Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0322
Thomson, Joe

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


*** This collection consists of slides.

0001    Two unidentified girls who are hostesses for the Mermaid Casino on the corner of First and Fremont Streets, Las Vegas, NV. (2001)

0002    Two unidentified girls who attended a one-room school house located on Second Street within Clark's Las Vegas Townsite. This is part of a class photo that included the 5th thru 8th grades. The teacher was Mrs. Schultz (1905-1906)

0003    Unidentified building under construction in the downtown area of Las Vegas NV. The view is looking south on Second Street. (Dec. 200)

0004    A portion of the downtown area in Las Vegas as it appeared in 1906. The view is looking west toward the San Pedro, Los Angeles & Salt Lake Railroad Depot in the background. The buildings in foreground are a drugstore and a laundry.

0005    A dwelling located at 604 South Fourth Street, Las Vegas, NV. This is an original railroad employee cottage built between 1909 and 1911 by the Las Vegas Land and Water Company for employees of the railroad. At the time of this documentation only 11 of the original 64 railroad cottages remained. (2001)

0006    An original railroad cottage, view looking east to the corner of Third and Clark Street. It was located at 629 South 3rd Street within Clark's Las Vegas Townsite. (see #0005) (1910)

0007    The interior of a hotel/casino (unidentified) in the downtown area of Las Vegas. The casino patrons are seated at a bank of video poker machines. (Dec. 31, 2000)

0008    Gamblers in the interior of the Arizona Club in Clark's Las Vegas Townsite. Located on North First Street, it was the premiere
gambling hall in the townsite. This was the second version of the Arizona Club, built right next to the original. On the left edge of the image is Wyatt Earp. (1905-1910)

0009    An unidentified family standing by the entrance to the Golden Nugget Hotel. The Golden Nugget is located in the downtown area of the city of Las Vegas. (Dec. 31, 2000)

0010    A National Ice Company wagon sitting in front of Thomas Department Store. The store was located on the west corner of Fremont and First Streets, Las Vegas NV. People are unidentified. (early 1900s)

0011    View of the hotel towers of the Golden Nugget Hotel/Casino, Las Vegas, NV. The view is facing northwest from Third Street. (2000)

0012    Hotel Nevada, on the corner of main and Fremont Streets, within Clark's Las Vegas Townsite. When constructed, the Hotel Nevada was the largest building in the Las Vegas Valley. (early 1900s)

0013    The Las Vegas Club located on the north corner of First and Fremont Streets in the downtown area of the city of Las Vegas. At the top of the image is part of the structure for the Fremont Street Experience. (Dec. 31, 2000)

0014    The San Pedro, Los Angeles and Salt Lake Depot with a Las Vegas sign on the side. This railroad car was used as the original depot and ticket office until the permanent depot was constructed. Both depots were located west of Main Street, west of Clark's Las Vegas Townsite. (early 2900s)



0322    JOE THOMSON COLLECTION



*** This collection consists of slides.

0015    Pedestrian traffic on Fremont Street, Las Vegas. In the background is the Golden Gate Casino located on the south side of Fremont Street. Individuals are not identified. (Dec. 31, 2000)

0016    Two men sitting on top of a boat (the "Lizzie Wait"); the boat is on their wagon. Man on the edge of the wagon is Henry Lutz; driving the wagon is Earl Rockwell. The boy on the burro is Pinky Wait. The group is taking the boat to Colorado. Photo taken from within Clark's Las Vegas Townsite between 1906 and 1909.

0017    An unidentified hostess at an exterior entrance to a casino on Fremont Street, Las Vegas. (Dec. 31, 2000)

0018    Children with their teacher in front of the first schoolhouse located at Second and Lewis Streets in Clark's Las Vegas Townsite. The children are in the 4th grade and under. (early 1900s)

0019    Fremont Street in the downtown area of Las Vegas. (Dec. 31, 2000) At the top of the image is the light canopy for the Fremont Street Experience. The view is looking north and includes the Glitter Gulch, a nightclub located between First Street and Casino Center Boulevard, and the Las Vegas Club Hotel/Casino on the corner of First and Fremont Streets. At the end of Fremont Street, visible on the left side, is the Union Plaza Hotel/Casino.

0020    Fremont Street within Clark's Las Vegas Townsite. The view is looking north and includes the Las Vegas Pharmacy and the First State Bank at the corner of First and Fremont Streets. (1906-07?)

0021    Exterior of the Glitter Gulch nightclub located on Fremont Street in the downtown area of the City of Las Vegas. (Dec. 31, 2000)

0022    The Episcopal Church located on Second and Carson Streets within Clark's Las Vegas Townsite (1900-1910)