You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Mining


Total manuscripts: 29

Arnold, George W.
Coll #: Mss12
Date: 1870
Extent: 1 folder (containing one letter)
Location: 1:1:1
Consists of one holograph letter from George W. Arnold to his Uncle Gideon containing a description of Pioche (Lincoln Co. Nevada) and mining activity there. Comments on the lack of mills to process ores and reasons for lack. Describes traveling through Arizona and Mexico, and the Indian situations there.

Barcus, Clyde S. & Edith Giles
Coll #: T138
Date: 1919 - 1970
Extent: 3.42 linear feet (2 record storage boxes, 1 doc box, and 1 OVERSIZE box)
Location: 2:4:5 Roller shelf 1.7.7
Collection contains the personal and business records of Clyde Barcus, a mining engineer who came to Goldfield, Nevada in 1923. The collection includes records of his accumulation of property: residential, commercial and mining. There are also general financial receipts, income tax records, store records from a jewelry shop he and his wife ran, mining reports (productivity) personal correspondence to and from his wife Edith Barcus, and 3 family photo albums. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Beam, William "Bill" Collection
Coll #: 2007-14
Date: 1960s-1980s
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 record storage carton)
Location: 12:12:6
Collection consists of the scrapbook of William "Bill" Beam, a miner at the Nevada Test Site. Contains photos and other ephemera on his time at the NTS in the 1960s-1980s. Please note: Beam was interviewed for the Nevada Test Site Oral History Project and the full transcript of his interview is available on their web site.

Blue Diamond Mine Collection
Coll #: 2005-15
Date: 1943-2000
Extent: 6 linear feet (6 record storage cartons)
Location: 10:1:2 - 11:1:6
Collection is comprised of the business records of the Blue Diamond Mine located in Blue Diamond, Nevada. The Blue Diamond Mine produced gypsum.

Campbell, John
Coll #: 2007-16
Location: 11:9:5 - 11:9:6
Collection is comprised of materials documenting the career of Nevada Test Site (NTS) miner, John Campbell.

Doughty, Nan
Coll #: MS21
Date: 1845 -1987
Extent: 26.05 linear ft. (3 record storage boxes, 21 slim document boxes, 42 document boxes, 1 oversize box)
Location: 1:6:2 - 1:7:6 and ROLLER SHELF 1:7:2
Collection consists of two series related to the life of Las Vegas writer Nan Doughty. The Correspondence series contains letters written by many members of Doughty's family. The Family papers series contains news clippings, school papers, diaries, genealogy records, deeds, stock certificates, manuscript drafts, Desert Research Institute Grant information and notes from UNLV classes. Much of the material in both series pertains to early mining in Nevada and the southwest.
Link to Collection Guide

Eberhardt & Aurora Mining Company Records
Coll #: MS-11D
Date: 1842-1877 (inclusive), 1871-1877 (bulk)
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box)
Location: 1:3:4
The Eberhardt & Aurora Mining Company, located in White Pine County, was one of the primary silver mines in Nevada in the 19th century. The collection is comprised of a single series of administrative records from the Eberhardt & Aurora Mining Company dating from 1842-1877, and is arranged alphabetically by record type. The majority of the collection contains correspondence and letter press. There are also several documents that pertain to the mining company’s finances such as bills, receipts, cancelled checks, and financial notes.
Link to Collection Guide

Florence--Goldfield Mining Company Records
Coll #: MS 11E
Date: 1912-1918
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box)
Location: 1:3:4
This collection is comprised of financial records from the Florence--Goldfield Mining Company, one of the leading producers in the Goldfield mining district in Esmeralda County, Nevada. It contains a single series – financial – with over five hundred documents, primarily bills and receipts, that reflect the purchases of the Florence-Goldfield Mining Company between 1912-1918. The majority of the bills have the original billhead of the contracted company attached. A partial list of the Goldfield businesses in the collection include: Nevada-California Power, Al Mills-General Blacksmithing, Wood & Sullivan Hardware, Verdi Lumber Company, Ferrys Transfer Company, and the Union Drayage Company.
Link to Collection Guide

Gill, Benjamin
Coll #: 2010-07
Date: 1905-1922
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box and 1 bound volume)
Location: 10:3:2
Benjamin Gill was a friend and business partner of Charles Sprague (editor of Goldfield News and President of Goldfield Chamber of Commerce), who served as Secretary-Treasurer for a number of southern Nevada mining companies in Pioneer, Bullfrog, Tonopah and Goldfield, NV. Collection is comprised of his business correspondence (over 800 letters) 1916-22; Fairplay Mining District record Book 1905; and misc. mining reports, pamphlets from the Bullfrog Mining District.

Goldfield, Nevada
Coll #: MS10
Date: 1904 - 1923
Extent: .63 linear feet (2 boxes and 1 oversize folder)
Location: 1:3:1
Collection is comprised of documents chronicling the history of the town of Goldfield, Nevada, which began as a mining camp in May 1903. It had a short lived boom following several large gold strikes. The collection contains material such as mining company minutes, ledgers, prospectuses, Nelson-Gans fight program, stock certificates and minutes from the Goldfield Women's Club. Contains information from the following mining companies: Forward Mining Development Co., General Washington Mining Co., Goldfield Mascot Mining Co., Goldfield Rex Mining Co., Goldfield Consolidated Mines Co., and the Sandstorm -Kendall Consolidated Mining Co.
Link to Collection Guide

Hagemann, V
Coll #: Mss14
Date: 1883 June 12
Extent: [2] p. on 1 leaf ; 28 cm. + verbatim transcript (1 leaf, typescript)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of a single piece of correspondence between V. Hagemann of San Francisco to J.H.B. Harris of Silverpeak, Nevada dated June 12 1883. Contains gossip related to mining of the California-Nevada region. Transcription done by former Special Collections curator, Anna Dean Kepper, is included with the original.

Hancock, Doris
Coll #: 87-059
Date: 1915 - 1987
Extent: 1.67 linear feet (3 document boxes, 1 slim document box, 1 oversize folder)
Location: 3:6:4
Collection consists of the personal papers of Doris Hancock, a Las Vegas kindergarten teacher who helped organize the Las Vegas Art League. Collection contains material about Southern Nevada and surrounding areas, particularly mining towns, Colorado River, Boulder Dam, Red Rock Canyon, early Las Vegas and Death Valley. It also includes some of Hancock's school memorabilia, correspondence, sketches and two scrapbooks.
Link to Collection Guide

Hezzelwood, Larry
Coll #: 1018
Date: 1953 - 1954
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of the correspondence of Larry L. Hezzlewood pertaining to the creation of a titanium processing plant in Boulder City, Nevada as part of the Aero Metals Corporation.

Kielhofer, Charles
Coll #: Mss18
Date: 1958
Extent: 1 folder (contains 3 pages)
Location: 1:1:1
Consists of a letter (photocopy) dated 1/31/58 from Charles Kielhofer responding to an article in the Las Vegas Review Journal concerning the Bullfrog Mine and the establishment of the Bullfrog Mining Company. He relates that it was George Ladd and Otis Johnson not Shorty Harris who discovered Bullfrog.

Leprechaun Mining and Chemical, Inc.
Coll #: 2003-04
Date: 1961-1997
Location: 10:7:2 - 10:6:1
Collection contains the operational records for Leprechaun Mining and Chemical, Inc., a salt mining company, including the financial records: tax documents, CPA reports and records of stockholder shares and dividends, and general mining reports on evaporation rates and mineral grades. There are also several books of stock certificates listing stock holders. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

McGonagill, Irma
Coll #: T60
Date: 1904 - 1905
Extent: 2 folders
Location: 1:11:5
Collection contains the informal records of early Nevada mining in Tonopah, Nevada including the outlines for a section of Irma McGonagill’s memoir and a few fleshed out paragraphs and the beginnings of Chapter 1. There is also a stock certificate for the Silver Bow Mining Company. (see also Photo Collection 0246)

Mim's Sutro Co .
Coll #: T170
Date: 1905
Extent: 1 record storage box
Location: 2:3:4
Collection contains the stock ledger for the Nevada mining company Mim’s Sutro Co.

Mines and Mining
Coll #: MS11
Date: 1866-1949
Extent: 5.09 linear feet (3 record storage cartons, 1 oversize box)
Location: 1:3:2 - 1:3:4
The Mines and Mining Collection is comprised of business and legal material that documents the history of mining in southern and central Nevada. An artificial collection, it is not focused on one mining company in particular, but instead includes documentation on various mines and mining companies located in Lincoln, Clark, and Nye County. Types of documentation include prospectuses, brochures, stock certificates, correspondence, invoices, employee lists, maps, newspaper clippings, purchasing records and mill foreman reports. The collection can provide information on the history of various Nevada mines including location, operation dates, minerals being mined, and production amounts. The collection is open and continues to receive additions via donation and purchase.
Link to Collection Guide

Moore, William J .
Coll #: T174
Date: 1925 - 1974
Extent: 7 doc boxes
Location: 2:3:5
The William J. Moore collection consists of a number of mining publications (Uof NV Bulletins on Geology and Mining, photographs of mine locations, mine production reports, sales contracts of various ores), maps (quadrangles with marked mine locations), claims, and correspondence re: the casino construction. It also includes original plans for the Last Frontier. Scrapbooks from the Frontier Hotel are in the oversize section of Special Collections and not included in the inventory for this collection. There is also information on estimates and analysis for a 500 room Las Vegas resort hotel. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Murphy, Franklin M.
Coll #: T130
Date: 1922 -1958
Extent: 6 storage boxes
Location: 2:5:1 - 2:5:4 Roller Shelf 1.7.7
Frank M. Murphy was a geologist active in Nevada. His collection contains numerous publications, articles, maps, and reports pertaining to geology and mining in Nevada. The collection also includes business and personal correspondence, resumes, and letters of application.

Neely, William
Coll #: 1029-4
Date: [18]64
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of one typescript letter (photocopied) transcribed from an original dated Dec 4, [18]64 from W[illiam] Neely In Virginia City NV to his nephew. The letter discuss Nevada's impending statehood and the business and financial situation at the time. Contains some detail about mining work and advises nephew "not" to come to Nevada.

