Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> x


Total manuscripts: 7

Cunningham, Cynthia
Coll #: 87-37
Date: 1974 -1977
Extent: 2 linear feet (3 boxes + 1 box of audio-visual material)
Location: 3:4:5
Collection is comprised of the personal papers of Cynthia Cunningham, a Las Vegas resident who served on the State Board of Education, 1971-1979, and was involved in numerous volunteer organizations. Collection includes material on her work with the Equal Rights Amendment, sexism in the schools and the Health Systems Agency of Clark County. Collection includes audiotapes, films, posters and news clippings on the ERA and organization bylaws, memberships, agendas, minutes, correspondence and publications on the Health Systems Agency. There is little information on Cunningham herself.
Link to Collection Guide

Daniels, Beth
Coll #: 93-035
Date: 1980s
Extent: 5.0 linear feet (5 record storage boxes)
Location: 4:6:1 - 4:6:3
Collection consists of the transcripts and research notes of Beth Daniels, a Las Vegas-based romance novelist.

Houghton, Fred
Coll #: T135
Date: 1920 -1940s
Extent: 9 doc boxes
Location: 2:4:2 - 2:4:4
Collection contains correspondence regarding mining, law, womens organizations, court records of which Houghton was the attorney of record on, primarily in Chicago.

Houghton, Fred
Coll #: 89-76
Date: 1920s- 1970s
Extent: 4 record storage boxes
Location: 4:12:5 - 4:11:1
Collection is an accumulation of travel brochures, community chamber of commerce promotional brochures, menus, newsletters (Nevada Business Review, Arid Lands Research Newsletter), topo. maps, and water related reports and general information such as applications seeking water rights, a report to the Nevada State Engineer re: ground-water supplies in Las Vegas Valley and correspondence regarding water rights and entitlements, etc.. Also included in this collection is Houghtons diary, records of his estate, League of Women Voters Thank you for your contribution letters, military records, legal documents he was the attorney of record on, and copies of the Chicago Nightlife magazine.

Las Vegas Board of Commissioners
Coll #: 85-88
Date: 1921 - 1946
Extent: 1 slim document box
Location: 2:1:3
Collection is comprised of documents produced by the City of Las Vegas - Board of Commissioners. Materials include minutes, resolutions, budgets, call of special meetings, petitions, leases and reports. Subjects include Las Vegas Land and Water Company deed, War Memorial Building, city elections, city library, and the Department of Recreation. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Nevada Commission on Tourism
Coll #: 97-01
Date: 1986-1990s
Extent: 2.0 linear feet
Location: 6:7:5 - 6:7:6
Collection consists of news clippings, magazine articles, and manuscripts regarding the Las Vegas office of the Nevada Commission on Tourism.

Ryan, George Kelly
Coll #: 1031-5
Date: 1929 and 1971
Extent: 2 folders
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of the research notes on San Pedro, Los Angeles, and Salt Lake Railroad including a chart and written report on the Salt Lake Railroad recording all name changes, acquisitions, consolidations, splitsetc. with notes on construction. There are also requests submitted to Union Pacific Railroad for historical info (track info, stops, depotsetc., and correspondence from the Arizona Pioneers Historical Society re: O.V. Gass member of AZ Territorial Legislature. Included in this collection is also the biographical information Ryan collected on the Royce Family (early Nevada pioneers), newspaper clippings about Nevadas fight to control the Colorado River and the Green River 1929.