You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Journalism


Total manuscripts: 15

Byrne, Grace Winkleman
Coll #: 1006
Date: ca. 1950s
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of four typewritten essays, a manuscript about Utah entitled "History of Grazing," and a photo of Grace W. Byrne. A note with this collection indicates that Grace Winkleman Byrne wrote for the Las Vegas Sun, Las Vegas Review Journal, and the Henderson Pages, and that she founded the Henderson Chamber of Commerce.

Cahlan, A.E.
Coll #: T39
Date: 1930 - 1968
Extent: 9.8 linear feet (9 record strorage boxes)
Location: 1:10:6 - 1:11:4
Collection consists of scrapbooks containing the complete run of Al Cahlan's "Where I Sit" newspaper column that he wrote for the Las Vegas Review Journal from 1930 to 1968. Al (A.E.) Cahlan was the editor of the Las Vegas Review Journal for many years and active in the Nevada Democratic Party. He was also active in Las Vegas civic and community affairs.

Cahlan, Florence Lee Jones
Coll #: T128
Date: 1945 - 1982
Extent: 21 document boxes, 7 record storage boxes
Location: 2:7:4 - 2:6:5
Collection consists of papers of Florence Lee (Jones) Cahlan and her husband John Cahlan. (Jones) Cahlan worked as a reporter for the Review Journal and Cahlan served as editor for many years. The collection contains materials documenting their personal lives, community interests, articles and manuscripts , and drafts and notes for their book Water -- A History of Las Vegas. Subjects include Nellis AFB, Nevada American Revolution Bicentennial Commission, Las Vegas Jubilee, high-speed ground transportation, Service League/Junior League and Nevada State Museum.
Link to Collection Guide

Deskin, Ruthe
Coll #: 95-37
Date: 1960 - 1994
Extent: 1.42 linear ft. (1 document box and 1 record storage carton)
Location: 5:1:1 and 13:5:6
Collection contains newspaper articles and correspondence documenting the personal and professional achievements of Deskin, including �Ruthe Deskin Day�, the naming of Ruthe Deskin Memorial Elementary School and other honors. There is an additional accretion of materials at 13:5:6

Garside, Sherwin "Scoop"
Coll #: 94-33
Date: 1941-1983
Extent: 2.68 linear feet (4 document boxes and 1 record storage box)
Location: 4:5:1 - 4:5:2
Collection is comprised of the papers of Las Vegas journalist Sherwin "Scoop" Garside - local history collection includes photos of the Old Spanish Trail to be used for publicity, correspondence from the Nevada State Centennial Commission, history of minesTonopah, Goldfield, Bullfrogetc., copies of articles written by Garside, family photos and general photographs of people and places, negatives of Las Vegas, Searchlight, St. George Utah and several unlabeled negatives.

Greenspun, Hank
Coll #: T29
Date: 1963 - 1966
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 record storage box)
Location: 1:10:4
Collection consists of the manuscript and galley proofs for Hank Greenspun's book, Where I Stand: The Record of a Reckless Man. Hank Greenspun was the publisher of the Las Vegas Sun and wrote a long-standing column of the same name. Galley proofs include an introduction by Ed Reid (author, The Green Felt Jungle).

Jensen, Ellen B.
Coll #: T18
Date: 1967 - 1969
Extent: 1 document box
Location: 1:10:3
Collection consists of feature articles by Ellen Jensen that were submitted to the Las Vegas Review Journal (published in the Nevadan) and the Las Vegas Sun (published in Sunday Scene) Materials include research notes, drafts, and carbons. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Jones, Clifford (Cliff)
Coll #: 2012-19
Location: back stacks
Collection is comprised of materials from the estate of former Lieutenant Governor and gaming executive Cliff Jones. Includes photographs, plaques, correspondence, trophies. A number of photographs document the family's time in the Dutch West Indies in the 1920s and there is correspondence from family members including his sister, noted Las Vegas journalist, Florence Lee Jones Cahlan.

