You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0287
Sands Hotel Collection

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Table of Contents:

Restaurants

Facilities

Swimming Pool

Transportation and Facilities

Construction of Sands Tower

Entrance

Aerial Views

Casino

Miscellaneous 1

Copa Room (showroom)

Aqueduct Building

Tower Construction

Publicity/Promotional

Rat Pack

Dean Martin

Members of the "Rat Pack"

Miscellaneous Entertainers

Miscellaneous 2

Color Transparencies

Sands Casino

George Sidney Photos , 1960

    Sammy Davis Jr.

    Frank Sinatra

    Dean Martin

    Joey Bishop

    Rat Pack

Miscellaneous 3

Copa Girls

Additions to Collection

0001    John F. Kennedy and his brother-in-law Peter Lawford at the Sands Hotel, Las Vegas. (no date)
0002    Copagirl Linda Lawson as "Mis-Cue", wearing A-Bomb crown to illustrate another mis-firing of the Operation Cue Bomb. She is pictured with    six servicemen. Photo released Sunday, May 1, 1955.
0003    Danny Thomas and Sheldon Leonard clowning around at Sands Hotel pool, Las Vegas. ca. Early 1960s)
0004    Two young boys watching the Copa Girls perform in the Copa Room at the Sands Hotel. (ca. 1950s?) (photo by Phil Stern)
0005    Lena Horne performing at the Sand Hotel in Las Vegas, Nev. (ca. early 1960s)
0006    Lena Horne performing at the Sands Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada, c. early '60s.
0007    L-R; Judy Garland, Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra. (1958)
0008    L-R; Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra, Jack Entratter. (ca. early 1960s)
0009    L-R: Jack Entratter, Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra, Joey Bishop. (c. early 1960s)
0010    L-R: Frank Sinatra and Jack Entratter. (ca. early 1960s)
0011    L-R: Joey Bishop, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin.
0012    Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin.
0013    L-R: Joey Bishop, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin.
0014    L-R: Joey Bishop, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin.
0015    L-R: Jack Entratter, Frank Sinatra, Joey Bishop.
0016    L-R: Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra, Jack Entratter.
0017    Dean Martin and Jerry Lewis performing. (c. mid 1950s)
0018    Dean Martin and Jerry Lewis onstage, Sands' Copa Room. (ca. mid 1950s)
0019    L-R: Jack Entratter and Dean Martin, December 1959.
0020    L-R: Dean Martin, Debbie Reynolds, Jack Benny. Dean's solo opening at the Sands Copa Room. March 6, 1957. They are backstage.
0021    Dean Martin's opening at the Sands Copa Room (3-6-57). Seated at stage side are Jack Entratter, Jack Benny, and Debbie Reynolds.
0022    Dean Martin's opening (3-6-57). Jack Entratter, Jack Benny, and Debbie Reynolds in audience near stage. Also Lucille Ball and Desi Arnaz.
0023    Dean Martin and Frank Sinatra onstage, Sands Copa Room. (Jan. 22, 1964-- Dean's opening night.
0024    Dean Martin & Frank Sinatra. Dean's opening night-Jan. 22, 1964.
0025    Sands marquee: "Dino, Closing Tonight". (Dean Martin) July 1964.
0026    Sammy Davis Jr. (left) & Dean Martin onstage, Sands Copa Room. (early 1963)
0027    Sands 11th Anniversary Celebration: L-R (front): Jack Entratter, dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., Frank Sinatra, Gary Morton. (back): Danny Thomas, Lucille Ball. (Dec. 1963)
0028    Jack Entratter (left) and Sammy Davis Jr. (ca. early 1960s)
0029    L-R: Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr. and Frank Sinatra, onstage, Sands Copa
Room. (c. early 1960s)
0030    Sammy Davis Jr. (left) and Dean Martin-Sands Copa Room. (c. early '60s)
0031    Sammy Davis Jr.'s birthday party-May 18, 1966. He is dancing in center (dark shirt, striped pants).
0032    Frank Sinatra (left) and Jack Entratter with Copa girls at a rehearsal of"Ziegfeld Follies". (1954)
0033    Frank Sinatra (left) and Jack Entratter watch a rehearsal of the Copa Girl production "Ziegfeld Follies", June 1954.
0034    Jack Entratter (back, left) and Frank Sinatra at a rehearsal of the Copa Girls Production "Ziegfeld Follies", June 1954.
0035    Jack Entratter (center) and Frank Sinatra (right) at a Copa Girls rehearsal of the"Ziegfeld Follies", June 1954.
0036    Frank Sinatra (left) and Jack Entratter at rehearsal of "Ziegfeld Follies", June 1954.
0037    Frank Sinatra (left) and Jack Entratter at "Ziegfeld Follies" rehearsal (a Copa Girls production), June 1954.
0038    L-R: Jack Entratter, Lauren "Betty" Bacall, Frank Sinatra, and Kim Novak. Cake says "Happy Birthday Betty & Queen Mother".
0039    Sinatra with some of the Copa Girls in the Lounge at the Sands Hotel & Casino. Left to right: Jane Patton, Bonnie Paiva,
        Joyce White, and Joan Ryba. Party given to welcome the Texas Copa Girls.
0040    Nancy Sinatra (left) and Frank Sinatra. The occasion was "Frank Sinatra in concert with Count Basie". November 1964.
0041 Frank Sinatra with actress Patrice Wymore during the filming of Ocean’s Eleven in the Sands Casino. C. January-February 1960
0042    Frank Sinatra dealing baccarat in the Sands Casino. (Nov. 1959)
0043    Carl Cohen in his office at the Sands Hotel and Casino.
0044    The "Rat Pack"-(photo by George Sidney-1960). L-R; Peter Lawford, Frank Sinatra, dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., Joey Bishop.
0045    Frank Sinatra performing. (photo by George Sidney-1960)
0046    Frank Sinatra performing. (photo by George Sidney-1960)
0047    Dean Martin performing onstage-Sands Copa Room
0048    Sands Hotel marquee advertising the appearance of the "Rat Pack". (color)
0049    "Rat Pack" onstage, Sands Hotel. L-R; Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., Peter Lawford, Frank Sinatra, Joey Bishop. (color)
0050    L-R: Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jr., Joey Bishop-onstage, Sands Hotel. (color)
0051    Sands marquee: "Dean Martin, Maybe Frank-Maybe Sammy". (1963?)
0052    Sands marquee: "Sammy Davis, Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra".
0053    Sands Hotel, showing marquee. (c. 1950s) (Credit: UPRR Photo)
0054    Sands Hotel-construction of the tower. [Aug. 1965] (LV News Bur. Photo)
0055    peter Lawford performing at the Sands. (No date) Seated in front of stage are celebrities: Eddie Fisher, Liz Taylor, Dean Martin and wife Jeanne Martin.
0056    Celebrities seated in Sands Copa Room. Jack Entratter standing behind table Seated: Yul Brynner (2nd from left); Edward G. Robinson (4th from left); Richard Conte (6th from left); Sal Mineo (past women, next to Conte). Seated
At right of table are Tommy Sands and Nancy Sinatra. Next to Brynner is Nancy Sinatra, Frank's wife (closest to stage). (Dec. 1964)
0057    Sands Hotel sign and partial view of front of hotel-c. 1950s.
0058    John F. Kennedy shakes hands with Jack Entratter. (n.d.)
0059    Sands Hotel float in a parade on Fremont Street. (n.d.)
0060    Kim Novak and Jake Freedman at the roulette table, Sands Hotel. (c. 1950s)
0061    Joey Bishop serving drinks to Dean Martin and Frank Sinatra onstage at the
Sands. (April 1966)
0062    Carl Cohen (Sands executive) and wife in front of a cake. (n.d.)
0063 Peter Lawford and Sammy Davis Jr. dancing onstage during the 4 Chaplin’s
Benefit at the Las Vegas Convention Center. February 7, 1960
0064 Sammy Davis Jr., Joey Bishop, Peter Lawford and Dean Martin grabbing for
the mike onstage during the 4 Chaplin’s Benefit at the Las Vegas Convention Center. February 7, 1960
0065    (NEGATIVE ONLY) Sands Hotel with good view of the sign. (c. 1950s)

Return to Top
_____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Restaurants

0066    Entrance to the Garden Room (restaurant) in the Sand Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada. (c. 1950s?)
0067    Sands' Garden Room (restaurant). (Note celebrity pictures on the walls.) (c. 1950s?)
0068    Sands' Garden Room restaurant. (c. 1950s?)
0069    Buffet in the Garden Room (restaurant) at the Sands Hotel, c. 1950s?
0070    Garden Room (Restaurant) in the Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada. (1963) (OVERSIZE)
0071    French murals grace the walls of the Garden Room in the Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada. (1963)
0072    Restaurant in Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev. (OVERSIZE)
0073    Restaurant in Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, NV. (Garden Room?)
0074    Restaurant in Sands Hotel, Las Vegas NV. (Garden Room?)
0075    Restaurant by the pool, Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev. (c. 1963) Terrace Room.
0077    Restaurant with guests dining-Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev. (c. 1963) Terrace Room.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Facilities

0078    Suite in the Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev. (after renovation). (c. 1961)
0079    New guest room in the Sands Hotel, after renovation. (c. 1961-63)
0080    New suite in the Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, (after renovation). (c. 1961-63)
0081    Rockingham Park, one of the Sands' buildings, under construction. (c. 1952)
0082    Exterior of Rockingham Park, one of the hotel buildings at the Sands Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas, NV. (1952)
0083    Emerald Room-meeting room at the Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada.
0083a    Silver Queen Bar and Cocktail Lounge in the Sands Casino. Freddie Bell and his Bell Boys are performing. (c. 1952)
0084    Bar in the Silver Queen Cocktail Lounge in the Sands Casino, c. 1952.
The mural is by Allan Stewart and depicts the history of Las Vegas from the gold rush days to the exploding of the atomic bomb. (OVERSIZE)
0085    Silver Queen Bar and Lounge in the casino of the Sands Hotel, Las Vegas. (See photo #0287 0084)
0086    Coffee shop in the Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev. Customers seated at the counter. (1963)

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Swimming Pool

0087    Sands Hotel pool. (c. 1950s) (OVERSIZE)
0088    Pool at Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada. Guests swimming and relaxing poolside. (1956) (OVERSIZE)
0089    Guests enjoying the pool at the Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev. (June 1963) (OVERSIZE)
0090    Pool at the Sands Hotel, showing guests swimming and poolside. (c. 1960s)
0091    Sands Hotel pool.
0092    Guests enjoying the pool at the Sands Hotel, Las Vegas. (c. 1963)
0093    Sands Hotel pool-Las Vegas, Nev. (c. 1950s-60s)
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Transportation and Facilities

0094    Tram used to transport guests around the Sands Hotel property. (c. early 1950s)
0095    Sands' tram loaded with guests. (c. early 1950s)
0096    Guests seated in Sands Hotel tram. It was used to transport guests around the property. (c. 1950s)
0097    Local Lions Club members touring the Sands Hotel property at night on the hotel tram. (c. 1950s or 1960s)
0098    Workout room at the Sands Hotel, Las Vegas. (c. 1950s-1960s)
0099    The Sands Guestmobile. (VW van used to transport guests.) ( c.'50s-60s)

Return to Top
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Construction of Sands Tower ***

0100    Construction photo of new Sands Hotel tower. (Nov. 1965)
0101    Sands tower under construction. (Feb. 1965)
0102    Construction photo of new Sands' tower. (Nov. 1965)
0103    Sands tower under construction. (August 1965)
0104    Sands tower under construction. (August 1965)
0105    Danny Thomas (left) and Jack Entratter pose in front of Sands tower which was under construction. (1965)
0106    Close-up of photo #0287-0106: Danny Thomas (left) and Jack Entratter posing near new Sands tower (under construction). (1965)

*** See also photos #164-173
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Entrance

0107    Sands façade-architect's drawing. (c. 1952-53) (Duplicate in OVERSIZE)
0108    Sands Hotel entrance showing marquee: "Will Mastin Trio Starring Sammy Davis Jr." (c. 1960s) (OVERSIZE)
0109    Sands Hotel entrance. Marquee advertising Ricky Ricardo as the headliner. Several guests on horseback. (n.d.)
0110    Sands Hotel entrance and marquee (1964). Stars on marquee: Alan King and Chubby Checker.
0111    Sands marquee-"Milton Berle", etc. (n.d.) (color transparency only)
0112    Sands marquee-"Dean Martin Ass't. by his Italian friend 'Francis"". (Sept. 1962)
0113    Sands marquee-"Dean Martin and Friend Francis Brunn". (1964)
0114    Sands marquee-"Sammy Davis Dean Martin Frank Sinatra". (1963)
0115    Sands marquee-"Jack Entratter Presents…Dean Martin-Maybe Frank-- Maybe Sammy". (Sept. 1963) (OVERSIZE)
0116    Sands marquee-"Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., Peter Lawford, Joey Bishop"-the Rat Pack. (n.d.) (OVERSIZE)
0117    Sands façade and marquee advertising 'Billy Eckstine". (1954) (OVERSIZE)
0118    Sands Hotel entrance with marquee-"Jack Entratter Presents Nat King Cole". (n.d.) (OVERSIZE)
0119    Entrance to the Sands Hotel. (1954) (OVERSIZE)
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Aerial Views

0120    Aerial view of the Sands Hotel and adjacent property. (1964)
0121    Aerial view of the Sands Hotel and adjacent property. (1962)
0122    Aerial of Sands Hotel and adjacent property. (c. early 1960s)
0123    Aerial view of Sands Hotel. (c. early 1960s)
0124    Aerial of Sands Hotel and adjacent property. (1966)
0125    Aerial view of Las Vegas Strip looking north from the Dunes Hotel. (c. 1968) Includes good view of Caesars Palace and Sands Hotel.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Casino

0126    Ann Hunter deals the cards in a "21" game at the Sands Hotel and Casino. (July 26, 1953) (International News Photo)
0127    Customers playing slot machines in the Sands Casino. (c. 1950s?) (OVERSIZE)
0127a    Empty casino-Sands Hotel. (c. 1950s) (OVERSIZE)
0128    Casino in the Sands Hotel. Shows customers milling around, others playing at blackjack tables. (1963) (OVERSIZE)
0129    Sands Casino. (1959)
0130    Customers playing slot machines in the Sands Hotel and Casino. (c. 1950s?) (OVERSIZE)
0131    People playing craps at the Sands Hotel and Casino. (1959) (OVERSIZE)
0132    Casino action-Sands Hotel and Casino-1959. (OVERSIZE)
0133    Chimp (J. Fred Muggs?) enjoying playing slots at the Sands Hotel and Casino. (c. late 1950s-early 1960s) (0VERSIZE)
0134    Close-up of a slot machine at the Sands Hotel and Casino. (c. late 1950s)
0135    Customer playing craps at the Sands Hotel and Casino. (c. late '50s, early '60s)
0136    Customers playing slots at the Sands Hotel and Casino. (c. late 1950s)
0137    Gamblers playing roulette-Sands Casino-c. late 1950s, early 1960s)
0138    Casino scene-Sands Hotel Casino-c. late 1950s. (Note: decorations hanging lights & dealer wearing hat-possibly New Year's Eve.)
0139    Customers enjoy playing slots-Sands Casino-c. late 1950s.
0140    Gamblers at blackjack ("21") table-Sands Casino-(c. late 1950s-early 1960s)
0141    Gamblers at baccarat table-Sands Casino-(Late '50s, early '60s)
0142    Sands Casino-lounge show-Jonah Jones musical group performing for guests.(c. late 1950s-early 1960s) (OVERSIZE)

Return to Top
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Miscellaneous 1

0143    Emerald Room-Sands Hotel and Casino. This room was used for banquets and conferences. (c. 1950s) (OVERSIZE)
0144    Emerald Room in the Sands Hotel-c. 1950s. Room was used for banquets, conferences, private parties, etc.
0145    Emerald Room at the Sands Hotel and Casino. (c. 1950s)
0146    Hollywood park-one of five two-story buildings which house guests at the Sands Hotel. (c. 1950s) The five buildings were all named after famous American racetracks and were arranged in a semi-circle around a half-moon shaped swimming pool.
0147    Rendering of new high-rise building planned for the Sands Hotel. (1961)
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Copa Room (showroom)

0148    Copa Room showroom in the Sands Hotel. (Sammy Davis Jr. onstage performing.) C. late 1950s, early 1960s. (OVERSIZE)
0149    Sammy Davis Jr. performing in the Copa Room (showroom in the Sands Hotel). (c. late 1950s, early 1960s) (OVERSIZE)
0150    Copa Room entrance, Sands Hotel. Sign advertising current perform (Nat King Cole) and coming attraction (Joey Bishop). (c. late 1950s, early 1960s) (OVERSIZE)
0151    Steve Lawrence and Eydie Gorme performing in the Copa Room, showroom in the Sands Hotel and Casino. (1963)
0152    Copa Room tables and wall decorations-Sands Hotel and Casino. (c. late 1950s, early 1960s)
0153    Guests seated at tables in the Copa Room, showroom in the Sands Hotel. Stage can be seen in foreground. (c. 1950s-60s)
0154    Guests watching show in the Sands Hotel showroom-the Copa Room. (1963)
0155    Copa Room-showroom in the Sands Hotel. (c. 1950s-1960s) Good view of wall decorations-sculpted metal Brazilian carnival figures.
0156    Couples dancing onstage-the Copa Room (showroom) in the Sand Hotel. (probably New Year's Eve) C. 1950s-60s.
0157    Guests in Sands' Copa Room watch as dancers perform onstage. (1963)
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Aqueduct Building

0158    New three-story building called the Aqueduct, opened in 1963. This latest addition to the Sands Hotel housed 83 suite-and-rooms. (1963)
0159    Aqueduct Building, Sands Hotel and Casino. (c. 1963)
0160    Aqueduct Building, Sands Hotel (c. 1963). All of the buildings were named after famous racetracks.
0161    Suite living room in the new Aqueduct Building at the Sands Hotel, Las Vegas. (c. 1963) Moorish theme is carried out in designer touches.
0162    Living room in one of the plush suites in the Aqueduct Building, Sands Hotel (c. 1963).
0163    Living room of a plush suite at the Sands Hotel. (c. 1963)
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Tower Construction

0164    Beginning of construction of new Sands Hotel tower. New tower was part of a multi-million dollar renovation. (April 1965)
0165    New Sands tower under construction. (April 1965)
0166    Construction proceeds on the new multi-storied Sands tower. (Apr. 1965)
0167    ands tower under construction-April 1965.
0168    Workers on new Sands tower. (April 1965)
0169    New Sands tower under construction. (April 1965)
0170    New Sands tower nearing completion. (May 1965)
0171    Sands tower under construction. (August 1965)
0172    New Sands tower nearing completion. (Aug. 1965)
0173    Sands tower-nearly completed. (Aug. 25, 1965)

Return to Top
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Publicity/Promotional

0174    Dunes Hotel-publicity stunt-"Water Wake-up Guest Service". Guest in sleeping position, head on pillow, still in pajamas, on his way down into pool. (1955)
0175    Dunes Hotel "Water Wake-up" (continued). Shows guest on his way down into the pool. (See related photos #0174 & #0176) (1955)
0176    Dunes Hotel "Water Wake-Up" (cont.) Waiter in half-swim attire serves guest reclining at fountain in pool. (1955) (See photos #174 & 176)
0177    "Floating craps table"-customers at the Sands Hotel escape the heat by gambling in the pool. About 2200 guests tried this in 1954.
0178    Another view of Sands customers gambling in the pool. (1954) Craps table in foreground; slot machines on the side of the pool.
0179    Sands customers cool off by taking advantage of gambling tables and machines in the swimming pool. (1954)
0180    Copagirl Linda Lawson as "Mis-Cue", wearing A-Bomb crown to illustrate another mis-firing of the Operation Cue Bomb. (1955) She is surrounded by servicemen.
0181    Copagirl Linda Lawson as "Mis-Cue" wearing A-Bomb Crown. (1955) She is surrounded by servicemen.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Rat Pack

0182 “Rat Pack”—L-R: Peter Lawford, Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jr., Joey
Bishop, Dean Martin. The 4 chaplains benefit at the Las Vegas Convention Center February 7, 1960.
0183 L-R: Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jr., Joey Bishop. Sands
Copa Room, 1961. (OVERSIZE)
0184 L-R: Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin wearing U.S. Cavalry uniforms on the set
of the second Rat Pack film, Sergeant’s 3, filmed in Utah. The Rat Pack commuted from Las Vegas in order to continue their performances at the Sands.
C. June-July 1961.
0185 Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., Frank Sinatra onstage at Sands. (c early ‘60s)
0186 L-R: at microphones, Dean Martin, frank Sinatra, Joey Bishop; far right, front
of stage, is Sammy Davis Jr. Part of peter Lawford’s head can be seen behind
Sinatra. Onstage, Sands Hotel. (c. January- February 1960) Richard Conte center stage holding cigarette. Additional stars: Akim Tamiroff and Henry Silva.
0187 L-R: Peter Lawford, Sammy Davis Jr., Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra. All except
Davis are in U.S. Cavalry uniforms for the shooting of Sergeants 3, the second Rat Pack movie. It was shot in Utah, but the Rat Pack commuted to Las Vegas to continue their performances at the Sands. June-July 1961

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Dean Martin

0188     Dean Martin, center, in his dressing room at the Sands the night of his nightclub as a single star. (3/6/57) Standing is Jack Entratter. Others are unidentified reporters.
0189    Jack Entratter clowns around with Dean Martin (on the floor) at the Sands Hotel the night of Martin's nightclub debut. (March 6, 1957) (OVERSIZE #0220)
0190    Dean Martin rehearses with two female dancers for his nightclub debut as a solo act at the Sands Hotel. (March 6, 1957)
0191    Dean Martin onstage for his debut as a single star in the Sands' Copa Room, March 6, 1957. Seated close to stage are Jack Entratter, Lucille Ball, Jack Benny, Debbie Reynolds.
0192    Dean Martin's nightclub debut as a single, March 6, 1957, Copa Room in the Sands Hotel. (See photo #0022 0191) Seated at far right next to stage is Phil\ Harris.
0193    Dean Martin's opening night-March 6, 1957-Copa Room at the Sands. Man standing is comedian Jack Benny. (See photos #0191, 0192)
0194    Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel with Henry Fonda in audience. (n.d.)
0195    Dean Martin with Robert Mitchum in audience, Copa Room. (n.d.)
0196    Dean Martin in lobby, Sands Hotel. (n.d.)
0197    Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel. Singing to little girl seated next to stage. (n.d.)
0198    Dean Martin onstage at Sands' Copa Room-n.d.
0199    Marquee, Sands Hotel: "Jack Entratter Presents Dino". (1964)
0200    Dean Martin seated on motorcycle with Las Vegas policemen. (n.d.)
0201    Showgirl poses in front of Sands' marquee: "Dean Martin, Count Basie". (1965) Dean Martin and Members of the "Rat Pack"
0202    Dean Martin and frank Sinatra clowning onstage, sands' Copa Room. (1961) (OVERSIZE)
0203    Dean Martin's opening night with Frank Sinatra, Sands' Copa Room January 22, 1964. (COLOR)
0204    Dean Martin's opening night at the Sands with friend Frank Sinatra, Jan. 22, 1964. (See #0113: Sands marquee advertising this appearance.)
0205    L-R: Dean Martin, Joey Bishop, Frank Sinatra onstage in the Copa Room (April 1966) Bishop plays a bartender.
0206    Dean Martin on opening night at the Copa Room, Jan. 22, 1964. Frank Sinatra at right, pouring a drink from a bar onstage.
0207    Dean Martin (left) and frank Sinatra (right) clown onstage, Sands Hotel Copa Room. (1967)
0208    L-R; Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Joey Bishop onstage, Sands' Copa Room. (April 1966)
0209    L-R: Dean Martin and frank Sinatra, Copa Room, Sands Hotel, 1962.
0210    Frank Sinatra singing in the Sands Copa Room. (April 1966)
0211    Sammy Davis Jr. performs at the Sands, April 1966.
0212    Joey Bishop at the Sands-"summit meeting": April 1966.
0213    Bishop, Sinatra, and Davis clowning onstage at the Sands-April 1966.
0214    "Summit Meeting"-L-R; Dean Martin, Joey Bishop, Frank Sinatra at the Sands-April 1966.
0215    'Summit Meeting"-Sands Hotel-Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Joey Bishop April 1966.
0216    Frank Sinatra & Joey Bishop; Sands Hotel Copa Room, April 1966.
0217    Frank Sinatra performing at the sands Hotel. (1964)
0218 Dean Martin in U.S. Cavalry uniform on the set of the second Rat Pack film, Sergeant’s 3, filmed in Utah. The Rat Pack commuted from Las Vegas in order to continue their performances at the Sands. C. June-July 1961. (OVERSIZE)
0219    Portrait of Dean Martin. (c. 1950s-60s) (OVERSIZE)
0220    Jack Entratter (left) and Dean Martin clowning around at rehearsal. (Dec. 1959) (8x10 duplicate #0287 0189)
0221    Dean Martin's opening night as a single act at the Sands Copa Room (3-6-57). Close to the stage can be seen Jack Entratter, Lucille Ball, Debbie Reynolds, Desi Arnaz, Jack Benny (clapping hands), Phil Harris (far right).
0222    Dean Martin-opening night at the Sands. (3-6-57) (See photo #0221 for further information.)
0223    Dean Martin (wearing hat) clowns around during rehearsal at the Sands. (Dec. 1959)
0224    Dean Martin (center) meets with reporters in his dressing room at the Sands. (Dec. 1959)
0225    Dean Martin's opening night at the Sands Hotel with pal Frank Sinatra (right). (Jan. 22, 1964)
0226    Dean Martin, opening night, Sands Hotel. Frank Sinatra at right. (Jan. 22, 1964)
0227    Dean Martin (left) and Frank Sinatra onstage. (Jan. 22, 1964) Opening night, Sands Hotel Copa Room.
0228    Peter Lawford performing in Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s. Seated near stage are Sammy Davis Jr., Milton Berle, Marilyn Monroe(?), Eddie Fisher, Elizabeth Taylor, Dean Martin, Jeanne Martin.
0229    Peter Lawford onstage, Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s. (See #0228 for further information.)
0230    Color transparencies (6): Sands' marquee advertising "Dean Martin and Friend Francis Brunn". (Jan. 22, 1964) (NO PRINTS)
0231    Color transparencies (4): Dean Martin & Frank Sinatra opening night at the Sands. (Jan. 22, 1964) (NO PRINTS)

Return to Top
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
*** the following are color prints and slides:
Members of the "Rat Pack"

0232    Sammy Davis Jr. performing at the sands Hotel. (c. 1960s)
0233    Frank Sinatra (left) and Sammy Davis Jr. performing at the Sands Hotel. ('60s)
0234    Dean Martin (left) and Frank Sinatra onstage, sands Copa Room. (1960s)
0235    Dean Martin (left) and Frank Sinatra performing at Sands Hotel. (1960s)
0236    Dean Martin (left) and Frank Sinatra onstage, Sands Copa Room. (1960s)
0237    Dean Martin (left) and frank Sinatra performing in Sands Copa Room, 1960s.
0238    Dean Martin onstage, Sands Copa Room, 1960s.
0239    Dean Martin performing in Sands Copa Room, 1960s.
0240    Frank Sinatra singing in Sands Copa Room, 1960s.
0241    Frank Sinatra performing in the Sands Copa Room, 1960s.
0242    Unidentified dancers and singer in the Sands Copa Room, 1960s.
0243    Frank Sinatra performing, Sands Hotel, 1960s.
0244    Sammy Davis Jr. singing in the sands Copa Room, 1960s.
0245    Sammy Davis Jr. performing in the Sands Copa Room, 1960s.
0246    Dean Martin (left) and Frank Sinatra, Sands Copa Room, 1960s.
0247    Dean Martin (left) and Frank Sinatra onstage, Sands Copa Room, c.1960s.
0248    Dean Martin (left) and Frank Sinatra-Sands Copa Room-c. 1960s.
0249    L-R: dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., and frank Sinatra, Sands Copa Room c. 1960s.
0250    Dean Martin (left) and Frank Sinatra, Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s.
0251    L-R: Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., frank Sinatra, Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s.
0252    Sammy Davis Jr. singing on Sands Copa Room stage, c. 1960s.
0253    Sammy Davis Jr., Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s.
0254    Sammy Davis Jr. singing in Sands Copa Room. (c. 1960s)
0255    Sammy Davis Jr. singing in Sands Copa Room. (c. 1960s)
0256    Sammy Davis Jr. singing in Sands Copa Room. (c. 1960s)
0257    Sammy Davis Jr. singing in Sands Copa Room. (c. 1960s)
0258    Sammy Davis Jr. singing in Sands Copa Room. (c. 1960s)
0259    Sammy Davis Jr. performing, Copa Room, Sans Hotel, c. 1960s.
0260    On stage at Sands Copa Room-Sammy Davis Jr., c. 1960s.
0261    Sammy Davis Jr. performs in Copa Room, Sands Hotel, c. 1960s.
0262    Sammy Davis Jr. and Dean Martin (right), onstage , Sands Copa Room, c. 60s.
0263    Sammy Davis Jr. singing in Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s.
0264    Sammy Davis Jr., Sands Copa Room performance, c. 1960s.
0265    Sammy Davis Jr. sings onstage, Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s.
0266    L-R: D. Martin, F. Sinatra, S. Davis Jr., Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s.
0267    L-R: Dean Martin, frank Sinatra (partially obscured), Sammy Davis Jr., Sands
Copa Room stage, c. 1960s.
0268    Dean Martin (left) and Frank Sinatra, onstage, Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s. As part of their act, they are tending bar.
0269    L-R: Dean Martin and Sammy Davis Jr. perform in Sands Copa Room, c. '60s.
0270    Frank Sinatra performs in Copa Room, Sands Hotel, c. 1960s.
0271    Frank Sinatra, Sands Copa Room stage, c. 1960s.
0272    Frank Sinatra sings in Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s.
0273    Frank Sinatra in Sands Copa Room performing, c. 1960s.
0274    Dean Martin onstage, Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s.
0275    Frank Sinatra sings in Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s.
0276    Frank Sinatra performs in the sands Copa Room, ca. 1960s.
0277    Frank Sinatra onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel, c. 1960s.
0278    L-R: Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., Frank Sinatra-Sands Copa Room, 1960s.
0279    L-R: Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., frank Sinatra-Sands Copa Room stage, 1960s.
0280    Dean Martin performs in Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s.
0281    Dean Martin performing, Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s.
0282    Frank Sinatra onstage, Sands Copa Room, Las Vegas, c. 1960s.
0283    Frank Sinatra performs in the Copa Room, Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, c. 1960s.
0284    L-R: Dean Marin, Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis Jr., clowning onstage, Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s.
0285    Dean Martin performing in Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s.
0286    Frank Sinatra onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel, c. 1960s.
0287    Frank Sinatra in Sands Copa Room, onstage, c. 1960s.
0288    Frank Sinatra in Sands Copa Room show, c. 1960s.
0289    Sammy Davis Jr. (left), Frank Sinatra (bottom right), Copa Room, c. 1960s.
0290    Sammy Davis Jr. (left) and Dean Martin in the Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s.
0291    Dean Martin (left) and Frank Sinatra, Copa Room, Sands Hotel, c. 1960s.
0292    Frank Sinatra sings in Copa Room, Sands Hotel, c. 1960s.
0293    Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel, c. 1960s.
0294    Frank Sinatra performs in Sands Copa Room, c. 1960s.

*** The following are oversized photos housed on the roller bar shelving
(George Sidney, photographer)

0295    Peter Lawford (left) and Sammy Davis Jr. in Copa Room. (1960)
0296    L-R: Peter Lawford, Frank Sinatra, Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr. perform in Sands Copa Room, 1960.
0297    Dean Martin, holding trombone, waves to audience in Copa Room. (1960)
0298    Dean Martin onstage, Sands Copa Room, 1960.
0299    Dean Martin sings in the Sands Copa Room, 1960.
0300    Dean Martin performs in Copa Room, Sands Hotel, 1960.
0301    Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room in Sands Hotel, 1960.
0302    Dean Martin in Sands Copa Room, 1960.
0303    Dean Martin performs in Sands Copa Room, 1960.
0304    Joey Bishop performs in Sands Copa Room, 1960.
0305    Dean Martin onstage, Sands Copa Room, 1960.
0306    Dean Martin performs in Copa Room at the Sands Hotel, 1960.
0307    Dean Martin plays trombone, Frank Sinatra at right. Copa Room, Sands,1960.

Return to Top
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Miscellaneous Entertainers

0308    L-R: Jack Entratter, Lauren Bacall, Frank Sinatra, Kim Novak. Celebrating Bacall's birthday at the Sands Hotel. (no date)
0309    Lauren Bacall cuts her birthday cake with Frank Sinatra's help. Jack Entratter (at left) and Kim Novak. (right). Sand Hotel. (no date)
0310    Lauren Bacall's birthday party at the Sand Hotel (n.d.) L-R: Jack Entratter, Lauren Bacall, Frank Sinatra, Kim Novak.
0311    Lauren Bacall feeds Jack Entratter a piece of her birthday cake. (n.d.) Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev.
0312    Jack Entratter (standing), Humphrey Bogart (seated far left), Lauren Bacall (far right). Sands Hotel showroom. (c. early 1950s)
0313    President John F. Kennedy (left) with Jack Entratter, Sands Hotel. (c. 1961)
0314    Doris Day (right). (Photo by Bernard of Hollywood, Dunes Hotel, Las Vegas)
0315    Tony Martin (left), Dean Martin (right).
0316    Milton Berle (left) and Howard keel (standing, center).
0317    Milton Berle (left) with Howard Keel.
0318    L-R: Danny Thomas and Doris Day at the Dunes Hotel. (Photo by Bernard of Hollywood, Dunes Hotel)
0319    Milton Berle (left) with unidentified woman.
0320    Milton Berle (left) with unidentified woman.
0321    Jerry Lewis (standing at left) and Dean Martin (seated at right) recording a radio program for ABC.
0322    Jerry Lewis (center, arms raised), recording a radio program for ABC.
0323    Lena Horne (seated) during recording of a CBS radio show. Donald O'Connor (left, tweedy jacket).
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Miscellaneous 2

0324    Showgirl wearing mushroom cloud headpiece to promote nuclear testing in the 1950s.
0325    Lauren Bacall, Jack Entratter, Judy Garland. Sands Hotel (no date).
0326    Jack Entratter and Marilyn Monroe.
0327    Sands Copa Room, (no date). Lauren Bacall, Judy Garland, Humphrey Bogart, Jack Entratter.
0328    Sands marquee: "Joey Bishop, Brascia & Tybee. The most beautiful girls in the west. Antonio Morelli and his music".
0329    Sands marquee: "Copa Room-Jack Entratter presents Dean Martin, Ken Lane at the piano. Brascia & Tybee, Antonio Morelli and his music".
0330    Sands marquee: "Jack Entratter presents - Frank Sinatra, Count Basie".
0331    Buddy Lester.
0332    Sammy Davis Jr., onstage. (no date)
0333    Bobby Darin onstage. (no date)
0334    Bobby Darin performing.
0335    Bobby Darin performing.
0336    Unidentified performer at the Sands Hotel. (no date)
0337    Sammy Davis Jr. onstage.
0338    Marilyn Monroe and Jack Entratter.
0339    Sands marquee: "Jack Entratter Presents Dino, Closing Tonight".
0340    Carl Cohen and Danny Thomas.
0341    Frank Sinatra (left in space helmet) with Jack Entratter. Probably around the time of the launching of "Sputnik". (Oct. 1957)
0342    Sinatra (left) and Entratter.
0343 Sinatra with harem. Part of the festivities when the Sands Corporation opened the Dunes ca. 1965
0344    The "Rat Pack" onstage.
0345    Martin, Sinatra, Davis onstage.
0346    Filming a scene…Cyd Charisse (hands on hips) and Jim Backus (carnation in lapel).
0347    Premiere of movie "Meet Me in Las Vegas" at El Portal Theatre, Las Vegas.
0348    "I Spy", Robert Culp (left) and Bill Cosby (right). March/April 1965.
0349    Aerial view of the grounds of the Sands Hotel, Las Vegas. (1962)
0350    Aerial view of the grounds of the Sands Hotel, Las Vegas. (1962)
0351    Sands Hotel sign, daytime. (c. 1950s-60s)
0352    Sands Hotel sign, daytime. (c. 1950s-60s)
0353    Entrance to Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada. (c. 1950s-60s)
0354    Sands Hotel pool. (c. 1950s-60s)
0355    Sands Hotel marquee with Christmas tree. (1954)
0356    Sands marquee with Christmas tree. Night view. (1954)
0357    Sands marquee with Christmas tree. (1954)
0358    Sands marquee with Christmas tree. Night view. (1954)
0359    Sands marquee with Christmas tree. (1954)
0360    Frank Sinatra performing at the Sand Hotel. (c. 1960s)
0361    Frank Sinatra performing at the Sand Hotel. (c. 1960s)
0362    Frank Sinatra performing at the Sand Hotel. (c. 1960s)
0363    Frank Sinatra performing at the Sand Hotel. (c. 1960s)
0364    Frank Sinatra performing at the Sand Hotel. (c. 1960s)
0365    Frank Sinatra performing at the Sand Hotel. (c. 1960s)
0366    Frank Sinatra performing at the Sand Hotel. (c. 1960s)
0367    Frank Sinatra performing at the Sand Hotel. (c. 1960s)
0368    Frank Sinatra performing at the Sand Hotel. (c. 1960s)

Return to Top
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Color Transparencies

0369    Gambling scene (roulette)-Sands Hotel, c. 1960s.
0370    Frank Sinatra in Arabian costume for movie.
0371    Frank Sinatra performing in the Copa Room, Sands Hotel. (c. 1960s) (10 transparencies)
0372    Pool scene-Sands Hotel. (c. 1960s)
0373    Audience and partial view of the Copa Room stage-Sands Hotel. (c. 1960s)
0374    Copa Room-Sands Hotel. (color postcard)
0375    Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, NV., aerial view. (color postcard)
0376    Celebrity Theatre in the Sands Hotel, Las Vegas, NV. (color postcard)
0377    Chorus line, Copa Girls, Sands Hotel. Jack Entratter with unidentified (short) man. (c. 1960s)
0378    Joey Bishop at microphone, Sands Copa Room. (August 1965)
0379    Joey Bishop with top hat, Copa Room, Sands. (c. 1960s)
0380    Joey Bishop receives citation from City of Philadelphia. (August 1970)
0381    Joey Bishop playing mandolin, Copa Room, Sands Hotel. (August 1965)
0382    Louis Prima performing in the Copa Room at the Sands Hotel. (March 1966)
0383    Louis Prima, Prima's wife, and Frank Sinatra at the Sands Hotel. (Dec. 1965)
0384    Louis Prima publicity photo-early 1966.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Sands Casino

0385    People playing craps, Sands Casino. (c. 1950s-60s)
0386    Sands Casino, 1950s-60s. (color transparency)
0387    People playing craps, Sands Casino. (c.1950s-60s)
0388    People at roulette table, Sands Casino, c. 1950s-60s.
0389    People at roulette table, Sands Casino, c. 1950s-60s.
0390    People playing slot machines, Sands Casino. (c. 1950s-60s)
0391    "Welcome to Las Vegas" sign., c. 1959-60.
0392    People playing slots, Sands Casino, c. 1950s-60s
0393    Sands marquee: "Jack Entratter Presents, Dean Martin, Maybe Frank, Maybe Sammy. Brascia & Tybee (September 1963?)
0394    Exterior of Sands Hotel/Casino with marquee in view. (c. 1950s)
0395    Exterior of Sands Hotel/Casino, c. 1950s.
0396    Looking south on Las Vegas Blvd., Sands Hotel/Casino. (Fall 1954)
0397    Exterior of Sands Hotel. Nat King Cole's name on marquee. (c. 1950s-60s)
0398    Exterior of Sands Hotel, c. 1950s.
0399 Sands Casino ca. 1965
0400    Exterior of the Sands Hotel during their 3rd anniversary.
0401    Cake to celebrate 12th anniversary (?) of Sands Casino. Onstage in the Copa Room, December 18, 1964.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
George Sidney Photos , 1960

Sammy Davis Jr.

0402    Sammy Davis Jr. onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0403    Sammy Davis Jr. onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0404    Sammy Davis Jr. and Peter Lawford onstage, Sands Copa Room, Sands Hotel, Las Vegas Ca. 1960s.
0405    Sammy Davis Jr. and Peter Lawford onstage, Sands Copa Room, Sands Hotel, Las Vegas Ca. 1960s.
0406    Sammy Davis Jr., Frank Sinatra, and Peter Lawford onstage, Sands Copa Room, Sands Hotel, Las Vegas Ca. 1960s.
0407    Sammy Davis Jr. and Peter Lawford onstage, Sands Copa Room, Sands Hotel, Las Vegas Ca. 1960s.
0408    Sammy Davis Jr. and Peter Lawford onstage, Sands Copa Room, Sands Hotel, Las Vegas Ca. 1960s.
0409    Sammy Davis Jr. and Peter Lawford onstage, Sands Copa Room, Sands Hotel, Las Vegas Ca. 1960s.

Return to Top
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Frank Sinatra

0410    Frank Sinatra onstage, Sands Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0411    Frank Sinatra onstage, Sands Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0412    Frank Sinatra onstage, Sands Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0413    Frank Sinatra onstage, Sands Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0414    Frank Sinatra onstage, Sands Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0415    Frank Sinatra onstage, Sands Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0416    Frank Sinatra and Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0417    Frank Sinatra and Sammy Davis Jr. onstage, Copa Room, Sands.
0418    Frank Sinatra and Joey Bishop onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0419    Frank Sinatra and Peter Lawford onstage, Sands Copa Room, Sands Hotel, Las Vegas Ca. 1960s.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Dean Martin

0420    Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0421    Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0422    Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0423    Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0424    Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0424a    Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0425    Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0426    Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Joey Bishop

0427    Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0428    Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0429    Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0430    Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0431    Dean Martin onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Rat Pack

0432    Rat Pack onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0433    Rat Pack onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0434    Rat Pack onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0435    Rat Pack onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0436    Rat Pack onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.
0437    Rat Pack onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel.

Return to Top
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Miscellaneous 3

0438    Showgirls, Copa Room, Sand Hotel. (George Sidney photo,1960)
0439    Showgirls, Copa Room, Sands Hotel. (George Sidney photo, 1960)
0440    Shirley MacLaine onstage, Copa Room, Sands Hotel. (George Sidney photo, 1960)
0441    Jack Entratter, May 1960.
0442    Dean Martin and Jerry Lewis with chorus girls.
0443    Dean Martin and Jerry Lewis with chorus girls.
0444    Frank Sinatra (left); Dean Martin (right). (c. 1960s)
0445    Nancy Sinatra with her father Frank Sinatra, at right. (Sept. 1960)
0446    Frank Sinatra walks his daughter Nancy down the aisle prior to her marriage to Tommy Sands. Wedding was held at the Sands Hotel. (Sept.1960)
0447    Tommy Sands and Nancy Sinatra at their wedding at the Sands Hotel. (Sept. 1960)
0448    Sammy Davis Jr.'s wedding to Loray, Sands Hotel. (May 1966)
0449    Wedding reception at the sand Hotel for Sammy Davis Jr. and wife Loray. (May 1966)
0450    L-R; U.S. Senator Howard Cannon (Nev.); Sandy Waterman; U.S. Senator Alan Bible (Nev.); Nevada Governor Grant Sawyer. (Sept. 1965) First Mental Health Congress.
0451    Nat King Cole performing in the Sands Copa Room. (4-3-63)
0452    L-R: Louis Prima, Jerry Lewis, Jackie Heller, Milton Berle, Sam Butera-- onstage, Sands Copa Room. (May 1969)
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Copa Girls

0453    Sands Copa Girls. Calypso number- L-R: ?, Corinne, Harry Nofal, Charlotte Nort, Jeanie Gardner, Shelby Young. Nov. 1963
0454    Sands Copa Girls. Calypso Number - L-R: ?, Corrine, Mary Baglan, Harry Nofal, Lee Temple, Charlotte Nort. Nov. 1963
0455    Two Texas Copa Girls at the Sands. L-R: Linda Henrich, ? Jack Entratter, Carlyn Chapman. c. 1950's - 1960's.
0456    Texas Copa Girls. Lucille Nelson, Dean Martin, Cheryl Madison. Dec. 1959
0457    Sands Copa Girls, "Me and My Shadow." L-R: Rowena Buttenweiser, Shirley Kirks, Harry Nofal, Charlotte Nort, Sharon Gollings. March 1963
0458    Sands Copa Girl - Judy Johnson, 1958
0459    Sands Copa Girls. L-R: Charlotte Nort, Ryba Twin - Joan Ryba - Houston, Jean Waters - Houston, Carlyn Chapman (Dallas), Linda Henrich (Dallas), Jackie Lee, Arlene. c. 1950's - 1960's.
0460    Sands Copa Girls. L-R: Barbara, Jeanie Gardner, Rowena Buttenweiser, Harry Nofal, Shirley Kirks, Charlotte Nort, Marlene. April 1963
0461    Sands Copa Girls. In Cartouche, L-R: Charlotte Nort, Rowena Buttenweiser, Barbara. Seated, L-R: ?, ?, Marlene, Ryba Twins - Jane and Joan, Jackie Lee, ?, ?, Lee Temple. April 1963
0462    "Venus Show" - Sands Copa Girls. L-R: Shelby Young, Lee Temple, Barbara, ?, Charlotte Nort, Mary Marx, Sharon Gollings, Rowena Buttenweiser, Jeanie Gardner, Mary Baglan. 1963. (OVERSIZE)
0463    Sands Copa Girl. Shirley Kirks, Harry Nofal, 1962
0464    Sands Copa Girls - "Come Blow Your Horn." L-R: Mary Baglan, Jeanie Gardner, ?, Shirley Kirks, ?, Barbara, Victoria, Lee Temple. Nov. 1963
0465    Sands Copa Girls. L-R: Rowena Buttenweiser, Marlene, Charlotte Nort, Mary Baglan, Harry Nofal, Billye Nelms, ?, Shirley Kirks. Nov. 1962
0466    Sands Copa Girls. L-R: Barbara, Harry Nofal, Mary Baglan, Jackie Lee. Oct. 1962
0467    Sands Copa Girl - Jackie Lee, c. 1952
0468    Sands Copa Girl - Judy James, July 1966
0469    Sands Copa Girl - J. Johnson, July 1966
0470    Sands Copa Girl - Grace Lee, July 1966
0471    Sands Copa Girl - Karen Kristy, July 1966
0472    Sands Copa Girl - Diane Borne, July 1966
0473    Sands Copa Girl - Janet Hadland
0474    Sands Copa Girl - Gail Wykell, July 1966
0475    Sands Copa Girl - Sandy Daly, July 1966
0476    Sands Copa Girl -Rusty Taylor, July 1966
0477    Sands Copa Girl - Mary McCollum?, July 1966
0478    Sands Copa Girl - Jean Gardner, July 1966
0479    Sands Copa Girl - Janet Hadland, Summer 1967
0480    Sands Copa Girl - Grace Lee, Summer 1967
0481    Sands Copa Girl - Sandy Daly, Summer 1967
0482    Sands Copa Girl - Rusty Taylor, Summer 1967
0483    Sands Copa Girl - Marlene Pacheco, Summer 1967
0484    Sands Copa Girl - Joan Boyd, Summer 1967
0485    Sands Copa Girl - Jackie Johnson, Summer 1967
0486    Sands Copa Girl - Karen Kristy, Summer 1967
0487    Sands Copa Girl - Mary McCullom, Summer 1967
0488    Sands Texas Copa Girl - Judy Johnson, c. 1950's - 1960's
0489    Sands Copa Girls. Theresa Hayes, ?, Margo Martin, Pat Hewlett, w/ Ritz Brothers, c. 1958?
0490    Sands Copa Girl - Joy Blaine, June 1965
0491    Texas Copa Girls. ?, Margo Martin, Dean Martin, Pat Hewlett, Theresa Hayes, Jack Entratter, Lucille Nelson, c. Dec. 1959
0492    Sands Copa Girls. L-R: Joan Ryba, Angela, Jerry Lewis, Bonnie Pavia, Joyce White, Jane Patton, c. 1958
0493    Sands Copa Girl - Lyn Shannon, c. 1950's - 1960's
________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
Additions to Collection

0494    Ten Copa Girls perform a dance number with blue ostrich feather fans on the stage of the Copa Room in the Sands Hotel. (ca. 1955)
0495    Three Copa Girls in white satin and red velvet costumes perform a dance number in the Copa Room of the Sands Hotel. (ca. 1955) (COLOR PHOTO)
0496    Copa Girls rehearsal. 91954) Sands Hotel entertainment director Jack Entratter and singer Frank Sinatra (far rt.) review script during rehearsal for the Ziegfeld Follies show in the Copa Room of the Sands Hotel.
0497    Copa Girls standing onstage during a rehearsal. Sands Hotel. (1954) They were rehearsing for the Ziegfeld Follies show.
0498    Copa Girls with former Ziegfeld Follies dancer in their dressing room at the Sands Hotel. Former dancer Gladys Gardner in center. (1954)
0499    Copa Girl rehearses with choreographer Bob Gilbert in front of the famous Sands Hotel sign with mountains visible in the background. (ca. 1955)
0500    Women playing slot machines at the casino in the Sands Hotel-c. 1950s-60s.
0501    Gamblers playing craps-Sands Hotel and Casino-c. 1950s-1960s. (from website: dino/58)
0502    Sammy Davis Jr. performs in the Copa Room, Sands Hotel. (1966)
0503    Copa Girls-Copa Room, Sands Hotel, Las Vegas. (c. 1952)
0504    Copa Girls in costume-1954.
0505    Sinatra onstage during his "Ziegfeld Follies" production at the Sands Hotel. (c. 1952) Gladys Gardner, 57-year-old former Follies Girl who danced for Ziegfeld in 1913, swoons at her stage-side table.
0506    Dancers in costume-Sands Hotel. (c. 1950s)
0507    Jack Entratter (left) with showgirl. (c. 1950s) Party with original Ziegfeld Girls.
0508    Sands showgirl (rt.) (c. 1950s) Party with original Ziegfeld Girls.
0509    Frank Sinatra (left) and Jack Entratter at a rehearsal for the Copa Girl "Ziegfeld Follies" production at the Sands Hotel. (1954)
0510    Frank Sinatra rehearses for the "Ziegfeld Follies" production at the Sands Hotel. Copa Girls in background. (1954)
0511    Rehearsal of "Ziegfeld Follies" at the Sands Hotel. Copa Girls and Frank Sinatra (far right) (1954)
0512    Frank Sinatra with Copa Girls at rehearsal for "Ziegfeld Follies"--Sands Hotel. (1954)
0513    Jack Entratter at dress rehearsal for "Ziegfeld Follies" at the Sands Hotel. Copa Girls and back view of Frank Sinatra. (1954)
0514    Jack Entratter (center) at dress rehearsal for "Ziegfeld Follies" . (1954)
0515    Frank Sinatra and Jack Entratter (left) at dress rehearsal for "Ziegfeld Follies" at the Sands Hotel. (1954)
0516    Copa Girls at dress rehearsal for "Ziegfeld Follies" at the Sands (1954)
0517    Frank Sinatra (2nd from left) at "Ziegfeld Follies" dress rehearsal. (1954)
0518    Dress rehearsal for "Ziegfeld Follies"-Copa Girls at the Sands. (1954) Bob Gilbert, choreographer, at right.
0519    Dress rehearsal in the Copa Room-1954. Jack Entratter at right.
0520    Dress rehearsal-"Ziegfeld Follies"-Copa Girls in the Copa Room. (1954) Bob Gilbert, choreographer, with back to camera.
0521    Dress rehearsal-"Ziegfeld Follies"-1954. Sands Hotel. Jack Entratter in background.
0522    Dress rehearsal-"Ziegfeld Follies"-Sands Hotel. Frank Sinatra and Jack Entratter in background. (1954)
0523    Jack Entratter (left) at rehearsal for "Ziegfeld Follies"-Sands Hotel. (1954)
0524    "Ziegfeld Follies" rehearsal in the Copa Room, Sands Hotel, 1954. Jack Entratter (center) watching.
0525    Jack Entratter (left) and Frank Sinatra at a rehearsal for the "Ziegfeld Follies" in the Sands Copa Room. (1954)
0526    Two of the Copa Girls at a rehearsal for the "Ziegfeld Follies" -- Sands Hotel. (1954) Frank Sinatra and Jack Entratter at left in audience.
0527    Copa Girls and Jack Entratter, frank Sinatra (rt.) at "Ziegfeld Follies" rehearsal, Sands Hotel. (1954)
0528    Jack Entratter (left) and Frank Sinatra. "Ziegfeld Follies" rehearsal in the Sands' Copa Room. (1954)
0529    Copa Girls with Frank Sinatra (rt.) and Jack Entratter-Sands' Copa Room. (1954)
0530    Jack Entratter (left) and Frank Sinatra in the Copa Room, Sands Hotel. (1954)
0531    Copa Girls with Jack Entratter and Frank Sinatra (rt.) "Ziegfeld Follies" rehearsal. (1954)
0532    Copa Girls onstage for "Ziegfeld Follies" rehearsal-Sands Hotel. (1954)
0533    Frank Sinatra (seated, wearing cap) at "Ziegfeld Follies" rehearsal - Sands' Copa Room. (1954)
0534    Frank Sinatra (left) and Jack Entratter. (1954)
0535    Frank Sinatra (left) and Jack Entratter pose with some of the Copa Girls in the Sands showroom. (1954)
0536    Frank Sinatra and several Copa Girls at "Ziegfeld Follies" rehearsal, Copa Room, Sands Hotel. (1954)
0537    Jack Entratter and Frank Sinatra (rt.) "Ziegfeld Follies" rehearsal--Sands Hotel. (1954)
0538    "Ziegfeld Follies" rehearsal in Sands Copa Room (1954). Jack Entratter & Frank Sinatra (rt.) with some of the Copa Girls.
0539    Sands Copa Girls lined up on the stage in the Copa Room at the Sands Hotel. (c. 1950s) Jack Entratter and Jake Friedman (far right).
0540    Bob Gilbert, choreographer (left) at Copa Girls rehearsal, Sands Hotel. (c. 1950s)
0541    Nineteen (19) color photos of Copa Girl productions-Sands Hotel-c. 1950s.
0542    Showgirls at plane. (Blue Bell Girls??) c. 1950s
0543    Copa Girls perform in the Ziegfeld Follies production show in the Copa Room of the Sands Hotel before an audience of former Ziegfeld Follies dancers. (1954)
0544    Copa Girls perform the production number "Mambo" in the Copa Room of the Sands Hotel. (ca. 1955) (COLOR PHOTO)
0545    Copa Girls onstage-Sands Copa Room-c. 1961.
0546    Opening night with Dean Martin. Frank Sinatra at right. Sands Copa Room. January 1964.
0547    Jack Entratter (center) between Lucille Ball and her husband Desi Arnaz. Sands Hotel. (c. 1950s-60s)
0548    L-R: Jack Entratter Judy Garland, Lauren Bacall. At the Sands Hotel. (c. 1950s-60s)
0549    Danny Thomas (left) and Jack Entratter standing in front of the new Sands tower which is under construction. (1965)
0550    Celebrities seated in Sands Copa Room. Jack Entratter standing behind table at left. Seated: L-R: Nancy Sinatra (Frank's wife); Yul Brynner; unidentified; Edward G. Robinson. At right, seated, Tommy Sands and his wife Nancy, nee Sinatra. (She is Frank's daughter). (December 1964)
0551    L-R: Jack Entratter, Frank Sinatra, unidentified, at a blackjack table in the Sands Casino. (c. 1950s)
0552 Jayne Mansfield with Jerry Lewis (right) at the Sands 4th anniversary celebration. (1956)
0553 Showgirls with Frank Sinatra—all in costume for the opening of the Dunes Hotel. (1955)
0554 Proof sheet of Sands Hotel after tower was built. (Jan. 26, 1966)
0555 Singer Julia Meade and Ed Sullivan studying sheet music. (September 1968)
0556 Betty White-Allen Ludden wedding at the Sands Hotel. (June 1963)
0557 Desi Arnaz (left) marries Edith Hirsch at the Sands Hotel—March 1963. Jimmy Durante at right.
0558 Janet Leigh’s wedding day. She married Robert Brandt at the Sands Hotel in 1962. Dean Martin (left) is checking out the marriage certificate.
0559 Rita Hayworth & Dick Haymes at their wedding which took place at the Sands Hotel in 1953. (cutting the wedding cake)
0560 Danny Thomas with cowgirls—Sands Hotel. (c. 1950s-60s)
0561 Lucille Ball with Jack Entratter at the Sand 1st anniversary party. (1953)
0562 L-R: Mrs. Red Skelton (?), Phyllis Diller, Red Skelton; backstage at the Sands Copa Room. (June 1968)
0563 L-R: Doris Day, Frank Sinatra, Lauren Bacall, at the Sands Hotel.
(c. 1950s-60s)
0564 L-R: Dean Martin, Sammy Davis Jr., Frank Sinatra—onstage, Sands Copa Room. (c. 1950s-60s)
0565 Sammy Davis Jr. onstage—Sands Copa Room. (1963)
0566 Copa Girls—Sands Copa Room—c. 1953.
0567 Copa Girls performing in the Sands Copa Room—(c. 1950s-60s) Three (3) photos.
0568 Some of the Copa Girls—Sands Hotel.
0569 Sands Hotel—Copa Girls performing. (c. 1950s-60s) (COLOR TRANSPARENCY)
0570 Copa Girls onstage—Sands Hotel. (COLOR TRANSPARENCY)
0571 Copa Girls in mink coats. Left to right: Linda Henrich, Caroline Chapman, Jackie Lee.
0572 Jack Entratter (left) with Kathryn Grayson and Howard Keel (far right). Others not identified. (c. 1950s-60s)
0573 L-R: Sonny Liston (boxer) and Jack Entratter. (1962)
0574 Jack Entratter (left) and comic Hank Henry. (1957)
0575 Jack Entratter (left) and comic Hank Henry. (c. 1960s?)
0576 Taken at the Sands Hotel—unidentified couple. (c. 1950s-60s)
0577 Unidentified couple at Variety Club fundraiser. (c. 1950s-60s)
0578 Dick Haymes (left) with Jack Entratter and unidentified child.
(c. 1950s-60s)
0579 Copa Girls onstage—Sand Hotel. (November 1958)
0580 Copa Girls onstage—Sands Hotel. (c. late 1950s)
0581 Dean Martin (left) and Frank Sinatra. (Credit: NBC Photo) (c. 1950s-60s)
0582 Dean Martin (left) and Frank Sinatra. (Credit: NBC Photo ) (c. 1950s-60s)
0583 Jimmy Durante plays piano as Dean Martin (left) and Jerry Lewis (right) look on. (c. 1950s)
0584 Dean Martin (left) and Jerry Lewis pose with dancers. (c. 1950s)
0585 Dean Martin on stage in the Copa Room (Sands Hotel) with his daughter Gail Martin. (August 1967)
0586 Dean Martin with showgirls (probably Copa Girls) – Sands Hotel. (n.d.)
0587 L-R: Dean Martin, Jack Entratter, Walter Cronkite. (c. 1963)
0588 Dean Martin on stage in the Copa Room, Sands Hotel. Actor Jack Palance in audience, facing camera. (c. 1960s)
0589 L-R: Frank Sinatra, Jackie Heller, Dean Martin. (c. 1963)
0590 Dean Martin (left) – Copa Room in Sands Hotel. Others not identified. Nov./Dec. 1959.
0591 Dean Martin (center) with his daughter Gail Martin on stage in Sands’ Copa Room. Other man not identified. (August 1967)
0592 Dean Martin and his daughter Gail Martin, Sands Copa Room. (August 1967)
0593 Jack Entratter with unidentified woman (possibly a Copa Girl). (c. 1960s)
0594 “Monte Carlo in the desert.” Downtown Las Vegas (1953). (International
News Photo)
0595 Jayne Mansfield and comedian Jerry Lewis (right) at Sands Hotel fourth
Anniversary. (1956)
0596 Jerry Lewis and Jayne Mansfield clowning around at the Sands Hotel pool.
It was the Sands’ fourth anniversary. (1956)
0597 Jayne Mansfield at the Sands Hotel – 1956.
0598 Comedian Jerry Lewis clowning with Jayne Mansfield at the Sands pool
On the occasion of the Sands’ 4th anniversary. (1956) Man in leopard
Skin swimsuit is Mickey Hargitay.
0599 Jerry Lewis and Jayne Mansfield clowning around in the Sands Hotel
Pool – 1956. (Sands’ 4th anniversary)
0600 Jayne Mansfield and Mickey Hargitay at the Sands Hotel pool. It was
The Sands’ fourth anniversary. (1956)
0601 Copa Girls onstage—roller skate routine. (c. 1950s-60s)
0602 Danny Thomas holding box marked “Top Secret”. (c. 1950s-60s0
0603 Las Vegas News Bureau photographers taking a picture of the Copa Girls in the desert. Prospector in foreground. (c. 1950s-60s)
0604 Drawing of Louis Prima with black eye. Caption” “’I’ve switched!”
(c. 1950s-60s)
0605 Opening of the movie ‘Meet Me in Las Vegas” at the El Portal Theater in Las Vegas. (1955)
0606 “Pepe” star Cantinflas with Jack Entratter. (c. 1950s-60s)
0607 Chef Maurice Cau in the Sands kitchen. (May 1969)
0608 W. Davis dealing cards—Sands Casino. Toni Bright, cocktail waitress, next to him. (c. 1950s-60s)
0609 Wardrobe mistress at Sands Hotel. (c. 1950s-60s)
0610 Switchboard operators at Sands Hotel. (c. 1950s-60s)
0611 L-R: Mike Uzan, Asst. Executive Chef; Doug Hardy ,Food & Beverage Dept. Mgr.; Christopher Johns, Executive Chef; John Thacker, Director of Food & Beverage; Ramon Gonzalez, pastry chef. Sands Hotel & Casino Award Winning Food & Beverage Staff. (n.d.)
0612 The Interface Group, Inc. L-R: Irwin Chafetz, Ted Benard, Sheldon G. Adelson and Jordan Shapiro.
0613 Sahara Hotel marquee—announces birth of Troy Damien Romero, son of Mr. and Mrs. John Romero, September 18, 1978.
0614 Lena Horne performing in the Copa Room, Sands Hotel, c. 1950s-60s.

Slides

0615 Showroom
0616 Showroom
0617 Showroom
0618 Showroom



Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections