Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0023
Tonopah-Goldfield Collection

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


(additional photos still housed in albums)


Goldfield, Nevada



0001    Goldfield, Nevada , 1903

0002    Main Street, Goldfield, Nevada-1904

0003    Mines in Goldfield, Nevada: Florence, Jumbo, Columbia, Tunnel of Band Goldfield Mining company Goldfield Oro Mining Co.



Tonopah, Nevada

0004    Tonopah, Nevada 1901

0005    First Water in Tonopah, Nevada-1902

0006    Golden Block, Tonopah, Nevada-1902

0007    Fraternal Order of Eagles Parade, July 4, 1903-Tonopah, Nevada

0008    Christening the Tonopah Railroad, July 25, 1904

0009    Queen of the Tonopah Railroad Carnival, July 25, 1904

0010    Tonopah Railroad Carnival float, July 25, 1904

0011    Carson & Colorado (C&C)car/ wagons in Tonopah, Nevada

0012    Band in parade-Tonopah Nevada

0013    Tonopah Volunteer Fire Department(?)

0014    5-photo panorama of Tonopah, Nevada- 1904

0015    5-photo panorama of Tonopah, Nevada- 1904

0016    5-photo panorama of Tonopah, Nevada- 1904

0017    5-photo panorama of Tonopah, Nevada- 1904

0018    5-photo panorama of Tonopah, Nevada- 1904

0019    Drilling contest in Tonopah, Nevada

0020    Drilling contest during railroad carnival)

0021    Tonopah Railroad locomotive wreck

0022    Tonopah State in front of Lothrop and Davis General Merchandise Store

0023    Goldfield ore ready for shipment at Tonopah Freight yard

0024    Barrel house

0025    Interior of mine - Tonopah or Goldfield, Nev. (c. 1904) (Photo by E.W. Smith)

0026    Combination Mine (c. 1904) (Photo by E.W. Smith)

0027    Stope, January lease. (interior of mine shaft) (Photo by E.W. Smith, 1904)

0028    Velvet Shaft No. 1, Goldfield, Nevada. (Photo by E.W. Smith, c. 1904)

0029    January lease, Goldfield, Nev. (c. 1904) (Photo by E.W. Smith)

0030    Miner's dugout, Tonopah or Goldfield area. (c. 1904)



0023    TONOPAH-GOLDFIELD ALBUM



(additional photos still housed in albums)

Tonopah, Nevada (cont.)

0031    C&C "Esmeralda". Better view of occupants and wagon appears in Lady in Boomtown by Mrs. Hugh Brown. (Palo Alto: American West Publishing Col, 1968) (Photo by E.W.Smith)

0032    Tonopah yards showing C&C passenger train locomotive, coach, and "Esmeralda".



Identifications made by Dave Coons, 1983


p. 11    Carson &Colorado RR business car "Esmeralda" showing above wagons

p.14,15 Belle pepper at driving of the spike on narrow gauge Tonopah RR.

p. 39    Loading ore at Tonopah on Tonopah RR boxcar. On right is C&C boxcar


NOTE: Coons mistakenly assigns the following to: TONOPAH-GOLDFIELD ALBUM 2, BUT THERE IS ONLY ONE TONOPAH-GOLDFIELD ALBUM. HOPEFULLY COONS' REFERENCE WILL BE INDENTIFIED.



TONOPAH-GOLDFIELD ALBUM 2, unmarked



p.4.1    Old right of way Las Vegas & Tonopah RR between Beatty and Rhyolite; notice RR ties off to the left.

p.9.1    Southern pacific Railroad train at Hazen, NV. About time of building of Hazen cutoff to Mina , NV. ( This is probably photo of Stephen Powell Albums, p.19.1)

p.21.2    Probably at Hazen on SPRR; McKeen car shows to left.

p.40.9    V&T No.1 at Reno.

p.41.3    Pullman cars at Reno.

p.41.5    Pullman cars at Reno.

p.41.10    SPRR right of way

p.41.12    V&T right of way.