Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0192
Cannon, Howard W.

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


The following photos were included in the Manuscript Collection donated to the James Dickinson Library on January 21, 1983. The Howard W. Cannon Senatorial papers can be found in MSS 2. The photographs were removed from the Manuscript Collection to be included in the Department Photograph Collection.

The photographs are divided into three sections. The first contains photos which have been identified and are dated. The second section is comprised of photos that are identified but have not been dated. The last section contains photos which have no identification and are not dated. This last section of photographs is being retained and preserved because they document the life and record of Howard W. Cannon. They are of value in this respect and will hopefully be identified one day.

Events

0001    Inauguration of President Jimmy Carter, January 20, 1977.
0002    Chief Justice Warren, Mrs. Carter, Sen. Cannon, President Carter, January 20, 1977, in inaugural ceremony.

People

0003    Senators Cannon and Laxalt with Nevada Associated General Contractors, Washington. May 19, 1975.
0004    Sec. Of Education Bell; Harley Dirks, Appro. Comm; Congressman Santini.
0005    Sen. Cannon with West Point cadets, April 30, 1971.
0006    Sen. Cannon, Alan Bible, and military officers, Fallon, NV, October 4, 1964.
0007    Senator Cannon with Southern Nevada Homebuilders, Washington D.C., November 5, 1969.
0008    Senator Cannon, Senator Case and Senator Dodd, at Edwards AFB briefing.
0009    Senator Cannon with Astronauts Grissom, Sheppard, and Glenn in Washington.
0010    Senators Bible and Cannon with Secretary of State Swackhammer. December 1, 1971.
0011    Senator Howard Cannon, Gov. O'Callaghan, Sec. Of State William Swackhammer.
0012    Rep. Santini, Miss Nevada 1975, and Sen. Cannon, September 9, 1975.
0013    Miss Cherry Blossom 1969, with Congressman Walter Baring, and Sen. Cannon and Sen. Bible. April 1, 1969.
0014    Cannon Family in Washington D.C.
0015    Cannon Family, Washington D.C.
0016    Senator Cannon and Apollo 15 astronauts.
0017    Senators Thurmond, Cannon and Goldwater.
0018    Senator Cannon, receiving a painting of Princess Winnemucca. September 20, 1971.
0019    Senator Cannon tallying returns to a questionnaire, July 26, 1967.


0192    HOWARD W. CANNON COLLECTION

People (cont.)

0020    Dorothy Cannon and General Ryan.
0021    Major General R.G. Taylor, Sen. Cannon, and Lt. Col. Randall.
0022    Sen. Cannon briefs flying F-16 at Paris Air Show.
0023    Sen. Cannon receives honorary degree from UNLV Pres. Roman Zorn.
0024    Gen. David Jones, Sen. Cannon, and Col. Frank Krebs.
0025    Sen. Cannon signs log after check out in F-86 a/c.
0026    Sen. Cannon after receiving 2nd star.
0027    W.E. Carson, Dir. Of Economic Development for state of Nevada, congratulates Sen. Cannon.
0028    Mr. Lydia Piscovitch, State Comm. Health Planner, visits Sen. Cannon. March 5, 1969.
0029    Sen. Cannon, and Greg Corn, intern. May 22, 1969.
0030    Gerald Ford and Sen. Cannon November 2, 1973.
0031    Sen. Cannon and Vice President Mondale.
0032    Sen. Cannon and intern Brian Greenspun. June 9, 1971.
0033    John C. Sanhill, FEO Admin., and Sen. Cannon, March 1974.
0034    Sec. of Transportation Wm. Coleman and Sen. Cannon. Jan. 28, 1975.
0035    Jim Beggs, Admin. Of NASA and Sen. Cannon. December 17, 1982.
0036    Maj/Gen. Homer Lewis and Sen. Cannon.
0037    Nelson Rockefeller and Sen. Cannon. September 26, 1974.
0038    Sen. Cannon, posing in office.
0039    Senator Cannon (portrait)
0040    Senator Cannon.
0041    Sen. Cannon receiving National Aviation Clubs Man of the Year Award.
0042    Sen. Cannon on Sunrise, the Senator's palomino. Note: fine-tooled, silver trimmed saddle.
0043    Sen. Cannon and Brett on Sunrise. Note: fine-tooled, silver trimmed saddle.
0044    Sunrise. Note: fine-tooled, sliver trimmed saddle.

1950-1958

0045    Howard W. Cannon (third from left), Las Vegas City Attorney, is pictured with other city officials. Left to right are R.W. Notti, Asst. City Manager; A.H. Kennedy, City Manager; Cannon; Shirley Ballinger, City Clerk; C.D. Baker, Mayor of Las Vegas. E.W. Fountain, Reed Whipple, Harris P. Sharp, and Wendell Bunker, Commissioners. Ca. 1950-58.

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

1959

0046    Howard W. Cannon (HWC) being sworn into office as U.S. Senator by Richard M. Nixon. 1/59.
0047    HWC with three others. 2/59
0048-73 HWC, along with Senator Alan Bible, toured Andrews AFB; Headquarters, Strategic Air Command; Headquarters Air Research and Development Command; Astronautics Division of Convair, San Diego, CA; Air Force Ballistic Missile Headquarters; X-15 Test Facility at Los Angeles, CA. March 4-7, 1959.
0074    HWC at opening of new cafeteria, U.S. Senate restaurant. 3/59
0075-78 HWC's visit to the U.S. Naval Air Test Center, Patuxent River, MD. 4/59
0079    HWC addresses the World Congress of Flight held in Las Vegas.
0080    The many uses to which flight simulators can be put are being discussed here by Senator Stephen Young (Ohio), Mr. J.C. Burrett, Factory Representative, and Senator Howard W. Cannon. This exhibit was featured at the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0081    The B-58 Hustler, the world's first supersonic bomber, was one of the many first line Air Force planes inspected by HWC on his visit to the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0082    Landing lights to illuminate the runway ahead of the Air Force's supersonic B-58 bomber, called the Hustler, are being explained to Senator Stephen Young (Ohio), left, by Senator Howard W. Cannon, right, during the Senators' participation visit to the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0083    General Curtis E. LeMay, Vice Chief of Staff, United States Air Force, extreme right, discusses highlights of his speech on "Space Age Requirements" with Senators Howard W. Cannon, left, and Stephen Young (Ohio), center, following completion of his formal remarks during the first session of the Jet Age Conference at the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0084    Missile capabilities of the Unites States Air Force were major items of consideration by Senator Stephen Young (Ohio), left, and HWC, during their inspection of aerospace weapons at the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0085 Similar shot of above. See photos 79-112.
0086    The many uses to which flight simulators can be put are being discussed here by HWC, left, Mr. M.C. Burrett, Factory Representative, center, and Senator Stephen Young (Ohio), right. This exhibit was featured at the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

1959

0087    This example of new aircraft being developed under a program to modernize civilian and military air transport facilities was observed with interest by HWC, left, and Senator Stephen Young at the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0088    HWC, left, and experienced fighter pilot in the Air Force Reserves explains the fine points of high speed flight to Senator Stephen Young (Ohio) as the two look over a mock-up of the X-15 experimental manned space vehicle at the exhibit area of the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0089    Seen emerging from the access door to the Atlas ICBM are, left to right, HWC and Senator Stephen Young (Ohio). This first line aerospace weapon of the United States Air Force was among the many weapon systems featured in the exhibit area of the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0090    HWC, left, an experienced fighter pilot in the Air Force Reserves, explains the fin points of high speed flight to Senator Stephen Young (Ohio) as the two look over a mock-up of the X-15 experimental manned space vehicle at the exhibit area of the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0091    HWC gets a close-up view of the control system for the mock-up X-15 experimental manned space vehicle at the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0092    Possible military uses for space vehicles are being considered here by HWC during his inspection of aerospace weapons on exhibit at the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0093    HWC and Senator Stephen Young (Ohio) enter the access door of the Atlas ICBM exhibit during the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0094    HWC looks over the Air Force's supersonic interceptor, the F-104 Star Fighter, in the exhibit area of the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0095    HWC is being photographed during his inspection of the Air Force's first supersonic bomber, the B-58 Hustler, at the exhibit area of the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0096    HWC observes special features of the landing gear apparatus on the B-58 Hustler in the exhibit area at the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0097    HWC inspects the intake on one of the powerful J-79 engines on the Air Force's B-58 Hustler at the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0098    Methods for using high speed computers in solving problems of navigation are explained here to HWC and Senator Stephen Young (Ohio), left to right, by H.R. Massey, a North American exhibitor, in the display area of the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

1959 (cont.)

0099    HWC and Sen. Stephen Young (Ohio), second and third from left, confer with General Curtis E. LeMay, extreme left, and Mr. Edward P. Curtis, General Chairman of the World Congress of Flight, extreme right, following General LeMay's speech on Jet Age Requirements at the opening session of the Jet Age Conference during the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0100    J.F. Waters, Lockheed representative, explains design and performance characteristics of the Lockheed jet transport JET-STAR to Senator Stephen Young (Ohio) and HWC in the exhibit area of the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0101    HWC examines the Air Force's first supersonic strategic bomber, the B-58 Hustler, in the exhibit area of the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0102    HWC and Sen. Stephen Young (Ohio), left to right, inspect supersonic interceptors featured among the Air Force exhibits at the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0103    HWC inspects the Fairchild F-27 transport aircraft in the exhibit area of the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0104    HWC takes a close look at the X-15 experimental manned space craft in the exhibit area at the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0105    HWC examines the air intake on the powerful J-79 engine which supplies the thrust for the B-58 Hustler, the Air Force's first supersonic strategic bomber. This aircraft was featured among the exhibits at the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0106    HWC and Senator Stephen Young (Ohio), left to right, inspect supersonic interceptors featured among the Air Force exhibits at the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0107    Similar to above photo.
0108    HWC inspects the Fairchild F-27 transport aircraft in the exhibit area of the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0109    HWC examines a missile nose cone in the exhibit area of the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0110    HWC and Senator Stephen Young (Ohio), left to right, inspect supersonic interceptors featured among the Air Force exhibits at the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0111    Senator Stephen Young (Ohio), left, and HWC inspect the Air Force's supersonic fighter bomber, the F-105 Thunderchief, in the exhibit area of the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0112    HWC, right, with Wilbur Clark at the World Congress of Flight. See photos 79-112.
0113    HWC with John F. Kennedy. 8/59

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

1959 (continued)

0114    Hawaii's Senator Oren Long, left, and Representative Daniel Inouye, right, thank Nevada's Senator Cannon for Nevada's support in Hawaii's successful bid for statehood. Inouye is a famed World War II hero. 9/59
0115    HWC visits Indian Springs AFB, Nevada. 10/59
0116    HWC visits Indian Springs AFB, Nevada. 10/59
0117    HWC visits Indian Springs AFB, Nevada. 10/59
0118    HWC presents a flag to Dutch underground helpers. 1959
0119    HWC and Co. Crebs view the oil paintings of the two of them. See photo 120. 1959
0120    Original photo from which the painting being presented in previous photo is taken. Senator Cannon, right, and Col. Crebs are in the farmers' clothes they used in making their escape.

1959-1960

0121    HWC, left, questions a witness during Senate Commerce Committee hearings on proposed legislation dealing with the purchase of weapons through the mails. Also pictured second to fifth from left are William Beeks, Committee Counsel; Senator Ralph Yarborough of Texas; Senator Gale McGee of Wyoming; and Senator Philip Hart of Michigan. 1959-60.
0122    HWC. 1959-1960
0123    HWC with two others. 1959-60
0124    HWC with one other person in front of an aircraft. 1959-60
0125    HWC wearing flight gear with one other person. Andrews AFB, Washington D.C. 1959-60
0126    Similar shot of above.
0127    Similar shot of above.
0128    HWC with three other military personnel in front of aircraft. Andrews AFB, Washington D.C. 1959-60
0129    HWC seated in aircraft. Andrews AFB, Washington D.C. 1959-60

1960

0130    HWC, left, and Senator Clair Engle of California, are shown walking up the steps of the Capitol, for the opening of the second session of the 86th Congress. 1/60
0131    HWC, left, a member of the Senate Space Committee, is shown inspecting a duplicate model of the "Tiros" weather satellite. With Cannon, from left, are Sens. John Stennis (D-Miss.); Henry Jackson (D-Wash.); a committee consultant; Lyndon Johnson (D-Texas); and Stephen Young (D-Ohio). 4/60
0132    HWC visits Norair in Hawthorne, Cal., to inspect aircraft. 7/60
0133    Same as above.

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

1960 (continued).

0134    HWC visits Norair in Hawthorne, Cal., to inspect aircraft. 7/60
0135    Same as above.
0136    HWC, member of the Senate Space and Armed Services Committee, left, is shown with Lt. Gen. Bernard Schriever, head of Air Research and Development, as they inspect Discoverer XIII. 8/60
0137    Similar to above photo with an additional unidentified person on left. 8/60
0138    HWC during visit to England for briefing on the Seventh Air Division and Third Air Force at the U.S. Embassy. On left is Col. W.H. Erwin, Deputy Chief Staff, Intelligence, Third Air Force. 9/60
0139    HWC, third from left, is pictured with four others. From left are Gov. Grant Sawyer; Congressman Walter Baring; Cannon; W.P. Kennedy, President of Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen; Sen. Alan Bible. 11/60
0140    HWC during campaign. Left to right: Cannon, Pearl Osborn, Lou LaPorta, and Sam Weiman. 1960
0141    HWC during campaign. George Campbell, wife, and family are pictured with HWC. 1960

1961

0142    Members of the Nevada delegation are shown at inaugural reception which hosted numerous people. Left to right: Rep. Walter Baring; Cannon; Vice-President Lyndon B. Johnson; Sen. Alan Bible; Sen. George Aiken of Vermont; Sen. Leverett Saltonstall of Mass. 1/61
0143    Similar to above photo. Cannon; Bible; and to others are pictured. 1/61
0144    Similar to 141.
0145    HWC visits the San Diego Marine Corps Recruit Depot. 2/61
0146    Same as above.
0147    HWC visits the San Diego Marine Corps Recruit Depot. 2/61
0148    HWC visits the San Diego Marine Corps Recruit Depot. 2/61
0149    HWC visits the San Diego Marine Corps Recruit Depot. 2/61
0150    Brig. Gen. Barry Goldwater, Commander of 9999th Air Force Reserve Squadron addresses the first meeting of the newly activated Capitol Hill Squadron of the U.S. Air Force Reserve. Seated at General Goldwater's left are Col. Howard W. Cannon, Deputy Commander of the 9999th and Brig. Gen. F.L. Vidal, Commander of the 2nd Air Force Reserve Region. 2/61
0151    HWC discusses with Capt. Ed Hall the Convair 880 Superjet. 3/61
0152    HWC is congratulated by Lt. Gen. Bernard Schriever on Cannon's promotion to Brig. Gen. , USAFR. Cannon has more than 3,500 hours of military jet piloting and a mobilization assignment as Schriever's assistant in the Air Research & Development Command. 3/61
0153    Similar to above photo. 3/61


0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

1961 (continued)

0154    Similar to 152-3. Left to right: Strom Thurmond; Cannon; and Barry Goldwater. 3/61
0155    Similar to 152-4. Identified are left to right: Frank Church; unidentified; Sam Ervin; Strom Thurmond; Cannon; Goldwater; Stephen Young. 3/61
0156    Maj. Gen. Henry R. Sullivan, Jr., Commandant of Cadets at the U.S. Air Force Academy, and Cannon are at a meeting of the 9999th Air Reserve Squadron. Cannon is Brigadier General in the Air Force Reserve and is the Deputy Commander of the "Capitol Hill Squadron". 6/61
0157    HWC is pictured with other participants at the White House swearing-in ceremony for Gen. Curtis LeMay. President John F. Kennedy officiating. 7/61
0158    HWC congratulates General Curtis LeMay on being selected by the President to serve as Air Force Chief of Staff beginning June 30. See photo 157. 6/61
0159    HWC congratulates Lee Walker, a member of Cannon's staff, upon Walker's successful attainment of a master's degree from George Washington University. Walker was awarded his degree in public administration for a 130-page report on the changeover from federal to local control of Boulder City, Nev. 6/61
0160    HWC with Robert McNamara. See photos 161-2. 7/61
0161    HWC with Robert McNamara. See photos 160-2. 7/61
0162    HWC with Robert McNamara. See photos 160-1. 7/61
0163    HWC and Alan Bible, second and third from left, are shown at Straza Industries groundbreaking ceremony at McCarran Field, Oct. 14. Gov. Grant Sawyer is shown, second from right. 10/61
0164    HWC attends a dinner in his honor. Pictured l. to r., are: B.J. O'Keefe, Exec. Vice-President, Eastern Division, Edgerton, Germeshausen & Grier, Inc.; Cannon; Dr. Norris E. Bradbury, Director, Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory; Herbert Grier, Exec. Vice-President, Western Division, Edgerton, Germeshausen & Grier, Inc. 10/61
0165    HWV confers with Gen. Lauris Norstad, Commander-in-Chief of the U.S. European Command. 11/61
0166    Pictured left to right are: RADM I.J. Galantin; George A. Probasco Cannon; Edward R. Folsom. See photo 167. 11/61
0167    Pictured left to right are: HWC; Edward R. Folsom; RADM I.J. Galantin. See photo 166. 11/61
0168    HWC is welcomed to Maxwell AFB, Alabama by Lt. Gen. Walter E. Todd (center), Air University Command and Col. R.A. Reeve, Acting Commandant of Command & Staff College. Cannon delivered the graduation address to the Command & Staff College's 1961 Reserve Officer Orientation Course. See photos 168-71. 1961

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION


1961 (continued)


0169    HWC meets the press following an address to more than 300 USAF officers graduating from Air University's Command and Staff College Reserve Officer Orientation Course. Seated left to right are: Col. Chauncey B. Whitehead, Air University Information Chief; Cannon; and Lt. Gen. Walter E. Todd, Air University Commander. See photos 168-71. 1961
0170    HWC addresses the graduation class of Air University's 1961 Command Staff College Reserve Officer Orientation class. Seated behind Cannon is Col. Ralph A. Reeve, Acting Commandant of the college. See photos 168-71. 1961
0171    HWC meets the press following an address to more than 300 USAF officers graduating from Air University's Command and Staff College Reserve Officer Orientation course. Seated next to Cannon is Lt. Gen. Walter E. Todd, Air University Commander. See photos 168-70. 1961
0172    Sen. Mike Mansfield congratulates HWC as chairman of Privileges and Elections Subcommittee of the Rules Committee. 1961
0173    Senators Alan Bible and HWC welcome state delegates to the VFW Conference in Washington, D.C. Left to right are Steve Hernandez, Elko; Bible; Claude Shipley, Carson City; Cannon; and Leslie Fry of Reno. 1961-2.

1962

0174    Nevada Attorney General Roger Foley is welcomed by Sen. Olin D. Johnston (D-S.C.), who chaired the senate confirmation hearing on Foley's nomination to the federal bench in Nevada. Senators Alan Bible, left, and Cannon successfully fought for the second permanent federal judgeship in Nevada. 6/62
0175    RADM F.J. Brush, COM CAR DIV SIX, greets Brig. Gen. Cannon immediately following his landing at NAS Mayport. See photos 176-179. 6/62
0176    Pictured left to right are Capt. W.E. Clarke, C.O. USS Franklin D. Roosevelt; Cannon; and RADM F.S. Brush, COM CAR DIV SIX, during the arrival of members of the 9999th Congressional Squadron. See photos 175-179. 6/62
0177    HWC reviews the Marine honor guard during the 9999th Congressional Squadron Orientation cruise aboard the USS Franklin D. Roosevelt. See photos 175-179. 6/62
0178    RADM F.J. Brush, COM CAR DIV SIX, HWC, and W.E. Clarke watch as LCDR C.D. Wheeler cuts a cake to celebrate the 111,000th arresting gear landing, which he made aboard the USS F.D.R. See photos 175-179. 6/62
0179    CDR D.S. Mackay explains to Cannon the technique for use of the air brake in aircraft landing, during the 9999th Congressional Squadron Orientation cruise. See photos 175-178. 6/62

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

1962 (continued)

0180    HWC visits Langley AFB, Virginia, on 7/31/62, for briefings on the worldwide mission of TAC and a familiarization flight in the McDonnell F-110. See photos 181-182.
0181    HWC climbs ladder to TAC's McDonnell F-110 as Lt. Col. Jerry F. Hogue, Chief of TAC's Standardization and Evaluation School Division watches. See photos 180-82. 7/62
0182    HWC makes final adjustments to his oxygen mask prior to take-off in TAC's Mach 2 tactical fighter, McDonnell F-110. To the left of Cannon is test pilot W.F. Ross. See photos 180-181. 7/62
0183-186HWC visits Grumman Aircraft Engineering plant, Bethpage, Long Island, New York, to become acquainted with the company's aircraft. 8/62.
0187    Audrey Chambers, University of Nevada student who competed in the Miss America contest (right), is shown with HWC at a luncheon. At left is Mrs. Maxine Russell of Reno, chaperone. 9/62
0188    HWC is briefed on an Air Force Agena space launching facility by Maj. Gen. O.J. Ritland. General Ritland is Commander of the Air Force Space Systems Division in Los Angeles. 1962
0189    Lt. Gen. Howell M. Estes, Air Force Systems Command, Deputy Commander for Aerospace Systems in Los Angeles, briefs, left to right: Senators Cannon, Clifford P. Case (R-New Jersey), Winston L. Prouty (R-Vt.), Thomas J. Dodd (D-Conn.), and Mrs. Carter W. Bradley, Chief Clerk, Senate Committee on Aeronautical and Space Sciences. 1962
0190    HWC and Lt. Gen. Howell M. Estes, Air Force Systems Command, Deputy Commander for Aerospace Systems Command in Los Angeles, discuss an Atlas Agena space launching facility model. 1962

1963

0191    HWC shown with, left to right, Sen. Edmondsen, Secretary Zuckert and Jackie Cochran at Edwards AFB. 4/63
0192    HWC is shown with three others at Edwards AFB. 4/63
0193    HWC shaking hands with James J. Dworak, Mayor of Omaha, while Mayor Oran Gragson of Las Vegas watches. The event was a luncheon in Omaha of the Southern Nevada Industrial Foundation. 4/63
0194    HWC was the featured speaker at a banquet at the Tallyho Hotel of the 9626th Air Force Reserve Recovery Squadron on May 17, 1963. Pictured left to right are: Brig. Gen. F.L. Vidal, Lt. Col. Barney Rawlings, and Cannon.

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

1963 (CONT.)


0195    HWC presents the Vail Medal Awards to four employees of Nevada Bell, June 21, 1963. Pictured left to right are: Frank Reed, Lee Reed, HWC, Bill Curtis, and Kenneth Carpenter. Nevada Bell Vice-President and Gen. Mgr. Paul S. Garwood looks on.
0196    Similar to above photo.
0197    Senators Barry Goldwater and Cannon, left and right, are shown with Gen. Curtis E. LeMay, Air Force Chief of Staff. 6/63
0198    Senators Barry Goldwater and Cannon attend retirement dinner for Gen. Vidal at the Old Angus Beef House in Washington D.C., 9999th Air Force Reserve Squadron Dinner. 7/63
0199    HWC is shown with two others. 8/63
0200-
0205    HWC is shown with Mr. Carl Ardery, Republic Aviation Corporation's pilot of the new Republic F-105F. Ardery is demonstrating, the aircraft and procedures. 8/63
0206    HWC is seated in aircraft in flight gear. 8/63
0207    President John F. Kennedy visits Las Vega in September 1963. Kennedy is proceeding through the receiving line. See photos 208-13.
0208    Kennedy's visit to Las Vegas. Cannon is proceeding through receiving line. See photos 207-13. 9/63.
0209    Group shot taken during President Kennedy's visit to Las Vegas . Shown are, at left, Joe Foley; [Gov. Grant Sawyer]; Kennedy; Bible; Cannon. See photos 207-13. 9/63
0210    Kennedy's visit to Las Vegas. Senators Alan Bible and Cannon are on either side of Kennedy on stage. See photos 207-13. 9/63
0211    Similar to above photo. See photos 207-13. 9/63
0212    Pres. Kennedy, during visit to Las Vegas, is at podium on stage. Cannon is in background. See photos 207-13. 9/63
0213    Similar to above photo. Senators Alan Bible and Cannon are on either side of Kennedy on stage. See photos 207-212. 9/63
0214    HWC, Congressmen, and military leaders observe President John F. Kennedy sign official documents. See photo 215. 10/63
0215    Similar to above photo.
0216    HWC tours the Nevada Facility of North American Aviation. Left to right are Gov. Grant Sawyer; unident. .; Senators Alan Bible and Cannon. See photos 217-19. 10/63
0217    Similar to above photo. See photos 216-19. 10/63
0218    Touring the facility. See photos 216-19. 10/63
0219    Touring the facility. See photos 216-18. 10/63

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION
1963 (cont.)

0220    HWC congratulates retired Maj. Gen. Benjamin D. Foulois on becoming an honorary member of the Air Force Thunderbirds precision flying team stationed at Nellis AFB, Nevada. The presentation is made by HWC to Foulois, who flew with Orville Wright in 1909. See photos 221-22. 10/63
0221    Similar to above photo. See photos 220-22. 10/63
0222    Similar to above photo. See photos 220-21. 10/63
0223    HWC is shown with others. 1963
0224    HWC is shown with others. 1963
0225    HWC is being presented a Las Vegas Elks Helldorado button by two gentlemen. (1963)
0226    HWC is pictured with a gentleman. 1963
0227    HWC is pictured with a gentleman. 1963

1964

0228    HWC visits the Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio. Left to right are Cannon; Maj. Gen. R.G. Ruegg, Aeronautical Systems Division Commander (host); Col. R.A. Bellan, HQ AFSC (Escort); Mr. J. Conlan, Administrative Asst. to Cannon. 1/64
0229    Similar to above photo. 1/64
0230    Luncheon at Aeronautical Systems Division (ASD), Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio. Left to right are Col. M.B. Hammond, Director, Deputy for F-111, ASD; Col. R.A. Bellan, HQ AFSC (Escort); Brig. Gen. D.M. Jones, Vice Commander, ASD; Col. A.W. Cruikshank, Deputy Commander, Research & Technology Div (RTD); Mr. I.L. Schwartz, ASD Protocol Officer; Brig. Gen. A.J.Pierce, Commander, Foreign Technology Div (FTD); Cannon; Maj. Gen. R.G. Ruegg, ASD Commander; Mr. J. Conlan, Administrative Asst. to Cannon; Col. M.J. Akers, Asst. Deputy Commander, B-70, ASD. See photos 228-29. 1/64
0231    HWC, Alan Bible, and Walter Baring at the Nevada Centennial (1864-1964) display on the steps of the Capitol, Washington, D.C. See photos 232-33. 1/64
0232    Similar to above photo. See photos 231-33. 1/64
0233    Similar to above photo. See photos 231-32. 1/64
0234    HWC tries on his Nevada Centennial western boots, given to him by the State of Nevada Centennial Commission 1864-1964. 2/64
0235    HWC attends 9999th Air Force Reserve Squadron Dinner at Old Angus Beef House on April 27, 1964. Left to right are Col. Carey B. McCoy, Senior Advisor to the 9999th Air Force Squadron Reserve; Harry McAdams, Office of Rep. Young of Texas; Phil Carlson, House Govt. Operations Committee; David L. Batt, office of Rep. Waggonner of La.; Bill Seward Office of Senator Goldwater of Ariz.; Dick Denham, Radio WINX; Cong. Rogers Morton, Maryland; Cong. Clement Zablocki, Wisc.; Cong. James F. Battin, Mont.; Gen. Felix Vidal (Ret.), Martin Marietta Corp.; Col. Harvey Dorney, Chief of Staff, Second Air Force Reserve Region; John D. Stringer, Senate Labor Committee; Gene Krizek, State Dept. Standing are Ray Schweitzer, owner, Old Angus Restaurant; Cannon; Frank Scott, guest of Cannon; Cong. Joe Waggonner, LA.

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

1964 (continued)

0236    Visit of HWC to West Point, New York. Cannon is pictured with four unidentified cadets. 5/64
0237    HWC visits Stead AFB, Nevada. Col. Archer E. Lackey, Base Commander, greets Cannon upon his arrival. 5/64
0238    Similar to above photo. 5/64
0239    HWC in campaign shot with unidentified mother and baby. 9/64
0240    Cannon visits the Arnold Engineering Development Center. Brig. Gen. Lee V. Gossick, Center Commander, is at right of Cannon. See photos 241-43. 12/64
0241    Cannon visits the Arnold Engineering Development Center. HWC is being briefed on supersonic parachute test. Air Force Facility Representative Maj. Frank Williams is at center and Gossick is at left. See photos 240-43. 12/64
0242    HWC observes rocket test preparations at Arnold Center. Gossick is at left of Cannon. Air Force Facility Representative Maj. William Everett, on right, briefs Cannon. See photos 240-43. 12/64
0243    HWC leaves the Propulsion Wind Tunnel Laboratory at the Arnold Center. Accompanying him, left to right, are Williams; Gossick; Col. Jean A. Jack, AEDC, Deputy Chief of Staff/Test. See photos 240-42. 12/64

Wright Patterson AFB, Ohio

0244    HWC is greeted upon arrival at Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio, by Maj. Gen. H.C. Porter, Chief of Staff, Air Force Logistics Command, and Brig. Gen. T.S. Jeffrey, Jr., Deputy for Systems Management, Aeronautical Systems Div. See photos 245-51. 12/64.
0245    HWC views Boron activities at the AF materials Lab with Col. L.R. Standifer, left, and Dr. A.M. Lovelace during a visit to Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio. See photos 244-51. 12/64
0246    HWC views miniaturization samples in the AF Avionics Lab at Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio. Lt. Col. L.O. Carroll is demonstrating. See photos 244-51. 12/64
0247    Similar to above photo. See photos 244-51. 12/64
0248    HWC views the latest in Boron filament techniques in the AF Materials Lab at Wright-Patterson AFB Ohio. See photos 244-51. 12/64
0249    HWC views laser technology developments at the AF Avionics Lab at Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio. See photos 244-51. 12/64
0250    HWC at lunch with Mr. P.R. Murray, Director, AF Avionics Lab; Maj. Gen. C.H. Terhune, Jr., Comm., Aeronautical Systems Div.; and Col. J.O. Walker, Personnel Officer, Aeronautical Systems Div., during a visit to Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio. See photos 244-51. 12/64
0251    HWC is given a briefing on the mission of the AF Materials Lab by Maj.P.B. Fasules and Col. L.R. Standifer. See photos 244-51. 12/64

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio (continued)

0252    HWC visits the Air Force Missile Development Center at Holloman AFB, New Mexico. Lt. John Friel, Chief, Rocket Systems Section, Track Test Division, AFMDC, briefs Cannon on the new 300,000 pound thrust rocket sled engine which forms the backdrop. With HWC are, left to right, Col. Thomas E. Carson, Deputy for Guidance Tests; Col. Ralph S. Garman, Commander, AFMDC; and Col. R.A. Bellan, Asst. Chief, External Activities Division, Air Force Systems Command. See photos 253-54. 1964
0253    Reconnaissance photographs taken from a RF-4C aircraft during a recent test at Air Force Missile Development Center (AFMDC) are explained to HWC by Mr. Irv Burrows test pilot for McDonnell-Aircraft who is the contractor on the new aircraft. Looking on is Lt. Col. Irving Levin, chief of the Development Division, Deputy for Aircraft and Missile Test. Cannon visited the AFMDC at Holloman AFB, New Mexico. See photos 252-254. 1964
0254    HWC during a visit to Holloman AFB, New Mexico with two others. See photos 252-53. 1964
0255    HWC and colleagues of the Senate with President Harry F. Truman, on the occasion of his 80th birthday. 1964
0256    HWC is pictured with Donald LaVoy of Reno, who was the winner of the contest "Ability Counts" sponsored by the President's Committee on Employment of the Handicapped. LaVoy's uncle, Rev. Elwood J. LaVoy and John Lindsay, Veterans Employment representative for Nevada are also shown. 1964
0257    HWC is pictured with Darlene Beggerly, 1964 Betty Crocker Homemaker of Tomorrow from Nevada. 1964
0258    HWC is pictured with Maj. Ed Aldrin, NASA Astronaut. See photos 259-61. 1964
0259    HWC is pictured with Maj. Ed Aldrin, NASA Astronaut, at Jackass Flats. See photos 258-61. 1964
0260    Similar to above photo. 1964
0261    Left to right are Dr. P.W. Davidson, NERVA Test Operations; Dr. H.T. Knight, Los Alamos Scientific Laboratory; Maj. Ed Aldrin, NASA Astronaut; Cannon; Bob P. Helgeson, Chief, Space Nuclear Propulsion Office, are pictured at NRDS. See photos 258-60. 1964
0262    HWC and Senate Majority Leader Mike Mansfield of Montana meet to plan strategy to ensure that the silver dollars they are holding are joined by 150 million new silver dollars this year. 1964
0263    HWC is pictured with a group of unidentified persons. 1964
0264    HWC is pictured with a group of unidentified persons. 1964


0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

Wright-Patterson AFB, Ohio (continued)

1965

0265    HWC is pictured with a large group at the Old Angus Restaurant in Washington, D.C., for dinner. 3/65
0266    HWC is shown with Gen. Vidal, on right, during dinner at the Old Angus Restaurant, Washington D.C. 3/65
0267    HWC is shown with a group who attended dinner at the Old Angus Restaurant, Washington, D.C. 3/65
0268    HWC, Alan Bible, and Walter Baring are pictured with three unidentified ladies on the steps of the Capitol. 7/65
0269    HWC is pictured with secretary Zuckert (standing) at a banquet. 9/65
0270    HWC, holding [Vietnamese] child, stands with and interpreter. 10/65

1965-66

0271    HWC is pictured with "Hoses" Cartwright from "Bonanza" television series, and another person. 1965-66
0272    Left to right are [Tom Foley]; John Koontz, Secretary of State of Nevada; Alan Bible; unidentified gentleman; HWC. 1965-66

1966

0273    HWC lunches with Hubert Humphrey. 1966
0274    HWC is pictured with Pres. Lyndon Johnson and others. 1966
0275    HWC is shown with George Clark, Senate Intern. 1966

1967

0276    HWC is pictured with a gentleman in a wheelchair. 1/67
0277    Groundbreaking ceremonies for the $48 million Mead Substation of the
Pacific Northwest-Pacific Southwest Intertie. Rev. Guy Holliday, pastor of Grace Community Church in Boulder City, gives the invocation. See photos 278-82. 3/11/67
0278    Groundbreaking ceremonies for the $48 million Mead Substation of the Pacific Northwest-Pacific Southwest Intertie. Paul McDermott, Vice-Chairman of the Colorado River Commission of Nevada, is shown at the rostrum. See photos 277-82. 3/11/67
0279    Groundbreaking ceremonies for the $48 million Mead Substation of the Pacific Northwest-Pacific Southwest Intertie. HWC, one of the featured speakers, is at the rostrum. See photos 277-82. 3/11/67.

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

1967 (continued)


0280    Groundbreaking ceremonies for the $48 million Mead Substation of the Pacific Northwest-Pacific Southwest Intertie. Sen. Alan Bible shovels the first earth as others attending look on. Left to right are Harry Allen, Vice-President of Nevada Power Co.; Bible; Cannon; and Regional Director A.B. West of the Bureau of Reclamation's Region 3. See photos 277-82. 3/11/67
0281    Groundbreaking ceremonies for the $48 million Mead Substation of the Pacific Northwest-Pacific Southwest Intertie. Similar to above photo. See photos 277-82. 3/11/67
0282    Approximately 400 people attended the groundbreaking ceremony for the $48 million Mead Substation of the Pacific Northwest-Pacific Southwest Intertie near Boulder City, Nev. See photos 277-282. 3/11/67
0283    HWC receives recognition for his efforts to establish a standing committee on Veterans Affairs. 4/67 (oversize)
0284    HWC attends the opening of a permanent Nevada art exhibit in his Washington office. Also attending are Bill Willard, Exec. Dir. Of the Nevada Council on the Arts, and Charles Mack, a director of the National Council on the Arts, left and right of HWC. 5/67
0285    Howard and Dorothy Cannon, on right, attend a Children's Art Exhibit at the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts in Washington, D.C. 9/67
0286    Left to right are Gil Blonsley, HWC, James Bilbray, Sr. 10/67

1967-1968

0287    HWC in snow ski gear with others. Left to right are Ray Hansen; Ted Short; HWC; and two other unidentified people. 1967-68
0288-
0292    HWC attending the National Air Carrier Association anniversary luncheon. He is shown with other unidentified people. 2/68
0293    Mr. and Mrs. Charles Cavanaugh of Las Vegas are shown with HWC during their visit to Washington, D.C. 9/68

1969

0294    Inauguration of President Richard M. Nixon. HWC is standing behind Nixon. 1/69
0295    Pres. Richard M. Nixon is shown conferring with Bob Haldeman in the [Oval] Office. 1969
0296    HWC is pictured with an unidentified gentleman. 1/69
0297    HWC is pictured with four others. 6/69

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

1969-1970

0298    HWC is pictured with military men. 1969-70
0299    HWC is shown with the Nevada contestant in the National College Queen Pageant, sponsored by Best Foods. 1969-70
0300    HWC is pictured presenting birthday cake to Judge John Mendoza center. Jim Brennan is shown on the right. 1969-70.
0301    Howard and Dorothy Cannon are shown riding on the back of a convertible. [Campaign photo.] 1969-70


1970

0302    HWC, at Sullivan County International Airport in White Lake, N.Y., is the featured speaker at the dedication ceremonies of the airport on June 26-27, 1970.
0303    HWC, second from right, participates in ceremony of Pres. Richard Nixon signing the Airport & Airways Act of 1970. 6/70
0304    Is pictured with two others. 6/70

1971

0305    HWC is pictured with Business & Professional Women (BPW) representatives, who met with Cannon to discuss the Equal Rights Amendment. Left to right are Hope Roberts Reno, Past President of national BPW; Minnie Alderman, Ely, board observer; and Marian Elliott, Las Vegas, national board advisor. 1/71
0306    HWC is shown with Frank Sinatra. 6/71
0307    HWC is shown with an unidentified family. 1971
0308    HWC is shown with Senate intern, Bruce Cecil. 1971

1972

0309    HWC is shown with Nevada's Presidential Scholar, Carol Ann Hamar of Sparks, Nev. 2/72
0310    HWC congratulates Frank Cassas upon being sworn into practice before the U.S. Supreme Court. 3/72
0311    Nevada representatives of Business & Professional Women (BPW) meet with HWC to discuss the Equal Rights Amendment currently before Congress. Shown, left to right, are Louise Lightner, Reno; Cannon; and Minnie Alderman, Ely. 3/72
0312    UNLV students Cliff Penwell, left, and Dick Wiseman discuss provisions of the Higher Education Act with Cannon. 3/72
0313    Reno residents Ed Psaltis, rt., and his son David visit with HWC. Ed Psaltis is the Exec. Dir. Of the Washoe County Teachers Assn. 3/72

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

1972 (CONTINUED)

0314    Nancy Austin, winner of the Small Businessman of the Year award for Nevada, 1971, and her husband, David London, meet with HWC. 3/72
0315    HWC meets with Mrs. Adolph Gutierrez and her son, Jake, 3/72
0316    Dorothy See, a Las Vegas feature writer, chats with HWC. 3/72
0317    HWC congratulates Univ. of Nevada student, Jack Warner, upon successful completion of his Congressional Internship in HWC's office. 5/72
0318    The Dale Hedges family of Las Vegas is pictured with HWC. Left to right are Cathy; Mrs. Kathryn Hedges; Becky; Mr. Hedges; and Jill Horner, a family friend. 5/72
0319    HWC meets with the Charles Heers family. Shown are Mr. and Mrs. Heers and their children, Bret and Lori. 5/72
0320    Mr. & Mrs. Charles Glover, of Las Vegas, visit with Cannon in his Washington office. 5/72
0321    HWC meets with Maj. Robert H. Baxter, Nellis AFB, who has been names a 1972-73 White House Fellow. 5/72
0322    Girls Nation "Senators", Joanie Franks, left, and Vickie Marshall, both of Las Vegas, are greeted by their real counterpart Senator Cannon in his Washington office. The girls are participating in Girls Nation, sponsored by the American Legion Auxiliary. 8/72
0323    Senators Alan Bible, left, and Cannon meet in Washington, D.C. with Nevada Democrats, Didi Carson, State Vice-Chairwoman, and Virginia Catt, National Committeewoman. 8/72
0324    A Las Vegas builders group visits with Senators Bible, seated second from left, and Cannon to discuss housing problems. 11/72

1973

0325    Senate Committee counting the Electoral College votes of the 1972 election. Cannon is seated in the middle row, second from left. Spiro Agnew, top center, is shown presiding. 1/73
0326    Nevada State Senator Helen Herr, of Las Vegas, talks with HWC during her recent trip to Washington to participate in a national conference, National Forum of State Legislators on Older American. 1/73
0327    Nevada's delegates to the American Legion Girls' Nation conference in Washington meet with HWC and Alan Bible, right. The delegates are Mary Shannon, left, and Lisa Ann Larsen, both of Las Vega. 7/73
0328    Cannon meets with the first Skylab crew and their wives. See photo 329. 1973
0329    Similar to above photo. 1973
0330    One of Cannon's many aviation honors came from the International Aviation Club in Washington, D.C., which awarded him its Award of Merit in 1973. Cannon is shown with an unidentified man.

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

1974

0331    HWC participates in laying the cornerstone for the James Madison Bldg., Library
of Congress. 3/74
0332    HWC is pictured in a committee hearing with others. 9/74
0333    HWC telephones Vice-President Nelson Rockefeller to inform him of the Senate's vote to confirm him. Also shown are fellow senators Robert Byrd (on the telephone); Hugh Scott (second from left), and Robert Griffin (far left). 12/74

1975

0334    The Nevada delegation is shown left to right, Cannon; James Santini, Congressman; and Senator Paul Laxalt. 1/75
0335    Cannon, seated, is shown with Laxalt and Santini directly to Cannon's left, standing. Others are also shown. 1/75
0336    Navy officials meet with HWC and Laxalt to discuss the employment and management status of Hawthorne naval Ammunitions Depot. Shown, left to right, are Capt. W.F. Diehl, deputy commander; Naval Sea Systems Command's Ammunition Directorate; Rear Adm. Stan T. Counts, Vice commander of the Sea Systems Command; Sen. Paul Laxalt; Jack Carpenter, Administrative Aide to Cong.. James Santini; and HWC. 9/75

1976

0337    Las Vegans Kerin Scianna, Pres., Clark Co. democratic Women's Club, and Renee Diamond, right, visit HWC on their trip to Washington, D.C. 1/76
0338    HWC is pictured with Presidential candidate, Jimmy Carter. 8/76
0339    HWC is seated next to Sen. Warren Magnuson, foreground. Across the table, left to right, are Senators Hugh Scott, Mike Mansfield, and President Gerry Ford. 1976

1977

0340    HWC is being sworn into office by Vice-President Nelson Rockefeller. Looking on is Cannon's wife, Dorothy. 1/77
0341    Chief Justice Warren Burger, left, swears in Jimmy Carter, right, as President at the 1977 inauguration. HWC and Rosalyn Carter look on. 1/20/77
0342    HWC is pictured at the rostrum during the Presidential Inauguration. Others in photo are Rosalyn Carter, second from left; Gerald Ford; Jimmy Carter; Cannon; Walter Mondale; Nelson Rockefeller. 1/20/77
0343    HWC and Vice-President Walter Mondale discuss the Universal Voter Registration Act. 3/77

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

1977 (cont.)

0344    HWC is pictured with two unidentified veterans. 3/77
0345    HWC is shown with two unidentified gentlemen in Cannon's office. 3/77
0346    HWC is pictured at the rostrum with seal of the Vice-President of the United States. 5/77
0347    HWC sits at a table with a large group. 5/77
0348    HWC shakes hands with Pres. Jimmy Carter. 5/77
0349    HWC is pictured with a group of [Nevada] constituents. [Clair Haycock, center]; Harry Reid is on the right. See photos 350-51. 7/77
0350    Similar to above photo. Also shown is Frank Scott (with glasses). See photo 351. 7/77
0351    HWC and Sen. Paul Laxalt are pictured [with Nevada constituents]. Similar to photos 349-50. Left to right are Jackie Gaughan; unid.; unid.; Harry Reid; Frank Scott; [Clair Haycock]. 7/77
0352    HWC confers with Pres. Jimmy Carter. 7/77
0353    Proof sheet of Howard and Dorothy Cannon [in their home]. 10/77

1978

0354    HWC is pictured talking with Pres. Jimmy Carter. 2/78
0355    HWC shakes hands with Anwar Sadat. Two others are also shown. 2/78
0356    HWC is pictured with Herb Kaufman, left, and an unidentified man. 2/78
0357    HWC is pictured with an unidentified woman. 2/78
0358    HWC is pictured with Linda Voorvart and Cindy Berger. 2/78
0359    HWC is being interviewed. 3/78
0360    HWC is pictured with Pres. Jimmy Carter and others 5/78
0361    HWC meets with Nevada State legislators. Left to right are State Sen. Norm Glaser; State Assemblyman Rick Blakemore; Karen Kayes; Cannon; and Don Moody. 6/78
0362    HWC is pictured at a conference table with Sen. Paul Laxalt and others. See photos 363-64. 6/78
0363    Similar to above photo with Governor "Mike" O'Callaghan. See photo 364. 6/78
0364    HWC in a shot similar to photos 362063. 6/78
0365    HWC is pictured with an unidentified man. 6/78
0366    HWC is pictured gazing through binoculars. 6/78
0367    HWC is pictured sitting in the cab of a truck. 7/78
0368    HWC is shown conferring with Harry Claiborne. 8/78
0369    HWC is shown with two unidentified people. 8/78
0370    HWC is pictured with Menachem Begin, center. 9/78
0371    HWC is pictured with Jackie Burke. 12/78


