Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Women


Total manuscripts: 189

Page 4 of 4

|<<   Previous   1  2  3  4  
Planned Parenthood of Southern Nevada
Coll #: 96-01
Date: 1980-1995
Extent: 17 document boxes (7.14 linear feet)
Location: 5:2:2 - 5:2:5
Collection consists of the administrative and educational records of Planned Parenthood of Southern Nevada. Much of the collection focuses on administrative concerns such as grants and fundraising, and speakers, but there is also material pertaining to education and programs sponsored by PPSN. Types of material include brochures, flyers, grant records, news clippings, and training materials. Access to certain materials is restricted -- please see finding aid for details.
Link to Collection Guide

Professional Black Women's Alliance
Coll #: 2005-03
Date: 1990s
Extent: 1 folder, plus oversized poster
Location: 10:2:5 and Mss drawer
Collection consists of material from Faye Duncan Daniels on Professional Black Women's Alliance (of Las Vegas) -- one folder plus oversized poster.Folder includes programs from PBWA events.

Rawls, Ellen Burke
Coll #: 2002-19
Date: 1980s-1990s
Extent: 1 record storage box (1 linear foot)
Location: 9:11:3
Collection consists of newspaper columns on Atlantic City entertainment by Atlantic City journalist Ellen Burke Rawls. Other materials include correspondence and columns on various aspects of Atlantic City and New Jersey life.

Reiter, Mary Jane Griffith
Coll #: 86-031
Date: 1927-1958
Extent: 1 slim document box (.21 linear feet)
Location: 3:2:6
Collection contains the personal records of Mary Jane Reiter, the daughter of Las Vegas pioneer Robert Griffith. Included in this collection is a record of her propertiesrent, utilities etc. and the accounts receivable for 1927-1944, a copy of a Petition for Probate of Will which is a list and disposition of properties, the Colorado River Commission monthly financial report, and a bibliography of Nevada History and its relation to the Westward Movement.

Republican Women of Las Vegas
Coll #: 96-12
Date: 1979-1993
Extent: 3 record storage boxes (3 linear feet)
Location: 5:5:4 - 5:5:5
Collection contains the scrapbooks of the Republican Women of Las Vegas and news clippings advertising future meetings and topics of discussion (MX Missile, sexual assault), copies of The Republican Woman magazine, and certificates for community service. The scrapbooks hold the photographs and minutes from conventions and meetings.

Rickman, Carmella
Coll #: 2008-08
Date: 1950s-1970s
Extent: 3 record storage cartons, 1 oversize box, large poster and cutout figure. (5.09 linear feet)
Location: 12:4:4-12:4:5
Collection is comprised of the personal papers of Carmella Rickman aka Carmella, the Sophia Loren of Burlesque. Comprised of photographs, promotional ephemera (cards, table tents, etc), magazines featuring Carmella, newspaper clippings featuring her performances, costume ca. 1975, large poster, and lifesize cutout.

Rockwell, Earl
Coll #: MS-00145
Date: 1852-1978
Extent: 0.6 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: 1:11:5
The Earl Rockwell Papers (1852-1978) consists of clippings, diaries, books, correspondence, and ephemera related to Las Vegas, Nevada pioneer Earl Rockwell. The collection documents Rockwell�s life in Las Vegas and Elmira, New York and also contains seven nineteenth century diaries that belonged to Rockwell�s grandmother, Amanda Brees.
Link to Collection Guide

Rodgers, Kerin Scianna
Coll #: 97-08
Date: 1973 - 1986
Extent: 1 record storage carton (1 linear foot)
Location: 6:6:1
Collection is comprised of news clippings, campaign materials, correspondence and photographs pertaining to Rodgers work with the Democratic party and her political activities in Southern Nevada and Las Vegas. Rodgers also owned the Gipsy, a Las Vegas gay dance bar located on Paradise Road near Naples Ave.

Ronzone Family Papers
Coll #: 2005-27
Date: 1900-1991
Extent: 1 record storage box, 1 slim document box (1.21 linear feet)
Location: 11:2:2
Collection consists of correspondence, newspaper clippings, programs, and photographs documenting the life of the Richard "Dick" Ronzone, County Commissioner, and former owner of Ronzone's Department Stores in Las Vegas. Some campaign materials are included. Also includes information on his mother, Bertha Ronzone (founder of Ronzone's Department Store) , and his wife, Anne Ronzone.
Link to Collection Guide

Sagel, Lois
Coll #: 2010-10
Date: 1991-1995
Extent: .42 linear feet (2 slim document boxes)
Location: 13:8:5
This collection consists of the papers of Lois Sagel, an environmentalist and advocate for the preservation of Nevadas wilderness. The collection primarily documents the campaigns surrounding the efforts to expand Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area (1994) as well as to designate the Spring Mountains National Recreation Area (1993). Additionally, information on minor land exchanges and the Question 5/S.B. 189 bond issue to fund state parks (considered in 1989 and 1990). Though the bulk of the collection is comprised of newspaper clippings, some correspondence, memoranda, photographs, and slides are also included. Also included is a photo album containing photographs from the dedication ceremony of the Mount Charleston Wilderness.
Link to Collection Guide

Service League [Las Vegas]
Coll #: Roller Shelf
Date: 1948-1970
Extent: 4 oversize boxes, 4 double oversize boxes (6.68 linear feet)
Location: Roller Shelf 1:4:1 - 1:4:3
Collection consists of the Las Vegas Service League scrapbooks containing newspaper articles about the members, various charitable acts performed by the league and league gatherings. (see also Junior League of Las Vegas collection 97-12 and the Junior Service League of Las Vegas on the roller shelf)

Shade Tree Shelter
Coll #: 96-006
Date: 1990 - 1994
Extent: 3 record storage boxes ( 3.75 linear feet)
Location: 5:3:1 - 5:3:2
The Shade Tree is a Las Vegas-based homeless shelter for women and women with children. The Shade Tree Collection contains staff logbooks for 1991 - 1994 and volunteer journals for 1990 - 1991 for this women's and children' safe house.

Shepp, Helen
Coll #: 85-085
Date: 1953-1962
Extent: 1 document box (.42 linear feet)
Location: 2:1:3
Collection contains copies of the Navy Mothers Newsletter, a charitable organization that raised money for scholarships, visited lonely people in the hospital, and performed other community activities, and copies of applications and correspondence regarding membership to the American Association of the United Nations.

Smith, Arlene Mathews
Coll #: Mss49
Date: 1906 - 1965
Extent: 6 folders (containing 33 items)
Location: 1:1:1 and Roller Shelf 1:5.7
Collection consists primarily of material pertaining to Panaca area in Nevada and 4-H activity. Includes 4-H Boys and Girls Club work instructions and record, which consists primarily of U.S.D.A. Farmers Bulletins. Contains two copies of the "Lincoln Lantern" dated 1927. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Soroptomists International of Greater Las Vegas
Coll #: 2002-06
Date: 1968-2000
Extent: 18 record storage boxes (18 linear feet)
Location: 9:8:4 - 9:9:5
Collection contains the organizational records of the Soroptomists International of Greater Las Vegas, the Las Vegas chapter of this internationally-known service organization for professional women. Material includes meeting minutes, rosters and agendas, correspondence, scrapbooks and plaques, community service project notes, convention information, and copies of the 1988 editions of the newsletter The Mentor and copies of the magazine The Soroptomist of the Americas, ca. 1980s-1990s. FINDING AID AVAILABLE

Soroptomists International of Henderson
Coll #: 95-039
Date: 1987-1983
Extent: 1 record storage box (1 linear foot)
Location: 5:1:3
Collection contains the organizational records of the Soroptomists International of Henderson, the Henderson chapter of this internationally-known service organization for professional women. This includes meeting minutes, organization rosters, brochures and other documents.

Southern Nevada Antique Bottle Club
Coll #: T160
Date: 1967 - 1975
Extent: 1document box (.42 linear feet)
Location: 2:3:2
Collection is comprised of the organizational records of the Southern Nevada Antique Bottle Club and includes membership information and newsletters.

Southern Nevada Historical Society
Coll #: T136
Date: ca. 1950 -1980
Extent: 5 document boxes (2.10 linear feet)
Location: 2:4:4
Collection consists of the organizational records of the now defunct Southern Nevada Historical Society. The collection includes meeting minutes, correspondence, financial records, membership information, and records on historic preservation-related activities in the Las Vegas and southern Nevada area. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Southern Nevada Women's Political Caucus
Coll #: 94-46
Date: 1983 - 1984
Extent: 2 document boxes (.84 linear feet)
Location: 4:5:3 - 4:5:4
The Southern Nevada Women's Political Caucus was a chapter of the National Women's Political Caucus. It was active in child care issues and in aiding women who desired to be elected to public office. The collection contains two small boxes pertaining to their activities from 1983 - 1984. There are also a number of documents pertaining to the national organization dating back to the 1970s.
Link to Collection Guide

St. Denis, Ruth
Coll #: 85-112
Date: 1905 - 1984
Extent: 1 record storage box, 1 document box, 3 oversize boxes (6.76 linear feet)
Location: 2:1:5, RS 2:1:7 & RS 2:5:7
The Ruth St. Denis Collection pertains to the St. Denis School of Dance in Los Angeles, CA. The collection contains scrapbooks filled with magazine cutouts from early 20th century- performers and celebrities. It also includes a variety of books on costume and dance. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Stern, Belle Tyktin
Coll #: 88-108
Date: 1940 - 1985
Extent: 1 document box (.42 linear feet)
Location: 3:10:3
Collection contains brochures, Nevada History crossword puzzles, trail maps and itineraries for Nevada Discovery Tours, Jean Ford Co., and the Last Frontier Hotel/Casino. These were tours designed to provide the customer with an informative, fun history lesson. Some of the itineraries included stops at the Hoover Dam and hiking and staying along the Old Spanish Trail.

Stewart, Helen J.
Coll #: T87
Date: 1869-1978
Extent: 4 boxes (20 linear in.)
Location: 2:12:6 - 2:11:1
Collection consists of the personal papers of Helen J Stewart, owner of the Las Vegas Ranch and an active participant in the social, political, and business life of early Las Vegas. A founding member of the Mesquite Club (oldest womens service organization in Las Vegas), she became an authority on state history and developed an extensive collection of Indian baskets. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE
Link to Collection Guide

Stuckey, Evelyn
Coll #: 86-056
Date: 1949 - 1969
Extent: 8 linear ft
Location: 3:2:6 Roller Shelf 1.8.2
The Evelyn Stuckey Collection focuses on the Las Vegas Rhythmettes, a unique dance/pep club for girls that was active at Las Vegas High School in the 1950s and 1960s. It includes news clippings, magazine articles, photographs, correspondence and a number of other documents pertaining to Rhythmettes founder Evelyn Stuckey and the Rhythmettes organization.
Link to Collection Guide

Trudell, Harriet
Coll #: 2007-31
Date: 1948-2006
Extent: Two record storage cartons
Location: 13:6:4
Collection is comprised of personal papers of Harriet Trudell, noted Democratic political activist in Las Vegas from 1970s-present

U - Wah - Un Study Club
Coll #: T126
Date: 1919 - 1987
Extent: 2 doc boxes
Location: 2:7:3
The U - Wah - Un Study Club was a women's literary club formed in Las Vegas in 1919. The collection covers activities of the club from its founding to 1987 and includes year books, a scrapbook, financial records, minutes and biographies. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE
Link to Collection Guide

Ullom - Brockman
Coll #: T152
Date: 1889 -1943
Extent: 1 document box
Location: 2:3:1
Collection contains the personal records of union of the two old pioneering families Ullom and Brockman. Included are photocopies of photographs--the typical family snapshots, personal postcards, letters, telegrams, wedding announcement, school papers and newspaper clipping reporting on the death of the son.

Valder, Ann
Coll #: 90-060
Date: 1950 - 1983
Extent: 2 boxes
Location: 4:10:6
Collection is comprised of the papers of Ann Valder, a journalist who wrote for the Las Vegas Sun. Collection contains a variety of articles written by Ann Valder, personal correspondence, biographical information, American Cancer Society correspondence, news releases and a number of articles from different authors.
Link to Collection Guide

Vinas, Jose Luis
Coll #: 2003-10
Date: 1960-1988
Extent: 1 oversize box, 1 oversize folder, 1 document box
Location: ROLLER SHELF 2.4.1, Oversize Manuscript Drawer, and 10:8:5
Collection consists of the costume designs, news clippings, and photographs of noted Las Vegas costume designer, Jose Luis Vinas, who designed for producer Frederic Apcar in shows such as Vive Les Girls and Casino de Paris. Includes original costume designs done for Vive Les Girls, Casino de Paris and Siegfried and Roy.

Wengert Family
Coll #: MS-00192
Date: 1907-1967
Extent: 1.8 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: 2:8:6
The Wengert Family Papers (1907-1967) consists of clippings, correspondence, ephemera, and scrapbooks detailing the lives of Las Vegas, Nevada pioneers Cyril S. Wengert and Lottie Ward Wengert. Much of the material documents Lottie Ward�s life in Iowa before her 1921 marriage to Wengert and ultimate move to Las Vegas. The collection also houses three scrapbooks of family photographs from the 1920s.
Link to Collection Guide

Wheeler, Maria Burston
Coll #: Mss42
Date: 1840 -1933
Extent: 2 folders (containing 127 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of a typescript account of her experiences from her childhood in England, crossing the Atlantic to the United States, and her trek to the West. Significant because of its vivid description of her time at the Mormon Fort in ca. 1854 including the crops planted, relations with the local Paiute Indians, construction of the buildings etc. Her husband was one of the original Mormon settlers called to develop the settlement at Las Vegas.

White, Jaunita Greer
Coll #: 85-125
Date: 1927 - 1980
Extent: 22 doc boxes
Location: 3:1:5 - 3:2:2
The Juanita Greer White Collection contains personal, professional and business material pertaining to Dr. Juanita White in her capacity as a member of UCCSN Board of Regents, American Association of University Women and numerous other activities in education, health, youth and aging. Note: additional material added later included documents from her work in the Nevada State Legislature, Board of Regents, books, catalogs, chemistry papers, plaques, and campaign materials.
Link to Collection Guide

Williams, Aaron
Coll #: 87-036
Date: 1965 - 1975
Extent: 2 boxes (10 linear in.)
Location: 3:4:4 - 3:4:5
Collection is comprised of the papers of Aaron Williams, North Las Vegas City Councilman and Clark County Commissioner. Consists mainly of material from scrapbooks and newspaper clippings chronicling Williams' political career and the issues he dealt with. Issues included are those related to community and infrastructure development, such as airports, sewage treatment plants, senior citizens, health, and urban planning, as well as local government activities during the late 1960's and early 1970's. The remainder of the materials in the collection consist primarily of correspondence from 1966-1976, various certificates, and a very limited number of items pertaining to affirmative action programs and the organization "Poor People Pulling Together."
Link to Collection Guide

Williams, Claudine
Coll #: 2009-19
Date: ca. 1960s-2000s
Extent: approx. 40 linear feet
Location: consult Manuscripts Librarian - Annex Area
Collection is comprised of mateirals documenting the life of noted Las Vegas gaming pioneer and philanthropist, Claudine Williams. Williams and her husband Shelby bought the Silver Slipper Casino in the in 1960s, selling it to Howard Hughes in 1969. They used the profits to build the Holiday Casino on the Las Vegas Strip, and when her husband died in 1977, Williams became the first woman casino president and general manager in Nevada history. The company was later purchased by Harrah's and for many years Williams served as chairwoman of Harrah's Las Vegas. She was the first woman inducted into the Gaming Hall of Fame. The collection is comprised of photographs, clippings, documents, programs, artwork, awards, plaques, trophies and other artifacts related to her career in gaming and philanthropy in Las Vegas. Note: Collection is partially processed, please consult Manuscripts Librarian for access.

Williams, Nancy
Coll #: 97-010
Extent: 1 doc box (1/4 linear ft.)
Location: 6:6:2
Nancy Williams' collection contains news clippings, poetry, photos and correspondence focusing on Clark County Nevada Juvenile Services and African American poetry

Wilson, James B.
Coll #: T1
Date: 1875-1940
Extent: 3 doc boxes
Location: 1:9:6
Collection contains the business records-supply invoices for the Sand Stone Ranch - Nevada; Lincoln County - Nevada; Pioche - Nevada; Goodsprings - Nevada; and general family correspondence and the Wilson Family photograph album PARTIAL INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Women in Construction (Las Vegas chapter)
Coll #: 2005-05
Location: 10:2:5
Scrapbook of Las Vegas organization -- "Women in Construction" from 1962 banquet at the Dunes Hotel -- that belonged to Joyce McMinn Beckett (president of WIC - Las Vegas Chapter).

Women's Auxiliary Branch of the Fraternal Order of Eagles
Coll #: 2002-16
Date: 1950-2001
Extent: 2 record storage boxes
Location: 9:11:1
Collection consists of scrapbooks and photo albums of the Las Vegas chapter of the Women's Auxiliary Branch of the Fraternal Order of Eagles. The Fraternal Order of Eagles is a national fraternal organization that performs charity and service work.

Woods, Vivian
Coll #: 95-016
Date: 1960 - 199(?)
Extent: 1 doc box and 1 slim doc box (1.5 linear ft.)
Location: 4:2:4
Collection contains the Las Vegas Art League scrapbooks, photo albums, correspondence to members about waning funds, a history of the Las Vegas Artists Co-Op, and the Las Vegas Artists Co-Op member rosters.

Zucker-Bozarth, Blanche
Coll #: 96-13
Date: 1970 - 1993
Extent: 11 record storage boxes (12.5 linear ft.)
Location: 5:5:5 - 5:6:5
The Zucker-Bozarth collection focuses on activities of the Mesquite Club including, correspondence, member rosters, news clippings with some material on child abuse, libraries and legislation.

Page 4 of 4

|<<   Previous   1  2  3  4