Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Health Services/Hospitals


Total manuscripts: 12

Adelson, Nathan Hospice...
Coll #: 90-59
Date: 1978 - 1986
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box)
Location: 4:10:5
Collection consists of administrative records of the Nathan Adelson Hospice. Includes board meeting minutes, by-laws and promotional material, hospice newsletter and some news clippings. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

American Red Cross Records
Coll #: MS 2013-16
Date: 1943-2012
Extent: 7 document boxes, 14.06 linear feet
The collections contains extensive newspaper clippings, photographs, and operational materials. There are gaps in some years.
Link to Collection Guide

Betten, Patricia van Healthcare and Nursing Papers
Coll #: MS-00098
Date: 1985-2011, (bulk 1993-2011)
Extent: 2.17 linear feet (3 boxes)
Location: A 2:5:4
The collection comprises personal papers of Pat van Betten that document her work with the League of Women Voters and the Nevada Nurses Association from 1985 to 2011. Van Betten worked on health care reform for the League of Women Voters - Las Vegas which resulted in the passage of the pioneering legislation known as the Patient Protection Act. The health-care reform material dates from 1997 to 2006 and includes documents related to the Act as well as correspondence, printed e-mail, meeting minutes, plans, and other supporting material. The collection also documents van Betten's work with the Nevada Nurses Association -- Las Vegas Chapter, and documents conferences of the Nevada Nurses Association, as well as material celebrating the history of nursing in Nevada. These materials date 1985 - 2006 and include a filmstrip with slides focusing on the work of school nurses in the Clark County School District.
Link to Collection Guide

Charter Hospital of Las Vegas
Coll #: 90-71
Date: 1968 - 1987
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box)
Location: 4:10:6
Collection is comprised of various professional papers, reports, articles and documents related to compulsive gambling and pathological gambling from Charter Hospital of Las Vegas. Some papers focus on treatment programs such as Gambler's Anonymous. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Malone, George
Coll #: Mss37
Date: 1928 -1933
Extent: 1 folder (containged343 items, bound)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of one bound volume of letters, documents, speeches, reports and maps pertaining to George W. Malone's position as Nevada State Engineer; National Executive Committeeman, American Legion; President, Association of Western Engineers; Secretary, Colorado River Commission; member, Nevada State Range Commission.

Morledge, Fred L.
Coll #: Mss43
Date: 1948 -1961
Extent: 7 folders (382 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection contains Southern Nevada Memorial Hospital (SNMH) minutes of Board meetings from 1955-1956, Grand Jury accusations against the Board regarding the poor operation of the hospital, the Board's responses, and news clippings from the Las Vegas Review Journal regarding this controversy. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Nevada Association of Psychiatric Physicians
Coll #: 2001-08
Location: 8:1:1
Collection contains the organizational records of the Nevada Association of Psychiatric Physicians. Accretions will be added as they are received. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Nevada Nurses Association
Coll #: 85-34
Date: 1940s- 1990s
Extent: 23 record storage boxes
Location: LASR
Collection is comprised of the organizational records of the Nevada Nurses Association. Subjects include Jean Rambo, state legislature, ERA, Planned Parenthood, and League of Women Voters. Types of material in the collection include clippings, history, membership information, receipts, correspondence, convention notes and programs, alumni directory, newsletters, pamphlets, meeting minutes and scrapbooks. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Nora MD, Rena
Coll #: 2011-24
Date: 1970s-2000s
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box)
Location: A 1:7:6
Collection is comprised of articles, awards, correspondence, papers and reports dealing with Dr. Rena Nora's clinical work on compulsive gambling in the United States and Las Vegas in particular. Dr. Nora was a pioneering expert in compulsive gambling issues with a national reputation. Inventory available.

Slavin, Sarah
Coll #: 95-050
Date: 1905 - 1965
Extent: 1 record storage box (1 linear foot)
Location: 5:1:4
This collection focuses on Las Vegas physician Dr. Hale Slavin and his family. It includes school papers, family photographs, correspondence and memorabilia. Dr. Hale Slavin was hired 1938 by Clark County as county physician and obtained funds from the County Commission to install surgical facilities in the Clark County General Hospital - later University Medical Center (UMC).

Taber, Julian
Coll #: 2011-12
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 record storage carton)
Location: A 1:5:1
Collection is comprised of original drafts of articles and letters to Gambler's Anonymous written by Julian Taber; correspondence regarding the status of the Brecksville Gambling Treatment Program during his tenure; and audio tapes/interviews. Retired clinical psychologist Julian Taber was a pioneer in the compulsive and problem gambling field.

Wexler, Arnie and Sheilia
Coll #: 2011-12
Extent: 5 linear feet (5 record storage cartons)
Location: A 1:5:1 - A 1:5:3
Collection is comprised of materials from Arnie & Shelia Wexler - problem gambling consultants and counselors. Contains documents, articles, videotapes, and audio tapes on various aspects of problem, compulsive and pathological gambling.