You are here

 


Search Special Collections
   
Oral History Interviews Manuscripts Photo Collections University Archives  

Search Tips [more+]

Manuscripts by Subjects

Manuscripts -> BMI


Total manuscripts: 5

Basic Magnesium Inc. (BMI)
Coll #: T6
Date: 1937 - 1945
Extent: 3.36 linear feet (8 document boxes)
Location: 1:9:6 - 1:10:2
Collection encompasses the complete history of BMI (Basic Magnesium Inc.): growth records of the company, size and production of plants to include material output per plant with costs of production, newspaper articles about mining in general and BMI specifically. Boxes 5 through 8 contain photographs of plant sites (locations throughout Gabbs and Henderson, NV) at various stages of construction. INVENTORY AVAILABLE.

Clary, Ernest
Coll #: Mss21
Date: 1944
Extent: 1 folder (containing 51 items -- text, maps, illustrations)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection contains a history (typescript) of the Civil Engineering unit of Basic Magnesium Incorporated (BMI) with text, figures,maps, and blueprints. It also contains a newspaper article "Caught on the Run", a humorous article—political commentary about the work ethic of the Los Angeles City Hall employees.

Dow Metals - BMI
Coll #: 85-76
Date: 1940s-1950s
Extent: 1 linear foot (1 record storage box)
Location: 2:1:3
Collection of BMI (Basic Magnesium Inc.) photo albums of plants/factories—aerial, internal and external views, general photos of businessmen (probably company executives). Also included in this collection is a BMI corporate book which contains stockholder minutes, directors meetings notes, etc. (see also - #260 photos).

Fyhen, Ragnald
Coll #: Mss2
Date: 1933-1947
Extent: 1 folder (contains 26 typewritten pages)
Location: 1:1:1
Collection consists of the report of Ragnald Fyhen, an original member of the first Central Labor Council of Clark County, who also worked on Hoover Dam as a machinist. Subjects discussed include the Strike on the Boulder Canyon Project, deaths that occurred during the dam's construction, labor negotiations for BMI workers, development of the town of Henderson, and the creation of a regular County Hospital to replace the existing Poor Farm.

Malcolm, David G.
Coll #: 85-122
Date: 1944 - 1978
Extent: x
Location: 3:1:3
Collection consists of the papers of David G. Malcom. Much of the collection includes documents from his work within the audit division of the Nevada Gaming Control Board. Other materials focus on Basic Magnesium Inc. (BMI) and Henderson history. Contains an almost complete run of BMI newsletters such as the Big Job and Basic Bombardier. There are also a variety of news clippings (invention of the electric meter, price of silver, the movie industry), brochures and articles from Las Vegas and Reno in the 1950s and 1960s.


Updated: Wed, Jan-16-2013 07:24:51
Content Provider: Department of Special Collections