Las Vegas Bugle
Coll #: 2003-21
Date: 1984-2000
Extent: 2 linear feet (2 record storage cartons)
Location: 10:6:6
Collection consists of material documenting the history of the Las Vegas gay/lesbian newspaper the Las Vegas Bugle. Collection is comprised one box of photographs documenting the first Gay Prom Night, Gay Pride Celebration Parade and various other gay events and celebrations and a second box of papers and notes for Las Vegas Bugle stories focusing on gay issues.

National League of American Pen Women (Las Vegas Branch)
Coll #: 2000-06
Date: 1950-1990
Extent: 2 OVERSIZE boxes
Location: 7:12:5 Roller Shelf 2.2.5
Collection consists of the scrapbooks and minutes of the Las Vegas branch of the National League of American Pen Women. The NLAPW is a professional organization of women that promotes development of the creative talents of professional women in the arts ( it encompasses arts, letters and music).

Squires, C. P. & Delphine
Coll #: MS9
Date: 1887 -1964
Extent: 5 document boxes (2.10 linear feet)
Location: 1:3:1
This collection contains the family papers of Las Vegas pioneers Charles "Pop" Squires (editor of the Las Vegas Age and member of the Colorado River Commission) and his wife, Delphine, who helped found Christ Church Episcopal and the Mesquite Club. The Squires Papers concentrate on the Las Vegas years (1905- 1964), although there is some material from earlier periods. The Civic interests series contains miscellaneous items relating to early life in Las Vegas (1905-1958). The Manuscripts series contains book and short story manuscripts, articles, press releases and radio scripts written by Squires and his wife. The Correspondence series reflects the period 1910-1958 (many letters relating to his work on the CRC including some from President Herbert Hoover) with a few items dated earlier. The Family series contains items related to family life such as report cards, certificates, Parent Teacher Association, club activities, news clippings, and church activities. These items cover the years 1887- 1951.
Link to Collection Guide

Stevens, Maury
Coll #: 86-066
Date: 1953 - 1981
Extent: 1 document box (.42 linear feet)
Location: 3:3:4
The collection of Maury Stevens, a Las Vegas advertising executive who worked at a number of Strip hotels and edited Las Vegas Life and Now Magazine. The collection contains a variety of programs, brochures, photos, magazines and news clippings pertaining to hotels, performers and special events in Las Vegas. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Stevens, Muriel
Coll #: 86-067
Date: 1971 - 1981
Extent: 1 record storage box (1 linear foot)
Location: 3:3:4
Collection contains some of the records of television chef Muriel Stevens. Included are brochures and programs from the Restaurant Hotel Motel Expo and the National Fancy Food and Confection Show, recipes for cooking demonstrations, the chefs menu for the Boardwalk Regency Hotel and Casino, cooking certificates, city maps, and newspaper articles about a milk supplier controversy with allegations of kickbacks INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Valder, Ann
Coll #: 90-060
Date: 1950 - 1983
Extent: 2 boxes
Location: 4:10:6
Collection is comprised of the papers of Ann Valder, a journalist who wrote for the Las Vegas Sun. Collection contains a variety of articles written by Ann Valder, personal correspondence, biographical information, American Cancer Society correspondence, news releases and a number of articles from different authors.
Link to Collection Guide

Willard, Bill
Coll #: MS 2001-17
Date: 1887-1999 (inclusive)
Extent: 52 document boxes (28.48 linear feet)
Location: 9:4:4 - 9:5:6
This collection is comprised of the personal papers of noted Las Vegas entertainment writer, producer, and critic Bill Willard. It is a comprehensive collection that contains material on his fathers theater and political involvements as well as Willard's early childhood and high school years. His time in the Army is chronicled by editorials and correspondence he wrote. From his arrival in Las Vegas in 1949, this collection traces his continued involvement in all facets of writing, entertainment, and art, culminating in his final contribution of directing the Arnold Shaw Popular Music Research Center. The collection includes pictures of his artwork, writings he did for various newspapers and magazines, scripts, skits, jokes, awards, over 700 interviews done for the Rap with the Artist series, plus personal memorabilia. COLLECTION FORMS PART OF ARNOLD SHAW ARCHIVES.
Link to Collection Guide


Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections