You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Water


Total manuscripts: 19

Aquavision
Coll #: 99-18
Date: 1992-1997
Extent: .5 linear ft.
Location: 7:12:3
Collection consists of the records of Aquavision, a community action group concerned with water conservation issues in the Las Vegas Valley. Materials include bylaws, membership rosters, agendas, and minutes. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Buck, Gilbert
Coll #: 87-58
Date: 1945 - 1985
Extent: 14 linear feet (14 record storage boxes)
Location: 3:5:3 - 3:6:4
Collection consists of the real estate records of Gilbert Buck: records on individual properties from mortgage agreements and records of rent payments to general repairs and appliance brochures. Also included are newspaper articles about the Governor’s Race, a report to the Legislative Commission about the acquisition of specific lands by the State Parks, Nevada’s available water resources, soil surveys, maps and photographs of land. (Real estate was located in Las Vegas and Henderson Nevada. INVENTORY AVAILABLE.

Cahlan, Florence Lee Jones
Coll #: T128
Date: 1945 - 1982
Extent: 21 document boxes, 7 record storage boxes
Location: 2:7:4 - 2:6:5
Collection consists of papers of Florence Lee (Jones) Cahlan and her husband John Cahlan. (Jones) Cahlan worked as a reporter for the Review Journal and Cahlan served as editor for many years. The collection contains materials documenting their personal lives, community interests, articles and manuscripts , and drafts and notes for their book Water -- A History of Las Vegas. Subjects include Nellis AFB, Nevada American Revolution Bicentennial Commission, Las Vegas Jubilee, high-speed ground transportation, Service League/Junior League and Nevada State Museum.
Link to Collection Guide

Cannon, Howard W.
Coll #: MS2
Date: 1958 - 1983
Extent: 300.3 linear feet (715 boxes)
Location: LASR
Collection is comprised of the senatorial papers of U.S. Senator (from Nevada) Howard Cannon from 1959 to 1982. Cannon strongly supported the Great Society programs and the War on Poverty. As a decorated WWII pilot, he was particularly interested in aviation issues. Collection materials include correspondence, speeches, invitations, press releases, appointment books, audio, video, and film. There are specific files on Las Vegas and an index file. There are two boxes with U.S. Senator George Malone's papers. NOTE: THIS COLLECTION IS STORED IN LIED LIBRARY’S LASR SYSTEM, PLEASE CALL AHEAD TO OBTAIN BOXES.
Link to Collection Guide

Colorado River Commission of Nevada Reference Library Collection
Coll #: 2001-07
Date: 1922-2000
Extent: 24 record storage cartons
Location: 12:6:5 - 12:10:5
The Colorado River Commission of Nevada Reference Library Collection at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas is composed of files and books from the Colorado River Commission of Nevada. The major portion of the collection is documents in the form of books, briefs, memoranda, motions, exhibits, etc., from the Arizona v. California litigation running from 1931 to the 1990s. The Commission used the materials as a reference library to support their role in the ongoing litigation. In support of their mission to manage and protect Nevada’s rights to the power and water from the Colorado River, the collection includes significant information regarding the Boulder Canyon Project and subsequent Adjustment Act, the Colorado River Compact, Glen Canyon Dam, Parker Dam, Davis Dam, and Colorado River Salinity in the form of correspondence, official reports, and legislative records. A large portion of the correspondence and documents is in regards to the Western Area Power Administration . The last major part of the collection is comprised operating files from the Commission, particularly the files of Gerald L. Edwards, who was the CRCs Chief Engineer. All of these files not only supported litigation and the operation of the CRC, but also served as an information clearinghouse for information regarding the management of the Colorado River.
Link to Collection Guide

Griffith, Robert B.
Coll #: 90-48
Date: 1928 - 1968
Extent: 1.42 linear feet (1 document box and 1 record storage box)
Location: 4:10:2
This collections consists of Robert Griffith’s papers pertaining to the Colorado River Commission (he was chairman at one point in his career) on water rights, usage and alternate water sources. Included is a feasibility study of the mechanical system for the Griffith Phytotronics Laboratories, labs designed for experimenting with plant growth and development. And finally, the collection has news clippings about the national air races from 1928, a photograph of an early airplane, Griffith’s American Legion papers and the death and burial records belonging to his father, an embalmer. A later addition to the collection included slides of various countries including the United States, Europe, Middle and Far East, Canada.

Hecht, Chic
Coll #: MS3
Date: 1983 - 1988
Extent: 60 linear feet (118 boxes)
Location: LASR
This collection contains the senatorial papers of Chic Hecht, US Senator from Nevada from 1983-1988 with documentation from the 98th, 99th and 100th Congresses. Materials include correspondence, bills, speeches, and press releases. INVENTORY AVAILABLE NOTE: THIS COLLECTION IS STORED IN LIED LIBRARY’S LASR SYSTEM, PLEASE CALL AHEAD TO OBTAIN BOXES.

Hickey, Thomas
Coll #: 86-20
Date: 1969-1999
Extent: 56 linear feet (48 record storage cartons, 15 document boxes, 1 slim doc box and 1 oversize box)
Location: LASR
Collection consists of the political papers of Nevada state senator and legislator Thomas Hickey. State Assembly and State Legislature material relates to issues such as children, health, education, budget, nuclear testing, Yucca Mt., Dept of Energy, women's issues, women's prison, abortion, charitable organizations and mental health. Includes correspondence. INVENTORY AVAILABLE - THIS COLLECTION IS IN LASR, PLEASE CONTACT MANUSCRIPTS LIBRARIAN TO RETRIEVE

Ives, Joseph C.
Coll #: 1012
Date: 1857-1858
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of 17 letters (photocopies) between Lt. Joseph C. Ives (United States Army Corps of Topographic Engineers) and his wife, Cora Semmes Ives, between Sept. 1857 and June 1858. Ives was in command of a U.S. Army expedition whose mission was to explore the region of the Colorado River and the Grand Canyon, and to establish the limit of navigation of the Colorado River. The correspondence is largely personal in nature, but is a useful supplement to the official report documenting the voyage, "Report Upon the Colorado River of the West -- Explored in 1957-58.

Jensen, Frank C. "Doc"
Coll #: MS15
Date: 1926 - 1952
Extent: 1 box
Location: Transferred to BCMHA
Collection consists of the digital facsimile of the personal diary of Frank C. "Doc" Jensen, Hoover Dam medic, covering the years of the Dam’s construction. The original of this volume and the others reside in the Boulder City Museum and Historical Association. Click on Jensen's name above to access digitized version of the diary.

Las Vegas Land and Water Co.
Coll #: Mss35
Date: 1927 -1940
Extent: 1 folder (containing 15 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection concerns water shortages in the City of Las Vegas due in part to wasteful water usage; refers to City Ordinance No. 247. Includes correspondence, resolutions, petitions, application for permit and newspaper clippings. Several items signed by Walter R. Bracken, Vice President and Agent of the Company, and A.M. Folger, Assistant Agent.

Longwell, Chester
Coll #: MS17
Date: 1919 - 1974
Extent: 19 boxes
Location: 1:5:3 - 1:5:5
The Chester Longwell Papers document his professional career as a geologist and his pioneering field work in Clark County, Nevada. Includes Longwell's field notes, manuscripts, articles and speeches related to geology (mostly of Clark County), personal and business correspondence, publications of Longwell's and colleagues. The collection also contains subject files, name files, and rock specimen tags.
Link to Collection Guide

Manis
Coll #: 87-92
Date: 1910 - 1955
Extent: 3 boxes; photo albums
Location: 3:6:6 Roller Shelf 1.5.6
Collection includes documents and publications relating to Boulder (Hoover) Dam and the Boulder Canyon Project. Documents include brochures, pamphlets, postcards, scrapbooks and news clippings. Subjects include Boulder City, Las Vegas, Lake Tahoe and Route 66. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Page, John Chatfield
Coll #: MS23
Date: 1930 - 1947
Extent: 1 box; 1 large folder
Location: Transferred to BCMHA
Collection consists of the diaries of John Chatfield Page, who served as Construction Engineer on Boulder (Hoover) Dam from 1931-35. There is also a small amount of ephemera and biographical material on Page which provide information on his career with the Bureau of Reclamation. The original diaries have transferred to the Boulder City Museum and Historical Association, but the library holds complete digital facsimiles. Click on Page's name above to access digitized version of the diary.

Shaver, A. J.
Coll #: T64
Date: 1925 - 1964
Extent: 1 slim doc box; 1 record storage box (1.21 linear feet)
Location: 1:12:2
Collection is comprised of numerous government documents relating to the Boulder (Hoover) Dam/Colorado River Project (the Boulder Dam legislation passed by the U.S. Senate and a copy of the Congressional Record April 13, 1928). Land Use, Development, Water and Power - Nevada - California - Arizona; Boulder Canyon Reclamation; Lower Colorado River Valley land Use Advisory Committee; Mrs. A. J. Shaver - Girl Scouts - Las Vegas, Nevada; High School PTA - Las Vegas, Nevada INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Sierra Club Records – Toiyabe Chapter, Southern Nevada Group
Coll #: 87-96
Date: bulk, 1980-1997 (inclusive, 1970-2003)
Extent: 15 linear feet (3 document boxes and 11 record storage cartons)
Location: 3:7:3-3:8:2
The Sierra Club Collection at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas is composed of files from Sierra Club officers and activists in the Southern Nevada (formerly Las Vegas) Group of the Toiyabe Chapter. A major portion of the archive comes from the work of Jeff van Ee, who has been active in the Sierra Club in Nevada since the early 1970s. The collection documents the involvement of the Southern Nevada Group in a variety of environmental issues. Comprised of correspondence, memoranda, meeting minutes and agenda, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, press releases, legislation, recommendations, resolutions, and general information, the collection showcases the variety of environmental issues in which the chapter has expressed interest. Due to the group’s location in the heart of the Mojave Desert, the collection provides excellent case studies of significant changes in the post-World War II American environmental movement, notably the increased acceptance of the worth of desert lands.
Link to Collection Guide

Steamboats on the Colorado River
Coll #: T129
Date: 1974-1976
Extent: 1.17 linear feet (1 document box, 1 custom box)
Location: 2:6:6 - 2:5:1
This collection consists of documents related to the production of KLVX’s Steamboats on the Colorado documentary between 1974 and 1976. Comprised of correspondence, promotional materials, scripts, a treatment, a grant application, and other materials, the collection showcases the energies put into the creation of the film by the producer and writer. Additionally, the collection showcases the way in which twentieth century Americans viewed the history of the West—as a triumphalist narrative in which rugged individuals utilized ingenuity and hard work to craft solutions to problems such as transportation in the desert Southwest.
Link to Collection Guide

Van Ee, Jeff
Coll #: 2003-13
Date: 1988-2005
Extent: 6.67 linear feet (1 document box, 5 record storage cartons, 2 oversize map storage)
Location: 3:11:4-3:12:1
The collection consists of the papers of John Jeffrey van Ee, an active environmentalist in Southern Nevada from roughly 1972 to 2010. The collection documents a portion of van Ee’s record of environmental activity, notably his participation on dozens of environmental committees in the Las Vegas and Clark County areas as well as his interest in the development of the Coyote Spring Valley. Comprised of correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, and meeting agenda and minutes, the collection showcases the breadth of van Ee’s environmental awareness and the extent of his activism. As van Ee was active at a time when Las Vegas’s population exploded and new demands were placed on the environment and its resources, the collection documents the increased importance awarded to environmental issues in both American culture-at-large as well as American national and local governments.
Link to Collection Guide

Vergiels, John
Coll #: 87-060
Date: 1972-1993 (inclusive), 1975-1983 (bulk)
Extent: 4 boxes
Location: LASR
The Senator John M. Vergiels Papers document his career in the Nevada Legislature in the 1980s. Materials include legislative reports, bills, correspondence, committee reports and studies from the Nevada Legislature. Subjects covered include nurses, living wills, animal rights, and occupational therapy among others. INVENTORY AVAILABLE


Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections