Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Legal


Total manuscripts: 8

Colorado River Commission of Nevada Reference Library Collection
Coll #: 2001-07
Date: 1922-2000
Extent: 24 record storage cartons
Location: 12:6:5 - 12:10:5
The Colorado River Commission of Nevada Reference Library Collection at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas is composed of files and books from the Colorado River Commission of Nevada. The major portion of the collection is documents in the form of books, briefs, memoranda, motions, exhibits, etc., from the Arizona v. California litigation running from 1931 to the 1990s. The Commission used the materials as a reference library to support their role in the ongoing litigation. In support of their mission to manage and protect Nevadas rights to the power and water from the Colorado River, the collection includes significant information regarding the Boulder Canyon Project and subsequent Adjustment Act, the Colorado River Compact, Glen Canyon Dam, Parker Dam, Davis Dam, and Colorado River Salinity in the form of correspondence, official reports, and legislative records. A large portion of the correspondence and documents is in regards to the Western Area Power Administration . The last major part of the collection is comprised operating files from the Commission, particularly the files of Gerald L. Edwards, who was the CRCs Chief Engineer. All of these files not only supported litigation and the operation of the CRC, but also served as an information clearinghouse for information regarding the management of the Colorado River.
Link to Collection Guide

Denton, Ralph
Coll #: MS-00440
Date: 1951-1993
Extent: 8.8 Linear Feet (21 boxes)
Location: 9:6:4 - 9:8:2
The Ralph Denton Papers (1951-1993) consist of case files and legal briefs of civil rights attorney Ralph Denton. The cases largely involve civil rights issues in Las Vegas, Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Desert Pupfish
Coll #: MS20
Date: 1972 - 1976
Extent: 1.68 linear feet (4 document boxes)
Location: 1:6:1 - 1:6:2
Collection consists of legal documents concerning the Desert Pupfish court case - Francis Cappaert vs. U. S. Case number 74-1107. Includes reporters transcripts, case files (incomplete), deposition of James E. Deacon, photographs of exhibits. Includes decisions on case number 74-1107. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Flangas, William Scrapbooks
Coll #: MS-00099
Date: 1974-2014
Extent: 2.6 linear feet (3 boxes)
Location: A 2:5:6 - 2:5:7
This collection comprises the scrapbooks of William Flangas that document his anti-smoking efforts in Nevada from, 1974-2014. These materials include correspondence, articles, copies of assembly bills, newsletters related to smoking and health, and newsletters related to non-smokers.
Link to Collection Guide

International Association of Gaming Attorneys
Coll #: MS-00250
Date: 1977-1986
Extent: 2.2 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
Location: 2:1:6 - 3:1:1
The International Association of Gaming Attorneys (IAGA) collection is comprised of materials collected from various corporations and casinos in Nevada and New Jersey, ranging from 1977 to 1986. There are a wide array of documents including: gaming license applications from corporations in Nevada and New Jersey, copies of casino control acts from New Jersey, gaming publications, gaming conference proceedings, gaming commission reports, newsletters and correspondence of the National Association of Gaming Attorneys (NAGA).
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas City Commission Minutes
Coll #: MS 80-188
Date: 1911-1960
Extent: 18 oversize volumes
Location: Special vertical shelves next to MS stacks
Collection is comprised of twelve volumes of original City of Las Vegas Commission Minutes that served as the official record of the proceedings of all Las Vegas City Commission meetings from 1911-1960. They are accompanied by three volumes of City of Las Vegas ordinances dating from 1911 to 1958, one volume of legal documents from 1944-1945 and two large volumes containing an alphabetical subject index to the topics covered in the minutes. They provide a valuable historical record of a wide variety of business and community activities in Las Vegas in the first fifty years of its incorporation.
Link to Collection Guide

O'Donnell, Tom (Judge)
Coll #: 85-61
Date: 1960 - 198(?)
Extent: x
Location: Roller Shelf 1:7:8
Collection contains the scrapbooks and news clippings of Judge ODonnells campaign for district judge, events/court cases while he was on the bench and general personal ephemera.

Sumpter, Rodney
Coll #: 2000-01
Date: 1985-1986
Extent: 1 document box (.42 linear feet)
Location: 7:12:4
Collection is comprised of legal files relative to the 1985-86 challenge of Nevada's sodomy laws (NRS 201.190).