Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Geology


Total manuscripts: 5

Geological Society of America
Coll #: 1029-2
Date: 1972-1974
Extent: 3 folders
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of correspondence between members of the Geological Society of America regarding plans for their annual conference in Las Vegas. Includes numerous letters from Chester Longwell. Also includes planning documents such as lists of speakers, preliminary program schedule, etc.

Longwell, Chester
Coll #: MS17
Date: 1919 - 1974
Extent: 19 boxes
Location: 1:5:3 - 1:5:5
The Chester Longwell Papers document his professional career as a geologist and his pioneering field work in Clark County, Nevada. Includes Longwell's field notes, manuscripts, articles and speeches related to geology (mostly of Clark County), personal and business correspondence, publications of Longwell's and colleagues. The collection also contains subject files, name files, and rock specimen tags.
Link to Collection Guide

Murphy, Franklin M.
Coll #: T130
Date: 1922 -1958
Extent: 6 storage boxes
Location: 2:5:1 - 2:5:4 Roller Shelf 1.7.7
Frank M. Murphy was a geologist active in Nevada. His collection contains numerous publications, articles, maps, and reports pertaining to geology and mining in Nevada. The collection also includes business and personal correspondence, resumes, and letters of application.

Spur, J. F.
Coll #: 1010
Date: ca. 1902-1913
Extent: 1folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of manuscript "Geology and Ore-Deposition at Tonopah, Nevada" by J.E. Spurr with hand-drawn diagrams. This manuscript is a geological description of the Tonopah mining area, and the Tonopah Mining Company is mentioned frequently. It is undated, but dates could be ca. 1902-1913.

Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Office Collection
Coll #: MS-00091
Date: 1958-2001
Extent: 106 linear feet (109 boxes and 2 oversized folders)
Location: LASR
The Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Office collection was assembled through a joint effort between the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and the James R. Dickinson Library, University of Nevada, Las Vegas to provide public access to documentation and correspondence about the proposed high-level radioactive waste geologic repository site near Yucca Mountain, Nevada. Materials include technical reports, contractor reports, public hearing transcripts, safety evaluation reports, environmental impact statements, emergency plans, inspection reports, licensee event reports, and general communications, dating from 1958 to 2001.
Link to Collection Guide