0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION


1979

0372    HWC is pictured shaking hands with Teng Hsiao-Ping. 1/79
0373    HWC is pictured with Teng Hsiao-Ping and Frank Church, right. 1/79
0374    HWC at the Clark County Community College. See photos 375-78. 1/79
0375    HWC is pictured [with Clark County Community College President]. See photos 374-78. 1/79
0376    HWC at the Clark County Community College. Lilly Fong is on the left. Sara Denton is speaking with HWC. See photos 374-78.
1/79
0377    HWC is pictured [with Clark County Comm. College Presid3nt] and an unidentified woman. See photos 374-78. 1/79
0378    HWC is pictured with Lilly Fong and others at the Clark County Community College. See photos 374-77. 1/79
0379    HWC is pictured with an unidentified gentleman. 1/79
0380    HWC is pictured with Susie Peterson and Tom Hamilton of the U.S. Senate Youth Program. 2/79
0381    HWC is pictured shaking hands with Anwar Sadat. 2/79
0382    HWC is pictured in a kitchen with two unidentified chefs. 3/79
0383    HWC is pictured in his Washington office. 4/79
0384    HWC is pictured in his Washington office with two others. 4/79
0385    HWC is pictured with two unidentified children. 4/79
0386    HWC is pictured at a podium with two others. 4/79
0387    HWC is pictured with an unidentified woman. 4/79
0388    HWC is pictured with two other gentlemen studying a "Report of the Nevada Committee for the Utilization of State Resources to Meet National Needs", October 1978. 5/79
0389    HWC is attending a meeting with Pres. Jimmy Carter regarding energy. The California delegation is in attendance. 5/79
0390    HWC is pictured with an unidentified gentleman. 5/79
0391    HWC is pictured with Nora Lam Sung in his Washington office. 5/79
0392 -
0397    HWC attends the Paris Air Show. 6/79
0398-
0402    HWC attends Paris Air Show. Francois Mitterand is at HWC's left. 6/79
0403    HWC attends a reception at Paris Air Show. 6/79
0404    Howard and Dorothy Cannon, right, attending a reception at the Paris Air Show. 6/79
0405    Similar to above photo. 6/79
0406    HWC attends reception at Paris Air Show. 6/79
0407    Similar to above photo. 6/79
0408    HWC pictured with three ladies in his Washington office. 7/79

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

1979 (cont.)

0409    HWC is pictured with two others in his Washington office. 10/79
0410    HWC is shown with Nevada State Senators, James Gibson, left, and William Raggio. 10/79
0411    HWC is shown with an unidentified gentleman. 10/79
0412    HWC is pictured with an unidentified young man in his Washington office. 10/79
0413    HWC is pictured with two ladies in his Washington office. 10/79
0414    HWC is pictured with Lane Kinkland, left, and another gentleman. 11/79
0415    Similar to above photo. 11/79
0416    HWC is pictured with a group. 11/79
0417    Similar to previous photo. 11/79
0418    HWC receives a "Golden Spike Award", from former Amtrak President Alan Boyd in recognition of Cannon's efforts to preserve nation-wide rail passenger service. Amtrak inaugurated new service through Southern Nevada following Cannon's efforts to maintain adequate funding for the system. 12/79

1980

0419    HWC presents to Malvin Matthews the American Training Assn. Million Miles Driver of the Year Award. 2/80
0420    HWC is pictured with those attending the N.A.R.D. National Legislative Conference, 1980, in Washington, D.C. Shown left to right are Paul J. Dumouchel, President-Elect of N.A.R.D.; HWC; Stewart E. Paquette; James Santini, Congressman from Nevada; Richard L. Shobe. 3/80
0421    "HWC presents an award for bravery to Judy Morse from the Aero Club of Washington, D.C. Ms. Morse, a former Nevada Airlines stewardess, was credited with saving several lives in a crash near the Grand Canyon in November, 1979. Ms. Morse helped get all 41 passengers out of the badly damaged aircraft before escaping herself land her cool-headedness was a key factor in preventing any deaths. " 4/80
0422    Similar to above photo. 4/80
0423    HWC is shown with Paul Fisher of Fisher Pen Co. 5/80
0424    Shown left to right are George White, Architect of the Capitol; HWC; Speaker of the House, Thomas "Tip" O'Neill; Dr. Boorsten, Librarian. The event is the dedication of the James Madison Memorial Bldg., Library of Congress. 5/80
0425    Cannon speaks at a Rose Garden ceremony marking enactment of the Truck Deregulation Bill authored and steered to Senate passage by Cannon. Pres. Jimmy Carter looks on. 7/80
0426    HWC is pictured with a group [of members of the Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce]. Left to right, the first two gentlemen are unidentified; Tom Weiner; Cannon; Walt Casey; Mark Smith; Jim Marsh. 8/80

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

1980 (cont.)

0427    Cannon is pictured with a group of Native Americans in his Washington office. Aug.-Sept. 1980
0428    Cannon is pictured with Jane Thomas in his Washington office. Aug.-Sept. 1980
0429    HWC is pictured with Jane Tomas and three other young men. Aug.-Sept. 1980
0430    HWC is pictured with an unidentified gentleman. 11/80
0431    HWC is pictured with an unidentified group. 11/80
0432    HWC is pictured with a group which includes Governor Robert List, third from left [The event appears to be a cornerstone ceremony for GTE Sylvania Systems.] 12/80
0433    HWC is pictured with Missy Jablonski, March of Dimes Poster Child, 12/80

1981

0434    HWC visits the New Savage Mine at Virginia City, Nev. He is pictured with three others. 1/81
0435    HWC is pictured with three veterans. 2/81
0436    HWC is pictured with James Watt. 2/81
0437    HWC is shown with two others at a highway construction site. 2/81
0438    HWC is pictured with two unidentified women. 2/81
0439    HWC is shown with two others. 2/81
0440    HWC is shown with an unidentified group in his Washington office. 3/81
0441    HWC is pictured with Judith Eaton, Pres. of Clark County Community College, in his Washington office. 3/81
0442    HWC is pictured with Kim Colton and Greg McKenzie of McKenzie Construction, Sparks, Nev. 3/81
0443    HWC is shown with three others in his Washington office. 3/81
0444    HWC is pictured with Mary Shaver and three others. 3/81
0445    HWC is shown with four gentlemen. 3/81
0446    HWC is pictured with four gentlemen. 3/81
0447    HWC is pictured with four others in his Washington office. 3/81
0448    HWC is pictured with four others in his Washington office. 3/81
0449    HWC is pictured with an unidentified gentleman in his Washington office. 3/81
0450    HWC at the Comstock [Lode] with three gentlemen. 4/81
0451    HWC attends the Clark County Community College commencement exercises. Shown left to right are Leonard "Pat" Goodall, Pres. Of UNLV; Caesar Caviglia, Vice-Pres., Clark County Community College Advisory Board; "Bucky" Buchanan, Univ. Regent; Judith Eaton, Pres. of Clark County Community College; Cannon; Robert Cashell, Pres., Board of Regents; Robert Bersi, Chancellor, UBS. 5/81


0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

1981 (cont.)

0452    Clark County Community College (CCCC) commencement. Shown left to right are Judith Eaton, Pres. of CCCC; HWC; Caesar Caviglia, Vice-Pres., CCC Advisory Board; Dean Childs, first honor graduate in the Casino Management Program. 5/81
0453    HWC presents to Bernice McKnight the Clark County Comm. College Outstanding Classified Staff member of the 1980-81 Academic Year Award. 5/81
0454    HWC is pictured with Daryl Evans, centre, and another young man who are participating in Boys Nation. 7/81
0455    HWC, attending a reception, is pictured with senators Hayakawa and Goldwater. 10/81
0456    Similar to above photo. 10/81
0457    HWC is shown with three Reno travel agents. 11/81
0458    HWC is shown with "Swanson, IRS Group". 11/81
0459    HWC is shown with and unidentified group. 12/81
0460    HWC is pictured with Patty Dillingham, right, and three others. 12/81
0461    HWC is pictured with three unidentified women. 12/81
0462    HWC cuts the ribbon officially opening the 1981 Senior Olympics at UNLV. Mary Ann Smith is assisting along with others. 1981
0463    HWC is pictured in his Washington office with Anne Louise Willie of the Walker Indian Reservation in Schurz. Willie recently completed a summer internship in Cannon's office. 1981

1981-1982

0464    Formal photo of HWC. 1981-82
0465    Close-up of Dorothy Cannon. 1981-81

1982

0466    HWC is pictured with two gentlemen in his Washington office. Jan. -Feb. 1982
0467    HWC is pictured with another gentleman in his Washington office. Jan.-Feb. 1982
0468    HWC is shown with Sen. Charles Percy, center, and Egyptian President Hosni Mubarek, attending a banquet. 2/82
0469    HWC is shown with two others in his Washington office. 3/82
0470    HWC with Glen Reese, right, and another gentleman in Cannon's Washington office. 3/82
0471    HWC with [Carley Sullivan, left and ] Helen Jydstrup, right. 3/82
0472    "Cannon for Nevada" campaign sign [located at intersection of East Sahara Ave. and Las Vegas Blvd. So.] 3/82

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION


1982 (cont.)


0473    HWC with a large group which appears to be members of lathe Aero Club of Washington. 4/82
0474    HWC is pictured with a group at the Aero Club of Washington function. 4/82
0475    HWC is pictured with Florence Skurski, left, and Jessie Emmett, National Assn. Of Realtors. Two unidentified gentlemen are in the background. 4/82
0476    HWC is pictured with a young lady in his Washington office. May-June 1982.
0477    HWC is pictured with four others in his Washington office. June-July 1982
0478    HWC is pictured with four others in his Washington office. June-July 1982.
0479    HWC is pictured with Astronauts Jack Lousma and Gordon Fullerton. 7/82
0480    HWC is on horseback [possibly the Elks Helldorado parade] in front of the Stardust Hotel. (Slide) 1982


The following photos have been identified, but not dated.


0481    HWC and Air Force officer observe sign: Nellis A.F.B. Improvement Program - New Base Hospital.
0482    HWC, in flight gear, is standing next to Air Force officer at Nellis A.F.B.
0483    HWC is pictured with an Air Force officer at Nellis A.F.B.
0484    Similar to above photo.
0485    At a meeting of the 9999th Air Reserve Squadron are (l-r): Brig. Gen. F.L. Vidal, Comm. of the Second Air Force Reserve; HWC, Brig. Gen., Air Force Reserve and Deputy Comm. of the Squadron; Congressman Fernand J. St. Germain, of Rhode Island, Capt., Air Force Reserve; and Airman First Class Raymond J. Morrisette, who works in the office of Senator Pell of Rhode Island.
0486    Brig. Gen. J. Francis Taylor, Dir. Of Command Control & Communications, U.S. Air Force Hdqtrs. Is shown with HWC.
0487    Gen. Walter Sweeney, Commander of Tactical Air Command, left, is shown with Senator Barry Goldwater (Maj. Gen. AFRes), Commander of the 9999th Air Reserve Squadron and Cannon, deputy Commander of the 9999th ARS.
0488    HWC is shown with Brig. Gen. Robert W. Smart, center, Chief Counsel, Armed Service Commission (AFRes) and Col. Russell Tarvin, Chief of the Information Group in the office of the Asst. Chief of Staff for Reserve Forces.
0489    HWC is pictured with General Bernard A. Schriever, Commander, Air Force Systems Command, The 9999th air Reserve Squadron is holding its first meeting in the new Senate Office Bldg. In Washington, D.C.
0490    Similar to above photo.

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

The following photos have been identified, but not dated.

0491    Four of the newest Brigadier Generals in the USAF Reserve are shown together at a meeting of the 9999th Air Reserve Squadron. L-R: Nicholas Allen, Wash. Attorney and dep. Commander of the Second Air Force Reserve Region at Andrews AFB, Maryland; Brig. Gen. Robert Smart, Chief Counsel, House of Rep. Armed Forces comm..; HWC; William C. Lewis, Admin. Asst. to Sen.. Margaret Chase Smith of Maine. Generals Smart, Cannon and Lewis are member so the 9999th Air Reserve Squadron, the Air Reserve unit composed of members of Congress and their staffs.
0492    HWC is pictured with Barry Goldwater, second from left; others are unidentified. Andrews AFB, Washington, C.C.
0493    HWC is pictured with a group of gentlemen. [Frank Scott is on the right.]
0494    HWC cuts the ribbon at an opening. Pictured, left to right are E. Parry Thomas, W.W. Galloway, and two unidentified persons. See photos 495-96.
0495    E. Parry Thomas, left, HWC, and others participate in ribbon cutting ceremony. See photos 495-96
0496    E. Parry Thomas and HWC cut ribbon at a ceremony. See photos 494-95.
0497    HWC is pictured with Fr. Patrick J. Toomey.
0498    HWC is pictured with Sam Boyd. See photo 499.
0499    Similar to above photo.
0500    Howard and Dorothy Cannon at a social gathering.
0501    HWC and Jack Pettiti.
0502    Howard and Dorothy Cannon at a social gathering.
0503    The Cannon Family deplanes and Marie Ripps presents a bouquet of flowers to Dorothy Cannon.
0504    Howard and Dorothy Cannon gather with a group of women.
0505    HWC is pictured with a group. Standing, left to right, are F. James Sheehy; Paul Palmer, Amer. Legion Post #51; HWC; Robert Weeks, Commander, Amer. Legion Post #51; Brother Matthew, F.S.R. 6th Grade Teacher; J. Earl Cunningham, 1st Vice-Commander Amer. Legion Post #51; [Olie] Cluff, holding flag; Sam Neimyer, ready to raise flag. See photo 506.
0506    Similar to above photo.
0507    Left to right are Leonard Hebert, CATCO; Curtis Kinder, SNPO-N; Cannon; Bill Flangas, REECO.
0508    Howard and Dorothy Cannon with an unidentified woman.
0509    Howard and Dorothy Cannon are pictured with John Koontz, Secretary of State Nevada.
0510    HWC is pictured signing documents. John Koontz, at Cannon's right and Dorothy Cannon, behind Koontz, look on.
0511    Howard & Dorothy Cannon shown with John Koontz, 2nd from right, and others.


0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

The following photos have been identified, but not dated.

0512    HWC chats with Archie Grant.
0513    HWC and Alan Bible, right, participate in groundbreaking for a "New Research Facility for Edgerton, Germshausen and Grier-Airport Industrial Tract".
0514    Howard and Dorothy Cannon are pictured with Virginia Catt, back to photographer, and a minister or priest.
0515    HWC is pictured with Dr. Richard Carlson of UNLV.
0516    HWC is pictured with Harry Claiborne.
0517    HWC is pictured with John Foley.
0518    HWC, with Jim Dodson, left, and Jay Stone, center, view the White Diesel engine.
0519    Howard and Dorothy Cannon are pictured with John Koontz, Secretary of State,
0520    Howard and Dorothy Cannon are pictured with John Koontz, second from right, the Secretary of State of Nevada.
0521    Left to right are Maj. Gen. Pottenger, , Vice-Commandant, Air Univ.; Lt. Gen. Miller, Commandant, Air Univ.; Lt. Col. Furino, Class Pres.; HWC; Brig. Gen. Donohew, Comm., CSC.
0522    HWC is pictured with Lt. Gen. Miller.
0523    HWC is pictured with Brig. Gen. Donohew.
0524    Left to right are Jam. O'Hara; Maj. Fitzgerald; Col. Royal D. Allison; HWC.
0525    Cannon is pictured standing in front of NASA [Control] Ctr. At Patrick AFB, Florida].
0526    HWC is pictured with Barry Goldwater, right.
0527    HWC is pictured with Charles Catt, center, [and Adlai Stevenson].
0528    Left to right are HWC on dais with Maj. John Corcoran, Gen. White, and Maj. Fitzgerald.
0529    HWC is pictured with Jackie Cochran, left.

Air Force Flight Test Center, Edwards AFB, California

0530    Paul Bible, Chief, NASA's Flight Research Ctr., briefs the visiting senatorial committee on the X-15 manned research rocket plane. Edwards AFB, Calif. See photos 531-34.
0531    The Senatorial committee receives a briefing on new applications of rocket propulsion by First Lt. Donald Mitchell. HWC is on left. Edwards AFB, Cal. See photos 530-34.
0532    Maj. Robert M. White, who has flown the X-15 to a record speed of 4096 mph, explains the cockpit arrangement of the manned research rocket plane to the visiting senatorial committee. HWC is on the left. Edwards AFB, Cal. See photos 530-34.
0533    HWC is in the cockpit of the X-15. Maj. Robert M. White is at the right. Edwards AFB, Cal. See photos 530-34.

0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

Air Force Flight Test Center, Edwards AFB, California (cont.)

0534    The senatorial committee poses in front of the NASA rocket engine test stand at Edwards AFB, Cal. HWC is third from left. See photos 530-33.
0535    HWC is pictured in the cockpit of an aircraft.
0536    Similar to photo 535.
0537    Similar to photo 535.

HWC Visits Brooks AFB, Texas

0538    HWC is briefed by Dr. Thomas H. Allen, left, Chief of the USAF School of Aerospace Medicine's Physiology Dept. during a recent visit to Brooks AFB, Texas.
0539    Dr. Lawrence E. Lamb, left, Chief of the USAF School of Aerospace Medicine's Clinical Sciences Division and Internal Medicine Dept. describes for HWC, right, physical evaluations given astronaut candidates at the School Brooks AFB, Texas.
0540    Dr. Sidney J. Leverett, left, Chief of the USAF School of Aerospace Medicine's Biodynamics Dept., briefs HWC on the Rotational Flight Simulator. Also shown are Maj. Gen. T.C. Bedwell, Jr., second from right, and Capt. Lee S. Jackson.
0541    HWC, right, works the remote handling device used to handle radioactive materials at the USAF School of Aerospace Medicine's Bionucleonics Dept. at Brooks AFB, Texas. At left is Lt. Col. Edwin R. Ballinger, chief of the Bionucleonics Dept.
0542    Gen. Earle G. Wheeler, U.S. Army Chief of Staff, is pictured with HWC during a meeting of the 9999th Air Reserve Squadron.
0543    HWC is pictured with MSgt. Richard W. Rhyno, Chief of Public Information, Office of Information in the Aerospace Medical Division (AFSC) during a recent visit to Brooks AFB, Texas. St. Rhyno's home is in Sparks, Nev.
0544    In an effort to put silver dollars in circulation in the Washington area and call attention to the importance of the metal to the nation, HWC pays his staff partly in "cartwheels". Shown with Cannon are two of his office aides, Barbara Van Nostrand, left, and Judy Sedor.
0545    HWC and Cmdr. Alan Shepard, America's first man in space, discussed Nevada's nuclear rocket engine program during a recent meeting in Cannon's office. Cannon and Shepard are shown examining a picture of the prototype nuclear engine.
0546    HWC, a member of the Senate Committee on Aeronautical & Space Sciences since its' inception, discusses U.S. Space Program with the first astronauts in apace. Left to right are Gus Grissom, Alan Shepard, and John Glenn.


0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

Miscellaneous (undated)

0547    HWC and Senate colleagues are pictured on the steps of the Capitol Building, Washington, D.C., with former President Harry Truman
0548    Walter Baring, Alan Bible, and HWC are pictured "holding up" Gov. Grant Sawyer by brandishing six-shooters.
0549    Similar to above photo.
0550    The Cannon Family is pictured on the grounds of the Capitol. Left to right are Nancy, HWC, Dorothy, Alan.
0551    The Cannon Family is pictured at the Capitol Building, Washington, D.C. Left to right are Alan, Nancy, HWC, Dorothy.
0552    The Cannon Family is pictured. Left to right are Dorothy, HWC, Nancy, Alan.
0553    The Cannon Family is pictured. Left to right are Alan, HWC, Dorothy, Nancy.
0554    HWC and Mike Mansfield, right, are pictured greeting John Fl Kennedy, center.
0555    John F. Kennedy, left, is shaking hands with HWC. Speaker Sam Rayburn is in background.
0556    Similar to above photo.
0559    HWC is pictured with Lt. Livingston at Nellis AFB.
0560    Similar to above photo.
0561    HWC is pictured with Gen. George Decker, U.S. Army Chief of Staff, after Decker had briefed Cannon and other Air Force Reserve members of the 9999th Air Reserve Squadron.
0562    HWC is pictured with Capt. G. Allen Hancock, second from right, who in 1948, received the President's Certificate of Merit for meritorious service in the United States during the prosecution of the war.
0563    HWC is pictured with Maj. Gen. Joseph Preston, left, Commander, First Strategic
Aerospace Div., Vandenberg AFB, Cal.
0564    John Ferarri and Mrs. Josephine Fitzgerald visit with HWC during the grand opening of Cannon's re-election headquarters in Sparks. Ferarri is Cannon's Sparks precinct organizer. Mrs. Fitzgerald will serve as security of the organization committee.
0565    HWC is pictured with Walter Mondale, left.
0566    HWC is pictured with Col. Wayne Adams, Commander of Reno Guard Unit.
0567    HWC is pictured with a colleague. They are holding a copy of the Legislative Calendar of the 86th Congress, April 12, 1960.
0568    HWC stands in front of an AF jet, F-106, with pilot Col. William C. Clark.
0569    HWC gets a hug from Colette Swain during a visit to the Moapa Indian Reservation.
0570    HWC, during a visit to the Moapa Indian Reservation, is shown with, left to right, Myron Leavitt, Lt. Gov.; Lamond Godwin; HWC; Preston Tom, tribal chairman; Keith Axtell, HUD Regional Director; Harold Goldsmith, tribal instructor.
0571    HWC is pictured speaking to a group at the Moapa Indian Reservation.


0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

Miscellaneous

0572    HWC is pictured shaking hands with Paul Volcker.
0573    HWC is pictured with N.E. Tanner, left, and M.G. Romney, right.\
0574    HWC is shown with a member of the air force, Hecker.
0575    HWC is pictured at a podium at the Riviera Hotel.
0576    HWC confers with Paul Laxalt.
0577    Senators Alan Bible and HWC are pictured with another person.
0578    Howard and Dorothy Cannon, third and fourth from left, are pictured with a group. James Santini, left, is also shown.
0579    HWC is shown with a large group. Identified are Harley Harmon, second from left, James Bilbray, Grant Sawyer, John Mendoza, eight, ninth, and tenth from left respectively.
0580    HWC is pictured with colleagues. Seated left to right around a [committee hearing] table are HWC; Bartlett, Alaska; Thurmond, So. Carolina; Ervin, No. Carolina; Jackson, Washington; Symington, Missouri; Stennis, Mississippi; Russell, Georgia; Saltonstall, Massachusetts; Bridges, New Hampshire; Case, So. Dakota; Bush, Conn.; Beall, Maryland. Standing, left to right, are staff: Atkinson, Nease, Braswell, Darden, Wingate. (Oversize)
0581    Panorama of U.S. Senate Chambers, Gallery, and the Members. Vice-President George Bush is presiding. (Oversize)
0582    Col. Howard W. Cannon in official dress uniform.
0583    Left to right are HWC; Jack Butler, Supt. of Service, Desert Inn; Jimmy Durante; Carl Williams, Gen. Mgr., Desert Inn Hotel.
0584    HWC is pictured with Leonid Brezhnev, left, Gen. Sec. Of the Communist Party of the Soviet Union. (Oversize)
0585    HWC is shown at Nellis AFB after a test flight. (Oversize)
0586    HWC presents a $500 check to Rose de Lima Hospital administrator Sister Maureen. Cannon designated the Henderson facility as his charity.
0587    HWC is pictured shaking hands with Pres. Jimmy Carter.
0588    HWC is pictured sitting in the cockpit of a helicopter at Edwards AFB, California.
0589    Elliott Richardson, left, new ambassador to Britain meets with HWC in his office.
0590    HWC greets Prime Minister of Israel Golda Maier, right.
0591    James Webb, Administrator of NASA, and HWC are pictured. Webb traveled to Nevada to inspect progress made in development of a nuclear rocket engine at the Nuclear Rocket Development Station.
0592    American Legion National Commander Michael J. Kogutek chats with HWC, a member of the Armed Services, Commerce, and Rules Committee.
0593    HWC is presented a Certificate of Appreciation by the U.S. Air Force upon his retirement from the Air Force Reserve with the rank of Major General. At the ceremony, HWC was also awarded the Legion of Merit (on his left lapel) one of the highest honors bestowed by the military
0594    HWC is pictured at the Wild Horse Dam.


0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

Miscellaneous (undated)

0595    HWC is pictured with Sen. Edward Kennedy, right.
0596    HWC is shown on a platform at a ceremony. Front row, left to right, are Robert Broadbent, Ace Robinson, and James Santini.
0597    HWC is pictured [in committee hearing]. Strom Thurmond is at the center (bald gentleman).
0598    Similar to above photo.
0599    Left to right are Mayor Oran Gragson Rev. T. Jarrett; HWC at rostrum; Mrs. Helen Klenepter, Pres., American War Mothers; Mrs. Olivia Lamborn; Mrs. Dorothy Booth, Nevada State President.
0600    HWC is pictured climbing out of an aircraft. Taken at Nellis AFB, Nevada.
0601    HWC holds reins of his horse, Edgewood Sunrise.
0602    HWC, center, is pictured with [Gen. "Zack:] Taylor and another gentleman. {Taken at Nellis AFB, Nevada.]
0603    HWC is pictured with James Cashman II, second from left, and other unidentified individuals.
0604    Dorothy Cannon, center, is shown with two unidentified ladies.
0605    HWC is pictured at Nevada Air National Guard Base with others.
0606    HWC [in campaign photo with Joe Neal, black man].
0607    HWC is pictured with a Cub Scout Troop.
0608    HWC is shown with Robert "Robbie" Robinson, behind Cannon, and other individuals.
0609    Howard and Dorothy Cannon are shown with [campaign workers] Lucille May, far left.
0610    Mahlon Brown, right, is pictured with HWC.
0611-    1964 U.S. Senatorial Campaign.
0649

0650-    U.S. Senatorial Campaign.
0667

***The following photos are not dated and are not identified, other than
Howard W. Cannon being in the photographs.

0668-
0756    Unidentified other than HWC in the photos.


0192    HOWARD CANNON COLLECTION

Additions to Collection

0757    HWC and Hal Erickson are pictured at the reception held at James Dickinson Library, Reserve Room, on January 23, 1988, officially opening the Howard W. Cannon Senatorial papers to the public. See photos 758-60.
0758    Mary Dale Deacon and Hal Erickson are pictured at the reception held at James Dickinson Library, Reserve Room, January 23, 1988, officially opening the Howard W. Cannon Senatorial papers. Immediately behind Deacon, left to right, are Erin Beesley, Christine Marin, Vicky Diaz, and Susan Jarvis, staff of the Special Collections at the Library, who processed the Cannon papers. See photos 757-60.
0759    Mary Dale Deacon, at rostrum, presents to HWC the guide to the Howard W. Cannon Senatorial papers. His papers were officially opened to the public at the reception on January 23, 2988, held at James Dickinson Library. The Special Collections Dept. staff who processed the papers are standing directly behind Deacon. Pictured left to right are Erin Beesley, Christine Marin, and Vicky Diaz. See photos 757-60.
0760    HWC blows out candles on his birthday cake, given to him during a reception held at James Dickinson Library, on January 23, 1988 officially opening the Howard W. Cannon Senatorial papers to the public. See photos 757-60.

NOTE: There were numerous Nevada-related photographs (but not Cannon-related) which were removed and placed in the Single Accessions Photo Collection (0171) in the James Dickinson Library Special Collections Photo Collection.