You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> Diaries/Journals


Total manuscripts: 7

Jensen, Frank C. "Doc"
Coll #: MS15
Date: 1926 - 1952
Extent: 1 box
Location: Transferred to BCMHA
Collection consists of the digital facsimile of the personal diary of Frank C. "Doc" Jensen, Hoover Dam medic, covering the years of the Damís construction. The original of this volume and the others reside in the Boulder City Museum and Historical Association. Click on Jensen's name above to access digitized version of the diary.

Johnson, Rex
Coll #: 1029-3
Date: 1941
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2
Collection consists of loose-leaf notes from the daily journal of Rex Johnson, Budget and Planning Officer at Coordinator of Information office from Sept 2, 1941 to Dec 23, 1941. Unable to determine which branch of the military he worked in. Also contains list of foreign visitors to his office for the years fro 1945-1947.

Page, John Chatfield
Coll #: MS23
Date: 1930 - 1947
Extent: 1 box; 1 large folder
Location: Transferred to BCMHA
Collection consists of the diaries of John Chatfield Page, who served as Construction Engineer on Boulder (Hoover) Dam from 1931-35. There is also a small amount of ephemera and biographical material on Page which provide information on his career with the Bureau of Reclamation. The original diaries have transferred to the Boulder City Museum and Historical Association, but the library holds complete digital facsimiles. Click on Page's name above to access digitized version of the diary.

Rockwell, Earl
Coll #: T53
Date: 1866 - 1979
Extent: 1 document box and 1 slim document box (.63 linear feet)
Location: 1:11:5
Collection consists of the papers of Earl Rockwell, brother of Leon Rockwell. Contains numerous materials pertaining to Elmira, New York, plat map of Bonanza Village Tract (Las Vegas), ephemera such as calling cards, receipts, bank books. There are seven diaries from the late 1800s that appear to have been written by Amanda Brees who may have been their grandmother. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Rockwell, Leon
Coll #: MS13
Date: 1841 -1967
Extent: 11 document boxes, 6 cartons (9.62 linear feet)
Location: 1:4:3 - 1:5:1
Collection consists of materials documenting the life of Las Vegas pioneer Leon Rockwell. Many of these materials provide excellent documentation of everyday life and special events in Las Vegas and Nevada from the 1920s-1940s. Collection is comprised of diaries, correspondence, photographs, postcards, Las Vegas community event programs, ledger sheets, business cards and scrapbooks. There are a number of books in the collection as well. Items range in date from early 1895 to 1967. INVENTORY AVAILABLE

Stewart Ranch Burial Records
Coll #: Mss7
Date: 1905 -1913
Extent: 128 p., bound ; 34 cm
Location: 1:1:1
This collection consists of a record book recording burials for the Las Vegas area before Woodlawn Cemetery was established. Contains names, ages and descriptions of deceased, dates of death, causes of death, and lists burial plots numbers at the Stewart Ranch from 1905-1913. Record book contains a sketch of burial plots and corresponding numbers on flyleaf of book.

Wieking, Henry C.
Coll #: 1031-2
Date: 1932
Extent: 1 folder
Location: 1:1:2 Roller Shelf 1.5.2
Collection consists of the personal recollections (including daily journal pages) of Henry C. Wieking, foreman at the BLM's Concrete Testing Laboratory, the agency charged with screening the gravel that was used to make the concrete for Hoover Dam. Also contains newspaper clippings and a BLM memorandum. Wieking writes of the lab established at the Las Vegas Fort in the early 1930s.


Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections