Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Nevada Test Site/Yucca Mountain/Nuclear Waste


Total manuscripts: 12

Alice P. Broudy Papers on Broudy v United States
Coll #: MS-00097
Date: 1948-2006
Extent: 38 Linear Feet (85 boxes)
Location: A 1:1:2 - A 1:3:4
The Alice P. Broudy papers (1948-2006) comprise materials collected and created by the wife of Charles A. Broudy during her effort to obtain compensation for his death, which she believes to be a result of repeated radiation exposure. Materials include government documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA), correspondence, memos, litigation papers, scholarly reports and articles on radiation exposure and its effects, congressional testimony, speeches, newspaper clippings, books and audiovisual materials.
Link to Collection Guide

Baneberry
Coll #: MS19
Date: 1979
Extent: 4.83 linear feet. (10 document boxes and 3 slim document boxes )
Location: 1:5:5 - 1:6:1
Collection consists of legal documents pertaining to the negligence lawsuits filed against the US government as a result of the explosion of the "Baneberry" nuclear device at the Nevada Test Site in 1970. Contains official trial transcripts, photocopies of trial exhibits, newspaper clippings, and correspondence.
Link to Collection Guide

Beam, William "Bill" Collection
Coll #: 2007-14
Date: 1960s-1980s
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 record storage carton)
Location: 12:12:6
Collection consists of the scrapbook of William "Bill" Beam, a miner at the Nevada Test Site. Contains photos and other ephemera on his time at the NTS in the 1960s-1980s. Please note: Beam was interviewed for the Nevada Test Site Oral History Project and the full transcript of his interview is available on their web site.

Campbell, John
Coll #: 2007-16
Location: 11:9:5 - 11:9:6
Collection is comprised of materials documenting the career of Nevada Test Site (NTS) miner, John Campbell.

Citizen Alert
Coll #: 2000-08
Extent: 6 linear feet (6 record storage boxes)
Location: 7:12:6 - 8:12:2
Collection consists of the organizational records of Citizen Alert, a grassroots environmental group based in Nevada. They provide education, advocacy, and empowerment to citizens on matters of environmental policy and environmental justice. They have been particularly active with regard to Yucca Mountain. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Environmental Radiation Protection Standards for Yucca Mountain, Nevada
Coll #: MS 2014-01
Extent: 73.75 linear feet (59 record storage cartons)
Location: LASR
The Environmental Radiation Protection Standards for Yucca Mountain, Nevada collection is an information docket established by the U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). The collection contains documents supporting the development of regulatory decisions by EPA on radiation protection standards for Yucca Mountain, Nevada, as a potential site for a radioactive waste storage repository. The collection includes regulatory notices, technical documents, environmental reports, letters, minutes of meetings, public comments, and other materials.
Link to Collection Guide

Halligan, Edward
Coll #: T84
Date: 1962 - 1966
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box)
Location: 1:12:4
Collection is comprised of Lt. Colonel Edward G. Halligan's papers and publications regarding atomic testing in the early 1960s. Halligan worked in the Las Vegas office of the United States Atomic Energy Commission (USAEC) as operations coordinator for the Nevada Test Site NTS). The collection contains various materials on atomic testing and research on nuclear explosives. Documents include "Commander's Radiation Guide and Estimator for Weapons Effects," "Technical Operations on Project Long Shot" Halligan's speech on Project Plowshare, various brochures, and select NTS newsletters. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Kauffman, Gay
Coll #: 2007-21
Extent: 1 document box
Location: 13:6:1
Collection is comprised of Nevada Test Site News (newsletters) from 1962-1967 and asscociated photographs used to create the publication. Gay Kauffman was the editor of NTS News and responsible for soliciting the photographs. Also contains two oversize color photographs of nuclear explosions.

McMillan, Marie
Coll #: 2004-06
Date: 1945-2002
Location: 10:3:3 - 10:3:5
initial donation of materials from Marie McMillan. Materials consist of photographs, correspondence, newsclippings etc of Dr. James McMillan, Las Vegas civil rights pioneer, materials of Duke Daly relating to work at NTS and at Livermore Laboratory on atomic testing (photographs, certificates, badges), and photographs of Marie Daly McMillan. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Nevada Desert Experience
Coll #: 2007-04
Date: 1952-2006
Extent: 15.38 linear feet (2 document boxes, 1 slim document box, 1 oversize (16x20) flat box, and 13 record storage cartons)
Location: 11:12:5-12:12:1
The Nevada Desert Experience (NDE) Collection at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas is composed of files from NDE officers and activists. The collection documents the activities and efforts of NDE members in their efforts to halt nuclear testing and abolish nuclear weapons. Comprised of correspondence, memoranda, meeting minutes and agenda, financial records, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, brochures, pamphlets, press releases, legislation, recommendations, and general information, the collection showcases the organizational abilities of the NDE and the groups hearty commitment to ending nuclear testing. Due to the groups headquarters in Las Vegas, the collection provides excellent case studies of significant changes in the post-World War II American environmental movement, notably the increased acceptance of the worth of desert lands.
Link to Collection Guide

Olsen, Cliff
Coll #: 2007-10
Extent: 6 record storage cartons.
Location: 12:10:1 - 12:10:5
Containment physicist from Livermore who was interviewed for the NTS Oral History Project. Collection materials includes his research notes, articles, publications etc.

Roth, George Knox
Coll #: 82-06
Date: 1966 - 1970
Extent: 4 record storage boxes (4 linear feet)
Location: 2:2:6 - 2:1:1
The collection of George Knox Roth, a research assistant to John Meier, a special assistant to Howard Hughes in Nevada. Collection contains clippings, technical reports and publications, and correspondence relating to: the Atomic Energy Commission, the environmental impact of nuclear testing in Nevada, AirWest and Hughes Airport and other aspects of Howard Hughes' operations in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide