You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0235
Mint Hotel Collection

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


0001    Playing games at Las Vegas Mint – visitors to Del Webb’s Mint Hotel in downtown Las Vegas are taught free the winning fundamentals of craps, roulette, and “21” in the Mint’s unique gaming school. The 25 minute, full- color film presentation is designed to encourage participation by providing sufficient knowledge of the games. Here, students participate in “craps” after learning the fundamentals on film.

0002    One-armed bandits -- repair room where each slot machine in the Mint Hotel in downtown Las Vegas is repaired on a 24-hour basis. This is another stop on the famous “Behind the Scenes” tour offered free of charge by the Mint Hotel.

0003    Coin counting room – millions of coins pass through this man’s hands every day and are counted automatically by a huge machine, which is one of the unusual sights a person sees while taking the free “Behind the Scenes” tour offered by the Mint Hotel in downtown Las Vegas.

0004    “Eye in the sky” – unusual view from atop the Mint Hotel casino floor as seen through one-way glass used for security purposes by the Mint Hotel downtown Las Vegas. This is one of many interesting stops on the “Behind the Scenes” tour offered free of charge by the Mint Hotel.

0005    Graduation day -- diplomas are provided to students upon completion of the Mint Hotel’s free course in the “Winning Fundamentals of Craps, Roulette, and ‘21’ ”. The 25-minute, full-color film presentation is designed to encourage participation by providing sufficient knowledge of the games.

0006     The Mint Hotel-Casino on Fremont Street. (postcard)

0007     The Mint Hotel and Casino, craps gaming guide. (postcard)

0008     The Mint Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas, Nevada; Rules – “21” blackjack. (postcard) (Copyright 1962)

0009     The Mint Hotel and Casino, Las Vegas, Nevada; Roulette gaming guide. (postcard) (copyright 1961)

0010     Del Webb’s Mint Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada. (c. 1960’s-70’s)

0011     Rendering of the Mint Hotel. (by Atkins, 1964)

0012     The Mint Hotel during construction of tower. (c. 1960’s-70’s)

0013     Swimming pool at the Mint Hotel. (c. 1960’s-70’s)



Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections