Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Women


Total manuscripts: 184

Page 3 of 4

|<<   Previous   1  2  3  4  Next  
Kim Sisters
Coll #: Roller Shelf
Date: 1959-1969
Location: Roller Shelf 1:4:8
Collection consists of two scrapbooks of the Kim Sisters, a trio of Korean-born musical entertainers who were prominent on the Las Vegas Strip from the 1950s-1970s. The scrapbooks contain ads for upcoming shows from around the world, reviews of performances, articles and interviews and copies of The Ed Sullivan Show programs on which they appeared.

Klein, Freda
Coll #: 97-06
Date: 1967-1993
Extent: 1 slim doc box
Location: 6:6:1
Collection consists of a scrapbook of certificates, news clippings, photographs, and correspondence relating to Kleins personal career in the Nevada Employment Security Department, and college/university career.

Krenzer, Sandi
Coll #: 96-19
Date: 1990-1994
Extent: .21 linear feet (1 slim document box)
Location: 5:8:2
Collection contains a brief biography of Krenzer, a copy of a brief description of her achievements from Distinguished Women in Southern Nevada, a letter of endorsement from the Nevada Conference of Police and Sheriffs for election race to Assembly District 3, campaign and fundraising materials-mailers, etc.

Lake-Eglington, Olive
Coll #: T36
Date: 1909 - 1978
Extent: 5 linear inches (1 box)
Location: 1:10:6
Collection consists of the personal papers of Olive Lakeschool programs, autograph books, school graduation information, medical bills, childrens report cards, family news correspondence and WW II ration books. There is also a certificate from the Union Pacific Railroad for being a True Pioneer.

Las Vegas Art League
Coll #: T105
Date: 196(?)
Extent: 1 record storage box
Location: 2:8:4
Collection contains the scrapbook for the Greater Las Vegas Art Week. Scrapbook includes newspaper clippings about the participating artists, photos of events and displays, and correspondence regarding the event.

Las Vegas GLBT Archives
Coll #: 85-121
Date: 1980 - Present
Extent: 3 record storage cartons (3 linear feet)
Location: 3:1:1 - 3:1:3
Collection consists of documents that chronicle aspects of gay life in Las Vegas. Includes both published and unpublished materials and ephemera from local gay businesses. Topics include AIDS, bars, Beaux Arts Ball, drag, entertainers, and prostitution. Organizations covered include Las Vegas Lesbian and Gay Academic Union (LGAU) at UNLV, Las Vegas Gay Community Center, Las Vegas Professional Men's Club, and Nevadans for Human Rights. Other materials include local gay periodicals and audio tape interviews with local gay personalities. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Las Vegas Literary Club
Coll #: 2010-02
Date: 1937-1997
Extent: (1.42 linear feet) 1 record storage carton, 1 document box
Location: 13:7:2
Collection is comprised of eleven scrapbooks that document the history of the Las Vegas Literary Club, a social and cultural organization that was formed in 1937 by LDS members Della Wittwer, Louella Thornton, and Erma Stewart. The club members celebrated anniversaries and weddings and also mourned losses together. In addition to regular meetings, two socials were held each year to entertain members and their husbands. The scrapbooks contain photographs and newspaper clippings that focus on the clubs activities, events and celebrations between the years 1973-1994. One bound volume documents the clubs early history dating back to 1937 and includes autobiographies of members. In addition to the scrapbooks, two record books contain meeting minutes, membership lists, programs, and financial records from the years 1976-1980.

Las Vegas Literary Club
Coll #: 2010-02
Date: 1937-1997
Extent: (1.42 linear feet) 1 record storage carton, 1 document box
Location: 13:7:2
Collection is comprised of eleven scrapbooks that document the history of the Las Vegas Literary Club, a social and cultural organization that was formed in 1937 by LDS members Della Wittwer, Louella Thornton, and Erma Stewart. The club members celebrated anniversaries and weddings and also mourned losses together. In addition to regular meetings, two socials were held each year to entertain members and their husbands. The scrapbooks contain photographs and newspaper clippings that focus on the clubs activities, events and celebrations between the years 1973-1994. One bound volume documents the clubs early history dating back to 1937 and includes autobiographies of members. In addition to the scrapbooks, two record books contain meeting minutes, membership lists, programs, and financial records from the years 1976-1980.

Las Vegas Porcelain Artists
Coll #: 90-42
Date: 1970 - 199(?)
Extent: 3 doc boxes and 1 record storage box
Location: 4:11:4 - 4:11:5
Collection contains the organizational records of the Las Vegas Porcelain Artists. Consists of documents such as correspondence, membership information, promotional materials, photo albums, financial records, and some slides. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Las Vegas Show Costume Designs
Coll #: 2000-19
Date: ca. 1940s-1970s
Location: Roller Shelf 2:3:2 - 2:3:4
Collection comprised of costume design sketches created by Anne Guertin, Corrado Colabucci, Larry Merritt and Josephine Spinedi for various Las Vegas production shows.

League of Women Voters
Coll #: MS24
Date: 1964 - 1993
Extent: 18 boxes (9 linear ft.)
Location: 1:8:3 - 1:8:6
This collection contains the records and publications of the League of Women Voters of the Las Vegas Valley from 1964 to the 1990s. The majority of the material covers the 1960s and 1970s, and consists of administration records and information on specific issues. The material in the collection provides a clue to the relative importance of various issues at specific times and outlines the basic administrative workings of a chapter of the League of Women Voters.
Link to Collection Guide

Lee, Henry Hudson
Coll #: T31
Date: 1811-195(?)
Extent: 1 box; 5 linear inches
Location: 1:10:5
Collection is comprised of manuscript copies of Henry Hudson Lee's memoirs entitled "My Memoirs" and his biography of his father entitled "A Brief Sketch of the Life and Family of Milton LaFayette Lee." Henry Hudson Lee worked as the County Recorder and Auditor of Lincoln County in the early 1900s. He was also involved in cattle ranching most of his life.

Lee, Renee
Coll #: 2012-03
Date: 1960s-1980s
Extent: 1.21 linear feet (1 record storage carton and one slim doc box)
Location: see staff
ollection is comprised of sheet music (published and arrangements) from Renee Lee, singer, who performed on Broadway and in several Las Vegas production shows including the Folies Bergere and Hello America. Other material includes audio and video cassette tapes of Lee's performances in Las Vegas and elsewhere. Documents include photographs, clippings, resume listing of performances.

Levinson, Bea
Coll #: 97-02
Date: 1972-1993
Extent: 1 doc box
Location: 6:7:6
Collection consists of news clippings, reports, bylaws, certificates, and photographs relating to Jewish Family Services and divorced homemakers.

Lowe, Celesta
Coll #: 95-48
Date: 1943-95
Extent: 1.5 linear feet
Location: 5:1:3 Roller Shelf 2.1.7
Collection consists of Celesta Lowe's clippings, published writings ("Echoes from the Archives" and "Southwestern Bookshelf" columns), correspondence, and photographs related to local history. Also contains National League of American Pen Women and Pen-Hens material. Celesta Lowe grew up in Goodsprings and worked for James R. Dickinson, who was the first head of Nevada Southern University (later UNLV). She played a large part in developing the Special Collections Division of the library.
Link to Collection Guide

Mack, Jess
Coll #: MS22
Date: 1916-1988
Extent: 5.5 linear feet (13 document boxes, 1 LP box)
Location: 1:7:6 - 1:8:1
This collection is comprised of material that documents the professional life of burlesque agent and comedy writer Jess Mack. In addition to contracts, correspondence, engagements, and newspaper articles, the collection contains five boxes of jokes, scripts and scenes used in various burlesque productions. Other material includes photographs of entertainers and burlesque stars, joke booklets, and issues of Macks magazine, Cavalcade of Burlesque, dating from 1951 to 1954.
Link to Collection Guide

Mann, Mildred
Coll #: 96-10
Date: 1915-1995
Extent: 4.5 linear ft.
Location: 5:5:2 - 5:5:3
North Las Vegas resident and community activist. Heavily involved in state and national ceramic associations, and taught ceramic arts for many years in various venues, including to the visually impaired. Collection includes correspondence, clippings, certificates, manuals, photos, and newsletters.
Link to Collection Guide

Marshall, Gladys Boggs
Coll #: T57
Date: 1910 - 196(?)
Extent: 1 slim doc box
Location: 1:11:5 Roller Shelf 1.5.5
Collection includes several poems by Gladys Boggs Marshall, a manuscript draft of her unfinished paper "History and Story of Las Vegas," news clippings, and a scrapbook. PARTIAL COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE

McClure, Florence
Coll #: 2003-23
Date: 1969 2003 (inclusive), 1970-1999 (bulk)
Location: 10:5:1 - 10:5:2
Collection is comprised of the personal papers of Florence McClure, Las Vegas activist, and founder of the Rape Crisis Center who helped establish the local women's prison. Collection contains news clippings and reports based on her civic activities and interests.
Link to Collection Guide

McCuistion, Florine
Coll #: T93
Date: 1940 -197(?)
Extent: 1 record storage box
Location: 2:11:2
Collection consists of the papers of Florine McCuistion, a noted Las Vegas interior designer who wrote a column called "Interior Design Workshop" in 1971 for the Las Vegas Sun. She designed the interior of the Nevada State Bank and the Clark County Health Center. Her husband was M.E. Ted McCuistion, longtime Nevada state legislator. The collection is comprised of drafts of her column, numerous plaques and certificates she received during her career, newspaper clippings, and a few photographs

McGonagill, Irma
Coll #: T60
Date: 1904 - 1905
Extent: 2 folders
Location: 1:11:5
Collection contains the informal records of early Nevada mining in Tonopah, Nevada including the outlines for a section of Irma McGonagills memoir and a few fleshed out paragraphs and the beginnings of Chapter 1. There is also a stock certificate for the Silver Bow Mining Company. (see also Photo Collection 0246)

McMillan, Marie
Coll #: 2004-06
Date: 1945-2002
Location: 10:3:3 - 10:3:5
initial donation of materials from Marie McMillan. Materials consist of photographs, correspondence, newsclippings etc of Dr. James McMillan, Las Vegas civil rights pioneer, materials of Duke Daly relating to work at NTS and at Livermore Laboratory on atomic testing (photographs, certificates, badges), and photographs of Marie Daly McMillan. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Meadows Playhouse
Coll #: T163
Date: 197(?)
Extent: 2 doc boxes, and 2 record storage boxes
Location: 2:3:2 - 2:3:3
Collection houses the architectural plans for the Meadows Playhouse, a UNLV playhouse, and interdepartmental correspondence about designing a theatre major, examples of other university theatre major requirements, copies of plays with set design notes, notes on student actors, production playbills and newspaper clippings about upcoming productions.

Mesquite Club
Coll #: 2001-09
Date: 1911-78
Extent: 29 boxes
Location: 8:1:1 - 9:1:5 Roller Shelf 2.3.8 and 2.4.1
This collection contains the organizational records of the Mesquite Club, the oldest women's service club in Las Vegas, founded in 1911, and still in existence today. The collection documents the administrative, service, and social activities of the club which is known for its dedication to community improvement in Las Vegas. The records are comprised of materials that provide information on the club�s organizational and administrative structure, its numerous community service projects and social events, the Mesquite Clubhouse, and the Club�s relations with the General Federation of Women�s Clubs (GFWC). Types of documentation in the collection include minutes, correspondence, committee reports, newsletters, scrapbooks, and photographs.
Link to Collection Guide

Miller, Linda
Coll #: 2012-09
Date: 2000s
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box)
Collection is comprised of large scrapbook containing documentation on Linda Miller's efforts (in conjunction with the Southern Nevada Women's History Project) to errect the statue of Helen Stewart on the grounds of the old Las Vegas Mormon Fort. Scrapbook contains numerous photos, newspaper clippings, programs and information on Miller's Chautauqua work portraying Helen Stewart at many events throughout Nevada.

Minsky, Harold - Minsky's Burlesque
Coll #: 87-97
Date: 1922 - 1978
Extent: 24 doc boxes, 2 slim doc boxes, and 1 record storage box
Location: 3:8:6 - 3:9:4
Collection is comprised of the personal papers of noted burlesque producer, Harold Minsky. Minsky was noted for creating the "family burlesque" style and for introducing the topless showgirl to Las Vegas at the Dunes Hotel in 1957. His collection includes scripts, publicity, photographs, financial records, payroll records, sheet music, news clippings, contracts, and correspondence.
Link to Collection Guide

Miss Nevada USA Pageant
Coll #: 85-136
Date: 1981 - 1986
Extent: 1 slim doc box
Location: 3:2:2
Collection contains the programs for the Miss Nevada Pageant held in Las Vegas 1981-1986.

Mitchell, Luanna
Coll #: 94-026
Date: 1951 - 1977
Extent: 3 record storage boxes, and 3 oversize scrapbooks that need to be boxed.
Location: 4:6:4 - 4:6:5 Roller Shelf 2.1.3
Collection is comprised of newspaper clippings about the Ladies Auxiliary to the Veterans of Foreign Wars organization and the Auxiliarys programs and community service. There are also photographs of the Ladies visiting veterans in the hospital, invitations to VFW events and a member yearbook.

Mortensen, Verna
Coll #: T78
Date: 1960 - 197(?)
Extent: 1 slim doc box
Location: 1:12:4
Collection consists of materials pertaining to Verna Mortensen's work with the Daughters of Utah Pioneers and their efforts to preserve the Mormon (Las Vegas) Fort. Contains newspaper clippings, federal grant application for restoration of the Fort, DUP brochure, and a paper on the history of the lower Colorado Region. The collection also contains two detailed eulogies of Mortensen, a native of Bunkerville, NV who had lived in St. George, UT and Las Vegas, NV.

National League of American Pen Women (Las Vegas Branch)
Coll #: 2000-06
Date: 1950-1990
Extent: 2 OVERSIZE boxes
Location: 7:12:5 Roller Shelf 2.2.5
Collection consists of the scrapbooks and minutes of the Las Vegas branch of the National League of American Pen Women. The NLAPW is a professional organization of women that promotes development of the creative talents of professional women in the arts ( it encompasses arts, letters and music).

National Organization for Women (NOW)
Coll #: 95-30
Date: 1966-74
Extent: 3.5 linear feet
Location: 4:2:6 - 4:1:1
Collection consists of the organizational records of the Las Vegas chapter of the National Organization for Women (NOW). It includes materials such as budgets, membership rosters, correspondence, clippings, minutes, newsletters, policies, and task force reports. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE

Navy Mother's Club of America
Coll #: 87-71
Date: 1946 - 1968
Extent: 2 boxes (7.5 linear in.)
Location: 3:6:5
Collection consists of two scrapbooks of memorabilia and news clippings from the Navy Mother's Club of America. Also included are the club's bylaws from 1946-1968 and photographs of various club events and installations.
Link to Collection Guide

Neonis, Delores
Coll #: T102
Date: 197(?)
Extent: 7 record storage boxes
Location: 2:10:5 - 2:9:2
Collection contains the personal and professional records of Delores Neonis, secretary for the Committee for Effective Mass Transportation. Included in these records are correspondence and reports from the Board of County Commissioners and the District Attorneys Office regarding the feasibility of mass transportation, specifically the monorail, and possible location sites. Ms. Neonis personal records contain copies of plays, miscellaneous photos of people, daytimers, receipt books and personal chit-chat correspondence.

Nevada Democrat Newsletter
Coll #: 87-150
Date: 1965 - 1970
Extent: 2 doc boxes
Location: 3:10:2
Collection contains copies of the Political Race Dope Sheet, a humorous description of candidates designed to resemble a horse race sheet, and copies of the Clark County Democrat.

Nevada Empowered Women
Coll #: 2006-19
Date: 1991-2000
Location: 11:11:4 - 11:11:5
Collection consists of material from the Nevada Empowered Women project.

Nevada Federation of Women's Clubs
Coll #: 86-62
Date: 1986
Extent: 1 doc box
Location: 3:3:3 Roller Shelf 1.8.4
Collection contains Porcelain figures.

Nevada Music Teachers Association
Coll #: 85-123
Date: 196(?) - 197(?)
Extent: 3 record storage boxes
Location: 3:1:4 - 3:1:5
Collection focuses on the work of the Nevada Music Teachers Association and Las Vegas piano teacher, Betty Henderson. The collection is comprised primarily of reel-to-reel tapes of auditions, recitals and concerts. Others materials include newsletters, sheet music, scrapbooks, photos, and programs. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Nevada Nurses Association
Coll #: 85-34
Date: 1940s- 1990s
Extent: 23 record storage boxes
Location: LASR
Collection is comprised of the organizational records of the Nevada Nurses Association. Subjects include Jean Rambo, state legislature, ERA, Planned Parenthood, and League of Women Voters. Types of material in the collection include clippings, history, membership information, receipts, correspondence, convention notes and programs, alumni directory, newsletters, pamphlets, meeting minutes and scrapbooks. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Nevada Poetry Society
Coll #: T89
Date: 196(?)
Extent: 1 record storage box
Location: 2:11:1
Collection is comprised of the records of the Nevada Poetry Society. Society president, Mildred Breedlove, features prominently in the collection. Materials include bank records, correspondence, financial documents, newsletters, poems and the book Silver Springs: Anthology of the Nevada Poetry Society. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Nevada Women's History Project (NWHP)
Coll #: 99-04
Date: 1995-1998
Extent: 2 boxes
Location: 7:11:6
Collection is comprised of select organizational records of the Nevada Women's History Project (NWHP), founded in 1996 as a means to provide visibility and support for the gathering and dissemination of the history of women in Nevada. Material in the collection reflects the early organization of NWHP Southern Region. Collection contains meeting minutes and agendas, correspondence, membership lists, newsletters, press releases, and project files.
Link to Collection Guide

