You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0294
Tomiyasu Collection

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Tomiyasu Family
0001    Tomiyasu Farm, Las Vegas, Nevada, 1923. Lettuce patch. L-R; Kiyo, Bill,
            and Nanyu Tomiyasu. Pioneering farmer Bill Tomiyasu provided much of the fresh
            vegetables for Las Vegas and the surrounding area from the 1910s to the 1940s.
            (Kiyo and Nanyu were his children.)
0002    L-R: Nanyu, Kiyo, Uwamie, Mamie; Yoshiko (cousin), rear, next to car. Taken at the
            Tomiyasu Family Farm, Las Vegas, Nevada. (c. 1920s) The farm was 160 acres.
0003    Yonema "Bill" Tomiyasu with sons Nanyu (left) and Kiyo (right). (c. 1920s)
0004    Yonema "Bill" Tomiyasu, taken in California, 1908-10.
0005    Mimi Tomiyasu, daughter of Yonema "Bill" Tomiyasu.
0006    Kawamura, maternal grandfather of the Tomiyasu children.
0007    To celebrate the first birthday of their youngest child in December 1924, the Tomiyasus posed for this family portrait.
            The adults, left to right, are Yonema and Toyono Tomiyasu and Toyono's sister, Shimayo Nagamatsu.
            Children, left to right: Maymi, baby Uwami, Kiyo, and Nanyu Tomiyasu and their cousin, Yoshiko Nagamatsu.
0008    Yonema "bill" Tomiyasu (right). Man at left unidentified.
0009    Tomiyasu children, left to right: Kiyo, Mimi (baby), Nanyu, with their aunt. (1923)
0010    Ranch hand Shigemura stands with the boss, Yonema Tomiyasu (standing, at right). Tomiyasu's wife Toyono is seated with
            one-year old son Nanyu on her lap. (1920)


Tomiyasu Farm
0011    Indian workers on the Tomiyasu farm. (1920s?)
0012    Wheat fields on the Tomiyasu property, west side of Pecos Road. (1925)
0013    "Limping" Jack Holmes, a Shoshone Indian who worked on the farm. (1927-28)
0014    First Paradise Valley District School, at Escondido and Warm Springs Road. This one-room schoolhouse was attended by
            the Tomiyasu children. (early 1930s)
0015    Machinery which generated power for the Tomiyasu home.
0016    Water wheel on the Tomiyasu farm. It was used for about 10 years in the 1930s and stood six feet tall.
0017    Pump engine used on the Tomiyasu Farm in the 1930s.
0018    Chicken coop on the Tomiyasu farm. It housed 12,000 chickens.
0019    View of the Tomato fields on the Tomiyasu farm. Cabins can be seen in the distance below the trees.
0020    Turkeys were raised on the Tomiyasu farm in the 1930s. The farm was at Paradise and Warm Springs Road. They raised
            6,000 turkeys per year.
0021    Field of lettuce - Tomiyasu Farm - 1930s.
0022    Tomiyasu tree farm - elm trees. 3 years old. (1951)


Miscellaneous
0023    Moapa Valley.
0024    Fremont Street, looking west, between 3rd and 4th Streets. (1930s)


Tomiyasu Family
0025    A portrait of the Tomiyasu family. The man in the middle (with a beard) is Kawamura, the maternal grandfather of
            the Tomiyasu children Ca. 1920s.
0026    A portrait of the Tomiyasu children Kiyo and Mimi Ca. 1920s.
0027    George Goto holding the Japanese flag at Clark High School during the 1st Annual International Language Fair;
            hosted by Clark County School District. “Goto, President of the Las Vegas Chapter of the Japanese American Citizen
            League [JACL], is very active in the community”. June 1991.
0028    The Japanese gardens outside of the Tomiyasu Elementary School in Las Vegas, Nevada. The gardens were designed by
            George Goto Ca. 1990s.
0029    The Bill Yonema Tomiyasu Elementary School in Las Vegas, Nevada Ca. 1990s.
0030    A portrait of Yonema “Bill” Tomiyasu and (presumably) his wife Toyono Ca. early 1900s.
0031    A lettuce patch, part of the Tomiyasu Farm in Las Vegas, Nevada 1923. Yonema “Bill” Tomiyasu is pictured with his
            children Kiyo (left) and Nanyu (right). The Tomiyasu farm provided much of the fresh vegetables for Las Vegas
            from the 1910s to 1940s.
0032    The Tomiyasu children at the Paradise School, an integrated elementary school in Las Vegas, Nevada. The teacher is
            Lillian Gentry. The first three children from left to right in the back row are: Kiyo Tomiyasu, Nanyu Tomiyasu, and
            Natalie Mitchell. The first three children from left to right in the front row are: Uwamie, Maymie, and
            Yoshiko Nagamatsu Ca. 1928-1929.
0033    “A meeting called by the Salvation Army. They would solicit funds by putting on a movie and then ask for money.
            Location: compound of the Japanese community center established by the LA, SL, and San Pedro Railroad Company.
            The compound housed 20 families, about 75-100 people. The current location is where City Hall is now located.
            Ca. 1927-1928”. First row from left to right: Henry Sakai, Frank Sakai, Nanyu Tomiyasu, ?, ?, Murata, Murata, ?,
            Kiyo Tomiyasu, ?, ?, Alice Sakai, Uwamie, ?, Mabel Sakai. Second row from left to right: Otohei Nasu, ?, Karasu Maru,
            next two from the Salvation Army, Tom Sakai, Mr. Enomoto, Tom Tomiyasu, Maymie, Mrs. Tom Sakai. Third row from
            left to right: Mrs. Enomoto (George’s mother), after the Salvation Army women, ?, Mrs. Nasu,
            Mrs. Toyono Tomiyasu. Fourth row: Mr. Murata (3rd man), Mr. Sayano (2nd from the right), and Mrs. Murata.
0034    A close up of 0294 0033. “A meeting called by the Salvation Army. They would solicit funds by putting on a movie and
            then ask for money. Location: compound of the Japanese community center established by the LA, SL, and San Pedro
            Railroad Company. The compound housed 20 families, about 75-100 people. The current location is where City Hall
            is now located. Ca. 1927-1928”. First row from left to right: Henry Sakai, Frank Sakai, Nanyu Tomiyasu, ?, ?,
            Murata, Murata, ?, Kiyo Tomiyasu, ?, ?, Alice Sakai, Uwamie, ?, Mabel Sakai. Second row from left to right:
            Otohei Nasu, ?, Karasu Maru, next two from the Salvation Army, Tom Sakai, Mr. Enomoto, Tom Tomiyasu, Maymie,
            Mrs. Tom Sakai. Third row from left to right: Mrs. Enomoto (George’s mother), after the Salvation Army women, ?,
            Mrs. Nasu, Mrs. Toyono Tomiyasu. Fourth row: Mr. Murata (3rd man), Mr. Sayano (2nd from the right), and Mrs. Murata.



Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections