You are here
Manuscripts by SubjectsManuscripts -> Entertainment
Total manuscripts: 79
Coll #: 2004-20
Extent: 9 boxes
Location: A 6:2:4 – A 6:2:5
Gordon Munford was born in California. A music director, he was a nine year resident of Las Vegas, a member of the Musician's Union and American Symphony Orchestra League. He was a former board member for the Association of Musical Arrangers. He directed and conducted more than 65 musicals from off Broadway's "Little Mary Sunshine' the the Tony award-winning Broadway hit "1776". While in Southern Nevada, Munford wrote arrangements for several local musical groups. He passed away in 1999. The collection is comprised of a small box of photographs and programs, the remaining boxes are music manuscripts.
Coll #: 2004-13
Collection consists of four scrapbooks containing newspaper clippings, photographs, programs and correspondence from the 1960s regarding the Musician's Wives organization.
Nevada Biltmore Hotel
Coll #: 2003-28
Collection consists of a scrapbook on the Nevada Biltmore Hotel, located in downtown Las Vegas. The scrapbook contains photographs of the hotel, hotel stationary, a menu and news clippings announcing who will be staying at the Biltmore and who will be appearing and performing. There are also news clippings about city leaders.
Nevada Motion PictureDivision
Coll #: MS5
Extent: 24 doc boxes
Location: 1:1:3 - 1:1:6
Collection is comprised of film scripts from the Motion Picture and Television Division of the Nevada Commission on Economic Development. All film and television scripts were set around Las Vegas or in the Nevada desert. Notable titles include "Vegas Vacation," "Honeymoon in Vegas," and "Leaving Las Vegas." INVENTORY AVAILABLE
Coll #: 88-158
Date: 1966 - 1986
Extent: 1 box
Wayne Newton fan club memorabilia, newsclippings, articles, correspondence, promotional materials and recordings all pertaining to Wayne Newton and his career in Las Vegas. See inventory.
Coll #: 88-158
Date: 1970 - 1988
Extent: 2 boxes
Collection is comprised of Wayne Newton Fan Club memorabilia. It includes news clippings, articles, newsletters, correspondence, promotional materials and recordings all pertaining to Wayne Newton and his career in Las Vegas. INVENTORY AVAILABLE
Coll #: 2004-16
Location: A 6:1:4 – A 6:1:5
Collection consists of music manuscripts and sheet music of John Pace.
Coll #: 2002-24
Location: 9:12:1 - 9:12:2
Collection consists of newsletters, correspondence, etc of Lamont Patterson. SEE ARNOLD SHAW ARCHIVIST FOR INVENTORY
Coll #: 2005-04
Extent: 1 folder
Papers of Margaret Phelan, singer, who entertained on the Las Vegas Strip in the 1950s. One folder of news clippings and other documents.
Coll #: 2002-12
The personal papers of Cork Proctor, musician and entertainer. Collection contains flyers, awards, contracts, clippings, reviews and two transcribed oral interviews. SEE ARNOLD SHAW ARCHIVIST FOR INVENTORY
Rawls, Ellen Burke
Coll #: 2002-19
Extent: 1 record storage box (1 linear foot)
Collection consists of newspaper columns on Atlantic City entertainment by Atlantic City journalist Ellen Burke Rawls. Other materials include correspondence and columns on various aspects of Atlantic City and New Jersey life.
Coll #: 2004-14
Location: A 6:1:1 – A 6:1:3
Collection consists of musical manuscripts from Johnny Ray.
Coll #: 2008-08
Extent: 3 record storage cartons, 1 oversize box, large poster and cutout figure. (5.09 linear feet)
Collection is comprised of the personal papers of Carmella Rickman aka Carmella, the Sophia Loren of Burlesque. Comprised of photographs, promotional ephemera (cards, table tents, etc), magazines featuring Carmella, newspaper clippings featuring her performances, costume ca. 1975, large poster, and lifesize cutout.
Coll #: 2000-12
Date: 1952 - 1979
Location: 8:12:6 - 8:9:3 Roller Shelf 2.2.5 and 2.2.6
The Sands Collection is comprised of the publicity files of Al Freeman, Publicity Director of the Sands Hotel for many years. Materials in the collection include business documents, correspondence, press releases, news clippings and advertisements etc. but the bulk of the collection is comprised of photographs. The collection is particularly rich in photographs of celebrities and entertainers, the Rat Pack being the most prominent among these. There is also a significant amount of material on the Copa Girls. INVENTORY AVAILABLE
Link to Collection Guide
Coll #: 2001-14
Extent: 14 document boxes, 1 record storage box (7.09 linear feet)
Location: 9:4:1 - 9:4:3
Collection consists of audio cassette tapes from the radio show of Sonny Schwartz, Atlantic City journalist and radio host. Other material in the collection includes news clippings, video tapes, correspondence, radio program guest schedules, and newspaper columns written by Schwartz. INVENTORY AVAILABLE
Coll #: 2001-13
Location: 9:3:6 - 9:4:1
The collection is comprised of the papers of the songwriter and popular music historian, Arnold Shaw, and contains material spanning the years from Shaw’s college days in New York City during the 1920s until his passing in 1991. There are newspaper articles, journal entries, promotional materials, and numerous photos documenting his career. Shaw was a prolific writer and the collection includes dozens of his articles, short stories, plays and biographies. Also included are the galley notes, research material and scratch copies for each of his eleven books. Shaw was the author of biographies on Frank Sinatra and Harry Belafonte and books such as The Jazz Age, Dictionary of Pop/Rock, Black Popular Music in America, and Fifty-Second Street. Records from his music company, Mansion Music, comprise one series, and another series is devoted to sheet music, some of which was written or produced by Shaw. There are also various printed materials and one box of sound reels.
Link to Collection Guide
Silver Slipper Scrapbook
Coll #: Roller Shelf
Extent: 1 oversize box (1.67 linear feet)
Location: Roller Shelf 1:5:1
Collection consists of 1 scrapbook containing advertisements announcing upcoming performers and performance reviews at the Silver Slipper Casino.
St. Denis, Ruth
Coll #: 85-112
Date: 1905 - 1984
Extent: 1 record storage box, 1 document box, 3 oversize boxes (6.76 linear feet)
Location: 2:1:5, RS 2:1:7 & RS 2:5:7
The Ruth St. Denis Collection pertains to the St. Denis School of Dance in Los Angeles, CA. The collection contains scrapbooks filled with magazine cutouts from early 20th century- performers and celebrities. It also includes a variety of books on costume and dance. INVENTORY AVAILABLE
Stardust Hotel and Casino
Coll #: 2006-17
Date: 1958-2006 (bulk 1988-2006)
Extent: 312 boxes (219 linear ft)
Collection is comprised of public relations and marketing materials from the Stardust Hotel and Casino. It includes documents, photographs, video, artifacts, ephemera, internal and external publications. There is material from the following departments or events: food and beverage, slot club, sports, special events, tournaments, and drawings. In addition, there is extensive documentation on the hotel's entertainment efforts such as Lido de Paris, Enter the Night, Wayne Newton and others. Historical files on the Stardust Hotel and general information on Boyd Gaming are also included in the collection. INVENTORY AVAILABLE
Coll #: 86-066
Date: 1953 - 1981
Extent: 1 document box (.42 linear feet)
The collection of Maury Stevens, a Las Vegas advertising executive who worked at a number of Strip hotels and edited Las Vegas Life and Now Magazine. The collection contains a variety of programs, brochures, photos, magazines and news clippings pertaining to hotels, performers and special events in Las Vegas. INVENTORY AVAILABLE
Coll #: 86-056
Date: 1949 - 1969
Extent: 8 linear ft
Location: 3:2:6 Roller Shelf 1.8.2
The Evelyn Stuckey Collection focuses on the Las Vegas Rhythmettes, a unique dance/pep club for girls that was active at Las Vegas High School in the 1950s and 1960s. It includes news clippings, magazine articles, photographs, correspondence and a number of other documents pertaining to Rhythmettes founder Evelyn Stuckey and the Rhythmettes organization.
Link to Collection Guide
Coll #: 2003-11
Location: 11:6:1- 11:6:3
Collection consists of the personal papers and photographs of Croatian-born choreographer, Vassili Sulich, founder of the Nevada Dance Theatre, the first professional ballet company in Nevada. Includes materials from his time as a professional ballet dancer in Europe, and as dancer at the Follies Bergere at the Tropicana Hotel in Las Vegas. Collection is comprised of photographs, news clippings, correspondence, programs, posters, scrapbooks, and various ephemera.
Thunderbird Hotel Collection
Coll #: T100
Date: 1968 - 1973
Extent: 3.55 linear feet (8 document boxes and 1 slim document box)
Location: 2:10:1 - 2:10:3
The Thunderbird Hotel Collection is comprised of material from the hotel’s entertainment department. It contains a variety of photographs, memos, news releases, news clippings, contracts, slides, posters and articles pertaining to entertainers and shows at the Thunderbird. Collection is arranged alphabetically by name of entertainer or act.
Link to Collection Guide
Coll #: 88-142
Date: 1955 -1987
Extent: 3 boxes
Location: 3:12:5 Roller Shelf 2.1.1
The Charles Vanda Collection contains a variety The Charles Vanda Collection contains a variety of achievement awards, plaques, and certificates that were presented to Charles Vanda throughout his career. It also contains some news clippings and articles pertaining to Charles Vanda, the arts and UNLV. broadcasting pioneer and, after his retirement from CBS, a leader in the Las Vegas arts community. INVENTORY AVAILABLE
Variety, Children's Chariety of Southern Nevada
Coll #: 2012-07
Extent: 9.34 linear feet (2 record storage cartons, 5 OS scrapbooks)
Location: Roller shelves and annex
Collection is comprised primarily of photographs of Variety's various charity events over the years, some clippings, and video tapes, and 5-6 oversize scrapbooks detailing the work of Variety from its founding in 1950 until the present day.
Vinas, Jose Luis
Coll #: 2003-10
Extent: 1 oversize box, 1 oversize folder, 1 document box
Location: ROLLER SHELF 2.4.1, Oversize Manuscript Drawer, and 10:8:5
Collection consists of the costume designs, news clippings, and photographs of noted Las Vegas costume designer, Jose Luis Vinas, who designed for producer Frederic Apcar in shows such as Vive Les Girls and Casino de Paris.
Coll #: MS 2001-17
Date: 1887-1999 (inclusive)
Extent: 52 document boxes (28.48 linear feet)
Location: 9:4:4 - 9:5:6
This collection is comprised of the personal papers of noted Las Vegas entertainment writer, producer, and critic Bill Willard. It is a comprehensive collection that contains material on his father’s theater and political involvements as well as Willard's early childhood and high school years. His time in the Army is chronicled by editorials and correspondence he wrote. From his arrival in Las Vegas in 1949, this collection traces his continued involvement in all facets of writing, entertainment, and art, culminating in his final contribution of directing the Arnold Shaw Popular Music Research Center. The collection includes pictures of his artwork, writings he did for various newspapers and magazines, scripts, skits, jokes, awards, over 700 interviews done for the “Rap with the Artist” series, plus personal memorabilia. COLLECTION FORMS PART OF ARNOLD SHAW ARCHIVES.
Link to Collection Guide
Coll #: T177
Date: 1960 - 1983
Extent: 4 doc boxes and 6 record storage boxes
Location: 2:2:1 - 2:2:4
Collection contains the organizational records of the Young Audiences group. Materials include minutes, financial records, bylaws, photographs, projects, membership information, reports, publications, news clippings, and public relations material. INVENTORY AVAILABLE
Coll #: 2004-12
Collection consists of music contracts and comprehensive original musical scores of Si Zentner (in LASR storage area). ARNOLD SHAW ARCHIVES. INVENTORY AVAILABLE