You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Railroads


Total manuscripts: 4

Clark, J. Ross
Coll #: Roller Shelf
Date: 1900 - 1963
Extent: 1.34 linear feet (1 oversize box)
Location: Roller Shelf 1:5:5
The J. Ross Clark Collection consists of one large scrapbook filled with newsclippings pertaining mainly to J. Ross Clark (brother of railroad magnate and Montana Senator William A. Clark) and the San Pedro, Los Angeles, Salt Lake City Railroad Company. There are also some biographical sketches written by family members.

Ryan, George Kelly
Coll #: 1031-5
Date: 1929 and 1971
Extent: 2 folders
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of the research notes on San Pedro, Los Angeles, and Salt Lake Railroad including a chart and written report on the Salt Lake Railroad recording all name changes, acquisitions, consolidations, splits…etc. with notes on construction. There are also requests submitted to Union Pacific Railroad for historical info (track info, stops, depots…etc., and correspondence from the Arizona Pioneer’s Historical Society re: O.V. Gass – member of AZ Territorial Legislature. Included in this collection is also the biographical information Ryan collected on the Royce Family (early Nevada pioneers), newspaper clippings about Nevada’s fight to control the Colorado River and the Green River – 1929.

Tonopah and Tidewater Railroad
Coll #: MS6
Date: 1910 -1940
Extent: 3 boxes; 1.5 linear ft.
Location: 1:2:1
The Tonopah and Tidewater Railroad Collection contains miscellaneous correspondence, waybills, requisitions and other records relating to the company's operation. Incorporated in 1904, the Tonopah and Tidewater Railroad operated for 35 years, connecting Ludlow, California (on the Santa Fe Railroad main line) with Beatty Nevada by way of Death Valley. “Tidewater” referred to dreams of eventually completing connections with San Diego, California. Declining mining fortunes and waning borax operations in Death Valley after 1927 caused the slow decline of the railroad, which finally ceased operations in 1940.
Link to Collection Guide

Union Pacific Railroad
Coll #: 97-19
Date: 1902-1969
Extent: 173.5 linear feet (147 boxes and 38 oversize folders)
Location: 6:5:1 - 7:6:1 Roller Shelf 2.2.2 and 2.2.3
The Union Pacific Collection comprises the original corporate records of the Union Pacific Railroad's operations in Las Vegas but also including southern Nevada, Utah, southern California and Los Angeles. The collection dates from 1902 when Montana Senator William Clark began construction of his San Pedro, Los Angeles, & Salt Lake railroad linking the Union Pacific’s mainline in Utah with Los Angeles and southern California to approx. 1967. The collection documents the purchase of the land (the original Stewart ranch) and the construction of the original depot and town which became modern Las Vegas. The collection also contains the records of the Las Vegas Land & Water Company, a subsidiary of the railroad, formed in 1905, to handle all the railroad's land transactions. Besides office files, containing correspondence, reports, leases, various legal, governmental and financial documents, etc., the collection contains large and small format maps, architectural and engineering drawings; published technical reports; railroad operational manuals; bound legal briefs; ledgers; payroll and receipt books. The collection document's the railroads and includes the records of the Land and Tax, Law, Engineering & Industrial Development departments, as well as the personal files of Walter Bracken, the Union Pacific's special representative in Nevada and vice president of the Las Vegas Land and Water Company. The collection contains more than 300,000 pages of correspondence, documents, maps and blue prints organized into more than 4100 files spanning approx.175 linear feet. There are in addition over 5200 maps, blue prints, drawings and tracings. The Union Pacific Collection is the largest and most comprehensive historical collection documenting the early history of Las Vegas, and one of the most significant collections relating to the Union Pacific, and railroads in general, in the United States.
Link to Collection Guide


Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections