Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Gaming


Total manuscripts: 62

Page 1 of 2

1  2  Next  
Archer, John
Coll #: 1029-1
Date: 1973
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of galleys (spiral bound) of John Archer's book "The Archer Method of Winning at Blackjack." Published volume can be found in Special Collections stacks at: GV1295.B55 A7

Binion's Horseshoe
Coll #: 91-30
Date: 1920s-2003 (inclusive), 1970-1989 (bulk)
Extent: 9 linear feet (8 record storage boxes, 2 document boxes)
Location: 4:9:3 - 4:9:6
The collection spans a significant period in the history of Binions Horseshoe Club, one of the most notable casino-hotels in downtown Las Vegas, which was owned and operated by the Binion family from 1951 to 2004. Its contents reflect the contributions of patriarch and local celebrity Benny Binion to the gaming industry and his effect upon gaming in Las Vegas. Primarily covering the last decade of Binions life up until his death in 1989, the collection details the proceedings and media coverage of the World Series of Poker, hosted at the Horseshoe from 1970 until 2004, a significant endeavor that fundamentally changed the way that poker was viewed and played in the industry. The records also provide documentation on the promotional and advertising activities of the casino, as well as reflecting the influence of the Binions, especially Benny, in Las Vegas. The records consist mostly of publicity and promotional materials that include press releases and press kits, news and ad clippings, photographs, and advertising campaigns and ad copy, mainly generated by the office of Binion press agent Henri Bollinger.
Link to Collection Guide

Boardwalk Hotel and Casino
Coll #: 2006-01
Date: 1995-2005
Extent: 6.25 linear feet (5 record storage boxes)
Location: A: 3.10.1 - A: 3.10.2
Collection consists of publicity and promotional materials from the defunct Boardwalk Casino which closed on January 9,2006 to make way for MGM Mirage's City Center development. INVENTORY AVAILABLE
Link to Collection Guide

Boyd Gaming Corporate Archive
Coll #: 2006-08
Date: ca. 1999-2006
Extent: 1 record storage carton, 2 oversize flat box, and 4 document box
Location: 11:4:4 - 11:4:6
Initial donation of Boyd Gaming corporate archives -- annual reports, press clips,Boyd publications, VHS tapes, tear sheets, mags and newspapers on Boyd executives, properties, and corporation (note: one carton of Casino Journals will be checked against out copies and discarded if duplicates).

Central Credit Collection
Coll #: 2008-20
Date: 1956-1987
Extent: 5 linear feet (5 record storage cartons)
Location: A 1:3:4 A 1:3:7
Central Credit was established by Todd Early, a cashier at the Mapes Hotel in Reno, in 1956 to provide Reno casinos a centralized warehouse for casino check and credit information based upon "early returns", daily lists of returned checks provided by subscribing casinos. Casino cashiers called Central Credit on a direct line to check a customer's past credit, allowing casinos to share player information through secure lines. Later, banks and law enforcement agencies utilized Central Credit to assist in the identification of suspected bad checks. In 1964 Todd Early established Central Credit Inc. in Las Vegas to serve the Las Vegas casinos which were for several years unwilling to participate in any information sharing service. In 1970 a group of London casinos subscribed to Central Credit. The collection consists of corporate documents; financial records and ledgers; computer system/database development; phone logs; file cards; metal flip panels with Lindex strips; photographs; directories; business cards; Todd Earlys personal calendars/diaries.

Charter Hospital of Las Vegas
Coll #: 90-71
Date: 1968 - 1987
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box)
Location: 4:10:6
Collection is comprised of various professional papers, reports, articles and documents related to compulsive gambling and pathological gambling from Charter Hospital of Las Vegas. Some papers focus on treatment programs such as Gambler's Anonymous. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Christiansen, Eugene
Coll #: 2009-24
Extent: 200 linear feet
Location: LASR basement
The Eugene Christiansen Collection consists of the archives and reference library of Christiansen Capital Advisors (CCA) , a consulting firm for both private industry and government, including state and local governments; state lotteries and regulatory agencies; tribal governments; public and private racetrack, casino, and leisure corporations; litigation support; and institutional investors and venture capital firms. CCA produced studies of the economics, management, operations, taxation, valuation, and regulation of leisure and entertainment businesses in more than fifty states, provinces, and foreign countries, with particular focus on gaming and wagering. The subjects of these studies have included sports, entertainment, communications, casinos, sports wagering, lotteries, and all segments of the racing and pari-mutuel wagering industries.

Clark, Thomas PhD
Coll #: 89-73
Date: 1953 - 1987
Extent: 3.78 linear feet (9 document boxes)
Location: 4:12:4 - 4:12:5
Collection is comprised of the research files of UNLV linguistics professor and author, Thomas Clark, Ph.D. It includes gambling How-to guides distributed by the casinos, World Series of Poker Annuals, articles about the history and future of gambling, a copy of An Introduction to Casino Management, a Gaming Control Board Questionnaire and other State Gaming Board information. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Dombrink, John
Coll #: 93-14
Date: 1977
Extent: 11 linear feet (9 record storage boxes)
Location: 4:8:4 - 4:7:2
Collection contains an oral history by Mary Glass, and newspaper articles about gambling: effects gambling has on a community, gambling and crime, who should control gaming and the limits of the Nevada Board of Gaming, and a history of gambling in Nevada. Also included in this collection are issues of the Las Vegas Valley Almanac, Nevada Employment Salary Statistics and casino hotel guides.

Friedman, William
Coll #: T94
Date: 1974 - 1982
Extent: 2 linear feet (2 record storage boxes)
Location: 2:11:3
Collection contains manuscript copies of the first and second editions of Bill Friedman's Casino Management and the rough draft of the second edition.

Gambling Ephemera Collection
Coll #: 1025
Extent: 3 linear feet (3 boxes)
Location: Roller Shelf 1:6:7
This collection contains gambling memorabilia and information from around the world, items ranging from a report from the Commission to Investigate Alleged Police Corruption and a Dictionary of Police Terms used in the Knapp Commission Hearings to game rule books (in various languages), slot machine company promotional pamphlets and general newspaper articles about beating the house. Also included in this collection are 2 silver dice from Mexico, 2 wooden/plastic dice from Aruba-Bonaire Curacao, a $20 roll of fake silver dollars and Las Vegas Tourism Board lapel pins.

Gamlin, Art
Coll #: T76
Date: 1949 - 1950
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 record storage box)
Location: 1:12:4
Collection consists of sales binder of Arthur Gamlin & Co., a manufacturer of gaming tables, located in Kansas City, MO in 1949. Binder contains detailed price lists based on cloth costs, sizes and colors for table games such as blackjack, chemin de fer, craps and faro. Other materials in the collection include photographs, and negatives of the various gaming table layouts available.

Gomes, Dennis
Coll #: 2012-14
Date: 1970s-1980s
Extent: 1 document box (.42 linear feet)
Location: 13:7:4
Collection is comprised of photo copies of materials documenting investigations of Dennis Gomes in his role as Nevada Gaming Control Board Division Chief and Law Enforcement Officer. Includes work documenting investigations at the Stardust, Tropicana and other hotels for organized crime skim. NOTE: This collection is closed until January 1, 2018 according to the Deed of Gift. Access may only be granted before then by written permission of the donor. Please contact Special Collections staff at special.collections@unlv.edu for more information.

Hamilton, John
Coll #: 94-29
Date: ca. 1980-1991
Extent: 2 linear feet (2 record storage boxes)
Location: 4:6:6
Collection contains Keno pay charts INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Harrahs Entertainment Inc. Corporate Archives
Coll #: 2002-33
Date: 1940-1997
Extent: 73.78 linear feet (61 boxes, 117 binders)
Location: 10:12:4 - 10:10:1 Roller Shelf 2.4.1 and 2.4.2
The Harrah�s Entertainment, Inc. Collection was consciously created and developed as a corporate archives by Harrah�s corporate communications department and includes extensive promotional, entertainment and financial publications and files, and hundreds of photographs documenting the history and growth of the company, the construction and openings of its resort complexes, it�s operations, and the people who worked and performed at Harrah�s. The collection also contains a complete set of Harrah�s employee magazine Harrah-scope, from 1955, as well as corporate annual reports, newspaper clippings, advertising copy and designs, film, and videotape. There is extensive material about Bill Harrah himself, his large antique car collection, a collection of historic playing cards, as well as a large assortment of promotional items from the openings of various Harrah�s properties, and personal and corporate mementos. FINDING AID AVAILABLE

Harvey's Casino
Coll #: 2003-20
Date: ca. 1920s-1990s (inclusive); 1970s-1990s (bulk)
Extent: 24 linear feet
Location: Oversize periodicals shelf opposite 1:1:1- 1:2:6 Roller Shelf 2.4.4
Collection is comprised of of materials from Harvey's Hotel and Casino (Lake Tahoe) and includes documents, artifacts and gaming machines. The bulk of the collection consists of binders containing historical notes on casinos in every Nevada county, that were compiled by Harvey Fuller for Harvey's Casino owner, Harvey Gross, as research for a planned casino chip and token museum. Inventory of binders available. Please consult Manuscripts Librarian for access.

Hirsch, C. J.
Coll #: 87-111
Date: 1955 - 1987
Extent: 7 doc boxes, 1 slim doc, and 1 record storage box
Location: 3:9:4 - 3:9:6
Collection is comprised of the papers of Charles Hirsch, noted casino accountant for the Sands Hotel, news clippings of interviews with Hirsch on running a casino and "can you beat the system" etc., books, general correspondence about meetings and upcoming speeches for the American Society for Quality Control - Las Vegas Chapter, a copy of the Sands Hotel Master Gaming Report 1965. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Horse Racing Stamp
Coll #: 1029-5
Date: 1974
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of commemorative stamp saluting horse racing, first day of issue fact sheet, and a copy of Stamp News (3/18/74) featuring a story on the horse racing stamp.

International Association of Gaming Attorneys
Coll #: 85-113
Date: 1979 - 1985
Extent: 2 record storage boxes, 1 document box
Location: 2:1:6 - 3:1:1
Collection is comprised of materials collected by the International Association of Gaming Attorneys. Documents include gaming license applications from various corporations in Nevada and New Jersey, gaming publications, gaming -conference proceedings, gaming commission reports and correspondence of the National Association of Gaming Attorneys. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Jimenez, Miguel
Coll #: Mss20
Date: 1951
Extent: 1 folder ( 5 pages)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of two stock certificates, No. 9049 and 9986, of the Las Vegas Thoroughbred Racing Association; letter (n.d.) from Miguel G. Jimenez, Los Angeles, to Chalres (Charles) R. Horden, Las Vegas, authorizing purchase of stock of LVTRA; receipt for payment of 5 units of stock in LVTRA, dated 31 August 1951.

Kunkle, Victor
Coll #: 88-65
Date: 1864-1971
Extent: 1 flat box
Location: Roller Shelf 1:8:7
Collection consists of the following artifacts: dice sets from Las Vegas hotels, Clark County deputy badges, and a large coin and currency collection drawn from all over the world.

Las Vegas City Commission Minutes
Coll #: MS 80-188
Date: 1911-1960
Extent: 18 oversize volumes
Location: Special vertical shelves next to MS stacks
Collection is comprised of twelve volumes of original City of Las Vegas Commission Minutes that served as the official record of the proceedings of all Las Vegas City Commission meetings from 1911-1960. They are accompanied by three volumes of City of Las Vegas ordinances dating from 1911 to 1958, one volume of legal documents from 1944-1945 and two large volumes containing an alphabetical subject index to the topics covered in the minutes. They provide a valuable historical record of a wide variety of business and community activities in Las Vegas in the first fifty years of its incorporation.
Link to Collection Guide

Las Vegas Sports Teams Collection
Coll #: 2012-18
Date: 1990s-2000s
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box)
Location: 10:3:1
Collection is comprised of promotional materials on various Las Vegas professional sports teams. Includes Las Vegas Silver Streaks (Basketball),Las Vegas Thunder (Hockey), Las Vegas Coyotes (Hockey), Las Vegas Flash (Hockey), Las Vegas Dustdevils (Soccer), and Las Vegas Wranglers (Hockey). Inventory Available.

Lotteries
Coll #: 1024
Date: 1714-1980
Location: Roller Shelf 1:6:7
This collection is comprised of lottery tickets, advertisements, prize breakdowns and drawing schedules from around the world. There are 3 lottery tickets dated 1714 and 1715 the proceeds of which were to finance the cutting of a canal in Connecticut; an announcement of a lottery to be held for household goods in 18th century England; and several other lottery tickets and drawing schedules from 18th and 19th century United States and Europe. There is also included in this collection an undated deck of 25 cards called the Hands of Poker printed in London, England, and a letter from the Postmaster General announcing a new law making it illegal to mail lottery information dated in 1876.

Luckman, John
Coll #: T58
Date: 1977 - 1978
Extent: 1 doc box
Location: 1:11:5
Collection contains the typescripts and page proofs of the following gaming books: Gambler's Bedside Book edited by John K. Hutchens; The Big Player by Roger Rapoport and Ken Uston; How to Play and Win at Poker by John Montgomery (page proofs). Published copies of all three books are in UNLV Special Collections stacks.

Malcolm, David G.
Coll #: 85-122
Date: 1944 - 1978
Extent: x
Location: 3:1:3
Collection consists of the papers of David G. Malcom. Much of the collection includes documents from his work within the audit division of the Nevada Gaming Control Board. Other materials focus on Basic Magnesium Inc. (BMI) and Henderson history. Contains an almost complete run of BMI newsletters such as the Big Job and Basic Bombardier. There are also a variety of news clippings (invention of the electric meter, price of silver, the movie industry), brochures and articles from Las Vegas and Reno in the 1950s and 1960s.

Mancuso Casino Collection
Coll #: 2005-10
Date: 1994
Location: 10:2:6 - 10:1:2
Collection consists of pre-production location photographs from the Martin Scorsese-directed film, "Casino" (1995), including location lists, crew lists, field notes and script. Materials were compiled by Maggie Mancuso in her role as a location scout in Las Vegas for the film production company.

Mandalay Resort Group Archives
Coll #: 2005-34
Date: 1995-2004
Location: LASR
80 record storage cartons of publicity and promotional materials (and scrapbook and surfboard) from Mandalay Resort Group to included Circus Circus and Mandalay Bay Hotel/Casino [Mandalay Resort Group was subsumed under MGM Mirage Inc this year]. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE NOTE: THIS COLLECTION IS STORED IN LIED LIBRARYS LASR SYSTEM, PLEASE CALL AHEAD TO OBTAIN BOXES.
Link to Collection Guide

Meiklejohn, Patrick
Coll #: 94-41
Date: ca. 1980s-1990s
Extent: 3 record storage boxes
Location: 4:5:2 - 4:5:3
Collection consists of 100+ decks of casino playing cards and miscellaneous casino memorabilia of undetermined amount and cost.

MGM Mirage - Diversity Offices
Coll #: 2008-26
Date: 1990s-2000s
Extent: 7 record storage cartons (7 linear feet)
Location: back stacks - see Su Kim
Collection is comprised of additional materials from MGM Mirage offices -- Diversity Offices.

