You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0003
Hancock, Doris

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


Folder 3-1

Early Las Vegas

0001    Sale of Clark Townsite (dup ?)
0002    Hotel Las Vegas (dup)
0003    Hospital (dup?)
0004    Clayson & Griffith
0005    Post Office (dup?)
0006    "Block 16" about 1905 (dup)
0007    First State Bank (dup)
0008    Bar (dup)



Schools

0009    2nd & Lewis (dup?)
0010    Mission Style Fifth (Fourth) Street, 1910
0011    Mission Style Fifth (photo 1919)
0012    Arrival of first mail plane (Western Air Express)



Old Fort (Old Ranch)

0013    "Old Stage house Arrowhead trail…"
0014    Old Fort, ca 1924 (S.E. corner)
0015    Old Fort, ca 1924 (east side)



Later Las Vegas

Old Fort (Old Ranch)

0016    Old Mormon Fort with curing room addition, 1940
0017    Las Vegas Creek, 1940
0018    Ranch building and fields, 1940



Schools (Education)

0019    Kindergarten in snow, Jan. 10, 1930
0020    Close-up of children
0021    Snowman
0022    Close-up, children, Kathleen Meyers
0023    Making the snowman
0024    Doris Hancock retirement dinner, photo with Milton Prell
0025    Retirement photo with Myron Borders, Jack Kramer
0026    D. Hancock in front of Doris Hancock Elementary School, used for Christmas card
0027    Front of school
0028    Kindergarten building, D. Hancock School



0003    DORIS HANCOCK COLLECTION

Folder 3-1 cont.



Schools (Kindergarten) cont.

0029    Close-up, Doris Hancock in front of school sign



Indian Springs (MacFarland's Ranch)

0030    Fish pond and house
0031    Pond and trees
0032    Caves in hills behind ranch
0033    Foothills behind ranch
0034    Aerial view of ranch from foothills



People

0035    Mrs. J.T. McWilliams
0036    Helen J. Stewart
0037    (L-R) Mrs. Baldwin, Frank Waite's mother, Mrs. Helen J. Stewart, taken about 1905. Cemetery in the distance.
0038    (L-R) Mrs. Mosbach, Frank Waite's mother, Mrs. Helen J. Stewart, Lucretia Baldwin, Mrs. Moffat, Mrs. McWilliams, about 1905
0039    Alice Mott, Theresa Doolittle, Mina Stewart, Mrs. Roy Mosbach and Rallene, about 1905 Location unknown
0040    Freight team, Dan Potter?



California

0041    Death Valley, Mushroom Rock



Additions to Doris Hancock collection

Folder 3-2

Las Vegas

0042    Wagon wheel on trail near Las Vegas
0043    Wagon wheel on trail near Las Vegas
0044    Union Pacific railroad station (postcard-painted photo)
0045    Doris Hancock Elementary School
0046    Doris Hancock Elementary School
0047    Doris Hancock Elementary School
0048    Doris Hancock Elementary School



0003    DORIS HANCOCK COLLECTION

Folder 3-2 cont.



Boulder City

0049    Black Canyon, Dam site (postcard)
0050    Black Canyon, Dam site (postcard)
0051    Boulder Boat Landing, c. 1929-1930; Cress Hancock in background
0052    Lake Mead Boat Landing (postcard-painted photo)
0053    Hoover (Boulder) Dam area (postcard-painted photo)
0054    Looking upstream at Hoover (Boulder) Dam (postcard-painted photo)
0055    Hoover (Boulder) Dam, spillway (postcard-painted photo)
0056    Projected Las Vegas area after Hoover (Boulder) Dam completed (postcard)



Rhyolite

0057    Panorama, November 21, 1906
0058    Buildings (postcard)



CALIFORNIA

Death Valley

0059    Rear view of P.C. Borax Co. plant
0060    Salt Flats, Devil's Golf Course



Tecopa

0061    Desert view



Greeley/Springer Genealogy

0062    Grandma Greeley, 75th birthday
0063    Grandma Greeley, 80th birthday
0064    Grandma Greeley, c. 1915



Hancock Genealogy

0065    Granville N. Hancock, c. 1886
0066    Granville N. Hancock, c. 1889



Cressa Springer Hancock

0067    Bust photo, about 10 years old
0068    Bust photo, 14 years old
0069    Bust photo, 14 years old
0070    Bust photo, 15 years old
0071    Bust photo, about 45 years old



0003 DORIS HANCOCK COLLECTION

Folder 3-3


Cressa Springer Hancock ( cont.)

0072    In Greeley, Colorado, 69th birthday, 1932
0073    Picnic at Rowan, 1910
0074    At McFarland Ranch, with Mrs. McFarland, 1930
0075    At McFarland Ranch, with Mrs. McFarland, 1930
0076    Cressa, Mabel, Doris, Granville Hancock; Coralville, Iowa about 1897



Doris Hancock

0077    In the yard, about 4 years old
0078    Bust photo, 1914
0079    Bust photo, 1915
0080    Bust photo, 1924
0081    On the school steps after, arriving in Las Vegas, 1914
0082    On the Salt Flats, Devil's Golf Course, Death Valley, Ca.; c. 1925-1926
0083    In her home, with cat, "Corporal"
0084    In her home, with cat, "Corporal"
0085    In her home, with cat, "Corporal"
0086    With Mabel Lenore Hancock, Doris- about 6 years old. Mabel- about 11 years old
0087    With Genevieve Lockwood, Madge Egler, and Miriam Trowbridge, c. 1900
0088    With her first class, Fall 1918, Tyrell School, Belmond Iowa (postcard)
0089    With Luella Nixon, Myrtle Morstead Smith, unidentified woman; on steps of kindergarten building, 1924
0090    With Zelpha LaCoss, Mary West Ronnow, two unidentified women; Furnace Creek Ranch, Death Valley, Ca., March, 1925; teacher's outing
0091    With teachers at Furnace Creek Ranch, Death Valley, swimming
0092    With Luella Nixon, Mary West Ronnow, Helen Buie, two boys with Whiteneck, five unidentified teachers, at Beatty, Nevada, 1925
0093    On mules going to the bottom of Grand Canyon, Arizona, Doris Hancock, third from top.
0094    First flight to Las Vegas, Nevada, with Dick Evans, Helen Evans, Cressa Hancock
0095    With Cressa Hancock in Mabel Hancock Jean's Backyard, c. 1940



Mabelle Lenore Hancock Jean

0096    Full length, about 5 years old, December 25, 1892
0097    Bust photo, about 13 years old
0098    Bust photo, graduation, about 18 years old
0099    Full length, Clarion, Iowa, about 30 years old
0100    Frank Jean 1915, 35 years old (Mabelle's husband)
0101    Dr. Frank Jean at his desk in Wesley Palms, c. 1964
0102    L. to R. Mabelle Hancock Jean, Dr. Frank Jean, Nellie?-Frank Jean's older sister,



0003    DORIS HANCOCK COLLECTION

Folder 3-3 (cont.)



Mabelle Lenore Hancock Jean (cont.)

0103    Auntie Winchester, c. 1973 (she raised Cressa Hancock)



People

0104    Two Las Vegas elementary school teachers, L. unidentified, R. Myrtle Morstead, in railroad Park at end of Fremont St., Las Vegas, Nevada
0105    Entrance to McFarland Ranch, Mrs. McFarland, c. 1928
0106    Elda Gilcrease, unknown location
0107    Ruby S. Thomas in John S. Park School, June, 1962



Additions to Collection

0108    Area northwest of Las Vegas, c. 1924
0109    Sunrise Mountain, east of Las Vegas
0110    Sunrise Mountain, east of Las Vegas
0111    Snow on Sunrise Mountain, east of Las Vegas, Jan. 10, 1930
0112    Mt. Charleston, west of Las Vegas, about 1924
0113    Red Rock Canyon, west of Las Vegas (20 miles), ca. 1926.
0114    A view in the Valley of Fire about 60 miles north of Las Vegas, ca. 1924
0115    Colorado River before the dam, above where Hoover Dam is now, ca. 1924
0116    Doris Hancock
0117    "Western Airlines first trip to Las Vegas-April 1926 (?). From L-R -my mother, Mrs. Granville Hancock, Myrtle Smith, myself-Doris Hancock." (April 17, 1926)
0118    Doris and "Corporal" (the cat) Hancock, 1956 or 1957
0119    Doris and "Corporal" Hancock. 1956 or 1957
0120    "My sister Mabel, Doris, V. Gray Gubler. Retirement party--May 1963. John S. Park School. Terrible pictures of both Mabel and me" (handwritten insc.-Doris Hancock)
0121    "Retirement Part 1963-Doris, Betty Chapell, & Mrs. Leavitt." (handwritten insc. Doris Hancock)
0122    "May 23-1963. 2 dozen American Beauty Roses-Gift of the Classroom teachers Assoc. Testimonial dinner given by J.S. Park P.T.A." (handwritten insc.-Doris Hancock)
0123    "Taken at Mr. A's in March 1975. Doris Hancock, Mrs. Grant (June) McGregor." (Handwritten insc.-D. Hancock)



0003    DORIS HANCOCK COLLECTION

Folder 3-3 (cont.)



Doris Hancock's Funeral

0124    People at Doris Hancock's funeral, L-R: Dr. George Davis, Dan Ross, Marjorie Ross Rev. Ken Lieht. (she died April 7, 1987)
0125    Taken at Doris Hancock's funeral
0126    Dan and Marjorie Ross at Doris Hancock's funeral



Additions to Collection


Miscellaneous

O127    "The ferry which takes cars across to the Arizona highway-it is run by cables. This was taken about 1926-or maybe 1928. I'm not sure which. The motor was a Jim Cashman truck motor." (handwritten insc.-Doris Hancock)



Mount Charleston

0128    Mt. Charleston
0129    Mt. Charleston-1925
0130    "Mt. Charleston 1925 'Lodge" (handwritten insc.-Doris Hancock)
0131    Road to Mt. Charleston 1925
0132    Road to Mt. Charleston 1925



Rhyolite, Nevada

0133    Railroad station at Rhyolite, Nevada (ghost town) (c. 1920)
0134    The Ghost Town of Rhyolite, Nevada (postcard). Handwritten inscription on back by D. Hancock: describes her visit their in 1951)
0135    Rhyolite railroad station. (after Rhyolite became a ghost town).
0136    Rhyolite, Nevada The "Ghost City"
0137    Rhyolite , Nevada. The deserted "Ghost City" of the Desert. (postcard) (Credit: Frasher Foto-Pomona)
0138    Rhyolite, Nev. 1907
0139    Ghost town of Rhyolite, Nevada.
0140    Abandoned buildings in Rhyolite, Nevada.
0141    Deserted buildings in the ghost town of Rhyolite, Nevada.(probably the bank)
0142    Ghost town of Rhyolite, Nevada. Abandoned buildings.



Snow in Las Vegas (1930)

0143    "Sat. Jan 11th the 'Old Ranch'-taken during the [snow] storm" (handwritten insc.-D.Hancock) 1930
0144    Snow in the desert near Las Vegas (1930)
0145    Snowstorm -Las Vegas, Nev Jan 10 30 (postcard by Oakes)
0146    Snow-laden tree: Las Vegas Nev. Jan 10 30
0147    Tree laden with snow in front of a home in Las Vegas--1930
0148    Taken during a snowstorm in Las Vegas-Jan.11, 1930
0149    Snow covered desert near Las Vegas---1930. (hand written insc.by D. Hancock describing the winter scène --on back of photo.)



Lost City (Pueblo Grande De Nevada)

0150    Skeletal remains as "Lost City"
0151    "Lost City -skeletal remains and pottery shards.
0152    [Lost City] "This shows some of the excavators at work at the Buried City or 'Lost City' as it is sometimes called. This near St. Thomas if you want to look up its approximate location on the map." (Handwritten insc. -D. Hancock)
0153    St. Thomas---1938 [Couple standing by automobile]
0154    St. Thomas---1938 [Two women standing by a rowboat)
0155    "St. Thomas-the old Chadburn place-1938"-(handwritten insc.- D. Hancock)
0156    Pottery, Lost City of Nevada. (postcard-Oakes)
0157    "Overton Beach-Doris French & ?" (handwritten insc. D. Hancock)
0158    "Sun. Jan 12th [1930]--- Snow on Sunrise Mountain" (handwritten insc.-Doris Hancock)



Red Rock Canyon

0159    Red Rock Canyon
0160    Red Rock Canyon
0161    Red Rock Canyon
0162    Red Rock Canyon



Boulder Canyon Project & Boulder City

0163    "Looking down the [Colorado] river from Observation Point. Apr. 3-1932" (handwritten insc.- - D. Hancock)
0164    " 'Boulder City Special' & its driver-Oscar Peiffer-Eight tracks in the 'yards' here. May 31-1931"
0165    "Commissary at Boulder City. Everything from a shoestring to a hair cut! May 31-'31"
0166    "Post Office & postmaster (Mr. Finney) at Boulder City."
0167    Big Six Warehouse---Boulder City. Water tank in distance will supply water to Boulder City. (c. 1930-31)
0168    Boulder Pack Train. "A western touch to a frontier town" (handwritten insc. by D. Hancock)
0169    "Big Six construction camp-Boulder City" c. 1930's (handwritten insc.-D. Hancock)
0170    People standing inside 30 foot penstock pipe. (These pipes were used in the diversion tunnels in the construction of Hoover Dam.)



Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections