Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Environment


Total manuscripts: 28

Blue Diamond Mine Collection
Coll #: 2005-15
Date: 1943-2000
Extent: 6 linear feet (6 record storage cartons)
Location: 10:1:2 - 11:1:6
Collection is comprised of the business records of the Blue Diamond Mine located in Blue Diamond, Nevada. The Blue Diamond Mine produced gypsum.

Citizen Alert
Coll #: 2000-08
Extent: 6 linear feet (6 record storage boxes)
Location: 7:12:6 - 8:12:2
Collection consists of the organizational records of Citizen Alert, a grassroots environmental group based in Nevada. They provide education, advocacy, and empowerment to citizens on matters of environmental policy and environmental justice. They have been particularly active with regard to Yucca Mountain. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Desert Fishes Council Collection
Coll #: 2010-12
Date: 1969-1988
Extent: 4 linear feet (4 record storage cartons)
Location: 3:7:1 -- 3:7:2
The collection consists of the records of the Desert Fishes Council (DFC), an organization devoted to the study and preservation of desert fishes, notably the desert pupfish. The collection documents the activities and efforts of the DFC to promote and protect desert fishes. Comprised of resolutions, meeting minutes, and symposia programs, agenda, and press releases, the collection showcases the DFCs determination to bring the plight of desert fishes to the attention of the academy and the public. The collection provides an excellent case study of the increased acceptance of the worth of desert lands and the rise of the American environmental movement. Materials in the collection date from 1969-1988.
Link to Collection Guide

Desert Pupfish
Coll #: MS20
Date: 1972 - 1976
Extent: 1.68 linear feet (4 document boxes)
Location: 1:6:1 - 1:6:2
Collection consists of legal documents concerning the Desert Pupfish court case - Francis Cappaert vs. U. S. Case number 74-1107. Includes reporters transcripts, case files (incomplete), deposition of James E. Deacon, photographs of exhibits. Includes decisions on case number 74-1107. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Environmental Radiation Protection Standards for Yucca Mountain, Nevada
Coll #: MS 2014-01
Extent: 73.75 linear feet (59 record storage cartons)
Location: LASR
The Environmental Radiation Protection Standards for Yucca Mountain, Nevada collection is an information docket established by the U. S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA). The collection contains documents supporting the development of regulatory decisions by EPA on radiation protection standards for Yucca Mountain, Nevada, as a potential site for a radioactive waste storage repository. The collection includes regulatory notices, technical documents, environmental reports, letters, minutes of meetings, public comments, and other materials.
Link to Collection Guide

Greenpeace
Coll #: 95-51
Date: 1980-1990s
Extent: 5 linear feet (5 record storage boxes)
Location: 5:1:5 - 5:2:1
Collection is comprised of the organizational records of the Las Vegas chapter of Greenpeace. This includes the organizations opposition to the MX Missile Complex, tax records, other environmental newsletters, and Greenpeace distribution materialsbumper stickers, lapel pins, coloring books and catalogs.

Griffith, Robert B.
Coll #: 90-48
Date: 1928 - 1968
Extent: 1.42 linear feet (1 document box and 1 record storage box)
Location: 4:10:2
This collections consists of Robert Griffiths papers pertaining to the Colorado River Commission (he was chairman at one point in his career) on water rights, usage and alternate water sources. Included is a feasibility study of the mechanical system for the Griffith Phytotronics Laboratories, labs designed for experimenting with plant growth and development. And finally, the collection has news clippings about the national air races from 1928, a photograph of an early airplane, Griffiths American Legion papers and the death and burial records belonging to his father, an embalmer. A later addition to the collection included slides of various countries including the United States, Europe, Middle and Far East, Canada.

Hock, Raymond
Coll #: 90-19
Date: 1946-1991
Extent: 1 oversize box
Location: 2:1:1 Roller Shelf 2.1.1
Collection contains a scrapbook of photos (setting traps for radio tagged birds in Alaska, at the Arctic Research Lab at Point Barrow) and programs chronicling the life of the late Dr. Raymond Hock of the Desert Research Institute and UNLV zoology.

Janish, Jeanne Russell
Coll #: 95-31
Date: 1917-1994
Extent: 6 doc boxes, 4 slim doc boxes, 1 record storage box, 2 OVERSIZE boxes
Location: 4:1:1 - 4:1:3 Roller Shelf 2.1.4 -2.1.7
Collection is comprised of the personal papers of Jeanne Russel Janish, a Nevada artist and illustrator noted for her botanical illustrations. Janish traveled widely in China as a young woman and produced numerous pencil drawings and watercolors of that country. In her later years, she focused on the American Southwest. She was a graduate of Vassar and held a Masters degree from Stanford. Material in this collection includes school report cards, detailed diaries from 1918-1964, 1968, and 1973, personal correspondence, family papers, and two original manuscripts. The collection also contains several publications pertaining to her and her husband's interests, craft materials, drawing tools, photocopies of dried flowers, watercolor paintings, and pencil sketches. COLLECTION GUIDE AVAILABLE

Kane Springs Ranch Collection
Coll #: 2009-11
Extent: 1.42 linear feet (1 document box, and 1 record storage carton)
Location: Consult Director of Special Collections for access
Collection is comprised of records from the Kane Springs Ranch in Meadow Valley Wash, and those of Mrs. Joan Stuart, its last owner . The ranch was originally known as the Kane Springs Ranch, then the Huntsman Ranch after the Huntsman family who owned it, then the Stuart ranch when the ranch was purchased by Bradley Stuart. Bradleys son, Robert was Joan Stuarts husband. The ranch had a large orchard and small mining operations. It was located on the wagon road between the Muddy River Mormon settlements and Pioche, now the Union Pacific railroad tracks. Records include history of the Huntsman family, acquisition of right of way by the railroad, water rights, mining, and acquisition of the ranch by the BLM. There is a 5-year restriction on the documents relating to the sale and sale price of the ranch.

Las Vegas Monorail Collection
Coll #: 2007--28
Date: 1971-1979
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box)
Location: 13:6:4
Collection is comprised of documents relating to the failed Las Vegas monorail (Las Vegas Transist System) development of the early 1970s. Includes newspaper clippings, brochures, correspondence, legal documents, legislative documents, and environmental impact statements.

Longwell, Chester
Coll #: MS17
Date: 1919 - 1974
Extent: 19 boxes
Location: 1:5:3 - 1:5:5
The Chester Longwell Papers document his professional career as a geologist and his pioneering field work in Clark County, Nevada. Includes Longwell's field notes, manuscripts, articles and speeches related to geology (mostly of Clark County), personal and business correspondence, publications of Longwell's and colleagues. The collection also contains subject files, name files, and rock specimen tags.
Link to Collection Guide

MX in Nevada (Hulse, James)
Coll #: Mss17
Date: 1980
Extent: 2 folders (containing 13 pages and 1 bound item)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection contains a published series of essays entitled "MX in Nevada: A Humanistic Perspective" ( Reno : Nevada Humanities Commission, 1980), Francis X. Hartigan, editor. Includes James W. Hulse's typescript draft with handwritten edits of "A View from Pioche," excerpted from the aforementioned work for delivery to Labor Day Celebration Humanities program in Pioche Nevada, 31 August 1980.

MX Missile
Coll #: T157
Date: 1981
Extent: 1 doc box
Location: 2:3:1
MX review committee and subcommittee reports and draft environmental statement for the MX Missile Project.

Nevada State Park System
Coll #: T23
Date: [1883] - 1981
Extent: 3 boxes (15 linear in.)
Location: 1:10:3 - 1:10:4
Collection consists of select records from the Nevada State Park System. Includes administration and planning documents, financial records, correspondence and news clippings. Collection includes documentation on the Spring Mountain Ranch, Valley of Fire, Death Valley National Monument, and general information on caves.

Nevada Wildlife Federation
Coll #: 98-04
Date: 1993 - 1998
Extent: 1 box (1.1 linear ft.)
Location: 7:8:6
Collection contains the records for the Nevada Wildlife Federation, the organization bylaws and Board of Director minutes and copies of their newsletters Western Sportsman and Nevada Wildlife.

PEPCON
Coll #: MS4
Date: 1988
Extent: 1 doc box
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists primarily of news clippings, and reports on the explosion that took place at the Henderson-based PEPCON plant in 1988.

Perkins, R.F. "Chick"
Coll #: 98-08
Extent: 2 record storage boxes, 2 doc boxes
Location: 13:5:1 - 13:5:2
Collection consists of personal papers and photographs of R.F. "Chick" Perkins, who was active in the development of archaeological and museum studies in southern Nevada as well as the reactivation of the Nevada Park Service.

Pichot, Mary Kozlowski
Coll #: MS-00375
Date: 1969-1991
Extent: 1.3 Linear Feet (3 boxes)
Location: 5:7:4
The Mary Kozlowski Pichot Papers document the environmental activism of Mary Kozlowski Pichot from 1969 to 1991. The collection focuses on the environmental groups and planning committees that Pichot belonged to, including Aquavision, the Citizens' Advisory Committee, and Las Vegas 2000 and Beyond. The materials address water conservation plans, pollution alleviation efforts, and strategies to clean the Las Vegas Wash and Las Vegas Bay in Nevada.
Link to Collection Guide

Pueblo Grande
Coll #: T143
Date: 1926 - 1980
Extent: 1 record storage box, 2 slim document boxes (1.42 linear feet)
Location: 2:4:6 Roller Shelf 1.6.4
The Pueblo Grande collection contains essays and correspondence for nomination and documentation of inclusion to the National Register. It also contains photographs and an inventory of Pueblo and Anasazi artifacts included in the Pueblo Grande de Nevada site, Lost City Museum.

Rathbun, Frank D.
Coll #: T144
Date: 1919 - 1939
Extent: 1 document box, 2 slim doc boxes, and 2 flat boxes
Location: 2:3:1 Roller Shelf 1.5.8
The Rathbun papers include publications on the Colorado Aqueduct and telephone lines at Hayfield and the Colorado Rim. There is also a descriptive chapter on desert mirages and archeological field notes written by Rathbun. The archeological materials include inventories from sites in the Southern Great Basin, photos of dwellings and pictographs (taken in the 30s), Nevada Highways and Parks promotional brochures and general newspaper articles on anthropology and archeology (1920s-1930s).

Red Rock Audubon Society
Coll #: 97-13
Date: 1983-1996
Extent: 1 slim doc ument box (.21 linear feet)
Location: 6:6:2
Collection consists primarily of issues of the Rock Wren, the newsletter of the Red Rock Audubon Society. There are a few items relating to the National Audubon Society as well.

Red Rock Canyon National Recreation Area
Coll #: MS-00399
Date: 1965-1998
Extent: 1 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: 7:8:5
The Red Rock Canyon National Conservation records (1965-1998) contain information about the Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area (previously the Red Rock Canyon Recreation Lands). It largely consists of newspaper clippings on a variety of events related to Red Rock Canyon from 1965 to 1998 with the bulk from the 1980s and 1990s. The records also include Bureau of Land Management documents pertaining to interpretive efforts, visitation statistics, and law enforcement reports. Also included are the newsletters (1990-1998) and volunteer training manual of the Friends of Red Rock Canyon, a non-profit volunteer organization.
Link to Collection Guide

Sagel, Lois
Coll #: 2010-10
Date: 1991-1995
Extent: .42 linear feet (2 slim document boxes)
Location: 13:8:5
This collection consists of the papers of Lois Sagel, an environmentalist and advocate for the preservation of Nevadas wilderness. The collection primarily documents the campaigns surrounding the efforts to expand Red Rock Canyon National Conservation Area (1994) as well as to designate the Spring Mountains National Recreation Area (1993). Additionally, information on minor land exchanges and the Question 5/S.B. 189 bond issue to fund state parks (considered in 1989 and 1990). Though the bulk of the collection is comprised of newspaper clippings, some correspondence, memoranda, photographs, and slides are also included. Also included is a photo album containing photographs from the dedication ceremony of the Mount Charleston Wilderness.
Link to Collection Guide

Sierra Club Records Toiyabe Chapter, Southern Nevada Group
Coll #: 87-96
Date: bulk, 1980-1997 (inclusive, 1970-2003)
Extent: 15 linear feet (3 document boxes and 11 record storage cartons)
Location: 3:7:3-3:8:2
The Sierra Club Collection at the University of Nevada, Las Vegas is composed of files from Sierra Club officers and activists in the Southern Nevada (formerly Las Vegas) Group of the Toiyabe Chapter. A major portion of the archive comes from the work of Jeff van Ee, who has been active in the Sierra Club in Nevada since the early 1970s. The collection documents the involvement of the Southern Nevada Group in a variety of environmental issues. Comprised of correspondence, memoranda, meeting minutes and agenda, newspapers, magazines, newsletters, pamphlets, press releases, legislation, recommendations, resolutions, and general information, the collection showcases the variety of environmental issues in which the chapter has expressed interest. Due to the groups location in the heart of the Mojave Desert, the collection provides excellent case studies of significant changes in the post-World War II American environmental movement, notably the increased acceptance of the worth of desert lands.
Link to Collection Guide

Van Ee, Jeff
Coll #: 2003-13
Date: 1988-2005
Extent: 6.67 linear feet (1 document box, 5 record storage cartons, 2 oversize map storage)
Location: 3:11:4-3:12:1
The collection consists of the papers of John Jeffrey van Ee, an active environmentalist in Southern Nevada from roughly 1972 to 2010. The collection documents a portion of van Ees record of environmental activity, notably his participation on dozens of environmental committees in the Las Vegas and Clark County areas as well as his interest in the development of the Coyote Spring Valley. Comprised of correspondence, memoranda, reports, studies, and meeting agenda and minutes, the collection showcases the breadth of van Ees environmental awareness and the extent of his activism. As van Ee was active at a time when Las Vegass population exploded and new demands were placed on the environment and its resources, the collection documents the increased importance awarded to environmental issues in both American culture-at-large as well as American national and local governments.
Link to Collection Guide

Wittwer, John
Coll #: T101
Date: 1919 -1948
Extent: 5 record storage boxes and 1doc box
Location: 2:10:3 - 2:10:5
Collection consists of the reports of Southern Nevada Agricultural Extension Agent (County Agent), J.H. Wittwer dating from 1919-1948. The reports contain photographs and information on subjects such as the dairy industry, soil conditions, vegetable production, and flood control in southern Nevada. The reports also detail much of the 4-H activity in the area during this time.
Link to Collection Guide

Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Office Collection
Coll #: MS-00091
Date: 1958-2001
Extent: 106 linear feet (109 boxes and 2 oversized folders)
Location: LASR
The Yucca Mountain Site Characterization Office collection was assembled through a joint effort between the Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) and the James R. Dickinson Library, University of Nevada, Las Vegas to provide public access to documentation and correspondence about the proposed high-level radioactive waste geologic repository site near Yucca Mountain, Nevada. Materials include technical reports, contractor reports, public hearing transcripts, safety evaluation reports, environmental impact statements, emergency plans, inspection reports, licensee event reports, and general communications, dating from 1958 to 2001.
Link to Collection Guide