Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0232
Murphy, F.M.

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


EARLY 1930S

0001    Harvesting Carrots Imperial Valley. Photograph by Hetzel
COLORADO RIVER BLACK CANYON, EARLY 1930S

0002    Photograph by F.M. Murphy. Colorado River near Black Canyon.
0003    Photograph by F.M. Murphy. Cape Horn, Six-Company Cliff Dwellers.
0004    Aerial view of Colorado River Black Canyon, 1/13/29. Photo taken by Spencer Air Photos.
0005    Taken from near top of damsite, Nevada side, first year of construction activities.
0006    Substation which supplies power for dams construction.
0007    Dam site, black Canyon, 6/27/30. Photograph taken by Fairchild Aerial Surveys.
0008    Aerial view of Black Canyon Dam site. Photograph taken by Fairchild Aerial Surveys.
0009    Lookout point on the brink of Black Canyon. Photo by F.M. Murphy.
0010    Colorado River, near Black Canyon. Photo by F.M. Murphy.
0011    Lower Black Canyon. Photo by F.M. Murphy.    
0012    Colorado River, 5 miles below Boulder damsite. Photo by F.M. Murphy.
0003    Taken at sunrise, 12 miles below the damsite. Photo by F.M. Murphy.
0014    Colorado River, 7 miles below Boulder Dam.
0015    Colorado River, 5 miles below Boulder Dam. Photo by F.M. Murphy.
0016    Surveyers overlooking Black Canyon. Photo courtesy of E.R Wintz.
0017    Colorado River, 12 miles below Boulder Dam. Photo by F.M. Murphy.



BOULDER CITY, EARLY 1930S

0018    Boulder City. Photo by F.M. Murphy.
0019    Boulder City. Photo by F.M. Murphy.
0020    Administration Building, Boulder City. Photo by F.M. Murphy.
0021    The day shift arrives at Boulder. The big motor lorry is in front of the club house in Boulder City. [for additional information see album 1, #48]
0022    Boulder City Company Stores, early 1930s.



VARIOUS SHOTS, SOUTHWEST, EARLY 1930S

0023    Bridges over the Colorado River, 100 miles south of Black Canyon. [Needles, California]. Photo by F.M. Murphy.
0024    Grading Coachella Valley California Deglet Noor dates. Photo by Frashers.
0025    Date Palms in Californias Coachella Valley. Frashers photo. [for additional information see album 1, #72
0026    Palm Canyon in the San Jacinto Mts. California. Ca. 1933. Photo by F.M. Murphy.
0027    Palm Springs, California, ca. 1931-32
0028    A monument with the name Joseph Heber on it.
0029    Nelson mining district near Searchlight, Nevada [ca. 1930s]
0030    Searchlight, Nevada, early 1930s.



VARIOUS SHOTS, SOUTHWEST, EARLY 1930S

0031    Eldorado Mts. ; Nevada side. Fortification Hill to the right of background. Photo by F.M. Murphy.
0032    Lake Mead Lookout point (most of the area in the back is covered with water today). Photo by F.M. Murphy.
0033    The road to the dam along the base of Mont Rough. Photo by F.M. Murphy. For additional information see photo album 1, #15.
0034    Prospector and his wagon in Nevada (?). Photo by Oaks.
0035    Prospector and his wagon in Nevada (?). Photo by Oaks.
0036    Prospector and his wagon in Nevada (?). Photo by Oaks.



HOOVER DAM CONSTRUCTION, EARLY 1930S

0037    Trucks carry muck out of the gorge where formerly flowed the Colorado, 1933. Photo by F.M. Murphy. For additional information see photo album 1, #51.
0038    Bucket sips being filled with muck from the deep inner gorge of Black Canyon. June 5th, 1933. Photo by F.M. Murphy. [For additional information see photo album 1, #50]
0039    The two Arizona inversion tunnels during construction. Photo by F.M. Murphy.



EARLY LAS VEGAS

0040    A Buckboard in the streets of Las Vegas. Ca. 1933. Photo by F.M. Murphy. [For additional information see photo album 1, #52]
0041    Western Air Express plane arriving at Las Vegas, Nevada, airport. Ca. early 1930s Photo by F.M. Murphy.



ADDITIONS TO COLLECTION (INCLUDES BLACK CANYON, COLORADO RIVER, HOOVER DAM, BOULDER CITY, AND VICINITY; 1930s)

0042    Hoover Dam area, looking northeast. Black Canyon and Colorado River, right. Fortification Hill, background right. (c. 1931)
0043    Black Canyon area. c. 1931
0044    Black Canyon area looking northeast, Fortification Hill at right. c. 1931
0045    Black Canyon area. (c. 1931)
0046    Black Canyon area looking east from Arizona side of the Colorado River. Fortification Hill, left. C. 1931
0047    Geologic formations in Black Canyon area. (c. 1931)
0048    Geologic formations in Black Canyon area. c. 1931
0049    Black Canyon area geologic formations. (c. 1931)
0050    Geologic formations in Black Canyon area. c. 1931
0051    Hemenway Wash Six Companies (gravel screening plant) in middle background. (c. 1931-32)
0052    Colorado River at the bottom of Hemenway Wash, looking northeast from Monument Pass. (future bed of Lake Mead) c. 1931-32
0053    Hemenway Wash, looking north. Ca. 1931-32
0054    Hoover Dam area, looking west from site of Babcock & Wilcox steel fortifications plant U.S. Construction Railroad, foreground, Black Canyon highway and lower portal road. (c. 1931-32)
0055    Black Canyon area. (ca. 1931-32)
0056    Boulder City, NV, looking northeast. ca. 1932
0057    Boulder City, NV, looking northeast. (ca. 1932)
0058    Geologic formations southeast of Boulder City. (ca. 1932)
0059    Geologic formations southeast of Boulder City, NV. (ca. 1932)
0060    Boulder City, NV area: geologic formations. (ca. 1932)
0061    Geologic formations southeast of Boulder City, NV. (ca. 1932)
0062    Black Canyon area, looking east to Fortification Hill. (ca. 1932)
0063    Black Canyon area, looking north on Nevada side; Fortification Hill on right. (ca. 1932)
0064    Black Canyon area, looking south from Nevada side. (ca. 1932)
0065    Black Canyon Hoover Dam construction roads, looking southwest. (ca. 1932)
0066    Hemenway wash. (ca. 1932)
0067    Hemenway wash. (ca. 1932)
0068    Hemenway wash. ca. 1932
0069    Hemenway wash. (ca. 1932)
0070    Black Canyon area, looking downstream. (ca. 1932)
0071    Black Canyon area, looking downstream. (ca. 1932)
0072    Black Canyon area, looking north. (ca. 1932)
0073    Black Canyon area, looking north Fortification Hill at right. (ca. 1932)
0074    Black Canyon, downstream looking south. (ca. 1932)
0075    Black Canyon area. (ca. 1932)
0076    Fortification Mountain as seen from Williamsville, Nevada on Colorado River near Hoover Dam. (c. 1932) Ragtown/Williamsvelle at center.
0077    The Crows Nest at the dam site.
0078    Hemenway was and Colorado River Lookout Point near Hoover Dam, Las Vegas, Nevada. (c. 1932) Ragtown/Williamsvelle at center.
0079    Black Canyon. (ca. 1931-32)
0080    Hemenway wash. (ca. 1932)
0081    Hemenway wash. (ca. 1932)
0082    Hemenway wash. (ca. 1932)
0083    Colorado River Black Canyon area? (ca. 1932)
0084    Colorado River - Black Canyon area? (c. 1932)
0085    Colorado River Black Canyon area? (c. 1932)
0086    Colorado River. Black Canyon area? (c. 1932)
0087    Hemenway wash. (ca. 1932)
0088    Hemenway wash. (ca. 1932)
0089    Hemenway wash. (ca. 1932)
0090    Black Canyon area? ca. 1932
0091    Black Canyon. (ca. 1931-32)    
0092    Colorado River Black Canyon area downstream. (ca. 1932)
0093    Panorama of Black Canyon, looking east. Fortification Hill, Middle. (c. 1932)
0094    Panorama -- Black Canyon, looking east. Fortification Hill, Middle. (c. 1932)
0095    Ridges above Black Canyon, Fortification Hill, right background. (c. 1932)
0096    Black Canyon, Fortification Hill in the background. (ca. 1932)
0097    Black Canyon -- Fortification Hill, background. (c. 1932)
0098    Area southeast of Boulder City,, Nevada. (c. 1932)
0099    Hemenway wash and Colorado River, ca. 1932.
0100    Hemenway wash, looking north. (ca. 1932)
0101    Black Canyon highway. (c. 1932)
0102    Black Canyon highway. (ca. 1932)
0103    Boulder City Nevada. (ca. 1932)
0104    Eldorado Valley, alumite area, looking southwest. (ca. 1932)
0105    Bureau of Reclamation Administration Building, Boulder City, NV. (ca. 1932)
0106    Colorado River near Six Companies gravel pit railroad. (c. 1932)
0107    Six Companies Railroad from gravel pits. (c. 1932)
0108    Colorado River upstream from Black Canyon six Companies trestle bridge, center background. (ca. 1932)
0109    Colorado River near Six Companies gravel pits. (ca. 1932)
0110    Six Companies gravel screening plant in Hemenway Wash. (ca. 1932)
0111    Area near Nelson, Nevada (?). c. 1932
0112    Area near Nelson, NV (?) c. 1932
0113    Area near Nelson, NV (?) c. 1932
0114    Area near Nelson, NV (?) c. 1932
0115    Arizona diversion tunnels, inlets, Hoover Dam. (ca. 1932-33)
0116    Arizona diversion tunnels, inlets, Hoover Dam. (ca. 1932-33)
0117    Black Canyon Highway -- (c. 1932-33)
0118    Fremont Street, Las Vegas, Nevada. (1932)
0119    Eldorado Valley looking north from Nelson Road. (c. 1932)
0120    Las Vegas Valley, looking west. (c. 1932)
0121    Railroad pass, looking south. (ca. 1932)
0122    Railroad pass, looking north. (ca. 1932)
0123    Nevada California Power Company switchyard at Hoover Dam. (c. 1932-33)
0124    Kingman Wash area, Fortification Hill in background. (c. 1932)
0125    Hemenway wash. (c. 1932)
0126    Hemenway wash. (c. 1932)
0127    Colorado River from Lookout point. (c. 1932)
0128    Black Canyon Highway, looking west. (c. 1932)
0129    Black Canyon Highway, looking northeast over Hemenway wash. (c. 1932)
0130    Colorado River at bottom of Hemenway wash. (c. 1932)
0131    U.S. Construction Railway entrance to Black Canyon Fortification Hill in background. (c. 1932)
0132    Colorado River upstream from Black Canyon. (c. 1932)
0133    Colorado River above entrance to Black Canyon. (c. 1932)
0134    Colorado River at bottom of Hemenyway Wash. (c. 1932)
0135    Hemenway Wash area. (c. 1932)
0136    Colorado River above area, Arizona side. (c. 1932)
0137    Black Canyon area, Arizona side. (c. 1932)
0138    Fortification Hill. (c. 1932)
0139    Fortification Hill, c.1932
0140    Black Canyon area Arizona side. (c. 1932)
0141    Black Canyon area, Arizona side. (c. 1932)
0142    Top of Fortification Hill (?) c. 1932
0143    Colorado River below Black Canyon. (c. 1932)
0144    Colorado River below Black Canyon. (c. 1932)
0145    Colorado River below Black Canyon. (c. 1932)
0146    Colorado River below Black Canyon. (c. 1932)
0147    Willow Beach, Arizona (?) c. 1932
0148    Road to Willow Beach, Arizona (?) c. 1932. (Fortification Hill, left)
0149    Fortification Hill. (c. 1932)
0150    North Shore area, looking east. Fortification Hill, left background. (c. 1932)
0151    North shore area, looking east (?). c. 1932
0152    North shore looking, looking east. (c. 1932)
0153    North Shore area, looking east Fortification Hill, left background. (c. 1932)
0154    North Shore area. (c. 1932)
0155    Railroad pass, looking north. (ca. 1932)
0156    Railroad pass, looking south. (ca. 1932)
0157    Boulder Highway (aka Nevada Highway) -- looking south. (c. 1932)
0158    Las Vegas Valley Winterwood area (?). Frenchman and Sunrise Mountain. (c. 1932)
0159    Area near Nelson, Nevada. (c. 1932)
0160    Area near Nelson, Nevada. (c. 1932)
0161    Mining operations near Nelson, Nevada. (c. 1932)
0162    Nelson Nevada. (c. 1932)
0163    Boulder Highway (aka Nevada Highway) west of Railroad Pass, looking north into Las Vegas Valley. (c. 1932)
0164    Hemenway Wash with Black Canyon Highway looking south toward McKeeversville and Boulder City. (c. 1932)
0165    Entrance to Boulder Canyon Project Federal Reservation, looking west. (c. 1932)
0166    Eldorado Valley, alumite area, looking southwest. (c. 1932)
0167    Hemenway Wash. (c. 1932)
0168    Road to Searchlight, looking north to Railroad Pass. (c. 1932)
0169    Road to Searchlight, looking north to Railroad Pass. (ca. 1932)
0170    Colorado River from lookout Point. (c. 1932)
0171    Big Bertha --- bus used to transport contraction workers to Boulder Dam. (c. 1932s)
0172    Ragtown, Nevada. (c. 1932)
0173    Jumbo drilling rig carrying construction workers Hoover Dam -- c. 1932s.