Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Photo Collections Record

0267
Bechtel, W. A.

(To access this collection, contact Special Collections or use this feedback form.)


0001    One of the Mack trucks in front of the upper portal of Diversion Tunnel #2. This truck has 9 cubic yards capacity. Note the steel canopies over the driver's heads on all the trucks. Jan. 28, 1932.
0002    Bucyrus shovel working on road to lower end of Tunnels No. 1 and No. 2. May 2nd, 1931.
0003    Looking out of the lower portal of Diversion Tunnel #2. Note the size of the men in the entrance. January 25, 1932.
0004    A flashlight photograph of the interior of one of the diversion tunnels. The drilling jumbo is working at the tunnel face. The 12' by 12' top-heading can be plainly seen. January 28, 1932.
0005    One of the drilling jumbos ready for action. This view was posed outside the tunnel, just as the swing shift was ready to go to work on the upper portal of Diversion Tunnel #1. January 28, 1932.
0006    A telephoto view of the muck disposal area on the Arizona side, below the lower portals of Diversion Tunnels #3 and #4. Jan. 19, 1932.
0007    Drilling jumbos (aka Williams Jumbo) mounted on the back of a truck for starting construction of lower portal No. 4, Arizona side of Black Canyon. 9-26-31. (This first wood-frame jumbo was experimental - the jumbos later were steel pipe)
0008    Six Companies shovel operation at lower portal No. 4, Arizona side of Black Canyon. (9-28-31)
0009    Lower portal No. 4, Arizona side of Black Canyon - full heading tunnel has begun construction. (9-25-31)
0010    Government pumping plant at the Colorado River in Black Canyon for pumping water to Boulder City. (8-7-31)
0011    Frigidaire drinking water plant and water-cooling plant at compressor plant No. 2, Arizona Side of Black Canyon. (8-9-31)
0012    Looking up Black Canyon from a point below all the lower portals, showing the Government pumping plant (lower left), the Six Companies' compressor plant (middle left), the location of the lower portals, & the highway loop above the canyon wall (upper center) - 7/30/31.
0013    A Six Companies freight barge at the lower portals. (9-26-31)
0014    Marion electric shovel directly over the dam site during construction of the Government Highway (R.G. LeTourneau Co.) 9-26-31
0015    Bucyrus Erie shovel excavation for Site No. 3 compressor plant (Nevada side). June 2, 1931- Black Canyon.
0016    Bucyrus Erie shovel excavation for Site No. 3 compressor plant (Nevada side). June 2, 1931- Black Canyon.
0017    Shovel excavation of a blasted rock cut along the edge of Black Canyon for the Government Highway. (June 2, 1931)
0018    Six Companies railroad grade below Cape Horn, Black Canyon. (8-9-31)
0019    Upper portal of the Six Companies railroad tunnel no. 1. (8-9-31)

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

0020 Six Companies railroad grade above railroad tunnel No. 1 showing the proposed location of the "low-mix" concrete mixing plant. (8-9-31)
0021 Boat landing at railroad tunnel No. 1 and the catwalk to the Arizona side of Black Canyon. (8-9-31)

Album #1 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS)

Pg.1 #2262 Hoover Dam. June 27, 1933.
Pg.1 #2256 Cut-off trench at upstream side of Hoover Dam. June 23rd, 1933.
Pg.1 #2263 Hoover Dam. June 27th, 1933.
Pg.2 #2260 Nevada Spillway, looking upstream. June 27th, 1933.
Pg.2 #2242 Lower Portals of Diversion Tunnels, discharging, 73,000 cubic feet per second flow into Colorado River. June 16th, 1933.
Pg.2 #2259 Arizona Spillway, looking upstream, June 27th, 1933.
Pg.3 #2301 Hoist house and Nevada Anchorage, Government Cableway. Aug. 9th, 1933
Pg.3 #2310 Trains on Elev. 720 Railroad Bench, hauling concrete to Hoover Dam. August 12th, 1933.
Pg.3 #2322 Hoover Dam. August 15th, 1933.
Pg.4 #2286 Hoover Dam. July 26th, 1933.
Pg.4 #2277 Looking upstream at the Arizona Spillway. July 22nd, 1933.
Pg.4 #2278 Looking upstream at the Nevada Spillway. July 22nd, 1933.
Pg.5 #2336 150-Ton Government Cableway, completed and in operation. Aug. 19th, 1933.
Pg.5 #2326 Blending Plant, recently placed in operation, at the Himix Concrete Plant. Aug. 19th, 1933.
Pg.5 #2349 Hoover Dam, Cooling Tower and Refrigeration Plant, looking downstream. Sept. 14th, 1933.
Pg.5 #2358 Nevada spillway weir, showing forms for downstream abutment. Sept. 15th, 1933.
Pg.6 #2339 Hoover Dam, looking upstream. Railroad at Elevation 720 shown at left. Aug. 22nd, 1933.
Pg.6 #2345 Hoover Dam, looking upstream. Railroad at Elevation 720 shown at left. Aug. 31st, 1933.
Pg.7 #2350 Telephoto view of Boulder Dam, Cooling Tower and Refrigeration Plant, looking downstream. Sept. 14th. 1933.
Pg.7 #2379 Arizona Spillway, looking upstream. Oct. 7th, 1933.
Pg.7 #2378 Nevada Spillway, looking upstream. Oct. 7th, 1933.
Pg.8 #2363 Boulder Dam, looking upstream. Sept. 30th, 1933.

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album #1 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS) (cont.)

Pg.9 #2388 Boulder Dam, looking upstream. Oct. 15th, 1933.
Pg.9 #2405 Upstream plug in Diversion Tunnel No. 3, after excavation of raise and Upstream Uptake Tower was completed. Oct. 30th, 1933.
Pg.9 #2413 Boulder Dam, looking downstream. Oct. 31st, 1933.
Pg.10 #2400 Nevada Spillway Weir. Oct. 30th, 1933.
Pg.10 #2410 Arizona Intake Towers and Spillway. Oct. 31st, 1933.
Pg.10 #2412 Nevada Intake Towers. Oct. 31st, 1933.
Pg.11 #2419 Boulder Dam. Nov. 7th, 1933
Pg.11 #2428 Boulder Dam. (note 10 ft. diameter Power House Gallery forms being installed) Nov. 22nd, 1933.
Pg.12 #2437 Upper Portals of the Diversion Tunnels. The dyke being built is at Elevation 690, which was the elevation of the top of the Tunnels. Nov. 30th, 1933.
Pg.12 #2438 Close-up of Boulder Dam. The top blocks are at Elevation 715. Nov. 30th, 1933.
Pg.12 #2444 Himix Plant. Note the new type of 8 cu. yd. bucket on the car, and the two additional 4 cu. yd. Mixers being installed. De. 1st, 1933.
Pg.12 #2446 Arizona Intake Towers. The head tower for No. 10 Cableway is erected and the 180 ft. boom derrick is nearly complete. Dec. 1st, 1933
Pg.13 #2455 Looking upstream through Black Canyon showing Boulder Dam under construction. Dec. 15th, 1933.
Pg.13 #2473 Close-up of Boulder Dam, looking downstream. Dec. 27th, 1933
Pg.13 #2480 Nevada Spillway Weir. Dec. 27th, 1933.
Pg.14 #2457 Two-hundred ton two-way trailer, for transporting sections of 30 ft. penstock pipe. Dec. 15th, 1933.
Pg.14 #2460 View of 200-ton two-way trailer, with test load. Dec. 15th, 1933.
Pg.14 #2481 Excavation for Downstream Plug, Diversion Tunnel No. 3. Dec. 29th, 1933.
Pg.14 #2485 Excavation for Downstream Plug, Diversion Tunnel No. 3. Dec. 29th, 1933.
Pg.15 #2478 Arizona Intake Towers. Dec. 27th, 1933.
Pg.15 #2479 Arizona Intake Towers Derrick. Dec. 27th, 1933.
Pg.15 #2476 Nevada Intake Towers Derrick. Dec. 27th, 1933.
Pg.16 #2468 Upstream face of Boulder Dam. Dec. 27th, 1933.
Pg.16 #2474 Downstream face of Boulder Dam. Dec. 27th, 1933.
Pg.16 #2466 Boulder Dam. View taken looking upstream. Dec. 27th, 1933.
Pg.17 #2509 Close-up of Boulder Dam. View taken from the Arizona side, looking upstream. Jan. 24th, 1932.
Pg.17 #2514 Close-up of slot at the Upstream Face of Boulder Dam. Jan. 24th, 1934

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album #1 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS) (cont.)

Pg.17 #2512 Downstream face of Boulder Dam, showing foundation for Central Wing of the Power House. Jan. 24th, 1934.
Pg.17 #2510 Upstream face of Boulder Dam. Jan. 24th, 1934.
Pg.18 #2528 Forms for transition at the Downstream Plug of Diversion Tunnel No. 2. Jan. 27th, 1934.
Pg.18 #2507 Nevada Spillway Weir section. Jan. 24th, 1934.
Pg.18 #2506 Nevada Spillway, looking upstream. Jan. 24th, 1934.
Pg.19 #2521 Forms in the upstream plug of Diversion Tunnel No. 2. Jan 27th, 1934.
Pg.19 #2522 Forms in the upstream plug of Diversion Tunnel No. 3. Jan 27th, 1934.
Pg.19 #2525 Placing concrete lining in Arizona upper penstock tunnel. Jan. 27th, 1934.
Pg.20 #2517 No. 3 derrick in service at Boulder Dam. Jan. 24th, 1934.
Pg.20 #2529 Boulder Dam, looking upstream. Jan. 31st, 1934.
Pg.21 #2541 General view of Nevada Intake Towers from Arizona side, showing Lomix trestle below. Feb. 20th, 1934.
Pg.21 #2540 General view of Nevada Intake Towers and Spillway from Nevada Himix Trestle. Feb. 20th, 1934.
Pg.22 #2546 Looking upstream toward Nevada Power House, showing 18-ft. penstock openings. Feb. 20, 1934.
Pg.22 #2545 Boulder Dam looking upstream from Lower Cofferdam, showing Power House footings and benches. Feb. 29th, 1934.
Pg.22 #2547 Looking upstream toward the Arizona Power House, showing 18-ft. penstock openings. Feb. 20th, 1934.
Pg.22 #2538 Looking downstream over top of Boulder Dam, showing Lomix unloading trestle. Feb. 20th, 1934.
Pg.23 #2534 Boulder Dam, looking upstream. Cooling Tower in foreground. Feb. 15th, 1934.
Pg.23 #2560 General view of Boulder Dam, looking upstream. March 1st, 1934.
Pg.24 #2558 General view of Himix, including Blending Plant silos at left rear of picture. March 1st, 1934.
Pg.24 #2543 Looking downstream in lower No. 2 plug, showing form work. Feb. 20th, 1934.
Pg.24 #2542 Excavation for bridge abutment in Arizona Spillway. Feb. 29th, 1934.
Pg.24 #2539 Close-up of Cooling Pipe Layout in Panel H-3. Feb. 20th, 1934.
Pg.25 #2578 Boulder Dam, looking upstream. March 16th, 1934.
Pg.25 #2618 Boulder Dam, looking upstream. April 1st, 1934.
Pg.25 #2581 Foundation forms for the Arizona Power House, taken from the Nevada Valve House Bench. March 16th, 1934.
Pg.25 #2599 Forms for Arizona Power House retaining wall. March 14th, 1934.

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album #1 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS) (cont.)

Pg.25 #2617 Telephoto view of foundation forms for the Arizona Power House, taken from Lookout Point. April 1st, 1934.
Pg.26 #2610 View looking into Power House block A-5. March 28th, 1934.
Pg.27 #2568 Union Pacific "Train of Tomorrow" on the Lomix Trestle, at the upstream face of Boulder Dam, where the concrete is transferred from Lomix trains to the Dam. March 9th, 1934.
Pg.27 #2589 View taken from No. 2 Arizona derrick, showing Nevada Spillway in the background. March 24th, 1934.
Pg.27 #2616 Looking upstream in Number 4 raise and plug. March 28th, 1934.
Pg.28 #2590 Arizona Intake Towers, from the Nevada Himix trestle, with Arizona Spillway shown in the background. March 24th, 1934.
Pg.28 #2591 Nevada Intake Towers from the Arizona side. March 24th, 1934.
Pg.28 #2653 View of Boulder Dam and the Nevada Intake Towers, taken from the Arizona side. "Monkey Slide" down Nevada abutment of Dam shown in center. April 28th, 1934.
Pg.29 #2630 Looking upstream in Black Canyon, from the Nevada side, showing Boulder Dam and the Arizona Intake Towers in center. Arizona Spillway shown at upper right. Himix Plant at lower left, and Government Head Tower at lower right. April 17th, 1934
Pg.29 #2643 Unloading 81/2 ft. I.D. Valve House outlet pipe, with the Government Cableway. View taken on the Nevada Side, looking upstream. April 24th, 1934.
Pg.29 #2625 Track layout above Himix and Cement Blending Plants, showing bins where rock and sand are dumped. April 17th, 1934.
Pg.30 #2638 Interior view of Poser House block A-7, showing reinforcing steel and pipe layout. April 25th, 1934.
Pg.30 #2634 View of Poser House block No. A-7, from the lower Arizona construction unit, showing form work and pouring arrangement. April 25th, 1934.
Pg.30 #2660 Looking upstream in Black Canyon, showing general view of the Power House layout, taken from the Nevada Valve House bench. April 28th, 1934.
Pg.30 #2629 General view of Himix and Cement Blending Plants, with unloading track and aggregate bins above. April 17th, 1934.
Pg.31 #2666 Looking upstream in Black Canyon, showing the downstream face of Boulder Dam. April 30th, 1934.
Pg.31 #2659 View showing installation of 100-ft. Drum Gates in the Arizona spillway. April 28th, 1934.
Pg.31 #2664 Looking upstream in No. 5 Penstock tunnel, showing penstock outlets, manways and pedestal recesses. April 28th, 1934.

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album #1 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS) (cont.)

Pg.32 #2649 View of the Nevada Intake Towers, taken from the Arizona side. April 28th, 1934.
Pg.32 #2648 View taken from Himix trestle, showing the Arizona Intake Towers, and Arizona Spillway in background. April 27th, 1991.
Pg.32 #2667 -
Pg.32 #2668 Panorama looking downstream in Black Canyon, taken from the Nevada side, showing the upstream face of Boulder Dam, Arizona and Nevada Spillways, Intake Towers, Cableways and general construction. May 12th, 1934.
Pg.33 #2697 Arizona Spillway, looking upstream. May 25th, 1934.
Pg.33 #2695 Trash rack at the upper portals of Diversion Tunnel No. 2. May 25th, 1934.
Pg.34 #2713 Boulder Dam, looking upstream from the Nevada side. May 31st, 1934.
Pg.34 #2698 Looking upstream toward the upper plug and raise, in Diversion Tunnel No. 3. May 25th, 1934.
Pg.35 #2703 Nevada Power House, from the Arizona Valve House bench. May 29th, 1934.
Pg.35 #2701 Boulder Dam and Power House, looking upstream from the Downstream Cofferdam. May 29th, 1934.
Pg.35 #2702 Arizona Power House, from the Nevada Valve House bench. May 29th, 1934.
Pg.35 #2704 No. 5 unit of Nevada Power House, showing No. 3 pour completed. May 29th, 1934.
Pg.36 #2710 Arizona Intake Towers, from the Nevada side. May 29th, 1934.
Pg.36 #2709 Nevada Intake Towers, from the Arizona side. May 29th, 1934.
Pg.37 #2739 Arizona Intake Towers. June 21st, 1934.
Pg.37 #2738 Nevada Intake Towers. June 21st, 1934.
Pg.38 #2720 Form work in Units 8 and 9, Arizona Power House. June 14th, 1934.
Pg.38 #2733 Nevada Power House layout. June 21st, 1934.
Pg.38 #2730 Night photograph of Power House construction. June 19th, 1934.
Pg.38 #2732 Arizona Power House layout. June 21st, 1934.
Pg.39 #2715 Second millionth yard being placed in Boulder Dam. June 2nd 1934.
Pg.39 #2741 View of the Drum Gates in the Arizona Spillway. June 21st, 1934.
Pg.39 #2744 Top of Boulder Dam, from the Nevada side. Arizona Intake Towers in Background. June 22nd, 1934.
Pg.39 #2742 View of Nevada Spillway. June 21st, 1934.
Pg.40 #2727 Downstream face of Boulder Dam, taken from Lookout Point. June 16th, 1934
Pg.40 #2743 Looking down the transition into No. 4 Raise. June 21, 1934.

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album #1 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS) (cont.)

Pg.41 #2781 Looking upstream at Boulder Dam, from the Downstream Cofferdam. July 24th, 1934.
Pg.41 #2783 Nevada Powerhouse from the Arizona Valve House bench. July 24th, 1934.
Pg.41 #2764 View of the Nevada Powerhouse units from the Arizona retaining wall. July 20th, 1934.
Pg.41 #2782 Arizona Powerhouse from the Arizona Valve House bench. July 24th, 1934.
Pg.42 #2774 View showing river side of Arizona Spillway, looking downstream. July 24th, 1934.
Pg.42 #2761 Looking upstream toward the Nevada Spillway, showing the placing of the Cylinder Gates. July 20th, 1934.
Pg.42 #2758 First 30-ft. penstock pipe section being lifted from trailer with Government Cableway. July 20th, 1934.
Pg.43 #2789 Boulder Dam, looking upstream from Lookout Point. July 31st, 1934.
Pg.43 #2777 Looking downstream at Boulder Dam, from the Arizona side. July 24th, 1934.
Pg.44 #2776 Close-up of No. 3 Arizona Intake Tower, showing the cylinder gates being placed. July 24th, 1934.
Pg.44 #2775 Close-up of the Arizona Intake Towers, from the High Catwalk. July 24th, 1934.
Pg.45 #2802 Looking downstream into the Arizona Spillway and No. 4 raise. Aug. 21st, 1934.
Pg.45 #2803 Looking Downstream into No. 4 raise, showing the form work. Aug. 21st, 1934.
Pg.45 #2794 Looking downstream from the Nevada side, toward the upstream face of Boulder Dam, showing the Spillways, Arizona Intake Towers and Cableways. Aug. 17th, 1934.
Pg.45 #2825 Looking upstream in Upper No. 3 plug, showing pumpcrete and pipes. Aug. 25th, 1934.
Pg.46 #2826 Boulder Dam, looking upstream from Lookout Point. Aug. 31st, 1934.
Pg.46 #2831 Looking upstream into No. 1 Raise from the river side of the Nevada Spillway, showing form work at portal. Aug. 31st, 1934.
Pg.47 #2860 Looking downstream into the Arizona Spillway. Sept. 27th, 1934.
Pg.47 #2861 Looking downstream into the port of No.4 raise. Sept. 27, 1934.
Pg.47 #2865 Looking from the Arizona side, toward the Nevada side, showing all four Intake Towers, three derricks, Boulder Dam to the left, and the Nevada Spillway to the right. Sept. 27th, 1934.

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album #1 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS) (cont.)

Pg.48 #2847 Looking upstream at Boulder Dam and the Powerhouse, from the downstream Cofferdam. Sept. 27th, 1934.
Pg.48 #2850 Nevada Powerhouse from the Arizona Valve House bench. Sept. 27th, 1934.
Pg.48 #2853 Close-up of the Nevada Powerhouse, showing the draft tubes. Sept. 27th, 1934.
Pg.48 #2851 Arizona Powerhouse from the Nevada Valve House bench. Sept. 27th, 1934.
Pg.49 #2868 Looking upstream toward Boulder Dam, from Lookout Point. Sept. 29th, 1934.
Pg.49 #2866 Night photograph of Boulder Dam, from Lookout Point. Sept. 29th, 1934.
Pg.50 #2843 View taken from the Nevada side, looking downstream on the lower coffer dam, showing excavation and dykes. Sept. 17th, 1934.
Pg.50 #2862 Looking downstream toward the upstream face of Boulder Dam, from the Arizona side. Sept. 27th, 1934.
Pg.51 #2919 Boulder Dam, looking upstream from Lookout Point. Nov. 2nd, 1934.
Pg.51 #2885 Top of Boulder Dam, looking toward the Arizona side. Arizona Spillway and Intake Towers in the background. Oct. 17th, 1934.
Pg.51 #2883 Looking toward the Arizona side, showing top of Boulder Dam, with Arizona Spillway and Intake Towers in background. Oct. 17th, 1934.
Pg.52 #2895 Nevada Intake Towers, from the Arizona side. Oct. 25th, 1934.
Pg.52 #2901 Looking downstream, showing Spillways, Intake Towers and upstream face of Boulder Dam. Oct. 25th, 1934.
Pg.53 #2905 Central section of the Powerhouse, looking toward the Nevada side, showing the floor level. No. 2 adit car in the extreme background. Oct. 30th, 1934.
Pg.53 #2910 Looking downstream into the Arizona Powerhouse, showing location of the turbine rooms, from room galleries, and penstocks. Oct. 30th, 1934.
Pg.53 #2908 Nevada Powerhouse, showing the reinforcing and walls around the penstock openings. Pumpcrete machine is in the butterfly valve gallery between the rock abutment and the turbine rooms. Oct. 30th, 1934.
Pg.53 #2914 Looking upstream into the pipe gallery in the Nevada Powerhouse, showing beams and concrete. Oct. 30th, 1934.
Pg.54 #2918 Upper portal trashrack for Diversion Tunnel no.1, on the Nevada side. Oct. 30th, 1934.
Pg.54 #2983 Looking downstream into No.4 Raise, showing close-up of portal forms. Oct. 25th, 1934.
Pg.54 #2916 Looking upstream in No.2 Diversion Tunnel, showing the concrete pipe line from the pumpcrete gun to the upstream plug. Oct. 30th. 1934.

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album #1 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS) (cont.)

Pg.54 #2900 Looking downstream into the Nevada Spillway. Oct. 25th, 1934.
Pg.55 #2936 Boulder Dam, looking upstream from Lookout Point. Dec. 3rd, 1934.
Pg.55 #2958 Third millionth cubic yard of concrete being lowered to Boulder Dam. Dec. 5th, 1934.
Pg.56 #2934 Looking upstream in No.1 plug, showing the united portions of the arch and raise into the Nevada Spillway. Nov. 17th, 1934.
Pg.56 #2935 Looking upstream into No.3 plug and raise, showing plug concrete in place, cooling headers above and rail extension for moving steel pipe. Nov. 17th, 1934.
Pg.57 #2963 No.5 Intake Tower finished to Elevation 1232, showing curtain wall. Dec. 5th, 1934.
Pg.57 #3009 Telephoto looking downstream into the Arizona Spillway, showing construction of the spillway bridge. Jan. 8th, 1935.
Pg.57 #2980 Looking upstream at the upper end of No.1 plug, showing forms for the Intake Transition. Dec. 19th, 1934.
Pg.57 #2977 Looking upstream into No.1 plug, showing the placing of the high pressure valves and method of pouring. Dec. 19th, 1934.
Pg.58 #2993 Form work on the Nevada Valve House bench. Jan. 2nd, 1934.
Pg.58 #2971 Telephoto view of Nevada Powerhouse units. Dec. 19th, 1934.
Pg.58 #2995 Arizona Valve House from the center of the low catwalk. Jan. 2nd, 1935.
Pg.58 #2973 Telephoto view of Arizona Powerhouse units. Dec. 19th, 1934.
Pg.59 #2996 Boulder Dam, looking upstream from Lookout Point. Jan. 2nd, 1935.
Pg.59 #3015 Looking across top of Boulder Dam, toward the Arizona side, showing the start of the utility and elevator towers. Jan. 8th, 1935.
Pg.60 #3000 View taken from the Arizona side, looking across the top of Boulder Dam, showing elevator and utility towers. Jan. 2nd, 1935.
Pg.60 #3007 Boulder Dam, looking downstream. View taken from the Arizona Canyon wall, showing Intake Towers and Himix in background. Jan. 8th, 1935.
Pg.60 #3010 Looking upstream into falsework under the Arizona Spillway Bridge, showing jacks in place. Hopper arrangement in foreground is used for pouring No.4 raise. Jan. 8th, 1935.
Pg.61 #3042 Telephoto view, looking downstream into the Arizona Spillway, showing the bridge under construction. Jan. 28th, 1935.
Pg.61 #3020 Arizona Valve House, from the Government Cableway. Jan. 16th, 1935.
Pg.61 #3044 Looking downstream into the Nevada Spillway. Jan. 29, 1935.
Pg.61 #3032 Looking upstream toward Boulder Dam, showing excavation of the downstream cofferdam. Jan. 28th, 1935.
Pg.62 #3025 Nevada Power House, from the downstream cofferdam. Jan. 28th, 1935.

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album #1 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS) (cont.)

Pg.62 #3059 Diversion Tunnel No.1 Trashrack and counterweight assembly just prior to the diverting of the Colorado river into the tunnel. Feb. 1st, 1935.
Pg.62 #3026 Arizona Power House, from the downstream cofferdam. Jan. 28th, 1935.
Pg.62 #3054 Diversion of the Colorado River into Diversion Tunnel No.1 as the Gate on Diversion Tunnel No.4 is being lowered. Feb. 1st,1935.
Pg.63 #3062 Boulder Dam, looking upstream. Feb. 1st, 1935.
Pg.63 #3028 Upstream face of Boulder Dam, looking downstream from the upstream cofferdam. Arizona Intake Towers on left, Nevada Intake Towers to the right. Jan. 28th, 1935.
Pg.63 #3038 Looking across the downstream face of Boulder Dam, showing the utility towers and elevator shaft. Jan. 285h, 1935.
Pg.64 #3046 Upstream face of Boulder Dam, and the Arizona Intake Towers. Jan. 28th, 1935.
Pg.64 #3037 Upstream face of Boulder Dam, and the Arizona Intake Towers. Jan. 28th, 1935.
Pg.65 #3118 Looking down on top of Boulder Dam. Note the bucket pouring the roadway on "R" block at elev. 1232. Feb. 25th, 1935.
Pg.65 #3126 Telephoto view of the Arizona Valve House, from the Nevada side. Feb. 25th, 1935.
Pg.65 #3141 A view of Boulder Dam Lake and reservoir area from Observation Point. March 45h, 1935.
Pg.65 #3127 Telephoto view of the Nevada Valve House, from the Arizona side. Feb. 25th, 1935.
Pg.66 #3136 Close-up of the Arizona Intake Towers - No.6 on left, No.3 on right. Note the forms for the dome of Intake Tower No.6. March 4th, 1935.
Pg.66 #3133 View from the Arizona Spillway bridge, looking downstream into No.4 raise, showing general construction methods. Feb. 25th,1935.
Pg.66 #3120 Looking downstream from the Arizona side, showing Boulder Dam, the Intake Towers and general layout. Note the dome formed on one of the Intake Towers. Feb. 25th, 1935.
Pg.66 #3139 The run-around excavated in the old top heading adit, to facilitate handling concrete for No.4 Plug. March 4th, 1935.
Pg.67 #3115 Looking upstream at Boulder Dam, from the Power House floor. Feb. 25th, 1935.
Pg.67 #3125 View from the top of Boulder Dam, looking downstream on the Power Houses, showing the Valve Houses and lower cofferdam in the background. Feb. 25th, 1935.
Pg.68 #3131 The Arizona Intake Towers, from the Nevada side. Feb. 25, 1935.
Pg.68 #3130 The Nevada Intake Towers, from the Arizona side. Feb. 25, 1935,

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album #1 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS) (cont.)

Pg.69 #3171 Looking upstream toward Boulder Dam, from he lower portals road. Note the downstream cofferdam excavation. March. 26, 1935.
Pg.69 #3157 General view, taken from the Nevada side, looking downstream on Boulder Dam. March 25, 1935.
Pg.69 #3151 Looking down on Boulder Dam, showing the finished roadway, and the Intake Bridge girders in place. March 25, 1935.
Pg.70 #3152 Looking upstream toward the Nevada Intake Towers, showing the Intake Bridge girders in place. March 25, 1935.
Pg.70 #3177 Looking upstream toward the Nevada Powerhouse. Mar. 26, 1935.
Pg.70 #3181 Looking upstream toward the No.1 upstream plug, showing approximately 7,100 second feet of water being discharged. March 26, 1935.
Pg.70 #3178 Looking upstream toward the Arizona Powerhouse. Mar. 26, 1935.
Pg.71 #3160 Looking downstream toward the No.6 Arizona Intake Tower Control House. Note the Bridge forms being placed for pouring. Mar. 25, 1935.
Pg.71 #3169 View taken from the Arizona side, showing the Intake Towers and the upstream face of Boulder Dam. Mar. 26, 1935.
Pg.71 #3173 View taken from No.4 Raise, looking upstream at the Arizona Spillway Bridge. March 26th, 1935.
Pg.72 #3172 Telephoto view, looking downstream into the Arizona Spillway. Note the bridge and control house. March 26th, 1935.
Pg.72 #3158 Telephoto view looking downstream into the Nevada Spillway. Note the Spillway Control House being formed. March 25, 1935.
Pg.73 #3238 Telephoto view of the Arizona Valve House. Apr. 25, 1935.
Pg.73 #3234 A telephoto view from the Nevada side, showing some of the Arizona power House roof girders in position. Note the Universal Crane on top. The girder on the flat car has just been lowered by means of the Government Cableway. Apr. 25, 1935.
Pg.73 #3237 Telephoto of the Nevada Valve House. Note the forms for the roof beams being built. Apr. 25, 1935.
Pg.73 #3245 View taken from the upstream end of No.4 Plug, looking downstream, showing the method of pouring. Apr. 26, 1935.
Pg.74 #3203 View of Power House Governor Gallery, elevation 645, looking downstream on the Arizona side. Apr. 10, 1935.
Pg.74 #3199 View of Power House Pump Gallery, elevation 625, looking downstream on the Arizona side. Apr. 10, 1935.
Pg.74 #3201 View of Power House Turbine Gallery, elevation 643, looking downstream on the Arizona side. Apr. 10, 1935.
Pg.74 #3194 View of Power House Cable Gallery, elevation 653, looking downstream on the Arizona side. Apr. 10, 1935.

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album #1 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS) (cont.)

Pg.75 #3293 View from the Nevada Utility Tower of Boulder Dam, showing the Memorial Day exercises in connection with the unveiling of the plaque commemorating the men who gave their lives in the construction of Boulder Dam. May 30, 1935.
Pg.75 #3287 On crest of Boulder Dam, looking toward the Nevada side, showing final pour in the slot, which practically completes the concrete in Boulder Dam. May 29, 1935.
Pg.75 #3298 View of Boulder Dam, from the Nevada side. The road, towers, and parapets are completed. June 1, 1935.
Pg.75 #3282 Looking upstream at No.6 Intake Tower Top. Note the method of lowering the trash tracks into their respective slots. May 27, 1935.
Pg.76 #3269 Boulder Dam, looking downstream from the Arizona side. May 27, 1935.
Pg.76 #3284 Looking in a general downstream direction, on the Arizona Black Canyon Highway, showing Six Companies Inc. road work. May 27, 1935.
Pg.76 #3296 Boulder Dam, looking downstream from the Nevada side, showing Spillways and the Intake Towers. June 1, 1935.
Pg.76 #3303 View of the open cut portion of the Switchyard Control Circuit Tunnel. Shovel is excavating for the Switchyard, and the building in the foreground is the power sub-station. The Babcock and Wilcox Company plant can be seen in the extreme background. June 1, 1935.
Pg.77 #3299 Boulder Dam and the Powerhouse, looking upstream from the lower portals road. June 1, 1935.
Pg.77 #3301 View from the crest of Boulder Dam, looking downstream on the Powerhouse. Note the numerous roof trusses in place, and the Valve Houses in the background. June 1, 1935.
Pg.78 #3312 The Arizona Valve House, from the Nevada side. May 27, 1935.
Pg.78 #3277 Telephoto view, from the Arizona side, showing portion of the Nevada Powerhouse. May 27, 1935.
Pg.78 #3311 The Nevada Valve House, from the Arizona side. May 27, 1935.
Pg.78 #3276 Telephoto view, from the Arizona side, showing the central section of the Powerhouse. May 27, 1935.
Pg.79 #3319 -
#3320 Panorama view, showing Six Companies Inc. work on the Arizona side of Black Canyon Highway. June 24, 1935.
Pg.79 #3327 Arizona Valve House, from the Nevada side. June 24, 1935.
Pg.79 #3328 Nevada Valve House, from the Arizona. June 24, 1935.
Pg.80 #3335 Looking downstream, in the Nevada Valve House. June 24, 1935.
Pg.80 #3331 Looking upstream, on the Nevada side of Black Canyon, toward Boulder Dam, showing the road tunnel portal. June 24, 1935.

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album #1 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS) (cont.)

Pg.80 #3318 View taken from the Valve House catwalk, looking upstream toward the Power House. June 24, 1935.
Pg.81 #3324 Looking upstream at Boulder Dam and the Power House, from the lower portals road. June 24, 1935.
Pg.81 #3340 Looking downstream from the top of Boulder Dam. Note the Valve Houses in the background. June 25, 1935.
Pg.82 #1 Aerial view, looking downstream from the Arizona side of Black Canyon. June 4, 1935.
Pg.82 #3321 Looking downstream from the Arizona side of Black Canyon, showing the reservoir level at the base of the Intake Towers. June 24, 1935.
Pg.82 #3 Aerial view, looking upstream toward Boulder Dam. June 4, 1935.
Pg.82 #3339 Looking upstream from Observation Point, showing the reservoir area. June 24, 1935.
Pg.83 #3352 -
#3353 Panorama, looking upstream toward Boulder Dam reservoir, from Observation Point. July 25, 1935.
Pg.83 #3351 Looking downstream toward Boulder Dam, from the Arizona side. July 25. 1935.
Pg.83 #3370 View taken from the Nevada side, looking downstream toward Boulder Dam. July 26, 1935.
Pg.84 #3358 Looking upstream toward Boulder Dam and the Power House. July 25, 1935.
Pg.84 #3362 Looking toward the Power House and Valve Houses, from top of Boulder Dam. Jul. 25, 1935.
Pg.85 #3355 Looking downstream toward the Arizona Spillway, showing highway bridge and Arizona Highway. Jul. 25, 1935.
Pg.85 #3381 Switchyard, Rigging Loft, and surround area. Jul. 26, 1935.
Pg.85 #3379 Looking downstream toward No.1 raise and Nevada Spillway. Note drainage flume in foreground. Jul. 26, 1935.
Pg.85 #3383 Looking into No.3 downstream plug, from the Nevada plug adit. Note forms for the first pour being built. Jul. 26, 1935.
Pg.86 #3365 Looking upstream toward Boulder Dam and Power House. Jul. 25, 1935.
Pg.86 #3373 Looking across the top of Boulder Dam, from the Nevada side. Jul. 26, 1935.
Pg.86 #3378 The Nevada Valve House, with the refrigeration Plant below. July 26, 1935.
Pg.87 #3403 Looking upstream toward Boulder Dam and the Power House, from lower portals road. Aug. 26, 1935.

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album #1 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS) (cont.)

Pg.87 #3392 View taken from top of Boulder Dam, looking down on Power House, Valve House, and lower portals. Aug. 26, 1935.
Pg.88 #3401 Boulder Dam and Intake Towers, from Arizona side. Aug. 26, 1935.
Pg.88 #3408 Looking upstream toward Nevada Spillway drainage flume and general area. Aug. 26, 1935.
Pg.88 #3391 Looking upstream toward Boulder Lake, from Observation Point. Aug. 21, 1935.
Pg.88 #3409 View taken from Arizona Intake Towers, looking toward Arizona Spillway. Note excavation for the float well supply line. Aug. 26, 1935.
Pg.89 #3423 Interior view of Nevada Valve House, looking downstream. Note N-6 Emergency Gate being installed. Aug. 27, 1935.
Pg.89 #3424 Nevada Valve House roof, looking upstream. Note low strength pedestals and double layer of railroad iron being placed. Aug. 27, 1935.
Pg.89 #3407 Switchyard control house, yard and present sub-station. View taken looking toward Boulder Dam. Aug. 26, 1935.
Pg.90 #3417 View of Arizona side of lower portals clean-up. Aug. 26, 1935.
Pg.90 #3397 Nevada construction adits, Valve House and plug adit portal. Note absence of upstream end of lower portal road tunnel. Aug. 21, 1935.
Pg.90 #3412 View of Nevada side of lower portals clean-up. Aug. 26, 1935.
Pg.90 #3431 View taken from downstream Nevada Plug adit, looking toward No.2 downstream plug. Aug. 27, 1935.
Pg.91 #3457 Looking upstream toward Boulder Dam and Power House. Sept. 26, 1935
Pg.91 #3460 From top of Boulder Dam, looking down on Power House. Roof slab is practically completed, and canyon wall gutters are in place. Sept. 26, 1935
Pg.92 #3450 President Roosevelt dedicating Boulder Dam. Sept. 30, 1935.
Pg.92 #3479 View taken from adit, showing No.1 pour in downstream No.2 diversion tunnel plug. Cribbing for use as temporary pipe supports. Sept. 27, 1935.
Pg.92 #3475 Nevada Intake Tower roofs. Note concrete shingle arrangement. Sept. 27, 1935.
Pg.92 #3472 View of Switchyard, showing control house, foundations and general excavation. Sept. 27, 1935.
Pg.93 #3467 Looking downstream from Nevada side, showing Boulder Dam, Spillways, Intake Towers, etc. Note general clean-up and road work; also, Intake Tower lanterns in place. Sept. 27, 1935.
Pg.93 #3471 Looking upstream toward Nevada Spillway Drainage Flume, and general area. Sept. 27, 1935.
Pg.93 #3464 Looking downstream toward Arizona Spillway. Note general road work, curbs in place and guard rails being installed. Sept. 26, 1935.

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album #1 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS) (cont.)

Pg.93 #3465 From Arizona Spillway Gate House, looking upstream. Note float well supply line finished and construction on upstream abutment wall. Sept. 9, 1935
Pg.94 #3476 Looking upstream in Nevada Valve House. Note installation of needle valves and gates. Sept. 27, 1935.
Pg.94 #3478 Looking upstream, on roof of Nevada Valve House. Steel rails in place, ready for pouring concrete slab. Sept. 27, 1935.
Pg.94 #3473 Looking into Arizona Spillway Raise. Jumbo is being used for grouting, back of concrete lining. Sept. 27, 1935.
Pg.95 #3553 View from the crest of Boulder Dam, looking downstream toward the Power House and lower portals of Diversion tunnels. Nov. 26, 1935.
Pg.95 #3527 Boulder Dam and Power House, looking upstream from Nevada side. Note reservoir and Fortification Hill in background. Nov. 23, 1935.
Pg.95 #3545 View from reservoir, looking downstream at Boulder Dam and Intake Towers. Nov. 26, 1935.
Pg.96 #3549 Looking south toward Boulder Dam Switchyard, showing construction and excavation. Nov. 26, 1935.
Pg.96 #3531 Looking upstream in lower No.3 Plug. Note one of pipe sections in place. Nov. 25, 1935.
Pg.96 #3551 Looking upstream along Nevada approach to Boulder Dam. Note rubble wall being built and excavation for tower footings. Nov. 26, 1935.
Pg.96 #3534 Looking upstream in lower No.2 plug, showing pipe in place. Nov 25, 1935.
Pg.97 #3512 Looking upstream in Arizona Valve House. Note three gates and needle valves have been installed. Oct. 29, 1935.
Pg.97 #3497 View from top of Boulder Dam, looking toward Power House, Valve Houses and lower portals of Diversion Tunnels. Oct. 28, 1935.
Pg.98 #3487 Boulder Dam and Powerhouse, looking upstream from lower cofferdam. Oct. 28, 1935.
Pg.98 #3500 Boulder Dam Switchyard, showing excavation and construction. Note Boulder Dam Highway in background. Oct. 28, 1935.
Pg.98 #3501 Looking upstream in No.2 downstream plug, showing water conduit being placed. Oct. 28, 1935.
Pg.98 #3506 Looking upstream toward No.3 downstream plug. Note clean-up operations, getting ready for carpenters. Oct. 28, 1935.

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album#2 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS)

p.1 #857 Steel suspension truck bridge immediately below lower portals of diversion tunnels. Lower Portals of Diversion tunnels No.3 and 4 in background. Feb.3, 1932
p.1 #911 View of warehouse and machine shop area. Boulder City in background. Feb. 15, 1932.
p.1 #824 Lower steel suspension bridge under construction. Jan. 25, 1932.
p.2 #934 View of dedication ceremonies of Elks' Lodge, on Washington B-centennial. A flag pole was erected and ceremonies held at canyon rim near the damsite. Feb.22, 1932.
p.2 #917 Jack hammer men scaling loose rock from canyon walls near site of Nevada spillway. Feb. 15, 1932.
p.3 #888 Lower portals of Diversion tunnels No.3 and 4 during flood. Feb. 10, 1932
p.3 #896 Bucyrus Erie 43-B gas-air shovel was the only piece of equipment caught by the flood. Feb. 10, 1932.
p.3 #884 Looking across river at lower portal of Diversion Tunnel No.3. Feb 10, 1932
p.3 #897 Looking across river from Arizona side at upper portals of diversion tunnels No.1 and 2. Truck bridge in foreground has been partially washed out. Feb. 10, 1932.
p.4 #795 Portion of gravel pits on Arizona side of the river, 11 miles above damsite. Hills in background are across the river in Nevada, 5 miles away. Jan. 16, 1932.
p.4 #902 Close-up of drag line loading 30 cub yard Western side-dump car. Plymouth gasoline locomotive switching. Feb. 10, 1932.
p.4 #906 Marion electric drag line with 5 cubic yard capacity bucket, loading gravel. Feb. 10, 1932.
p.4 #904 First train loaded with gravel leaving gravel pits for screening plant. Feb. 10, 1932.
p.5 #948 Foundations for the trash rack structure being installed in front of upper portal of Diversion Tunnel no.2. This is where the first pay concrete was poured. Mar. 7, 1932.
p.5 #943 View of gravel plant, showing live storage of screened aggregate and sand in foreground. Storage pile for raw aggregate in background. Mar. 2, 1932.
p.5 #951 Upper portals of Diversion Tunnels No.1 and 2. Note workmen scaling above portal of Diversion tunnel No.1. Mar. 7, 1932.
p.5 #937 Night view of gravel plant, taken near first scalping screen, and looking in opposite direction than the view on left. Feb. 26, 1932.
p.6 #953 Looking out of upper portal of Diversion Tunnel No.2. Bucyrus Erie 43-B gas-air shovel reflected in pool of water. Mar. 7, 1932.
p.6 #971 Flashlight close-up of workmen drilling on invert excavation. Mar. 7, 1932

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album#2 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS) (cont'd)

p.6 #970 Flashlight photograph of drilling jumbo working on invert excavation at upper portal of Diversion Tunnel no.4 Mar. 8, 1932.
p.6 #972 Wings extended for drilling fold back against the sides of drilling jumbo. Mar. 8, 1932.
p.7 #969 First-aid station and ambulance located at river camp above upper portals. Similar hospital is maintained at lower portals. Mar, 8, 1932.
p.7 #918 Interior of one of many drill sharpening stations, showing forge and Ingersoll-Rand drill sharpener. Feb. 15, 1932.
p.7 #974 Caterpillar 60 with bull-dozer in front and cow-dozer aft, used extensively for moving muck. Mar. 8, 1932.
p.7 #946 Two levels of highway which will cross top of the dam. Note the rubble stone masonry retaining wall. High-level concrete mixing plant will be located in the draw in foreground. Mar. 2, 1932.
p.8 #989 Looking upstream at Black Canyon. Dam will be located just upstream from foot-bridge, at bottom of picture. Entrance to upper portals of diversion tunnels opposite the middle truck bridge. Mar. 12, 1932.
p.8 #996 Looking downstream from same point as No.989. Lower portals of diversion tunnels are just below. This pic Presents graphic view of problem of muck disposal. Mar. 14, 1932.
p.9 #1011 Marion electric shovel with 3 1-2 cubic yard rock dipper loading into White 8 cubic yard truck, at Nevada spillway cut. Mar, 18, 1932.
p.9 #1014 Mack truck with 14 cubic yard body being loaded at Nevada Spillway cut. Five similar trucks being used on this operation. Mar. 18, 1932.
p.9 #1004 White truck dumping near site of Nevada spillway cut and extending road the for muck disposal. Mar. 16, 1932.
p.10 #1016 Gantry crane used in pouring concrete in invert section of upper Diversion Tunnel No.3. Mar. 18, 1932.
p.10 #1019 View showing method of pouring concrete in invert section of tunnel lining. Mar. 18, 1932.
p.10 #1018 view of invert forms in upper Diversion Tunnel No.3 showing method of pouring slabs. Trimming jumbo for aligning gauge of tunnels in background. Mar. 18, 1932.
p.10 #1020 First 40 foot slab of concrete poured in lining diversion tunnels. Mar. 18, 1932.
p.11 #1067 Nevada Spillway open cut excavation, as seen from Arizona side of river. Mar. 28, 1932.
p.11 #1046 Same blast as No.1063, taken from river-level looking downstream. Mar. 28, 1932.
p.11 #1063 Blast in scaling down canyon walls for construction of intake towers. Mar. 28, 1932.
p.11 #1047 View taken few minutes after No.1046, to the left. Mar. 28, 1932.

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album#2 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS) (cont'd)

p.12 #1055 Low level concrete mixing plant. View taken from cliffs on Arizona side of river. Mar. 28, 1932.
p.12 #1113 Night view, looking upstream from below lower portals of diversion tunnels. Canyon presents a spectacular sight at night with myriads of lights. Apr. 8, 1932.
p.12 #1058 Telephoto pic, similar to No.1055, to the left. Mar. 28, 1932.
p.12 #1101 With the approach of annual spring rise in the river, the temporary truck bridge shown on right has been abandoned. Apr. 12, 1932.
p.13 #1219 Interior of Diversion Tunnel No.3, near upper portal. Invert and side wall sections of three-feet thick concrete lining have been poured. Jun. 2, 1932
p.13 #1289 Interior of Diversion Tunnel No.3, showing method of pouring alternate slabs in side wall section of tunnel lining. Lining form is shown in background. Jun. 22, 1932.
p.13 #1220 Interior of Diversion Tunnel No.2, near upper portal. Invert and side wall sections of lining have been completed. Two cubic yard buckets for pouring concrete are shown on truck. Jun. 2, 1932.
p.13 #1273 Detail pic, showing method of construction and operation of side-wall jumbo for placing lining in diversion tunnels. Jun. 29, 1932.
p.14 #1277 Steel forms for lining the arch sections of diversion tunnels were erected on muck-fill on Nevada side of river. Jun. 18, 1932.
p.14 #1235 Section of arch jumbo form being transported across river by overhead cableway. Note workman on top of form. Jun. 10, 1932.
p.14 #1278 Forms were constructed in 11-foot sections and transported to Arizona side by over head cableways. Jun. 18, 1932.
p.15 #1075 Temporary cable-way spanning Colorado River, near Look Out Point, provide access to Arizona Spillway operations shown in background. Apr. 1, 1932.
p.15 #1076 Skipload of workmen being transported across Colorado River from Arizona side. Apr. 1, 1932.
p.16 #1074 Scaling down canyon wall, in excavation for intake tower on Nevada side. Apr. 1, 1932.
p.16 #1073 Close-up of No.1074 to the left. Workmen are 700 feet above river. Apr. 1, 1932.
p.17 #1142 Marion type of 125 electric dragline with 5 cu. yd. bucket loading into 30 cu. yd. side dump cars at gravel pit. Mikado type locomotives pull 10-car trains, 3 trains of this type in operation. May 3, 1932.
p.17 #1198 As protection against high water, a "bridle" has been attached to upstream face of gravel pit bridge. A 3-in. cable is anchored to concrete dead-men and horizontal stays are attached to bents on bridge. May 15, 1932.
p.17 #1144 Ten car train of gravel crossing 1100 ft. trestle bridge and bound for screening plant. Round trip take slightly over two hours. May 3, 1932

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album#2 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS) (cont'd)

p.17 #1193 Locomotive equipment of Six Companies Inc. on yard at gravel plant. May 15, 1932.
p.18 #1131 Detail pic of side-wall "jumbo" used in placing 3ft. thick lining in diversion tunnels. Side wings are jacked into place, and concrete is poured thru ports by a traveling crane and 2yd. buckets. Apr. 18, 1932.
p.18 #1202 First "jumbo" for pouring concrete lining in top or arch section of tunnels was erected on "beach" in front of tunnel No.2 and transported across river in sections by cableway. May 20, 1932.
p.18 #1132 This view and No.1131 show forms set for first side-wall pour in upper portal of tunnel No.3. Form is 80 feet long and consists of four 20ft. sections bolted together. Note size of man in upper right. Apr. 29, 1932.
p.19 #1431 Excavation for benches for movable cableway towers being carried on, near Lookout Point. Aug. 14, 1932.
p.19 #1444 Workmen loading holes with dynamite, in preparation for blast on cableway bench excavation. Aug. 15, 1932.
p.19 #1442 "powder-monkeys" load dynamite cartridges with electric primers at isolated points. Aug. 15, 1932.
p.19 #1493 Preparing for blast which demolished Lookout Point, to make way for cableway bench excavation. Aug. 14, 1932.
p.20 #1411 -
p.20 #1412 These pictures together with two on opposite page, form panorama of operations being carried on at canyon rim, on Nevada side. Photo was taken from Arizona Spillway site. To the left is shown Black Canyon Highway. High level mixing plant will be located behind fill on the road. To the right is shown highway extension road to Nevada Spillway. Note shovel boom projecting at former site of Lookout Point. Aug. 12, 1932.
p.20 #1451 Three hundred boxes of dynamite were used in spectacular blast which demolished Lookout Point. Pic taken from new Look Point, on Black Canyon Highway. Aug. 16, 1932.
p.20 #1452 Blasting usually scheduled for 11:30 a.m., and billowing dust dislodged from canyon rim completely fills the canyon. Aug. 16, 1932.
p.21 #1506 Blast on Cableway bench excavation, on Arizona side, above dam site. Pic taken from lower portal of Railroad Tunnel No.1. Aug. 24, 1932.
p.21 #1457 Pic of blast at same place shown above, taken from opposite, on Black Canyon Highway. Aug. 16, 1932.
p.21 #1507 Huge billows of rock and dust pour over canyon rim and descend to river below. Aug. 24, 1932.
p.21 #1456 Blast on Arizona intake tower excavation, which has filled canyon with smoke and dust. Upper steel suspension bridge shown in background. Aug. 16, 1932.

0267 W.A. BECHTEL COLLECTION

Album#2 (HOUSED ON ROLLER BARS) (cont'd)

p.22 #1450 Looking across reservoir area, which will be submerged when Hoover Dam is completed. Flat-topped hill in center of pic will form a small island and ridge in foreground will be submerged. Aug. 15, 1932.
p.22 #1446 Visitors to project are struck with multiplicity of dish pans used as reflectors, which are scattered all over project where night work is carried on. This is crew that installs them. Aug. 15, 1932.
p.22 #1484 High scalers perched on bench 1000 ft. above river prepare anchorages from which workmen will be suspended by ropes in scaling canyon walls for penstock tunnel adits. Aug. 22, 1932.
p.23 #1725 Close-up of upper portal of Diversion Tunnels No. 3 & 4, during preparations for blast. Nov. 13, 1932.
p.23 #1728 Close-up of upper portals of Diversion Tunnels No. 3 and 4, showing flow in diversion tunnel No.4, shortly after blast. Nov. 13, 1932.
p.23 #1733 Dumping materials at temporary pile bridge to complete diversion of Colorado River. Nov. 13, 1932.
p.23 #1737 Upper portals of Diversion Tunnels No. 3 & 4, and temporary dyke, after diversion of Colorado River was completed. Nov. 26, 1932.
p.24 #1766 -
p.24 #1767 Panoramic view of upper cofferdam, looking downstream. Nov. 26, 1932.
p.24 #1744 Lower portals of Diversion Tunnels No.3 & 4, after diversion of Colorado river was completed. Nov. 14, 1932.
p.24 #1778 Upper cofferdam, taken from Lookout Point. Nov. 29, 1932.