Ortiz Consolidation Collection
Coll #: Mss38
Date: 1976 - 1977
Extent: 10 folders (containing 208 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of material relating to issue of consolidation/annexation of local governments in Clark County. Primarily concerns limits of the City of Las Vegas, Nevada in clippings from the newspapers, Las Vegas Review-Journal and Las Vegas Sun, 9 July 1975 through 13 November 1977. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Pearson, Alice
Coll #: 2003-05
Location: 10:6:2
Personal papers of Alice Pearson, longtime member of the Mesquite Club.

Phelan, Margaret
Coll #: 2005-04
Date: 1950s-1980s
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 10:2:5
Papers of Margaret Phelan, singer, who entertained on the Las Vegas Strip in the 1950s. One folder of news clippings and other documents.

Phillips, Helen Thelma "Peggy" Lewis Hyde
Coll #: 98-06
Date: 1963
Extent: 1 box; 1.1 linear ft.
Location: 7:8:6 - 7:8:2
Collection contains the personal papers of Helen Phillips documenting her role in the Las Vegas community. It contains correspondence and newspaper articles of her charitable activities, plaques received for service and photographs. Phillips was a longtime resident of Boulder City, and active in improving education in Clark County. Collection also includes numerous issues of the Paradise Press, a local newspaper printed for the residents of Paradise, one of the unincorporated areas of the Las Vegas Valley

Pittman, Ida (Brewington)
Coll #: 85-077
Date: 1945 - 1977
Extent: 1 document box, 1 slim document box (.63 linear feet) and 1 oversize folder
Location: 2:1:3
This collection contains many news clippings about Ida Brewington Pittman's husband Vail, who was governor of Nevada 1945-1950. The collection also contains letters of condolences over Vail Pittman's death, original speeches from the Vail Pittman Elementary School's dedication, copies of resolutions, an inaugural invitation, some financial notes, travel papers, address lists, and notes about phone calls. Most of the items in this collection pertain to her husband's life rather than her own.
Link to Collection Guide

Planned Parenthood of Southern Nevada
Coll #: 96-01
Date: 1980-1995
Extent: 17 document boxes (7.14 linear feet)
Location: 5:2:2 - 5:2:5
Collection consists of the administrative and educational records of Planned Parenthood of Southern Nevada. Much of the collection focuses on administrative concerns such as grants and fundraising, and speakers, but there is also material pertaining to education and programs sponsored by PPSN. Types of material include brochures, flyers, grant records, news clippings, and training materials. Access to certain materials is restricted -- please see finding aid for details.
Link to Collection Guide

Professional Black Women's Alliance
Coll #: 2005-03
Date: 1990s
Extent: 1 folder, plus oversized poster
Location: 10:2:5 and Mss drawer
Collection consists of material from Faye Duncan Daniels on Professional Black Women's Alliance (of Las Vegas) -- one folder plus oversized poster.Folder includes programs from PBWA events.

Rawls, Ellen Burke
Coll #: 2002-19
Date: 1980s-1990s
Extent: 1 record storage box (1 linear foot)
Location: 9:11:3
Collection consists of newspaper columns on Atlantic City entertainment by Atlantic City journalist Ellen Burke Rawls. Other materials include correspondence and columns on various aspects of Atlantic City and New Jersey life.

Reiter, Mary Jane Griffith
Coll #: 86-031
Date: 1927-1958
Extent: 1 slim document box (.21 linear feet)
Location: 3:2:6
Collection contains the personal records of Mary Jane Reiter, the daughter of Las Vegas pioneer Robert Griffith. Included in this collection is a record of her propertiesrent, utilities etc. and the accounts receivable for 1927-1944, a copy of a Petition for Probate of Will which is a list and disposition of properties, the Colorado River Commission monthly financial report, and a bibliography of Nevada History and its relation to the Westward Movement.

Republican Women of Las Vegas
Coll #: 96-12
Date: 1979-1993
Extent: 3 record storage boxes (3 linear feet)
Location: 5:5:4 - 5:5:5
Collection contains the scrapbooks of the Republican Women of Las Vegas and news clippings advertising future meetings and topics of discussion (MX Missile, sexual assault), copies of The Republican Woman magazine, and certificates for community service. The scrapbooks hold the photographs and minutes from conventions and meetings.

Page 3 of 4

|<<   Previous   1  2  3  4  Next