Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0321
Hughes, Howard

0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Hughes Properties
0001 Montage of the marquees of Howard Hughes properties: Silver Slipper, Desert Inn, Sands, Castaways, and Frontier n.d.        (color    ransparencies only)
0002 Landmark Hotel marquee (color transparencies only)
0003 Marquee of Landmark Hotel (color transparencies only)
0004    Landmark Hotel marquee (color transparencies only)

***The following are slides unless otherwise indicated***
0005 Hughes Executive Airplane Terminal, Las Vegas, Nev.
0006 Hughes Executive Airplane Terminal, Las Vegas, Nev.
0007 Landmark Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev.
0008 View of Landmark Hotel, Las Vegas, Nevada.
0009 Landmark Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev.
0010 Landmark Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev. (Oversize print also)
0011 Landmark Hotel and adjacent property, Las Vegas, Nev.
0012 Landmark Hotel & Las Vegas Convention Center, Las Vegas.
0013 Landmark Hotel and surroundings.
0014 Desert Inn Hotel and pool, Las Vegas, Nev.
0015 Desert Inn Hotel and pool, Las Vegas, Nev.
0016 Desert Inn Hotel and pool, Las Vegas, Nev.
0017 Silver Slipper & Frontier Hotel marquees.
0018 Silver Slipper Casino & Frontier Hotel marquees.
0019 Aerial of Las Vegas Strip.
0020 Las Vegas Strip.
0021 Aerial of Sands Hotel and Las Vegas Strip looking north.
0022 Aerial view of Sands property. (Oversize print also)
0023 Aerial view of frontier Hotel and tennis courts; Desert Inn, Convention
Center and Landmark Hotel in background. (Oversize print also)
0024 Aerial view of Frontier Hotel and tennis courts; Landmark Hotel in background.
0025 Robert Maheu. (Oversize print also)
0026 Robert Maheu.
0027 Robert Maheu.
0028 Entrance to Spring Mountain Ranch. (Oversize print also)
0029 Spring Mountain Ranch State Park.
0030 Part of Spring Mountain Ranch State Park.
0031 Ranch house at Spring Mountain Ranch. (Slide only)
0032 Spring Mountain Ranch. Overhead shot of Ranch house and pool. Purchased by Howard Hughes from Vera Krupp as a house for his wife, Jean Peters, who never followed her husband to Las Vegas (slide and print)
0033 Hughes Executive Air TerminalLas Vegas, Nev. (Oversize print)
0034 Overhead view of the Desert Inn Hotel (from the back) and the Frontier Hotel
(Across the Strip from the Desert Inn). Silver Slipper is to the right of the
Frontier. (Oversize print only)
0035 Landmark Hotel, Las Vegas, Nev. (Oversize print)
0036 Desert Inn Hotel and swimming pool. Howard Hughes occupied the top floor. (Oversize print)
0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Hughes Properties (cont.)
0037 Robert Maheu left. Other man not identified. (Oversize print)
0038 Robert Maheu, seated at right, with two unidentified men (oversize print)
0039 Missing photo

Howard Hughes (PRINTS)
0040 Howard Hughes standing on a ladder beneath his plane. (Apr.3, 1947)
0041 Howard Hughes (2nd from right); N.M.Stefano (center). Others not
identified. (Oct. 28, 1952) Aircraft is Helicopter XH-17.
0042 Portrait of Howard Hughes. (October 3, 1947)
0043 L-R: John D. Home, Dept. Commander of American Legion; Howard Hughes,
Managing Director of production for RKO Pictures; Edward Underwood,
Commander Hollywood American Legion Motion Picture Post #43. (n.d.)
0044 L-R: Howard Hughes and Noah Dietrich. (n.d.)
0045 Howard Hughes. (n.d.)
0046 Howard Hughes. (June 18, 1947) For his accomplishments as an aviator,
plane designer and aircraft builder and for his important contributions to
American aviation, he was awarded a Congressional Medal, the National
Harmon Trophy, two International Harmon trophies, the Collier Trophy and
the Chanute Award. He was founder and president of Hughes Aircraft
Company. This photo taken after he testified at Senate hearings in Washington, D.C.
0047 Portrait of Howard Hughes without a mustache. (n.d.)
0048 Portrait of a young Howard Hughes (without mustache). Taken in the Ambassador Hotel, c. 1920s.
0049 Portrait of Howard Hughes. (8-17-54) This photo was used in Hughes Aircraft
Companys corporate publications. (1957)
0050 Portrait of Howard Hughes (without a mustache). (Oct. 11, 1956)
0051 Hughes standing in front of his remodeled Boeing Special Army pursuit
bi-plane, 1932.
0052 (OVERSIZE) Howard Hughes, founder and owner of Hughes Tool Co.,
speaks into a microphone. He was testifying before the Senate War Investigating Committee. August 6, 1947
0053 Howard Hughes in the cockpit of the new XF-11 reconnaissance
plane which he designed and built in conjunction with Air Material
Command engineers. He is preparing for its first test flight. One of
The worlds fastest long-range photo planes, it can attain a speed of over
400 miles per hour.
0054 Howard Hughes (in cockpit) warms up the XF-11 for its initial test
flight. It is one of the worlds fastest long-range photographic planes
0055 Howard Hughes, at the controls of a TWA Constellation, demonstrates
his new radar safety device. (May 1, 1947)
0056 Howard Hughes, just before he test-piloted the XF-11, one of the worlds
fastest photo-reconnaissance planes that he designed and built. He almost lost his life in a duplicate of this plane the previous year. April 4, 1947

0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Howard Hughes (cont.)
0057 Howard Hughes prior to test-piloting the XV-11, a duplicate of the plane
which crashed July 7th the previous year. (n.d.)
0058 Howard Hughes in the cockpit of the second XF-11, sister ship to the plane
in which he almost lost his life. He designed and built the ship, one of
the worlds fastest long-range reconnaissance planes. (April 4, 1947)
0059 Howard Hughes in the movie lab. (n.d.) (Christy Shepherd photo)
0060 Howard Hughes seated at his desk. (n.d.) (Christy Shepherd Studio)
0061 Portrait of Howard Hughes. (n.d.) (Christy Shepherd Studio)
0062 Howard Hughes seated at a desk. (n.d.) (NEGATIVE ONLY)
(Christy Shepherd Studio)
0063 Howard Hughes, 2nd from left. Others not identified. (n.d.)
0064 Two (2) photos of Howard Hughes standing near an airplane with a
group of men. He is the one in the dark jacket and hat. Others not
identified. (Oct. 23, 1952)
0065 L-R: N.M. Stefano Howard Hughes unidentified. (10/23/52)
0066 Howard Hughes (left) with a group of men next to an airplane. Others not
identified. (Nov. 17, 1947)
0067 Howard Hughes standing at the microphone beside an airplane. Probably ready
to hold a news conference. (n.d.) Other persons not identified.
0068 Howard Hughes stepping down from an airplane. (n.d.)
0069 Howard Hughes giving a news conference beside his airplane after landing in
New York. (1947) Was his first flight after his crash.
0070 Howard Hughes (right) shaking hands with an unidentified man. Looks like
they are at a reception. (n.d.)
0071 Howard Hughes (right). (1947) A rare smile, following the landing of
His first flight since his crash.
0072 Howard Hughes standing beside an airplane. (1947) He had just landed
In New York his first flight after his crash.
0073 Howard Hughes beside his aircraft. (n.d.)
0074 Howard Hughes in the cockpit of an airplane. (n.d.)

The Flying Boat
0075 The Flying Boatunder construction in the plant. (June 1, 1945) A wing
is being constructed.
0076 Flying Boatmoving the fuselage.    
0077 Flying Boatmoving the fuselage from the plant.
0078 Flying Boatmoving the fuselage along the road towards the harbor.
(June 15, 1946)
0079 Moving the wings for the Flying Boat to the harbor. (June 1946)
0080 Hughes Flying Boat at the harbor. (Jan. 8, 1947)
0081 Flying Boat at the harborJune 23, 1947.
0082 Flying Boat at the harbor. (June 23, 1947)
0083 (OVERSIZE) The Flying Boat at the harbor. (c. June 1947)
0084 Interior of the Flying Boatlooking toward the tail. The man is dwarfed
by the giant interior of the airplane.
0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

The Flying Boat (cont.)
0085 Howard Hughes, right, noted aircraft designer and industrialist, is shown
for the first time on the flight deck of the famed Hughes Flying Boat, which
he designed and built. It is the largest airplane in the world. The plane is now
nearing completion on Terminal Island in Los Angeles-Long Beach Harbor.
(May 12, 1947)
0086 Howard Hughes, on the flight deck of his Flying Boat (worlds largest
airplane), discusses with his flight engineer and radio operator plans for
tomorrows taxi testing of the 400,000 pound craft. The flight deck occupies
the upper level in the nose of the 219-foot hull. (Nov. 1, 1947)
0087 Howard Hughes (wearing hat) talks over details of tomorrows initial taxi
testing of his 24,000 horsepower Flying Boat. (See photo #0086) 11/1/47
0088 Howard Hughes sits at the controls of his Flying Boatworlds largest plane--
prior to its first taxi tests in Los Angeles Harbor. (Nov. 1, 1947)
0089 Interior of the 219-foot long hull of the worlds largest airplane, Howard
Hughes Flying Boat, prior to initial water taxi tests to be conducted with
Hughes at the controls. (Nov. 2, 1947)
0090 The Hughes Flying Boat was launched for the first time. (Nov. 1, 1947) After
the three concrete docks (one containing the hull and two the wing pontoons)
were pumped with sea water to the outside level, gates were lowered and the
plane was towed forward by tractors and then by boats as the tail cleared the
dock.
0091 Howard Hughes Flying Boat rides free off Terminal Island in Los Angeles
Harbor. (Nov. 2, 1947) It was launched yesterday. The planes vertical
stabilizer (fin) tip rides about 80 feet above the water as the air giant floats
for the first time
0092 Howard Hughes Flying Boat, worlds largest plane, on its first flight.
(Nov. 2, 1947) It flew one mile at a height of about 70 feet over Los Angeles
Harbor with Hughes at the controls. Hughes had scheduled taxi tests only
For the 219-foot long ship but it felt so good on the second taxi run that he took it off the water, as shown here, on the third and final run.
0093 Hughes Flying Boat. (Nov. 2, 1947) In the Los Angeles Harbor, surrounded
by ships.
0094 Hughes famous Flying Boat. (Nov. 6, 1947) Credit: Life Magazine (oversize only)

Miscellaneous
0095 Headquarters and communications center for Howard Hughes operations.
Hollywood, CA 7000 Ramaine Street.
0096 Aerial view of Hughes Tool Company, Houston, Texas. (Main office and
and plant)
0097 Howard Hughes at the controls of his flying boat.
(Nov. 1, 1947, Long Beach, CA)



0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Movie Stars of RKO Pictures
0098 Lex Barker, movie actor who starred in the Tarzan series for RKO Pictures.
(RKO Pictures Photo) (1940s or 1950s)
0099 Farley Granger, movie actor with RKO Radio Pictures, Inc. (RKO Photo)
(1940s or 1950s)
0100 Cornell Wilde, movie actor for RKO Radio Pictures, Inc. (RKO Photo)
(1940s or 1950s)
0101 Robert Mitchum, movie actor for RKO Radio Pictures, Inc. (RKO Photo)
(1940s or 1950s)
0102 Frank Sinatra as a young man. (c. 1940s-50s) (RKO Photo)
0103 Robert Ryan, actor with RKO Radio Pictures, Inc. (RKO Photo)
(1940s or 1950s)
0104 Tony Martin, singer and movie actor with RKO Radio Pictures, Inc.
(c. 1940s or 50s) (RKO Photo)
0105 Jane Russell, movie actress with RKO Radio Pictures, Inc. (c.1940s-1950s)
(RKO Photo)
0106 Jane Russell, movie actress with RKO Radio Pictures, Inc. (c. 1940s-1950s)
(RKO Photo)
0107 Marie Wilson, movie actress with RKO Radio Pictures, Inc. (c.1940s-1950s)
(RKO Photo)
0108 Jean Simmons, movie actress with RKO Radio Pictures, Inc. (c. 1940s-1950s)
(RKO Photo)
0109 Lizabeth Scott, movie actress with RKO Radio Pictures, Inc. (c. 1940s-1950s)
(RKO Photo)
0110 Janet Leigh, movie actress with RKO Radio Pictures, Inc. (c. 1940s-1950s)
(RKO Photo)
0111 Claudette Colbert, movie actress with RKO Radio Pictures, Inc. (RKO Photo)
(1940s-1950s)
0112 RKO Pictures blimp advertising their movie The Outlaw starring Jane
Russell. The blimp is stored in a warehouse. (Jan. 23, 1950)
0113 Portrait of Howard Hughes. (n.d.)
0114 L-R: Thomas Black, Howard Hughes, Noah Dietrich. (8-6-47) Testifying
that Sen. Own Brewster offered to call off Senate investigation of Hughes
contracts if Hughes would merge TWA with FAA. Washington, D.C.
0115 Howard Hughes at tail of Hughes Racer, wearing parachute. Newark, N.J.
(11937)
0116 Howard Hughes in aviator cap, standing beside plane. (Jan. 1, 1936)
Newark, New Jersey. The plane is the Gamma Racer.
0117 Howard Hughes standing beside airplane. (n.d.)
0118 Howard Hughes beside his aircraft. (n.d.)
0119 Howard Hughes in cockpit of Lockheed-14 before takeoff from Floyd Bennett Airport, New York, NY. (7-10-38)
0120 Howard Hughes in chair on movie set. (n.d.)
0121 Howard Hughes at his desk. (1947) Hughes Aircraft Company. (Similar to
photo #0321-0045.)
0122 Howard Hughes waving to crowdsHouston, Texas. (7-30-38)
0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Movie Stars of RKO Pictures (cont.)
0123 Three head shots of Howard Hughes. (n.d.) In back of hotel enroute to hotel in New York, N.Y.
0124 Howard Hughes (center, sitting up in car) in a parade in Houston, Texas.
(7-30-38) (See photo #0321-0122)
0125 Howard Hughes wearing American Airways uniform. (n.d.)
0126 Howard Hughes in the cockpit of an airplane with two men. (n.d.)
0127 Howard Hughes (standing) shakes hands with President Franklin Delano Roosevelt in his office. Others not identified. Hughes had received the
Harmon Trophy. (n.d.)
0128 L-R: Dick Goddard, (?) Connor, Howard Hughes, Al Lodrinek (sp?),
Edward Lund, Tommy (?). (n.d.)
0129 Howard Hughes at the controls of a TWA Constellation. (1947)
0130 Howard Hughes (in white shirt) in Hughes Airplane Plant. (n.d.) Taken during
construction of the D-2, the prototype of the XF-11.
0131 (NEG. ONLY) Howard Hughes in the cockpit of his Flying Boat. (c.1947)
0132 Howard Hughes at his desk. (n.d.)
0133 Howard Hughes at right. (n.d.)
0134 Howard Hughes in American Airways uniform. (n.d.)
0135 Howard Hughes (dark hat) in center of crowd at Le Bourget Field, in front of
a Lockheed-14. Paris, France. (7-11-38)
0136 Howard Hughes (2nd from right) with group of men inside shop of Hughes Tool Company in Houston, TX (7-30-38)
0137 Howard Hughes (center) studying diagrams with two other men. (n.d.)
These were the designs for the Flying Boat aka the Spruce Goose.
0138 Howard Hughes (ctr.) and group of men at airplane door. (n.d.)
0139 Howard Hughes swinging a golf club. (n.d.)
0140 Howard Hughes signing flight plan in front of XF-11 (2nd Flight Article) at Hughes Airport, Culver City, Calif. (4-4-47)
0141 Howard Hughes (rt.); other two men not identified. Inside a factory. (Hughes Tool Co., Houston, TX) (7-30-38)
(n.d.)
0142 Howard Hughes warming up the XF-11 . (n.d.)

Movie-related Photographs
0143 Blimp used to promote Jane Russells movie The Outlaw by Hughes
RKO Productions. (January 1950)
0144 RKO Radio Pictures Inc. building. (n.d.c. 1950s?) It was owned by
Howard Hughes.
0145 Poster advertising Howard Hughes RKO Production The Outlaw starring
Jane Russell. (1950)
0146 Another view of the blimp advertising RKOs The Outlaw, a movie starring
Jane Russell. (1950)



0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Plants Owned by Hughes
0147 Aerial view of the Hughes Aircraft Culver City plant. (1960s)
(Courtesy: Hughes Electronic Corp.)
0148 Hughes Aircraft plant in Tucson, Arizona, during construction. (1951)
(Courtesy: Hughes Electronics Corp.)
0149 Hughes Aircraftradar testing. (1959) (Courtesy: Hughes Electronics Corp.)
0150 Aerial view of the Hughes Aircraft Culver City plant. (1960s)

The Flying Boat & other aircraft
0151 Moving the hull of the Flying Boat from plant to harbor. (c.1946)
0152 Hughes Flying Boat, Long Beach, CA. (Nov. 2, 1947)
0153 Howard Hughes on the flight deck of his Flying Boat. (Nov. 1, 1947)
0154 The Hughes Aircraft HK-1 or Flying Boat wing assembly in Culver City. (Courtesy: Hughes Electronic Corp.)

Movie-related Photographs
0155 The Hughes Aircraft HK-1 (Flying Boat) in Long Beach Harbor. (late 1940s)
0156 HK-1 or Flying Boat(late 1940s)
0157 Flying Boat (HK-1) at the harbor. (c. 1947)
0158 Hull of the Flying Boat being towed to the harbor. (c. 1947)
0159 Flying Boat in Los Angeles Harbor. (c. 1947)
0160 Hughes Aircraft Flying Boat. (c. 1947)
0161 TWA plane in flight. (n.d.)
0162 Spectators around Lockheed 14 at Floyd Bennett Airport, New York, N.Y., to watch Howard Hughes take off. (7-10-38)

Miscellaneous
0163    Interior viewprobably Hughes Aircraft Co. (1940s)
0164 Old Buick radio (close-up) (1940s)
0165 Color painting of Howard Hughes. (c. 1940s)
0166 Black and white painting of Howard Hughes (1940s) (same as
#0165 which is in color).
0167 (NEG. ONLY) Hughes Tool Company. (9-29-17)
0168 (NEG. ONLY) Hangar in Glendale, Calif., where Hughes Aircraft
Company was started. Here Hughes and his assistants built the H-1 in
Which he later set the worlds land plane speed record.
0169 Hughes Tool Companyemployees standing in front. (n.d.)

Howard Hughes
0170 Howard Hughes (second from left) with a group of unidentified men.
(Oct. 23, 1952)
0171 L-R; A. Troyanovsky (Soviet Ambassador to the U.S.) and Howard Hughes at
Moscow Airdrome, Moscow, Russia. (7-2-38)
0172 Howard Hughes (wearing hat) receives congratulations from Mayor LaGuardia
At Floyd Bennett Airport, New York, N.Y. (7-12-38)

0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Howard Hughes (cont.)
0173 Howard Hughes (close-up) in Ambassador Hotel suite, Los Angeles, Calif.
(3-2-38)
0174 L-R: Governor Merriam, Howard Hughes, Mayor Shaw riding in car in parade
on 5th street, Los Angeles, Calif. (8-1-38)
0175 Howard Hughes (left) and Cary Grant (right). Other two not identified. (n.d.)
0176 Edward Lund, Howard Hughes (hat), Harry Connor, Lt. Thomas Thurlow.
Standing on reviewing platform at Houston Airport, Houston, Texas. (7-30-38)
0177 Howard Hughes coming down stairway from Constellation 069 at Washington
National Airport, Washington, D.C. (4-17-44)
0178 Howard R. Hughes Sr. with trench mining drill. (9-29-17) Part of Second and
Girard Streets tool plant in background.
0179 Howard Hughes getting out of cabin door of Lockheed-14 at Floyd Bennett Airport, New York, N.Y. (7-14-38)
0180 Howard Hughes (in at) surrounded by crowd at Houston Airport, Houston,
Texas. (7-30-38)
0181 Howard Hughes (center) being escorted into the lobby of the Rice Hotel in
Houston, Texas. (7-30-38)
0182 Reverse of photo #0321-0141. Howard Hughes (left), N.E. Boehm, Louis (?) ;
Examining machinery in Hughes Tool Company plant, Houston, TX.(7-30-38)
0183 L-R: Howard Hughes, Noah Dietrich, Houston, Texas. (1939)
0184 Howard Hughes in open cockpit of an airplane. (c. 1930s)
0185 Howard Hughes (foreground) and S.P. Brown (bending over) examining new
Hughes rock bit head in Hughes Tool Company plant, Houston, TX. (7-30-38)
0186 Crowd of Hughes Tool Company employees holds a welcome rally for Howard
Hughes. (Houston, Texas)
0187 Howard Hughes (rt.) shakes hands with a young fan. (n.d.)
0188 Howard Hughes seen in profile as he stands on an airplane wing or tail and makes some modifications to the plane. (n.d.)
0189 Howard Hughes in crowd of people. (n.d.)
0190 Howard Hughes (right). Others not identified. (n.d.)
0191 Howard Hughes (wearing hat and white shirt), being interviewed by media as he
alights from his plane. (n.d.)
0192 Howard Hughes (left). (n.d.) Looks like he is on a movie set.
0193 Howard Hughes (center) seated at banquet table. (c. 1930s)
0194 Howard Hughes (center) in a crowd of people. (c. 1938)
0195 Howard Hughes (wearing dark suit). (c. 1930s)
0196 Howard Hughes (taller man at left) examining machinery in [Hughes Tool Company] plant. (c. 1930s)
0197 Spectators around Lockheed-14 at Floyd Bennett Airport to watch Howard Hughes take off. New York, N.Y. (7-10-38)
0198    Howard Hughes standing in front of his bi-plane, holding a trophy after winning
All-American Air Meet in Miami in the category Sportsman Pilot Free-For-
All. (1934)
0199 Howard Hughes (standing), talking with friends in a restaurant. (c.1930s)

0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Howard Hughes (cont.)
0200 Howard Hughes (white shirt) examining machinery in his airplane plant.
(c. 1930s)
0201 Howard Hughes in cockpit of Northrop Gamma surrounded by crowd in front of hangar at Newark Airport (N.J.), after breaking coast-to-coast record for a non-stop flight from Los Angeles to Newark in 9 hrs., 27 min. and 10 sec.
(1-13-36)
0202 Portrait of Howard Hughes in profile. (c. 1930s)
0203 Howard Hughes riding on back of open car (center) in a parade marking the
New York Worlds Fair. (1939-40)
0204 Crowd greeting Howard Hughes and crew at Floyd Bennett Airport (New York, N.Y.) after completion of round-the-world flight. (aerial view) (7-14-38)

MiscellaneousAircraft
0205 Howard Hughes as he leaves cockpit of Northrop Gamma, surrounded by crowd at Newark, N.J. (Newark Airport) (1-13-36) Hughes set a coast-to-coast speed
record.
0206 Howard Hughes (rt.) talking with engineer at rear of flight deck of Hughes Flying Boat at Terminal Island, Long Beach, Calif. (11-2-47)
0207 First radar antenna produced at Hughes, Sept. 28, 1949. See photo caption for more information.
0208 XF-11 (1st Flight Article) at Hughes Airport, Culver City, Calif. (7-3-46)
0209 XF-11 (1st Flight Article) at Hughes Airport, Culver City, California.
(overhead shot) (Apr. 4, 1947) Second test flight.
0210 XF-11 (2nd Flight Article) immediately following take-off from Hughes Airport,
Culver City, Calif. (4-5-47) (This was a grass runwaywas paved in 1952.)
0211 Hughes Racer: take-off from Santa Ana Airport, piloted by Howard Hughes.
(Santa Ana, Calif.) (9-13-35)
0212 Hughes Flying Boat. Port bow in dry dock at Terminal Island (Howard Hughes
And Jack Jerman on platform in background.) Long Beach, Calif. (11-1-47)
0213 Police escort lined up in front of Hughes Flying Boat on Roosevelt Highway,
San Pedro, Calif. (6-15-46)
0214 F-106 aircraft. (n.d.)
0215 Hughes Flying BoatLong Beach, Calif. (c. 1947)
0216 Hughes Flying BoatLong Beach, Calif. (c. 1947)
0217 Howard Hughes Flying BoatLong Beach, Calif. (c. 1947)
0218 Hughes Flying Boat being towed by workmen with capstan at Terminal
Island, Long Beach, Calif. (11-1-47)

Hughes Companies
0219 L.A. Hyland (center) arrives to take over as General Manager of Hughes Aircraft Company. (Nov. 22, 1954)
0220 Interior of Hughes Tool Company at Second and Girard Streets (Houston, Texas). Shown is the lab where the trench mining drill was developed.
(c. 1917)

0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

0221 Interior of Los Angeles plant. Simplex bits in foreground. Shipping
Department? (c. 1922)
0222 Hughes Aircraft Company under construction, Culver City, Calif. (c. 1941)
0223 Administration building at the Hughes plant on Polk Avenue, Houston, Texas.
(Hughes Tool Company) (c. 1922) This building was built during the winter of 1917-1918. Hughes office was lower right.
0224 Hughes buildingno date, no location.
0225 Color photo of Hughes Electronics Corporate Headquarters. (1997)
(Courtesy: Hughes Electronics Corporation)
0226 Aerial view of Hughes plant (Culver City, Calif.?) (n.d.)

Miscellaneous
0227 Hughes Flying Boat. (n.d.)
0228 Howard Hughes (2nd from right) and employees[Hughes Tool Company,
Houston, Texas] (c. late 1930s)
0229 Hughes Flying Boat. (c. 1947)
0230 Workers in Hughes Tool Company. (1951)
0231 One of the Hughes plantsnot identified. (aerial view)
0232 Plane under constructionprobably the Flying Boat at Long Beach.
(c. 1947)
0233 Photo of display of the Falcon (plane built by Hughes Aircraft Company for the U.S. Air Force). (n.d.)
0234 Another view of Howard Hughes in the cockpit of a plane. (no date)
0235 Howard Hughes in airplane. ( no date)
0236 Howard Hughes standing by his plane. (April 3, 1947)
0237 Hughes Tool company hard formation rock bit type R-1, the engineering marvel on which the Hughes fortune was founded.
0238 Hughes Flying Boat in the harbor. (Nov. 1, 1947)
0239 TWA Constellation in flight. (May 2, 1947)
0240 Portrait of Howard Hughes. (c. 1956)
0241 Hughes in front of the experimental helicopter XH-17, Flying Crane. It was one of his last public appearances. (others not identified) (Oct. 23, 1952)
0242 Howard Hughes in the cockpit of the XF-11 (the plane that nearly killed him). July 5, 1946.
0243 Hughes H-1 Racer airplane. Nov. 14, 1945.
0244 Hughes (right) in Los Angeles before take off. (1947) This was his first flight after his crash.
0245 Air combat scene from Hells Angels. The movie was originally shot as a silent movie. The sound and starlet Jean Harlow were added later. (n.d.)
0246 Dick Hannah, the official spokesman for Howard Hughes, in his office, 1973. (color photo)
0247 Dick Hannah standing at far right 1972. Telephone press conference with Hughes, who was in the Bahamas. This was a media event to dispel rumors of Hughes death.
0248 Dick Hannah talking to newsmen in Los Angeles in 1972. He was Howard Hughes official spokesman.
0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Miscellaneous
0249 3-D antenna for Frescanar, Hughes Aircraft Companys guided missile targeted radar system. (Rt.) Dr. Nicholas Begovich, Director of Engineering, Hughes Ground Systems Group, who was responsible for the system. At left, E.W.Templin, systems evaluation engineer. (c. 1957)
0250 Electronic equipment testing, 1959. Hughes Electronics Corporation.
0251 Artists conception of futuristic undersea Mobots remote controlled handling devices envisioned by Hughes aircraft scientists, 1959.
0252 Hughes H-1 racer (NX 2584 x painted over earlier R designation). (1945)
0253 Hughes H-1 Racer. Photo taken Nov. 14, 1945.
0254 The XF-11 on the runway. A Constellation in the background.
0255 Hughes climbing into XF-11.
0256 XF-11 taking off. A little more than an hour later Hughes crashed into a house in Beverly Hills. (1947)
0257 Hughes XF-11 April 4, 1947. Second XF-11 test flight. (close-up)
0258 Hughes XF-11 at time of 2nd test flight. April 4, 1947.
0259 Hughes (right) before the second flight of the XF-11. (4/4/47)
0260 XF-11 prior to second flight. (4/4/47)
0261 XF-11 in flight. (2nd test flight April 1947)
0262 XF-11. Second test flight, April 4, 1947. Plane in flight.
0263 Hughes (right) at the gauge panel of the Flying boat. (Oct. 31, 1947)
0264 Hughes flying boat in the Los Angeles Harbor. (Nov. 2, 1947)
0265 Howard Hughes (standing) on the movie set The Outlaw.
0266 (OVERSIZE) Howard Hughes (facing camera), discussing a story point with Jules Furthman, author of the story and screen play of the movie The Outlaw. Hughes produced and directed this film which was the story of Billy the Kid for Twentieth-Century Fox release.
0267 (OVERSIZE) Howard Hughes on the set of The Outlaw. See photo #0266
For additional information.
0268 (OVERSIZE) Howard Hughes, seated facing camera, on the movie set of The Outlaw.
0269 Howard Hughes (right) on movie set of The Outlaw (oversize)
0270 Howard Hughes (left) in New York, 1947
0271 The official painting of Howard Hughes
0272 Collage of Hughes Las Vegas hotel properties. (Nov. 1968) By John Malmin,
LA Times photographer (negative)
0273 Planes lined up on the tarmac and the pilots are lined up in front of planes
0274 Howard Hughes (second from right) with a group of unidentified men in front of the Helicopter XH-17, U.S. Air Force 01842 October 23, 1952
0275 Howard Hughes (second from right) with a group of unidentified men in front of the Helicopter XH-17, U.S. Air Force 01842 October 23, 1952
0276 Howard Hughes (second from right) with a group of unidentified men in front of the Helicopter XH-17, U.S. Air Force 01842 October 23, 1952
0277 Howard Hughes in the pilots chair with other unidentified men November 2, 1948

0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Miscellaneous
0278 Rear Admiral C.J. Seiberlich, Deputy Chief of Naval Operations, is shown at the controls of the Hughes Flying Boat in its Long Beach, California hangar. The Navy had expressed an interest in using the craft in an experimental capacity Ca. late 1940s
0279 From left to right: John D. Home (Department of Communications of the American Legion), Howard Hughes (Managing Director of Production of RKO), and Edward Underwood (Department of Communications of Hollywood American Legion Motion Picture Post #43) Photographer: Eddie Hoff. Ca. late 1940s-early 1950s
0280 Hughes Tool Companys hard formation rock bit type R-1, the engineering marvel on which the Hughes fortune was founded
0281 Hughes Helicopters Division of Summa Corporation Culver City, California Ca. late 1940s/early 1950s
0282 The inside of an airplane hangar at Hughes Helicopters Division of Summa Corporation Culver City, California Ca. late 1940s/early 1950s
0283 The inside of an airplane hangar at Hughes Helicopters Division of Summa Corporation Culver City, California Ca. late 1940s/early 1950s
0284 The exterior of Hughes Research Laboratories where rock bits were test-drilled in Culver City, California Ca. 1940s
0285 Hughes Flying Boat with the number NX37602, in the water in Culver City, California Ca. 1947
0286 An aerial of Culver City, California showing Hughes Aircraft Company Ca. late 1940s/early 1950s
0287 Hughes Flying Boat with the number NX37602, in the water on Terminal Island, Long Beach California Ca. 1947
0288 Men inside of Hughes Flying Boat on Terminal Island, Long Beach, California October 31, 1947
0289 Men inside of Hughes Flying Boat on Terminal Island, Long Beach, California, California October 31, 1947
0290 Men inside of Hughes Flying Boat on Terminal Island, Long Beach, California, California October 31, 1947
0291 The cockpit of Hughes Flying Boat on Terminal Island, Long Beach, California, California October 31, 1947
0292 Men inside of Hughes Flying Boat on Terminal Island, Long Beach, California, California October 31, 1947
0293 The control panel of Hughes Flying Boat on Terminal Island, Long Beach, California, California October 31, 1947
0294 Hughes Flying Boat. The plane was designed and built by Howard Hughes; it is shown near completion at its graving dock at Terminal Island, Long Beach, California Ca. 1947
0295 The hull of the $20,000,000 airplane, The Spruce Goose, was being transferred from Long Beach to Terminal Island in Los Angeles Harbor. The Flying Boat was moved to Terminal Islands graving dock where the construction was finished. June 1946

0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Miscellaneous
0296 Howard Hughes inside of the Flying Boat, which he designed and built. Earl Martyn is pictured behind Hughes. Martyn was Hughes flight engineer. Hughes is inspecting the equipment on the flight deck. The Flying Boat was near completion and located on Terminal Island, Long Beach, California Ca. 1947
0297 Howard Hughes (left) entering the hull of the Hughes Flying Boat with Joe Petrale, the assistant director of service and flight, (right). They are inspecting the aircraft, which was near completion on Terminal Island, Long Beach, California Ca. 1947
0298 Howard Hughes (right) and an unidentified man inside of the Hughes Flying Boat, which was near completion on Terminal Island, Long Beach, California Ca. 1947
0299 An identified man examining equipment on one of Howard Hughes aircrafts, (probably the Flying Boat) on Terminal Island, Long Beach, California Ca. 1947
0300 Howard Hughes on the flight deck of his Flying Boat: the day prior to the 400,000 pound aircrafts taxi test. The flight deck occupied the upper level in the nose of the 219 foot hull. November 1, 1947
0301 Howard Hughes sits at the controls of his 400,000 pound Flying Boat prior to its first taxi tests in Los Angeles Harbor, California. The aircraft was 219 feet long with a wing span of 320 feet. November 1, 1947
0302 Howard Hughes with his flight engineer and radio operator preparing for the Flying Boats taxi test the next day. The group is shown on the flight deck of the 24,000 horsepower craft November 1, 1947
0303 Howard Hughes flying boat, worlds largest plane, rides free off Terminal Island in Los Angeles Harbor immediately after its launching yesterday. The planes vertical stabilizer (fin) tip rides about 80 feet above the water as the air giant floats for the first time. With Hughes at the controls, the colossal craft will get first water taxi tests today November 2, 1947
0304 The interior of the 219-foot long hull of Howard Hughes Flying Boat, on the day of the crafts initial water taxi tests. The picture was taken from the center section of the 400,000 pound aircraft. Workmen were completing the final arrangements for the test in the background November 2, 1947
0305 Howard Hughes 400,000 pound Flying Boat flying 70 feet above the water for one-mile during taxi tests over Los Angeles Harbor with Hughes at the controls. Hughes had scheduled taxi tests only for the 219-foot long ship but it felt so good on the second taxi test run at 95 miles per hour that he took it off the water on the third and final run, which is shown in the photo November 2, 1947
0306 A side view of Howard Hughes flying boat, the worlds largest plane, which successfully completed its first flight, shown in the photo. The eight 3,000 horsepower engine lifted the craft from the waters of Los Angeles Harbor with Hughes at the controls. The huge wings, with a span of 320 feet carried the aircraft for one mile at a 100-mile per hour speed before Hughes put it back on the water November 2, 1947



0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Howard Hughes (cont.)
0307 A side view of Howard Hughes flying boat, the worlds largest plane, which successfully completed its first flight, shown in the photo. The eight 3,000 horsepower engine lifted the craft from the waters of Los Angeles Harbor with Hughes at the controls. The huge wings, with a span of 320 feet carried the aircraft for one mile at a 100-mile per hour speed before Hughes put it back on the water November 2, 1947
0308 A side view of Howard Hughes flying boat, the worlds largest plane, which successfully completed its first flight, shown in the photo. The eight 3,000 horsepower engine lifted the craft from the waters of Los Angeles Harbor with Hughes at the controls. The huge wings, with a span of 320 feet carried the aircraft for one mile at a 100-mile per hour speed before Hughes put it back on the water November 2, 1947
0309 Howard Hughes checking the instrument panel of his Flying Boat with his crew on November 1, 1947 one-day prior to the scheduled taxi tests in Los Angeles Harbor, California
0310 An aerial view of Howard Hughes Flying Boat in Los Angeles Harbor, California Ca. 1947
0311 A portrait of Howard Hughes
0312 Howard Hughes, at the controls of a TWA Constellation, demonstrates the efficiency of his new radar safety device, which was being installed on all TWA planes. The instrument warns the pilot by a brilliant red light and a warning horn the instant the plane came too close to any obstacles, regardless of darkness or weather conditions May 1, 1947
0313 Howard Hughes, at the controls of a TWA Constellation, demonstrates the efficiency of his new radar safety device, which was being installed on all TWA planes. The instrument warns the pilot by a brilliant red light and a warning horn the instant the plane came too close to any obstacles, regardless of darkness or weather conditions May 1, 1947
0314 Three unidentified men outside of a TWA aircraft n.d.
0315 Three unidentified men outside of a TWA aircraft n.d.
0316 Two unidentified men examining equipment in the TWA aircraft n.d.
0317 An unidentified plane flying through clouds May 2, 1947
0318 A TWA plane in the air May 2, 1947
0319 A TWA plane in the air May 2, 1947
0320 A TWA plane in the air May 2, 1947
0321 A TWA plane in the air May 2, 1947
0322 A TWA plane in the air May 2, 1947
0323 Culver City, California April 5, 1947. Howard Hughes test-piloting the plane pictured here, a duplicate of the XF-11 photo reconnaissance ship in which he nearly lost his life in an accident July 7, 1946. He designed and built the plane for the Army Air Forces in conjunction with Air Material Command engineers




0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Howard Hughes (cont.)
0324 Culver City, California April 5, 1947. Howard Hughes test-piloting the plane pictured here, a duplicate of the XF-11 photo reconnaissance ship in which he nearly lost his life in an accident July 7, 1946. He designed and built the plane for the Army Air Forces in conjunction with Air Material Command engineers
0325 Hughes Flying Boat in the air with Howard Hughes at the controls November 2, 1947. The 400,000 pound flying boat flew one mile at a height of 70 feet over Los Angeles Harbor
0326 Culver City, California April 5, 1947. Howard Hughes standing in front of a plane that he test-piloted. Hughes designed and built the plane, designated XF-11 which was built as a reconnaissance ship for the Army Air Forces in conjunction with Air Material Command engineers
0327 Culver City, California April 5, 1947. Howard Hughes standing in front of a plane that he test-piloted. Hughes designed and built the plane, designated XF-11 which was built as a reconnaissance ship for the Army Air Forces in conjunction with Air Material Command engineers
0328 A plane parked on the tarmac Ca. late 1940s/early 1950s
0329 Howard Hughes Ca. 1950s
0330 A welder applying an atomic-hydrogen welding process to the teeth of a rock bit drill at the Hughes Tool Company plant in Houston, Texas, owned by Howard Hughes Ca. late 1940s/early 1950s
0331 Howard Hughes inside of the H-185 Ca. late 1940s/early 1950s
0332 Howard Hughes at a press conference, standing in front of a plane Ca. late 1940s/early 1950s
0333 Howard Hughes at a press conference, standing in front of a plane Ca. late 1940s/early 1950s
0334 Howard Hughes exiting a plane Ca. late 1940s/early 1950s
0335 A portrait of Howard Hughes Ca. late 1940s/early 1950s
0336 Howard Hughes flying boat docked near the waters of Los Angeles Harbor July 16, 1947
0337 Howard Hughes flying boat docked near the waters of Los Angeles Harbor July 16, 1947
0338 Howard Hughes flying boat docked near the waters of Los Angeles Harbor July 16, 1947
0339 Howard Hughes inspecting one of his planes Ca. late 1940s/early 1950s
0340 Howard Hughes inspecting one of his planes Ca. late 1940s/early 1950s
0341 Howard Hughes standing in front of a plane Ca. late 1940s/early 1950s
0342 Howard Hughes flying boat docked at the Los Angeles Harbor July 1947
0343 Howard Hughes flying boat docked at the Los Angeles Harbor July 1947
0344 Howard Hughes flying boat docked at the Los Angeles Harbor July 1947
0345 Howard Hughes flying boat docked at the Los Angeles Harbor July 1947
0346 Culver City, California April 1947. Hughes aircraft the XF-11sitting on the tarmac before its first test flight



0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Howard Hughes (continued)
0347 A portrait of Howard Hughes Ca. 1940s1950s
0348 A portrait of Howard Hughes Ca. 1940s/1950s
0349 A portrait of Howard Hughes Ca. 1940s/1950s
0350 A portrait of Howard Hughes Ca. 1940s/1950s
0351 A portrait of Howard Hughes standing next to an airplane Ca. 1940s/1950s
0352 Howard Hughes shaking hands with a group of men Ca. 1940s/1950s
0353 Howard Hughes sits in the cockpit of the XF-11, a reconnaissance plane that Hughes built and designed in conjunction with Air Material Command engineers. Hughes is preparing for his first test flight in Culver City, California July 7, 1947
0354 Howard Hughes sits in the cockpit of the XF-11, a reconnaissance plane that Hughes built and designed in conjunction with Air Material Command engineers. Hughes is preparing for his first test flight in Culver City, California July 7, 1947
0355 Howard Hughes sits in the cockpit of the XF-11, a reconnaissance plane that Hughes built and designed in conjunction with Air Material Command engineers. Hughes is preparing for his first test flight in Culver City, California July 7, 1947
0356 Howard Hughes sits in the cockpit of the XF-11, a reconnaissance plane that Hughes built and designed in conjunction with Air Material Command engineers. Hughes is preparing for his first test flight in Culver City, California July 7, 1947
0357 This 74-foot wing-flap for the worlds largest airplane, built by Howard Hughes, is almost as long as the wing of a standard 21-passenger airliner. The flap, one of the two which will be installed in the 320-foot wing of the giant flying boat, is enroute from the Hughes Aircraft plant at Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane is being assembled June 1946
0358 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0359 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946. A dirigible showcasing the movie The Outlaw with Jane Russell can be seen in the upper right
0360 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0361 The 74-foot wing-flap of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat is enroute from Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0362 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0363 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946


0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Howard Hughes (continued)
0364 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0365 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0366 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0367 Crowds and policeman watching as a section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0368 Crowds and policeman watching as a section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0369 Crowds and policeman watching as a section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0370 Crowds and policeman watching as a section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0371 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0372 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0373 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0374 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0375 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0376 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946


0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Howard Hughes (continued)
0377 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0378 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0379 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0380 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0381 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0382 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0383 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0384 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0385 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0386 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0387 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0388 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0389 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0390 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0391 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Howard Hughes (continued)
0392 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0393 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0394 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0395 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0396 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0397 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0398 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0399 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0400 Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being assembled at Long Beach Harbor January 8, 1947
0401 Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being assembled at Long Beach Harbor January 8, 1947
0402 Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being assembled at Long Beach Harbor July 10, 1947
0403 Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being assembled at Long Beach Harbor July 10, 1947
0404 A section of Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being moved (with a police escort) from the Hughes Aircraft plant in Culver City, California to Long Beach Harbor where the plane was assembled June 1946
0405 Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being assembled at Long Beach Harbor January 8, 1947
0406 Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being assembled at Long Beach Harbor July 10, 1947
0407 Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat in its Long Beach hangar. This was the first official photograph taken after the first test flight November 2, 1947
0408 Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being assembled at Long Beach Harbor October 13, 1946

0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Howard Hughes (continued)
0409 Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being assembled at Long Beach Harbor January 8, 1947
0410 Howard Hughes Flying Boat or Spruce Goose was launched for the first time November 1, 1947. After three concrete docks, one containing the hull and two the wing pontoons, were pumped with sea water to the outside level, gates were lowered and the Flying Boat was carefully towed forward by tractors, and by boats as the tail cleared the dock. During taxi tests the following day Howard Hughes made a surprise flight of a mile
0411 A portion of the Flying Boat is visible in this photograph that was taken during Howard Hughes first test flight November 2, 1947
0412 A portion of the Flying Boat is visible in this photograph that was taken during Howard Hughes first test flight November 2, 1947
0413 A portion of the Flying Boat is visible in this photograph that was taken during Howard Hughes first test flight November 2, 1947
0414 A portion of the Flying Boat is visible in this photograph that was taken during Howard Hughes first test flight November 2, 1947
0415 A portion of the Flying Boat is visible in this photograph that was taken during Howard Hughes first test flight November 2, 1947
0416 The Flying Boat during Howard Hughes first test flight November 2, 1947
0417 The Flying Boat during Howard Hughes first test flight November 2, 1947
0418 The Flying Boat during Howard Hughes first test flight November 2, 1947
0419 Howard Hughes Flying Boat or Spruce Goose was launched for the first time November 1, 1947. After three concrete docks, one containing the hull and two the wing pontoons, were pumped with sea water to the outside level, gates were lowered and the Flying Boat was carefully towed forward by tractors, and by boats as the tail cleared the dock. During taxi tests the following day Howard Hughes made a surprise flight of a mile
0420 Construction around one of Howard Hughes planes at Long Beach Harbor in California July 16, 1947
0421 The XF-11, a reconnaissance plane that Hughes built and designed in conjunction with Air Material Command engineers April 3, 1947
0422 The XF-11, a reconnaissance plane that Hughes built and designed in conjunction with Air Material Command engineers April 3, 1947
0423 The XF-11, a reconnaissance plane that Hughes built and designed in conjunction with Air Material Command engineers April 3, 1947
0424 The XF-11, a reconnaissance plane that Hughes built and designed in conjunction with Air Material Command engineers April 3, 1947
0425 The XF-11, a reconnaissance plane that Hughes built and designed in conjunction with Air Material Command engineers April 3, 1947
0426 The XF-11, a reconnaissance plane that Hughes built and designed in conjunction with Air Material Command engineers April 3, 1947
0427 A plane, designed by Howard Hughes, parked on a field with a group of people in the background. The plane is numbered, CF-EJO-X, and it is an Avro Canada Jetline Ca. 1940s or 1950s (OVERSIZE ONLY)

0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Howard Hughes (continued)
0428 Howard Hughes Spruce Goose or Flying Boat being assembled at Long Beach Harbor September 26, 1947 (OVERSIZE ONLY)
0429 A photograph of a graph of evasive maneuvers an airplane could take while on an approach Ca. 1940s-1950s
0430 An aerial photograph with a city map in the upper left corner. The description on the back of the photograph reads, AAF Shooting Star does mapping at 475 mph. An Army Air Forces XFP-80, the Shooting Star built by Lockheed recently made a 51 minute run from Wright Field, Dayton, Ohio, to Washington D.C., photographing 16,000 square miles of territory along the route for mapping purposes. The flight established a new record in photographic mapping, covering 314 square miles per minute. A new tri-metrogen K-17-B aerial camera installation, consisting of three cameras positioned and times to record the terrain from horizon to horizon was used. The test flight proved the new jet type aircraft perfect for any Air Forces mapping job. Jets, due to the lack of vibration, allow perfect exposure in minute detail without the use of intricate stabilized camera mounts October 28, 1946
0431 A close-up of a hard formation rock bit type R-1, the engineering marvel on which the Hughes fortune was founded Ca. late 1940s- early 1950s
(OVERSIZE ONLY)
0432 Howard Hughes is sitting on the ground examining an architectural drawing, probably an airplane drawing. There is a section on Intake Duct Body Plan
Ca. late 1940s- early 1950s
0433 Sergeant Stanley R. Erickson puts together an aerial photographic map while Lieutenant Marvin R. Williams of Sligo, Pennsylvania looks on Sergeant Erickson who is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Gustav Erickson of 1922 Bernice Avenue, Chicago, Illinois. Erickson is a member of a mapping group in the Army Air Forces that was working with the Howard Hughes company. The photo has the identification 19828 A.C. in the bottom right corner Ca. 1940s-1950s
0434 Two unidentified men in the Army Air Forces at the Mosaic Department, 8th Photo Section, in Mitchel Field New York. The photograph has the identification 19829 A.C. in the bottom right corner Ca. late 1940s- early 1950s
0435 The interior of a plane that was being used by the Army Air Force to take aerial photographs. The photo has the identification F-23471 A.C. in the bottom right corner Ca. late 1940s- early 1950s
0436 An unidentified Army Air Force personal viewing pictures through a stereoscope. The photograph is labeled 23471 A.C. in the lower right corner
Ca. late 1940s- early 1950s
0437 An Army Air Force Compilation Technician at work transferring the pertinent terrain information from the Recto-Blique to the chart. The photograph is labeled C-23471A.C. Ca. late 1940s- early 1950s
0438 A Photographer/Cameraman filming during the Operation of Akeley A-1A Motion Picture Camera and use of oxygen equipment in a Beechcraft F-2 Airplane. The photograph is labeled 12212 AC in the lower right corner and was taken by the U.S. Army Air Force Ca. late 1940s- early 1950s

0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Howard Hughes (continued)
0439 The photograph shows a man hooked up to oxygen in the back of an airplane. The caption reads: The Camera is the eye of the mission. And to see that the eye is in good working order Captain Ursal P. Harvell, 522 South Fourth St., Fulton, N.Y., rides along on D-Day. Captain Harvell is Photographic Officer of one of the veteran Liberator Groups which is now commanded by Colonel John H. Gibson of Hinsdale, Illinois. This photograph was taken shortly before reaching the target, in initial wave of heavy bombers on D-Day. June 6, 1944
0440 A 118-foot field-size oil derrick tower above a block-long laboratory in Houston, Texas, where the Hughes Tool Company simulates every drilling condition in the world in order to produce tough, long-lasting drill bits for the oil industry. Rock bits are responsible for the tapping of deep oil fields where today 90 per cent of the worlds oil is found Ca. late 1940s- early 1950s
0441 The Hughes Laboratory machine shop is devoted to the building of full-scale test models of rock bits, tool joints and other drilling tools for laboratory and field testing. In connection with the latter, the shop is equipped to manufacture these tools in sufficient quantities to make possible extensive and simultaneous field trials. The machine shop handles a large amount of work for the Research, Product and Metallurgical Engineering departments. This includes building new designs, new mechanisms and new devices for preliminary testing Ca. late 1940s- early 1950s
0442 Men and women in the Hughes Laboratory machine shop is devoted to the building of full-scale test models of rock bits, tool joints and other drilling tools for laboratory and field testing. In connection with the latter, the shop is equipped to manufacture these tools in sufficient quantities to make possible extensive and simultaneous field trials. The machine shop handles a large amount of work for
the Research, Product and Metallurgical Engineering departments. This includes building new designs, new mechanisms and new devices for preliminary testing Ca. late 1940s- early 1950s
0443 The Hughes Laboratory machine shop is devoted to the building of full-scale test models of rock bits, tool joints and other drilling tools for laboratory and field testing. In connection with the latter, the shop is equipped to manufacture these tools in sufficient quantities to make possible extensive and simultaneous field trials. The machine shop handles a large amount of work for the Research, Product and Metallurgical Engineering departments. This includes building new designs, new mechanisms and new devices for preliminary testing Ca. late 1940s- early 1950s
0444 The Hughes Laboratory machine shop is devoted to the building of full-scale test models of rock bits, tool joints and other drilling tools for laboratory and field testing. In connection with the latter, the shop is equipped to manufacture these tools in sufficient quantities to make possible extensive and simultaneous field trials. The machine shop handles a large amount of work for the Research, Product and Metallurgical Engineering departments. This includes building new designs, new mechanisms and new devices for preliminary testing Ca. late 1940s- early 1950s
0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Howard Hughes (continued)
0445 A man fits a new Hughes Jet bit into the drill collar, preparatory to running the drill stem into the hole. In 1953, more the 500,000 rock bits produced by the Hughes Tool Company of Houston, Texas were used in the United States alone.    The invention of the rock bit by Howard R. Hughes Sr., made it possible to drill far deeper into the earth beyond the shallow oil deposits which are now practically exhausted Ca. 1953
0446 Men working on a Hughes rock bit drilling piece #5411-482 at the Hughes Tool Company in Houston, Texas Ca. 1950s
0447 Men inspecting Hughes drill bits at the Hughes Tool Company in Houston, Texas Ca. 1950s
0448 A man working on Hughes rock bit drilling pieces at the Hughes Tool Company in Houston, Texas Ca. 1950s
0449 A man working at the Hughes Tool Company in Houston, Texas Ca. 1950s
0450 A hard formation drilling test at The Hughes Tool Company in Houston, Texas. The majority of the rock bits used in the United States and Canada were produced in this machine shop; it was principally the income from the oil drilling equipment Company which enabled Hughes to branch out into many other fields Ca. 1950s
0451 The Kearney and Trecker 4 spindle machine at the Hughes Tool Company in Houston, Texas. There were more than 500,000 rock bits produced in a single year for drilling the kind of deep wells which produced 90% of the worlds petroleum. The rock bit was invented by Howard Hughes father and the resulting business became the cornerstone on which Hughes built his industrial empire. The machinist in the photo was performing an operation on the cones which make up the rotating end of the Hughes rock bit Ca. 1950s
0452 The Kearney and Trecker 4 spindle machine at the Hughes Tool Company in Houston, Texas. There were more than 500,000 rock bits produced in a single year for drilling the kind of deep wells which produced 90% of the worlds petroleum. The rock bit was invented by Howard Hughes father and the resulting business became the cornerstone on which Hughes built his industrial empire. The machinist in the photo was performing an operation on the cones which make up the rotating end of the Hughes rock bit Ca. 1950s
0453 Only an inch and a quarter in diameter, this microbit enabled engineers at the Hughes Tool Company in Houston, Texas to estimate the performances of full-size bits for the oil drilling industry. The company operated the largest testing laboratory of its kind anywhere in the world and produces thousands of rock bits necessary to drill deeper and deeper as the worlds shallow oil wells became exhausted. Howard Hughes termed the Hughes Tool Company the keystone of his industrial empire Ca. 1950s
0454 The Hughes Tool Company in Houston, Texas. The companys mechanical testing section is pictured. The engineers were testing the products under conditions which simulated actual drilling Ca. 1950s




0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Howard Hughes (continued)
0455 The Hughes drilling laboratory. The fundamental purpose of all Hughes rock bit research was to improve bit performance. In attaining this improvement it was necessary to balance design with the application of correct metallurgical materials and manufacturing methods. The preliminary proving ground was the Drilling Laboratory housed within the main laboratory building. Its field-size drilling rig, with 118 feet derrick was especially designed to test rock bits in a manner simulating oilfield drilling conditions Ca. 1950s
0456 In a block-long laboratory in Houston, Texas, the Hughes Tool Company can simulate oil drilling conditions anywhere in the world. In the photograph a Hughes bit was being tested on a hard formation. Howard Hughes father invented the rock bit in 1908 and the resulting business became the cornerstone on which Howard Hughes built his fabulous industrial empire in motion pictures, air transportation, aeronautical research and design, aircraft manufacture, electronics, armament and brewing Ca. 1940s/1950s
0457 General Ira C. Eaker the Vice President of Hughes Tool Company and Hughes Aircraft is giving an unidentified man an award Ca. 1940s/1950s
0458 A portrait of Noah Dietrich, the Chief Executive Officer of the Howard Hughes Corporation from 1925-1957 Ca. 1940s-1950s
0459 Howard Hughes and Noah Dietrich (the Chief Executive Officer of the Howard Hughes Corporation from 1925-1957) Ca. 1940s-1950s
0460 General Ira C. Eaker (Vice President of Hughes Tool Company and Hughes Aircraft), Clifford, and James Howard Dutch Kindelberger (President and General Manager of North American Aviation) Ca. 1940s/1950s
0461 Clifford, James Howard Dutch Kindelberger (President and General Manager of North American Aviation), Larsen, Warren, Noah Dietrich (Chief Executive Officer of Howard Hughes Corporation 1925-1957), Bowron, Gross, Rentzel, and General Ira C. Eaker (Vice President of Hughes Tool Company and Hughes Aircraft) seated at a banquet hall Ca. 1940s/1950s
0462 James Howard Dutch Kindelberger (President and General Manager of North American Aviation), Larsen, and Warren seated at a banquet table Ca. 1940s/1950s
0463 A group of people at an unidentified banquet Ca. 1940s/1950s
0464 A group of people at an unidentified banquet Ca. 1940s/1950s
0465 A group of people at an unidentified banquet with two press tables at the left and right of the foreground Ca. 1940s/1950s
0466 A group of people at an unidentified banquet Ca. 1940s/1950s
0467 Howard Hughes with two unidentified men Ca. 1940s/1950s (OVERSIZE ONLY)







0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Howard Hughes (continued)
0468 Howard Hughes on a motion picture set discussing the story points with Jules Furthman, author of the story and screen play on The Outlaw. The caption reads: After an absence of ten years from motion picture production, Howard Hughes resumes film making with the producing and directing of The Outlaw, the story of Billy the Kid, for Twentieth Century-Fox release. In 1931, he produced and directed Hells Angels, from which emerged a glorious new star, Jean Harlow, and in the same year he brought to stardom Paul Muni in Scarface. And now Hughes, who in 1931 promised two new stars in Harlow and Muni, makes the same promise again with 19-year-old Jane Russell and 21-year-old Jack Buetel, playing the top leads in The Outlaw the cast of which also includes Thomas Mitchell and Walter Houston Ca. 1941-1943 (OVERSIZE ONLY)
0469 Howard Hughes on a motion picture set discussing the story points with Jules Furthman, author of the story and screen play on The Outlaw. The caption reads: After an absence of ten years from motion picture production, Howard Hughes resumes film making with the producing and directing of The Outlaw, the story of Billy the Kid, for Twentieth Century-Fox release. In 1931, he produced and directed Hells Angels, from which emerged a glorious new star, Jean Harlow, and in the same year he brought to stardom Paul Muni in Scarface. And now Hughes, who in 1931 promised two new stars in Harlow and Muni, makes the same promise again with 19-year-old Jane Russell and 21-year-old Jack Buetel, playing the top leads in The Outlaw the cast of which also includes Thomas Mitchell and Walter Houston Ca. 1941-1943 (OVERSIZE ONLY)
0470 Howard Hughes on a motion picture set discussing a scene with a couple of members of the cast of The Outlaw. The caption reads: After an absence of ten years from motion picture production, Howard Hughes resumes film making with the producing and directing of The Outlaw, the story of Billy the Kid, for Twentieth Century-Fox release. In 1931, he produced and directed Hells Angels, from which emerged a glorious new star, Jean Harlow, and in the same year he brought to stardom Paul Muni in Scarface. And now Hughes, who in 1931 promised two new stars in Harlow and Muni, makes the same promise again with 19-year-old Jane Russell and 21-year-old Jack Buetel, playing the top leads in The Outlaw the cast of which also includes Thomas Mitchell and Walter Houston Ca. 1941-1943 (OVERSIZE ONLY)
0471 Howard Hughes on a motion picture set supervising the dressing of a set for use in his production of The Outlaw. The caption reads: After an absence of ten years from motion picture production, Howard Hughes resumes film making with the producing and directing of The Outlaw, the story of Billy the Kid, for Twentieth Century-Fox release. In 1931, he produced and directed Hells Angels, from which emerged a glorious new star, Jean Harlow, and in the same year he brought to stardom Paul Muni in Scarface. And now Hughes, who in 1931 promised two new stars in Harlow and Muni, makes the same promise again with 19-year-old Jane Russell and 21-year-old Jack Buetel, playing the top leads in The Outlaw the cast of which also includes Thomas Mitchell and Walter Houston Ca. 1941-1943 (OVERSIZE ONLY)

0321
HOWARD HUGHES COLLECTION

Howard Hughes (continued)
0472 Howard Hughes on a motion picture set supervising the dressing of a set for use in his production of The Outlaw. The caption reads: After an absence of ten years from motion picture production, Howard Hughes resumes film making with the producing and directing of The Outlaw, the story of Billy the Kid, for Twentieth Century-Fox release. In 1931, he produced and directed Hells Angels, from which emerged a glorious new star, Jean Harlow, and in the same year he brought to stardom Paul Muni in Scarface. And now Hughes, who in 1931 promised two new stars in Harlow and Muni, makes the same promise again with 19-year-old Jane Russell and 21-year-old Jack Buetel, playing the top leads in The Outlaw the cast of which also includes Thomas Mitchell and Walter Houston Ca. 1941-1943 (OVERSIZE ONLY)
0473 Howard Hughes on a motion picture set supervising the dressing of a set for use in his production of The Outlaw. The caption reads: After an absence of ten years from motion picture production, Howard Hughes resumes film making with the producing and directing of The Outlaw, the story of Billy the Kid, for Twentieth Century-Fox release. In 1931, he produced and directed Hells Angels, from which emerged a glorious new star, Jean Harlow, and in the same year he brought to stardom Paul Muni in Scarface. And now Hughes, who in 1931 promised two new stars in Harlow and Muni, makes the same promise again with 19-year-old Jane Russell and 21-year-old Jack Buetel, playing the top leads in The Outlaw the cast of which also includes Thomas Mitchell and Walter Houston Ca. 1941-1943 (OVERSIZE ONLY)
0474 Howard Hughes on a motion picture set supervising the dressing of a set for use in his production of The Outlaw. The caption reads: After an absence of ten years from motion picture production, Howard Hughes resumes film making with the producing and directing of The Outlaw, the story of Billy the Kid, for Twentieth Century-Fox release. In 1931, he produced and directed Hells
Angels, from which emerged a glorious new star, Jean Harlow, and in the same year he brought to stardom Paul Muni in Scarface. And now Hughes, who in 1931 promised two new stars in Harlow and Muni, makes the same promise again with 19-year-old Jane Russell and 21-year-old Jack Buetel, playing the top leads in The Outlaw the cast of which also includes Thomas Mitchell and Walter Houston Ca. 1941-1943 (OVERSIZE ONLY)