    Existing bridge 33.84-East of Pomona. Channel change has been made to allow flood waters to pass over Southern Pacific and Union Pacific tracks. New six span pile trestle was constructed immediately west of our present bridge.

1.4    Constructing bridge over new channel east of out existing bridge 33.84-east of Pomona.

1.5    Taken from South side of bridge 33.84-East of Pomona, showing existing bridge serves no purpose account new channel cut by flood waters washing away embankment immediately east of existing bridge , necessitating new six span pile trestle to restore tracks to operation.

1.6    Constructing new six span bridge east of existing bridge 33.84.

1.7    Similar to M6. New bridge constructed east of present bridge 33.84.

1.8    Roadway equipment on Union Pacific tracks. The track northerly belongs to the Southern Pacific Company. Flood waters washed away telegraph line between these two tracks and prior to taking this picture flood waters were diverted to north side of Southern Pacific Tracks, carrying waters into existing San Antonio Valley wash.

1.9    Channel change made by Southern Pacific and Union Pacific forces diverting water which was passing over our tracks and now flood waters are being diverted along northerly side of Southern Pacific RR and entering existing bridges at Milepost 33.84.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Main Line-Mira Loma Passing Track at Mira Loma Station

1.10    Mira Loma (Mile post 45.6) together with washout damage north of tool house. The main line washout has been partly restored and passing track is out of operation.

1.11    Mira Loma Station trackings looking east from station. Flood waters washed out main passing track west of this view.

1.12    Freight house platform and depot washed out. Also where embankment has been partly restored on mainline at Mira Loma Station.

1.13    Embankment and temporary tie crib culvert installed under main track at Mira Loma Station. The girders for underpass are shown at the extreme west. This underpass still contains large body of water which will not interfere with railroad operation.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Main Line-Mira Loma Underpass

1.14    Underpass at Milepost 45.35-Mira Loma main track looking northerly showing flood waters contained under bridge structure. This underpass has pumping equipment belonging to County which apparently is not in operation. The edge of the pump house can be seen at the right hand side.

1.15    Similar to MM5 showing view of Mira Loma underpass looking in southerly direction. Pump house, which is not in operation belonging to County, shown on easterly embankment.

Pasadena Branch

1.16    Mile post 0.44 -View indicates track washed out between Macy Street bridge and transmission tower, along east bank of Los Angeles River. Will require two or three carloads of embankment to make repairs.

1.17    Mile post. 0. 54 -View indicates washout of double track immediately north of Macy Street viaduct, Los Angeles. Embankment entirely washed away for a distance of 400 feet. The Griffith Co. of Los Angeles have dismantled this trackage and are now making the necessary fill to restore embankment

1.18    Mile post 0.54 -View indicates washout of double track immediately north of Macy street viaduct embankment. (same as above)

1.19    (same as above)

1.20    Mile post .54 -View indicates washout within one or two feet from end of tie-27ft. deep, along east bank of Los Angeles River. Pictures show our Alhambra transfer office and Southern Pacific bridge in background.

1.21    (same as 1.20)

1.22    (Same)

1.23    Mile post 2.95-Views of bridge 2.95. Pile bents have been washed away and bridge deck twisted and partially leaning against the Santa Fe steel bridge structure.

1.24    Same description , different view.

1.25    Same as above.

1.26    Milepost 3.77-Indicates slight washout about 40ft. in length, within 1 ft. from end of tie, requiring approximately one carload of embankment to restore.

1.27    Mile post 4.08-4.10 The first view shows embankment washed out for 40ft. in length-12 ft. deep. P13, same as view in opposite direction. Trackage was washed out at this location also during 1934. P14, P15, embankment washed out for 80ft. in length-3ft under end of tie and 6ft. deep.

1.28    Mile post 4.08-4.10 This view shows embankment washed out for 40ft. in length-12 ft. deep. This photo taken in opposite direction from P12. Trackage was washed out at this location also during 1934.

1.29    Mile post 4.08-4.10 This view shows embankment washed out for 80ft. in length -3ft. under end of tie and 15 feet deep.

1.30    Same as above

1.31    Mile post 5.13-Embankment washed out along the Los Angeles River for distance of 80 ft. and within 3ft. from end of tie.

1.32    Same as above.

1.33    Same.

1.34    Same description , different view.

Return to Top
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Photo Album (cont.-storm damage, March 2, 1938)

1.35    Mile post 6.42-This picture, along with photos P21, P22 , and P23, indicate washout in three different locations for end of tie. Depth of washout in three different locations from end of tie. Depth of washout varies from 6 to 12 feet deep.

1.36    (Photo P21) See above; different view

1.37    (Photo P22) Same, different view

1.38    (Photo P23) Same, different view

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Glendale Branch---Bridge 2.88-Rock Junction

1.39    Four pile bents were washed out beneath this bridge. This view shows how track has dropped on the deck of bridge.
1.40    Four pile bents were washed out beneath this bridge. This view, looking westward, shows how track has dropped on the deck of bridge.
1.41    This picture shows damage done to bridge. Four bents of this bridge being entirely washed out.
1.42    Same as above. Different view
1.43    Same as above. Different view
1.44    This picture shows damage done to bridge. Four bents of this bridge being entirely washed out.
1.45    Same as above , different view.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

San Pedro Branch

1.46    Bridge 3.45-Six bents of this bridge washed out together with ten piling in other bents require replacement. Also be necessary to add two spans on North end of this bridge.

1.47    Bridge 8.92-Will be necessary to replace one piling and straighten five others. Deck of bridge shifted 8 inches for 8 spans. Damage done principally due to a 60 ft. deck of another bridge being washed into this structure.

1.48    Same as above, different view.

1.49    Bridge 8.92-- Same as above, different view

1.50    Bridge 8.92-- Same as above, different view

1.51    Bridge 8.92-Will be necessary to replace one piling and straighten five others. Deck of bridge shifted 8 inches for 8 spans. Damage done principally due to a 60 ft. deck of another bridge being washed into this structure.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Anaheim Branch

1.52    Mile post 8.66 - Slide wash twenty-five feet in length-8 ft. deep and 2 ft from tie at nearest point.

1.53    Same description, different view

1.54    Mile post 8.66 - Slide wash twenty-five feet in length-8 ft. deep and 2 ft from tie at nearest point.

1.55    Mile post 10.12-Thirty feet of track washed out and around existing culvert. Now tie crib

1.56    Same description, different view

1.57    Mile post 15.54-1500 feet of track washed out-1ft under ties at crossing with AT&SF spur track.

1.58    Mile post 17.90-150ft. of track washed out. 1ft under ties.

1.59    Mile post 18.00-Two span frame trestle O.K. 100 ft. of track east and 40ft. track west washed out 1ft under ties.

1.60    Mile post 18.11-Bridge at this location not damaged. Trackage washed out as shown background in picture AN10. (1.61)

1.61    Mile post 18.05-18.38-1756 feet of track washed from 5 to 20ft., away from original grade. Trackage 90% intact.

1.62    Mile post 18.80-18.85-300 feet of track washed from 5 to 20ft. away from original grade.

1.63    Mile post 18.58 200 feet of track washed out 1ft. under ties.

1.64    Mile post 18.86-The deck of this 8 span frame trestle was washed 20ft. off bents. Six bents were washed away. The bridge deck remains intact.

1.65    Mile post 18.86-19.17-1537 feet of track washed from 5ft. to 20 ft. from original grade. Track structure 50% intact.

1.66    Mile post 18.86-19.17 Same description as above; different view.

1.67    Mile post 19.42-100 feet of track washed out from 2ft. to 3 ft. under ties.

1.68    Mile post 19.44 East abutment of 7 span frame trestle washed away. East end of this bridge shifted 6 inches.

1.69    Same as above; different view.

1.70    Mile post 19.46-19.77-1380 feet of track washed from 10ft. to 25ft. from original grade. Grade now 60% intact.

1.71    Mile post 19.46-19.77-Tracks in vicinity Anaheim depot were entirely covered with mud and water.

1.72    Mile post 19.46-19.77-Anaheim depot, 12 inches of silt and water deposited in depot during flood period.

1.73    Mile post 19.46-19.77-Turntable at Anaheim. The turntable pit was completely filled with flood waters during the storm period.

1.74    Same as above; different view

1.75    Mile post 19.46-19.77-- Turntable at Anaheim. The turntable pit was completely filled with flood waters during the storm period. Different view.

1.76    Turntable at Anaheim. The turntable pit was completely filled with flood waters during the storm period.

1.77    Same as above; different view.
Return to Top

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Rialto Branch

1.78    Santa Ana Bridge near Riverside-Bridge 1.86. This was a 75 span pile bridge. Only 33 spans now exist. This branch is used jointly with Pacific Electric Railway.

1.79    Santa Ana Bridge near Riverside-Bridge 1.86 Showing portion of 33 spans of structure which were not washed away by flood waters.

1.80    Santa Ana Bridge near Riverside-Bridge 1.86. Showing location where 42 spans of this bridge were washed away by flood waters.

1.81    Santa Ana Bridge near Riverside. --- Bridge 1.86 Looking easterly over 33 span portion of this bridge which was not washed away by flood waters. Original length of this bridge was 75-15 foot spans.

1.82    Santa Ana Bridge near Riverside-Bridge 1.86 Looking westerly from end of existing portion of bridge. Thirty-three spans now exist , as shown , in good alignment. The balance of the bridge must be rebuilt. Pacific Electric Railway trolley wires are shown adjacent to this structure.

1.83    Bridge 1.14-1.16 (in park at Riverside) Bridge 1.16. This structure, together with one span pile trestle bridge 1.14 and 240 feet of embankment, washed out as shown in pictures to follow.

1.84    Bridge 1.14-1.16 (in park at Riverside) This view was taken while standing on R.C. Box culvert 1.16. One span pile bridge 1.14 is shown underneath the debris

1.85    Bridge 1.14-1.16 This view shows wash out-Bridge 1.14 Bridge 1.16 together with 240 feet embankment, washed out

1.86    Bridge 1.14- 1.16 (in park at Riverside)-showing channel cut by flood waters, removing embankment adjacent to bridge 1.14 Embankment is about 24 feet in height-washed out of 240 feet.

1.87    Bridge 1.14- 1.16 (in park at Riverside)-Bridge 1.16 Rialto Branch. Similar to other views.

1.88    Bridge 1.14- 1.16 (in park at Riverside)-Track washed out distance of 240 feet including one span pile bridge 1.14 and R.C. Box Culvert 1.16

1.89    Alamo Siding. -View of Alamo Station-Rialto Branch showing passing track and main line washed out for a distance of    210 feet. Highway parallel our trackage can be seen showing that embankment was cut away from side of highway a depth of 6 to 8 feet.

1.90    Alamo siding-Similar to 1.69 photo-passing track and main line. Washed out at Alamo Station for a distance of 210 feet, approximately 16 feet deep.

1.91    Alamo siding -similar to above.

1.92    Alamo siding -210 feet washed out main and passing track same location as shown in pictures 1.89 through 1.91.
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Main Line-Daggett to Crestline

1.93    View of Bridge 160.39 over Mojave River between Yermo and Daggett. Two spans of this bridge entirely washed away.

1.94    Same as description, different view.

1.95    Bridge 191.16 west of Afton. Four 60 foot girder spans washed away together with 100 feet of embankment each side. Photo looking east.

1.96    Same as above, different view.

1.97    Immediately east of Afton showing easterly portal tunnel Number 1 together with washout of fill for distance 500 feet.

1.98    Same as photo 1.97 indicating west portal of tunnel no.1 and 1720 feet of fill and trackage out.

1.99    Milepost 193.7 east of tunnel No. 1 indicating washout of 1000 feet of fill and trackage.

1.100    Baxter; Rock Spur track including bridge entirely gone with four or five cars washed into stream bed. This picture also indicates loss of mainline bridge west of Baxter.

1.101    Showing Baxter station ground, rock spur and location of bridge west of Baxter washed out. The dark track area indicates track intact. Grey area indicates where embankment has been washed away which supports track structure for a distance of approximately two miles.

1.102    Indicates washout adjacent to main track 1 mile east of Baxter passing tracks. Considerable embankment has been washed away which supports track structure for a distance of approximately two miles.

1.103    Milepost 198 indicates washout main track 234 feet, allowing no support track structure.

1.104    King passing track. Supporting embankment removed also from mainline at certain locations as shown.

1.105    Crucero passing track washed out. Embankment removed also from mainline at certain locations as shown.

1.106    Crucero station. Passing track washed out. Signals and interlocking plant badly damaged. Tonopah and Tidewater crosses our line at this location. Pictures indicate the line washed out for at this location. Pictures indicate that line washed out for distance of approximately five miles.

1.107    Indicating yard tracks at Crucero, east of station. Secondary tracks badly damages by flood waters.

1.108    Mile post 206-208.5, embankment washed out and track dropped about five feet at various locations within limits of mileposts as shown.

1.109    Milepost 106-208.5 , same as above.

1.110    Milepost 208.5 embankment washed out for 200 feet and track dropped five feet. No bridge existed at this location.

1.111    Showing conditions through Dry Lake between Roach and Borax.

1.112    View shows Moapa station in the distance. Picture was taken with the view of determining condition of bridge 381.53. View indicates no damage done at that location.

1.113    Pile bridge at Milepost 7.71, St. Thomas Branch, will require new structure to place this track in operation.

1.114    Indicates bridge washed out between Milepost 9 and 10 on ST. Thomas Branch.

1.115    Picture indicates Rox Station

1.116    Hoyo Gravel Pit. Picture indicates no damage done at that location

1.117    Vicinity milepost 439.33 indicating location of washed out track for distance of several hundred feet which was located on 12 foot fill.

1.118    Elgin station. Main track washed out at three different locations for a distance of approximately 200 feet each.

1.119    Milepost 441.8 Bridge abutment washed out at this location together with 20 foot fill for distance one rail length.

1.120    Pioche Branch. Vicinity milepost 12.5, washed in and track covered with debris at numerous locations for distance of two and one-half miles.

1.121    Vicinity of Delmues, Pioche branch, embankment washed away from end of ties for distance of 1000 feet. Several smaller washouts indicated in upper center photo.

1.122    Pioche Branch. Vicinity of Delmues. Track washed out at various locations and covered with debris at other locations as shown.

1.123    Between Islen and Barclay, indicates embankment supporting main track washed out for several hundred feet.

1.124    Washout of several hundred feet of main track one mile east of Barclay, Milepost 479.6
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Main Line-Daggett to Baxter

1.125    Bridge 160.39 over Mojave River between Daggett and Yermo.

1.126    Same as above.

1.127    Same as above. (different view)

1.128    Bridge 191.19 over Mojave River immediately West of Afton.

1.129    Same as above

1.130    Bridge 191.19 over Mojave River immediately West of Afton.

1.131    Same as above. (different view)

1.132    Bridge 191.19 over Mojave River immediately West of Afton.

1.133    Same as above. (different view)

1.134    Bridge 191.19 over Mojave River immediately West of Afton.

1.135    Same as above

1.136    Bridge 191.19 over Mojave River immediately West of Afton.

1.137    Same as above. (different view)

1.138    Bridge 191.19 over Mojave River immediately West of Afton.

1.139    Bridge 190.90 and embankment washed away between this bridge and milepost 192.00 in station ground at Afton.

1.140    Same as above, different view.

1.141    Bridge 192.27 and west portal of tunnel No.1 east of Afton. Photo 1.144 who's upper limits of high water through the tunnel No. 1 Approximate height of high water at west portal of this tunnel was 8 feet above top of rail.

1.142    Same as above, different view.

1.143    Same

1.144    Bridge 192.27 and west portal of tunnel No.1 east of Afton. Photo 1.144 who's upper limits of high water through the tunnel No. 1 Approximate height of high water at west portal of this tunnel was 8 feet above top of rail.

1.145    Showing debris passing through tunnel No.1 at Afton and damage done to embankment immediately east of east portal of tunnel No.1 , at Milepost 192.34

1.146    Same as above, different view.

1.147    Same as above.

1.148    Shows damage done to railroad embankment between east portal tunnel No.1 Milepost 192.34 and Mile post 192.70.

1.149    Same as above, different view.

1.150    Looking West from Milepost 193.70

1.151    Looking West from Milepost 193.70

1.152    Same as above, different view.

1.153    Shows damage done to embankment at Mile post 194.44 where block signal 1944 was located and which is now in stream bed opposite Milepost 194.56

1.154    Showing embankment at Milepost 196.00 where waters from Mojave River overflowed embankment and tracks, West of Baxter.

1.155    Same as above, different view.

1.156    Showing condition of road bed and bridge 196.12 immediately west of Baxter. Portions of steel girders from bridge 196.12 can be seen under driftwood in right foreground.

1.157    Showing condition of road bed and bridge 196.12 immediately west of Baxter. Portions of steel girders from bridge 196.12 can be seen under driftwood in right foreground.

1.158    Showing damage done to embankment and bridge across the Mojave River on lime quarry spur at Baxter.

1.159    Same as above, different view

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Main Track-Las Vegas to Caliente

1.160    Showing damage done to embankment and bridge across the Mojave River on Lime Quarry spur at Baxter.

1.161    Showing damage to embankment and track structure at MP 410.00 between Galt and Vigo.

1.162    Same as above, different view.

1.163    Showing damage to embankment and track structure at MP 410.00 between Galt and Vigo.

1.164    Showing damage to embankment and track structure at MP 410.00 between Galt and Vigo.

1.165    Showing damage done to embankment and track structure and construction of shoo-fly at MP 416.50 between Vigo and Carp.

1.166    Same as above, different view.

1.167    Showing damage done to embankment and track structure and construction of shoo-fly at MP 416.50 between Vigo and Carp.

1.168    Same as above, different view.

1.169    Showing damage done to embankment and track structure and construction of shoo-fly at MP 416.50 between Vigo and Carp

1.170    Same as above, different view.

1.171    Showing condition of center pier of Bridge No. 419.30, just east of Carp.

1.172    Showing condition of center pier of Bridge No. 419.30, just east of Carp.

1.173    Same as above, different view.


Return to Top
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Main line-Las Vegas to Caliente

1.174    Showing condition of Bridge No. 419.30, just east of Carp

1.175    Showing condition of Bridge No. 419.30, just east of Carp

1.176    Remains of Leith bunkhouse in foreground and section foreman's house and bunkhouse in background, surrounded by debris deposited by Meadow Valley Creek opposite MP 429.64

1.177    Showing damage done to embankment and trackage structure at MP 430.00, east of Leith.

1.178    Condition of embankment and track structure west of Bridge No. 430.19, east of Leith.

1.179    Condition of embankment and track structure west of Bridge No. 430.19, east of Leith.

1.180    Showing damage done to embankment and track structure at MP 442.70 between Elgin and Boyd.

1.181    Same as above different view.

1.182    Same.

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Main Line-Carp to Crestline

1.183    Bridge 419.30 at Carp.

1.184    Bridge 419.30 at Carp.

1.185    Same as above.

1.186    Milepost 439.39 , 1 mile east of Elgin showing 100 yards of track damaged.

1.187    Milepost 442.4 east of Tunnel No. 5, 150 yards of track damaged.

1.188    Milepost 442.7 Tracks undermined for approximately 75 feet; depth 50 feet.

1.189    Same as above , different view.

1.190    Milepost 447.89 Maintenance wall broken.

1.191    Washout one milepost east of Caliente showing how track has been shifted.

1.192    Washout approximately 300 feet in length one mile post east of Caliente. Track in wash.

1.193    East end of bridge 462.38

1.194    Looking east at Minto washout.

1.195    Looking west at Minto washout.

1.196    Break in rail at Minto due to strain from 175 yards washout 20 feet deep.

1.197    Debris at east portal of Tunnel no. 13

1.198    East of bridge at east end of Tunnel No. 13.

1.199    Shows washout at end of bridge extending 250 yards to undermined section.

1.200    250 feet of track undermined 200 yards west of Tunnel No. 13.

1.201    Same as above.

1.202    Bridge 468.06

1.203    Bridge 469.0 Track undermined for 175 feet.

1.204    Same as above.

1.205    Bridge 469.0 Track undermined and signal destroyed.

1.206    Milepost 470.0 Track undermined above maintenance wall.

1.207    Bridge 471.28 50 feet undermined near bridge.

1.208    Bridge 471.74 Tracks undermined for 175 feet.

1.209    Bridge 471.74 Tracks undermined for 175 feet.

1.210    Milepost 472.0 Showing track washed out and repairs in progress. Track shifted.

1.211    West of Tunnel No. 14

1.212    East of Tunnel No. 14 200 feet washed out.

___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


St. Thomas Branch

1.213    Bridge 6.83, looking north from hill-top at Milepost 7, showing remaining piling; decking has been swept down-stream about a mile.

1.214    Bridge 6.83, looking west from hill-top.

1.215    Bridge 6.83, taken from west bank of Muddy.

1.216    Bridge 6.83, view from north approach, looking down branch.

1.217    Bridge 7.75; 12-span pile bridge with decking washed down-stream about 500feet. Grade still in place for approximately 300feet, but ties and rail visible to left.

1.218    Bridge 7.75; looking downstream , showing decking from Bridge 6.83 in foreground. Decking from Bridge 7.75 in background, down-stream.

1.219    Bridge 7.75, looking downstream from south bank of Muddy.

1.220    Bridge 7.75, looking north (toward Moapa) from south bank of the Muddy.

1.221    From hill-top above Bridge 7.75 showing decking from this bridge 300 feet down-stream, at foot of hill, in horse-shoe shape.

1.222    From point of rock looking down stream at Bridge 7.75, showing debris and decking from Bridge 6.83 in foreground. From point of rock looking down-stream at Bridge 7.75, showing washed out trackage in background, at foot of hill across the Muddy.

1.223    From point of rock looking down-stream at Bridge 7.75, showing washed out trackage in background, at foot of hill across the Muddy.


Return to Top