You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0311
Longwell, Chester R.

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


0311
CHESTER R. LONGWELL COLLECTION

Album I

0001 C.R. Longwell, in North Muddy Mountains, 1919. In first season of field work in southern Nevada using saddle and pack horses. Photo taken by field assistant. View to northwest, in N-5 arm of Valley of Fire Park.
0002 Typical outcrop of the conglomerate below Keystone Thrust. Jurassic sandstone beneath the conglomerate.
0003 Charleston Peak from Griffiths.
0004 Charleston Peak from S. side.
0005 Kyle Canyon and Charleston Peak (photo missing)
0006 Wheeler Wash and W. side Charleston Peak.
0007 Charleston Peak from ridge to east.
0008 Toward Charleston Peak from Wheeler Wash.
0009 Charleston Peak from near head of Griffith Canyon. (photo missing)
0010 Charleston Peak in June. Note snow banks.
0011 Charleston Peak from ridge to south.
0012 Noble, and W. slope of Charleston Peak.
0013 Griffith Canyon, Charleston Peak.
0014 Ridge s. of Charleston Peak. (photo missing)
0015 Griffith cliffs and vegetation
0016 Charleston Peak from near Griffiths.
0017 See above (photo 0015). Looking toward Sexton Pass.
0018 Looking N. from Charleston Peak.
0019 Vacated
0020 Cathedral Rock
0021 990 Pk. S. of Griffiths.
0022 Down Kyle Canyon from E. side Charleston
0023 Out of Kyle Canyon from Cathedral Rock.
0024 Out toward La Madre from Sawmill Canyon.
0025 Gravel benches, S. side of Kyle Canyon.
0026 Out of Kyle Canyon from spur S.E. of Griffiths.
0027 Out over desert, from 10,000’ sw of Smith’s Ranch.
0028 E. side Charleston Ridge near summit Gregory. Gnarled Spruce.
0029 Spruce and desert beyond 10,000’ elevation N. of Lee Canyon.
0030 Cathedral Rock. (missing photo)
0031 Pine and aspen near Griffiths.
0032 Looking along Griffith Fault. Sexton pass in background.
0033 Miss. Peaks, S. of entrance to Lee Canyon.
0034 “The Turtle,” from slope below Lee Canyon.
0035 McWilliams clearing, Lee Canyon
0036 Dolomite vegetation, Lee Canyon.
0037 “Turtle,“ from Cathedral Rock.
0038 Head of “Turtle,” from hill NE of Griffiths.
0311
CHESTER R. LONGWELL COLLECTION

Album I (cont’d)

0039 Head of “Turtle,” and Deer Creek thrust. From near Griffiths mine.
0040 (right section of above photo)
0041 “Turtle” and tilted Miss. from Cathedral Rock.
0042 Miss. Cliffs E. of Sawmill Canyon.
0043 Sawmill “cliffs.” Perm. above.
0044 East across Sawmill Canyon.
0045 NE front of Spr. Mt., and Piedmont slope looking SW from point on road to Smith Ranch.
0046 Looking along NE slope of Sp. Mt., toward SE, from Camb. Ridge N. of Willow Sps.
0047 Looking along SW slope of Spr. Mt. to NW from point below mouth of Dry Canyon near el. 5850.
0048 (See 0047) Same slope, above 6000’. Sage and Juniper Zone. Near upper “Joshua Line” W. side Spr. Mt. E. of Wheeler Wash.
0049 Sheep Ra, NW from Mormon Well.
0050 Looking along NE slope, to SE, from point on road to Smith Ranch.
0051 “The Turtle” from point near junction of Deer Creek and Lee Canyon roads. (photo missing)
0052 Yellow Pine, at el. 8800’ in Lee Canyon, W. of McWilliams Cabin.
0053 Looking S. from top of Cathedral Rock. 6-19-25 Snow in Gulches. Yellow Pine, ls, aspen in canyon, pine and fir on lower slopes, spruce above.
0054 High gravel bench on south side Kyle Canyon. From opposite slope, near Griffith’s “orchard.” (photo missing)
0055 Griffith Fault front, from trail to Griffith’s Mine. (photo missing)
0056 The two (conglomerate) benches, on N. side of Kyle Canyon, east of Sawmill Canyon. (photo missing)
0057 Pinyon-covered hills at Y.P. ls, N of Griffith’s Road in front of high range. (photo missing)
0058 “The Turtle” and Lee Canyon from near junction of Deer Creek and Lee Canyon roads.
0059 West side of Spr. Mt. and Piedmont sloe, looking east from near Wheeler Wash.
0060 Vegetation on slope. El. 3500’, near Griffith’s road.
0061 On. E. side of range, near summit, W. of Smith Ranch looking SE. Fir and Spruce. Note dead timber from an old forest fire and young growth.
0062 Mule Mountain, from the East. Juniper and coleogeny on slope.
0063 Creosote, coleogeny, etc. on slope. Ivanpah Quad.
0064 Mountain mahogany, sage, and coleogeny NE slope looking SE, from point N. of Willow Spr.
0065 Spanish bayonet, creosote, coleogeny, etc. on slope. Looking toward Sheep Range. Elevation near 3500’. White outcrops in valley are Pleistocene? Playa deposits.
0311
CHESTER R. LONGWELL COLLECTION

Album I (cont’d)

0066 Near 10,000 ft. e., on E. side looking SE from point W of Smith Ranch. Smoke of forest fire in distance. June/24.
0067 Looking across Manse Ranch toward Pahrump from bojada slope.
0068 Pinyon and juniper on W. side of road to Wheeler Well. Old charcoal ovens. Elevation from 6500 ft. to several hundred higher.
0069 G.S. conglomerate Terrace, S. side Lee Canyon below mountain front.
0070 Penn. Hills E. of Sheep Range
0071 Frenchman Mountain and Las Vegas Wash.
0072 Covillea on slope. Looking southward from Sexton’s road. Potosi Pk etc.
0073 Looking down into Pahrump Valley from Lee Ranch.    (Williams)
0074 Slope near Manse Ranch.
0075 Mojave Desert near Amboy.
0076 Amboy volcano and lava flow.
0077 Slope near Manse block, looking NNE.
0078 Pavement (near Corn Ck?)
0079 Slope, W. side Sp. Mt. See white Pleistocene beds in mid-background.
0080 Grass Pk. and NE slope of Sp. Mt. (photo missing)
0081 Joshua and coleogyne N. of Griffith’s road, above Eagle Rock.
0082 NE at junction of Sexton’s road and Mount’s road. Storm on Charleston.
0083 Looking NW at 3500+ on Griffith’s road. Yellow Pine Hill.
0084 On road between Smith Ranch and Willow Creek, looking south.
0085 North toward spotted range from old road west of Indian Springs Ranch.
0086 Indian Spr. Ranch, etc. from the north, along Groom road.
0087 Conise Valley, east of Yermo, Calif., on highway.
0088 Covillea on E. side of Pahrump Valley looking S. from Sexton’s Road.
0089 Rainstorm over Sterling Mine.
0090 Rainstorm looking SE from point near old Charleston Station.
0091 Covillea and hills of igneous rock near Stoddard Well, Calif.
0092 Desert pavement. Road between Searchlight and Gabbs. Looking west.
0093 Looking toward Charleston Peak from pine timber near Griffith’s Resort.
0094 View eastward from slope west of Griffith’s Resort. Dawn(?) member of Miss. Limestone at right.
0095 G.S. looking across mouth of Lee Canyon from point to north.
0096 G.S. looking out over slope and foothills, from point miles N. of Lee Canyon.
0097 Entrance to Sawmill Canyon.
0098 Back of Wilson Thrust?
0099 Big Pine timber on s. slope of Kyle Canyon before fire 7-19-24.
0100 Cliffy slope of Y.P. Limestone looking s. from top of Cathedral Rock.
0101 Conglomerate bench, E. side of Kyle Canyon, NW of Griffiths. Mahogany and young fir on bench.

0311
CHESTER R. LONGWELL COLLECTION

Album I (cont’d)

0102 Contrast between pine and fir in small valley, and on slopes in dolomitized area N. of Griffiths Mine.
0103 Mahogany on bench.
0104 Buried-over area, s. of entrance to Kyle Canyon.
0105 Vegetation on slope, w. side Desert Ra. El. 3500’
0106 Mesquite Spr. Ridge, from Sterling Road. (picture missing)
0107 Desert Ra, W. of Sheep Playa.
0108 Tertiary ls., s. of Frenchman Flat, Spotted Ra.
0109 Cambrian block near Sterling Mine.
0110 Looking SE from Sterling mine. Coleogeny on slopes.
0111 Coleogeny covered slopes, near Sterling Mine.
0112 Uprooted Joshua Tree.
0113 High gravels, N of Frenchman Flat. (rounded boulders in quaternary hills N. of Frenchman Flat.)
0114 Volcanic hills NW of Frenchman Flat. (photo missing)
0115 Toward Mount Sterling – from highway W. of Indian Inn.
0116 Wheeler Peak, from highway near Indian Inn.
0117 Wheeler Peak (left) from slope W. of Indian Springs.
0118 Toward Indian Sprs. and Spr. Mt., from Tertiary buttes.\
0119 Tilted tertiary rocks, NE of Indian – (?)
0120 Old mud volcano, Pintwater Playa.
0121 Sheep Ra. from E. slope of Desert Ra.
0122 Pintwater Ra (W side), from E side Spotted Ra.
0123 Sheep Ra. (showing bench) from east slope of Spotted Ra.
0124 Tilted Cambrian section, Desert Ra, N of old road.
0125 Looking east from one of low ridges on Spotted Range. (pictured missing)
0126 Spring Mt. and slope from S side of Pintwater Ra. (picture missing)
0127 Badlands and Ordo ridge N of Frenchman Flat.
0128 Looking thru Mesquite Sprs. Ridge from North.
0129 Black Marble Butte, from Mesquite Spr. Ridge.
0130 Brown Playa and S. (?) end of Desert Range.
0131 White tertiary beds against Paleozoic limestone. Caine Spr. Road E. of Frenchman Flat.
0132 Frenchman Flat from the East (sent to Mason). (no picture)
0133 Fans W. side Pintwater Range.
0134 High dissected fans, W. side Pintwater Range. (no picture)
0135 High dissected fans, W. side Pintwater Range. (photo missing)
0136 Same close up. (no picture)
0137 Secondary calcitization in upper f, ls near W. side Desert Ra. 3 mi. from N. boundary of map. (W of reverse fault)
0138 (photo missing)
0311
CHESTER R. LONGWELL COLLECTION

Album I (cont’d)

0139 Secondary calcitization in upper f, ls. Desert Ra., W. side 3 mi. from N boundary of map. View of calcitized beds, W. side of Desert Ra.
0140 View of calcitized beds, W. side Desert Ra. (upper f ls., Desert Ra., N. of old roads. Looking NE, standing on ridge W. of bright Angel shale Valley. White layers are secondary calcite.)
0141 Calcitized layers (Cambrian). W. side. Desert Ra. (photo missing)
0142 Lee Canyon quartzite (white) offset by reverse fault E side of Spotted Ra. (Fault between Lee Canyon Qzt. (left) and Devonian (right), E. side Spotted Ra.)
0143 Fault cutting Dev. Beds down on right E. side. Spoted Ra.
0144 Fault in upper f, N. of Alamo Summit.
0145 The Groom Playa.
0146 Playa, and E. front of Spotted Ra.
0147 Brown Playa flooded (Apr., 1926) Pintwater Ra. in background. (Erdmann photo)
0148 E. front of Spotted Range. Shows offsetting by faults.
0149 Inside Desert Range, looking north along fault zone. N. of old Alamo Road.
0150 Sheep Ra (W side) from Desert Ra. (photo missing)
0151 (photo missing)
0152 (photo missing)
0153 Alluvial slope, west side of Sheep Range, Las Vegas Quad, NV. Old Slope is trenched deeply by stream course from largest canyon, which is building up a new fan-slope farther out. (more info. on board)
0154 No identification. N IV-38
0155 No description. N IV-34
0156 (photo missing)
0157 Sheep Range and fan, from South.
0158 Desert Corn Creek Ranges from Spr. Mt. side.
0159 No description. N III-87
0160 No description. N III-1
0161 No description. N III-3
0162 Jurassic ss, N. of Wilson Ranch from South. (T.W. Stanton Photo)
0163 Photo missing.
0164 Photo missing
0165 Photo missing
0166 Photo missing
0167 Jurassic cliffs. Moenkopi to right. South of Wilson Ranch. (T.W. Stanton photo - missing)
0168 Photo missing
0169 No description. N II-60
0170 No description. N II-61
0171 No description. N II-59
0172 No description. N II-52
0311
CHESTER R. LONGWELL COLLECTION

Album I (cont’d)

0173 No description. N III-26
0174 No description. N II-62
0175 Old playa beds projecting through fan waste. Sheep Mt. in back.
0176 Photo missing
0177 White beds, old playa deposit, projecting thru present fan waste.
0178 Tertiary volcanics, road from Groom Mine to Hiko.
0179 Photo missing.
0180 No description. A-47
0181 Markings on lower f qzt & ss. Block between old roads, Desert Ra.
0182 Markings on Cambrian quartzite Desert Range, W side, block between old roads.
0183 Markings on lower f qzt & ss. Desert Range. Block between old roads.
0184 (ripples print used?)
0185 Suncracks in ls.
0186 Suncracked ls.
0187 Photo missing
0188 Section of suncracked ls.
0189 No description. N IV-53
0190 Markings f ss and quartzite. Desert Range N of old roads. Member below yellow oolite.
0191 Asymmetric ripples in ss. Brown member below 800 ft. qzt f Desert Range, N of old roads.
0192 Wave-marked ss in f. member bellow yellow oolite. Desert Range, N. of old roads.
0193 No description. N V-66
0194 No description. N V-67
0195 No description. N IV-99
0196 Clary at Braun’s shack (Erdmann photo). R2-4 4/7/26, 11:00 pm. Night time in the “Boar’s Nest.” A “study” in the desert life.
0197 La Madre NE pass, looking NE, note vegetation. 7-28-25.
0198 No description.
0199 Groom mine, from west.
0200 No description. N III-68
0201 No description. N I-75
0202 G.S. North side La Madre Mt., looking s.w.
0203 No description. N I-89
0204 No description. N III-89
0205 No description. N III-48
0206 No description. N III-33
0207 No description. N I-99
0208 No description. N I-64
0209 GS.
0311
CHESTER R. LONGWELL COLLECTION

