Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Local History


Total manuscripts: 46

Cahlan, A.E.
Coll #: T39
Date: 1930 - 1968
Extent: 9.8 linear feet (9 record strorage boxes)
Location: 1:10:6 - 1:11:4
Collection consists of scrapbooks containing the complete run of Al Cahlan's "Where I Sit" newspaper column that he wrote for the Las Vegas Review Journal from 1930 to 1968. Al (A.E.) Cahlan was the editor of the Las Vegas Review Journal for many years and active in the Nevada Democratic Party. He was also active in Las Vegas civic and community affairs.

Cheel, Chester W.
Coll #: 1020
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of two photocopies of manuscript on early Nevada History and Las Vegas with some focus on the Mormons role in developing the area. Includes a two-page hand-written bibliography.

Cornwall, Beda
Coll #: MS1
Date: 1940 - 1970s
Extent: 3.52 linear feet (2 document boxes, 2 oversize boxes)
Location: 1:1:2 and ROLLER SHELF 1:6:8
Collection begins with minimal biographic information on Cornwall and her involvement with the Library Committee moving then into a history of the committee: minutes, articles of incorporation, by-laws, annual reports, treasurers reports, fund raising info, news clippings, photographs, and general subcommittee reports on building projects, reciprocal borrowing, etc. INVENTORY AVAILABLE
Link to Collection Guide

Crites, Diana
Coll #: 96-15
Date: 1980s-1990s
Extent: (5.0 linear feet.) 4 record storage boxes
Location: 5:7:1 - 5:7:2
Collection consists of the Nevada Power Company in-house phone book, several in-house cookbooks and recipes and framed memorabilia.

First Good Shepard Lutheran Church
Coll #: Mss19
Date: 1944 -1976
Extent: 98 leaves ; 22 x 36 cm
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists primarily of photocopies of scrapbook pages (also in Special Collections) and additional material not placed in the scrapbook. Contains (photocopies of) photographs, programs, news clippings and architectural drawings. Concerns construction of First Good Shepherd Lutheran Church building at 12 Maryland Parkway and Bridger Avenue, Las Vegas, Nevada.

Frehner, Merle
Coll #: Mss26
Date: 1981
Extent: 1 folder (containing 3 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of hand-drawn map of St. Thomas, Nevada (ca. 1914-1932) which was abandoned in 1933 due to the construction of Hoover Dam and is now covered by Lake Mead, as remembered by Merle Frehner (a former resident of St.Thomas). Also contains instructions to Geography 135 UNLV student Anthony Hinkel who re-drafted the map. Hinkel map in Map Collection 14-1 of Special Collections. Hinkel, Anthony Hoover Dam (Ariz. and Nev.) Extinct cities -- Nevada -- St. Thomas St. Thomas (Nev.) -- History St. Thomas (Nev.) -- Maps

Garside, Sherwin "Scoop"
Coll #: 94-33
Date: 1941-1983
Extent: 2.68 linear feet (4 document boxes and 1 record storage box)
Location: 4:5:1 - 4:5:2
Collection is comprised of the papers of Las Vegas journalist Sherwin "Scoop" Garside - local history collection includes photos of the Old Spanish Trail to be used for publicity, correspondence from the Nevada State Centennial Commission, history of minesTonopah, Goldfield, Bullfrogetc., copies of articles written by Garside, family photos and general photographs of people and places, negatives of Las Vegas, Searchlight, St. George Utah and several unlabeled negatives.

George, Sadie and Hampton
Coll #: 2001-15
Date: 1890s-1920
Extent: 2.10 linear feet (5 document boxes)
Location: 9:4:4
Collection is comprised of the correspondence of Kiel Ranch residents Sadie and Hampton George. Notable correspondents include Helen Stewart. Two significant letters tell of the infamous Kiel Brothers murder/suicide at the Kiel Ranch. Collection also contains title deeds to various properties.
Link to Collection Guide

Hancock, Doris
Coll #: 87-059
Date: 1915 - 1987
Extent: 1.67 linear feet (3 document boxes, 1 slim document box, 1 oversize folder)
Location: 3:6:4
Collection consists of the personal papers of Doris Hancock, a Las Vegas kindergarten teacher who helped organize the Las Vegas Art League. Collection contains material about Southern Nevada and surrounding areas, particularly mining towns, Colorado River, Boulder Dam, Red Rock Canyon, early Las Vegas and Death Valley. It also includes some of Hancock's school memorabilia, correspondence, sketches and two scrapbooks.
Link to Collection Guide

Harrington, Elizabeth
Coll #: T165
Date: 1975 - 1979
Extent: .21 linear feet (1 slim document box)
Location: 2:3:3
This collection contains the original drafts of the thirteen essays that Elizabeth Harrington wrote about her life in early Las Vegas. These articles were written from her memory and experiences of life in Las Vegas from ca. 1904-1940s, and were published in the Nevadan section of the Las Vegas review-journal from 1975-1979.
Link to Collection Guide

Harvey's Limited Edition Pewter Plates
Coll #: 87-77
Date: ca. 1980s
Extent: Currently in their individual boxes, but these could be placed in a records storage box.
Location: 3:6:6
Collection contains four pewter plates of noted Las Vegas historical sites: Union Pacific Depot; City Hall, 1935; Clark County Courthouse, 1914; and Fourth Street School, 1910.

Jewish Federation of Las Vegas Records
Coll #: 2013-25
Extent: 17.5 linear feet (14 record storage cartons and 1 oversize folder)
Location: A 3:5:3 - A 3:6:3
This collection comprises the records of the Jewish Federation of Las Vegas. The bulk of the records are photographs dated 1983-2007, but the collection also includes videos and administrative records, such as annual reports, guides, and a long range planning study.
Link to Collection Guide

Kaufman, Perry
Coll #: 2000-07
Date: 1930-1960
Extent: 2 linear feet (2 record storage boxes)
Location: 7:12:5 - 7:12:6
Research files for his book " The Best City Of Them All : A History Of Las Vegas, 1930-1960"

Kepper, Anna Dean
Coll #: 87-44
Date: 1970 - 198(?)
Extent: 5 record storage boxes
Location: 3:4:6 - 3:5:2
This collection contains the personal and professional papers of Anna Dean Kepper, curator of UNLV's Special Collections from 1975 -1983. Kepper was responsible for many of the most significant historic preservation efforts in Las Vegas and for bringing a number of historically significant collections into the UNLV Libraries. Her collection consists of oral history interviews, correspondence, newsletters, newspapers clippings, research notes, and slides. Much of the collection focuses on historic preservation efforts in Las Vegas. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Laird, Nell
Coll #: T55
Date: 1908
Extent: 3 linear inches (1 slim document box)
Location: 1:11:5
Collection consists of the receipt book of the J. R. Lane Illuminating, Lubricating and Fuel Oil (Company) located in Rhyolite, Nevada. Receipt book lists the names of customers and purchases made in Rhyolite in 1908.

Lake-Eglington, Olive
Coll #: T36
Date: 1909 - 1978
Extent: 5 linear inches (1 box)
Location: 1:10:6
Collection consists of the personal papers of Olive Lakeschool programs, autograph books, school graduation information, medical bills, childrens report cards, family news correspondence and WW II ration books. There is also a certificate from the Union Pacific Railroad for being a True Pioneer.

Las Vegas City Commission Minutes
Coll #: MS 80-188
Date: 1911-1960
Extent: 18 oversize volumes
Location: Special vertical shelves next to MS stacks
Collection is comprised of twelve volumes of original City of Las Vegas Commission Minutes that served as the official record of the proceedings of all Las Vegas City Commission meetings from 1911-1960. They are accompanied by three volumes of City of Las Vegas ordinances dating from 1911 to 1958, one volume of legal documents from 1944-1945 and two large volumes containing an alphabetical subject index to the topics covered in the minutes. They provide a valuable historical record of a wide variety of business and community activities in Las Vegas in the first fifty years of its incorporation.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Hard Core Collection of Flyers and Photographs
Coll #: MS 2014-04
Date: 1981-2013
Extent: 1 document box
Location: A 3:8:5
The collection was donated from the Michelle C. Quinn Fine Art Advisory, LLC. The materials were a part of an exhibit entitled, "The Art of Las Vegas Hard Core" which ran from October 24 to November 15, 2013. The collection includes flyers and photographs documenting the Las Vegas punk rock scene in the 1980s. It includes photocopied flyers from bands such as The Ramones, The Germs, Misfits, Meat Puppets, Wasted Youth, Black Flag, FSP, TSOL, Circle Jerks, Shattered Faith, Agent Orange, Self Abuse, Bad Attitude, and many others. The collection includes a CD ROM which contains a slideshow of a variety of punk bands that played in Las Vegas in 1984.

Las Vegas Underground House Collection
Coll #: 2012-16
Date: 1980s-1990s
Extent: 1 record storage carton
Location: 10:3:1
Collection is comprised of promotional and advertising materials on the Underground House, a residential home in central Las Vegas (near the Boulevard Mall)that is located underground. Materials include photographs, flyers, magazine and newspaper articles, promotional brochures, and video tapes documenting this structure. Inventory Available.

Lee, Henry Hudson
Coll #: T31
Date: 1811-195(?)
Extent: 1 box; 5 linear inches
Location: 1:10:5
Collection is comprised of manuscript copies of Henry Hudson Lee's memoirs entitled "My Memoirs" and his biography of his father entitled "A Brief Sketch of the Life and Family of Milton LaFayette Lee." Henry Hudson Lee worked as the County Recorder and Auditor of Lincoln County in the early 1900s. He was also involved in cattle ranching most of his life.

Liberty Engine Company No. 1
Coll #: T11
Date: 1846
Extent: 1 box (letter-sized)
Location: 1:10:2
Collection consists of two ledger books and some bank records for the Liberty Engine Company No. 1. Ledger books date from 1876 to 1917. Bank deposit records date from 1926-1927. Liberty Engine Company No. 1 was the volunteer fire fighting unit for Gold Hill, Nevada until it closed in 1938.

Liddle, Samuel
Coll #: Mss31
Date: 1885 -1890
Extent: 7 folders (containing 164 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of ledgers, accounts and correspondence for the General Store of Samuel Liddle, located in Leadville, Nevada, from 20 October 1885 to 11 November 1890.
Link to Collection Guide

Lisle Family
Coll #: T153
Date: 1914 - 1948
Extent: 1 slim doc box
Location: 2:3:1
Collection contains the 1914 Primary Election register for Beatty Precinct, Nye County, Beatty School Registry of Students from 1933-1948 and correspondence re: attempting to obtain government funding for the Beatty High School.

Logan Family Collection
Coll #: 2011-16
Date: 1906
Extent: .21 linear feet (1 slim document box)
Location: 7:8:4
Collection is comprised of photos, documents, correspondence, and memoirs related to the life and family of Thomas Logan, (1861-1906) sheriff of Nye County, shot and killed while apprehending a suspect on April 7, 1906 in Manhattan, NV.

Lowe, Celesta
Coll #: 95-48
Date: 1943-95
Extent: 1.5 linear feet
Location: 5:1:3 Roller Shelf 2.1.7
Collection consists of Celesta Lowe's clippings, published writings ("Echoes from the Archives" and "Southwestern Bookshelf" columns), correspondence, and photographs related to local history. Also contains National League of American Pen Women and Pen-Hens material. Celesta Lowe grew up in Goodsprings and worked for James R. Dickinson, who was the first head of Nevada Southern University (later UNLV). She played a large part in developing the Special Collections Division of the library.
Link to Collection Guide

Lyman, Marguerite Rice
Coll #: 1014
Date: 1817 - 1964
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of six typescripts concerning Southern Nevada history, the Muddy Mission, Spring Valley, and profiles of Rice family pioneers. Emphasis on Mormon church activities.

Marshall, Gladys Boggs
Coll #: T57
Date: 1910 - 196(?)
Extent: 1 slim doc box
Location: 1:11:5 Roller Shelf 1.5.5
Collection includes several poems by Gladys Boggs Marshall, a manuscript draft of her unfinished paper "History and Story of Las Vegas," news clippings, and a scrapbook. PARTIAL COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE

MX in Nevada (Hulse, James)
Coll #: Mss17
Date: 1980
Extent: 2 folders (containing 13 pages and 1 bound item)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection contains a published series of essays entitled "MX in Nevada: A Humanistic Perspective" ( Reno : Nevada Humanities Commission, 1980), Francis X. Hartigan, editor. Includes James W. Hulse's typescript draft with handwritten edits of "A View from Pioche," excerpted from the aforementioned work for delivery to Labor Day Celebration Humanities program in Pioche Nevada, 31 August 1980.

Neely, William
Coll #: 1029-4
Date: [18]64
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of one typescript letter (photocopied) transcribed from an original dated Dec 4, [18]64 from W[illiam] Neely In Virginia City NV to his nephew. The letter discuss Nevada's impending statehood and the business and financial situation at the time. Contains some detail about mining work and advises nephew "not" to come to Nevada.

Nevada Banking History
Coll #: 86-03
Date: 1880 -190(?)
Extent: 2 doc boxes
Location: 3:2:3
Collection contains information on the history of banking, primarily in Worcester, NV and a history of the Worcester bank. Included in this history are pamphlets and promotional publications on early Nevada banks, contemporary newspaper clippings and correspondence about Butch Cassidy and common banking correspondence. Of interest is a copy of a proclamation and report by the governor of the Territory of Nevada about an international mineral exhibition dated 1863.

Nevada State Museum
Coll #: 87-48
Date: 1970 -1990
Extent: 3 boxes (combined)
Location: 3:5:3
Collection contains the inventory forms for all properties nominated and listed (during the above time period) on the National Register of Historic Places throughout Nevada. The inventory forms state the owners name, location of the property and a description of the propertys historical significance. Also included in this collection are the Museums financial statements, by-laws, meeting minutes, news clippings about general museum business and correspondence and memos regarding museum objectives, exhibit schedules and other similar topics. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE.

Paher, Stanley
Coll #: T127
Date: 1976 - 1981
Extent: 1 record storage box; 3 document boxes
Location: 2:7:4
The Stanley Paher collection contains his original draft, book proofs and submitted articles for the book Nevada Official Bicentennial Book. The book was later published under the title, Nevada Towns and Tales.

Perkins, James
Coll #: 2009-28
Date: 1951-1952
Extent: 2 document boxes (.84 linear feet)
Location: 11:6:1
Collection is comprised of approx. 200 letters from Private James Perkins, USAF, stationed at Nellis Airforce Base, 1951-1952, to his parents in Watervliet, NY. Letters refer to life on the base, life in the Air Force, with descriptions of occasional trips into downtown Las Vegas.

Pueblo Grande
Coll #: T143
Date: 1926 - 1980
Extent: 1 record storage box, 2 slim document boxes (1.42 linear feet)
Location: 2:4:6 Roller Shelf 1.6.4
The Pueblo Grande collection contains essays and correspondence for nomination and documentation of inclusion to the National Register. It also contains photographs and an inventory of Pueblo and Anasazi artifacts included in the Pueblo Grande de Nevada site, Lost City Museum.

Rockwell, Leon
Coll #: MS13
Date: 1841 -1967
Extent: 11 document boxes, 6 cartons (9.62 linear feet)
Location: 1:4:3 - 1:5:1
Collection consists of materials documenting the life of Las Vegas pioneer Leon Rockwell. Many of these materials provide excellent documentation of everyday life and special events in Las Vegas and Nevada from the 1920s-1940s. Collection is comprised of diaries, correspondence, photographs, postcards, Las Vegas community event programs, ledger sheets, business cards and scrapbooks. There are a number of books in the collection as well. Items range in date from early 1895 to 1967. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Roske, Ralph
Coll #: 90-43
Date: 1865 - 1990
Extent: 3 record storage boxes,1 document box, 1 large folder (4.17 linear feet)
Location: 4:11:6 - 4:10:1
The papers of Dr. Ralph Roske, UNLV history professor from 1965 - 1990. The collection contains a variety of class materials and student papers, Dr. Roske's original book manuscripts (Las Vegas: A Desert Paradise, Everyman's Eden, Lyman Trumball), Kraig Knapp and John Wittwer interviews along with various research notes and correspondence. The majority of the collection pertains to Southern Nevada history. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Savalli, Janet Collection on Southern Nevada Telephone Company
Coll #: MS 2013-24
Date: 1957-1966
Extent: 0.23 linear feet (1 half document box)
Location: 13.8.4
This collection comprises the various records collected by Janet Savalli on the Southern Nevada Telephone Company. The records cover the period of the Company from 1957-1966. Materials include a photocopy of "History of Southern Nevada Telephone Company, 1907 to 1961", black and white photographs, color photocopies of photographs, telephone directories, several issues of the publication Circuit Chatter, and a DVD-R disk with scans of the entire collection.
Link to Collection Guide

Sawyer, Byrd
Coll #: 90-052
Date: 1880-1969
Extent: 1 slim document box (.21 linear feet)
Collection is comprised of the papers of Byrd Wall Sawyer and contains a variety of materials related to Nevada history. Collection includes Nevada State Library materials and publications, news clippings, correspondence, speeches and memos relating to Reno, Carson City and Washoe County. There are research notes and copies of the books; "Midwifery" and "The Open Range of Nevada, 1826-1900." The collection also contains some photographs and numerous slides of foreign countries. There are also audio recordings and video of the Boulder City anniversary. book manuscript - "Here is Nevada"; bibliography 1939; Co-authors - Byrd Wall Sawyer and Effie Mona Mack INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Southern Nevada Historical Society
Coll #: T136
Date: ca. 1950 -1980
Extent: 5 document boxes (2.10 linear feet)
Location: 2:4:4
Collection consists of the organizational records of the now defunct Southern Nevada Historical Society. The collection includes meeting minutes, correspondence, financial records, membership information, and records on historic preservation-related activities in the Las Vegas and southern Nevada area. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Tales of Las Vegas (Students of Modern History)
Coll #: Mss6
Date: 1924 - 1925
Extent: 54 p., bound : ill. ; 31 cm
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of two [unpublished] manuscript copies of "Tales of Las Vegas." This early history of Las Vegas was created by Las Vegas high school students in the Modern History course in 1924 and was later revised by the students in the United States History course in 1925. Illustrated throughout with photographs of early Las Vegas. All photographs are captioned.

Taylor, Richard B.
Coll #: 94-30
Date: 1958-1995
Extent: 3.34 linear feet (7 document boxes and 2 slim document boxes)
Location: 3:2:3- 3:2:5
Collection contains the papers of Richard Taylor, former manager of the Hacienda Hotel. Includes news clippings, promotional materials, financial reports, correspondence and memos from the Hacienda; news clippings, advertisements, maps, real estate reports and correspondence regarding Mount Charleston and its development and history including Lee Canyon and Kyle Canyon; news clippings related to the town of Laughlin, Nevada and its history in the late 1980s and early 1990s. There are also clippings on Laughlin developments such as the El Miraco and Silverado.
Link to Collection Guide

Union Pacific Railroad
Coll #: 97-19
Date: 1902-1969
Extent: 173.5 linear feet (147 boxes and 38 oversize folders)
Location: 6:5:1 - 7:6:1 Roller Shelf 2.2.2 and 2.2.3
The Union Pacific Collection comprises the original corporate records of the Union Pacific Railroad's operations in Las Vegas but also including southern Nevada, Utah, southern California and Los Angeles. The collection dates from 1902 when Montana Senator William Clark began construction of his San Pedro, Los Angeles, & Salt Lake railroad linking the Union Pacifics mainline in Utah with Los Angeles and southern California to approx. 1967. The collection documents the purchase of the land (the original Stewart ranch) and the construction of the original depot and town which became modern Las Vegas. The collection also contains the records of the Las Vegas Land & Water Company, a subsidiary of the railroad, formed in 1905, to handle all the railroad's land transactions. Besides office files, containing correspondence, reports, leases, various legal, governmental and financial documents, etc., the collection contains large and small format maps, architectural and engineering drawings; published technical reports; railroad operational manuals; bound legal briefs; ledgers; payroll and receipt books. The collection document's the railroads and includes the records of the Land and Tax, Law, Engineering & Industrial Development departments, as well as the personal files of Walter Bracken, the Union Pacific's special representative in Nevada and vice president of the Las Vegas Land and Water Company. The collection contains more than 300,000 pages of correspondence, documents, maps and blue prints organized into more than 4100 files spanning approx.175 linear feet. There are in addition over 5200 maps, blue prints, drawings and tracings. The Union Pacific Collection is the largest and most comprehensive historical collection documenting the early history of Las Vegas, and one of the most significant collections relating to the Union Pacific, and railroads in general, in the United States.
Link to Collection Guide

Vance, Paul
Coll #: 86-041
Date: 1829 -1986
Extent: 1 slim doc box
Location: 3:2:6
This collection consists of the Nevada cemetery censuses from the following Lincoln County towns: Buillionville, Panaca, and Caliente INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Whitmore, Sidney
Coll #: Mss48
Date: 1816 -1913
Extent: 5 folders (containing 42 items )
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of land patents, quit claim deeds, shareholder's records, family records, and photographs pertaining to southern Nevada history. Includes information about Moapa Fruit Land Company; A New Compendia of Geography by John Smith; History of George Burton Whitney and wife Lovina Syphus, and her parents Luke Syphus and Christiana Long, photographs of the Colorado River, Utah, and Nevada; descriptions of St. Thomas, Nevada and St. George, Utah. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Wilson, Fred & Maurine
Coll #: MS12
Date: 1916 - 1980
Extent: 11 boxes; 1 folder, 5.5 linear ft.
Location: 1:4:1 - 1:4:3 and ROLLER SHELF 1:7:1 - 1:7:2
Collection is comprised of a variety of material that documents the lives of Maurine Hubbard Wilson and Fred Holmes Wilson. It includes correspondence, personal papers and diaries. It also contains historical research on the First Methodist Church in Las Vegas, as well as films on life in Las Vegas from 1929 to 1930. Some of these films have been compiled and reformatted on 1/2 in. videocassette; cataloged and placed in the Media Services area of the library. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE
Link to Collection Guide

Wittwer, John
Coll #: T101
Date: 1919 -1948
Extent: 5 record storage boxes and 1doc box
Location: 2:10:3 - 2:10:5
Collection consists of the reports of Southern Nevada Agricultural Extension Agent (County Agent), J.H. Wittwer dating from 1919-1948. The reports contain photographs and information on subjects such as the dairy industry, soil conditions, vegetable production, and flood control in southern Nevada. The reports also detail much of the 4-H activity in the area during this time.
Link to Collection Guide