You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Mormons


Total manuscripts: 11

Call, Anson
Coll #: 1019
Date: ca. 1860s
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of typescript photocopies of the "Autobiography of Anson Call" and "Sketch - Life of Anson Call 1810-1890 Pioneer in the Building of the West." Also, a typescript transcription of Call's report, "Exploration of the Colorado, 1864" and two typescript transcriptions of Call's correspondence in 1865. The two papers on Call appear to be incomplete. Published works on Anson Call can be found in Special Collections stacks.

Cheel, Chester W.
Coll #: 1020
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of two photocopies of manuscript on early Nevada History and Las Vegas with some focus on the Mormons role in developing the area. Includes a two-page hand-written bibliography.

Gregory, Leila (Walker) Collection
Coll #: T162
Date: 1920 - 197(?)
Extent: 1 slim doc box
Location: 2:3:2
Collection consists of news clippings and handwritten notes regarding the murder of Reed Walker (Leila's second husband) who was Chief Building Inspector for Las Vegas (includes his identification card and inspector badge). There are also notes and Mormon genealogy information on Leila and her third husband, Arthur Gregory, Gregory's diplomas, and Leila's correspondence with Anna Dean Kepper regarding her donation.

Leavitt, Cecil
Coll #: 1023-3
Date: ca.1960s
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of photocopied typescript of "History of Bunkerville" which was written by Cecil Leavitt (resident of Bunkerville) as a term paper for a history course.

Lyman, Marguerite Rice
Coll #: 1014
Date: 1817 - 1964
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of six typescripts concerning Southern Nevada history, the Muddy Mission, Spring Valley, and profiles of Rice family pioneers. Emphasis on Mormon church activities.

Mortensen, Verna
Coll #: T78
Date: 1960 - 197(?)
Extent: 1 slim doc box
Location: 1:12:4
Collection consists of materials pertaining to Verna Mortensen's work with the Daughters of Utah Pioneers and their efforts to preserve the Mormon (Las Vegas) Fort. Contains newspaper clippings, federal grant application for restoration of the Fort, DUP brochure, and a paper on the history of the lower Colorado Region. The collection also contains two detailed eulogies of Mortensen, a native of Bunkerville, NV who had lived in St. George, UT and Las Vegas, NV.

Syphus - Bunker Papers
Coll #: T85
Date: 1891 -1994
Extent: 1 record storage box, and 1 doc box
Location: 1:12:5
Collection is comprised primarily of the correspondence of John Bunker and Mary Etta Syphus from 1891-1895. Mary Etta was one of ten children of Luke and Christina Syphus, a pioneer Mormon family who settled in Panaca, Nevada in the late 1800s. In September 1895, Mary Etta married John Bunker, but passed away just two months later in November 1895. The earliest correspondence was written when Bunker was living in El Dorado Canyon Nevada and Syphus in Panaca Nevada, and the later correspondence when Bunker was in Logan Utah and Syphus attending the BYU Academy Church Normal School in Provo UT. There is additional correspondence between Mary Etta Syphus and various friends along with some certificates and wedding announcements. The collection also includes a genealogy chart and the Syphus family history. Collection contains both originals, and typed transcriptions of the correspondence. Subjects discussed include the Muddy River, sicknesses, weather, neighbors, LDS church, school and leisure activities.

Syphus, Levi
Coll #: T178
Date: 1889 -1899
Extent: 1 slim doc box
Location: 2:2:4
Collection houses the business records of Levi Syphus, the daily sales and statement books with lists of payouts (item and amount) and receivables (sold what to whom for how much).

Waite, Lu Jones
Coll #: T17
Date: 1968
Extent: 2 manuscripts in 1 doc box
Location: 1:10:3
Collection consists of the manuscript for Lu Jones Waite's novel -- Out of the West. Waite wrote a number of fictional works which were centered around Mormon families and the Mormon faith.

Wheeler, Maria Burston
Coll #: Mss42
Date: 1840 -1933
Extent: 2 folders (containing 127 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of a typescript account of her experiences from her childhood in England, crossing the Atlantic to the United States, and her trek to the West. Significant because of its vivid description of her time at the Mormon Fort in ca. 1854 including the crops planted, relations with the local Paiute Indians, construction of the buildings etc. Her husband was one of the original Mormon settlers called to develop the settlement at Las Vegas.

Whitmore, Sidney
Coll #: Mss48
Date: 1816 -1913
Extent: 5 folders (containing 42 items )
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of land patents, quit claim deeds, shareholder's records, family records, and photographs pertaining to southern Nevada history. Includes information about Moapa Fruit Land Company; A New Compendia of Geography by John Smith; History of George Burton Whitney and wife Lovina Syphus, and her parents Luke Syphus and Christiana Long, photographs of the Colorado River, Utah, and Nevada; descriptions of St. Thomas, Nevada and St. George, Utah. INVENTORY AVAILABLE


Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections