Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0156
Steamboats on the Colorado

0156
STEAMBOATS ON THE COLORADO COLLECTION

(See manuscript Collection T 129 Steamboats on the Colorado)

0001    Copy, Arizona Sentinel, September 28, 1978, article on Arizona fleet

Bonellis Landing
0002 Bonelli ranch house, photographer Robert Brewster Stanton
0003 Bonelli ranch house
0004 Bonelli ferry m. west of house, photographer Robert Brewster Stanton

Cerbat, ARIZONA TERRITORY (see also Mining)
0005 Main Street
0006 Steam arrastra, ca. 1870s

Colorado River
0007 Salt mine (original in
0008 Colorado River(original in
0009 Black Canyon
0010 Black Canyon
0011 River view
0012 Black Canyon Reservoir site from Monument Pass, on Nevada side of river,
            6-23-29
0013 Site of Lake Mead

Drawbridges
0014 Metal swing bridge; steamboat Cochan pointed upstream, ore sacks on cargo deck
0015 Partial view
0016 Drawbridge open

Ehrenburg, ARIZONA TERRITORY
0017 Ehrenburg, 1870
0018 Ehrenburg, 1870, J. Casteneda store at left.
0019 Ehrenburg, 1875, From Vanished Arizona
0020 Ehrenburg, 1875, From Vanished Arizona, another view
0021    Ruins of old city

El Dorado Canyon
0022 Hauling freight (original)
0023 Mill
0024 Mill and river
0025 Mill
0026 Mohave II (mill on left)
0027 Gila

0156
STEAMBOATS ON THE COLORADO COLLECTION

Fort Mohave, ARIZONA TERRITORY
0028 Buildings, 1871, T.H. OSullivan photo
0029 Buildings and soldiers
0030 Buildings, men quarters on left, 1871, T.H. OSullivan photo
0031 Center section of buildings, 1871, T.H. OSullivan photo
0032    Soldiers

Hoover Dam
0033 Dynamiting side walls
0034 Night scene, early const.
0035 Dynamiting side walls
0036 Early construction
0037 River and bridges before diversion
0038 Dam under construction
0039 Aerial view of dam under construction
0040 Dam under construction
0041 Dam under construction
0042 Dam under construction, nearly completed
0043 Penstock?
0044 Officials, including Elwood Mead
0045 Men on three-tiered equipment
0046 Dam nearly completed
0047 Men pouring cement

Indians
0048 Three male Yuma Indians in native dress
0049 Man, woman, child, Yuma Indians in native dress
0050 Yuma Indian girl
0051 Group of five Yuma women, Reynolds, photographer
0052 Trapper and Indian
0053 Pima Indians, River Gila, copy of water color
0054    Yuma Indian house, Reynolds, photographer
0055 Yuma Indian house, Reynolds, photographer
0056 Yuma Indian house, Reynolds, photographer
0057 Yuma Indian house, Reynolds, photographer
0058 Two Yuma Indians carrying firewood
0059 Indian Children , appear to be outside school
0060 Portrait of Indian man
0061 Colorado River dispensary
0062 Colorado River Indian Reservation Agency building
0063 Unidentified Indians outside wickiups
0064 An Indian Watching the Arrival of Emigrants
0065    Yuma Indians at Samkee Laundry
0156
STEAMBOATS ON THE COLORADO COLLECTION

Ives, Report Upon the Coloradoprints from
0066 Chimney Peakfrontspiece
0067 Robinsons Landing, Mouth of Colorado RiverPlate I
0068 Cane Brake Canon from near Camp 16Plate II
0069 Mojave CanonPlate III
0070 Purple Hillsfig.3
0071 Pyramid Canon fig.19
0072    Deep Rapid fig.20
0073    Painted Canon fig.22
0074    Mt. Davisfig.2

La Paz, ARIZONA TERRITORY
0075 La Paz, ca. 1905, W.G. Keiser, photographer
0076 La Paz in ruins

Mining (see also Cerbat, ARIZONA TERRITORY)
0077 Mineral Park, ca. 1875
0078 Mineral Park, ca. 1888
0079 Mineral Park
0080 Group of miners gold panning
0081 Arrastra, Flores Mine, Cerbat, ARIZONA TERRITORY
0082 Exterior Flores Mill
0083 Interior, Flores Mill
0084 Flores Mine Tunnel

Mormons
0085 Brigham Youngs party in Southern Nevada (trip to Muddy River settlements,
            (1871)
0086 Mormons in Hawaii
0087    LDS Plantation, Hawaii
0088 Salt Lake City street scene
0089 Salt Lake City street scene
0090 Salt Lake City street scene

Port Isabel and upriver
0091 Shipbuilding yard
0092 Slough below shipyard
0093 At low tide
0094 Bore at Horseshow Bend (Retta)
0095 Aerial, shipyard slough, March 22, 1975
0096 Port Famine


0156
STEAMBOATS ON THE COLORADO COLLECTION

Portraits
0097 Barney, James M.
0098 Bonelli, Daniel
0099 Call, Anson
0100 Gass, O.D.
0101 Goldwater, Micheal (sic?)
0102 Hardy, W. H.
0103 Ives, Joseph C.
0104 Johnson, George A.
0105 Mellon, Jack, 1875
0106 Polhamus, Issac, Reynolds, photographer
0107 Polhamus, Issac
0108 Polhamus, Issac with child and dog
0109 Polhamus, Issac
0110 Summerhayes, Martha
0111 Young, Brigham

Prescott, A. T.
0112 First Goldwater store, built 1876

San Francisco, California
0113 Looking south from North point
0114 View, 1877

Prescott, ARIZONA TERRITORY
0115 Albert S. Reynolds home
0116 L. Zechendorf Store, corner Main and Pennington
0117 Sonoma Wine House, 1880

Vessels (see also Yuma, Arizona Territory)

Aztec
0118 Swing bridge at Yuma with steam Aztec

Cochan
0119 Cochan by customs house, Yuma
0120 Cochan and barge at Yuma
0121 Cochan tied up to peninsula on river, men on deck
0122 Another view of Cochan
0123 Cochan somewhere between Yuma and Laguna Dam, 1907
0124 Load of firewood on deck
0125 Cochan and barge at Yuma
0126 On river, load of firewood
0156
STEAMBOATS ON THE COLORADO COLLECTION

Cochan
0127 Loading
0128 Cochan touring barge

Cocopah
0129 Steam Cocopah with barge astern bound upriver
0130 Steamers Cocopah and Mohave

Colorado
0131 Vacate
0132 Colorado II in dry dock at Port Isabel

Explorer
0133 Hull of the boat, "Explorer" used by Ives in exploration of the Colorado River,
Sykes photographer

Gila
0134 Gila at foot of Main Street, Yuma, 1898
0135 Gila docked, location unknown
0136 View of Gila on land rivers edge
0137 Gila and barge at Yuma

Iola
0138 Sounding for hard rock
0139 Iola (?)

Mohave I and II
0140 Steamer Mohave I at the levee, Fort Yuma
0141 Mohave II and barge no. 3
0142 Mohave II
0143 Mohave II
0144 Mohave II at Yuma, under repair
0145 Mohave, Capt. Polhamus at El Dorado Canyon
0146 Mohave II at Yuma, Capt. I. Polhamus, May, 1876
0147 passengers on deck
0148 Excursion, May Day

Montana
0149 Montana, Col. Steam Nav. Co. Walking beam side wheeler. Burned.

Retta (see also Port Isabel)
0150 Retta at tidal bore at Horseshoe Bend, Gulf of California ( Silas
Robinsons landing)
0156
STEAMBOATS ON THE COLORADO COLLECTION

St. Vallier
0151 On Col. River at Needles, 1910. Note two women
0152 Crew on deck
0153 Upriver
0154 On river (barge on bank)
0155 At Yuma or Topoc. Skiff and divots over side.
0156 Down river
0157 At Yuma Depot. Customs house. Cabin added after stack.

