Links: University Libraries, Contact Special Collections

Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Education


Total manuscripts: 28

Association of Women in Science - Las Vegas Chapter
Coll #: 2002-18
Date: 1990s
Extent: 4 linear feet (4 record storage boxes)
Location: 9:11:1 - 9:11:3
Collection consists of the records pertaining to the Women in Science program/grant at UNLV in the mid 1990s, and the AWIS (Association of Women in Science) Las Vegas Chapter. This organization is now defunct.

Basic High School
Coll #: MS-00331
Date: 1949-1976
Extent: 1.08 Linear Feet (1 box)
Location: 4:7:3
The Ilene Bittle Collection on Basic High School is comprised of memorabilia from Basic High School spanning from 1949 to 1976. The collection was created by Ilene Stokes Bittle and includes scrapbooks, newspaper clippings, event programs, high school newspapers, and other school mementos.
Link to Collection Guide

Betten, Patricia van Healthcare and Nursing Papers
Coll #: MS-00098
Date: 1985-2011, (bulk 1993-2011)
Extent: 2.17 linear feet (3 boxes)
Location: A 2:5:4
The collection comprises personal papers of Pat van Betten that document her work with the League of Women Voters and the Nevada Nurses Association from 1985 to 2011. Van Betten worked on health care reform for the League of Women Voters - Las Vegas which resulted in the passage of the pioneering legislation known as the Patient Protection Act. The health-care reform material dates from 1997 to 2006 and includes documents related to the Act as well as correspondence, printed e-mail, meeting minutes, plans, and other supporting material. The collection also documents van Betten's work with the Nevada Nurses Association -- Las Vegas Chapter, and documents conferences of the Nevada Nurses Association, as well as material celebrating the history of nursing in Nevada. These materials date 1985 - 2006 and include a filmstrip with slides focusing on the work of school nurses in the Clark County School District.
Link to Collection Guide

Bible, Alan
Coll #: 1007
Date: 1969-1970
Extent: 1 folder (containing 3 items)
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of correspondence between U.S. Senator Alan Bible and UNLV Library Director Hal Erickson regarding the Higher Education Act and maintaining preferential postal rates for library and educational materials.

Cunningham, Erma
Coll #: T65
Date: 1941 - 1952
Extent: .5 linear feet (1 slim document box)
Location: 1:12:2
Collection consists of curriculum lists (attendance records and grades) from 1941 - 1948 for the Eldorado School District in Nelson, Nevada (Clark County). INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Decker, Clarabelle
Coll #: 86-09
Date: 1926 - 1980
Extent: .42 linear feet (2 slim document boxes and 1 oversize folder)
Location: 3:2:3
and writer. She helped found the Nevada Library Association and was the first Clark County Supervisor of Libraries. The collection consists of teaching aids, directories, and her guide for junior high school libraries. Also included are manuscripts and published versions of her work on Oatman, AZ, her poetry, and her book, Common Sense Grammar.
Link to Collection Guide

Denton, Hazel Baker
Coll #: 97-03
Date: 1907 - 1955
Extent: 4.52 linear feet (6 document boxes and 2 oversize boxes)
Location: 6:7:6 - 6:6:1 Roller Sehlf 2.1.8
Collection is comprised of the personal papers and writings of Hazel Baker Denton, educator and writer. In addition to her work with the Lincoln Co. Board of Education, National Education Association of Nevada, and the Nevada Federation of Women's Clubs, Denton was also elected to the Nevada State Assembly twice. Collection consists of correspondence, personal diaries, news clippings and speeches. Other materials include drafts and published versions of her writing including the columns "Caliente All the Time" and "While the Toast Burns" and the book Ironing Day. Personal items such as baby books and scrapbooks also form part of the collection.
Link to Collection Guide

Fort Mohave, Arizona Indian School
Coll #: T26
Date: 1890 - 1893
Extent: 42 linear feet (1 document box)
Location: 1:10:4
Collection consists of the correspondence records of the Fort Mohave Industrial School in two bound volumes. The school served the Walapai and Mohave Indians at a site near present-day Kingman, Arizona. Correspondence (between the school's superintendent, Samuel M. McCowan and Commissioner [of Indian Affairs] Thomas J. Morgan or Assistant Commissioner R.V. Belt) documents the school's finances and administrative operations as well as policy implementation and fact finding.
Link to Collection Guide

