Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Social Action


Total manuscripts: 47

American Association of University Women - Las Vegas Branch (AAUW)
Coll #: 96-09
Date: 1962 - 1990
Extent: 2.94 linear feet. (7 document boxes)
Location: 5:5:1 - 5:5:2
This collection contains the organizational records of the Las Vegas Branch of the American Association of University Women which has participated in activities relating to ERA, "Get Out the Vote," and other national and community social issues. The records include administrative materials such as financial records, directories, bylaws, meeting minutes, and scrapbooks. Another series focuses on the issues and programs the AAUW has been involved with.
Link to Collection Guide

American Red Cross Records
Coll #: MS 2013-16
Date: 1943-2012
Extent: 7 document boxes, 14.06 linear feet
The collections contains extensive newspaper clippings, photographs, and operational materials. There are gaps in some years.
Link to Collection Guide

Anderson, Eddie
Coll #: 2002-27
Date: 1965-2000
Extent: 4 linear feet (4 record storage boxes)
Location: 10:12:1 - 10:12:2
Anderson is a political and social activist and this collection contains news articles about his work for various diseases, political campaigning and social issues, particularly Gay Rights and teaching tolerance. There is also a photo of Anderson with President Nixon during the Apollo 11 splashdown in July, 1969. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE

Atharasoglov, Micheal
Coll #: T185
Date: 1981-1983
Extent: .21 linear feet (1 slim document box)
Location: 2:2:5
Collection contains the records of Las Vegas taxicab activist Micheal Atharasoglov. He fought to unionize the taxicab drivers and to restructure the Nevada Taxi Cab Drivers Administration Authority Charter. There is correspondence between Atharasoglov and Governor Richard Bryan and Attorney General Mahlon Brown regarding the poor treatment of drivers by the cab companies and a push for help from the Nevada State Legislature. There are several newspaper articles about Atharasoglovs struggle.

Berkley, Shelley Papers
Coll #: 2013-05
Date: 1982-2013
Extent: 18 boxes, 15.210 linear feet.
This collection documents the political career of Rochelle "Shelley" Berkley when she served as U.S. Representative for Nevada's 1st Congressional District. Included are correspondence and constituent mail; congressional documents and subject files, a variety of materials about Yucca Mountain, awards, and multimedia materials, including VHS and beta video tapes and an external hard drive. Topics documented include Las Vegas, health care, veteran's affairs, the hepatitis C outbreak of 2008, and Yucca Mountain and the nuclear waste controversy.
Link to Collection Guide

Bristol, Shelly
Coll #: 98-01
Date: 1982 - 1998
Extent: .21 linear feet (1 slim document box)
Location: 7:8:5
Collection consists of personal testimonials by Bristol to be read at the Nevada State Legislature regarding the necessessity of universal specifications for HIV testing in Nevada brothels and in association with the Nevada Association of Prostitutes with AIDS. Also included is a copy of a WORLD (Women Organized to Respond to Life-threatening Diseases) newsletter.

Campaign for Choice
Coll #: 95-11
Date: 1989 - 1990
Extent: .21 linear feet (1 slim document box)
Location: 4:3:4
Collection is comprised of materials regarding the Campaign for Choice, organized in 1989, to carry out the initiative on the Nevada ballot regarding abortion. Materials include financial documents, minutes, newspaper clippings, fact sheets, video and audiotapes, and artifacts such as campaign buttons and bumper stickers.
Link to Collection Guide

Carratelli Collection
Coll #: 2007-23
Date: 1992-2002
Extent: 1.67 linear feet (1 record storage carton, 1 document box, 1 oversize folder)
Location: 13:6:3
Collection comprised of materials documenting Gay Pride Week in Las Vegas as collected by Susan and Holly [Lee] Carratelli,two of the Las Vegas gay communitys most ardent advocates. Both have been deeply involved with such community organizations as the Gay and Lesbian Community Center, the Metropolitan Community Church, Women United of Nevada, the Las Vegas Association of Pride, Inc. [in its various incarnations], and the Nevada Gay Rodeo Association. The material in this collection includes ephemera and artifacts from these various organizations and events as well as a photo collection which is stored separately.
Link to Collection Guide

Children's Service Guild
Coll #: 93-29
Date: 1947 - 1990
Extent: 2.68 linear feet (4 document boxes and 1 record storage box)
Location: 4:7:4 - 4:7:5
Collection contains documents compiled by the Children's Service Guild, a volunteer group organized in 1969 to provide support for children through Clark County Family and Youth Services. Much of the collection consists of news clippings pertaining to juvenile crime and other juvenile-related issues in Las Vegas. The collection also contains materials pertaining to the operation of Clark County Juvenile Court Services.
Link to Collection Guide

Clark, Donald
Coll #: T68
Date: 1953 - 1972
Extent: .84 linear feet ( 2 document boxes)
Location: 1:12:3
The collection of Rev. Donald M Clark, who played a major role in the development of the black community in Las Vegas and in the struggle for civil rights, is comprised of materials ranging from 1953 to 1972, detailing Rev. Clark's activities with his community, NAACP, and Economic Opportunity Board. Types of documents include correspondence, organizational plans, newspaper clippings and personal memorabilia. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE. Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online.
Link to Collection Guide

Cunningham, Cynthia
Coll #: 87-37
Date: 1974 -1977
Extent: 2 linear feet (3 boxes + 1 box of audio-visual material)
Location: 3:4:5
Collection is comprised of the personal papers of Cynthia Cunningham, a Las Vegas resident who served on the State Board of Education, 1971-1979, and was involved in numerous volunteer organizations. Collection includes material on her work with the Equal Rights Amendment, sexism in the schools and the Health Systems Agency of Clark County. Collection includes audiotapes, films, posters and news clippings on the ERA and organization bylaws, memberships, agendas, minutes, correspondence and publications on the Health Systems Agency. There is little information on Cunningham herself.
Link to Collection Guide

Dorothy, Dorothy
Coll #: 95-20
Date: 1783 -1985
Extent: 7.67 linear ft. (12 document boxes, 3 slim document boxes, 1 oversize box)
Location: 4:2:4 - 4:2:6 Roller Shelf 2.1.4-2.1.6
Collection is comprised of the personal papers of noted Las Vegan Dorothy Dorothy and documents her life in the Pahrump Valley, her many civic interests, and her early interest in songwriting. The Personal series contains biographical material about Dorothy's family dating to 1783 and lengthy family genealogies, along with material on her friend Lionel "Rusty" Horgan and miscellaneous cards and correspondence with others. The Interests and Activities series contains a wide variety of materials from the 1930's to 1986 that reflect Dorothy's diverse interests. The materials document Dorothy's involvement in Las Vegas civic and animal rights groups, her interests in songwriting (as Dorothy Varnum) and flying, and the settlement of the Pahrump Valley.
Link to Collection Guide

Duncan, Ruby
Coll #: 96-08
Date: 1979 - 1992
Extent: 22.14 linear feet (18 record storage boxes, 2 document boxes, 3 oversize folders)
Location: 5:3:3 - 5:4:6 Roller Shelf 2.1.7
Collection contains the organizational records of Operation Life Community Development Corporation, a non-profit organization that worked to improve living conditions in West Las Vegas by providing a variety of community development services. The organization began in May 1972, in the wake of a welfare protest march orchestrated by the Clark unty Welfare Rights Organization and Ruby Duncan. Operation Life grew from this organization and was directed by Ruby Duncan, as executive director from 1972 until her health forced her to retire in 1990. In general, this collection documents part of the history of a non-profit community development corporation. In addition, the material provides a glimpse of the regulations and protocol governing the public and private funding process. The collection also provides a partial documentation of the lives and struggles of West Las Vegans and the improvements they endeavored to make to their community.
Link to Collection Guide

Eisenberg, Dorothy
Coll #: 2007-08b
Date: 1980-1989
Location: 12:11:5 - 12:11:6
Personal papers of Dorothy Eisenberg who has worked as an activist and "professional volunteer" in Las Vegas for over 35 years. Comprised of photographs, clippings, scrapbooks, and other documentation including her work on the Bullfrog County Comission, Las Vegas Clark County consolidation. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Equal Rights Nevada
Coll #: 2006-14
Date: 2000-2002
Extent: 2 linear feet (2 record storage cartons)
Location: 11:5:4
The collection is comprised of the organizational records of Equal Rights Nevada documenting the groups unsuccessful fight against Question 2, the referendum voted upon in 2000 and 2002 to amend Nevadas state constitution to forbid same-sex marriage. It includes campaign files, financial records, publicity, ephemera, and other supporting documentation.
Link to Collection Guide

Ford, Jean
Coll #: MS25
Date: 1958 -1998
Extent: 15.57 linear feet. (25 document boxes, 13 slim document boxes, and 1 record storage box and 1 oversize box)
Location: 1:8:6 - 1:9:5 and ROLLER SHELF 1:7:2
A partial collection of the political papers of Jean Ford, longtime community and political activist in Nevada. Ford served in the Nevada state legislature as an assemblywoman and senator, and was active in many women's organizations. This collection focuses primarily on her legislative work and her work on a number of women's issues facing Nevada. There are also numerous materials on her work to preserve the environment. Documents include campaign literature, financial records, correspondence, news clippings, minutes, working files, flyers, and press releases.
Link to Collection Guide

Greenpeace
Coll #: 95-51
Date: 1980-1990s
Extent: 5 linear feet (5 record storage boxes)
Location: 5:1:5 - 5:2:1
Collection is comprised of the organizational records of the Las Vegas chapter of Greenpeace. This includes the organizations opposition to the MX Missile Complex, tax records, other environmental newsletters, and Greenpeace distribution materialsbumper stickers, lapel pins, coloring books and catalogs.

Gregory, Mollie
Coll #: 2006-18
Date: 1971-1974
Extent: 6.78 linear feet (9 document boxes and 3 record storage cartons)
Location: 11:11:1 - 11:11:4
Collection is comprised of several dozen reels of audio tape and some 16 mm film that has been transferred to CD and video. Content is oral interviews (by Mollie Gregory) of persons involved in the welfare rights movement in Nevada in the 1970s, also the Maya Miller US Senate campaign and the ERA in Nevada. Women's Research Institute of Nevada did extensive work in annotating this material during its transfer to CD. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE

Hazard, H. E.
Coll #: T22
Date: 1939 - 1977
Extent: 5 linear in. (1 box)
Location: 1:10:3
Collection consists of political (as a member of the Nevada State Legislature) and personal correspondence re: supporting Union Labor, the need for proper housing for African Americans, appointment to the Council of Defense of Nevada by the Governor, and visits from the governor. Clippings on political and social issues, memorabiliawar ration books, invitations to attend JFK, LBJ and Jimmy Carters inaugurations, Democratic Party National Convention papers: application for State Gambling License (blank form). INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Hill, Charlotte
Coll #: 96-20
Date: 1978-1992
Extent: 11 linear feet (11 record storage boxes)
Location: 5:8:2 - 5:9:2
Collection consists of the personal papers of Charlotte Hill, a Las Vegas community volunteer who founded the Friends of Channel 10, Las Vegas Summer Camp Fund, and the Voluntary Action Center (now known as HELP of Southern Nevada). She has also worked with the Frontier Girl Scout Council, United Way, and the Home of the Good Shepherd Auxiliary. The collection includes files documenting her extensive volunteer activities in Southern Nevada, particularly her work with the Friends of Channel 10.

Hinkley, Dan
Coll #: 2007-05
Date: 1999-2001
Extent: .21 linear feet (approximately 1/4 record storage carton)
Location: 12:11:5
Personal papers of Daniel Hinkley, one of Nevada's most active advocates for the gay community. Materials in the collection include Hinkley's files on the Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada, campaign against Question 2, and various other issues.
Link to Collection Guide

Hoggard, Mabel
Coll #: 2009-29
Date: ca. 1950s-1970s
Extent: 3 linear feet
Location: See Manuscripts Librarian
Collection is comprised of the personal papers, clippings, scrapbooks of Mabel Hoggard,the first African-American public school teacher in Las Vegas who taught from 1946-1970 in various schools around Las Vegas including the Westside School. Hoggard was also respected for her work as a civil rights activist and a civic and educational leader in Las Vegas. Other materials in the collection include her early student notes, curriculum notes from teaching days, documents from her wartime work in West Virginia, letters and cards from students and friends, and various documents on Blacks and the civil rights movement in Las Vegas and the US. Note: Collection is partially processed, please consult Manuscripts Librarian to access materials.

Howell, Kathryn
Coll #: 2004-03
Date: 1960-2002
Location: 10:4:1 Roller Shelf 2.4.6
Collection is comprised of local Democratic activist and teacher, Kathryn Howell. Includes correspondence and news clippings on Women's Democratic Party info, AARP, retired teachers, and seniors.

Hurley, Strutt
Coll #: 2003-06
Date: 1990-2000
Location: 10:6:3 Roller Shelf 2.4.3
Collection contains commemorative material (hats, pins,shirts) from Gay Pride celebrations, AIDS Walks and Pridefest from various years from around the country. Also included in this collection is organizational information for SNAPI (Southern Nevada Association of Pride, Inc.). COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE

Junior League of Las Vegas Records
Coll #: MS 2013-17
Date: 1946-2000
Extent: 42 document boxes, 39.73 linear feet
Location: 10:2:1-2-3-4, RS 1:4:1-2-3-4-5-6-7, RS 7:1
This collection includes annual reports, fundraising efforts, training manuals, articles, minutes, photographs, scrapbooks, and cookbooks. Also included are records of the many advocacy projects such as D.A.R.E., Safe Haven, Ronald McDonald House and Literature Awareness Program for Children. The League is supported by their many fundraising efforts including the Repeat Boutique, Holiday Coffees, and annual benefits.
Link to Collection Guide

Key, Alice
Coll #: 95-47
Date: 1936-95
Extent: .5 linear feet
Location: 5:1:3
Collection consists of the papers of Alice Key, who came to Las Vegas in 1955 as Public Relations Director for the Moulin Rouge Hotel. Key had been a chorus girl in her early days in Los Angeles. Key was active in the Civil Rights movement in Las Vegas, and in a number of political and community service organizations such as the NAACP. Collection consists of clippings, photographs, correspondence, and videos regarding civil rights and entertainment, in particular, the preservation of the Moulin Rouge Hotel. Portions of this collection have been digitized and are available online.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas GLBT Archives
Coll #: 85-121
Date: 1980 - Present
Extent: 3 record storage cartons (3 linear feet)
Location: 3:1:1 - 3:1:3
Collection consists of documents that chronicle aspects of gay life in Las Vegas. Includes both published and unpublished materials and ephemera from local gay businesses. Topics include AIDS, bars, Beaux Arts Ball, drag, entertainers, and prostitution. Organizations covered include Las Vegas Lesbian and Gay Academic Union (LGAU) at UNLV, Las Vegas Gay Community Center, Las Vegas Professional Men's Club, and Nevadans for Human Rights. Other materials include local gay periodicals and audio tape interviews with local gay personalities. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Las Vegas/Clark County Urban Action Committee.....
Coll #: 90-84
Date: 1972 - 1974
Extent: 1 document box
Location: 4:9:1
The Las Vegas/Clark County Urban Action Committee Task Forces were formed to study and report findings for consolidation of Clark County and Las Vegas government entities. Collection is comprised of the reports, meeting minutes and recommendations of this task force.

MacEachern, Jan
Coll #: 97-15
Date: 1958-1980s
Extent: 7.0 linear ft.
Location: 6:6:2 - 6:6:6 Roller Shelf 2.2.3
Collection consists of the papers of Jan MacEachern, Nevada political activist and teacher. Collection consists of clippings, programs, correspondence, financial reports, rosters, and photographs relating to her work on various Las Vegas and Boulder City legislative and local political advisory boards such as League of Women Voters, Boulder City Democratic Club, and Common Cause. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE

McClure, Florence
Coll #: 2003-23
Date: 1969 2003 (inclusive), 1970-1999 (bulk)
Location: 10:5:1 - 10:5:2
Collection is comprised of the personal papers of Florence McClure, Las Vegas activist, and founder of the Rape Crisis Center who helped establish the local women's prison. Collection contains news clippings and reports based on her civic activities and interests.
Link to Collection Guide

MGM Mirage Corporation
Coll #: 2002-11
Date: 1990-2005
Extent: 15.07 linear feet, 31 boxes.
The collection encompasses news clippings, correspondence, marketing and events, photographs and a variety of audio-visual materials from 1990-2005. There are advertising, contracts, and corporate officer's bios as well as conference materials and an impact study done by the American Gaming Association. Diversity efforts of the corporation are also documented.

National Organization for Women (NOW)
Coll #: 95-30
Date: 1966-74
Extent: 3.5 linear feet
Location: 4:2:6 - 4:1:1
Collection consists of the organizational records of the Las Vegas chapter of the National Organization for Women (NOW). It includes materials such as budgets, membership rosters, correspondence, clippings, minutes, newsletters, policies, and task force reports. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE

Nevada Council on Problem Gambling
Coll #: 2004-19
Date: 1978-1995
Location: 10:4:2
Collection consists of material documenting the orgins of the Nevada Council on Problem Gambling. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE

Nevada Desert Experience
Coll #: 2007-04
Date: 1952-2006
Extent: 15.38 linear feet (2 document boxes, 1 slim document box, 1 oversize (16x20) flat box, and 13 record storage cartons)
Location: 11:12:5-12:12:1
The Nevada Desert Experience (NDE) Collection at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas is composed of files from NDE officers and activists. The collection documents the activities and efforts of NDE members in their efforts to halt nuclear testing and abolish nuclear weapons. Comprised of correspondence, memoranda, meeting minutes and agenda, financial records, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, brochures, pamphlets, press releases, legislation, recommendations, and general information, the collection showcases the organizational abilities of the NDE and the groups hearty commitment to ending nuclear testing. Due to the groups headquarters in Las Vegas, the collection provides excellent case studies of significant changes in the post-World War II American environmental movement, notably the increased acceptance of the worth of desert lands.
Link to Collection Guide

Nevada Empowered Women
Coll #: 2006-19
Date: 1991-2000
Location: 11:11:4 - 11:11:5
Collection consists of material from the Nevada Empowered Women project.

Planned Parenthood of Southern Nevada
Coll #: 96-01
Date: 1980-1995
Extent: 17 document boxes (7.14 linear feet)
Location: 5:2:2 - 5:2:5
Collection consists of the administrative and educational records of Planned Parenthood of Southern Nevada. Much of the collection focuses on administrative concerns such as grants and fundraising, and speakers, but there is also material pertaining to education and programs sponsored by PPSN. Types of material include brochures, flyers, grant records, news clippings, and training materials. Access to certain materials is restricted -- please see finding aid for details.
Link to Collection Guide

Plotkin, Lee
Coll #: 2006-21
Date: 1955-2006
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box)
Location: 11:11:5
Collection is comprised of the papers of Lee Plotkin -- Las Vegas gay community activist and news columnist. Plotkin worked a lobbyist in the 1993 repeal of Nevadas sodomy law, and has written columns of political commentary for the Las Vegas Bugle, Q-Tribe, and Las Vegas CityLife. Lee Plotkin moved to Las Vegas from Milwaukee, Wisconsin with his family in 1968 where his parents opened a hardware store on Decatur and Charleston Boulevards. Lee emerged from the closet in 1977, and in the absence of credible spokespeople in the mid-1980s, he assumed that responsibility for the Las Vegas gay community. In addition to serving as the communitys media point man, Plotkin had significant positions with the Southern Nevada Association of Pride, Inc.; with Golden Rainbow; and with the Campaign for Liberty. He also served as executive director in Nevada of the National Conference for Community and Justice and was appointed by Nevada Governor Kenny Guinn to a three-year term on the Nevada Equal Rights Commission. The papers in this collection reflect Plotkins political work and associations, and include correspondence, press releases, copies of his columns, institutional and legislative documents, brochures, fliers and other ephemera.
Link to Collection Guide

Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada
Coll #: 2007-06
Date: 1994-2001
Extent: 1 record storage carton (1 linear foot)
Location: 12:11:5
Collection consists of the papers of the Progressive Leadership Alliance of Nevada founder and Executive Director -- Robert "Bob" Fulkerson. PLAN functions as an umbrella organization for progressive groups and institutions in Nevada. Records in this collection focus on the group's work for the Coalition for Unity/ERN, founded to fight Question 2 -- Nevada's anti-same sex marriage constitutional ammendment. (approx 1/4 record carton)
Link to Collection Guide

Rusco, Elmer Professor
Coll #: T123
Date: 1964 - 1972
Extent: 1 document box (.42 linear feet)
Location: 2:7:2
Collection is comprised of the papers of Elmer Rusco, former UNR professor, who has done extensive research into civil rights and race relations in Nevada. Topics include school integration, welfare, black employment, poverty, and Clark County School District staff training pertaining to the Civil Rights Act of 1964. There is also information on Local 357 regarding discrimination cases against blacks by the union, and information on the number of minorities working at the major Strip hotels. Types of material in the collection include correspondence, news clippings, and research notes.
Link to Collection Guide

Service League [Las Vegas]
Coll #: Roller Shelf
Date: 1948-1970
Extent: 4 oversize boxes, 4 double oversize boxes (6.68 linear feet)
Location: Roller Shelf 1:4:1 - 1:4:3
Collection consists of the Las Vegas Service League scrapbooks containing newspaper articles about the members, various charitable acts performed by the league and league gatherings. (see also Junior League of Las Vegas collection 97-12 and the Junior Service League of Las Vegas on the roller shelf)

Shade Tree Shelter
Coll #: 96-006
Date: 1990 - 1994
Extent: 3 record storage boxes ( 3.75 linear feet)
Location: 5:3:1 - 5:3:2
The Shade Tree is a Las Vegas-based homeless shelter for women and women with children. The Shade Tree Collection contains staff logbooks for 1991 - 1994 and volunteer journals for 1990 - 1991 for this women's and children' safe house.

Sierra Club Records Toiyabe Chapter, Southern Nevada Group
Coll #: 87-96
Date: bulk, 1980-1997 (inclusive, 1970-2003)
Extent: 15 linear feet (3 document boxes and 11 record storage cartons)
Location: 3:7:3-3:8:2
The Sierra Club Collection at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas is composed of files from Sierra Club officers and activists in the Southern Nevada (formerly Las Vegas) Group of the Toiyabe Chapter. A major portion of the archive comes from the work of Jeff van Ee, who has been active in the Sierra Club in Nevada since the early 1970s. The collection documents the involvement of the Southern Nevada Group in a variety of environmental issues. Comprised of correspondence, memoranda, meeting minutes and agenda, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, press releases, legislation, recommendations, resolutions, and general information, the collection showcases the variety of environmental issues in which the chapter has expressed interest. Due to the groups location in the heart of the Mojave Desert, the collection provides excellent case studies of significant changes in the post-World War II American environmental movement, notably the increased acceptance of the worth of desert lands.
Link to Collection Guide

Stand Out for Equality Records
Coll #: 2012-01
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 record storage carton)
Location: 10:8:5
Collection is comprised of organizational records of Stand Out for Equality a Las Vegas-based LGBT activist organization formed to advocate for gay marriage rights and other LGBT-friendly legislation in Nevada. Inventory Available.

Trudell, Harriet
Coll #: 2007-31
Date: 1948-2006
Extent: Two record storage cartons
Location: 13:6:4
Collection is comprised of personal papers of Harriet Trudell, noted Democratic political activist in Las Vegas from 1970s-present

Van Ee, Jeff
Coll #: 2003-13
Date: 1988-2005
Extent: 6.67 linear feet (1 document box, 5 record storage cartons, 2 oversize map storage)
Location: 3:11:4-3:12:1
The collection consists of the papers of John Jeffrey van Ee, an active environmentalist in Southern Nevada from roughly 1972 to 2010. The collection documents a portion of van Ees record of environmental activity, notably his participation on dozens of environmental committees in the Las Vegas and Clark County areas as well as his interest in the development of the Coyote Spring Valley. Comprised of correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, and meeting agenda and minutes, the collection showcases the breadth of van Ees environmental awareness and the extent of his activism. As van Ee was active at a time when Las Vegass population exploded and new demands were placed on the environment and its resources, the collection documents the increased importance awarded to environmental issues in both American culture-at-large as well as American national and local governments.
Link to Collection Guide

White, Jaunita Greer
Coll #: 85-125
Date: 1927 - 1980
Extent: 22 doc boxes
Location: 3:1:5 - 3:2:2
The Juanita Greer White Collection contains personal, professional and business material pertaining to Dr. Juanita White in her capacity as a member of UCCSN Board of Regents, American Association of University Women and numerous other activities in education, health, youth and aging. Note: additional material added later included documents from her work in the Nevada State Legislature, Board of Regents, books, catalogs, chemistry papers, plaques, and campaign materials.
Link to Collection Guide

Zucker-Bozarth, Blanche
Coll #: 96-13
Date: 1970 - 1993
Extent: 11 record storage boxes (12.5 linear ft.)
Location: 5:5:5 - 5:6:5
The Zucker-Bozarth collection focuses on activities of the Mesquite Club including, correspondence, member rosters, news clippings with some material on child abuse, libraries and legislation.