Searchlight
0158 Searchlight at levee, 1906
0159 Upriver (convertible cinder catch on stack)
0160 Colorado River at Yuma (not mosquito cabin. Prison hill on left side.
Passengers disembarking on gangway)
0161 Searchlight at Yuma. (S.P. Hotel behind RR cars. Screen porch may be
added seasonally)
0162 Searchlight towing barge. (Swing bridge, 1906?)
0163 Searchlight with no flared stack. 9May be in process of loss)
0164 Searchlight going through steel swing bridge
0165 Docked on river
0166 Searchlight with Indians on board.
0167 Searchlight stranded in dry river 2 miles below levee break,
December 14, 1906.
0168 Stranded, 1906
0169 Searchlight pushing barge
0170 On Colorado River
0171 On Colorado River
0172 At Needles ferry (?)
0173 Group shot on Searchlight

Silas J. Lewis barge
0174 Silas J. Lewis of Needles and Steamer Cochan tied up at Army depot at
Yuma (after 1899)
0175 (Gangplanks from barge to RR cars, Yuma)
0176 (Silas J. Lewis on river near swing bridge)
0177 Silas J. Lewis barge at Red Rock Gate

Steamers, barges working
0178 Colorado River barge, loaded, 1868 (?)
0179 Barge no. 3 going through draw bridge, Yuma, Watkins photo



0156
STEAMBOATS ON THE COLORADO COLLECTION

Yuma, Arizona Territory
0180 View of Ft. Yuma from Yuma City
0181 (Gila at dock. Storehouse)
0182 Mike Nugents residence, 1892
0183 View of Yuma City
0184 Similar view
0185 Wagon shop, 1891
0186 View of Yuma, Reynolds photo
0187 (View of Yuma, waterfront looking south from California side. Steamer in dry
         dock is Mohave II before modifications)
0188 Yuma from Fort
0189     (Yuma, from the hill looking north), Reynolds photo
0190 (Yuma City. S.P. Hotel. First station hotel), Reynolds photo.
0191 (Yuma due west. Pilot Knob on left, settling tank mid picture), Reynolds Photo
0192 Main Street. Yuma Indians, Monagan &Murphy General Mdse.
0193 Yuma Landing. U.S. Quartermasters Depot behind tree, 1876. Steamers Gila,
         barge no.3, Cocopah
0194 Steamer on Colorado River at Yuma
0195 (Yuma, ARIZONA TERRITORY Silas J. Lewis is inboard of Cochan. Searchlight is outboard from St. Vallier)
0196 L-R Mohave II, Gila and a typical barge, Yuma after 1877
0197 Steamer Gila and barges of the Col. Navig. Co. in front of the office.
0198 SPRR vessel (copy of art work)
0199 J.R. Youngs ferry
0200 H.S. Fitzgerald & Co., Central Merchandise, Yuma (?), 1875
0201     (waterfront with PR bridge)
0202 First train into Arizona, 1877, completing bridge at Yuma
0203    Yuma RR station
0204    SPRR Engine
0205     SPRR Engine (similar view)
0206     SPRR Engine

Fort Yuma, ARIZONA TERRITORY
0207 Fort Yuma/SPRR Bridge over Col. River, 1881
0208 U.S. Quartermasters Depot opp. Fort Yuma, looking downstream
0209    Ferry and river gap at Fort Yuma

Yuma Prison, Yuma , ARIZONA TERRITORY
0210    Building new wall at Yuma Terr. Prison, Reynolds photo
0211    Building new wall
0212    Yuma Terr. Prison
0213 Another view of prison

0156
STEAMBOATS ON THE COLORADO COLLECTION

Unidentified locations, objects, miscellaneous
0214 People in front of unidentified store and post office
0215 Children on horseback pulling Balszs wagon, in front of store, Yuma?
0216 Yuma Liquor Co. with men on horseback
0217 Steam vessel, may be Newburn
0218 Vessel, may be Hercules
0219 Unidentified people on vessel
0220 David Neahr store, Yuma, Arizona
0221    Fort Bowie
0222    (Little Colorado?)
0223    (Enlargement of Cochan?)