Nevada-Utah Miners & Smelters Corporation Records
Coll #: MS-11C
Date: 1905-1937 (inclusive), 1907-1909 (bulk)
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box)
Location: 1:3:4
The collection is comprised of a single series of financial records of the Nevada-Utah Miners & Smelters Corporation which was located in Lincoln County, Nevada just outside of Pioche. It is arranged alphabetically by record type and it incorporates bank records, accounts, bills, receipts, and some correspondence from the years 1905-1937.
Link to Collection Guide

Rinker, C.A. Earle
Coll #: 2006-09
Date: 1883-1965
Extent: 14 document boxes; 1 large oversize box (ON ROLLER SHELF) (7.3 linear feet)
Location: 11:4:6-11:5:2; Oversize box on Roller Shelf 2.4.6
This collection is comprised of materials that document the history of early twentieth century Goldfield, a mining boom town in central Nevada, as well as the life of its collector. Materials include highly descriptive correspondence and images of Goldfield during its peak years of 1906-1910, as well as mining prospectus, maps, ledgers, souvenirs and ephemera that document mining activity specifically and daily life in a mining boom town more generally.
Link to Collection Guide

Sadovich, Maryellen Vallier
Coll #: Mss45
Date: 1852 -1934
Extent: 9 folders (144 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists primarily of photocopies of National Archives material relating to early Nevada History. Documents include: act concerning setting the boundaries for the State of Nevada, contracts for setting up mail service btw Utah and California, Office of Indian Affairs documents regarding a reservation in southern Nevada, postal routes in southern Nevada, and plat showing country tributary to SPLASL Railroad. Other items include Gibb's phonetic alphabet of southern Nevada Indians, and numerous documents regarding the Eldorado Mining District. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Sprague, Charles
Coll #: 2010-08
Date: 1906-1922
Extent: .84 linear feet (2 document boxes) and 9 bound volumes.
Location: 10:3:2 and bound newspaper volumes located on Oversize roller shelves
Charles Sprague, (1865 - ?) born in Ohio, newspaper editor in Ohio, Colorado Springs, Denver . Bought Goldfield News in 1906, of which he was the editor. President of Goldfield Chamber of Commerce, ran unsuccessfully for Congress as a Democrat in 1910, later went into the mining brokerage business. He had interests in and was an executive officer in a number of mining companies in southern Nevada. Collection consists of his mining business correspondence 1909-1921 (over 1200 letters) , a photograph album and loose photos of Tonopah, 5 bound volumes of Goldfield News 1917-1922; company ledgers of Midway Mining and Milling Co., Tonopah,1902-1913; Goldfield Consolidated Water Company, 1905-14; Nevada Gold Center Mines Co., 1906-6; misc. mining maps, brochures, reports, publications from Goldfield & Tonopah.

Spur, J. F.
Coll #: 1010
Date: ca. 1902-1913
Extent: 1folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of manuscript "Geology and Ore-Deposition at Tonopah, Nevada" by J.E. Spurr with hand-drawn diagrams. This manuscript is a geological description of the Tonopah mining area, and the Tonopah Mining Company is mentioned frequently. It is undated, but dates could be ca. 1902-1913.

Techatticup Mine Records
Coll #: MS 11A
Date: 1914-1923 (inclusive), 1915-1920 (bulk)
Extent: .84 linear feet (2 document boxes)
Location: 1:3:3 - 1:3:4
The Techatticup Mine Records are comprised primarily of administrative and financial materials that document the history of the Techatticup Mine (located in El Dorado Canyon, Nevada) in the years between 1914-1923. There is no material documenting the early years of the mine in the 19th century. Administrative documents include foreman reports, insurance, warehouse inventories and correspondence. Financial records include account balances, statements, bills, receipts, company vouchers and purchasing records.
Link to Collection Guide

Tonopah Mining Company of Nevada Collection
Coll #: MS 11B
Date: 1907-1928
Extent: .21 linear feet (1 slim document box)
Location: 1:3:4
The Tonopah Mining Company was the largest producer in Tonopah, Nevada in the early 20th century. The collection consists of a single series that includes several annual reports on the Tonopah Mining Company from the years 1907-1928, and a small number of time cards and insurance information. The annual reports are small booklets that discuss the mine’s location, geography, minerals, stocks, quotas, and financial gains.
Link to Collection Guide

Williams, Frank
Coll #: Mss33
Date: 1892 -1947
Extent: 13 folders (containing 118 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of manuscripts written by Frank Williams from 1892 to 1946. The bulk of the writing was done in the 1940s and concerns his life, local histories of Goodsprings, Potosi, Mesquite Valley and the Yellow Pine Mining District. It also contains reports and material reflecting his role as University Regent (1909-1912 and 1923-1942) and his four terms in the State Assembly. Also includes various addresses and articles regarding mines and mining, the evils of gambling, and his life in Las Vegas and Vanderbilt with wife, Edith C. Williams.
Link to Collection Guide


Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections