Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0120
Lawton Collection

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


(These photos are progress reports and therefore arranged chronologically)

Nevada

Boulder Dam

0001    1-7-31, Swing shift ready to leave from dormitory #2
0002    4-1-32, Look-out pointpanorama of construction spread out before them
0003    4-8-32, Night view, looking upstream from below the lower portals of the diversion tunnels..
0004    1-19-32, Looking downstream from a point below portals of the diversion tunnels.
0005    2-9-32, Government and Six Companies officials inspecting the Nevada spillway
0006    2-10-32, Sunset on the Colorado River.
0007    2-10-32, Marion electric dray-line with 5 cubic yard capacity bucket, loading gravel.
0008    2-17-32, View of the main batching and mixer control station low-level concrete mixing plant.
0009    2-26-32, A night view of the gravel plant
0010    2-2-32, A view of the gravel plant
0011    3-8-32, Looking upstream at the low level mixing plant
0012    3-11-32, Machine shop and warehouse group of buildings, surrounded by material storage yards.
0013    3-11-32, Interior of Six Companies, Inc, machine shop.
0014    3-12-32, Looking upstream at Black Canyon
0015    3-18-32, A Marion shovel and trucks opening up an adit
0016    3-18-32, First 40 foot slab of concrete poured in lining diversion tunnels
0017    3-18-32, Day shift workmen entering transports at the upper portals for their return journey to Boulder City ten miles away.
0018    3-19-32, Gravel puts dumping into depressed track hopper at the gravel plant.
0019    3-19-32, Close up of sand classifier in the gravel plant
0020    3-19-32, Water clarifier tank at the gravel plant
0021    3-19-32, Rake type sand classifier producing finished sand for storage.
0022    3-23-32, View of the concrete lining in the diversion tunnels
0023    3-23-32, Four-cubic yard agitators dumping into 2 cubic yard buckets
0024    3-23-32, Gantry Crane Transporting 4 cubic yard Rex motor mixers in pouring tunnel lining
0025    3-28-32, A blast in scaling down the canyon walls
0026    3-28-32, Nevada spillway open cut excavation
0027    3-28-32, Telephoto picture of low-level concrete missing plant
0028    3-28-32, Caterpillar tractors, equipped with bull-dozers

Boulder Dam (cont.)

0029    4-1-32, Temporary cable-way spanning the Colorado River,
0030    4-6-32, Boulder City Department Store at night
0031    4-11-32, View showing method of finishing slabs
0032    4-10-32 Interior of Six companies, Inc, Guest Home
0033    4-11-32, Trucks hauling two 2-cubic-yard buckets, bringing concrete from the mixing plant.
0034    4-12-32, Close-up showing details of trimming jumbo used in scaling walls of diversion tunnels
0035    4-12-32, temporary truck bride shown.

Folder 120-2

Boulder Dam

0036    12-11-31, General ViewBoulder City
0037    8-15-33, General ViewBoulder City
0038    12-8-31, (truck equipment)
0039    6-3-33, Boulder dam site , looking upstream
0040    6-6-33, Boulder dam site, looking downstream
0041    6-6-33 First concrete in Boulder Dam
0042    6-27-33, Boulder dam, looking upstream
0043    6-21-33, Boulder dam, looking upstream
0044    7-22-33, Boulder dam, looking upstream
0045    8-7-33, Boulder dam, looking upstream
0046    8-22-33, Boulder dam, looking upstream
0047    8-31-33, Boulder dam, looking upstream
0048    9-7-33, Boulder dam, looking upstream
0049    9-15-33, Boulder dam, looking upstream
0050    9-22-33, Boulder dam, looking upstream
0051    9-22-33, Boulder dam, looking upstream
0052    9-22-33, Boulder dam, looking upstream
0053    7-31-34, Hoover Dam
0054    7-20-34, Power House on Nevada side, showing power penstock tunnels
0055    7-24-34 Close up of Arizona intake towers
0056    7-24-34, Spillway on Arizona side, showing gates in position