Frazier, Maude
Coll #: Mss30
Date: 1955 - 1962
Extent: 4 folders (containing 19 items )
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of programs, awards, certificates and annual (1958 yearbook) concerning the life of Maude Frazier, Nevada stateswoman and educator. Frazier taught school in Nevada from 1906 to 1946, was elected to the State Legislature in 1950 and appointed Lieutenant Governor of Nevada, the highest position ever held by a woman in Nevada. She was instrumental in establishing Nevada Southern University (later UNLV).
Link to Collection Guide

Friends of Southern Nevada Libraries
Coll #: 2009-05
Extent: 20 linear feet (20 record storage cartons)
Location: A 1:4:1 A 1:4:7 - see Director of Special Collections for access
Collection is comprised of organizational records of the Friends of Southern Nevada Libraries consisting of financial, membership records etc), publications, flag, hats, bags etc. Mostly regarding book sales circa 1979-2009.

Governor's Conference on Nevada Libraries
Coll #: 85-92
Date: 1978
Extent: 1 linear feet (1 oversize phase box)
Location: Roller Shelf 1:8:1
Collection is comprised of a scrapbook pertaining to the Governor's Conference on Nevada Librariescorrespondence re: funding and planning, newspaper clippings about available library services, copies of sample questionnaires for patrons and radio public service announcements. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Hickey, Liliam Lujan Papers
Coll #: MS-00103
Date: 1940-2010
Extent: 3.1 Linear Feet (2 boxes)
Location: B 1:1:1
The Liliam Lujan Hickey Papers (1940-2010) document her run for the Nevada State Board of Education District A as well as her work with the Latin Chamber of Congress. The collection contains assorted newspaper and magazine articles, documents, books, a transcript of her oral history interview, photographs, correspondence, and awards.
Link to Collection Guide

Hoggard, Mabel
Coll #: 2009-29
Date: ca. 1950s-1970s
Extent: 3 linear feet
Location: See Manuscripts Librarian
Collection is comprised of the personal papers, clippings, scrapbooks of Mabel Hoggard,the first African-American public school teacher in Las Vegas who taught from 1946-1970 in various schools around Las Vegas including the Westside School. Hoggard was also respected for her work as a civil rights activist and a civic and educational leader in Las Vegas. Other materials in the collection include her early student notes, curriculum notes from teaching days, documents from her wartime work in West Virginia, letters and cards from students and friends, and various documents on Blacks and the civil rights movement in Las Vegas and the US. Note: Collection is partially processed, please consult Manuscripts Librarian to access materials.

KLVX TV - Project Innovate
Coll #: 89-20
Date: 1965-1984
Extent: 1 record storage box
Location: 4:12:3
Collection is comprised of the KLVX- Project Innovate organization records. This project is a program set up to provide the Clark County School District with audiovisual equipment and to construct noncommercial educational television broadcast facilities for the Clark County School District. The records include bidding information, proposed uses for the broadcast system, grant applications for matching federal funds, school policies and statutes, evaluation reports and copies of the Nevada Education Magazine.

Las Vegas High School
Coll #: Roller Shelf
Date: 1909-29
Extent: 1 OVERSIZE box (1.5 linear feet)
Location: Roller Shelf 1:4:8
Collection contains a scrapbook from the class of 1929. In this scrapbook are programs from Sr. class drama productions, reunion invitations and news clippings and articles from the 30th, 40th, 45th and 50th class reunions. There is also a guest book for the 50th class reunion.

Lisle Family
Coll #: T153
Date: 1914 - 1948
Extent: 1 slim doc box
Location: 2:3:1
Collection contains the 1914 Primary Election register for Beatty Precinct, Nye County, Beatty School Registry of Students from 1933-1948 and correspondence re: attempting to obtain government funding for the Beatty High School.

Lytle, Mary
Coll #: T186
Date: 1909 - 1968
Extent: 1 slim doc box
Location: 2:2:5
Collection contains the certificates and records of Mary Virginia Perkins Lytlecertificates of Nursing and Midwifery by the State Board of medical examiners, Utah, correspondence from Fred Gale requesting information re: her Midwifery experience, a photo of Lytle with her husband, and a brief biography. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Malone, Theresa
Coll #: 2002-21
Date: 1997-2002
Location: 9:12:1
Collection is comprised of Theresa Malone's files regarding the Nevada State Board of Education meeting of September 8, 2001. Includes material on the proposed closure of the Austin, Nevada elementary school that was overturned by the State Board.

Miller, Linda
Coll #: 2012-09
Date: 2000s
Extent: .42 linear feet (1 document box)
Collection is comprised of large scrapbook containing documentation on Linda Miller's efforts (in conjunction with the Southern Nevada Women's History Project) to errect the statue of Helen Stewart on the grounds of the old Las Vegas Mormon Fort. Scrapbook contains numerous photos, newspaper clippings, programs and information on Miller's Chautauqua work portraying Helen Stewart at many events throughout Nevada.

Morlan, Jerry
Coll #: 2004-11
Date: 1956-1998 (inclusive),1986-1996 (bulk)
Location: 10:4:1 and Roller Shelf 2.4.6
Collection consists of personal papers of Jerry Morlan, Las Vegas teacher and educator.
Link to Collection Guide

Perry, Alice Lorraine Thomas
Coll #: T171
Date: 1900 - 193(?)
Extent: 1 slim doc box
Location: 2:3:4
Collection contains the personal records of Alice Thomas and her family, early residents of the Beatty, NV areareport cards, graduation certificates, school records, general family correspondence and some short stories and poems. There is an interesting letter from Alice Thomas school principal about the quality of education available from a one room, one teacher school.

Phillips, Helen Thelma "Peggy" Lewis Hyde
Coll #: 98-06
Date: 1963
Extent: 1 box; 1.1 linear ft.
Location: 7:8:6 - 7:8:2
Collection contains the personal papers of Helen Phillips documenting her role in the Las Vegas community. It contains correspondence and newspaper articles of her charitable activities, plaques received for service and photographs. Phillips was a longtime resident of Boulder City, and active in improving education in Clark County. Collection also includes numerous issues of the Paradise Press, a local newspaper printed for the residents of Paradise, one of the unincorporated areas of the Las Vegas Valley

Questions for the Examination of Teachers
Coll #: Mss11
Date: 1894
Extent: 1 folder (containing a bound 12 page booklet)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of the "Questions for the Examination of Teachers" that were prepared by the [Nevada] State Board of Education. This is the personal copy of applicant Charles Thompson and contains the names of four applicants and their scores. Includes questions pertaining to Physiology, Reading, Orthography, Geography, United States History, Grammar, etc. Questions 10, 11, and 12 of Arithmetic on loose 5 x 14 cm. slip of paper

Rusco, Elmer Professor
Coll #: T123
Date: 1964 - 1972
Extent: 1 document box (.42 linear feet)
Location: 2:7:2
Collection is comprised of the papers of Elmer Rusco, former UNR professor, who has done extensive research into civil rights and race relations in Nevada. Topics include school integration, welfare, black employment, poverty, and Clark County School District staff training pertaining to the Civil Rights Act of 1964. There is also information on Local 357 regarding discrimination cases against blacks by the union, and information on the number of minorities working at the major Strip hotels. Types of material in the collection include correspondence, news clippings, and research notes.
Link to Collection Guide

Semling, Evelyn
Coll #: Mss47
Date: 1980
Extent: 1 folder (containing 32 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of original manuscript compositions containing the words and music to 38 songs (title: Music in Motion) for children written by Evelyn Semling during her teaching career.

Smith, Arlene Mathews
Coll #: Mss49
Date: 1906 - 1965
Extent: 6 folders (containing 33 items)
Location: 1:1:1 and Roller Shelf 1:5.7
Collection consists primarily of material pertaining to Panaca area in Nevada and 4-H activity. Includes 4-H Boys and Girls Club work instructions and record, which consists primarily of U.S.D.A. Farmers Bulletins. Contains two copies of the "Lincoln Lantern" dated 1927. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

White, Jaunita Greer
Coll #: 85-125
Date: 1927 - 1980
Extent: 22 doc boxes
Location: 3:1:5 - 3:2:2
The Juanita Greer White Collection contains personal, professional and business material pertaining to Dr. Juanita White in her capacity as a member of UCCSN Board of Regents, American Association of University Women and numerous other activities in education, health, youth and aging. Note: additional material added later included documents from her work in the Nevada State Legislature, Board of Regents, books, catalogs, chemistry papers, plaques, and campaign materials.
Link to Collection Guide

Williams, Frank
Coll #: Mss33
Date: 1892 -1947
Extent: 13 folders (containing 118 items)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of manuscripts written by Frank Williams from 1892 to 1946. The bulk of the writing was done in the 1940s and concerns his life, local histories of Goodsprings, Potosi, Mesquite Valley and the Yellow Pine Mining District. It also contains reports and material reflecting his role as University Regent (1909-1912 and 1923-1942) and his four terms in the State Assembly. Also includes various addresses and articles regarding mines and mining, the evils of gambling, and his life in Las Vegas and Vanderbilt with wife, Edith C. Williams.
Link to Collection Guide