Album I (cont’d)

0210 Block of Lee Canyon (base) and higher, S end Pintwater W. of Brown’s playa. (Will light streak pass as “duster”?)
0211 No description.
0212 Oak brush in wash. Road to Willow Creek from Smith Ranch.
0213 No description
0214 No description
0215 No description
0216 No description. (photo missing)
0217 No description
0218 No description. N I-41
0219 No description. N V-97
0220 No description
0221 No description N III-70
0222 Nopah Range, from the west.
0223 No description. N V-98
0224 No description. N V-97
0225 No description. N IV-28 (photo missing)
0226 Sheep Ra. and Playa, from west.
0227 John d. Camp, 8800 ft. Lee Canyon
0228 Erdmann. Outcrop of Lee Canyon quartzite. Shattered Lee Canyon Qzt., summit of anticline NW of Indian Inn.
0229 Erdmann photo. Erdmann and Virginia Harmedy. Trout at Willow Creek.
0230 Tim (?) Harmedy’s goat. Indian Inn. (photo missing)
0231 Erdmann photo. The Harmedy’s. Willow Creek.
0232 Goat. (Harmedy’s?)
0233 Snow on low hills, N. slope Spr. Mt. Ra. Just SE of Ind. Ridge. 3-10-26
0234 Vegetation, top of Pintwater Ra. above 6000’. Rock is Lower Miss.
0235 Slope SE of Mouse. Twister in valley.
0236 Looking SW, across Pintwater Valley, from old Alamo road.
0237 Timber on dolomite above Griffith’s mine.
0238 W side of Lee Canyon
0239 Timber along thrust zone, W of Excelsior Canyon.
0240 Timber on dolomite? N. side of Lee Canyon?
0241 Lee Canyon road.
0242 South side of Lee Canyon.
0243 Cathedral Rock.
0244 High conglomerate terrace, south side Lee Canyon. Gravel terrace, s. of Lee Canyon Road.
0245 South of Kyle Canyon
0246 Squaw bush, NW of Griffith’s mine.
0247 Looking into Pahrump Valley from slope above Mouse.
0311
CHESTER R. LONGWELL COLLECTION

Album I (cont’d)
0248 E. end of Deer Creek Thrust.
0249 Las Vegas thrust, NE of Gass Peak, looking south
0250 Gass Peak.
0251 Brecciated lower f qzt, below Bech’s Ranch.
0252 Sheep Ra., from south.
0253 Dipping section of lower f W side of Desert Ra., N of old roads.
0254 Green platy shale, layer between qzt. Layers Desert Ra., section N. of old roads.
0255 Heavy qzt. Layer resting on green shale, lower f, section N of old roads in Desert Ra, below green sh zone.
0256 Ls – green sh – white dolomite zone. Desert Ra., section N of old roads.
0257 Green platy sh., with layer of ss above lower f, Desert Ra, section N of old roads.
0258 Platy green ss and sandy sh. Green sh zone above whitish horizon. Desert Ra., section N. of old roads.
0259 Dart ls. In lower f, below green shale zone. Desert Ra., section N of old roads.
0260 Slobby brown ss member of f below 800 ft Qzt. Desert Ra. N of old roads.
0261 Lowermost qzt in f (Sterling) Desert Ra., N of old roads.
0262 Rippled thin ss layer in lower f (below green shale zone) W side of Desert Ra. N. of old roads.
0263 Conglomerate in 800 ff. qzt. Desert Ra., N of old roads.
0264 No description. (photo missing)
0265 Slab of conglomerate with sister jasper pebbles in Sterling Qzt. near Sterling mine.
0266 Photo missing. (no description)
0267 Pink Qzt. member, lower f Desert Ra. between old cross roads.
0268 Sterling tunnel; Erdmann.
0269 Green shale cut by points which are lined with limonite. Shale has small cubes of limonite after pyrite. Desert Ra., N of old roads.
0270 No description. (photo missing)
0271 Synclinal valley near SE part of Mesquite. Spr. Ridge.
0272 No description. (photo missing)
0273 Splotched dolomite, upper f block in Mesquite Springs Hills 9 mi. W of Indian (?)
0274 No description. (photo missing)
0275 Upper f ls. in thin beds, dipping 45 degrees & E (right). White beds in part calcitized secondarily. Desert Ra. just W. of summit near No. boundary of Suapi.
0276 Dolomite in hill near S.E. corner of Mesquite Spr. Ridge.
0277 Cherty Cambrian ls. E. side Desert Ra.
0278 Dolomite hill S.E. corner of Mesquite Spr. Ridge.
0279 Bedding (inclined to left) and pointing (to right). Mesquite Spring ridge. All dolomite.
0280 No description. (photo missing)
0281 Bedding (inclined to left) and pointing in dolomite. Mesquite Spr. ridge.
0282 No description. (photo missing)
0311
CHESTER R. LONGWELL COLLECTION

Album I (cont’d)

0283 Splotchy dolomite upper f. West part Mesq. Spr. ridge.
0284 Massive Ordovician. ls. in which sun cracks occur.
0285 Dark and light colored dolomite. SE corner of Mesquite Spr. ridge.
0286 No description. (photo missing)
0287 Ordovician section Pintwater Ra. (E. side)
0288 No description. (photo missing)
0289 No description. (photo missing) N IV-27
0290 No description. (photo missing)
0291 Thin bedded ls. & sh. in Ordovician. Pintwater.
0292 Ordovician section (nodular sh. At base) Top of Pintwater.
0293 Thin bedded ordo. N of Alamo summit.
0294 Faulted block of ordo. Nodular sh. top of Pintwater.
0295 Ordo, nodular sh. (below) to pogonip (?) ls (above). Pintwater Ra.
0296 Ordo. section N. of Alamo summit.
0297 Ordo. section (including nodular shale zone). E. side Desert Ra.
0298 Ordovician nodular shale. E. side Desert Ra.
0299 Ordo. section looking N. Top of Desert Ra.
0300 Nodular Ordo. shale zone. Top of Pintwater
0301 Poor. Distorted Ordo. ls. in wedge thrust (near S. side) Spotted Range.
0302 Thin bedded ordo. ls. Pintwater Range.
0303 Upper Ordo., Lee Canyon. Dev. E. of Frenchman Flat.
0304 Upper thin bedded member of Ordo. E of Frenchman Flat.
0305 Looking along anticline N.W. (10 min. N.W.) Mesquite Spr. Ridge.
0306 Dipping Lee Canyon Qzt. near summit of anticline NW of Indian line (?)
0307 Tilted Ordovician section including L.C. Qzt. S. part of Desert Ra.
0308 Fault zone E. side Desert Ra. (white is Lee Canyon Qzt).
0309 Photo missing.
0310 Lee Canyon-Richmond E. side Desert Ra.
0311 Photo missing
0312 Erdmann and jointed Lee Canyon qzt.
0313 Lee C. qzt. (fore) Tertiary volcanics (back) N. of Frenchman Flat.
0314 Jointed Lee Canyon Qzt. summit of anticline NW of Indian Lane.
0315 Lee canyon quartzite in hills N. of Frenchman Flat.
0316 Lee canyon Qzt. at top of Ordo. Mt. N V-76.
0317 Photo missing
0318 Lee canyon (white below) with Richmond silurian (above). SW corner of Pintwater Ra.
0319 Photo missing.
0320 Loose photo. Vuiu (?) sys. Kyle Canyon to Charleston Peak.
0321 Loose photo. N I-73
0322 Loose photo. N I-65
0311
CHESTER R. LONGWELL COLLECTION

Album I (cont’d)

0323 Loose photo. N I-53
0324 Loose photo. Folding. Blanchard & Hall “Rock deformation and mineralization at Mt. Isa.”
0325 Loose photo. Folding. Blanchard & Hall Fig. 8.
0326 Loose photo. Folding. Blanchard & Hall Fig. 9.
0327 Loose photo. Folding.
0328 Loose photo. Folding.
0329 Loose photo. Folding.
0330 Lee canyon Qzt. Dev. Above N. side of Lee C. Geol. Surv.
0331 “Bacon” dolomite in M.P.; N. of Cane Spr. Road.
0332 Dev. & Miss E. of Frenchman Flat. Dipping E.
0333 Alternating quartzite and ls. near base of M.P. Ridge S. of Cane Spr. Road.
0334 Miss & Y.P. in ridge S. of Cave Spr. Road (looking E).
0335 W. side of Lee C. peaks.
0336 The yellow zone in Y.P. formation perm. Ridge S. of Cave Spr road near Frenchman Flat.
0337 Y.P. beds, spotted Ra., 18 miles N. Ind. Spr. Cut by NW fault near right of view.
0338 Dipping Y.P. (?) beds in high mt. s. of Cave Spr. Road.
0339 Hills at Ind. Spr. Ranch.
0340 Y.P. (?) in high mt. S. of Cave Spr. Road.
0341 Lee Canyon Pk.
0342 Thin-bedded miss., W. of Mt. Sprs.
0343 Thin-bedded miss., W. of Mt. Sprs.
0344 Ridge E. of Charleston Pk. from east.
0345 Supai zone, SW. of Grassy Spr. Geol. Surv.
0346 No description. N I-88
0347 Supai, SW. of grassy Spr. Geol. Surv.
0348 Moenkopi & Supai, dipping W. S. of Williams Road.
0349 Sw. from point E. of Cottonwood.
0350 Photo missing. N III-23.
0351 Upturned Moenkopi, near Grapevine Spr. Sheep Ra in back.
0352 Kaibab – Supai at Great Western Gypsum Plant. (T.W. Stanton photo)
0353 No description. N II-66
0354 Supai – Kaibab N. of Grapevine Spr. Geol. Surv.
0355 Jurassic ss. W. of Excelsior Canyon
0356 No description. T.W. Stanton photo.
0357 Basalt above Rhyolite tuff. N. of Frenchman Flat
0358 Rhyolite on andesite flow, NW of Frenchman Flat
0359 Beds of volcanic ash (water laid) N. of Frenchman Flat.
0360 Volcanic Hills N. of Frenchman Flat.
0361 Volcanic beds in hills N. of Frenchman Flat.
0311
CHESTER R. LONGWELL COLLECTION

Album I (cont’d)

0362 Massive volcanic (rhyolite) tuff, turned up along fault. N. of wedge thrust bock S. of Frenchman Flat.
0363 Tertiary (right) and Devonian (left) NE of Indian Inn.
0364 Tertiary ls., overlying shale. NE of Indian Inn.
0365 Contact of Tertiary and Devonian (in saddle). NE of Indian Inn.
0366 Tertiary beds (dipping away from camera) NE of Indian Inn.
0367 Gravel Hills N. of Frenchman Flat.
0368 Tertiary beds (white) spotted Ra. N. of Wedge thrust (also N. of perm. Ridge.)
0369 No description.
0370 Photo missing. N III-58
0371 NW from N. end of Lee Canyon Road.
0372 Looking across Pintwater valley and playa, to Pintwater Ra., from lower f hills. W side of Desert Ra., N of old roads.
0373 Gravel obstructing old canyon. W side Pintwater Ra.
0374 W. side Pintwater Ra., from location of broken Dodge.
0375 W. side Pintwater Ra., from location of broken Dodge.
0376 Frenchman Flat, from N.
0377 E. side Spotted Ra., from location of broken-down Dodge.
0378 Sheep Ra., from Lee Canyon fan.
0379 Toward Pintwater Ra., from Lee Canyon fan.
0380 Looking NW from highway W. of Indian Inn.
0381 View S. from Lee C. hill W. of old road, N. of Frenchman Flat.
0382 Lee Canyon fan, from SE
0383 Looking S. across Mesquite Spr. Anticline from ridge S. of Cave Spr. Road.
0384 No description. N III-34.
0385 S. of Charleston Pk.
0386 S. from Charleston Pk.
0387 W. side of Pintwater Ra., from playa, in Indian Sprs. Valley.
0388 View SE, near Sterling Mine.
0389 No description. N IV-61
0390 Sheep tail on talus. Pintwater Ra.
0391 Mt. Sheep E. part Pintwater.
0392 Mt. Sheep
0393 Brown’s Playa, from west.
0394 R5-5. 4/10/26, 9:00 a.m. Playa Lake. Looking toward Charleston Peak, from center of playa 3.75 miles S. of Brown’s shack. (Erdmann photo)
0395 R3-5 4/9/26 Small “island” in the playa lake. Just W. of road 3 mi. S of Brown’s (Erdmann photo)
0396 Gilletto (?) photo. Sanderson. Las Vegas.
0397 G.S. across Lee C. Road, from gravel bench to South.
0398 NE overslope, from front near Sprs. S. of Smith Ranch.
0311
CHESTER R. LONGWELL COLLECTION

Album I (cont’d)

0399 W. across Wheeler Wash.
0400 No description. N II-36
0401 No description. N II-34
0402 No description. N II-41
0403 No description. N IV-91
0404 No description. N IV-39
0405 Interior of Sheep Ra., off Sheep Playa
0406 Desert Range, NE to Sheep Playa
0407 E. side Desert Ra., off Sheep Playa
0408 No description. N IV-38
0409 Saddled horse without rider.
0410 No description. N I-48
0411 Saddled horse without rider.
0412 Panoramic view of unidentified area. (left side) N III-37
0413 Right side of above. N III-41
0414 Car in desert area. (location now known) N III-59
0415 Car in desert, man alongside.
0416 Unidentified town. N III-62
0417 U.S. Gypsum Co., unidentified location.
0418 Dr. Chester Longwell, right.
0419 Dr. Longwell.
0420 Burros (or mule) and unidentified person.
0421 L.: Herbert Gregory, Yale professor; R.: Levi Noble, Grand Canyon geologist.
0422 Noble photo.
0423 Noble photo. (photo missing)
0424 Four unidentified men.
0425 Furnace Creek ranch; unidentified man. (Noble photo)
0426 Car in desert; location not identified
0427 W. across Death Valley, at point where Bradbury Well Rd. enters valley from east
0428 Pinnacle Salt., Death Valley Sink. (Noble photo)
0429 Three unidentified men standing in a field.
0430 Noble photo. (photo missing)
0431 No description. N II-70.
0432 Man standing by truck; tent; no identification.
0433 Car parked next to water pump (?) in desert.
0434 Unidentified man standing by a truck near a pitched tent.
0435 Car in the desert.
0436 Car parked at a house under some trees.
0437 No description. N I-93
0438 Sy Hill’s cabin. Storm in background.
0439 Unidentified man. N II-11
0311
CHESTER R. LONGWELL COLLECTION

Album I (cont’d)

0440 No description.
0441 No description. N II-20.
0442 No description. N II-89
0443 N II-100 (photo missing)
0444 No description. N II-85
0445 N III-46. (photo missing)
0446 No description. N I-29
0447 No description. N III-86
0448 N I-36. (photo missing)
0449 No description. N III-44
0450 No description. N I-37
0451 No description. N III-85
0452 Car in desert.
0453 No description N I-36
0454 Indian Springs?
0455 No description. N I-51
0456 No description. N I-63
0457 No description. N I-54
0458 No description. N I-52
0459 No description. (photo missing)
0460 Joshua trees and road to Mormon Well. (photo missing)
0461 No description. (photo missing)
0462 No description. (photo missing)
0463 No description. N I-100
0464 No description. N I-90
0465 Mountains (not identified)
0466 Burned area. S. side Kyle Canyon
0467 Car in desert. Location not identified.
0468 No description.
0469 Unidentified man among the trees.
0470 Car in unidentified location.
0471 No description. N III-11
0472 No description. N III-12
0473 Las Vegas thrust, looking SW from point E. of Gass Peak.
0474 No description. N III-5
0475 No description. N III-10
0476 No description. N III-91
0477 No description
0478 No description. N II-87
0479 No description. N III-6
0480 No description. N I-78
0311
CHESTER R. LONGWELL COLLECTION

Album I (cont’d)

0481 No description
0482 West side of Spring Mt. Range from point near Pahrump. (OVERSIZE)
0483 Near view of the conglomerate.

Album II

0484 Skeleton, in position in grave. Lost City.
0485 Painting by Zuni, on ss. Slab. Lost City.
0486 Best walls uncovered at Lost City.
0487 Three generations of walls. Lost City. (photo missing)
0488 Vegetation 15 mi. W of Medean Wash.
0489 Cambrian slope (Bright Angel) and cliff (ls.) Near W. side of Beaverdam Ra. (Mts.)
0490 Rhyolite 25 m. W of Caliente. (between Hiko and Caliente)
0491 Overturned Y.P. Hills of Arrow Canyon Ra.
0492 “Pueblo” built of adobe by Zuni workers, 1925. “Lost City,” St. Thomas
0493 bad lands in which Lost City was built.
0494 Harrington’s home, at “Lost City.”
0495 Walls of fire pot. Lost City.
0496 Ruins. Lost City.
0497 Ruins in sand dunes.
0498 Ruins, Lost City.
0499 Natural ledge used for part at wall in house. Lost City.
0500 Whitney Ranch. Virgin Mts.
0501 Cave, Becks, “Baldy,” Horse. Meadow Valley Wash. June 1919.
0502 No description.
0503 Dissected Tertiary Clays, near Overton, NV.
0504 Fault in Tertiary Clays. St. Thomas Wash.
0505 Tilted block in Muddy Mts.
0506 Kaibab ridge. S. of Gypsum Canyon
0507 Tilted block in muddy Mts.
0508 Kaibab Ridge S. of Gypsum Canyon. (see also #0506 – same, closer view)
0509 Carboniferous ridge E. side White Basin.
0510 Overton conglomerate, Narrows.
0511 White Basin fault, surface (photo missing)
0512 No description. XXXII-4
0513 Photo missing. White basin from southeast corner. (reserved for publication in paper on Muddy Mts. Overthrust)
0514 No description. LV-1
0515 North front of Overthrust Mountain, near Arrowhead Road.
0516 No description. VI-2
0311
CHESTER R. LONGWELL COLLECTION

Album II (cont’d)

0517 “Great Bear,” St. Thomas sandstone, Overton Wash.
0518 Valley of Fire, one mile south of Narrows.
0519 Erosion remnants, St. Thomas sandstone.
0520 Supai and Kaibab formations, Weiser Valley
0521 No description. XVII-1
0522 No description. XIX-1
0523 No description. XVIII-6
0524 No description. XVII-4
0525 No description. XVII-5
0526 No description. IX-3
0527 No description. X-1
0528 No description. XVII-3
0529 No description. IX-4
0530 No description. XXXVIII-2
0531 No description. XI-6
0532 No description. XLVIII
0533 No description. G.C. 3-6
0534 Meadow Valley Wash.
0535 Creosote brash on mesa
0536 No description. XXXIV-5
0537 No description. XLVII-1
0538 No description. G.C. 4-6
0539 No description. XXXIII-3
0540 No description. XLIII-5
0541 No description. XXVII-1
0542 Tadpoles about sand island pothole. Overton Ridge
0543 Grand Wash and cliffs from Whitney’s.
0544 Gypsum Mill near Glendale.
0545 West side of Muddy Mts. From near Crystal.
0546 Pliocene clays and basalt layer near salt mine, 5 mi. below St. Thomas.
0547 Arrowhead front, old surface above. Near intersection of White Basin fault.
0548 Sun and curled mud-cracks.
0549 Near E. side Mormon Range, from slope N. of highway.
0550 Looking toward Mormon Range, from knob N. of Muddy Creek.
0551 See above (0311-0549). Same, closer view. (near E. side Mormon Range, from slope N. of highway.)
0552 Fault on E. side Mormon Range.
0553 Mormon Range from south.
0554 Inside Mormon Ra., looking S. toward Dead Indian Butte.
0555 E. side Mormon Ra., Pinto Hills.
0556 Thrust structure. Mormon Ra., at Dead Indian Butte.
0311
CHESTER R. LONGWELL COLLECTION

Album II (cont’d)

0557 West end Borax Mine.
0558 Sawtooth Ridge and St. Thomas (Gap?) from west.
0559 West end of Borax Mine.
0560 Virgin River and Range, just east of Mesquite (near Ariz. – NV. Line)
0561 Basalt flow in gravel. Buckhorn Canyon E. of Grand Wash.
0562 Looking W. across Grand Wash from near Buckhorn. So Virgin Mt. Block, with basalt flow in front of ?.
0563 (see photo 0561), same, showing columnar structure in basalt.
0564 Looking E. across Grand Wash, from gravel slope on W. Basalt in gravels. Cliffs in background.
0565 Pliocene clays and high mesa remnant N. of St. Thomas (site of Buried City)
0566 Stratified silt in bank of Muddy Creek, near St. Thomas bridge.
0567 Snow in St. Thomas. Nov, 1919.
0568 Mud curls. Meadow Valley Wash.
0569 GC 5-1 (no description)
0570 Porphyrite granite with inclusions near Gold Butte.
0571 “Lyman’s” home, near mouth of Muddy Creek.
0572 Inclusion in porphyrite Gold Butte Granite.
0573 Deer in Kaibab Forest; near V.T. Ranch.
0574 Park in Kaibab Forest – deer.
0575 Deer in Kaibab Forest. (see photo #0573)
0576 Deer – park in Kaibab Forest. (see photo #0574)
0577 Park and sinks in Kaibab Forest.
0578 Looking down. Bright Angel Canyon.
0579 Pines and fir, Kaibab forest.
0580 Another view of photo #0578.
0581 Bright Angel Canyon and Gr. C.
0582 Cocomino s.s., etc. Bright Angel Canyon
0583 Grand Canyon, from Bright Angel Point. (photo missing)
0584 Same as photo #0582.
0585 No description. N V-99.
0586 Dick Arnold and his horse.
0587 “Beck.” (donkey or mule)
0588 Barrel cactus.
0589 Dick Arnold, “Baldy” (horse), and “Beck” (donkey or mule)
0590 Barrel cactus cut open to shot pith.
0591 Dick Arnold and Harry Armitrage.
0592 “Lyman” at his spring.
0593 Arnold and Armitrage.
0594 John Perkins and children
0595 Whitney Tank, upper Bitter Wash.
0311
CHESTER R. LONGWELL COLLECTION

Album II (cont’d)

0596 Weiser Valley, from East Ridge.
0597 Tank in Black Willow wash.
0598 East front of East Ridge, one mile south of Narrows.
0599 Muddy Peak Basin, looking north
0600 St. Thomas sandstone, and sand dunes.
0601 North front of Overthrust Mountain, near northeast corner.
0602 St. Thomas sandstone, upper Bitter Wash.
0603 Aerial photograph: Frenchman Mountain (lower part of photo); Sunrise Mountain (upper part). (7-11-50) North at top. (OVERSIZE)
0604 Gold Butte granite, southern Nevada.
0605 G, base of Gold Butte giants. (1954)
0606 Gorge through Overton Conglomerate in Overton Wash.
0607 Overton Conglomerate, dipping NE
0608 Fifteen (15) miscellaneous photos, found loose in the album. (no identification)



Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections