You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0237
Taylor, Erle A.

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Air Shows

0001    Aerobatics performed by the Thunderbirds, official U.S. Air Force precision flying team, in their North America F-100 Super Sabres, all stem from a diamond formation, and are based on maneuvers taught all Air Force pilots. Some of the maneuvers are shown here.
0002    USAF Thunderbirds precision flight team performing
0003    Thunderbirds at McCarran Airport.
0004    The Thunderbirds, U.S. Air Force precision flying team, loop their North American Super Sabres in perfect coordination. The team demonstrates the speed and maneuverability of the first line super sonic fighter.
0005    Diamond dive – holding a tight diamond formation, the U.S. Air Force Thunderbirds dive in the supersonic F-100 Super Sabre. Built by North American Aviation, the F-100 is the first of the Air Force “century fighters” and is capable of supersonic speed in level or climbing flight.

0006    Thunderbirds at McCarran Airport, Las Vegas.
0007    U.S. Air Force Thunderbirds during an air show at Alamo, Nevada, 1967.
0008    U.S. Air Force Thunderbirds performing in air show at Alamo, Nevada, 1967.
0009    Air show at Alamo, Nevada. May 1967.
0010    Air show at Alamo, Nevada. 1967.
0011    Air show at Alamo, Nevada. May 1967.
0011a    Alamo (Nevada) Airways.


McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas

0012    Construction at McCarran International Airport.
0013    Construction at McCarran International Airport.
0014    McCarran International Airport main terminal.
0015    McCarran International Airport.
0016    McCarran International Airport, F.A.A. Service Station. (Old McCarran terminal)
0017    McCarran International Airport.
0018    McCarran International Airport.


Miscellaneous

0019    Sen. Howard W. Cannon (Nevada).
0020    Richard M. Nixon, former President of the United States.


McCarran Airport, Las Vegas

0021    McCarran Int’l Airport terminal – April 1968.
0022    McCarran Int’l Airport. June 1968.
0023    McCarran Int’l Airport. July 1968.
0024    McCarran International Airport terminal – interior. April 1968.
0025    McCarran International Airport terminal. July 1968.
0026    McCarran Int’l Airport terminal. July 1968.
0027    McCarran Int’l Airport terminal, July 1968.
0028    McCarran Int’l Airport terminal. April 1968.
0029    McCarran Int’l Airport terminal. July 1968.
0030    Landing area at McCarran. July 1970.
0031    [View from inside McCarran]


Nellis Air Show, Nellis AFB, Las Vegas

0032    Sky Knights – Nellis AFB – Dec. 1969.
0033    Sky Knights – Nellis AFB – Dec. 1969.
0034    Vulcan RAF -- Nellis Air Show -- Dec. 1969.
0035    Vulcan RAF -- Nellis Air Show -- 12/69.
0036    Same as above.
0037    Vulcan RAF -- Nellis Air Show -- 12/69.
0038    Hoover Mustang – Nellis Air Show ’69.
0039    Hoover Mustang – Nellis AFB 12/69.
0040    Bearcat low level - Nellis AFB -- 12/69.
0041    Bearcat low level - Nellis AFB -- 12/69.
0042    Bearcat low level - Nellis AFB -- 12/69.
0043    Bearcat low level - Nellis AFB -- 12/69.
0044    Two Bearcats – Nellis AFB – 12/69.
0045    Two Bearcats – Nellis AFB air show – 12/69.
0046    Hoover F-51, Nellis Air Show – 12/69.
0047    Bob Hoover Shrike – Nellis Air Show – ’69.
0048    Bob Hoover Shrike – Nellis Air Show – ’69.


McCarran Airport, (additions to collection)

0049    McCarran Airport – interior – Apr. ’68.
0050    Taxiway to jet craft – McCarran—’69.


Thunderbirds, Nellis AFB Air Show, Las Vegas, Dec. 1969

0051    Thunderbirds on ground, Nellis Air show, Dec, 1969.
0052    Four Thunderbirds flying a formation, Nellis Air show, Dec. 1969.
0053    Thunderbirds in formation, Nellis AFB, Dec. 1969.
0054    Thunderbirds flying in formation, December 1969.
0055    T-Birds, Nellis Air show – Dec. ‘69.
0056    Thunderbirds in formation, Nellis Air Show, Dec. 1969.
0057    Thunderbirds in Nellis Air Show, Dec. 1969.
0058    Thunderbirds at Nellis AF Base, December. 1969
0059    T-Birds in formation, Nellis Air Show, Dec. 1969.
0060    Thunderbirds performing in Air Show at Nellis AF Base, 12/69.


USAF Fire & Power Demonstration, Indian Springs AFB, NV.

0061    USAF demonstrations, Indian Springs AFB, 11-69.
0062    USAF demonstrations, Indian Springs, November, 1969.
0063    same.
0064    Indian Spring Nevada, USAF demonstrations,11-69.
0065    Fire and power demonstration, Indian Spring AFB, 11-69.
0066    USAF demonstrations, Indian Springs AFB, 11-69.


Snow Scenes in Las Vegas (1-1-74)

0067    Snow scene in Las Vegas neighborhood; 1-1-74.
0068    Snowman in Las Vegas; 1-1-74.
0069    Snow at McCarran Airport; 1-1-74.
0070    Snow at McCarran Airport; 1-1-74.
0071    Snow at McCarran Airport; 1-1-74.
0072    Snow in parking lot at McCarran; 1-1-74.
0073    Snow near main terminal at McCarran Airport; 1-1-74.
0074    Snow and palm trees at McCarran Airport; 1-1-74.
0075    Melting snow on landing areas at McCarran; 1-1-74.
0076    Snow at McCarran Airport; 1-1-74.
0077    Snow on landing areas at McCarran Airport; 1-1-74.
0078    Melting snow on grounds of McCarran; 1-1-74.
0079    Snow on ground at McCarran Airport; 1-1-74.
0080    Snow scene in Las Vegas; 1-1-74.
0081    Melting snow at McCarran Airport; 1-1-74.
0082    Snow in Las Vegas [McCarran Airport]; 1-1-74.
0083    same


President Gerald Ford at McCarran

0084    President and Mrs. Gerald Ford arrive at McCarran Airport, April, 1975.
0085    President and Mrs. Gerald Ford’s arrival at McCarran Airport, April, 1975.
0086    same
0087    Crowd greets President and McCarran Airport, April, 1975.
0088    Crowd greeting President Ford at McCarran -- Airport, April, 1975.
0089    Pres. Ford getting into limousine at McCarran Airport, April, 1975.
0090    President’s plane at McCarran -- Airport, April, 1975.
0091    President’s plane at McCarran -- Airport, April, 1975.
0092    President’s plane at McCarran -- April, 1975.
0093    McCarran International Airport -- April, 1975.
0094    Davis Dam in Arizona -- April, 1975.



Miscellaneous (McCarran Airport and Erle Taylor)

0095    McCarran Field, Las Vegas, Nevada. (5-10-62)
0096    Main terminal of McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas, Nevada (ca. late 1960’s or early 1970’s)
0097    Main terminal of McCarran International Airport. (ca. late 1960’s or early 1970’s)
0098    View of main terminal, McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas, Nevada (ca. late 1960’s or early 1970’s)
0099    Night view of airline ticketing and baggage wing, Main terminal of McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas, NV. , c. 1960’s - 1970’s. (Please credit: Theodore F. Whitmoyer)

0100    Night view of McCarran International Airport’s main terminal, ca. late 1960’s -early 1970’s.
0101    Main terminal of McCarran International Airport, viewed at dusk (late 1960’s or early 1970’s)
0102    Airline ticketing and baggage wing, McCarran International Airport. c 1960’s.
(Credit: Theodore F. Whitmoyer)
0103    Main terminal and “fingers”, McCarran International Airport. ca. late 1960’s.
0104    Hughes Flite Deck Restaurant and Omni Bar, Las Vega, Nev. (c. 1960’s) This is the Hughes Executive Air Terminal. (Credit: Theodore F. Whitmoyer)
0105    Planes getting ready to depart from McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas, Nevada. Passengers loading finger is shown. (ca. late 1960’s -early 1970’s)
0106    Airline ticketing and baggage wing, McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas, Nevada(ca. late 1960’s or early 1970’s)
0107    Official opening of the Las Vegas Port of Entry, McCarran International Airport, Las Vegas, Nevada. (Las Vegas News Bureau Photo)
0108    Erle A. Taylor. (1959)
0109    Pictured at the celebration of Hughes Airway’s first non-stop service from Las Vegas to Calgary and Edmonton, Canada, are (far left) Bill Briare, (second from right) Thalia Dondero, and (far right) Erle Taylor. (1970s)

0110    Erle A. Taylor. (ca. early 1970s)
0111    ca. late 1960s, manager of McCarran Airport (Las Vegas), Pictured speaking at a meeting at the Riviera Hotel, (ca. late 1960s)
0112    U.S. Senator Alan Bible (second from )left) meeting with directors of the second annual International exposition of flight to discuss plan for the May 20-26, 1968, event in Las Vegas. (L-R-): Fred S. Hollister, IEF Gen. Mgr.; Sen. Bible; Erle Taylor, Pres. of IEF; G. Brney Rawlings, Director; and Cap. Harrison Finch, Staff Operations Manager.

0113    Planning meeting regarding McCarran Airport ca. late 1960s. Dick Ronzone (seated beside picture); and Mayor Oran Gragson (standing next to Briare).

0114    Miss Susan Oliver of Hollywood, CA, arrives in Las Vegas to begin her duties as official hostess of the second annual International Exposition of Flight, 1968. She is greeted at Hughes Executive Terminal by G. Barney Rawlings, VP, Sales, Riviera Hotel; Keith Hanna, Administrative Director, Frontier Hotel; and John Seymour, General Manager, Hughes Airport Operations.

0115    Visits of PHX Chamber of Commerce, cocktails and lunch at the Sahara Space Center, Las Vegas, Nev., Oct. 16, 1970. Erle Taylor at right.
0116    Executive Committee APWA Congress and Equipment Show 1976-- Erle Taylor, John Brown (for M. Lopez), George Monahan, Roland Westergard, Bill Blackmer, Bill Adams, Thurman White, Jack Parvin (fro G. Bastian).

0117    CAB hearing (Reno-Portland/Seattle) at Caesars Palace, Feb. 6, 1973. Erle Taylor second from the left.
0118    Jack Nicklaus, golf professional, visits Las Vegas. (late 1960’s, early 1970s).
0119    Jack Nicklaus, golf professional, arriving in Las Vegas. (late1960’s, early 1970s).
0120    Looking at planes for air port expansion, McCarran Airport, Las Vegas, are (L-R): Erle Taylor; the mayor of Cedar City, Utah; Mayor Oran Gragson of Las Vegas; executive director of the Henderson Chamber of Commerce.

0121    L-R Bruce Beckley; Sid Whitmore; Art Wells, airport manager, Cedar City, Utah; Erle Taylor. (ca. late 1960’s early 1970s).
0122    Salute to “Zack” Taylor, held at on of the Strip hotels, Las Vegas, (ca. 1965-1975)
0123    Erle Taylor (left), Stardust Hotel. (c. late 1960’s, early 1970s).
0124    Erle Taylor and Carmela Meely. (c. late 1960’s, early 1970s).
0125    Erle Taylor at the gathering at the Stardust Hotel, (ca. late 1960’s early 1970s).



Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections