Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0331
Harrahs Entertainment

0331
HARRAHS COLLECTION

0001 Bill Harrah, early 1960s (negative only)
0002 Bill Harrah -- color photo on cover of Harrah-scope magazine, June 1972
0003 Bill Harrah, 1978. Color photo on cover of the memorial issue of
Harrah-scope
0004 Original staff in the Tango Parlor, 1938. Bill Harrah is the tall man in the dark glasses at Harrahs in Reno, Nevada
0005 Bill Harrah with his father, John Harrah, outside Harrahs Bingo Club, Reno,
Nevada (1959)
0006 Bill Harrah cutting the ribbon at the opening of the new Reno Casino and restaurant edition, 1962
0007 Missing photo
0008 Highway 50 at State Line, Nevada, before Harrahs was built
0009 Stateline. The Gateway Club. The property next door was Harveys Wagon
Wheel, precursor of Harveys hotel and resort.
0010 Harrahs Stateline Country Club, 1956
0011 Harrahs Club, 1958, across from the Country Club
0012 A newspaper ad for Harrahs Greyhound Bus promotion
0013 Bill Harrah (left) and Bob Ring (3rd from left) showing the model of the new
Stateline restaurant and showroom
0014 The Stateline Restaurant Showroom Harrahs Tahoe now concentrated on one
site across the highway from the lake
0015 Harrahs Tahoe Tower, Martin Stern Jr.s original concept. (Martin Stern
Collection)    (OVERSIZE)
0016 Harrahs Tahoe, Sterns revised concept (Martin Stern Collection)
0017 Harrahs Tahoe. Sterns final design as constructed (Martin Stern Collection)
0018 Bill Harrah (rt.) with Martin Stern Jr., signing a girder at the topping out
ceremony for the Lake Tahoe Hotel Tower, 1972
0019 Color photo of Harrahs Lake Tahoe
0020 Commercial Street in Reno, Nevada. (1938)
0021 Missing photo
0022 Harrahs Reno early conceptual design (in color) by Martin Stern.
(Martin Stern Collection)
0023 Harrahs Reno Sterns design as built (color drawing)
(Martin Stern Collection)    (OVERSIZE)
0024    Harrahs RenoReno, Nevada, 1980s (color photo)
0025 Martin Sterns conceptual design for Harrahs Marina in Atlantic City.
(Martin Stern Collection)
0026 Martin Sterns conceptual design for Harrahs Marina in Atlantic City.
(Martin Stern Collection) (see also #0331 0025)
0027 Missing photo
0028 Cover of Harrah-scope, 1983. Las Vegas Holiday Inn/Holiday Casino
joins Harrahs. The original hotel and casino had been designed by
Homer Rissman.

0331
HARRAHS COLLECTION
0029 Martin Sterns proposed master plan for the tower expansion of the Las
Vegas Holiday Inn, now Harrahs. (Martin Stern Collection)
0029 Martin Sterns proposed master plan for the tower expansion of the Las
Vegas Holiday Inn, now Harrahs (Martin Stern Collection)
0030 Example of stock entertainment ad for Harrahs Tahoe
0031 Red Skelton at the opening party for the new Harrahs Stateline
showroom, 1959
0032 Bill Harrah (rt.) and Sammy Davis Jr
0033 Frank Sinatra (left) and John Denver performing together at Harrahs Lake
Tahoe in 1975
0034 Advertising postcard for Harrahs Club Reno, featuring the Little Sultan
trademark
0035 Early rendering of the proposed Hard Rock Hotel in which Harrahs was to
be a partner. From Harrahs People , summer 1991 issue, pp. 14-15
0036 The first issue of the Harrah-Scope, April 1955. Rosemary Primm, an
employee whose name for the new magazine was chosen in an employee
contest, was featured
0037 Bill Harrah on the cover of the Harrahs Scope April 1980 (Digital Image only: the original Harrahs Scope is located in the Harrahs manuscript collection)
0038 Missing photo
0039 Missing photo
0040 Missing photo
0041 Missing photo
0042 Missing photo
0043 Missing photo
0044 Construction work on the Stardust
0045 Missing photo
0046 Missing photo
0047 Missing photo
0048 Missing photo
0049 Harrahs Club, Reno letterhead.
0050 Missing photo
0051 Original artists rendering of Tango Heart Club (Reno), 1937.
(COLOR TRANSPARENCY)
0052 Harrahs Tahoe South Shore. (Lake Tahoe) Advertising art.
0053 Missing photo

*** THE FOLLOWING ARE SLIDES***
0054 Introduction slide.
0055 Full size poster promoting the event.
0056 Game pieces (Sportsbook punch card, back with the rules, gaming with
special hole punch.)
0057 Poster with promotion ball and bat.
0331
HARRAHS COLLECTION
*** THE FOLLOWING ARE SLIDES***
0058 Poster with promotion bat.
0059 Poster with promotion T-Shirt.
0060 Game pieces (Sportsbook card, back with the rules, Gaming Card), with
special punch, betting tickets, chips and playing cards.
0061    All facets of the promotion.

Additions to Collection (these are PRINTS)
0062 Portrait of William Harrah Feb. 5, 1959.
0063 Missing photo
0064 William Harrah, Chairman of the Board. (portrait) (c. 1970s)
0065 William Harrah (left) and his father John Harrah outside Harrahs Bingo Club,
Reno, c. 1959.
0066 Bill Harrah (left) on a boat with Bill Cosby. (c. 1970s) (color photo)
0067 Jim Nabors (left) and Bill Harrah fishing. (c. 1971)
0068 Bill Harrah (left) and Lloyd Dyer (his successor). (c. 1970s)
0069 Bill Harrah standing next to one of his vintage automobiles. (c. 1970s)
0070 L-R: Kenny Rogers, Verna Harrah, Bill Harrah, Steve Martin.
Last Entertainer Dinner at Villa Harrah. (c. 1970s) (color photo)
0071 Bill Harrah and wife cutting their wedding cake. His wife is the singer, Bobbie
Gentry. (12-18-69)
0072 Bill Harrah and wife Bobbie Gentry on their wedding day. (12-18-69) She was a professional singer.
0073 Bill Harrah and wife Bobbie Gentry. (c. 1969-70) (COLOR)
0074 Bill Harrah and wife Bobbie Gentry. (c. 1969-70)
0075 Color portrait of Bill Harrah. (n.d.)        
0076 Pat Paulsen, Bill Harrah, Mitzy Gaynor, and Flip Wilson participating in a ribbon cutting at Harrahs Casino and Hotel in Reno, Nevada Ca. 1969
0077 Original staff in the Tango Parlor, 1938. Bill Harrah is the tall man in the dark glasses at Harrahs in Reno, Nevada (slide only)
0078 Robert Goulet, Bob Ring, Hugo Quilicy (Reno Manager), Scherry Harrah, Bill Harrah, and Harry James at the June 1962 ribbon cutting at the opening of the new restaurant edition at Harrahs in Reno, Nevada