MGM Mirage Corporate Archives
Coll #: 2002-11
Extent: 3 oversize boxes, 6 record storage cartons
Location: A: 3.10.2 - 3.10.6
Collection consists of photographs and ephemera from MGM properties including the Bellagio, Mirage, and Golden Nugget. This is will be part of an ongoing donation from MGM Mirage Corporate Offices and includes previous accessions.

MGM Mirage Corporate Archives - Accretion
Coll #: 2009-26
Date: 2009
Extent: 1 document box (.42 linear feet)
Location: 11:4:2
Additional materials from MGM Mirage for their corporate archives collection - promotional materials from the City Center development at its December 2009 opening. Consists of promotional materials, brochures, publicity packets, and catalogs from the various properties such as Aria and the Mandarin Oriental. Also contains material on the public art installation at City Center.

MGM Mirage Corporation
Coll #: 2002-11
Date: 1990-2005
Extent: 15.07 linear feet, 31 boxes.
The collection encompasses news clippings, correspondence, marketing and events, photographs and a variety of audio-visual materials from 1990-2005. There are advertising, contracts, and corporate officer's bios as well as conference materials and an impact study done by the American Gaming Association. Diversity efforts of the corporation are also documented.

Moore, James
Coll #: 1015
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of three photocopied typescripts: The Dice Killer, Casino Dealer's Best Friend, and Expert at the Blackjack Tables.

Nevada Council on Problem Gambling
Coll #: 2004-19
Date: 1978-1995
Location: 10:4:2
Collection consists of material documenting the orgins of the Nevada Council on Problem Gambling. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE

Nevada Gaming 50th anniversary
Coll #: T156
Date: 1981
Extent: 1 doc box
Location: 2:3:1
Collection consists of material commemorating the 50th anniversary of the legalization of casino gaming in Nevada and includes plaques, news releases, articles, etc.

New York New York Hotel/ Casino -- 9/11 Heroes Tribute Display Collection
Coll #: 2002-28
Date: 2001-2002
Location: 10:12:3
Collection consists of materials documenting the Heroes of 9-11 display to be installed at the New York New York Hotel/Casino in December 2002. Includes press kit, presentation booklet, videotapes, and news clippings.

Nora MD, Rena
Coll #: 2011-24
Date: 1970s-2000s
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box)
Location: A 1:7:6
Collection is comprised of articles, awards, correspondence, papers and reports dealing with Dr. Rena Nora's clinical work on compulsive gambling in the United States and Las Vegas in particular. Dr. Nora was a pioneering expert in compulsive gambling issues with a national reputation. Inventory available.

Ponticello, John
Coll #: 87-20
Date: 1963 - 1970
Extent: 1 document box
Location: 3:4:1
Collection consists of copies of a variety of gaming related materials that include gaming licenses, gaming applications, work cards for Clark County and Las Vegas. The main focus of the collection is on The Research Gambling Game Project, conducted by Ponticello through th the Oregon Research Institute and for the University of Michigan. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Powell, Stephen
Coll #: Mss40
Date: 1972
Extent: 1 folder (containing 69 typescript pages)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of the manuscript copy of Powell's gambling bibliography based on the collections at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. The published copy is in the Special Collections book stacks.

Powell, Stephen
Coll #: 2009-13
Extent: 2 record storage cartons, 1 doc box and 3 index card boxes (2.83 linear feet)
Location: 4:12:2
Collection is comprised of research and bibliograpghical materials and notes of Stephen Powell on gaming and his published bibliography of gaming.

Price, Bob
Coll #: 85-89
Date: 1975 - 1980
Extent: 3 boxes
Location: 2:1:3 - 2:1:4
Collection is comprised of the legislative records of Nevada assemblyman Robert Price. Much of the collection concerns a legislative subcommittee appointed to investigate insurance practices in Nevada. Documents include clippings, letters, minutes, testimony, press releases and reports related to automobile insurance in Nevada. Other legislative concerns included in this collection relate to housing, flood control, fire protection, tax regulations, gaming regulations and the Nevada Gaming Commission. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Renglehoff, Evan
Coll #: 2006-05
Date: ca. 1930s-1940s
Extent: 4 oversize boxes
Location: 11:4:3 - 11:4:4
Collection is comprise of 42 assorted punch board devices with identifying documentation.

Revere, Lawrence
Coll #: Mss44
Date: 1965 -1970
Extent: 7 folders (containing 109 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists primarily of Lawrence Revere's correspondence with authors and creators of blackjack systems. Revere authored numerous books on blackjack strategy. Correspondents include Dr. Allan N. Wilson, Louis G. Halloway, Julian H. Braun, Edward O. Thorp, and John Reppert. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Sarno, Jay
Coll #: 2009-03
Date: 1965-2001 (bulk 1966-1973)
Extent: 1.76 linear feet (1 document box, 1 oversize box, 1 oversize folder)
Location: 13:8:6
This collection is comprised primarily of publicity and promotional materials documenting the Caesars Palace Hotel and Casino Resort and the Circus Circus Hotel and Casino Resort. Both resorts were the brainchild of hotel and casino developer Jay Sarno, and there is a small amount of material on Sarno in the collection such as newspaper clippings and a press release. The collection includes property ephemera, magazine and newspaper clippings, informational brochures from the two properties and press kits. There is a small amount of correspondence but none that was actually composed by Sarno. It also includes a rare prospectus and stock offerings on Sarno�s never-realized Grandissimo Hotel and Casino resort that was to have been built on Interstate 15 to the west of the Las Vegas Strip. FINDING AID AVAILABLE
Link to Collection Guide

Schwartz, Sonny
Coll #: 2001-14
Date: 1970s-1990s
Extent: 14 document boxes, 1 record storage box (7.09 linear feet)
Location: 9:4:1 - 9:4:3
Collection consists of audio cassette tapes from the radio show of Sonny Schwartz, Atlantic City journalist and radio host. Other material in the collection includes news clippings, video tapes, correspondence, radio program guest schedules, and newspaper columns written by Schwartz. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Shapiro, S. R.
Coll #: 1016
Date: ca 1800 - 1960
Extent: 1 oversize box (1 linear foot)
Location: Roller Shelf 1:6:6
Collection contains a wide variety of gambling memorabilia and gaming instructions and pamphlets from casinos around the world: Venice, Monte Carlo, Curacao, Paris, Miami, Las Vegas, Panama, Mexico and Aruba. There is also a copy of a French natural history book entitled Memoires de la Societe DHistoire Naturelle de Paris dated either 1799 or 1807. Inside the book are attached ads and lottery announcements from English Newspapers dating from 1811 to 1816.

Silberstang, Edwin
Coll #: T110
Date: 1973
Extent: 1 record storage box (1 linear foot)
Location: 2:8:5
The Edwin Silberstang collection contains rough draft, carbon, and final copies of the book, "Playboy's Book of Games".

Smith, Benjamin Franklin
Coll #: 1013
Date: ca. 1960s
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of (photocopied typescript) the autobiography of professional gambler Benjamin Franklin Smith, ("Lady Luck and I") who gained fame after creating a system to beat the blackjack tables, and newsclippings about Smith from Las Vegas newspapers.

Spilde, Katherine Tribal Gaming Research Files
Coll #: MS-00092
Date: 1908, 1974-2012, (bulk 1991-2011)
Extent: 41.1 linear feet (41 boxes)
Location: A 2:2:5 - 2:5:4
The collection comprises research files of Katherine Spilde, focusing on resources that informed her work with the National Indian Gaming Association (NIGA), National Gaming Impact Study Commission (NGISC), and the Harvard Project on American Indian Economic Development. The material dates from 1908 and 1970 to 2013, and includes social and economic impact studies; compacts between states and tribal governments; copies of court judgments and Senate/House bills; articles and clippings regarding tribal gaming, responsible gaming, and other gaming-related topics; tribal newsletters; and various gaming publications and promotional material.
Link to Collection Guide

Page 1 of 2

1  2  Next