Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> UNLV


Total manuscripts: 13

Bible, Alan
Coll #: 1007
Date: 1969-1970
Extent: 1 folder (containing 3 items)
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of correspondence between U.S. Senator Alan Bible and UNLV Library Director Hal Erickson regarding the Higher Education Act and maintaining preferential postal rates for library and educational materials.

Clark, Thomas PhD
Coll #: 89-73
Date: 1953 - 1987
Extent: 3.78 linear feet (9 document boxes)
Location: 4:12:4 - 4:12:5
Collection is comprised of the research files of UNLV linguistics professor and author, Thomas Clark, Ph.D. It includes gambling How-to guides distributed by the casinos, World Series of Poker Annuals, articles about the history and future of gambling, a copy of An Introduction to Casino Management, a Gaming Control Board Questionnaire and other State Gaming Board information. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Erickson, Hal
Coll #: 1008
Date: 1968-1975
Extent: 1 folder (containing 7 items)
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of correspondence between U.S. Senator Howard Cannon and UNLV Library Director Hal Erickson regarding various national and local library issues.

Fong, Lilly
Coll #: T148
Date: 1960 - 1996
Extent: 38 linear feet (38 record storage boxes)
Location: LASR
Collection consists of the personal papers of Lilly Fong, the first woman and first Asian-American member of the Nevada Board of Regents. Material focuses on her community activities in various organizations and her work on the Board of Regents. Materials include clippings, magazines, correspondence, conference programs, and reports. INVENTORY AVAILABLE NOTE: THIS COLLECTION IS STORED IN LIED LIBRARYS LASR SYSTEM, PLEASE CALL AHEAD 702-895-2234 TO OBTAIN BOXES.

Frazier, Maude
Coll #: Mss30
Date: 1955 - 1962
Extent: 4 folders (containing 19 items )
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of programs, awards, certificates and annual (1958 yearbook) concerning the life of Maude Frazier, Nevada stateswoman and educator. Frazier taught school in Nevada from 1906 to 1946, was elected to the State Legislature in 1950 and appointed Lieutenant Governor of Nevada, the highest position ever held by a woman in Nevada. She was instrumental in establishing Nevada Southern University (later UNLV).
Link to Collection Guide

Hock, Raymond
Coll #: 90-19
Date: 1946-1991
Extent: 1 oversize box
Location: 2:1:1 Roller Shelf 2.1.1
Collection contains a scrapbook of photos (setting traps for radio tagged birds in Alaska, at the Arctic Research Lab at Point Barrow) and programs chronicling the life of the late Dr. Raymond Hock of the Desert Research Institute and UNLV zoology.

Kepper, Anna Dean
Coll #: MS-00279
Date: 1903-1983, bulk 1972-1983
Extent: 5 Linear Feet (5 boxes)
Location: 3:4:6 - 3:5:2
The Anna Dean Kepper Papers contain personal papers, research, and historical documents of Anna Dean Kepper from 1972 to 1983, with some research materials dating from 1903. The papers document her work as a student at the State University of New York in Oneonta, New York, as well as her research interests in the American West, particularly around Las Vegas, Nevada, where she worked as a historical preservationist and archivist. She was the Curator of Special Collections in the University of Nevada, Las Vegas Library from 1973 to 1983.
Link to Collection Guide

McDaniel, James B.
Coll #: MS-00203
Date: 1960-1978
Extent: 638.05 Linear Feet (11 boxes, 13 oversize flat map storage drawers, 191 oversize rolled architectural drawings)
Location: 2:4:1 - 2:4:2
The James B. McDaniel Records comprise the plans and drawings created by Las Vegas, Nevada architect James McDaniel who worked independently as James Brooks McDaniel Architect (1960-1978) and with a partner at Moffitt and McDaniel Architects, Limited (1970s). Records include oversized designs, drawings, and files of architectural projects. McDaniel designed many University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) buildings, residential, commercial, and landscape designs for Las Vegas clients. Also included are business files of construction estimates, specifications, invoices, change orders, and correspondence.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Women's History Project (NWHP)
Coll #: 99-04
Date: 1995-1998
Extent: 2 boxes
Location: 7:11:6
Collection is comprised of select organizational records of the Nevada Women's History Project (NWHP), founded in 1996 as a means to provide visibility and support for the gathering and dissemination of the history of women in Nevada. Material in the collection reflects the early organization of NWHP Southern Region. Collection contains meeting minutes and agendas, correspondence, membership lists, newsletters, press releases, and project files.
Link to Collection Guide

Partridge, John M.
Coll #: 88-141
Extent: 4 doc boxes
Location: 3:12:4
Collection contains the personal records of John M. Partridge, a member/trainer for the United States Navy who was involved with adult education and occupational training. He lectured on transferring the training methods of the military to the civilian job place. Included in his records are high school graduation information through college and military education and training. Also included is a pilots license, hotel management trainers manual, resumes, job applications and copies of speeches. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Powell, Stephen
Coll #: Mss40
Date: 1972
Extent: 1 folder (containing 69 typescript pages)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of the manuscript copy of Powell's gambling bibliography based on the collections at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. The published copy is in the Special Collections book stacks.

Roske, Ralph
Coll #: 90-43
Date: 1865 - 1990
Extent: 3 record storage boxes,1 document box, 1 large folder (4.17 linear feet)
Location: 4:11:6 - 4:10:1
The papers of Dr. Ralph Roske, UNLV history professor from 1965 - 1990. The collection contains a variety of class materials and student papers, Dr. Roske's original book manuscripts (Las Vegas: A Desert Paradise, Everyman's Eden, Lyman Trumball), Kraig Knapp and John Wittwer interviews along with various research notes and correspondence. The majority of the collection pertains to Southern Nevada history. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Vanda, Charles
Coll #: 88-142
Date: 1955 -1987
Extent: 3 boxes
Location: 3:12:5 Roller Shelf 2.1.1
The Charles Vanda Collection contains a variety The Charles Vanda Collection contains a variety of achievement awards, plaques, and certificates that were presented to Charles Vanda throughout his career. It also contains some news clippings and articles pertaining to Charles Vanda, the arts and UNLV. broadcasting pioneer and, after his retirement from CBS, a leader in the Las Vegas arts community. INVENTORY AVAILABLE